Is PM Imran Khan's response to the Coronavirus Pandemic crisis adequate?

• Poll closed .

A few statements from him on this issue but is his govt no going far enough to tackle the issue? Does he have the right people in charge to handle this crisis?

I do not know what else he can do when even advanced developed countries are struggling to contain it. He has repeatedly called for social distancing but people don't seem to be listening.

He should have helped Pakistani students who were stuck in Wuhan. That did set up a bad precedent IMO.

there is nothing he can do. if people do not want to stay inside he can not force anyone. Even in western countries most business and offices are still open even government is sending messages to stay inside do not socialize.

He should have helped Pakistani students who were stuck in Wuhan. That did set up a bad precedent IMO.

so they can spread it to everyone in Pakistan?

We're trying to save lives not be politically correct

He made the right decision

A few statements from him on this issue but is his govt no going far enough to tackle the issue? Does he have the right people in charge to handle this crisis?
He is a failure so far and Coronovirus tackling is no exception

So that means all leaders are failures because the numbers are in the 1000s in even developed countries. Heck even Canada will cross 1000 in a couple of days.

Can't believe patwaris are using this opportunity to score cheap political points :facepalm:

Proving to be useless and incompetent. We need a stronger leader.

So what you want him to do, please enlighten us with the measures that have been taken around the world that have fixed the issue. I'm eager to know. I just wish we had a strong leader like Nawaz Sharif at this stage, right?

Pakistanis: Going out in public, enjoying vacation and picnic time, restaurants and parks/beaches fully packed - despite repeated calls by government to stay indoors and practice social distancing

Also Pakistanis: The number of corona cases are rising, IK is to blame, what is he doing? Useless and incompetent.

I have noticed that IK thinks more about after effects.

I think he (regardless of the success or failure) genuinely tries to solve the problems but doesn't talk about the efforts. When it comes to talk, instead of describing the efforts he says "Ghabrana nahi hay", otherwise he talks mainly about after effects.

This approach leads to tainted perceptions. He should narrate in details about the steps his team takes wrt a problem.

So that means all leaders are failures because the numbers are in the 1000s in even developed countries. Heck even Canada will cross 1000 in a couple of days.

Can't believe patwaris are using this opportunity to score cheap political points :facepalm:

It is no surprise that they would use the current situation to score political points. I would advise all whom are desperate enough to play party politics in this scenario to refrain from doing so. If you feel you are unable to, than please have your ISP revoke your Internet access to spare us your pathetic ramblings. Thank you.

So what you want him to do, please enlighten us with the measures that have been taken around the world that have fixed the issue. I'm eager to know. I just wish we had a strong leader like Nawaz Sharif at this stage, right?

I didn't say NS and I don't support them. We deserve a stronger leader than meek IK. That's all I said.

so they can spread it to everyone in Pakistan?

We're trying to save lives not be politically correct

He made the right decision

Saving your own citizen from war torn /disease spread countries is fundemental duty of any govt. They should have been put under medical quarantine to avoid spreading the disease in the country. But to not rescue them even after multiple plea sets a bad precedent. Its all good to tweet around and give speech like "Ghabrana nehi hai" etc. but action speaks louder than words.

I know you are a typical Indian keyboard warrior and your existence revolves around spewing rubbish on Pakistan, but I'll have you know Pakistan took back 7000 yes 7000 of their citizens stuck in Iran. There is another batch of 9000 citizens arriving from Saudi in the next couple of days to a week.

So please first educate yourself before barking.

And pray tell what are the steps this mythical strong leader supposed to take?

Whenever I see Pakistanis talk about strong leaders it always means Army dictators and I’m pretty sure that’s what most are advocating for.

In these pandemic situations probably dictatorships work better , also this is once in a century catastrophe don’t think any democratically elected leader could had done anything additional..

I would not say he is incompetent but few things happened to his bad luck.

IK's bad luck is at this wrong time pakistanis went for pilgrimage to country like Iran . Obviously Iran had to release pakistanis via border as there was no choice for them since they had to struggle a lot in this fight.

Secondly I expected army to play a even bigger role by arranging few more foot soldiers for arranging quarantine facilities etc.,

For ex: Instead of arranging quarantine in tafton he could have shifted batch by batch to quarantined facilities in quetta etc.,

Also as I read that another batch of ppl r coming from KSA next week it seems ok so arrange better quarantine facilities also stamp those ppl (like in India) to identify them and punish them if they escape from quarantine

Hasan Nisar with his 2 liners totally exposed IK's approach towards epidemic.

