Jayalalitha: The photograph 'ruling' an Indian state

Putting aside the politics and the tensions created by politicians and the media, it would appear that, going by the posts in this thread, the differences between Indians in different parts of India (eg North versus South) are greater than those between Pakistanis and Indians, and were it not for politics, the average Indian will get along far better with a Pakistani than with another Indian from a different region of India.

Wrong or correct?

[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION], [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION], [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION], [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION], [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] View Post, [MENTION=137677]Thivagar[/MENTION], [MENTION=113824]Nikhil_cric[/MENTION], [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION], [MENTION=95101]Cricfan4eva[/MENTION], [MENTION=131528]niishaa[/MENTION]

We like to pull each others leg so don't take anything seriously here.;-)

And true the North Indians will get along easily with the Pakistanis because of their language and culture similarities. South India has 4 different languages which are a lot different from each other. People from these states form their own gangs unless they interact in english or any other common language. Same with the north eastern guys.

And occasionally you will get those taunts like "machli khane waale log"etc when you go up north to Haryana.:22:

Putting aside the politics and the tensions created by politicians and the media, it would appear that, going by the posts in this thread, the differences between Indians in different parts of India (eg North versus South) are greater than those between Pakistanis and Indians, and were it not for politics, the average Indian will get along far better with a Pakistani than with another Indian from a different region of India.

Wrong or correct?

[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION], [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION], [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION], [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION], [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] View Post, [MENTION=137677]Thivagar[/MENTION], [MENTION=113824]Nikhil_cric[/MENTION], [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION], [MENTION=95101]Cricfan4eva[/MENTION], [MENTION=131528]niishaa[/MENTION]

South Indians in general are strictly ok at best.One thing I have noticed is that they tend to judge you pretty quickly(esp their girls) and like to keep it to themselves.Maybe it's the cultural thing or maybe I just happened to meet the wrong ones.
Pakistani otoh esp Punjabis are cool.Over patriotic like us and are easy to get along with.Of course I say this mostly based on online experience as the only Pakistanis I have met irl were some relatives from Sindh .

We like to pull each others leg so don't take anything seriously here.;-)

And true the North Indians will get along easily with the Pakistanis because of their language and culture similarities. South India has 4 different languages which are a lot different from each other. People from these states form their own gangs unless they interact in english or any other common language. Same with the north eastern guys.

And occasionally you will get those taunts like "machli khane waale log"etc when you go up north to Haryana.:22:

Sister Kaayal, what's with mallus and alcohol.They just can't get enough of this it seems.Kitni bhi pila lo

South Indians in general are strictly ok at best.One thing I have noticed is that they tend to judge you pretty quickly(esp their girls) and like to keep it to themselves.Maybe it's the cultural thing or maybe I just happened to meet the wrong ones.
Pakistani otoh esp Punjabis are cool.Over patriotic like us and are easy to get along with. Of course I say this mostly based on online experience as the only Pakistanis I have met irl were some relatives from Sindh .

Do you have any relatives from the other side in your age group?

And do you ever discuss about India Pakistan with them?:narine

Sister Kaayal, what's with mallus and alcohol.They just can't get enough of this it seems.Kitni bhi pila lo

Your good malayali friend [MENTION=93843]Ambi[/MENTION] will answer this. I am not into these kind of haraam stuffs.:anwar

Do you have any relatives from the other side in your age group?

And do you ever discuss about India Pakistan with them?:narine

Not my age group.Most of them are older.All of them are patriotic Pakistanis and still wield the same influence in the area like they used to in the past.Google Sodha Rajputs.

Sounds very interesting. Looks like they come to Rajasthan every year to look for spouses as they are the only hindu sodha rajput clan in Pakistan. Seems like some of them have ties to the PPP with one guy being one of the founders of the party. No wonder they are very patriotic.

Of course, its normal for them. And it was normal in north India (and in many countries too ) in 80s and 90s when you would see most of men growing mustache. Fashion statements change with time and then came the clean shaven look and now beard is back. South Indians have stuck with taches. Is it a cultural thing?

