IPL 2018 - Pre-tournament Discussion Thread

Should call that game as water bowl or Kaveri bowl.

Lot of Bangaloreans are married to TN ones, difficult to support respective teams being husband-wife.

My colleague has this issue every year, which family members are more on match day, they will cheer for that team :srini

And extra water for Bangalore too , congrats :)

Thanks bro....

On topic, water issue aside, RCB vs CSK rivalry has produced very close matches from last 10 years. Not at Indo-Pak level, we do have our own rivalry connected to politics :19:

Lot of Bangaloreans are married to TN ones, difficult to support respective teams being husband-wife.

My colleague has this issue every year, which family members are more on match day, they will cheer for that team :srini

I went to Bangalore and Mysore recently, almost everyone that I met speaks or understand Tamil. That’s amazing. I doubt in Chennai or Tamil Nadu you would find many speaking or understanding Kannada.

Bangalore is a cosmopolitan city people who speak language and background co-exist without even knowledge of local language Kannada, unlike Chennai without Tamil/Eng it's difficult for outsiders to live in Chennai !

Basically Chennai guys love to live and work in Bangalore !

Bangalore is a cosmopolitan city people who speak language and background co-exist without even knowledge of local language Kannada, unlike Chennai without Tamil/Eng it's difficult for outsiders to live in Chennai !

Basically Chennai guys love to live and work in Bangalore !

Chennai has people from almost every part of the country. Outside of Chennai, yes you are right.

I am not saying Chennai doesn't have people from outside, myself been there on work assignments for few days.

General, perception from non-KA / non-TN Indians is to prefer Bangalore over Chennai given choice. Also being coastal city Chennai weather is no match to Bangalore (above sea level) :19:

I am not saying Chennai doesn't have people from outside, myself been there on work assignments for few days.

General, perception from non-KA / non-TN Indians is to prefer Bangalore over Chennai given choice. Also being coastal city Chennai weather is no match to Bangalore (above sea level) :19:

Of course. No brainer. Chennai has the worst weather in India. Weather is the major reason people prefer other cities over Chennai. We can’t do much with it. Anyway we already have enough or little too much, we don’t need any new folks moving in anymore. Apart from weather, I love everything about this great city.

[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION] looks like Royals need new captain now :smith

Who will be the right choice ?

Kyun? He hasn't been banned from IPL, has he?

Looks like he may get bigger ban from CA.

I personally want Bradman :smith to be part of IPL, depends on what CA thinks ! ICC punished him, CA should not take any knee-jerk decesions.

Not yet but 99% chances he will be banned.What Smith did was nothing less than cheating and well all know BCCIs stand towards corruption.

I think more than BCCI, CA itself would take care of him.
Man that would be a tremendous loss for Rajasthan. I guess Rahane seems only logical choice for skipper in that case.

Looks like he may get bigger ban from CA.

I personally want Bradman :smith to be part of IPL, depends on what CA thinks !

If CA decides to ban him then RR are screwed big time this season.
He was an extremely valuable player and would be darn near impossible to replace with.

I want to see Heinrich Klassen & Kusal Perera as replacement players in IPL.

Rajasthan Royals should definitely pick Kusal Perera if Steven Smith is ruled out of IPL. K Perera played for the RR in 2013.

So now that Warner is out, who will captain SRH?

I think it is a toss-up between Dhawan and Williamson.

So now that Warner is out, who will captain SRH?

I think it is a toss-up between Dhawan and Williamson.

Should be Kane. Dhawan was poor as captain when was given the role in one of the seasons.

Can anybody confirm was Klassen in the auction list ? I can remember K Perera was unsold which surprised me.

Dhawan didn't have captaincy success with SRH previously. I fancy Manish Pandey.

Can anybody confirm was Klassen in the auction list ? I can remember K Perera was unsold which surprised me.

Dhawan didn't have captaincy success with SRH previously. I fancy Manish Pandey.
Klassen was not in auction so no chance for him.

No, he wasn't in it. I'd rather have Kane captain since now with Warner out, he will play all matches.

O man ! What a miss for the IPL & cricket world ! This guy can hit monster sixes. It's about time Klassen becomes a hot property in T20s.

Kohli likes him so he will definitely be in next ipl.

SRH will pick batsman because they don't have any overseas batsman other than Williamson now. Due to Williamson they may not pick root because both are similar players.
Ronchi has better chance than guptill based on current form.

