Manunited18
First Class Star
Any one live in this area, what's the surrounding areas like?, has there been alot of development recently
It’s like Bahria Town, but with a Javed Nihari outlet...
Is it a expensive area like defence or similar, what's value of property and land
The Nihari outlet, and others of its ilk, lend it a grittier feel. This means it has character and atmosphere, quite unlike the soulessness so pervasive in Defence, Bahria etc.
Prices are predictably lower compared to its well-heeled peers, given the aforementioned character and atmosphere, which the nouveau riche frown upon, but that is exactly what makes them a steal. I would go for it, before it gets gentrified and turns into another DHA.
Got relatives living there, I'm born and bread in west lancashire England, gonna visit soon, so you reckon it could become a defence like association, I heard there's a massive harbour bridge being built
Just looked it up, it is all the way out in Keemari!
And why are they allowed to use Bahria in their name? Bahria means NAVY.
It’s Javed Bahria, not Pak Bahria.
There’s a difference.
Ahh Javed has his own Bahria then...
The eponymous Javed was a maritime pioneer in the 17th century. Long before Kolachi was a twinkle in the eye of the British, he operated a fleet of boats up and down the Indus. Legend has it that he once rowed upstream all the way to Attock, but that is probably an apocryphal, highly embellished tale. Nevertheless, his legend persists among the fishing communities all along the length of the Indus.
Really!
I am a Karachiite, and had no idea. You learn new things.
Javed is venerated as the patron saint of the Indus fishermen. Just as Abdullah Shah Ghazi is believed to divert Arabian Sea cyclones and tsunamis away from the inhabited coastal regions, Javed stops the Indus from flooding (or at least he did). There are shrines purportedly housing his mortal remains all the way up to Attock, which devotees from the fishermen communities still flock to.
Is it any wonder that Karachi’s premier Nihari joint, and its greatest ever batsman (not to mention the housing society) are named after him?
Eventually, once that Harbour Bridge is complete and the yuppies start rushing in.
For now though, the residents are your average salt-of-the-earth types: life insurance salesmen, income tax babus, Haqiqi activists, timber merchants and the like.
What about the famous liyari gangsters, has the situation changed, any development there, apart from javed bahria I heard the residing areas are a dump
I feel embarrassed....
Having grown up in Karachi and not knowing about him. Know about Abdullah Shah Ghazi & Misri Shah but not Javed Sahib. Cannot find anything online on him. I am an AirForce brat and spent quite a bit of time nearby at PAF Masroor and would drive by this place on the way to the beach.
A part of me does wish Javed nihari was started by a sailor but then just the thought of fish nihari is giving me nightmares.
Like I said earlier, there’s character and atmosphere. Occasionally, this has been known to include Lyari gang warfare spilling over, but I would take that over the DHA ghost town atmosphere you mention.
Are you from that area
Javed Shah did not consume fish, since the fish, like the fishermen, were devoted to him.
Thanks for the information. It is a pity that all mention of this great man has been wiped off our history books. Another example of the systematic distortion of history carried out by the state. The political map of sindh would have been different if not for this murder of history.
In a manner of speaking... I consider all of Pakistan (and Kashmir) my home.
Strictly speaking I’m from the outskirts of Islamabad/Rawalpindi, I wouldn’t otherwise know the difference between Lalu Khet and Gulistan-e-Saadi or whatever, but one has heard of the vibe and ambiance of Javed Bahria. Besides, as a connoisseur of folk tales and Sufi arcana of our land, Saeein Javed Shah’s association with this housing scheme made me read up all about it.
It’s to do with the puritanical streak that elevates that Ummayyad brigand Bin Qasim to almost a founding father, whereas folk heroes such as Saeein Javed Shah and Daaku Sajawal are relegated to the backburner.
Even Aitzaz Ahsan’s The Indus Saga has scant mention of him, even though it presents the thesis that the Indus is the rope that binds us all together.
Well said, what is the political situation, imran has his work cut out , specially with previous regimes, in karachi thers been no development for years, stalled projects, whose responsible?, zardari
To be fair, just like Muhammad bin Qasim is regarded by some as the first Pakistani, Javed is shah is regarded by many historians as the first Karachiite. The controversy is more about his title. Some call him Saeen Javed shah while others propose that during his lifetime he was always called Javed shah Bhai. In any case I would recommend you read Mubarak Ali for a more balanced analysis
I'm surprised posters aren't getting the sarcasm... I guess that's what makes it great![]()
What sarcasm? Where?
You see [MENTION=151127]Manunited18[/MENTION], these are the type of DHA skeptics that will cross the Harbour Bridge to gentrify good ol' gritty, ambient Javed Bahria...