"bheek ki aisi giri huwi appeal mein ne kabhi nahi dekhi" Hasan Nisar on IK's begging the world to write off our debts so we can start begging again. This sums up his mentality and vision to tackle such a big issue.

I have a couple of questions for you patwari.... hope you don't run away like your leader.

1. Now that you are quoting Hasan Nisar, are you aware of what he has said about your favourite Sharifs. If you are aware, do you think he is correct in that matter? If he is correct then, he is correct now. Otherwise he is incorrect on both counts. Can't have your cake and eat it too.

2. Why is IK having to beg? Is he begging for himself or the millions of poor and hungry? What is the economy that IK inherited? Why did he have to go to IMF? What was the debt in 2013 and what was in 2018?

What a pathetic post. No critique on policy just glib statements. Your dishonesty shows through on every post. No Wonder [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] took you to the cleaners on NS

I am sure NS and SS would have handed it better by running away to London. Maybe you can persuade your crooks to stop robbing a poor country, so that he doesn't have to beg for his country.

Really disappointed that the govt. hasn't stopped Friday prayer congregations like other Islamic countries. Can't think of any excuse for this.

Friday prayers should have been closed but not strong enough to take that call.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has ordered to immediately open the Chaman Pak-Afghan border as a goodwill gesture. He said that Pakistan in these tough times stands with Afghanistan

***? Why doesn't he just let Kabul rule Pakistan. His constant caving on Afghanistan and mullahs is tiring even for his supporters.

I won't blame governments in India and Pakistan if this explodes but you could do without steps like these. No need to open borders like that. This is time to seal borders and avoid risking transmission .

He's fine , I am guessing China will help you folks if situation goes out of control.

As much as pakistani government is depending on China, the fact is China is themselves getting their behinds kicked so they need to look out for themselves.

I think Pakistan govt should be proactive and take steps rather than waiting for debt write offs and China and other Islamic countries to help them

***? Why doesn't he just let Kabul rule Pakistan. His constant caving on Afghanistan and mullahs is tiring even for his supporters.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Despite global pandemic of COVID 19, we remain committed to supporting our Afghan brothers & sisters. I have given instructions to open the Chaman-Spinboldak border & let trucks crossover into Afghanistan. In time of crisis, we remain steadfast with Afghanistan.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1240853149033906177?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 20, 2020</a></blockquote>

To let trucks crossover into Afghanistan.

I don't think it's a big deal.

I think Pakistan govt should be proactive and take steps rather than waiting for debt write offs and China and other Islamic countries to help them

First things first - Pakistan can do us all a mega favour by asking their sweeter than honey friend to stick to conventional foodstuffs rather than the crapola cocktail they currently consume.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Despite global pandemic of COVID 19, we remain committed to supporting our Afghan brothers & sisters. I have given instructions to open the Chaman-Spinboldak border & let trucks crossover into Afghanistan. In time of crisis, we remain steadfast with Afghanistan.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1240853149033906177?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 20, 2020</a></blockquote>

To let trucks crossover into Afghanistan.

I don't think it's a big deal.
I believe you don't thinks its a big deal because Pakistan will perform these tasks:

• So on route to Afghanistan, Pakistan will first clean all those trucks, then take virus tests of all the people in trucks and held them until all the tests are good.
  • Then when those trucks are coming back to Pakistan, Pakistan will again first clean all those trucks, then take virus tests of all the people in trucks and held them until all the tests are good.

Correct?

Imran Khan is hopeful that heat and humidity will ward off the coronavirus threat.

Whose medical advice is he taking? I’m worried.

Imran Khan is hopeful that heat and humidity will ward off the coronavirus threat.

Wow really?

In USA Florida and Arizona have been affected and they both have very warm climates. So that theory is already dumb.

In India right now the area with most cases is Maharashtra which is closer to the south and has warm climate.

It will help (how much we dont know), but its the other measures that ultimately prevent the spread.

No it won’t. That is a myth. I was in Florida last month in Feb when things were not crazy yet. Feb is usually the coldest month in most of USA especially in mid west and east coast and it was 75-80 degrees when I was there .

Today Florida is one of the worst affected in USA and same goes for Arizona . Prime minister is not supposed to act on rumors and myths.

It is an unknown virus

We don't know how will it react. Hopefully he isn't making decisions based on this

All those doing petty politics on the issue should take an hour to watch this

Yes IK is paindu jahil ganwaar....