Rajasthan should pick joe root.

Trust STAR to telecast all sorts of crap programme related to IPL. One of the programme names 'Game Plan' is conducted at every franchise city in a school where the poor children are forcibly made to sit before the experts . The children look uninterested while the experts talk the cliched Game plan. The children will be given advise beforehand by the program producers to chant "Dhoni , Dhoni" , "Whistle Podu" etc whenever the over the top Jatin Sapru prompts. Poor children are almost sleepy. STAR has an overdose of crappy programmes masquerading as funny.

Still better than Sony's cringy cricketainment.

they are children.. if you have any of your own you will know that they look uninterested in everything that the grownups are involved in. No one can force them to sit. If you think Star is abusing them, please file a petition and have their parents advised by the right authority. Most probably you are just irritated with some program which you feel is cringworthy. Anticipating such scenario, the engineers have invented this magic tool called remote where pressing a button will make your TV display a different program. Try exploring that

Hales
Bairstow
Root
Amla
Guptill
Kusal Perera

Some of the names avaliable for SRH and RR. Not sure who SRH will select as captain.

they are children.. if you have any of your own you will know that they look uninterested in everything that the grownups are involved in. No one can force them to sit. If you think Star is abusing them, please file a petition and have their parents advised by the right authority. Most probably you are just irritated with some program which you feel is cringworthy. Anticipating such scenario, the engineers have invented this magic tool called remote where pressing a button will make your TV display a different program. Try exploring that

So you do think they are interested enough to sit through the program. I can recollect school authorities making us sit when any chief guest comes at our annual day programme. We could not move until they go. BTW , are you a STAR employee?

Still better than Sony's cringy cricketainment.

Sony had only one channel showing programmes. Mostly during the matches. Now STAR content is overflowing with crappy ones and they have 10 odd channels showing the same content 24 hours a day. Luckily they are yet to hijack match day programmes for English Premier league.

Are you a football fan?

Only good thing happened w.r.t. IPL from SandpaperGate is we got two India players will replace as captains of IPL teams.

Rahane for Royals and may be Dhawan for Sun Risers Hyderabad :19:

Only good thing happened w.r.t. IPL from SandpaperGate is we got two India players will replace as captains of IPL teams.

Dhawan is not a captainship material, SRH shou've appointed Williamson instead.

Don't think Dhawan is leadership material. Manish Panday may be better option if Hyderabad wants a long term solution.

Don't worry about epl. Star will show it.

BTW how is indian football team doing? Are we showing any signs of progress now that one more league is on the scene?

I am not sure about improvement. We are still sweating to beat the kinds of Macau which has the size of a Village with not much footballing pedigree. As for ISL , its quality is poor maybe apart from Bangalore , Goa and Chennai who are best among the mediocre bunch.

One should appreciate BCCI in banning :smith and :warner from IPL during CA ban period.

As per CA punishment, if I'm not wrong both are allowed to participate in domestic T20 leagues during ban period !

Update: RCB's home game against Delhi rescheduled due to Karnataka elections

With the Karnataka elections scheduled for May 12, Royal Challengers Bangalore's home fixture against Delhi Daredevils has been swapped with the side's reverse fixture on April 21st.

Source: Cricbuzz

I will miss Sony's Extra Innings T20 with Gaurav Kapoor & the experts. It went for 10 years and now it's gone !

One should appreciate BCCI in banning :smith and :warner from IPL during CA ban period.

As per CA punishment, if I'm not wrong both are allowed to participate in domestic T20 leagues during ban period !

I guess, they are banned from all international & domestic cricket ? They can only play club cricket ?

I will miss Sony's Extra Innings T20 with Gaurav Kapoor & the experts. It went for 10 years and now it's gone !

I guess, they are banned from all international & domestic cricket ? They can only play club cricket ?

Agree about GK ...Extra Innings T20, Thoko by Sidhu was fun :19:

Not sure about ban on T20 domestic leagues, both are banned only from playing international I guess, they can play franchise cricket. Not sure, some one can confirm !

Agree about GK ...Extra Innings T20, Thoko by Sidhu was fun :19:

Not sure about ban on T20 domestic leagues, both are banned only from playing international I guess, they can play franchise cricket. Not sure, some one can confirm !

