"It is possible that India are afraid of playing us" : Sarfaraz Ahmed

Varun

Senior Test Player
Pakistan ODI/T20I captain speaking on TV:

"I have a good understanding with my team-members from this camp and from before"

"I will always take advice from team when needed"

"You have to show aggression in T20 and ODIs"

"We have to attack with aggression during this upcoming series against the West Indies"

"I am an aggressive captain by nature unlike other captains"

"Sharjeel was player who was getting set in all 3 formats as per demands of today's game"

"Amir has been bowling in all 3 formats and we wanted to rest him as ODIs and Tests are very important"

"I dont believe in scaring players and want to work in cooperation with both seniors and juniors"

"No one is a threat to anyone - this is Pakistan team not someone's personal team so Kamran and I will work for the best of the team"

"Sohail Tanvir is highly experienced as is Hasan, Wahab, Rumman and Shinwari - we will try and rotate all and use against West Indies"

"I feel that Shadab Khan will be our trump card based on pitches in West Indies"

"Azhar Ali has been opening in ODIs for past years, but people we have chosen Ahmed Shehzad/Kamran Akmal/Fakhar Zaman are also good"

"You cannot force players to come to Pakistan but the absence of Quetta foreign players was a setback to us for the finals of the PSL"

"We were very excited about PSL final - the hype for the final was incredible which was great"

"Saddens me about whats happened for spot-fixing as set players have also been effected by it all before"

"We have been told from a young age about approaches by bookies etc and we have been under a lot of strict rules since 2010 so no excuses"

"I agree with seniors like Misbah and Afridi about punishments for those involved in corruption"

"If you earn your salary in a Halal way then there is enough money for every player to live comfortably"

"I would like Amir and Wahab to step up in the upcoming series"

"Nothing is hidden in todays' world so I will always play the best XI for the team and there will be no favouritism"

"No one's career will be destroyed by using fitness as a criteria but these are the requirements of international cricket"

"Our current benchmark for fitness isnt that high but as Inzamam said, this will be raised even further in the future"

"If Misbah and Younis can be fit at their ages, then why cant the younger players follow suit?"

"We will try to win against India in the Champions Trophy but the main thing is for the team to fight for success against all teams"

"I have not played IPL so don't know much about it but if I look at how PSL has been organized, then I am very pleased about it and am pleased to say that its improving with every edition"

"I do not believe that Misbah and Younis should leave together as that will leave a huge vacuum"

"PSL is a danger for other leagues around the world as we saw with packed grounds and hype in UAE and Pakistan this year"

"Our PSL champions should play champions from other leagues like IPL and I am sure they will offer a good challenge to those teams"

"Its always Paksitan who have come forward to play with India and they should respond in kind"

"I cant say for sure but It is possible that India are afraid of playing us even though we have asked to play in neutral venues"

"I dont consider myself a superstar and I need to do a lot more to reach that level"

"People in India really respect us such that there was great reception in India for Imran and Miandad"

https://www.samaa.tv/sports/2017/03/saw-no-railu-kattas-in-psl-sarfaraz-ahmed/

Safraz putting himself out there! LOL

Lots to do for him now in WI then he can talk really.

I can't believe this is coming out of national team's captain and not some U-15 team. It's disappointing to see such unprofessional answers. He needs to work on this or he and the team will be humiliated.

Yea, scared of the mighty 6th ranked Test team and the 8th ranked ODI team. Except that India are ranked 1st in Tests and 4th in ODI's :))

"I cant say for sure but It is possible that India are afraid of playing us even though we have asked to play in neutral venues"

The complete quote.

I'd like to hear the actual conversation

It's likely that words were put in his mouth

Nothing wrong with saying it, now back it up in the field. Talked the talk now we will see when it's time to walk the walk.

How come a performing player like Mushy gets such slack and everyone else makes more ridiculous remarks and gets away with it

Wish Indians had this attitude, but no... we choose to be sensible and logical all the time. :sanga

Said all the sensible things but saying " India is afraid of playing us " is total non-sense.

Neither team is afraid of playing each other. These immature remarks come back to haunt.

Ofcourse they must be right!!! :srt
I am sure there will be leak in future where Kohli was asking BCCI to not play with Pakistan as he is so scared of them.

Good comments,these kind of words can be expected from a aggressive captain like him.

Wish Indians had this attitude, but no... we choose to be sensible and logical all the time. :sanga

I remember India coach said that they will win easily against us (We had a new team) in Sharjah and they lost by over 70 runs

As I keep saying .... never a dull day or a dady without foot-in-mouth in Pakistan cricket ... :))

I remember India coach said that they will win easily against us (We had a new team) in Sharjah and they lost by over 70 runs

Even we remember Geoff Lawson who claimed in 2008 that he expected his team to win by 150 runs against us. Instead we beat you by more than 150 runs.