I'm surprised posters aren't getting the sarcasm... I guess that's what makes it great![]()
Only thing decent I found every time visited karachi in defence was the cricket tournaments during Ramadan, star studied, I'm a firm believer in every place or area having it's own culture and character, hell no one wants javed bahria to turn to another defence, by the way has work started on the harbour bridge, last time I was there in karachi they were saying it had no funding
They may be waiting for an auspicious day to lay the foundation stone of the Harbour Bridge: Javed Shah’s Urs, or the tricentennial of his birth. I’ll have to find out when those days occur.
By the way, have you heard of the Mangho Pir shrine, the one with the crocodiles, run by the Sheedi community? It was Saieen Javed who captured the first croc, centuries ago, and donated it to that shrine. All the crocs there are descended from that pioneering beast. To this day, the alpha male is called Javed in the saint’s honour.
I always thought Javed Nama by Dr Iqbal was for his son Javed Iqbal but i just realized it was actually written by Dr Iqbal for Javed Shah Ji and was published on his Urs
By the way, have you heard of the Mangho Pir shrine, the one with the crocodiles, run by the Sheedi community? It was Saieen Javed who captured the first croc, centuries ago, and donated it to that shrine. All the crocs there are descended from that pioneering beast. To this day, the alpha male is called Javed in the saint’s honour.
The original title of the poem was Javed Numa, i.e. Javed-like, because Allama wanted his son to emulate the saint. Javed Nama was a misprint by the publisher.
Today I learned that crocs reproduce asexually.![]()
oh i see and what about Javed Nihari? I wonder if Nihari was a popular dish when the saint was alive?
He invented it.
His riverfaring mureeds needed to be out on the water at the crack of dawn, right after Tahajjud, and necessity being the mother of invention, the famed breakfast dish came about.
Man you need to write a book on Javed Shah Ji!
This thread is a start. From tiny acorns mighty oaks do grow...
We can arrange a book signing event at Javed Nihari.
Okay, I think I’ve spun this yarn enough to have run out of thread, so I’ll stop now.
At this point I’m not sure if [MENTION=151127]Manunited18[/MENTION] is playing along or for some reason actually fell for it.
[MENTION=2068]syed[/MENTION] tried to deliver the message earlier...
[MENTION=139386]Jin Chacha[/MENTION] too.
OP, I suspect you were playing along, but just in case you really did fall for it, I created this Javed character as I went along, and he’s a figment of my imagination. I’m not from Karachi and don’t have the faintest idea about Javed Bahria or what sort of locality it is.
And here I thought you were brave enough to speak the truth and correct historical wrongs. But it seems even you have been silenced by the powers that be.
OP, just to let you know, based on a cursory search Javed bahria seems to be near mauripur/kemari. Certainly not the most posh area of Karachi and rather far from the city center.
OP, I suspect you were playing along, but just in case you really did fall for it, I created this Javed character as I went along, and he’s a figment of my imagination. I’m not from Karachi and don’t have the faintest idea about Javed Bahria or what sort of locality it is.
Lol, I did fall for it, as I'm actually sat on a cold night in a town in lancashire, but yes we are planning to attend a wedding in that locality in February so thought il get some insight
And here I thought you were brave enough to speak the truth and correct historical wrongs. But it seems even you have been silenced by the powers that be.
Guilty as charged. I was scratching my head of not knowing about this guy.
Well played sir!
Oh. I thought you were planning to buy property there, which is why I gave up the charade lest you make an impulsive decision to actually buy something.
You too?! It’s one thing convincing a Brit, quite another convincing a native Karachiite.
You sir, are a great and convincing storyteller!
So are you a karachite, what's mauripur like, has it any decent places, is it well developed
It is a ghetto/slum. It is the outskirts of the city. Used to be a big junkyard (SherShah) , Industrial area and small ancient fishing Goths (Villages). It has been 15 years since I have been to Karachi. At that time, that would not be considered part of Karachi city, but rather outskirts.
As he mentioned in another thread, he was probably getting it all out of his system before midnight. He will go back into hibernation until Dec 31st 2020 or at least Coke Studio 13.
Perhaps. Today could well be my swansong on PP...
Enough with the sarcasm already my friend.![]()
Seriously, I’ve been mulling it all day. Tomorrow is a fresh start, and as the sun sets on the year, the temptation to fade off into the sunset is very much there.
Stricly speaking about online activity of course. A digital detox, as it were. Perhaps start working on a novel?
Then again, based on how poorly I’ve adhered to past New Years resolutions, I’ll be here tomorrow.