The thought about Sidhu earning crores for saying"Thoko" or by just laughing like a fool in Kapil Sharma s programme makes me cringe. Absolute waste.

RCB should start with this XI:-

Qdk
Vohra
Kohli
de Villiers
Mandeep
de Grandhome/Moeen/Corey(depending on pitch)
Sarfaraz
Woakes(1 excellent pick)
Chahal
Yadav
W Sundar

Our slogan:- " In ipl, only three things are important- entertainment, entertainment, entertainment and RCB is entertainment".

RCB XI:

1 McCullum
2 De Kock (WK)
3 Kohli (C)
4 De Villiers
5 Sarfaraz
6 Vohra / Mandeep
7 Woakes / Moeen
8 Washington
9 Chahal
10 Umesh
11 Siraj

RCB should start with this XI:-

Qdk
Vohra
Kohli
de Villiers
Mandeep
de Grandhome/Moeen/Corey(depending on pitch)
Sarfaraz
Woakes(1 excellent pick)
Chahal
Yadav
W Sundar

Our slogan:- " In ipl, only three things are important- entertainment, entertainment, entertainment and RCB is entertainment".

Agree ... Cheers for RCB :19:

I'll probably watch this season's IPL. I haven't watched a single game since Sachin retired from IPL. I need to get back to the groove, all of my cricket loving friends passionately follow the IPL.

Welcome to the IPL fan club yaar :19:

Warning: Entertainment Guaranteed :djb :faf :starc :kohli2

ye 7 april kab ayega yar ,can't wait more .really people around my village dn't watch international cricket but they can't miss a single game of IPL thats show how popular is IPl.

What a horrible anthem this time !! And IPL should do away with blasting the team anthems every time something good happens for that team during the match. The anthems are bad to begin with, playing it frequently is cringeworthy.

Welcome to the IPL fan club yaar :19:

Warning: Entertainment Guaranteed :djb :faf :starc :kohli2

IPL is not only popular in India and among Indian fans. Even people from Pak, SL, bang, SA, eng, windies follow IPL closely. Only in Aus and NZ, they don’t follow that much due to time zone difference. I was in some of the pubs in London during IPL last year, I saw a bunch of folks watching IPL very seriously. I was surprised. Funny thing is for Champions trophy, they did not even show the cricket matches on TV in same pub. I had to ask them to put the ind vs Pak league game on. Many didn’t even know Champions theophy was being held in their own country.

ye 7 april kab ayega yar ,can't wait more .really people around my village dn't watch international cricket but they can't miss a single game of IPL thats show how popular is IPl.

Bhai Ji, aap kahan ke rehne wale hon? I'm from Guwahati.

Injured Starc ruled out of the IPL

Fast bowler Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the fourth Test and the Indian Premier League due to a tibial bone stress fracture in his right leg.

Starc was replaced for the final Test against South Africa by South Australia’s Chadd Sayers and will fly home after the series for further injury investigation and assessment.

The left-armer was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders for $1.8 million at the IPL auction in January, but will not take place in the lucrative tournament this season.

More to come

https://www.cricket.com.au/news/mitc...est/2018-03-30

Expecting more Aussie players to pull out of IPL. Could be a boon for Lankan, Kiwi and Windies players.

Big set back for KKR.starc was going to lead inexperienced fast bowling attack.
They do have Michael Johnson but they need quality death bowler In the team.
They might pick 2 replacement players like they did in the past season.
They should go for Tom Curran and one good batsman who can play in the middle order.

So your reckon the injury has nothing to do with Starc pulling out?

He's being cautious plus mentally may not be in the right frame of mind either. Better to stay away from a long league with lots of travel involved.

Looking at the Australian Test side, only other big name in IPL is Pat Cummins. I will not at all be surprised if he opted out as well.

[MENTION=138796]Sami92[/MENTION]
Your wish granted.
Rajasthan royals picked henrich klaasen as Smith replacement.

Klassen was not in the original auction list but he was added into extended players list so that make it possible.

According to head coach zubin bharucha they were impressed with klassen's confident hitting against indian spinners.

Have followed IPL passionately for 3-4 seasons but now it's not same for previous 2-3 seasons. All passion is gone now. Don't think gonna follow this season.
"Woh mausam aur hota tha"
"Woh aalam aur hota tha"
" woh Waqt abb nikal chuka hai"