"It means absolutely zero to me to achieve 10,000 (Test) runs" : AB de Villiers

BENGALURU: Batting maestro AB de Villiers' decision to skip Test cricket this season stems from his desire to play a key role in South Africa winning an ICC tournament. At 33, the player, who is a fine synergy of talent and temperament, knows his time at the crease is decreasing and hence wants to preserve himself for prime events and focus more on life beyond the boundary. ABD, who recently launched FanHeroAB17, his personalised fan engagement app, spoke about managing workloads, being inspired by Rafa Nadal and why Test cricket is here to stay. Excerpts:

On skipping Tests for 2017

It's been coming for a few years now, where I've felt the need to manage my cricket a bit. Firstly, my goal is the 2019 World Cup. We haven't won a trophy like that in an ICC event before. So my focus has changed over the years. Looking at my age - I'm 33 now and probably will not continue to play for another 10 years - so my chances of winning a World Cup are becoming lesser. There are a few things that stand in my way to get to that World Cup - physical fitness, mental freshness, time with the family, time at home, things like that. For me to stay stay healthy until 2019, I decided that what's hardest on my body is Test cricket.Tests over the last few years have physically challenged me a bit, so I felt that I just needed to get away from that format a little bit.

On closing in on to 10,000 runs in Tests

I mean no disrespect to anyone who has ever achieved that. But it means absolutely zero to me to achieve 10,000 runs. I don't care about that at all.

On managing workload

I haven't played a lot, but coming back against New Zealand I still played alright. It's not easy, but it's a great challenge to get away from the game and then to work hard and work your way back. I've found inspiration through a lot of athletes who have done that in the past. I think of (Rafa) Nadal. The way he's come back has inspired me a lot. I'm still motivated to play for as long as possible, and as long as that motivation is there mentally, nothing is going to stop me. is there mentally, nothing i On work-life balance Preparing for games, the game itself, time with family...it's really important to get that balance right. It's something I probably haven't got right over the last 3-4 years. Therefore, I'm sitting with a couple of injuries. I am getting that balance now. I feel really happy. You can see in the park, I've got a smile on my face again, which might not have been clear in the last few years.

Is Test cricket facing an existential crisis?

The way T20 has hit the ground, it was always going to be a challenge for Test cricket to keep people involved and interested. But the ICC has got it right in the last few years. There's been some unbelievable Test cricket played over the last 5-7 years. Some games I couldn't believe what I was witnessing. I've no doubt in my mind that the format is here to stay, forever hopefully. As a player, I know it's the real challenge and the real test for a player. If you can survive in Test cricket, then you know you can play the game.

Could the importance of ODI cricket decline?

Hopefully not, because I still want to win a World Cup. Hopefully it doesn't go away. (Once we win the World Cup) then it can go. I'm kidding (laughs). I think the three formats are unique and completely different. It's a beautiful format. I wouldn't like to see it go anywhere.

Will you reconsider wicket-keeping?

Definitely not. I'll miss the next five years if I start 'keeping again. My back won't allow that.

On Kohli's growth as a leader

At the start when people mentioned that he has leadership qualities and might become a captain one day I doubted it. I thought he was emotional with his reactions. I think he has found a way to deal with it. He is still an emotional character, he loves winning and is very passionate but he has found a way to manage and control that. I know he is a great asset for Indian cricket, he leads exceptionally well. He has showed he has skills with his captaincy and has taken all the doubters and showed them he can conquer anything. He did not have the best of series (against Australia) with the bat but what stood out was his leadership.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...to-me-ab-de-villiers/articleshow/58059708.cms

A modern day limited overs specialist, much like Dean Jones and Michael Bevan before him except that they never went out of their way to troll the purists. He'll be no more than an afterthought in a decade or so.

Is Test cricket facing an existential crisis?

The way T20 has hit the ground, it was always going to be a challenge for Test cricket to keep people involved and interested. But the ICC has got it right in the last few years. There's been some unbelievable Test cricket played over the last 5-7 years. Some games I couldn't believe what I was witnessing. I've no doubt in my mind that the format is here to stay, forever hopefully. As a player, I know it's the real challenge and the real test for a player. If you can survive in Test cricket, then you know you can play the game.