But this is what MIT is also saying

Warmer weather could slow the spread of the coronavirus
https://www.technologyreview.com/s/615381/coronavirus-spread-could-slow-with-warmer-weather/

And if you listen to his wording he said "some doctors believe warmer climate could slow down the spread of the virus"

then how did that virus came to pakistan?

Bro this is a very ignorant this to say ... Do you think the only place the virus is coming from is China at this point? Popular tourist places are full of people who are contaminated. People are travelling all around the world for business reasons too. You could get it in a plane, and not even set a foot in China. Get your fact checked.

Opening borders to Afghanistan is a mistake. Before Afghan brothers and sisters what about the Pakistani public. Wrong priorities here.

Trust me if Modi has done this there would have been a thread with a million posts on how dumb he is and how cow urine is clouding it’s judgement and other such cliches that happen here. In fact I might agree with most posts in that thread if that were true.

This is a very foolish move to let more people in when there will be a problem of medical facilities eventually if the situation gets worst. Pakistan is not known for its medical institutions or facilities anyway.

This is not point scoring or a measuring contest. This is a genuine matter of concern from a humanitarian perspective.

Opening borders to Afghanistan is a mistake. Before Afghan brothers and sisters what about the Pakistani public. Wrong priorities here.

Man you really are the dumbest Indian I have seen on here... the Chaman border is only open for trucks to pass to Afghanistan.

Afghanistan's only access to the outside world is through Pakistan and if we completely shut borders they will die of starvation much before corona.

The border is sealed for people.

Man you really are the dumbest Indian I have seen on here... the Chaman border is only open for trucks to pass to Afghanistan.

Afghanistan's only access to the outside world is through Pakistan and if we completely shut borders they will die of starvation much before corona.

The border is sealed for people.

Are these self driving trucks that won’t have people in it who will get out to carry on their business?

Afghanistan will definitely be a high risk given their facilities and awareness.

Also Afghanistan is an independent country that has their own government. Let them figure it out.

Trust me I had no political intention or was trying to get into a measuring contest. Under the current circumstances seems like a dumb idea.

So Afghanistan will suffer but students in China are a high risk and are left stranded? I don’t see a urgency here I’m sorry. Things are bad out there but Pakistan seems a little laid back.

I thought Pakistan and Afghanistan had an unpoliceable border. What's there to open or close?

It got fenced off and only has a couple of border crossings like Wagah... much to the displeasure of the Afghan government.

Bro this is a very ignorant this to say ... Do you think the only place the virus is coming from is China at this point? Popular tourist places are full of people who are contaminated. People are travelling all around the world for business reasons too. You could get it in a plane, and not even set a foot in China. Get your fact checked.

that's absolutely i was trying to say. you know china is not the only place where Virus was coming from then why hostage those students there.

Noor ul Haq Qadri on Hum news

Basically he is saying we are afraid of religious parties, would call us kafir and west puppets if we ban mosque gathering.

Are these self driving trucks that won’t have people in it who will get out to carry on their business?

Afghanistan will definitely be a high risk given their facilities and awareness.

Also Afghanistan is an independent country that has their own government. Let them figure it out.

Trust me I had no political intention or was trying to get into a measuring contest. Under the current circumstances seems like a dumb idea.

So Afghanistan will suffer but students in China are a high risk and are left stranded? I don’t see a urgency here I’m sorry. Things are bad out there but Pakistan seems a little laid back.

Its not a dumb idea, trucks and trade must continue for access to essential goods. Even the US and Canada border is allowing trucks through

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Friday prayers at Faisal Mosque <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Islamabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Islamabad</a> - and there was a Nikah ceremony after the prayers as well - kids and children were roaming around freely too. <a href="https://t.co/J8e1V4le0i">pic.twitter.com/J8e1V4le0i</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1240942298344669186?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 20, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

So in this hour of sticking together, you want PK and Afghanistan to be at each others throat.

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Friday expressed the hope that Pakistan's "hot and dry" weather will help to mitigate the coronavirus outbreak, urging citizens to exercise social distancing and self-discipline.

Speaking to senior journalists in Islamabad, the premier said: "We can manage [the outbreak]. There is a difference of opinion, but some doctors say that the type of heat Pakistan experiences, that makes the virus lose its effectiveness [to spread]."