The entire thread being summed about just one point even that is being taken out of context :facepalm:

The interview was strange - as if the interviewer wanted him to say something special.

Think Sarfraz has to fix this part of his game.

raising the bars for fitness..good but my interest has gone after hearing mr hafiz and kami names in squads..

Poor comments from the captain of a team :facepalm:

Is Misbah the only sensible Pakistani player?

I just can't even....

I am sure that young cricketers all over the world are broadly similar, ie mostly kids trying to grow up in a harsh, unforgiving environment.

So why is it that Pakistani cricketers seem to specialise in such statements?

I mean what the hey?

Reporter: Do you always go to a toilet to answer the call of nature?

Person A: Sometimes, when there is one nearby.

Headlines: I sometimes go to a toilet to answer the call of nature - Person A

Public (which does not bother reading the whole story): Oh! Why not every time? Must be constipated.

Kaptaan has ruffled a few feathers. :sarf

Honestly, not mine, not any more. The last time a Pakistani player's comments got me going was Hinduon ki zehniat Tanvir. After that I just went on to accept that there was something seriously wrong with Pakistan's system, even though the individuals themselves were very decent folk.

So by now it's more bemusement than anything else.

Obviously the Misbah brigade are out attacking Sarf's comments at the slightest of any chance.

Yea, scared of the mighty 6th ranked Test team and the 8th ranked ODI team. Except that India are ranked 1st in Tests and 4th in ODI's :))

Yes Yes, perfect post man hilarious.

Just forgot to add Anay Do! to the end.

Why our players do all these foul talks. Our players should be banned on talking in media and so they can concentrate more on game rather than make full of themselves

Obviously the Misbah brigade are out attacking Sarf's comments at the slightest of any chance.

Why include Misbah in everything? And isn't every Pakistani player attacked for any bad comment? And who from Misbah brigade attacked Sarfraz? Just me and I have criticized Misbah on various issues. May be if you weren't so blinded by prejudice you wouldn't make such remarks.

"I dont consider myself a superstar and I need to do a lot more to reach that level"

"I am the greatest" - Muhammed Ali
"I am the the greatest athlete" - Usain Bolt
"I am born to lead" - Graeme Smith
"I am the fastest white bowler" - Alan Donald
"I am going to bring democracy to South Africa - Nelson Mandela

The "I am" affirmation is powerful. If Sarfraz does not program his subconscious that he is the best and a superstar than he does not fully believe in himself and will most likely remain ordinary instead of a great superstar

Yes Yes, perfect post man hilarious.

Just forgot to add Anay Do! to the end.

Yea, the be-all end-all 'Aane Do' series, just just the 'Kitply Cup' back in 2008. The ultimate tournaments which are the best measuring sticks.

The "I am" affirmation is powerful. If Sarfraz does not program his subconscious that he is the best and a superstar than he does not fully believe in himself and will most likely remain ordinary instead of a great superstar
To be fair he did say, "I am an aggressive captain by nature unlike other captains"

The CT game will be interesting in that it will be the first time that we'll be seeing two hot heads captaining both sides. Afridi turned in to abit of a kitten when he was captain but I wouldn't be surprised if Pakistan come out with a more bold attitude against India with Sarfraz incharge. Other than Sher Khan's episode in 2015, most Pak-Ind games have been too friendly, especially from our side anyway.

I dont know why so many people are getting riled up :)) this was hilarious to say the least.

Sarfaraz is a character in himself , we gotta understand it. He hasn't said anything vile or abusive. He is always respectful to his colleagues. This comment could have been made in any way. Perhaps he was joking? Only a video would clear the doubts. Whatever it is, its just the way sarfaraz carries himself. He is lively and always likes to chat. Why do you want to change his nature?

Its After quite a while Pakistan are going to have a captain like him. The more important thing is how he leads the team.and what results he achieves.

The CT game will be interesting in that it will be the first time that we'll be seeing two hot heads captaining both sides. Afridi turned in to abit of a kitten when he was captain but I wouldn't be surprised if Pakistan come out with a more bold attitude against India with Sarfraz incharge. Other than Sher Khan's episode in 2015, most Pak-Ind games have been too friendly, especially from our side anyway.

Since 2011 we have had "good boy" captains who were more concerned about presenting a more gentlemanly image of themselves and the team rather than competing on the field.

You know with Sarfaraz whether we win or lose you can bet your bottom dollar that the team will fight till the last run or the last wicket. They won't be afraid of lipping off with the opposition at times. This is how Pakistan has always won her matches and this is the cricket we were renowned for.

I don't see anything wrong in what he said. He is not aggressive and stupid like some used to be but aggressive and straight forward. Time to back it up with performances. If the performance remains the same and ordinary this thread will be bumped soon.

