Is the Pakistan batters' weakness to play the short-ball that obvious?

I take your point about having some ticker but players are told to get on the front foot and those guys that lack a bit of talent and can't get back to pull or hook, get into trouble when they try to pull the guys that surprise them.

Do you think they will maybe pull better on true Aussie wickets? Pulling on slow, uneven bounce wickets can be tricky

What boggles my mind is why do the Pak batsmen not play the ramp shot, like at all? Trying to just hook your way out of 155 kph bouncers under the pressure of quick run scoring for T20I cricket is asking for trouble to begin with. So many of the Indian and Sri Lankan batsmen for instance utilize that stroke against high pace short bowling so effectively, even many of their less abled batsmen. The ramp shot is clearly not practiced enough.

Pakistan needs a modern foreign specialist ODI and T20 coach. Someone with a rich experience of playing or coaching in the top T20 leagues and who has played the ramp, dil scoop, sweep, reverse sweep and other innovative strokes.

Hopefully the work being done with the kids in the Engro project via Julian Wood will pay dividends in 5 plus years. I hope we are able to produce 360 degrees stroke players.

Do you think they will maybe pull better on true Aussie wickets? Pulling on slow, uneven bounce wickets can be tricky

Yes and no. Pulling and hooking is easier on true wickets but only for those players that it comes naturally to.

This is not the way to play a short ball!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 80%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/cfku5j" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

And one more...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 70%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/nz1sds" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Asif also out to a short ball. What are we going to do in Australia

Haider is a walking wicket when it comes to the short ball.

With all due respect Curran was hardly bowling thunderbolts.

Haider is a walking wicket when it comes to the short ball.

With all due respect Curran was hardly bowling thunderbolts.

He may have a lot of talent. However he has no brain. Keeps getting out again and again the same way. Just reminds me of Afridi. What a waste this man will be. Needs a coach like woolmer to get the best out of him

Its scary to think this close to the wc and the short ball remains an issue. It's even scarier to think it may be too late to "teach" them the right way, those amount of reps would take too long. We're majorly lacking in this area

It's a big issue.

That's why Kamran Ghulam would've been a better pick than Shan.

Both aren't explosive but Ghulam plays the shortball very well.

Chacha out to a slow short ball. Seems like doesn't matter if they're fast or slow, we struggle against all short balls

Pakistan averages 17 against bouncers in T20 since beginning of 2021. For comparison , Bangladesh averages 24.

By far the worst team against bouncers.

If this team is struggling against short pitched deliveries in Karachi/Lahore then imagine the disaster outside Pakistan :facepalm:

Hopefully in upcoming T20I tri-series NZ/BD will exploit our weakness further.

The "surprised" faces of players/coaches, every time our batters get out to short pitched bowling, are hilarious.

Pacers will be merciless against these chickens in Australia!

Babar does not have any issue with the short ball. Maybe he lacks the power to clear the field while playing horizontal bat shots thereby getting caught deep. Not a technical issue. Imran Nazir, Inzi etc are some who used to pulverize the short ball.

He has issues. He is late on the ball. You don't have to be powerful. DO you think DK is powerful. Olivier got him out three times in a row with short ball. Mark wood. Most recently even Bhuvi's pace got him to play the shot late. I think his trigger movement is not letting him play the short ball freely. After Ijaz better execution i have seen is from Kamran. Here he smashes 148 kph for a straight pull.

If you are going by the book, then everyone has issues. That is not the point. Babar, every now and then gets out on short ball like he does on full balls. Maybe the execution at that time was bad. The issue with him is when he is forced to clear the field, whether it is a slower short ball or a short ball away from the body. Does not have the power to clear larger fields. DK is average player and he is nothing compared to Babar. Rohit gets out on short ball these days. His technique is not as per the book. But that is not his issue. Opponents playing on his ego is what it is. Kamran, Umar etc were fantastic backfoot players.

You don't get out to short balls in Test matches 3 times on the trot. You don't really have to clear the field there. You have the option to duck or weave. Some have it. Some don't. But a lot of players that don't have it have managed it. Steve Waugh for example.

Who got out 3 times on a trot? Which series?

He may have a lot of talent. However he has no brain. Keeps getting out again and again the same way. Just reminds me of Afridi. What a waste this man will be. Needs a coach like woolmer to get the best out of him

bring back Mickey the student of Woolmer..

Sacking Mickey has been curse to Pakistan white ball cricket...

Misbah cunningly axed him because he who didnt like the team posting 300+ and chasing 300+ soon after he left (just 1 yr after Mickey took over) showed him and his team in very bad light struggling to post 200 and 240.

