Is PCB trying to create a false sense of dominance with T20 series against B & C sides?

Suleiman

Hello all.

Next t20 WC more than a year anyway.

Another meaningless t20 series, not a 2, 3 match series, but a 5 match super series.

Panicked after losing to Afghanistan with a team of newbies, then loaded the team with all the frontline players against a bunch of NZ kiddos. Incredible.

Are we supposed to be proud of destroying some school children in these t20 series? letting the stat padders stat pad, and then once everyone plays their real teams at the t20 WC we’ll be scrambling to beat Zim and hoping Uganda or whoever upset South Africa so we can get through to semis again.

Pak cricket seems be going down the toilet as far as tests are concerned already. We need to settle on our ODI combo but we’re out here wasting time. Could’ve used this slot for a series in another format.

The most pointless runs by the two openers today

Serves no purpose whatsoever

They are the equivalent of scoring runs against a County 2s side, where Shan Masood is the Brian Lara!

The Test series was already played earlier this year, it is currently the down time since most players are busy with the IPL so just to play 5 ODIs in an WC year is better than nothing, not the fault of the PCB if NZ players chose the IPL instead.

One thing they couldve done is gone with the youngsters in the NZ t20 leg and played the main players only in the ODI leg to get their combinations right and also to give Saim a chance as ODI is his preferred format and best suited to his game.

It's not our problem which team the opponents being. We are their to compete and win.

The seniors were always going to return for this series.

The Test series was already played earlier this year, it is currently the down time since most players are busy with the IPL so just to play 5 ODIs in an WC year is better than nothing, not the fault of the PCB if NZ players chose the IPL instead.

One thing they couldve done is gone with the youngsters in the NZ t20 leg and played the main players only in the ODI leg to get their combinations right and also to give Saim a chance as ODI is his preferred format and best suited to his game.

Definitely should’ve gone with youngsters. They panicked as usual. Even tho the upside of this win is next to nothing except stroking the egos of the seniors by feeding them cannon fodder of the NZ back up bowlers.

And then come the real tournament (only t20 games that truly matter) they will be getting owned by Sam Curran or whoever.

Not sure why Pakistan fielded a secondary team in foreign conditions against a full strength Afghanistan squad, whilst deciding to go full strength against a B team in home conditions.

I knew as soon as babar hit that century there will be fans who are not gonna like it. Even though neesham was playing.....

Babar azam ko insult karna hai bass kisi tara

They are the equivalent of scoring runs against a County 2s side, where Shan Masood is the Brian Lara!

Qhen babar got his century, he was happy, just like when we won against india and he was jumping up and down on rizwans performance.

But as always ge later bashes them cause he cant let the mask slip.

Today he waited for pakistan to lose so that he can call babars 100 useles. That didnt happen so now look at his post.

Qhen babar got his century, he was happy, just like when we won against india and he was jumping up and down on rizwans performance.

Today he waited for pakistan to lose so that he can call babars 100 useles. That didnt happen so now look at his post.

I’ve posted a truth

It’s the God honest truth. These runs honestly serve no purpose. It’s better if Saim or Harris scored these runs

Or if Abdullah, Tayyab and Azam had been persisted with scored those runs

Or if Ihsanullah took a 4fer twice in two games like Rauf did

Or if Usama Mir was allowed to bowl 8 overs in 2 games and had taken 4-5 wickets

We’ve made ZERO progress

Hello all.

Next t20 WC more than a year anyway.

Another meaningless t20 series, not a 2, 3 match series, but a 5 match super series.

Panicked after losing to Afghanistan with a team of newbies, then loaded the team with all the frontline players against a bunch of NZ kiddos. Incredible.

Are we supposed to be proud of destroying some school children in these t20 series? letting the stat padders stat pad, and then once everyone plays their real teams at the t20 WC we’ll be scrambling to beat Zim and hoping Uganda or whoever upset South Africa so we can get through to semis again.

Pak cricket seems be going down the toilet as far as tests are concerned already. We need to settle on our ODI combo but we’re out here wasting time. Could’ve used this slot for a series in another format.

The PCB are prepared to misrepresent the true calibre of the side because they're bunch of con artists. A fine example of this is the case of Naseem Shah. Marketed him as "the new 16 year old bowling sensation from Pakistan".