He's not interested in statistical achievements. Wants to win on the biggest stage.

Greatest ODI bat.

Top Test bat of this generation.

Greatest cricketer to have played all 3 formats.

Is Younis Khan listening, really? Younis Khan is a much more accomplished test batsman and it means a great deal for him because he wants a Pakistani in the 10,000 runs club. These are the same posters who then lament the fact that Pakistani batsmen never reach these milestones.

AB de Villiers was speaking in Bengaluru at a promotional event for his app, AB 17, by FanHero

No wonder he's sucking up to the IPL and India in general.

Winning an ODI WC is still the pinnacle of the sport no matter what the test purists say. I'd even put a T20WC win above some random test series victory.

Only reason Test cricket is relevant now because of Ashes. Test cricket has failed to gain interest outside England and Australia. T20 is rightfully killing this 19th century nonsense sport

+1

Hopefully this stupid format of Cricket dies ASAP.

Is Younis Khan listening, really? Younis Khan is a much more accomplished test batsman and it means a great deal for him because he wants a Pakistani in the 10,000 runs club. These are the same posters who then lament the fact that Pakistani batsmen never reach these milestones.

My friend, you and [MENTION=140824]Last Monetarist[/MENTION] have completely missed the point.

AB is not trolling purists or extolling 20 and 50 overs cricket over Tests.

He is simply saying that personal achievements don't count, only team success does.

It's no secret that the selectors told him that he only fits in the white Test quota if he skippers the team. But he recognises that FAF is a much better skipper, and has fallen on his sword so that his old Affies schoolmate can take the last "white" slot.

Younis Khan is one of the most selfish cricketers to play for Pak.

Please see beyond your love. Personal glories mean nothing - he's only hurting the team in the process.

ABD is spot on here - he's a bigger legend than YK ever could imagine to become.

My friend, you and [MENTION=140824]Last Monetarist[/MENTION] have completely missed the point.

AB is not trolling purists or extolling 20 and 50 overs cricket over Tests.

He is simply saying that personal achievements don't count, only team success does.

It's no secret that the selectors told him that he only fits in the white Test quota if he skippers the team. But he recognises that FAF is a much better skipper, and has fallen on his sword so that his old Affies schoolmate can take the last "white" slot.

I was talking about him calling Kohli the best in the word and overly praising the IPL.

Younis Khan is one of the most selfish cricketers to play for Pak.

Please see beyond your love. Personal glories mean nothing - he's only hurting the team in the process.

ABD is spot on here - he's a bigger legend than YK ever could imagine to become.

Your posts have become very tedious. Don't be a [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] clone. Khan is easily better than AB in tests.

Younis is hurting the team? The guy who played a match-winning innings in England and played a fantastic knock in Australia as well? Right. Younis Khan is still the best batsman in Pakistan, definitely better than any of the overhyped younger players that he is allegedly holding back.

Don't rate him. Won't win South Africa anthing. Like Kallis is in tests, de villiers numbers in odis are above reproach. Just no trophies

Seen so much hate for AB on this forum. All he needs to do is say yes to PSL next season and all such hate will disappear like for Gayle and other WI cricketers who were metcenaries earlier but are great ambassadors now.

On topic, 100+ tests, 250+ ODIs, 50+ average in both formats. Nothing wrong with a focussed desire to win World Cup

I'm very disappointed with AB De Villiers not playing Tests anymore and even I started thinking that he was giving IPL and other leagues around the world more preference instead of playing the most prestigious form of cricket for his country.

However, like [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] pointed out, there is no shame in accepting the fact that the quota system in African cricketing nations plays a huge role. We have already seen numerous white players leave the country for better opportunities elsewhere. And AB being the gentleman he is will never let a brighter, younger player be compromised a spot for his personal goals.

AB not playing Tests anymore has only increased my respect for him. I'm glad he hasn't retired however. Hopefully the situation can get better and the racial quotas can be abolished and we can finally see AB playing classical, match saving knocks again.

What a Joke of a person

Skipping tests and playing private t20 leagues.

To remain fit for Worldcup 2019.

