Javed Akhtar would rather go to hell than visit Pakistan

BouncerGuy

Javed Akhtar’s statement seems less about genuine sentiment and more about stirring up controversy. Given his long history of engagement with Pakistan, his latest comment feels unnecessarily dramatic and contradictory. Instead of fueling division, he could focus on promoting artistic and cultural harmony, which he once championed.

As for some tongue-in-cheek advice for him:
  1. If he’s looking for fiery debates and heated exchanges, Pakistani chai dhabas offer just that—minus the eternal damnation.
  2. Pakistan has a long history of welcoming guests warmly, but if some prefer eternal torment over Karachi’s beachside sunset, who are we to stop them?
What advice would you give Javed Akhtar after his latest remarks?

---------------------------------------------------------------

Javed Akhtar is in his word-vomit era, and we’re not talking about ‘Dard-e-Disco’. The Indian screenwriter and lyricist, who appears to thrive on occasional bouts of headline-hogging commentary, recently said he’d rather go to hell than Pakistan. This, coming from someone who’s spent a considerable part of the last decade basking in standing ovations at Pakistani literature festivals, feels a bit rich.

“People from both sides abuse me,” he said at the launch of Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut’s new book Narkatla Swarg in Mumbai on Saturday. “One calls me a kaafir, saying I will go to hell. The other calls me a jihadi, asking me to go to Pakistan. So, if I only have a choice of going either to hell or to Pakistan, I would rather like to go to hell.”

To his credit, he did add that he receives praise too, not just vitriol. But that didn’t soften the blow of the comment — especially given the country’s history of hosting and honouring him.

Needless to say, Pakistanis weren’t amused. Most told him he was most welcome to go where he pleased.

Actor Zhalay Sarhadi responded with a biting one-liner, “You are there sir! The choice was made for you. Also, stop with the Pakistan obsession. Many other countries out there that would, most definitely, also not want you.”

Sharmila Faruqui gave him a more diplomatic dressing down, “To say you’d choose hell over Pakistan doesn’t insult Pakistan — it only exposes the venom within you. Pakistan’s worth isn’t measured by the bitterness of those who have long abandoned fairness and grace. This land is far greater than your hate, and will outlive your spite.”

Actor Ahsan Mohsin Ikram was less forgiving. Taking to his Instagram stories, he wrote, “A moment of silence for all those Pakistani celebrities who welcomed this man with open arms. Shame on all those celebrities — you gave respect to a man who has no respect for the country you belong to. Just for your personal benefit, you welcomed him. Shame!”

Ikram’s pointed comments reference Akhtar’s 2023 visit to Pakistan, during which, despite his history of controversial statements, he was welcomed warmly by many in the local elite — a scene that resurfaced after his “one-way traffic” comment.

Akhtar’s comments are especially strange considering how often he has been hosted here, not under duress or protest, but as a celebrated guest. His past appearances at literature festivals and cultural events in Pakistan have been met with packed halls, glowing praise, and reverence for his contributions to poetry and film.

Akhtar’s timing couldn’t have been worse. Last week, India and Pakistan were on the brink of war. In this charged atmosphere, his quip about preferring hell over Pakistan doesn’t just read as a personal grievance, it echoes the rhetoric of the Modi regime. By making such a statement, he risks lending his voice to narratives that fuel division and conflict, rather than promoting the cultural understanding he once championed.

Not long before this latest jab, Akhtar had publicly lamented the lack of reciprocity from Pakistan when it comes to artistic collaborations. “We have received their artists with open arms,” he had said, pointing to India’s embrace of legends like Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Mehdi Hasan. “But this has never been reciprocated [by the Pakistani establishment].”

This leads us to wonder, which one is it — the longing for cross-border cultural exchange or declarations about hell and Pakistan being interchangeable?

Maybe it’s not about Pakistan at all. Maybe it’s about staying in the headlines and using any means to stay there.

For Pakistanis who welcomed him, I doubt most of them know he is an atheist.
Well, even if they were unaware, they should know by now. But welcoming him was not based on his religion, it was more of an art thing... But he wants to go to hell, then what advice we have for him ???? Thats the main point

Javed Akhtar statement shows that Even "Aman ki Asha" gang like Dhurv Rathi , Barkha dutt , Rajdeep sardesai etc has given up due to Pakistan harbouring the Terrorists organisation. Ye bhi samajh gye ki pakistan ki policy kabhi ni badlegi or Terrorists ko support karte rahenge India m attacks karne ke liye .