They're playing stronger sides against depleted sides and minnows because they're pursuing that number 1 ranking in the T20Is. Under Mickey, when Sarfraz was leading the side, Pakistan were ranked at the top for quite some time, however you had to be rather stupid to even think for a second that this side was the best T20I team in world cricket.

There is no long term vision and that's evident by how Pakistan have panicked in response to the Afghanistan series defeat. There's no shame in losing to Afghanistan on turning wickets. They have the best spin attack in the world and their batsmen are very much accustomed to playing on those slow wickets. They would've beaten everyone except India (and perhaps England) in those conditions.

Pakistan cricket has misplaced priorities. Nearly every other team utilises these bilaterals T20Is to experiment and rotate their squad. It just goes to show that succession planning is an alien concept in Pakistan cricket.

Not sure why Pakistan fielded a secondary team in foreign conditions against a full strength Afghanistan squad, whilst deciding to go full strength against a B team in home conditions.

Indeed.

We experimented for one series, got spanked and now we're throwing our weight around vs New Zealand B at home.

This is the result of job insecurity and highlights the complete lack of forward planning. Nobody is willing to risk their jobs by experimenting too much.

We might have won 2 games but we haven't really learned anything at all.

Imad should be hammering them soon then.

Latham,Neesham, Mitchel, Chapman, Henry are hardly school boys. Pakistan alsohave youngsters in Siam and Zaman playing. However,Pakistan shouldbe trying out Haris, Ihsanullah, and Umar but I suppose they will get their chance in last two games, especially if Pakistan win the series next game.

Indeed.

We experimented for one series, got spanked and now we're throwing our weight around vs New Zealand B at home.

This is the result of job insecurity and highlights the complete lack of forward planning. Nobody is willing to risk their jobs by experimenting too much.

We might have won 2 games but we haven't really learned anything at all.

It's a nice warm up for the odi team.

None of the real players

Allen
Conway
Kane
Phillips
Seifert
Santner
Bracewell
Southee
Boult

This current NZ team is a school team. Let’s be honest with ourselves

None of the real players

Allen
Conway
Kane
Phillips
Seifert
Santner
Bracewell
Southee
Boult

Their bowling seems pretty decent. Batting is the worse I've seen in ages. That being said we did beat their full team recently. Twice in NZW and in the world cup as well.

Yes

Henry is good. So is Milne with the new ball.

But I’m pretty sure I can smash Shipley, McChonchey and Lister. They are not international standard bowlers

Let's lose and then we can't get this sense of dominance. Some weird gymnastics going to create a narrative. Our team is a solid one in T20s- a WC SF and final isn't bad going.

The same Pakistani fans who are crying now went gaga over shubman gill scoring against similar bowlers in Shipley, tickner , Mitchell etc but now have a problem because a Babar scored against them.

Ah yes

Is Babar Azam 21 years old?

Let's lose and then we can't get this sense of dominance. Some weird gymnastics going to create a narrative. Our team is a solid one in T20s- a WC SF and final isn't bad going.

Minnow mentality.

We aren't making a final for another few decades in any ICC tournament. We missed 2 golden chances due to Shaheen, Babar and Rizwan.

Minnow mentality.

We aren't making a final for another few decades in any ICC tournament. We missed 2 golden chances due to Shaheen, Babar and Rizwan.

Yes, we would have done wonders without them. Just look at Sharjah or the performances from the previous decade with one SF

I keep hearing this argument by a number of supporters particularly from Rizbar fans..

That Afghanistan team has the best spin attack in T20 cricket. The wickets were very challenging for batting because there was plenty of assistance for the spinners and full credit to them for getting more out of these conditions.

There is no shame in losing to them because they would beat all sides except India (and perhaps England) in those conditions.

I keep hearing this argument by a number of supporters particularly from Rizbar fans..

That Afghanistan team has the best spin attack in T20 cricket. The wickets were very challenging for batting because there was plenty of assistance for the spinners and full credit to them for getting more out of these conditions.

There is no shame in losing to them because they would beat all sides except India (and perhaps England) in those conditions.

You keep hearing this but didn't we beat a decent NZ, fully strength side only 5 months ago. Does that not count.
https://www.espncricinfo.com/series...akistan-1st-semi-final-1298177/full-scorecard

Minnow mentality.

