Is Cricket losing its integrity?

BDfanforever

First Class Star
If you look at the groupings its always IND-PAK in one group. Its not just one tournament, it happens in basically every single tournament irrespective of what the teams rankings might be. We also hear about "match fixing" being thrown around.

If the sport itself is losing it's integrity what is the point of even following such sport?

Commercial Interests Over Competitive Integrity?

There's no doubt that an India vs Pakistan match is the biggest blockbuster in world cricket. The numbers speak for themselves: record-breaking viewership, sold-out stadiums, and a massive spike in social media activity and advertising revenue. Given that, it would be naive to think that commercial interests don't play a role in how these tournaments are structured.

While the ICC claims that draws are made "randomly" or based on "seeding," it's not hard to see that tournament organizers may engineer certain outcomes (within acceptable limits) to ensure at least one IND-PAK clash in the group stage — especially in the shorter formats like T20 World Cups and Asia Cups.

Is this ethical? That's a grey area. From a business point of view, it's understandable.
From a sporting integrity point of view, it definitely feels like a compromise.

schedule fixing is there because india and pakistan don't meet each other outside these clashes. India has played Bangladesh way more than Pakistan in the last 10 years across the formats.

It is a good loophole for greedy Indians.

They can fool their public in petty nationalism, yet milk them dry for India Pakistan games in tournaments.

When the runners of the game have no integrity, how will the sport itself have integrity?

They can fool their public in petty nationalism, yet milk them dry for India Pakistan games in tournaments.

When the runners of the game have no integrity, how will the sport itself have integrity?

CSA reported total revenue nearing R2-billion in the previous financial year, thanks primarily to India touring the country.

India doesn't need to play pakistan to make money. India helps others make money. They can't help themselves?

CSA reported total revenue nearing R2-billion in the previous financial year, thanks primarily to India touring the country.

India doesn't need to play pakistan to make money. India helps others make money. They can't help themselves?
What is the reason for rigging these tournaments then?

Cricket is losing its charm because third class joke of a team BD is regularly allowed to play against top-ranked teams, instead of facing opponents of similar caliber such as Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong, or Canada, just because of their huge population and dim-witted fanbase.

Let me not even get started on their track record of animal abuse, naming the most abysmally poor team in the history of the universe after the most majestic creature on the planet, the tiger. just pure disrespect!

Bik gaye hai yeh ICC

ICC=BCB

What is the reason for rigging these tournaments then?
Dude what they get from pak match is peanuts comapred to what they make in IPL. You played what? 10 matches in 10 years? You think they make billions from those matches? They are just using this "fake rivalry" to make more money

It’s a very good point. And it’s great to get the perspective of a non pak/indian fan.

I do think scheduling is fixed for multiple potential pak-india clashes.

There seems to be a priority order:

1. Pak-India
2. Schedule in favour of India travelling the least and getting plenty of rest days and beauty sleep for all their divas.

Now some random Indian just mentioned that India doesn’t need Pakistan. That’s fine, I’ll even take your word for it. Then it’s futile fixing the groups to put Pakistan and India in the same group. I’m a bit tired of it myself. The first of the 3 matches this year I didn’t even bother watching. I had other plans which I could have changed but I chose not to.

I also think it wasn’t fair for Afghanistan/bangladesh/Sri Lanka to be in the group of death just to accommodate the maximisation of Pakistan vs India clashes.

Up till the end of the first match here, it was losing its intrigue. India’s politicised antics at the end of that game, brought more needle to it so temporarily there will now be a bit more interest.

With regards to integrity, the game was cheapened from the first IPL with all these cheap antics like cheerleaders etc. It was cringe watching all these sleazy Indians standing behind a mesh fence ogling at the cheerleaders as if they’d never seen women before.

Even the ICL that preceded it didn’t stoop to those levels.

It’s just been downhill since then.

It’s a very good point. And it’s great to get the perspective of a non pak/indian fan.

I do think scheduling is fixed for multiple potential pak-india clashes.

There seems to be a priority order:

1. Pak-India
2. Schedule in favour of India travelling the least and getting plenty of rest days and beauty sleep for all their divas.

Now some random Indian just mentioned that India doesn’t need Pakistan. That’s fine, I’ll even take your word for it. Then it’s futile fixing the groups to put Pakistan and India in the same group. I’m a bit tired of it myself. The first of the 3 matches this year I didn’t even bother watching. I had other plans which I could have changed but I chose not to.