@Hitman @mominsaigol @Devadwal @Rana Some solid pieces of advice needed for Javed Sahab.

Well, even if they were unaware, they should know by now. But welcoming him was not based on his religion, it was more of an art thing... But he wants to go to hell, then what advice we have for him ???? Thats the main point
He never said that. He said if the choice is between Pakistan and hell, he'll choose the latter.

“People from both sides abuse me,” he said at the launch of Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut’s new book Narkatla Swarg in Mumbai on Saturday. “One calls me a kaafir, saying I will go to hell. The other calls me a jihadi, asking me to go to Pakistan. So, if I only have a choice of going either to hell or to Pakistan, I would rather like to go to hell.”

Who calls him a kaafir? Indian Muslims? And who calls him a jihaadi and tells him to go to Pakistan? An Indian Hindu, most likely? So, Indian Muslims want him to go to hell, and he is choosing hell over Pakistan. Is he indirectly calling India hell?

Can @Bhaijaan, @Rajdeep, and the most knowledgeable poster on this forum Shri @Devadwal kindly clarify this confusion? If he is equating India with hell, then he deserves to be behind bars and frankly, a bulldozer over his house wouldn't be out of place. :inti

images

Well.. He chose hell NO???
Rather than Pakistan. Whose country did he put down? Yours. Whose country he belongs to? Mine.

It's obvious you will dislike him for what he said. I'd dislike a Pakistani way more who says such stuff about my country that too after we shower him with love when he visits us.​

Mentality wise Javed Akhtar is what most of us in Bharat would have become if there was no threat to our culture from expansionist Islamists. Sanatani culture when left free from existential threat is about open mindedness, inward introspection, welcoming new ideas. Our culture has always been about peaceful co-existence & being non aggressive to our neighbours howsoever small or vulnerable they could be. He is a true Sanatani.

Hindutva came into existence when Sanatanis perceived a legitimate threat to their existence and future from violent Islamists.

In a world where Sanatan faces no existential threat from foreign religions, there is no need for Hindutva and Hinduism can be enjoyed in its purest form.

Javed Akhtar known for his frank opinions…. Even he visited Pakistan last time he clearly slapped Pakistan for planning 26/11 Mumbai and harbouring terrorism

Indian Muslim's these days seems to be really angry on Pakistan. Likes of Owaisi and Javed Akhtar not coming light it seems.

Hopefully other Bhartiya darra hua mussalmans follow their path soon :inti

:kp :rabada2

Indian Muslim's these days seems to be really angry on Pakistan. Likes of Owaisi and Javed Akhtar not coming light it seems.

Not that i am comparing but if you will notice dogs although they gang up when it is convenient for them against humans but generally prefer to guard their gully fiercely against rival dogs. They're proud of their dominion over their gully Rival dogs maybe brothers in spirit but cannot claim their gully.

Its the same wrt muslims in the subcontinent, when it comes to creating an Anti Hindu front they're on same page but otherwise Punjabi, Kashmiri, Baloch, Sindhi, Bangali, Bihari, UP, Madrassi, Hyderabadi all muslims do not entertain interference from rival clans.

But shameless Pakistanis will still worship these ugly Indians and listen to their songs and watch their movies, and will welcome them with open arms when they visit Pakistan. It is about time that Pakistanis develop a thing called self-respect and boycott Bollywood altogether.

Asauddin Owaisi, Dhruv Rathee, Barkha Dutt and now Javed Sahab.

Everything coming out of syllabus for them. We sanghis are not even required in the scene.

:misbah

If this guy is an atheist hes changed his belief for india. Now he believes in hell , next he needs to ask himself what is hell , who created it etc . :moyo

What's his views on hindutva ideology?

But shameless Pakistanis will still worship these ugly Indians and listen to their songs and watch their movies, and will welcome them with open arms when they visit Pakistan. It is about time that Pakistanis develop a thing called self-respect and boycott Bollywood altogether.

30 years ago as a kid Indian movies were half decent, many had islamic themes or stories or generally decent plots, you could watch them with the entire family. Now most Pakistanis I know never watch this with their families,, they are promoting adulty, silly half naked women and even homosexuality. Hindus dont mind as I believe there's no issue for them but I agree muslims should be careful showing this rubbish to their children. But i agree Pakistanis should attempt to avoid this rubbish and not treat it as some sort of superior culture as it's actually the opposite

Javed Akthar claims to be an atheist- a Muslim being an atheist would be blasphemy in Pakistan

Javed Akthar like to enjoy a drink- not allowed in Pakistan

Javed Akthar has written popular Bhajans- would he lynched for Blasphemy again.