You are in Gurgaon, right? probably near cyberhub or sohna road. Just step out and you will see at least half people sporting moustaches.

My personal opinion is this most of the fights occur online only. Not in real life. I have never seen any tension between north and south and for that matter between other indians. But yes mumbai has issues with biharis etc.

Chennai is not whole of south india and most of the south indians do speak hindi(atleast passable hindi) also all south indians do not speak the same language so even them going to chennai and living is also difficult many times except that he may/she not crib about it so much as some north indians here do. Plus like i said most of the stuff happens online. The reality is very different. Yes for an average punjabi it may be easier to bond with pakistani pubjabi. But the same time he can also easily bond with tamil that is if he chooses or not it is his attitude and most north indians do not display negative attitude. In the end we bond because we live together.Places like bangalore mumbai pune etc develop new unique culture because of this mixed migrant population.

For my part i can bond with anyone including pakistanis and that basically depends on attitude and exposure to other communities. Even if there is no exposure most when they meet make an effort especially since they may have to spend more time/years in a new state.

The only thing i dislike about North indians as well as pakistanis is their racism but even that i can say exists online only. I wonder why i don't meet such people in real life and why only online??

My opinion is average Indian gets along well with an average indian from different region as well as with Pakistani. Remember one thing most pakistanis and Indians meet in foreign countries where they cannot exhibit their prejudice if it exists the host country will not tolerate it and also remember one thing it is north indians who actually hate pakistanis more than south or any other indian. Most regions do not have an obsession with pakistan as say North india.

I would not mind if South India secede away from Present India. The only reason south does not secede is because they are doing well economically and socially and do not face any kind of discrimination in present union of India. Most of the discrimination if u want to call it that happens online in the form of racial abuse related to skin color.

Hope this explains.

Nice post Niisha.

Just want to add that Southies are also racist. The stuff that sometimes get said in movies and Tv serials is shocking.

Whole India is one of the most (if not THE most) racist country in the world.

Words like "kaala" "bandhar" "karrupu" are so common people don't even know its offensive at times. :))

Sounds very interesting. Looks like they come to Rajasthan every year to look for spouses as they are the only hindu sodha rajput clan in Pakistan. Seems like some of them have ties to the PPP with one guy being one of the founders of the party. No wonder they are very patriotic.

Yeah I think it was father of current Rana Hammir Singh. He was said to be quite close to ZA Bhutto and was part of his cabinet as well if I'm not wrong.Nice people they all are.Pakistani but nice .

Logged in to give you a befitting reply, I'm alright what about you ? Are you going to celebrate diwali with your family ?
I'm good too.Recently joined youth wing of BJP.Not really a big fan of the festival as I hate the sound of crackers.But will intentionally burst many more this time around just to **** few liberals off in my colony who have been campaigning for pollution free Diwali. Buggers

Yeah I think it was father of current Rana Hammir Singh. He was said to be quite close to ZA Bhutto and was part of his cabinet as well if I'm not wrong.Nice people they all are.Pakistani but nice .

Riddle bhai, soon I will boast among my friends that I know this guy. Really proud of you. You must be a celebrity in your neck of the woods.

Nice post Niisha.

Just want to add that Southies are also racist. The stuff that sometimes get said in movies and Tv serials is shocking.

Words like "kaala" "bandhar" "karrupu" are so common people don't even know its offensive at times. :))

I meant racism towards south indians. I am aware south indians are also equally racist on issues of color. I don't see them being racist to north indians. Not speaking hindi does not count as racsim or descrimination against north indians that could be regionalism etc. That's what i am saying.

Nice post Niisha.

Problem with Indians is that we don't realise we are being offensive even during casual talk. What might pass for a casual joke here will be considered blatant racism in the west.

That Thapa VJ from Nepal was invited for a game show in sun tv once along with her co stars. The show anchors were very friendly to her but were calling her as Chinese bommakutti (Chinese doll) which made her awkward and uncomfortable but didn't show it. I'm not even sure those guys know that calling someone chinese may be offensive to them.