I was talking about him calling Kohli the best in the word and overly praising the IPL.

Your posts have become very tedious. Don't be a [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] clone. Khan is easily better than AB in tests.

Younis is hurting the team? The guy who played a match-winning innings in England and played a fantastic knock in Australia as well? Right. Younis Khan is still the best batsman in Pakistan, definitely better than any of the overhyped younger players that he is allegedly holding back.

I have always maintained that Younis is a better Test batsman than de Villiers.

Complete joke of a competitor. He is doing damage to the game of cricket at large with his frequent disparaging comments and gold digging behaviours.

The game has probably never seen a paradoxical cricketer like de Villiers - an enormous talent with no guts and heart, with no legacy in Test cricket in spite of having the talent to finish in the top 5 Test batsmen of all time.

All these assertions about personal milestones not mattering are a bit specious given that cricket is unique among team sports in having a deeply individual context and statistics have historically served to guide narratives about personal achievement. In fact, cricket and baseball are the two sports in which statistics are embedded intrinsically by their very nature. If a batsman is selfish about scoring runs, his team invariably tends to do well unless you are surrounded by an absolute dearth in quality such as Brian Lara was during his last few years in the West Indies team. I might be wrong but there is an implicit slap in the face for all those batsmen who persevered over the years scoring mountains of runs by telling them that those records don't matter. De Villiers and Chris Gayle are very much a modern breed of cricketer who don't think there is anything wrong with being globetrotting mercenaries and then complain about the workload in modern cricket. Kevin Pietersen also strode the same path, however, he realized soon enough that unless you're playing test cricket your standing in the game is rather diminished.

Seen so much hate for AB on this forum. All he needs to do is say yes to PSL next season and all such hate will disappear like for Gayle and other WI cricketers who were metcenaries earlier but are great ambassadors now.

On topic, 100+ tests, 250+ ODIs, 50+ average in both formats. Nothing wrong with a focussed desire to win World Cup

Cant speak for the others. He was never a gun cricketer and never will be. The bigger your numbers the more harshly you will be judged.
And yes if there is any residue of resentment towards him its because he cant stop talking about his workload but the need to play every league and still wanting a spot for the world cup. Its far easier to be honest and say I'm done and I need to look after my future in whatever days I have left. No need for all this drama.

As usual, lots of brainless and illogical comments going out.

Doesn't have the common sense to read the whole article and can do nothing except barking rubbish.

He won't get there anyway

Gutless money grabber

No it won't. It seems only you are hypocritical.

No one is a big fan of Gayle here because of PSL

What a Joke of a person

Skipping tests and playing private t20 leagues.

To remain fit for Worldcup 2019.

Please tell me what else he must do ? Do you wan't him to retire from ODIS, play Tests and T20 and compete at 50 ODI world cup ?

10,000 Test Runs means nothing to me: AB de Villiers

In fact, in his app AB17 that was launched recently, de Villiers revealed in a video that he thought of retiring from Tests altogether, but then decided that he would take a year’s break and see how things went from there. Prod him on whether it meant anything to him to possibly not play a Test again when he could be so close to getting 10,000 Test runs, once considered the Mt Everest of batting landmarks, and the reply is swift. “I mean no disrespect to anyone who has ever achieved that – but it means absolutely zero to me to achieve 10,000 runs. I don’t care about that at all.”

http://www.wisdenindia.com/cricket-...ter-to-de-villiers-a-major-trophy-does/248763

Click through to read the full interview, but this is effectively the crux.

Skip Private t20 leagues to remain fit for Tests and ODIs

He needs money after retirement, he is going to use this time during his prime and earn few million while he can. People always talk about playing for country while they sit in a foreign country when they could have contributed for their nation and boosted their nation's economy. He does play ODIS and Test is worthless format. Why are we playing Tests ? There is no Test championship and there won't be any in future. If I was a good cricket player, I'd even hate playing Test matches.

I am speechless here. Hats off to you sir!

Good attitude, haters gonna hate but if SA win 2019 WC then AB would be rated as a top 3 ODI batsman of all time..

Someone should tell AB that scoring thousands of runs in the IPL means nothing as well.