Yea, the be-all end-all 'Aane Do' series, just just the 'Kitply Cup' back in 2008. The ultimate tournaments which are the best measuring sticks.

No need to focus on the Kitply focus. I put more weight in bilateral series and that just happens to be the last time when India had the courage to face Pakistan in one. Guess being on the brink of being whitewashed in front of your own home crowd made India lose their appetite for such competitions.

Why include Misbah in everything? And isn't every Pakistani player attacked for any bad comment? And who from Misbah brigade attacked Sarfraz? Just me and I have criticized Misbah on various issues. May be if you weren't so blinded by prejudice you wouldn't make such remarks.
Because all of the Misbah fans are bashing Sarfraz.
As [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] said, there have been too many good boy captains these days. We need an aggressor.

No need to focus on the Kitply focus. I put more weight in bilateral series and that just happens to be the last time when India had the courage to face Pakistan in one. Guess being on the brink of being whitewashed in front of your own home crowd made India lose their appetite for such competitions.

I wonder why ? :98:

Even if you put more weight in tournaments, doesn't matter in this discussion as Pakistan isn't hiding from India in them.

When it comes to bilateral series...well....throw a dart and pick India's excuse for today.

I think there is definitely a fear about playing Pakistan in a test series, regardless of venue but after Pak's performances against Australia and NZ, I can guarantee we will see a test series with India in the next available home slot lol

Didn't Pak beat India at home the last time the 2 teams played?

No. A strong India side (Kumble, Dhoni, Dravid, Ganguly, Harbhajan, Zaheer, Laxman, Sharma, Tendulkar, Yuvraj, Irfan, Gambhir) where only able to pull out a 1-0 win against the weakest Pakistan side to ever tour India (Shoaib Malik captain with Faisal Iqbal in the middle order and a pace attack involving the likes or Sohail Tanvir, Rao Iftikhar and Yasir Arafat).

No, I meant the last time the teams played at all. It was an ODI series, result 2-1 I think. India were supposedly the best ODI side at the time too. I remember one of my Indian friends in uni getting very worked up over it lol

Yes, India said "Anay Do" and Pakistan came and had them on the brink of an embarrassing whitewash in front of their home crowd.

Since 2011 we have had "good boy" captains who were more concerned about presenting a more gentlemanly image of themselves and the team rather than competing on the field.

You know with Sarfaraz whether we win or lose you can bet your bottom dollar that the team will fight till the last run or the last wicket. They won't be afraid of lipping off with the opposition at times. This is how Pakistan has always won her matches and this is the cricket we were renowned for.

This. After a long time we have a captain who is street-smart and can motivate the team with his aggression and fighting attitude. He does represent the original Pakistani way of aggressive cricket from the 80s and 90s era. That's what we were known for. I really like his attitude. I am looking forward to see how he handles the team. Enough of this timidness and gentleman-ship, they have brought our LOI team way down.

Yeah we don't need this good attitude kind of stuff.

Bring everything on.

Anyways, He did NOT say that India is afraid of playing.

The guy asked: Kiya India Darta Hai humse khelne ke liyay?

Sarfraz: Maybe aisa ho sakta Hai, Humne unko neutral venue par bhi khelne ke liyay kaha tha, Aab yeh to Allah he behtar jaanta hai woh kyun nahi khelna chahte.

This is mis-interpretated statement.

It's true, they fear pakistan no reason for them to have ducked us for so long

Great interview. Sarfaraz is off to a good start, let's hope he takes his batting to the next level as well and pulls his teammates up with him.

You don't need to say it out loud and be arrogant about it. Believing in yourself is one thing, being overconfident is quite another. Sarfaraz needs to stay humble and let his bat do the talking. There will be enough fans doing the talking for him.

Muhammad Ali himself admitted in an interview that the "I am the greatest" line was just a catchphrase and he was downplaying himself and praising the other greats who were guests on the show with him.

Fighting words from Sarfraz. Hopefully we take this no fear and aggressive approach onto the pitch.

He is obviously not a superstar. Making that comment will only create more unnecessary headlines. Its hard to read his subconscious from that quote.

So it was either an interview or something else. Having a video clip of the entire interview etc will be helpful in judging his statement.

It was an interview which we accurately transcribed.

Not a very clever comment. I hope it's not the start of ridiculous statements from Sarfraz.

It's doesn't matter what rank we are wen it's come to India vs Pakistan it's different ballgame India look strong on the paper then y they don't play with us last time India play a test match 10 years ago by the way we and SA is the only team win odi series ur own yard

No matter what, we always win ODI's :sarf

Our totally out of form Malik can drive the Indians out of the stadium on his worst day!'

thora ziada tho nai hogaya,,,nahi sahee ha:shezzy

Why would not be India afraid of us, we have been beating them in every single ICC event, don;t we ? :bumble2