If we exercise discipline for the next month-and-a-half, and avoid going to public places, and if those showing symptoms self-quarantine, then the spread of the virus can be be controlled, he said.

According to the premier, Pakistan faces two major issues if the situation continues to worsen.

"If the number of cases in the country spike, then at least four to five per cent [of the patients] will need intensive care. This can become a serious problem for us [...] we do not have the necessary facilities to deal with this."

The second thing, according to the premier, was panic spreading among the people.

"Panicking is more dangerous for us than coronavirus," he said, adding that the government will not be able to do anything if people start panic-buying.

However, despite the number of coronavirus cases in the country skyrocketing on a daily basis, the premier ruled out a country-wide lockdown.

"For now we have enforced a ban on all public gatherings. But we are one step behind imposing a total lockdown like in Karachi," Imran said.

"There is a reason for this. Our situation cannot be compared to, for example, Italy; their per capita income and their [economic] situation are much better than ours.

"If we impose a nationwide lockdown, we fear for our daily wage workers and labourers. What will they do for the next [few] weeks?"

Keeping these things in mind, the prime minister said, the government has decided to introduce incentives for the construction industry that will be announced next week, on Tuesday.

"The objective of this is to provide people with employment and to keep the economy running. We do not have the means during this lockdown [....] we don't want that we try to save people from corona but they end up dying due to hunger and poverty."

The second con of a nationwide lockdown, is its effect on the healthcare sector, potentially disrupting supplies and affecting front-line healthcare workers, he said.

Therefore, we are not quite at the point of a total lockdown, and are instead urging our citizens to practice discipline and realise the gravity of the situation, he expressed.

"We are currently in the process of finalising a package, to give incentives to industries [which will be announced on Tuesday]. We will try our best to protect our economy, as well as the labour class, from the negative impact of corona."

'Govt working on compiling accurate data'
Responding to a question from a journalist, the premier said: "Reporting the accurate number of cases in the country, is in our interest."

Because it is in our interest, the government will give daily briefings to the public to make people aware of our "actual position", the premier said.

"My biggest reason for opposing a total lockdown is that the country's common man is the one most at risk. That is why we do not want construction to stop; through this, people will at least earn an income."

He went on to say that the priority of all the countries around the world was to provide a cushion to their people.

"Countries are introducing stimulus packages because they have realised that [the virus] is going to impact their people. We have started brainstorming and will introduce a package by Tuesday to cushion our people in some way."

Questioned by journalists about the similarity between the coronavirus situation in the United Kingdom and Pakistan, the premier reiterated that enforcing a lockdown was a difficult task.

"You need to have a lot of other [resources]. Suppose you impose a total lockdown and the virus continues to spread, what options will you have left?"

That is why we have thought about looking for and following clusters, and imposing a lockdown in those specific places, he said.

"The scenario here is completely different."

We are following the situation and taking it step by step, he said, reiterating that the government needed to strike a balance between protecting the people and monitoring the economy.

During the meeting, Imran also called on the international community to lift the sanctions imposed on Iran during the coronavirus outbreak.

He said Iran is dealing with a difficult time and the lifting of sanctions will help it tackle the outbreak.

Earlier in the day, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi had also called for sanctions on Iran to be lifted so that the country can fight the coronavirus outbreak that has caused life in the Islamic Republic to come to a halt.

In a tweet, the foreign minister said: "The entire global community is fighting an unprecedented pandemic. We must, as leaders at [a] time of such great challenge and difficulty, show utmost compassion. Sanctions must be lifted against Iran in this moment of peril so that it can use its resources to save precious human lives."

https://www.dawn.com/news/1542413/p...ot-and-dry-weather-will-mitigate-virus-threat

So in this hour of sticking together, you want PK and Afghanistan to be at each others throat.

Most countries have closed down travel and immigration . Is that because of animosity with other nations?

This is a scenario when you need to ensure the well being of your own citizens.

How does this become about dissing Afghanistan?

One would think Afghanistan is more backward then Pakistan when it comes to Medical facilities and awareness and you want to open the door for people to move freely.

There is no logical defense for this.

that's absolutely i was trying to say. you know china is not the only place where Virus was coming from then why hostage those students there.

Oh, well in that case I misunderstood. Were they able to come back or are they still stranded?