You are no true cricket fan and clearly know nothing about this sport if you think test match cricket is worthless. Just another IPL fan who's views need not be taken seriously.

Every cricketer dreams of playing test cricket except those that know they are nothing more than hacks and so use their limited talent to earn big bucks from the country that hands out free money to foreigners, India (Other countries are guiltu of this too but not to the extent of India). Other than that, whether you're Sachin or Lara, Bradman or Imran, Amla or Dravid, or even the likes of Shafiq, Rahane, Pujara, Kohli or Root. Test cricket is right up there as the premier format in which to construct your legacy. T20 is simply a means of making money.

AB taking a break for clearing his mind is good and he shouldn't be judged for it. Test cricket is harder than simply showing up to a stadium shouting your name and earning millions. Hopefully, he returns better than ever versus India and helps South Africa get to #1 again.

Skill wise apart from Viv can't say that I've seen a better bat than AB. Such a shame to see him not playing Tests that too during his peak years. Hope he reconsiders.

World's best overhyped player cutting across sports. One of the weakest players under pressure, which is accentuated by his domination of mediocre attacks and franchise cricket. He makes virat kohli look like Sachin Tendulkar.

To each their own. The world needs to be less judgmental and acknowledge ABD for what he is and his achievements. Through sheer talent, ABD's been instrumental in taking modern day batsmanship to the next level. Everyone doesn't have to be an ambassador for test cricket.

"Is Younis Khan listening"

Some of PP poaters are so thick

Younis Khan is playing in the side on merit, not on reputation. He is not dragging on like Kapil Dev to achieve a milestone.

Kudos to him for sticking to his belief. Criticize him all u want. He will do what he wants. Still one if the best bats in the world

Younis Khan is playing in the side on merit, not on reputation. He is not dragging on like Kapil Dev to achieve a milestone.

Really? Here are Kapil Dev's Test bowling averages in the last 3 years of his career -

1992 - 29.44

1993 - 26.93

1993 - 27.55

Kudos to him for sticking to his belief. Criticize him all u want. He will do what he wants. Still one if the best bats in the world

He have lot of fans all around cricket world so few haters can be easily ignored :)

Smart fella.. Cashed out before average drops below 50 :amla

What difference 49.5 or 50.1 makes to Cricketers? Only fanatics in internet debate and loses sleep over few decimals :))

What difference does 69.5 or 70 make on a test ?

Well 69.5 means you failed the class and have to take it all over again!

And then some people say that only Tendulkar played for records. BTW AB even in tests is far better bat than YK anyday. Man for all conditions.

LOL! You nailed it.

Praising IPL- obviously for the money.
Praising PSL- so much talent here and our hospitality and what not.

I have a lot of respect for AB, he is the finest ODI batsman I've ever seen and a top 10 test bat in my lifetime BUT his decision to leave SA hanging, when he still has time and fitness on his side in the test arena is poor. I agree that 10k test runs is a bit of an arbitrary stat but heshould be playing test cricket for the team, not for his own perosnal goals.

No offense to him or anyone in SA but simply playing ODI cricket is not going to magically turn SA into tournament winners lol

You are no true cricket fan and clearly know nothing about this sport if you think test match cricket is worthless. Just another IPL fan who's views need not be taken seriously.

Every cricketer dreams of playing test cricket except those that know they are nothing more than hacks and so use their limited talent to earn big bucks from the country that hands out free money to foreigners, India (Other countries are guiltu of this too but not to the extent of India). Other than that, whether you're Sachin or Lara, Bradman or Imran, Amla or Dravid, or even the likes of Shafiq, Rahane, Pujara, Kohli or Root. Test cricket is right up there as the premier format in which to construct your legacy. T20 is simply a means of making money.

AB taking a break for clearing his mind is good and he shouldn't be judged for it. Test cricket is harder than simply showing up to a stadium shouting your name and earning millions. Hopefully, he returns better than ever versus India and helps South Africa get to #1 again.

Is that the reason Afridi is the 2nd most favorite or maybe the most favorite, loved cricketer in PAK? Surely he's not much loved for his test records isn't it ?:afridi

What difference does 69.5 or 70 make on a test ?

