Ishant Sharma: "I want to bowl at 100MPH"

Hit 152 kph twice in two overs yesterday. Six times above 150 kph. And rest were all above 145 kph , was outpacing steyn consistently

He's fit for test cricket if he can maintain that raw pace now. I don't think he'l be consistent in line length so not much chance in limited overs

@F_C bhai mujhe ab bhi yakeen nahi hai ....definitely there was some error in speed gun....u know he was faster then steyn yesterday ....haha...:D

After a long time, it was nice to see him bowl some really good deliveries consistently at the batsmen.Not just the pace but the line n length were pretty good in the last 3 games that he played. He seems to be getting back some of his lost rhythm. It will be pleasure to have an inform Ishant back in the test team against any opposition. As Dale steyn was saying the post match interview, Ishant's good length deliveries were coming really good in the last few games. I just hope he does not try to put himself on pressure of bowling too fast(IMHO, 135kmph to 140kmph itself a very good pace for his height) or too short.

MQ bhai if it was faulty it wouldn't have shown him bowling that quick regularly and would also have shown steyn goni and christian bowl as fast. The rest were around 140 kph but ishant was consistently hitting 150 kph. It was a pleasant sight indeed. So two fastest bowler in sub continent are indian now. Ishant and Varun . Sami has lost bit of pace. Gul is at 3rd now with Mallinga

:))) :))) ........... i mean seriously?!?!

gul clocked 154 in world cup

Doubt it, Gul was bowling 146-148 over 10 over spells in the world cup game after game.
You can't give the title to Ishant after 2 t20s

Bhai Gul can Hit those speeds too, but he'l lose his line
He's bowling 142+ on average and all deliveries are accurate

and Lol, Akthar can still bowl 155+

Doubt it, Gul was bowling 146-148 over 10 over spells in the world cup game after game.
You can't give the title to Ishant after 2 t20s

M being OTT, samjha kro bhai ! Its :yk to hype our phaast bowlers here on pp

looking forward to see Ishant bowl tomorrow, he was faster than Dale Steyn and bowled with a lot of venom, i think he came across this thread and saw all the negative comments and is pumped up

I can judge speed by watching the TV, and no way is he even over 130kph man!

the TV lies, don't believe it. :))

Which means Dale Steyn was only bowling 110 kph?? :inti
Get real

How can one gain 20kph of pace within a few months? :))

You need to get real. Wait till he plays international cricket, then his real spead will be revealed. I know this is unprecendented stuff that an Indian is bowling 150kph, but don't read into it much. :))

Yaar you don't get it. The speed guns were fixed :butt

only while Ishant was bowling? Why not with Goni? And why haven't we done this before with Zaheer, Agarkar, Nehra, Irfan? Surely our IT guys in Bangalore knew all the stuff back then too

How can one gain 20kph of pace within a few months? :))

You need to get real. Wait till he plays international cricket, then his real spead will be revealed. I know this is unprecendented stuff that an Indian is bowling 150kph, but don't read into it much. :))

He has reversed the trend !

I tuned into the IPL for 5 minutes the other day and its true - the speed guns showed Ishant bowling in the high 140s with the a few in the 150s. I find it really hard to believe though not because he's an Indian and bowling fast isn't something that India has ever achieved, but more than that I can't see how anyone can gain 20khms over night. Its a massive speed jump. It would be like Younus Khan suddenly batting in the style of Sehwag - its just not realistic. I think we'll have to wait and see in the next few games whether the speed gun records the same sort of speeds for him.

I don't doubt he can, in form and rhythm, hit 150kph.

But that rhythm seems to come and go for him, he can be meandering at less than 130kph some days. I have noticed when he is bowling poorly he seems to just run through the crease.

No doubt getting smacked around day after day after day by world class players on docile pitches diminishes your motivation too. Imagine bowling in the nets with Indian team.

I tuned into the IPL for 5 minutes the other day and its true - the speed guns showed Ishant bowling in the high 140s with the a few in the 150s. I find it really hard to believe though not because he's an Indian and bowling fast isn't something that India has ever achieved, but more than that I can't see how anyone can gain 20khms over night. Its a massive speed jump. It would be like Younus Khan suddenly batting in the style of Sehwag - its just not realistic. I think we'll have to wait and see in the next few games whether the speed gun records the same sort of speeds for him.