All those doing petty politics on the issue should take an hour to watch this

You know that these losers will see this as an opportunity to bring him down irrespective of the cost to the country. Just look at the losers on here and their desperation for revenge to save their hara***'

I didn't read the article that if it does slown down the virus, I will be the most happiest person because my mom and dad are pretty old. I read this two days ago

https://www.gulftoday.ae/news/2020/...-kill-the-coronavirus-nor-can-hot-weather-who

Just for the record, I don't support or ever voted for pml n. I never called any name like ******* to [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] in all converation because it is a nasty thing to do. I feel IK has been doing a decent job as a PM despite some fatal mistakes.

Imran Khan's government has shown lot of incompetence in handling this crisis.

The government knew that lot of Pakistanis have gone to Iran for some holy voyage and they will come back. Before those Pakistanis start coming back, the news start coming from Iran that the virus has affected it badly. So Pakistan government should have setup Quarantine for those Pakistanis coming back from Iran and let them in only after their virus test comes negative. But they did not do that and all Pakistanis coming back from Iran were let come inside with no restrictions whatsoever. :facepalm: Now the virus has spread in Pakistan and main source is those Pakistanis coming back from Iran.

I'm not sure what you are achieving by spreading fake news?

The Iranian government had "deported" the pilgrims from Iran despite Pak governments repeated requests to hold off for a few days. Due to the actions of Iran a tent-city quarantine was set up in Taftan on emergency basis. These pilgrims were housed in the tent-city for 14 days and now are being shifted to quarantine locations in their home provinces where they are being tested and cleared or isolated. Sindh has a quarantine in Sukkur, Punjab has it in DG Khan and Multan while KPK has it in DI Khan. Not sure about Baluchistan.

In this time of crisis you are still finding any opportunity to score cheap political points. Insaan beghairat ho leken noon league supporters jitna nahi.

Btw your home country of Canada also has about 1000 cases, is IK also responsible for that?

Noor ul Haq Qadri on Hum news

Basically he is saying we are afraid of religious parties, would call us kafir and west puppets if we ban mosque gathering.

Spineless government. The Mullahs have been holding the whole country hostage since Pakistan’s inception.

People should self-quarantine for 45 days to cope with coronavirus: PM Imran

Prime Minister Imran Khan has ruled out a complete lockdown in the country which he believes would slow down the economy and increase unemployment.

“We are also developing a comprehensive economic package which will be announced on Tuesday,” the premier said during an interaction with senior journalists in Islamabad on Friday.

The prime minister said the government is going to announce incentives for the construction industry, so that day labourers associated with the industry continue to get work amid the economic slowdown in the country.

“We want to make sure that people don’t start dying because they can no longer earn enough to afford two square meals a day.”

Imran warned the people to strictly follow social distancing as the country “is facing two major threats” due to the novel coronavirus outbreak, advising at least 45-day self-quarantine for everyone to help the government tackle the crisis.

“I fear if the number of COVID-19 cases suddenly surged like it has happened in Europe our health care system would not be able to cope with it as we don’t have enough ventilators and intensive care units (ICUs),” he said.

Speaking of the second major challenge, the premier said the spread of panic and fear in the society will make the situation worse. “Media houses need to refrain from creating sensationalism. PEMRA will issue guidelines in this regard,” he added.

Responding to the criticism about the alleged mismanagement in the quarantine camps at the Pakistan-Iran border crossing at Taftan, Imran said the federal and Balochistan governments have provided all facilities to pilgrims at Taftan.

“It is unfair to accuse Chief Minister Jam Kamal Khan for the spread of the coronavirus,” the prime minister said, adding that the virus in Pakistan spread due to Iran’s inability to control the spread of COVID-19. “I urge the international community to immediately lift sanctions on Iran.”

The prime minister also said experts believe that with the increase in temperature the intensity of the coronavirus will reduce.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2180372/1-people-self-quarantine-45-days-cope-coronavirus-pm-imran/

I didn't read the article that if it does slown down the virus, I will be the most happiest person because my mom and dad are pretty old. I read this two days ago

https://www.gulftoday.ae/news/2020/...-kill-the-coronavirus-nor-can-hot-weather-who

Just for the record, I don't support or ever voted for pml n. I never called any name like ******* to [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] in all converation because it is a nasty thing to do. I feel IK has been doing a decent job as a PM despite some fatal mistakes.

You are a great a poster and I am certainly not going to accuse you of being a Noora, I was talking about the losers that came on here to settle scores when literally 1000s are at stake. I belive that some things could certainly have been done better but I would have liked an honest critique from all.

I don't take anything you say seriously because your are posts filled with dishonesty.