Well 69.5 means you failed the class and have to take it all over again!

Bhai ye to nahi pata k tum kis test ki baat kar rahe ho par hamare yahan B.Tech me 30/33 number lane wala bhi topper se jyada uchalta hai.:uakmal

Even if there is a test which fails you if you don't score 70 how does it relevant to cricket? There is no specific number for decide how good/great a player is.

You only said playing only ODI doesn't turn SA to winners what else format is there?

I never said that either. I assume your English is poor and your English comprehension problematic, so I will say it in urdu for you:

Mene bola, aghar AB sirf ODI kal raha hai, uska mutlab ye nahi ke SA automatically ODI tournament jitne laghi gha. Is ka matlab ya nahi aghar AB test cricket kel raha hai wo ODI tournament jitighai magar tets cricket me or acha kele because AB aik top kilari hai.

Samaj gaya?

So what it reaching 10,000 Test runs is not important to ABD? Why all the hate?

I never said that either. I assume your English is poor and your English comprehension problematic, so I will say it in urdu for you:

Mene bola, aghar AB sirf ODI kal raha hai, uska mutlab ye nahi ke SA automatically ODI tournament jitne laghi gha. Is ka matlab ya nahi aghar AB test cricket kel raha hai wo ODI tournament jitighai magar tets cricket me or acha kele because AB aik top kilari hai.

Samaj gaya?

Some more weird logic :)

He don't want to play tests bevasuse he can't sustain his body but he is desperate to play in one last WC.

Winning WC is >>>>>>>> 10000 test runs which is just a number not going to change how great a player is.

Is that the reason Afridi is the 2nd most favorite or maybe the most favorite, loved cricketer in PAK? Surely he's not much loved for his test records isn't it ?:afridi

Of course, the masses love seeing sixes and hacks hacking the ball into oblivion. There is no shortage of such "fans" in India or Pakistan for that matter. It's just strange to find such people on a forum like Pakpassion.

Fine, I'm an IPL fan and you are the superior perfectionist. Where is the end game for Test ? What do you achieve other than being labelled as #1 in Test.

Name me an Elite Test player that has turned has managed to do well at T20s. Why can't these elite gods become hacks and score 30 runs of 18 balls ?

I'm not putting down Test format and test players, I have special respect for fast bowlers especially. But what is the point of struggling when there is no end game for Test ? No one remembers who was the #1 Test team 3 years ago. You get a news that says India is the #1 Test team, 3 months later it is Australia, then a month later it is South Africa.

Fine, I'm an IPL fan and you are the superior perfectionist. Where is the end game for Test ? What do you achieve other than being labelled as #1 in Test.

Name me an Elite Test player that has turned has managed to do well at T20s. Why can't these elite gods become hacks and score 30 runs of 18 balls ?

I'm not putting down Test format and test players, I have special respect for fast bowlers especially. But what is the point of struggling when there is no end game for Test ? No one remembers who was the #1 Test team 3 years ago. You get a news that says India is the #1 Test team, 3 months later it is Australia, then a month later it is South Africa.

People remember test series for years. Whether that's the 2005 Ashes, Pakistan's whitewash of England, South Africa's test form circa 2010-2014, etc. Test cricket doesn't need an "end-game" to make it relevant, there is no need for a test world-cup because the format has been the format for over a century. ODIs and T20s needed World Cup tournaments otherwise they would not be taken seriously.

Why should they degrade their other skills to start hacking around? A test ATG like Gavasker is far superior cricketer to soemone like Guptill or Rohit. As for your query, yes there are test players who have done well in T20s. Dravid did quite decently in the IPL, if I'm not mistaken.

Like I said, an IPL fan like yourself won't understand test cricket and definitely won't appreciate it. No shame in that, test cricket requires patience to play and watch, something that is lacking in today's world.

People remember test series for years. Whether that's the 2005 Ashes, Pakistan's whitewash of England, South Africa's test form circa 2010-2014, etc. Test cricket doesn't need an "end-game" to make it relevant, there is no need for a test world-cup because the format has been the format for over a century. ODIs and T20s needed World Cup tournaments otherwise they would not be taken seriously.

