"IPL need to have a pay cap for young players so they know that bhook hoti kya hai": Wasim Akram

Speaking to A Sports after India's World Cup exit, Akram pointed out that it has been a phenomenon in IPL itself. He exemplified his points by picking Avesh Khan, who had a superb season with Delhi Capitals in 2021 where most veterans were impressed with his fiery pace bowling. He was roped in Lucknow Super Giants the next season for INR 10 crore, and he failed to emulate the same.

Akram feels that while BCCI needs to check on this, he suggested that IPL should have a salary cap on young players so that they don't become complacent when signed for a hefty amount.

“Something I noted about Indian bowlers during Asia Cup. They drop pace post IPL. For instance, Avesh Khan was bowling consistently at 145kmph but after one season of IPL they play the pace drops to 130-135 kmph. So BCCI need to check the reason behind that because he got paid some 12-13 crore Indian money,” he said.

He further added, “I think IPL need to have a pay cap for young players so that they understand bhook hoti kya hai, what it feels to be hungry. If I was earning ₹24 crore a month in Pakistan, then I don’t think I will work that hard once my job is done. The culture we come from, hum khud ko dheela chhod dete hai.”

Waqar Younis, who was part of the discussion, added that as a coach he always encouraged fast bowlers to always work on their pace.

“I don’t know exactly why they are dropping pace but when I used to play and then worked as a coach,” he said. “I always emphasised on bowling quickly. If you are quick then bowl quick, that’s what Wasim and I did throughout our careers. If you have pace, you learn the other bits. But if you slow it down and swing the ball, then somewhere T20 cricket and modern-day coaching is at fault for that. I don’t know what’s being taught in the Indian camp but pace matters.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-pacers-post-t20-wc-exit-101668226191806.html

Waz bhai IPL is great for Pakistan. It means that India will continue to produce average players. Let the BCCI pay there cricketers million's that is none of Pak's business.

Lets stop this obsession. Focus on PSL improving Pakistani cricket and slowly the world will see what this tulla baaz IPL really is. You cannot deny inxi has produced better players and likes of Umran and the others not selected would totally change India.

Indian management might be more at blame here

India crashed out of the T20 World Cup on Thursday after suffering a humiliating 10-wicket defeat to England in the second semi-final in Adelaide. India have now failed to win the T20 World Cup since winning the inaugural edition in 2007, where they had defeated Pakistan in the final to lift the title in Johannesburg, South Africa. Following India's loss to England, a lot of doubts have been raised over the team's approach. In the same light, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram pointed out the fact that since the arrival of the Indian Premier League in 2008, India have failed to win the T20 World Cup.

"Everyone thought the IPL will be the big difference between India and other teams. IPL started in 2008. India won a T20 World Cup before that in 2007. Since the start of the IPL, India have never won a T20 World Cup. They won a World Cup in 2011 but that's 50 overs," Akhtar said on A Sports.

During the same discussion, Akram also questioned his co-panelists, Shoaib Malik and Waqar Younis, whether playing an extra franchise league in addition to the IPL would've helped India's case or not.

Responding to the questions, Malik replied while IPL is a huge platform for young players to get exposure, playing overseas leagues would help players to assess the conditions more precisely.

"Yeah it makes a difference but IPL is big enough for young players to gain that exposure. But playing in different conditions, that actually makes a difference. As a overseas player if you go and play somewhere, they put extra responsibility on your shoulders. So that what matters, where you become a good player. You think to yourself that as an overseas player, the performances I am putting in should be up to the mark. Secondly, you share dressing rooms with world class players and you learn from their work ethics. How they are so consistent so I guess there are so many elements which make a difference," Malik said.

NDTV

Yawn.

The bakwaas continues. If IPL is so bad for Indian cricket, how have they managed to achievement so much in Test cricket over the previous decade?

Surely, if the players become complacent and care about money only, Test cricket would have died in India in the IPL era considering it is the least lucrative format in terms of financial incentives.

Yawn.

The bakwaas continues. If IPL is so bad for Indian cricket, how have they managed to achievement so much in Test cricket over the previous decade?

Surely, if the players become complacent and care about money only, Test cricket would have died in India in the IPL era considering it is the least lucrative format in terms of financial incentives.

Read what Wasim said. Understand it and answer that specific point with your post. He is talking about bowling speeds etc.

No need for generic I love India comments here.