Javed Akthar is a millionaire from writing Bollywood films and songs - in Pak he would probably get 100PKR to write cousin love stories on Pak television dramas.

So why do people think he would pick Pakistan lol.😂

There is no better sight than Modi's Hindutva India imploding.

It's a sight to see, I mean a sight to see.

Cult members in a tail spin on Pakistan forums, cult government humiliated by the 5eyes, and finally the cult sent to abject condemnation by Pakistan - An ISLAMIC republic.

Let this be set in stone, India has more to lose, the homeland and birthplace of Hindutva - whereas Pakistan could be wiped off the Earth and Islam will still remain the largest religion on Earth.

Let this sink in like the Titanic.

If this guy is an atheist hes changed his belief for india. Now he believes in hell , next he needs to ask himself what is hell , who created it etc . :moyo

What's his views on hindutva ideology?
As I said most cult members are unaware of their bloodline let alone the ideology the yap all day long.

There is no better sight than Modi's Hindutva India imploding.

It's a sight to see, I mean a sight to see.

Cult members in a tail spin on Pakistan forums, cult government humiliated by the 5eyes, and finally the cult sent to abject condemnation by Pakistan - An ISLAMIC republic.

Let this be set in stone, India has more to lose, the homeland and birthplace of Hindutva - whereas Pakistan could be wiped off the Earth and Islam will still remain the largest religion on Earth.

Let this sink in like the Titanic.
Preach. If India is destroyed, Hinduism, especially Hindutva, is more or less dead, while even if Pakistan is destroyed, Islam will still reign supreme.

30 years ago as a kid Indian movies were half decent, many had islamic themes or stories or generally decent plots, you could watch them with the entire family. Now most Pakistanis I know never watch this with their families,, they are promoting adulty, silly half naked women and even homosexuality. Hindus dont mind as I believe there's no issue for them but I agree muslims should be careful showing this rubbish to their children. But i agree Pakistanis should attempt to avoid this rubbish and not treat it as some sort of superior culture as it's actually the opposite

I disagree, Hindus do mind. That is why they are now trying to promote a version of Hinduism which is more assertive like Islam. Cultural norms ebb and flow like fashion, biology is a bit less accomodating. Just a few years ago there was Indian posters who were hammering British Muslim for objecting to transgender nonsense being taught to their kids in schools. Now even the rest of Britain has turned around and is pushing back against LBTGQ schooling. How dumb do the Indian cheerleaders of pink pride look now?

So basically Hindus and India should be secular and subdued but Pakistan and Bradford should be run on shariah with an iron fist. Ok.

It’s funny because neither RSS or any Hindutva party wasn’t in power in 1947, the same Dear Nehru and Gandhi were on the negotiating table when Jinnah wanted the 2 nation theory. Funny to see the new found love for Pakistanis for “secularism”

I'm not sure as acc to this its accepted

So basically Hindus and India should be secular and subdued but Pakistan and Bradford should be run on shariah with an iron fist. Ok.

It’s funny because neither RSS or any Hindutva party wasn’t in power in 1947, the same Dear Nehru and Gandhi were on the negotiating table when Jinnah wanted the 2 nation theory. Funny to see the new found love for Pakistanis for “secularism”

But that's not what I said. Basically Hindus should just get some clarity on what Hinduism stands for and stick to that. If they don't have any that's fine also, but then don't jump on the bandwagon with western thoughts to bash Islam because it only makes you look foolish when westerners do a U-turn in the space of a decade.

Lol...no matter how much some among us may hate India but we would never call it worse then hell. Javed Akhtar has gone bonkers indeed

Seems Ike every Z list Indian celeb tries to make a name for themselves by telling everyone how much they hate Pakistan.

Which is funny because I had heard it was Pakistanis who were obsessed with India

Lol...no matter how much some among us may hate India but we would never call it worse then hell. Javed Akhtar has gone bonkers indeed

I don't think so. Maybe the hindutvas have a point, all his atheism/gay persona is a cover for his undercover terrorist sympathies. They should send him to new buddies Afghanistan so that he gets interrogated properly.