What do you mean overnight?
He has been out of action for a few months . Seems to have sorted out his problem. And now after we have won the world cup all these guys wanna get into the squad, so i see extra hard work being done by all these guys

What do you mean overnight?
He has been out of action for a few months . Seems to have sorted out his problem. And now after we have won the world cup all these guys wanna get into the squad, so i see extra hard work being done by all these guys

dont be so naive. that guy is trying to say Ishant has taken something like steriods to bowl fast. According to many pakistani fans, indian bowlers cannot bowl over 150K without taking steriods, India cannot beat Pakistan in the world cup semi finals without ICC(BCCI) fixing the game, India always beat SL in bilateral series as BCCI has bought SL cricket board,etc.,

Hey that's correct. How come you know so much? You don't seem to be an Indian because an Indian can't speak sense (according to haters).

@ Topic: Hitting 150+ once a while is one thing. Doing it consistently is another. Lets wait and watch. I hope he does it more often.

I can judge speed by watching the TV, and no way is he even over 130kph man!

the TV lies, don't believe it. :))

Yeah so it must be true Akhtar didnt hit that 161 km ball against ENG during the 2003 WC. If you watch the replay Hick seemed to have decent time to flick it off to the leg side, sure the ball may have been in the early 150s but doesnt look like a 161 km ball to me (WATCHING IT ON TV OFCOURSE).

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/gn9kXg7Po4s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Shaun Tate's lesser speed on TV looks wayyy quicker than Akhtar's fastest ball above:

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/p34llSwZU8Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Yeah so it must be true Akhtar didnt hit that 161 km ball against ENG during the 2003 WC. If you watch the replay Hick seemed to have decent time to flick it off to the leg side, sure the ball may have been in the early 150s but doesnt look like a 161 km ball to me (WATCHING IT ON TV OFCOURSE).

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/gn9kXg7Po4s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And also before that his fastest ball was the one to McMillan and then too McMillan played it with ease.

akhtar has broken the 160 barrier many times before 2003

I am not talking bout before, I am talking about seeing it on TV, although TATE's one I saw live at the MCG; if you look at both these games through a screen the videos above clearly shows to me Akhtar's fastest ball looks a lot slower than Tate's fastest ball...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gKWM84pADPE

this is the link for shaun taits fastest ball it didant look that fast either

So what conclusion could we come to here ? Speed guns are faulty hence Akhtar's Tate's speeds of 160 plus balls are not accurate... So yeah Ishant mustnt ve have touched 150 either but the same theory has to be applied to all bowlers...

akhtar has broken the 160 barrier many times before 2003

Ah no he did not. Unmeasured deliveries are unmeasured.

Those who think Thompson may have been quicker have to accept Akhtar has the fastest recorded delivery. Doesn't work both ways.

I am not talking bout before, I am talking about seeing it on TV, although TATE's one I saw live at the MCG; if you look at both these games through a screen the videos above clearly shows to me Akhtar's fastest ball looks a lot slower than Tate's fastest ball...

Get a bowler who can bowl above 140kph and then come back. :))

Get a batsman who can get 50s on regular basis . Our pacers are coming through nicely, Zaheer outperformed all your fast bowlers in WC and continues to do so. Don't worry about that. World's best cricket team is doing fine

Please tell me youre kidding.

Luck =/= talent

can we stop bumping this stupid thread? Get over it already. Ishant Sharma will never clock 100MPH and if he ever did then you can come boot this thread back up. Do pakistani fans seriously care about this guy with long madonna hair? Come on.

:)) In know right. He's more an actor than anything else. Good luck with clocking 100mph, should keep dreaming Ishant 'slow coach' Sharma. :))

:)) Umar Gul > Zaheer Khan. He may have outperformed him, but Gul bowled much better (and faster), was iffy in the semi-final. Zaheer Khan took some lucky wickets at the end of the innings where tail-enders came into hit and slog. :))

under pressure Gul choked. lol.

most of the Zaheer wickets are either top order or middle order wickets, check zaheers world cup wickets.

well , let him first show his speed against an international side then we probably can say he is bowling fast. Bowling fast for four overs doesnt show anything. did anybody see wahab's spell against the kiwis in tests. 11 successive overs of consistent fast bowling?

under pressure Gul choked. lol.

most of the Zaheer wickets are either top order or middle order wickets, check zaheers world cup wickets.

Zaheer is mentally weak player who bottled it in 2 consecutive WC fianls. Most people dont rate him any way since he averages in mid 30s in test cricket like many other ordinary trundlers

Zaheer outperformed him in the ENTIRE TOURNAMENT !