I'm good too.Recently joined youth wing of BJP.Not really a big fan of the festival as I hate the sound of crackers.But will intentionally burst many more this time around just to **** few liberals off in my colony who have been campaigning for pollution free Diwali. Buggers

Mind if I ask what made you join BJP? One of my friend is from Bikaner, very sharp guy but a kattar Sanghi. Very good at debating, but when you talk to him, you get the feeling that he has been brainwashed since the childhood. He is a jain, but he is more passionate about the Ram Mandir than most of the Hindus.

Do RSS and BJP have strong influence among the local population in Rajasthan?

Did you come to Calicut for the BJP National Council Meeting with Modi, Amit shah, every cabinet ministers and the CM's of the bjp ruled states??

Your party made our beautiful beach dirty with all those flex and garbages.:po:

Problem with Indians is that we don't realise we are being offensive even during casual talk. What might pass for a casual joke here will be considered blatant racism in the west.

That Thapa VJ from Nepal was invited for a game show in sun tv once along with her co stars. The show anchors were very friendly to her but were calling her as Chinese bommakutti (Chinese doll) which made her awkward and uncomfortable but didn't show it. I'm not even sure those guys know that calling someone chinese may be offensive to them.

lol...idiots. :))

Wrong or correct?

My personal opinion is this most of the fights occur online only. Not in real life. I have never seen any tension between north and south and for that matter between other indians. But yes mumbai has issues with biharis etc.

Chennai is not whole of south india and most of the south indians do speak hindi(atleast passable hindi) also all south indians do not speak the same language so even them going to chennai and living is also difficult many times except that he may/she not crib about it so much as some north indians here do. Plus like i said most of the stuff happens online. The reality is very different. Yes for an average punjabi it may be easier to bond with pakistani pubjabi. But the same time he can also easily bond with tamil that is if he chooses or not it is his attitude and most north indians do not display negative attitude. In the end we bond because we live together.Places like bangalore mumbai pune etc develop new unique culture because of this mixed migrant population.

For my part i can bond with anyone including pakistanis and that basically depends on attitude and exposure to other communities. Even if there is no exposure most when they meet make an effort especially since they may have to spend more time/years in a new state.

The only thing i dislike about North indians as well as pakistanis is their racism but even that i can say exists online only. I wonder why i don't meet such people in real life and why only online??

My opinion is average Indian gets along well with an average indian from different region as well as with Pakistani. Remember one thing most pakistanis and Indians meet in foreign countries where they cannot exhibit their prejudice if it exists the host country will not tolerate it and also remember one thing it is north indians who actually hate pakistanis more than south or any other indian. Most regions do not have an obsession with pakistan as say North india.

I would not mind if South India secede away from Present India. The only reason south does not secede is because they are doing well economically and socially and do not face any kind of discrimination in present union of India. Most of the discrimination if u want to call it that happens online in the form of racial abuse related to skin color.

Hope this explains.

Good post. But just to lend it some much required balance, let's not forget about South Indians who are actually as racist. According to many posters here, "sense", "manners" and "intellect" are qualities exclusive to South Indians, and Northies are just weird, loud and hateful.

Actually, if I think of last many threads, the guy turning normal threads into North Vs South flame war has been a southern anna. [MENTION=137677]Thivagar[/MENTION]

Everyone gets along very well everywhere, in the Western countries North Indians generally get along better with Pakistanis as they both can speak in Hindi/Urdu/Punjabi. Northies think they know South India, they just assume and convince them that that is how it is.

Since when did most south Indians learn how to speak Hindi ? You are talking about city folks that are educated, even then it is not very common. Somewhat multricultural cities like Hyderabad, Bangalore or Chennai don't always gives a clear picture of the state.

Y'all can blame everything on UP, but I say something against Northies and everyone loses their mind. It had to be brought up.

You are in Gurgaon, right? probably near cyberhub or sohna road. Just step out and you will see at least half people sporting moustaches.

Most of them would be in late 40s and 50s. You wont find many young men sporting mustaches only, most go for beards, stubble or clean shaved look.

Mind if I ask what made you join BJP? One of my friend is from Bikaner, very sharp guy but a kattar Sanghi. Very good at debating, but when you talk to him, you get the feeling that he has been brainwashed since the childhood. He is a jain, but he is more passionate about the Ram Mandir than most of the Hindus.