You can only do so much in 3rd world countries. People are illiterate and they will not understand the seriusness of the situation. They have to go out and work to earn their daily bread. Its very easy to spread this virus to others.

Govt can only control the people entering the country.

Pakistani students in Wuhan were better off being there having access to Chinese healthcare system.

You can only do so much in 3rd world countries. People are illiterate and they will not understand the seriusness of the situation. They have to go out and work to earn their daily bread. Its very easy to spread this virus to others.

Govt can only control the people entering the country.

in which country everyone is home? May be in Pakistan percentage is little more than other countries but it does not mean every one in western country is staying home.

I'm not sure what you are achieving by spreading fake news?

The Iranian government had "deported" the pilgrims from Iran despite Pak governments repeated requests to hold off for a few days. Due to the actions of Iran a tent-city quarantine was set up in Taftan on emergency basis. These pilgrims were housed in the tent-city for 14 days and now are being shifted to quarantine locations in their home provinces where they are being tested and cleared or isolated. Sindh has a quarantine in Sukkur, Punjab has it in DG Khan and Multan while KPK has it in DI Khan. Not sure about Baluchistan.

In this time of crisis you are still finding any opportunity to score cheap political points. Insaan beghairat ho leken noon league supporters jitna nahi.

Btw your home country of Canada also has about 1000 cases, is IK also responsible for that?

Read this column from famous columnist Rauf Kilasra

https://dunya.com.pk/index.php/author/rauf-kalsra/2020-03-20/30311/27759185

Imran Khan's government screwed up, now they have realized their mistake and setup Quarantines but even there they have made mistakes, there was no strict isolation among the people in Quarantines so its possible healthy people in Quarantine will get virus while in Quarantine, media is talking about bad conditions in Quarantine. When this virus first become public Imran Khan made the right decision to keep Pakistani students in China, but after that he has made series of blunders.

what dishonesty? Taking Imran Khan to task over his broken promises and ineptitude is not dishonesty.

You are a dishonest poster, you support NS and pretend that you don't [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] showed you up contradictions and hypocrisy . It's interesting that you didn't have the courage to reply.

Read this column from famous columnist Rauf Kilasra

https://dunya.com.pk/index.php/author/rauf-kalsra/2020-03-20/30311/27759185

Imran Khan's government screwed up, now they have realized their mistake and setup Quarantines but even there they have made mistakes, there was no strict isolation among the people in Quarantines so its possible healthy people in Quarantine will get virus while in Quarantine, media is talking about bad conditions in Quarantine. When this virus first become public Imran Khan made the right decision to keep Pakistani students in China, but after that he has made series of blunders.

But your Noora friends launched a full campaign to get them back. You can criticise things but the reality is that whatever you do can be criticised.Can you tell us what errors were made by the likes of Canada, UK, Italy, Spain, USA etc. They have more cases and deaths. Its easy to carp but tell us what errors they made. Despite yours and the desperation of the mafia to use the dead bodies to make yourself relevant, it's ultimately Allah that will decide not the mafia you so dishonestly support.

That whole "even the developed countries have failed" argument is the most flawed and negligent one possible. It's bad coming from educated people like you coming from the leader of a country it's criminal. Had those countries not done what they are doing those cases and deaths would have been many times more. It's a matter of simple logic and mathematics. You don't lockdown at the earliest stages, you don't have any chance of stopping it. You can track, isolate, tend to a few hundred people, you have absolutely no chance to do it for thousands or hundreds of thousands.

Already we have 500 identified cases. These are people who have voluntarily gone to the hospital. In the absence of greater testing the actual infected would easily be a multiple of this number at this stage. Even with a lockdown now we would probably peak at thousands infected. Without it it's anyone's' guess. In a month or two Pakistan will be a charnel house. Already the medical equipment and staff is overwhelmed. Soon medical staff will start contracting the virus. A month from now you won't have space or resources to isolate people let alone care for them. People who could've been saved will also die. We will then well and truly be at nature's mercy.

I know you will say I am overreacting. Atif Mian has today tweeted exactly what some people here have been saying for some time. Just extrapolate his curve to a month or two into the future and if you are still not scared then it really is pointless talking to you.

Yes a lockdown will be economically bad but will it kill more people than the disease, I really don't think so. With good planning it could be managed somewhat. I know people say the lockdown is an elitist strategy. I disagree. Because be it economic disaster or the virus, its the poor who will face the brunt. Hope and belief alone won't get us through this and at the moment those two are the entirety of our strategy. That can win you elections but it sure won't win you a war against a deadly virus.