I always wondered, given the line up of 150k fast bowlers in Pakistan why do they always struggle against pace and bounce overseas and even in sc at times. Do the bowlers not bowl to batsman in nets?

The fact that this upcoming T20WC is almost a write off is disgusting. But true about this Pakistan side. It shows where this side is and what the future look like.

Who got out 3 times on a trot? Which series?

Olivier bounced Babar out 3 times. Also he was late against Bhuvi's bouncers also. First of all you don't need power to meet the ball at the right time. You just need good instinct and reflex.

Yes.. You need power to pull if it is a slow bouncer or the bouncer line is just outside off stump. And being late against a trundler like bhuvi says nothing but bad execution. I have seen Butler, Warner etc getting out to Bhuvi. Jason Holder has bounced out Kohli multiple times.

In Australia our batters are going to receive the maximum number of bouncers in every match.

Hope they have a plan B because plan A is dreadful.

This is not the way to play a short ball!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 80%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/cfku5j" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

There is nothing wrong with the shot Haris has attempted here. It’s just the execution where he didn’t clear the infield. You can’t expect the batting line up to be aggressive and then not take risks. Everybody was lauding Salt’s innings the other day, but if you looked at it, Salt kept moving around the whole crease. We need to start giving our batters the true freedom to express themselves. Sometimes the shots won’t come off like here. But the mindset is the most important thing.

Maybe it was the pitch then ?

There is nothing wrong with the shot Haris has attempted here. It’s just the execution where he didn’t clear the infield. You can’t expect the batting line up to be aggressive and then not take risks. Everybody was lauding Salt’s innings the other day, but if you looked at it, Salt kept moving around the whole crease. We need to start giving our batters the true freedom to express themselves. Sometimes the shots won’t come off like here. But the mindset is the most important thing.

I said the same thing that the intent and the thinking was correct but the execution wasn't.

This is an ICC event guys and ICC governs the type of pitches everyone is going to get, which are drop in pitches with fair bat and ball at play.

We are not going to see typical bouncy pitches of Australia. If you recall 2019WC, we didn't see those flat pitches England were typically deploying in bi-lateral series nor did we see green top pitches.

Bouncy pitches or not, we'll 100% get bombarded with bouncers so, we definitely need a plan otherwise it will be all over a lot sooner than expected.

This is the example you give haha? The ball was barely waist high, he was completely late on his ugly hoick across the line and it didn’t even go for a boundary.

Kamraan was rubbish against all kinds of bowling except a few fluke innings. He was firmly behind Afridi and Razzaq as a batsman.

On the level of Rana Naved if he was given as many chances as Kami had.

This is the example you give haha? The ball was barely waist high, he was completely late on his ugly hoick across the line and it didn’t even go for a boundary.

Kamraan was rubbish against all kinds of bowling except a few fluke innings. He was firmly behind Afridi and Razzaq as a batsman.

On the level of Rana Naved if he was given as many chances as Kami had.

Not one example. Based on my observation i am telling. That was just an example. Seen in other innings too Ijaz too was due to his stance. Why would i pick a random batsman instead of well known batsman unless it was noticeable. I am not comparing him with Ricky ponting, Tendulkar :)

Shoaib Akthar says Babar Azam and Pakistan batsmen will be targeted by bouncers in T20 world cup. “They will hurl bouncers at you. What can you do?”
“I fear that this Pakistan team can go out of the world cup in the first round itself,” says Shoaib Akthar.

Shoaib Akthar has said that Babar Azam and other Pakistan batsmen like Mohammad Rizwan, Iftiqhar Ahmed and co. will all be targeted with short balls, bouncers, in the T20 world cup in Australia. He mimicked a weak pull shot and added, “aap yahan par (indicates a chest-high pull) kitna kar loge? (What will you do here?)

The former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar has said it before and says it again now. “As I have said before, I fear that this Pakistan team can go out of the world cup in the first round itself.”

“Everyone knows when Pakistan land for world cup what other teams are going to do. Babar Azam: Idhar (here)” and Shoaib gestures a bouncer and mimics Babar fending it off. He then says the same for Rizwan. Short ball, idhar! Then Shoaib repeats the bouncer and fending off gesture for Iftiqhar Ahmed also; in addition he calls Iftiqhar “Misbah- part 2!”

He added, “Don’t think in Australia they won’t be hurling bouncers at you. They will only do that. What can you do?”

His main theme remains the middle-order trouble he has been talking about for a while now.

“Shaan Masood is a great player but not an impact player na? His fifties are of no use. I am not saying the boys aren’t good but there are some capacities inside a player which comes out on field.

“Pakistan middle order is not good. Plus Pakistan’s openers if they don’t perform, middle order gets into pressure. This is not the way to go into a world cup if you want to win the world cup. It is very sad,” Akthar says.