Didn't we beat NZ in the T20 WC both in 21 and 22. Forget about minnow mentality, we have gold fish memories

None of the real players

Allen
Conway
Kane
Phillips
Seifert
Santner
Bracewell
Southee
Boult

We smashed their full team in 21 and 22. Now find some other excuse

You keep hearing this but didn't we beat a decent NZ, fully strength side only 5 months ago. Does that not count.
https://www.espncricinfo.com/series...akistan-1st-semi-final-1298177/full-scorecard

I have no idea as to why you've bought up this semi final because I've never suggested it "doesn't count".

I'm challenging your argument on the series we lost in Sharjah against Afghanistan because we were without Babar and Rizwan.

Try to stay on track. I've noticed particularly on Time Pass you have a habit of diverting a discussion to somewhere completely irrelevant.

Pakistan is scheduled to play just 27 tests from 2023-2027 while Bangladesh play 34. I wouldn't be surprised if that drops to 15 in the FTP cycle after that. Clearly tests are too difficult for them and their focus is to rack up easy wins playing C teams in T20I and ODI series.

Yes

No wonder Babar was so nostalgic about his ball boy days on his hundredth T20 as if it were his 100th Test

He won’t be playing 100 Tests that’s for sure

I have no idea as to why you've bought up this semi final because I've never suggested it "doesn't count".

I'm challenging your argument on the series we lost in Sharjah against Afghanistan because we were without Babar and Rizwan.

Try to stay on track. I've noticed particularly on Time Pass you have a habit of diverting a discussion to somewhere completely irrelevant.

A PK team without Babar looks incomplete. So when the opposition looks down the list of players, they see average players and not one of the top players of the last few years. So if you think that doesn't make a difference in low scoring games when a score of 140 would have a won the 1st 2 games, then I am not sure what to say to you.

If we smashed their full team then it makes even more sense to experiment against their C team.

Pakistan hardly plays any games anyway compared to other teams

They dont play IPL either

It makes no sense to experiment all the time when they play limited amount of cricket full stop

What are babar and co supposed to do then, sit at home 6 months a yr or find another job?

It makes no sense to experiment all the time when they play limited amount of cricket full stop

What are babar and co supposed to do then, sit at home 6 months a yr or find another job?

They could play the hundred if not the IPL…oh wait?!

A PK team without Babar looks incomplete. So when the opposition looks down the list of players, they see average players and not one of the top players of the last few years. So if you think that doesn't make a difference in low scoring games when a score of 140 would have a won the 1st 2 games, then I am not sure what to say to you.

Babar has been good against depleted bowling attacks in T20Is. It's a different story against first string attacks where he's been terrible. The Asia Cup and the WT20 tournaments last year epitomise that. He averaged 11 and 17 (respectively) with poor strike rates.

Unlike New Zealand, Afghanistan didn't play their second string side. Fazalhaq Farooqi and their spinners were brilliant throughout the series and they would all walk into Pakistan's T20I team.

If you're so sure that Babar would've delivered against them then maybe you ought to be reminded about what happened against Zimbabwe around six months ago where he scored 4 off 9 balls. That wasn't an one off failure against a weaker team. We also saw what happened in the Asia Cup final against Sri Lanka when he got out for 5.

Whoever is considering Sodhi, Latham, Milne, Henry, Mitchell, Chapman schoolboys are just on agenda trynna downplay the dominant show we've put tonight. It's not our fault that NZC sent a so called B, C or Z team. Same set of guys smashed Asia cup champions recently in a t20 series, with SL winning just one game courtesy a super over. SL just managed to win a single game out of 6 (3 odis and 3 t20is). But sadly we are that "nashukr-i" awam who'll criticize whatever is being served to us. From Akmals, Shehzad, Hafeez to Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen we came a long way but our consistent RR is here to stay forever.

Babar has been good against depleted bowling attacks in T20Is. It's a different story against first string attacks where he's been terrible. The Asia Cup and the WT20 tournaments last year epitomise that. He averaged 11 and 17 (respectively) with poor strike rates.

Unlike New Zealand, Afghanistan didn't play their second string side. Fazalhaq Farooqi and their spinners were brilliant throughout the series and they would all walk into Pakistan's T20I team.

If you're so sure that Babar would've delivered against them then maybe you ought to be reminded about what happened against Zimbabwe around six months ago where he scored 4 off 9 balls. That wasn't an one off failure against a weaker team. We also saw what happened in the Asia Cup final against Sri Lanka when he got out for 5.