I also think it wasn’t fair for Afghanistan/bangladesh/Sri Lanka to be in the group of death just to accommodate the maximisation of Pakistan vs India clashes.

Up till the end of the first match here, it was losing its intrigue. India’s politicised antics at the end of that game, brought more needle to it so temporarily there will now be a bit more interest.

With regards to integrity, the game was cheapened from the first IPL with all these cheap antics like cheerleaders etc. It was cringe watching all these sleazy Indians standing behind a mesh fence ogling at the cheerleaders as if they’d never seen women before.

Even the ICL that preceded it didn’t stoop to those levels.

It’s just been downhill since then.
here I thought it happened when Kerry packer started games with colored clothes.

If you are a lower ranked side you are going to be in group of death one way or the other. If you put Bangladesh, India, SL in one group it is still going to be group of death. with Pakistan easily sailing through in the other group. Teams are not equal. Pakistan, SL, Afghanistan in one group. That is going to be group of death. You can come up with any number of ways. ONe or more teams will feel schedule is not in their favor.

You are coming up with a lot of gymnastics without answering the question of why India and Pakistan are drawn in the same group.

Pakistan doesn't have the clout to do it.

India claims it is forced to play the game.

You claim they don't need to play it for financial reasons and can make more money with Chennai Giants and Rajasthan

What is the explanation for it?? People think we are trolling but we were lead to believe playing cricket with Pakistan is a very serious issue for India and an affront to victims of terrorism.

Yet it happens time and time and time again.

Without fail.

And the ones who are dishing out the money for it are, you guessed it, Indian.

here is an explanation of what is causing cricket to lose its integrity
A

sia Cup 2025 will kick-start from September 9, hosted by the United Arab Emirates. The continental T20 tournament will begin with the opening match between Afghanistan and Hong Kong. The high voltage and the controversial match between India and Pakistan will be played on September 14 in Dubai. Despite the calls for the cancellation of the tournament, due to the border tensions between India and Pakistan, the Asia Cup was not only planned but both the teams were also placed in the group.

The matches between India and Pakistan always attracts a large number of viewers as they always brings one of the most memorable cricketing actions. With such a large number of viewers, companies are always eager to get their ads placed during these matches but this year, they have to pay a hefty amount to promote their brands.

The broadcasting and the streaming rights of Asia Cup 2025 have been acquired by the Sony TV and according to a report in Economic Times, the ad inventory for India's Asia Cup 2025 matches has been priced at Rs 14-16 lakh per 10-second slot.

The ad package breakdown is as follows:

Ad packages on TV

Co-presenting sponsorship: Rs 18 crore

Associate sponsorship: Rs 13 crore

Spot-buy package (all India and non-India games): Rs 16 lakh per 10 seconds, or Rs 4.48 crore

Digital deals on Sony LIV

Co-presenting and highlights partner: Rs 30 crore each

Co-powered-by package: Rs 18 crore

30% of all digital ads are reserved for India matches

Ad rates by format

Pre-rolls: Rs 275 per 10 seconds (Rs 500 for India games; Rs 750 for India-Pakistan)

Mid-rolls: Rs 225 (Rs 400 for India games; Rs 600 for India-Pakistan)

Connected TV ads: Rs 450 (Rs 800 for India games; Rs 1,200 for India-Pakistan)

India and Pakistan will face each other in the Asia Cup 2025 on September 14.The final match of the tournament will be played on September 28.

After shamelessly watching ads and being milked by their Indian TV companies, then these unscruplous individuals come and lecture us that nobody in India cares, they post 24x7 in match threads that Asia cup is a fail and nobody is watching ( while giving ball by ball coverage of the match).

You are coming up with a lot of gymnastics without answering the question of why India and Pakistan are drawn in the same group.

Pakistan doesn't have the clout to do it.

India claims it is forced to play the game.

You claim they don't need to play it for financial reasons and can make more money with Chennai Giants and Rajasthan

What is the explanation for it?? People think we are trolling but we were lead to believe playing cricket with Pakistan is a very serious issue for India and an affront to victims of terrorism.

Yet it happens time and time and time again.

Without fail.

And the ones who are dishing out the money for it are, you guessed it, Indian.
Sponsors spend money for this crappy tournament lol THey need to see some money. Due to the rarity of India Pakistan clash they use these events to the fullest to make money.

Almost all sports leagues are scheduled based on this. Have you heard of NBA scheduling. They schedule it based on marquee match up. Cricket would be dead in many countries without money. England pay money to tour zimbabwe. ACC benefits from it. It will help grow cricket in Asia.