Who calls him a kaafir? Indian Muslims? And who calls him a jihaadi and tells him to go to Pakistan? An Indian Hindu, most likely? So, Indian Muslims want him to go to hell, and he is choosing hell over Pakistan. Is he indirectly calling India hell?

Can @Bhaijaan, @Rajdeep, and the most knowledgeable poster on this forum Shri @Devadwal kindly clarify this confusion? If he is equating India with hell, then he deserves to be behind bars and frankly, a bulldozer over his house wouldn't be out of place. :inti

images
Good to see Sarfaraz Ahmed choosing a new career post cricket.

But that's not what I said. Basically Hindus should just get some clarity on what Hinduism stands for and stick to that. If they don't have any that's fine also, but then don't jump on the bandwagon with western thoughts to bash Islam because it only makes you look foolish when westerners do a U-turn in the space of a decade.
Why do you need clarity about Hinduism? it’s open to interpretation? I also need clarity on what is the difference between the book followed by ISIS, Taliban etc or some good hearted cobbler Chacha who thinks he ruled over Hindus in Karachi. It all comes down to personal interpretation.

Why do I need clarity? You quoted me asking about it Sherlock. Just scroll up and see for yourself. Do yourself and everyone else a favour and just ignore my views if you really believe in open interpretation. It's all good.

images
Seems like a desperate cry for attention. I didn't even know who he was. Had to Google to find out that he's a Bollywood screenwriter.

Gonna go out on a limb here and say that he probably ain't the Quentin Tarantino or Paul Schrader of Bollywood.

The issue with Muslims and former Muslims in Pakistan as well as BJP leaders is the same , they have to talk about Pakistan, Islam, Mughal, Mandir to keep themselves relevant.

RSS should have been dismantled instead of banned. Their hatred is not based on any strong ground they are as weak as there claims to nationalism. They actually are full of inferiority complex. Imagine they are trying to wipe out Mughals from school books, that creates a vacuum of 600 years in Indian History, who will fill that up? Did Mr Sarwarkar or Modi ruled in that period?

RSS was and still is cancer to Indian society.

The issue with Muslims and former Muslims in Pakistan as well as BJP leaders is the same , they have to talk about Pakistan, Islam, Mughal, Mandir to keep themselves relevant.

RSS should have been dismantled instead of banned. Their hatred is not based on any strong ground they are as weak as there claims to nationalism. They actually are full of inferiority complex. Imagine they are trying to wipe out Mughals from school books, that creates a vacuum of 600 years in Indian History, who will fill that up? Did Mr Sarwarkar or Modi ruled in that period?

RSS was and still is cancer to Indian society.

RSS/BJP is a one trick pony. They only have one narrative. Without that narrative, their existence collapses.

It is astonishing how millions of Indians fall for their trick. It explains why India has a low average IQ score of 76.24. :inti

Poor Chacha the cobbler in Lahore and the cholay bhatura wala in Mumbai are just trying to feed their families. It’s the self righteous, foreign educated WhatsApp scholars who want the bhatura guy to hate Chacha, all while sipping Starbucks and pretending they’re defending ‘civilization’.

Quick question, are you preaching hate today as an IT engineer, a fake history expert, Doctor, Lawyer or just Modi’s unpaid PR intern?

Poor Chacha the cobbler in Lahore and the cholay bhatura wala in Mumbai are just trying to feed their families. It’s the self righteous, foreign educated WhatsApp scholars who want the bhatura guy to hate Chacha, all while sipping Starbucks and pretending they’re defending ‘civilization’.

Quick question, are you preaching hate today as an IT engineer, a fake history expert, Doctor, Lawyer or just Modi’s unpaid PR intern?
As long as I can explain simple concepts like hygiene and gravity, I guess I can take up any role for your benefit 👍 hygeinebass9 that name is going to stick 🤣

You can try, watching you flex that ego is like watching a rich toddler argue with a scientist. Hilarious, pointless, and full of spit.

You flaunt wealth like it’s wisdom, but most of us know the difference between hygiene and vaccines. Apparently, you think polio got scared of your Versace gloves.

RSS/BJP is a one trick pony. They only have one narrative. Without that narrative, their existence collapses.

It is astonishing how millions of Indians fall for their trick. It explains why India has a low average IQ score of 76.24. :inti

They fall for that because RSS has worked at grass root levels for long long time and brainwashed children at that time with false narratives. Those children now hold important positions in different places of society . They are full of poison .