Hes a quality player full stop Like ive said before he doesnt need your certificate to show how good he is

His stats at every level prove that and the worlds best rate him too

He ll continue to score runs for inshallah many years to come You can down play his acheivements all you like It doesnt change the scorecard or the facts he ll probably go down as pakistans best batsman

He lets his bat do the talking

Hes a quality player full stop Like ive said before he doesnt need your certificate to show how good he is

He ll continue to score runs for inshallah many years to come You can down play his acheivements all you like It doesnt change the scorecard or the facts he ll probably go down as pakistans best batsman

Seriously is it that emotional for you? You've already been told by the chief about getting touchy about this subject.

I could perhaps understand if you were Indian and we're talking about Virat Kohli but even he's not infallible.

There's no problem in challenging my views but I advise you do so rationally otherwise I suggest you can continue your career in post-Iftar stand up comedy.

He can let his bat do the talking at number 3 or 4

Not where it suits him after misusing his power

Seriously is it that emotional for you? You've already been told by the chief about getting touchy about this subject.

I could perhaps understand if you were Indian and we're talking about Virat Kohli but even he's not infallible.

There's no problem in challenging my views but I advise you do so rationally otherwise I suggest you can continue your career in post-Iftar stand up comedy.

Im fine thankyou for asking, its been a good day for pakistan cricket and hopefully the team can win the series and white wash the kiwis in both t20s and the odis

No matter who they play genuine supporters wish pakistan wins and wins well

It obviously wont sit well with some that pakistan are winning under babar Maybe they should have a good think how sincere they are to pakistan as fans when they criticise the team when its winning

He can let his bat do the talking at number 3 or 4

Not where it suits him after misusing his power

I believe babar and the team management decide that and theyve already decided he will bat at the top and do well like hes done today

So let me get this straight. I can’t celebrate Rizwan or Babar’s performances if I criticize them, is that it?

If so, you are once again being limited in thinking by your extreme black and white ideology that you demonstrate throughout the forum. It’s either black or white, no middle ground.

If you criticize xyz player, don’t celebrate when they do well.

If you support xyz player, be ready to support every single thing they do, and don’t you dare ever criticize them. <- Isn’t this how you go about your favorites in Misbah, Babar, Rizwan, Faheem?

I care about the team. Not your fan clubs. I give weight to performances in context. Why should I not celebrate when Rizwan helped sink India?

I’m not out to get Babar nor Rizwan personally. You fail to grasp the same thing with Simon Doull’s criticism of them as well.

If there is a repeated pattern where their performance or attitude hold the team back in the long run, then they will be called out.

I make it no secret when I applaud them nor when I criticize them. But it’s not coincidence that a majority of the fan base lost a ton of confidence in them when it mattered ie Asia Cup final and the t20 WC.

You on the other hand were caught red handed supporting Afghanistan against Pakistan, hoping they won against your home country (that too a team of hopeful youngsters)- all because Rizwan and Babar were benched?

So we have to ask where does your allegiance lie? Is it with team Pakistan or is it just when team Pakistan plays your favorites?

I believe babar and the team management decide that and theyve already decided he will bat at the top and do well like hes done today

You seem to be very emotionally attached to Babar. Let’s hope for your sake he doesn’t let you down

Players' job is to perform. It's the PCB that's scheduling meaningless t20i series when it should be scheduling as many tests and ODIs as possible.

Latham,Neesham, Mitchel, Chapman, Henry are hardly school boys. Pakistan alsohave youngsters in Siam and Zaman playing. However,Pakistan shouldbe trying out Haris, Ihsanullah, and Umar but I suppose they will get their chance in last two games, especially if Pakistan win the series next game.
Mitchell and possibly Chapman (given form) are probably the only ones who would make our best XI of those you've listed. Neesham has played himself out of the team the last few years.

Henry isn't great in T20s, Latham and him would make our best XI for ODIs.

Rachin also batting way way too low.

This series is important in determining who gets WC spots. Audition for Rachin, Chapman and Bowes.

Mitchell and possibly Chapman (given form) are probably the only ones who would make our best XI of those you've listed. Neesham has played himself out of the team the last few years.

Na mate let Pakistanis and especially Babar fans tell you what is NZ’s best XI

I’m not a Babar or Rizwan fan. According to my understanding of this game, NZ sent a school XI to Pakistan. I would smash Lister and Shipley

I knew as soon as babar hit that century there will be fans who are not gonna like it. Even though neesham was playing.....

Babar azam ko insult karna hai bass kisi tara
Neesham has been pretty poor the last few years.