Read what Wasim said. Understand it and answer that specific point with your post. He is talking about bowling speeds etc.

No need for generic I love India comments here.

Speaking of bowling speeds, Indian pacers sustained the highest average bowling speeds in Test cricket during the Kohli era.

The like of Bumrah, Shami, Yadav would regularly bowl 90+ in their second and third spells and they all played IPL.

So he is not making any point at all.

He gave example of Avesh to show how bowling speeds have fallen. Also the fact is that the India side does not have any express fast bowlers - which should come from IPL - shouldn't it?

Yawn.

Yawn, since IPL they havent won any T20i world cup.

How is IPL making Indian Test cricket better? The humiliating England defeat has really given a big dent on common sense it seems. Understandable that it was the worst and the most humiliating defeat in the history of T20 WC, but one shouldn't start given the most naive lame excuses.

The speedster they have produced is we can see, trundlers after trundlers who clock 130... We saw it throughout Asia Cup and this WC and pretty much during entire Indian cricketing history.

Firstly if money kills a players hunger than he was not good enough for the big stage to begin with.

Also players need to use some logic when they come with these statements. Most players in sc who went on to be greats of the game started very young and within 2 yrs saw all the acclaim and money be it Sachin, Kohli or 2 W’s,Inzamam etc. did they lose hunger? (No Inzamam reference please)

Also when there is money lying around especially in our part of the world and out of principle they don’t want to pay youngsters than what are the odds that money would be put to better use? It will end up in a politician or shady businessman or one of those babus pockets anyways.

Waiting till the Wasim is a jealous Babu comments.

Yawn.

How can a team in India's position not achieve?

Like i said in another thread, they should be the Manchester City of cricket. Their funding is comparable to what the Sheikh's have in football.

India have even more power than the football teams as they also control the ICC and can make any nation bend to their will.

India have achieved in test cricket because they are supposed to. Anything less than complete dominance is nothing other than a fail for them.

Yawn, since IPL they havent won any T20i world cup.

How is IPL making Indian Test cricket better? The humiliating England defeat has really given a big dent on common sense it seems. Understandable that it was the worst and the most humiliating defeat in the history of T20 WC, but one shouldn't start given the most naive lame excuses.

The speedster they have produced is we can see, trundlers after trundlers who clock 130... We saw it throughout Asia Cup and this WC and pretty much during entire Indian cricketing history.

India's humiliating exit from past few WCs isn't because of IPL but the template of Indian run scoring. In 2016 SF while Kohli scored 80+ at s/r of 190. Rahane scored a 36 ball 40 and Rohit around 40 in 30 balls. 190 was never enough in a small Wankhede stadium. We have KL opening who would not hesitate to play 6 dots an over instead of Prithvi who would look to score 6 4s an over.

Whe Rohit took over captaincy he said they will be chnaging the template and score aggressively even if the team is 20/3. But that template wasn't visible here. We scored lesser than teams like NED and ZIM in powerplay. India has always looked to consolidate in PP and accelerate at th end. This may work in pitches like MCG or Parth but not in Adelaide. Atleast they should have learnt it from how Liton Das played in the group match. India was 62/1 in 10 overs which was crimial. If it was 62/3 it was understandable as they wanted to save wickets.

It was terrible to leave out players like Ishan, Prithvi, Ravi Bishnoi,Umran and Mohsin Khan who are best suited for this format. Hence it was not IPL but terrible selection that led to this debacle.

Lol. Pay cap? And convert IPL into another destitute league?

Avesh Khan got injured after that IPL season. He has got multiple injuries. Thats the reason for his lack of pace.

Is selectors dont select IPL performers consistently then why blame IPL?

Are Ashwin Axar BK performers in the IPL?

Is Shardul Thakur a performer in the IPL?

I disagree with Wasim here.

Its quite a lazy conclusion to draw.

One could also argue that the attraction of large sums of money year on year would be an incentive for the players to keep honing and refining their skills to remain relevant.

India has been notorious for the rate at which their bowlers speeds drop after making debuts.

In most cases they have still remained wicket taking threats even with reduced pace but the issue with speeds dropping isnt new.

Pretty sure that’s illegal. You can’t determine salary based on age.

While this issue is definitely credible, its a very dumb suggestion by Wasim.

Yawn.

What does the IPL have to do with test cricket, complete baloney.

Sounds like a case of correlation vs causation.