They will never come for intellectual debates instead when mobs will attack you . This mob mentality has been spread to other countries as well. To make themselves relevant you will see educated Hindus in India eating cow dung and urine. What kind of notion do they want to spread ? This is NOT Indian culture.

All these prominent BJP leaders , there children are studying or settled abroad , and these people are using Bharat Mata slogan. Every day you will see some Muslim harassed or beaten up by a mob. If you criticize Modi , you are a terrorist or anti India , is it logical? is Modi India? How many times have you heard that Aurangzeb broke the temples , did you ever hear he gave grants to so many temples in India?

As in some other thread I gave a proper reference about apsara ( hoor ) in Hindu scriptures , the Hindu scriptures are full of same things which Hindus make fun of Muslim in worse forms. But issue is that they have never read anything , and will go to some Anti Islam site and post around without thinking.

These fools support Israel just because they killed Muslims , but what does Jews believe about them? they consider them as idolaters , and what does old testament say about that ? I think posters here are educated enough to know.

How does he know what hell is like to make that sort of statement that he would rather go to hell than Pakistan?
Are you seriously asking me that question? So you have never said “go to hell” “what the hell”. Does it mean to be taken literally? He made a point that Pakistan would be the worst place to live for him. What is it that your finding hard to understand here.

A very good advocate for atheism or even anti theism and common sense with quite the quick wit. His videos on YT with Kunal Kamra or his pwnage of that Guru guy were hilarious.

That’s not the point he is making lol. 100% sure even you understood what he said but in denial.Whatever you want to twist it to make you feel better.
He wants to live in Hell. Thats the point he is making, and i hope his wish comes true.

Ameen.

Why are people getting offended that he wants to goto hell?

Akhtar claims he is an atheist by choice and hence he selects hell.

Imagine not beliving in God and if there is a God after passing, then wanting to avoid hell.

Bro, Akhtar's atheism logically entails hell . On top of that, he prefers it.

When is this nobody? Considering he's from India, don't think it's much different than hell. Those travel videos of various YouTuber show the reality of that fourth world bin of a nation. I just came across this pretty sight of their metropolitan city... Funny enough it's titled "if there is hell in this world... 😂"
The amount of nonsense and chest thumping Indians do, such a laughing stock of a hell hole it seems

We don't want anything to do with these Hindutva aatankis

Javed Akhtar should definitely go to hell if he is not willing to come to Pakistan. He is not invited to Pakistan anyway. India is a hell for minorities already.

Ever since this guy wrote lyrics for trash like dard-e-disco, he's become a testosterone fueled old-but-modern wannabe wonker.

At least some Pakistanis tried to give him respect on the earlier visit for his poetic work of past, but he couldn't digest it. Sad to see the decline.

No wonder with views like this folks expect other countries to be as illogical as yours
It is not a view, it is a religious belief. We will not change our beliefs just because it upsets atheists/disbelievers.

Javid akhtar is a muslim?
He publicly has told that he is atheist and will never follow islam and has publicly criticised our religion.
You have made this hindu vs muslim when it was supposed to be india vs pakistan.
Funny thing is people like you are trolling turkey and other muslims countries for supporting pakistan
Well what do you expect? You will disrespect our prophet's name and these countries will still support you?

Javid akhtar is a muslim?
He publicly has told that he is atheist and will never follow islam and has publicly criticised our religion.
You have made this hindu vs muslim when it was supposed to be india vs pakistan.
Funny thing is people like you are trolling turkey and other muslims countries for supporting pakistan
Well what do you expect? You will disrespect our prophet's name and these countries will still support you?

Javed Akhtar may called himself an atheist but I dont recall him publicly criticized your religion. Can you share some article or video of it and will stand corrected. He is as much of an atheist as Dilip Kumar was hindu. We know it all and things required to stay afloat in bollywood. So lets not go there. The point is entire Akhtar family - Javed, Farhan, Zoya and even Shibani all very anti BJP/Modi. In India, they are known as a part of Khan market gang (elite liberals). So posters playing the atheist card will not work. His criticism of Pakistan despite his anti hindutva & liberal mindset should be discussed.

So to be a true secular Indian you have to support a hindutva govt...hahaha.

If that is what you understood from that post, you need to take an English test asap. I can explain in Urdu as well if you want?

Oh and I forgot to add - hahaha

:inti

I literally bolded the part which backed up my understanding. If you think it means something different then English is not your language. Maybe post it in Hindi and it might make more sense.