Objectively looking through today's XI - Mitchell and Chapman are probably the only two would make our first XI.

Finn
Conway
Kane/Young
Mitchell
Phillips
Chapman/Rachin/Neesham (at this point, I'd favor Chapman and Rachin over Neesham)
Bracewell
Santner
Southee/Ish/Milne
Lockie
Boult

Na mate let Pakistanis and especially Babar fans tell you what is NZ’s best XI

I’m not a Babar or Rizwan fan. According to my understanding of this game, NZ sent a school XI to Pakistan. I would smash Lister and Shipley
Bowling is really bad.

But some of these players will become first XI players over time - Young, Chapman and Rachin. Bowes has bit of a reputation but so far I haven't seen much from him.

There's just not much depth after Henry and Milne. There's a big drop off in quality.

Even Chacha was able to score some runs against this team , he can't against better teams at this age.

Our Botham, Faheem failed again , against this NZL B team.

Actually this was the series where frontline players should have been rested

What a poor thread and an insult to the national stars who are making Pakistan proud. Players from past have their hands soaked in fixing and corruption and had 0 performances except WC'09. The current unit looks solid, united and committed towards the national duty. They are are pulling Pak out of negative perspective which our so called old stars have built. Babar, Rizwan and Shaheen has won so many things in past year or two and has take Pakistan cricket to the new heights.

Yes, many of you would argue that we didn't win the WC yet being so close. Yes it is heartbreaking, but doesn't give us license insult national stars. We don't have Sachin, Lara, Gayle sitting on a bench whose place is taken by Rizwan and Babar. We have limited talent with woeful domestic structure and facilities. If we go by the logic of not wining any trophy under this new generation Pak team then SA doesn't deserve to play international cricket at all. Players like Klusener, Gibbs, Smith, Kallis, pollock, Donald, Amla, ABD, Steyn couldn't even play a final of any big tournament in last 3 decades let alone winning one. Does that mean we should discard their service and contribution to the SA cricket ? Let's be honest with yourselves and accept the reality, let's appreciate the good moments despite having the worst of the facilities with such a low pay (compared to other boards) surviving in a poverty-stricken country.

God bless Pakistan and it's people❤️.

I dont think there is anything sinister in this nor is there some grand conspiracy.

Home series in Pakistan are costly affairs and we need commercial partners and full houses to make them viable.

Despite protests on forums the most marketable players in Pakistan are Babar, Rizwan, Shadab and Shaheen.

We need these guys playing to ensure that we can sell TV rights, advertisements and tickets.

Pakistan can't afford to rest them.

Babar's century today was infront of a packed house and roaring fans.

In the PCBs eyes do you think that the opinions of moaning cricket nerds matter if the stadiums are packed?

We don't have the same luxury of an Indian tour that other countries have to boost their coffers. PCB needs to rely on our players alone. Other countries can afford to faff around in bilaterals because an occasional series against India will set things right.

So you can pick the failures but he averages into the mid 40s and over a period of time. What does that tell you. Babar doesn't approval from random haters, his record speaks for itself.

Ever Since The Muhammad Rizwan- Babar Azam Opening T20i Parternship Started:

- 3 T20 matches vs South Africa B Team (Home) - February 2021
- 4 T20s vs South Africa Z Team (Away)
- 3 T20s vs Zimbabwe, Best Lineup (Away)
- 3 T20s vs England, Best Lineup (without Jos Butler Though, Away)
- 4 T20s vs West Indies, Best Lineup (Away)
- 2021 T20 WC
- 3 T20s vs Bangladesh, Best Lineup (Away)
- 3 T20s vs West Indies, Best Lineup? (But looks like B Team to me)
- 1 T20 vs Australia D Team (Home)
- 2022 Asia Cup
- 7 T20s vs England, Best Lineup (But again no Jos Butler, Home)
- Tri Series with Bangladesh and New Zealand, both had best lineups (Played in New Zealand)
- 2022 T20 World Cup
- 3 T20s vs Afghanistan, Best Lineup (Away) + Pakistan playing experimental team
- Now - 5 Useless T20s vs New Zealand C Team at Home

This series is important in determining who gets WC spots. Audition for Rachin, Chapman and Bowes.

Point being they are not school boys.

I should also point out that Muhammad Rizwan actually started opening a series against New Zealand prior to the South Africa series n Feb 2021, but Babar Azam didn't play that NZ series.