The people of Pakistan are illiterate and poor. They don't understand the gravity of the situation and they won't until it's too late. Now if the PM too trivializes the problem and thinks that a five minute address that barely scratches the surface will make the people understand and start self isolating then he really doesn't understand his people. In Karachi, even in a partial lockdown we have hundreds of cars on the roads, thousands of people about. Yesterday we had millions of people in Juma congregations around the country. Schools are closed but children are playing on the roads. If the implications of all that fail to scare us then we really have no hope.

This isn't a time for politics. I voted for Imran, the first time I ever voted despite being eligible for a long time. I support everything good that he does and will continue to do so but equally I will criticize him when he fails. And this has the potential to become his greatest failure.

That whole "even the developed countries have failed" argument is the most flawed and negligent one possible. It's bad coming from educated people like you coming from the leader of a country it's criminal. Had those countries not done what they are doing those cases and deaths would have been many times more. It's a matter of simple logic and mathematics. You don't lockdown at the earliest stages, you don't have any chance of stopping it. You can track, isolate, tend to a few hundred people, you have absolutely no chance to do it for thousands or hundreds of thousands.

Already we have 500 identified cases. These are people who have voluntarily gone to the hospital. In the absence of greater testing the actual infected would easily be a multiple of this number at this stage. Even with a lockdown now we would probably peak at thousands infected. Without it it's anyone's' guess. In a month or two Pakistan will be a charnel house. Already the medical equipment and staff is overwhelmed. Soon medical staff will start contracting the virus. A month from now you won't have space or resources to isolate people let alone care for them. People who could've been saved will also die. We will then well and truly be at nature's mercy.

I know you will say I am overreacting. Atif Mian has today tweeted exactly what some people here have been saying for some time. Just extrapolate his curve to a month or two into the future and if you are still not scared then it really is pointless talking to you.

Yes a lockdown will be economically bad but will it kill more people than the disease, I really don't think so. With good planning it could be managed somewhat. I know people say the lockdown is an elitist strategy. I disagree. Because be it economic disaster or the virus, its the poor who will face the brunt. Hope and belief alone won't get us through this and at the moment those two are the entirety of our strategy. That can win you elections but it sure won't win you a war against a deadly virus.

The people of Pakistan are illiterate and poor. They don't understand the gravity of the situation and they won't until it's too late. Now if the PM too trivializes the problem and thinks that a five minute address that barely scratches the surface will make the people understand and start self isolating then he really doesn't understand his people. In Karachi, even in a partial lockdown we have hundreds of cars on the roads, thousands of people about. Yesterday we had millions of people in Juma congregations around the country. Schools are closed but children are playing on the roads. If the implications of all that fail to scare us then we really have no hope.

This isn't a time for politics. I voted for Imran, the first time I ever voted despite being eligible for a long time. I support everything good that he does and will continue to do so but equally I will criticize him when he fails. And this has the potential to become his greatest failure.

Economically developed countries are struggling to cope with the virus even with educated populations because people are failing to follow advice hence Johnsons crackdown yesterday in London. In PK, there is no chance a lockdown is possible( unless you are willing to shoot on site) and whether we have the systems to be able to feed the population when in lockdown. It may have to come down martial law being imposed but at this stage that would send a message of panic causing even more problems.
I agree it isn't time for politics but it isn't me that ignored the issues and made political points. You have seen how all the mafia are using this to play politics to save themselves by bringing down the govt.

Already we have 500 identified cases. These are people who have voluntarily gone to the hospital.

This is incorrect information, I expected better from you.

Please see below

666 is massive number but again I would like to say that majority of them are Zaireen that went from quarantine to quarantine. In these testing times I request all to educate themselves of the full facts before spreading panic.

Off Punjabs 137 cases 106 are those in DG Khan quarantine who were taken there directly from Taftan

Proof:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">CM Punjab, <a href="https://twitter.com/UsmanAKBuzdar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UsmanAKBuzdar</a> shares the number of confirmed cases across the province. All diagnosed patients are currently under quarantine. Punjab has closed restaurants, malls, markets, tourist places, plazas from 9PM tonight for next 2 days. <a href="https://t.co/8rTGTHot01">pic.twitter.com/8rTGTHot01</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1241357783800451075?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Off Sindhs 357 cases overwhelming majority are from Sukkur quarantine who were taken there directly from Taftan quarantine.