There is no doubt that Zaheer has played a pivotal role in getting India the World Cup. He was the seamer of the tournament..with 21 wickets. He was remarkable with the old ball. In the QF against Australia, he came back and smashed Mr. Cricket's stumps. We all know Hussey can be very very destructive with an awesome average. Zaheer also came back and bowled Devon Smith who was playing on 81 at that time. Overall, Zaheer may not be as fast as some other pacers but guess what..he played a massive role in getting India the World Cup. All these talks about Zaheer being mentally weak are ludicrous...A mentally weak bowler is one who is destroyed in his second over of an innings when he is being touted as the strike bowler of the tournament.

He is about to bowl, lets see how quick he is today or not!

Started with decent pace, not express. The last ball was pacy though at 146 kph

There is no doubt that Zaheer has played a pivotal role in getting India the World Cup. He was the seamer of the tournament..with 21 wickets. He was remarkable with the old ball. In the QF against Australia, he came back and smashed Mr. Cricket's stumps. We all know Hussey can be very very destructive with an awesome average. Zaheer also came back and bowled Devon Smith who was playing on 81 at that time. Overall, Zaheer may not be as fast as some other pacers but guess what..he played a massive role in getting India the World Cup. All these talks about Zaheer being mentally weak are ludicrous...A mentally weak bowler is one who is destroyed in his second over of an innings when he is being touted as the strike bowler of the tournament.

Shoaib Akhtar or Umar Gul ?

And yea Zaheer was brilliant, Zaheer Khan was our entire bowling line-up in the WC

Shoaib Akhtar or Umar Gul ?

And yea Zaheer was brilliant, Zaheer Khan was our entire bowling line-up in the WC

Zaheer Khan is hyped up as a bowling 'god', but he is simply a medium pacer who gets low order wickets 'most of the times'. & India have to rely on Zaheer, there only 'real' bowler. :))

Nobody hyped him as 'god'.

Zaheer is a prime example to demonstrate that pace is not everything. Class bowler.

Zaheer is not hailed as any God, where did you get the impression from?
So Munaf, Nehra, Harbhajan and the rest are just our halucinations and don't exist in real?

And about real bowlers-in 96, 03 and 11 wc matches we tore apart Waqar, Shoaib, Gul. As real as it gets.

I am really surprised to see the way Ishant has been bowling this IPL. Now he has got his moyo back. I remember few years ago, he used to bowl like is in Australia and few series after that aus tour.

Highest wicket taker in the WC and a member of the WC winning team.....

Evn his test stats are better than that hyped up Gul who lost it when he came up againist Sehwag.

Yeah..one seamer was enough for India to win the world cup. That's how good he was. On the other hand, the team which supposedly had the phastest bowlers in the universe couldn't do the job. :(

Evn his test stats are better than that hyped up Gul who lost it when he came up againist Sehwag.

:)) Zaheer Khan has very bad test record, much worse than Gul.

get a reality check. :))

Zaheer is not hailed as any God, where did you get the impression from?
So Munaf, Nehra, Harbhajan and the rest are just our halucinations and don't exist in real?

And about real bowlers-in 96, 03 and 11 wc matches we tore apart Waqar, Shoaib, Gul. As real as it gets.

Are you forgetting our record against you in ODI matches and Test matches?

would you like them? maybe a wake up call for you. :))

yeah won so many useless matches but when it comes to real one we know who won and who played like pu cats.:)

p.s this post is directed toward this poster. other sensible pakistani fans please forgive me if I am going little over the top.

Na, I think you need to wake up because India is number 1 in test cricket and has recently won the World Cup 2011. Pointless wins from back to back series aren't as important as winning world cup matches head to head. Plz refer to the 5-0 mind blasting record that India holds against Pakistan. If Pakistan wants to entertain any thoughts of even conquering India in their dream, they should start making major changes within a team and bring in some competent players. I would start with the wicket keeper and also bring in a fielding coach.

He wasn't the highest wicket taker in the World Cup, it was officially Afridi since he had a better average (and Played less mathces) .

And its official.

And being a member of the winning team doesn't make a player a better bowler. Even Zahid Fazal has won a world cup, but doesn't make him a better batsmen.

he is bowling 4 overs, and clocking at 150. What will happen to him ODI and Tests where he will have 7 over spells. Imo, he is nothing special, and speed is useless if you don't know what you are doing with it ie. Sami.

He wasn't the highest wicket taker in the World Cup, it was officially Afridi since he had a better average (and Played less mathces) .

And its official.

And being a member of the winning team doesn't make a player a better bowler. Even Zahid Fazal has won a world cup, but doesn't make him a better batsmen.

who won this world cup Afridi or Zaheer? If you are a top wicket taker and your team thrown out of the semifinals, what is the use of those wickets. Its like sachin scoring century and losing the game:))