You can only play and beat what's put in front of you .

Hopefully ihsanullah gets a chance

But after the afghanistan experimentation I'm glad our star players are back.

Brilliant knock from babar .

Babar and co play cricket non stop. These guys would even go and play a T5 leauge in a local village.

Pakistan can only play against what is in front of them. It is not PCBs fault that NZ have sent a B team.

Having said that this 'B' team defeated SL recently in both ODIs and T20s... Latham, Mitchell, Henry, Sodhi, Neesham, Chapman have been part of the main side and Milne, Shipley are no less than Ferguson.

You can only play and beat what's put in front of you .

Hopefully ihsanullah gets a chance

But after the afghanistan experimentation I'm glad our star players are back.

Brilliant knock from babar .

This is the reality. You play who is in front of you.

The IPL, the dominant franchise T20 tournament, will, inevitably, increase in duration. Then there is talk of a potential Saudi backed tournament
Assuming Pakistan preserve the length of the PSL (or increase it) then most of the home season available for international cricket will be taken up with lucrative competing franchise tournaments.

The result is that only development B sides will come to Pakistan for relatively meaningless bilateral series.

So should our main players retire just cuz other team players are busy playing franchise cricket?

They should do what Harry Brook did

Travel the world

Work with Baseball coaches. Improve your power hitting game.

I would love to listen and watch face of Najam Sethi when such a question is asked.

Think he may show disdain. Just a guess.

Agree with many of the posters who say you can only beat what's in front of you. Pakistan need to play.

Even if the series was still open, there would be chances to try out the bench strength. If the series is settled, then Babar should rest and Pakistan should look to chase. Pakistan should also switch the order around. We need to see what our options are for all scenarios.

Allah forbid, but injuries can happen to anyone and the best sides adapt.

Babar and co play cricket non stop. These guys would even go and play a T5 leauge in a local village.

And our ATG side of the 90's would have been sat in the pub. Whats your point?

It's Ramadan and yet they are still practicing, working hard and developing their games.

Their committment is a blessing at a time when talent being produced by the country is at an all time low.

It's a fact that in the age of T20 franchise cricket, bi lateral series have no value and will in the future be played even more sparingly than they are now. The fact is that there is very little of value left in cricket outside WCs and the Ashes.

Saim needs to be open. I was actually feeling rather impatient as Babar & Rizwan were wasting balls in the power play. We will always be 20 runs short with this approach.

Shipley didn't play.

But Ferguson Bracewell and Santner did.

Shipley didn't play.

But Ferguson Bracewell and Santner did.

Shipley did play in odis. For the record I think shubman gill will end up as an atg. I am just exposing the boot licking of some Pakistani posters when it comes to Indian players.

Should have been a 7 match series like the one against England last year.

When have we ever experimented? That AFG series was the only one in a long time. Otherwise, we've not even spared the Netherlands and sent them the best team we could have.

And yes, sitting at home and reflecting on your game and adjusting one or two things in the nets is a good thing and they should do it from time to time. Nobody's saying they should be lounging around for half a year.

When have we ever experimented? That AFG series was the only one in a long time. Otherwise, we've not even spared the Netherlands and sent them the best team we could have.

And yes, sitting at home and reflecting on your game and adjusting one or two things in the nets is a good thing and they should do it from time to time. Nobody's saying they should be lounging around for half a year.

Rizwan for example needs a long break to discover the fact that there's something called the offside and you can play a few shots in that direction as well.

Bowling is really bad.

But some of these players will become first XI players over time - Young, Chapman and Rachin. Bowes has bit of a reputation but so far I haven't seen much from him.

There's just not much depth after Henry and Milne. There's a big drop off in quality.

Good learning curve for the youngsters. I'm sure they will learn a lot from this and will look back on this series as a good learning experience. We on the other hand, will come away from this series having learned absolutely zilch.

Yea not everyone has the means to do that and maybe just maybe playing more cricket will help in improving their game.

Playing against a club level bowling attack doesn't improve your game. On the contrary, it can harm your game and give you a false sense of superiority.

Not our fault about players picking a domestic league over their national colours. Inmho there is no such thing as a meaningless series.

NZ playing eleven is fine. Pakistan is just a very good T20 team. And this is their home.

They would have won even if NZ was full strength.

But that's precisely why they should have allowed youngsters to fill their boots in familiar conditions. Careers can built with these type of softball series debuts.