Proof:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Update of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a> affected people in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sindh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sindh</a> as on 20.03.20 at 11 AM:<br><br>Positive = 87<br>Cured=3<br>Death=1<br>Under treatment = 83<br><br>Pilgrims Sukkur<br>Total tests conducted 302<br>Negative 151<br>Positive 151<br><br>Current Number under treatment: 234<br><br>Grand Total 238<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SindhHealth?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SindhHealth</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaVirusPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaVirusPakistan</a></p>— Health and Population Welfare Department, Sindh (@SindhHealthDpt) <a href="https://twitter.com/SindhHealthDpt/status/1240895665808556032?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 20, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

(This is a day old, 90 new cases all from quarantine today)

View attachment 100043

Off KPK 23 cases, 15 are those who directly came from Taftan quarantine and are in DI Khan quarantine.

Proof:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">1. Pakhtunkhwa <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaVirusUpdates?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaVirusUpdates</a>, end of day March 20.<br>No further confirmations, but the number of suspect cases is 13. My request to the public; at the moment, the best advice is to follow what's happening across the world, and work on social or physical distancing. <a href="https://t.co/Sf8h7Dm79i">pic.twitter.com/Sf8h7Dm79i</a></p>— Taimur Khan Jhagra (@Jhagra) <a href="https://twitter.com/Jhagra/status/1241223574238699521?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

KARACHI: Stressing that no province can handle the coronavirus situation alone, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari on Saturday called on the federal government to facilitate a lockdown and increase COVID-19 tests and assistance for those in need.

“Every hour, every day that we delay is going to make dealing with the pandemic more difficult. We’re already late, should’ve done it earlier, need decisive action ASAP to mitigate this crisis now.”

“At this rate our health system will be overwhelmed. We must learn from the experience of other countries. It’s a question of when not if. Stay at home now until the government makes up its mind. Stay at home to protect yourselves & others.”

The PPP leader said they need the full force of the federal government to facilitate a lockdown, increase tests and assistance for those in need.

“While we hope for the best we must prepare for the worst.”

https://arynews.tv/en/pakistan-coronavirus-lockdown-bilawal/

It does not matter ho many thousands of times Imran Khan talks about the precautionary measures should be taken - an average citizen in Pakistan only cares about akhirat, so they will do whatever their thinking in which direction will float the boat. At the end of the day, sensible people will do what is best for them and less sensible people will do what their Mula leaders tell them to do. A country lockdown I do not think is a feasi ble for a country where people survive by daily wages and that will be very harsh. And, people like Bilawal, in his air-conditioned room will be doing Netflix binging. There is a limit to an extent where the government in a fourth world country like Pakistan can handle a global crisis of this epic proportions whereas the whole world is getting affected. Let's hope, people do their best on their own.

what Mullahs done now? did Mullaha bring that virus? Is Mullah is responsible of our country's situation?

Mullahs are speaking out against the closure of mosques. Two even said that they will organise mass gatherings of several thousands and if any of the attendee gets infected, they (Mullahs) will hang themselves.

A lot of them are spreading conspiracy theories tosh!

It does not matter ho many thousands of times Imran Khan talks about the precautionary measures should be taken - an average citizen in Pakistan only cares about akhirat, so they will do whatever their thinking in which direction will float the boat. At the end of the day, sensible people will do what is best for them and less sensible people will do what their Mula leaders tell them to do. A country lockdown I do not think is a feasi ble for a country where people survive by daily wages and that will be very harsh. And, people like Bilawal, in his air-conditioned room will be doing Netflix binging. There is a limit to an extent where the government in a fourth world country like Pakistan can handle a global crisis of this epic proportions whereas the whole world is getting affected. Let's hope, people do their best on their own.

did Mulah tell them not to stay home? Did Mulah tell american right now go outside. There are still many stores open and people are working here. Why blame Mulah for everything?

If he is going to impose a lack down, martial law has to be imposed and rationing has to be implemented. Ultimately, PKs only understand the danda.

Mullahs are speaking out against the closure of mosques. Two even said that they will organise mass gatherings of several thousands and if any of the attendee gets infected, they (Mullahs) will hang themselves.

A lot of them are spreading conspiracy theories tosh!

what about markets and bus sops and still open?
You do not have to go to masjid if you scared. People making there own choice.
I went to pray yesterday, made my own choice. My local mosque was closed and i went to different masque. No body forced me.