Some Clown don't understand BCCI didn't take any profit for Asia cup

ACC chairman is Pakistani yet crying about India non Stop. 🤡🤡🤡

:klopp :kp

Agree with OP

I think groups should be based on rankings 6 months before the tournament

Brackets denote current rankings

Group A
India (1)
Bangladesh (9)
Afghanistan (10)
Hong Kong (24)

Group B
Pakistan (7)
Sri Lanka (8)
UAE (15)
Oman (20)

Some Clown don't understand BCCI didn't take any profit for Asia cup

ACC chairman is Pakistani yet crying about India non Stop. 🤡🤡🤡

:klopp :kp
The ad revenue I posted is it for Pakistani or Indians channels? Is Mohsin Naqvi head of those channels?

After barking non stop about boycott and this and that now your argument is BCCI doing charity by playing these tournaments and not taking money.

BCCi is orchestrator and complicit in this tournament rigging. Indians have time and time again beaten the drum of jingoism but been unable to take a proper stand because of money involved in cricket.

We know it, your opposition knows it, most Indian fans know it too, but still you think you can pull the wool of our eyes.

India gets peanuts from Pakistan India clash, ACC is the organiser not BCCI.

Also before you say that both are same lemme know why did BCCI not use its power to remove that fine on Surya or why did the tournament actually happen in UAE not India.

Its BCCI greed. Irrespective of how much money they make - the want to scrounge every penny

Hence these rigged draws. Cannot play bilateral series - so just do a Asia Cup with a rigged draw to get 3 games

I am Indian but have no qualms admitting that BCCI is run by very corrupt folks with zero ethics

I agree with the assessment that cricket lost its integrity a while back. Now it’s run according to the most eyeballs theory.

A recent example is unfair scheduling for team B2 in super 4 of Asia Cup. Two matches in two days while A1 and A2 (no points for guessing which 2 teams) were promised Sunday matches in Dubai.

I agree with the assessment that cricket lost its integrity a while back. Now it’s run according to the most eyeballs theory.

A recent example is unfair scheduling for team B2 in super 4 of Asia Cup. Two matches in two days while A1 and A2 (no points for guessing which 2 teams) were promised Sunday matches in Dubai.
Almost all sports schedules are like that. Marquee clash always gets the prime slot. Welcome sports economy 101. Lakers most of the time played on Christmas day. 50 times they have on christmas day. Not many teams got that advantage. Big teams have prime slots. This one is very very straight forward. This is part and parcel of professional sports. That is the price you pay for being a weak team.

Getting a prime spot for regular season matches is one thing but you won’t see lakers/cowboys/yankees getting any preferred playoff spots.

What we are seeing with ind even extends to knockouts. For example fixed SF1 spot in CT, Sunday matches, Dubai matches etc.

The unfair treatment meted out to team B2 in super 4 is a prime example. We didn’t know which team was going to be B2 so weak team argument doesn’t stand (we knew it wasn’t going to be ind). The scheduling of knockout fixtures in multi-national tournaments is currently giving ind a systemic advantage.

If you look at the groupings its always IND-PAK in one group. Its not just one tournament, it happens in basically every single tournament irrespective of what the teams rankings might be. We also hear about "match fixing" being thrown around.

If the sport itself is losing it's integrity what is the point of even following such sport?
yes cricket is losing its integrity. allotting a rain-reserve day to India-Pakistan clash only in the preceding Asia Cup was probably the lowest of the low in cricket. other teams were disadvantaged.

the above example alone proves a decline in cricket's integrity

yes cricket is losing its integrity. allotting a rain-reserve day to India-Pakistan clash only in the preceding Asia Cup was probably the lowest of the low in cricket. other teams were disadvantaged.

the above example alone proves a decline in cricket's integrity

I watch cricket since 1997.

I personally think cricket's downfall started from 2005 when first international T20 happened.

In other words, as soon as T20 became an international format, it messed up the natural status quo.

I personally think cricket's downfall started from 2005 when first international T20 happened.

In other words, as soon as T20 became an international format, it messed up the natural status quo.
Yes, I wish T20 was never invented or it was restricted only to domestic leagues at the most.

Too much money and too many leagues have destroyed the charm of real cricket... Cricket is now being played for money. No real passion left in the boys.

Yes.

In the 90's, cricket felt natural and beautiful. Even bilateral series used to feel lively.

Modern day cricket is ugly. Lots of money; lots of sixes. But, no soul. It feels robotic. It feels like a video game.

Without T20, cricket would've died a slow death.