“That’s why I had criticised Saqlain Mushtaq (Pakistan’s coach) and others to get your middle order and batting order in order. Somehow, they are not listening. It’s very sad to see that Pakistan is not doing well. It’s disheartening.

It’s looking dire. It’s not going to be easy for the management from here. Hopefully they learn a thing or two, start watching my videos (smiles) and improve.

Babar and Rizwan can’t do it every game. Haris Rauf, well done; I want other bowlers to step up.

Last month, when the team was selected, Akhtar had blasted the selection. “Pakistan Cricket Board ne kya select kiya he team. Problem middle order ka tha but unhone kaha ki consistency ke saath hum aisa decision karenge jo aapko bara pasand ayeaga, matlab humlog aisa bura decision lenge ki middle order change hi nahi karenge (The problem was in the middle order but the selectors overlooked it and didn’t make any changes in the middle order),” Akhtar said on his YouTube channel.

“Fakhar Zaman, I have told this a million times before, give him those 6 overs. Australia me ball usse suit karega but Babar Azam ko upr hi rakhna (I have said this a million times that give 6 overs to Fakhar Zaman as the Australian conditions will suit him and keep Babar at the top).”

Akthar had also criticised the chief selector, former pacer Mohammad Wasim and his former team-mate Saqlain Musthaq, who is Pakistan’s coach.

“Jab chief selector average hoga unke decision bhi average honge (When the chief selector is average then only average decisions would be taken),” Akthar said about Mohammad Wasim.

He then said that Saqlain doesn’t have any idea about T20.

“Saqlain (Mushtaq) last played cricket in 2002, I don’t want to say this as he is my friend, but I don’t think he has any idea about T20 cricket. I don’t think this is your forte,” Akhtar said.

Akthar also wondered if the batting coach Mohammad Yousuf had much say in the team.

“Meanwhile, Mohammad Yousuf is not even in the team. Had he been there, how could our batting not perform? Yousuf is an asset in the dressing room, but I don’t know how much say he has in this team. Iftikhar Ahmed is Misbah part two. Mashallah, we had Rizwan and now he has Iftikhar for company.”

“With this team, we might get knocked out in the first round itself. I am really scared as our batting has no depth. Our captain is also not cut out for this format as he always looks for classic cover drives. He wants to look classic.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...nd-shoaib-akhtar-reiterates-it-again-8186798/

Universal issue?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A third goes down for Australia! <br><br>Maxwell departs after Curran's bouncer <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvENG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvENG</a> <a href="https://t.co/LeI0Sibe5D">pic.twitter.com/LeI0Sibe5D</a></p>— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) <a href="https://twitter.com/cricketcomau/status/1580147613986267137?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 12, 2022</a></blockquote>

Universal issue?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A third goes down for Australia! <br><br>Maxwell departs after Curran's bouncer <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvENG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvENG</a> <a href="https://t.co/LeI0Sibe5D">pic.twitter.com/LeI0Sibe5D</a></p>— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) <a href="https://twitter.com/cricketcomau/status/1580147613986267137?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 12, 2022</a></blockquote>

Are you saying Aus batsmen are as inept as Pak batsmen in playing short balls?

Universal issue?

No. Pakistani batters average the worst against bouncers in the last 2 years in T20's. It's a massive issue for PAK. Its the reason they are persisting with Shan Masood.

Not because he has made a whole of lot of impact yet but he has strong back foot game and they are hoping he comes good.

No. Pakistani batters average the worst against bouncers in the last 2 years in T20's. It's a massive issue for PAK. Its the reason they are persisting with Shan Masood.

Not because he has made a whole of lot of impact yet but he has strong back foot game and they are hoping he comes good.

Hafeez also had a decent back foot game by Pakistani standards, regardless of other weaknesses. He was one of the few who could despatch the short balls and bouncers confidently.

Yeah. Hafeez added a lot of value as a middle order bat imo because he could hit both pace and spin. I can't think of anyone in the PAK middle order who can do that right now. His real weakness was movement with the new ball. Should never have played as opener.

Hafeez could bowl too. I remember he used to open the bowling with his spin.

He was quite underrated.

Robinson to Saud Shakeel - Smacked him on top of the helmet.

Bouncer was angled in from round the wicket and Saud Shakeel was a tad late to react and didn't really attempt to duck under it, t

Took his eyes off the ball at the last second and the ball lobbed off the helmet high into the air towards short leg.

==

Problems continue

Pretty poor attempt to play the short ball from Imam — top edge & costs him his wicket in the 2nd ODI.

Poor footwork, head position. Stationary target against short stuff. Mediocre player.