Why should they degrade their other skills to start hacking around? A test ATG like Gavasker is far superior cricketer to soemone like Guptill or Rohit. As for your query, yes there are test players who have done well in T20s. Dravid did quite decently in the IPL, if I'm not mistaken.

Like I said, an IPL fan like yourself won't understand test cricket and definitely won't appreciate it. No shame in that, test cricket requires patience to play and watch, something that is lacking in today's world.

On one side you don't take IPL seriously and dismiss it as anything but cricket and then you cite example of Dravid performing in IPL, quite ironic!

Not ironic because you asked me to "name an elite test player who has managed to do well in T20s". Dravid is an elite test players the IPL is the most famous T20 league and Dravid did well in the IPL.

Oh really!!!! so who's obsessed about getting 10,000 test runs ?:yk2

Not ironic because you asked me to "name an elite test player who has managed to do well in T20s". Dravid is an elite test players the IPL is the most famous T20 league and Dravid did well in the IPL.

Wasn't me mate and I'm sure by T20, @specialisttalender meant international T20s.

Except when the topic is about Ind-vs-Pak then suddenly the Non-Worldcup matches become highly important ... yep got it. :70:

I am sorry to say this Bilal but on this topic you are very judgmental and close minded.

I myself have watched far more full Test matches than you. If you close your eyes and shut your ears whenever T20 is happening it doesn't make you a purist or more of a fan of cricket. It just makes you close minded.

I can give you an analysis of Test cricket; when it comes to T20 you can't say anything other than that everyone is hacking and that anyone can be hack and swing his bat (except apparently for the best cricketers in the world according to your logic).

You can choose to prefer Test or not even watch a single T20 in your life and that's fine, but that does not justify when you start calling every T20 fan as lacking intelligence or patience or whatever and calling Tests as supreme vs T20s when you don't know about T20s at all.

I only remember apart from Indian series, I only remember Ashes 05 and Ashes where England got humiliated by the Aussies. I remember South Africa's reign and that is about it. I don't remember Pakistan's white wash of England either.

Dravid wasn't good, it was more of his captaincy that was saving him. Even Sachin struggled and basically played aggressive ODI innings. Just because I think Test matches are pointless and boring that makes me a blind IPL fan boy right ? Some people have said it better than me in the few comments above. I don't need to say anything more.

Test matches mattered back in the day because that was the only format that existed and colonies facing their former colonial powers meant something. Cricket was basically a war fought with bat and balls. Every Cricket game had off the field tension that fueled the game. England vs WI mattered due to the slavery and British' influence of the West Indians. England vs India/Pakistan was the same. Don't need to mention India vs Pakistan rivalry. Now things have changed a lot. Most cricketers of different nationalities are friends, they hangout together, and often play together. Internet has broken the wall between your teams and your rivals. Your opposition was mysterious, you didn't know much about them other than their off field behaviour. Now you have Akhtar and Sachin hug it out appear on the show talking about all the good things, you have social media that gives your opposition more human elements and so on. Test has no place in modern times. I feel that there should be only 1 Test match per series to give full importance.

I am sorry to say this Bilal but on this topic you are very judgmental and close minded.

I myself have watched far more full Test matches than you. If you close your eyes and shut your ears whenever T20 is happening it doesn't make you a purist or more of a fan of cricket. It just makes you close minded.

I can give you an analysis of Test cricket; when it comes to T20 you can't say anything other than that everyone is hacking and that anyone can be hack and swing his bat (except apparently for the best cricketers in the world according to your logic).

You can choose to prefer Test or not even watch a single T20 in your life and that's fine, but that does not justify when you start calling every T20 fan as lacking intelligence or patience or whatever and calling Tests as supreme vs T20s when you don't know about T20s at all.

I have watched enough T20s to know what the format is about. It simply is not the premier format of cricket, which is still test cricket and that is how it will be for the foreseeable future. Anyone who says that test cricket should be killed off or that there should only be one test per series is clearly not a cricket fan simply because cricket is test cricket.

I want all three formats to stay, T20 definitely has its place in the world. However, people need to realize that it is no way comparable to test cricket.

Managing workload isn't working out too well for this Ipl season