Do RSS and BJP have strong influence among the local population in Rajasthan?

You can't really expect me to join NSUI can you? My whole family has been part of the Sangh so it was natural for me to consider it as the first option.IMO RSS gets too much flak in this country and people deliberately choose to ignore all the good work they do.I do tend to differ from them on certain things but overall their ideology appeals to me.Extremely disciplined organization and not anti Muslim at all as many would like you to believe.

Paneer is the greatest dish/food item invented by north indians.

Butter Chicken, Namitha,Dhoni oh wait he is a Bihari/UP, and Gulab Jamun (I prefer the South Indian version which is a bit less sweeter unless it is made by a North Indian). They are all great invention that we must accept.

Is Mumbai part of North India ? If yes then Sachin and Kajal Agarwal are greats too.

calling chinese is not offensive most of the north east(from india) have no issues with it. calling then chinki is considered racist. Atleast that's what i got from them in my college years. They say we llok chinese and that's okay. People will assume we are chinese or even call us chinese but chinki term is degratory. I am not denying casual racism among desis but i was talking about racism directed towards south indians from north indians and even that happens online. Also food and accent etc depiction in bollywood movies those things i am talking about

Did you come to Calicut for the BJP National Council Meeting with Modi, Amit shah, every cabinet ministers and the CM's of the bjp ruled states??

Your party made our beautiful beach dirty with all those flex and garbages.:po:
Don't be a hater sistah. Bade bade desho me esi chhoti bate hoti rhti h :afridi

I meant racism towards south indians. I am aware south indians are also equally racist on issues of color. I don't see them being racist to north indians. Not speaking hindi does not count as racsim or descrimination against north indians that could be regionalism etc. That's what i am saying.

They are not racist to Northies cos most can't be. But they can be racist to the ones blacker than them. :))

Of course, its a generalization but you get the idea.

Yeah..not speaking Hindi is not racism or discrimination.

calling chinese is not offensive most of the north east(from india) have no issues with it. calling then chinki is considered racist. Atleast that's what i got from them in my college years. They say we llok chinese and that's okay. People will assume we are chinese or even call us chinese but chinki term is degratory. I am not denying casual racism among desis but i was talking about racism directed towards south indians from north indians and even that happens online. Also food and accent etc depiction in bollywood movies those things i am talking about

Yeah I get it, Bollywood stereotypes pretty much every community anyway, maybe apart from the punjabis. Gujjus are often portrayed as misers, Biharis too are negatively stereotyped. Anyway stop watching Rohit Shetty's BS movies.:yk

Everyone gets along very well everywhere, in the Western countries North Indians generally get along better with Pakistanis as they both can speak in Hindi/Urdu/Punjabi. Northies think they know South India, they just assume and convince them that that is how it is.

Since when did most south Indians learn how to speak Hindi ? You are talking about city folks that are educated, even then it is not very common. Somewhat multricultural cities like Hyderabad, Bangalore or Chennai don't always gives a clear picture of the state.

Y'all can blame everything on UP, but I say something against Northies and everyone loses their mind. It had to be brought up.

U know about my country more than me now . I lived in USA and most indians from everywhere get along and in india everywhere people get along. Period. Yes most south indians learn hindi in school. People in villages may not but they don't come in contact with outsiders so it is not an issue. Why just south then even in places like pune and extreme eastern part people don't speak hindi does not mean they have something against it. It is only Tamils who are particular about it and everyone knows it. I agree with your last part.

Still what 's going on with u lately i feel you are going off left right and center with your posts.

Wrong or correct?

I don't think so. majority of us still follow the same religious traditions and we have common ground there. In large metropolitan cities here, people from different states usually getting along quite fine.

U know about my country more than me now . I lived in USA and most indians from everywhere get along and in india everywhere people get along. Period. Yes most south indians learn hindi in school. People in villages may not but they don't come in contact with outsiders so it is not an issue. Why just south then even in places like pune and extreme eastern part people don't speak hindi does not mean they have something against it. It is only Tamils who are particular about it and everyone knows it. I agree with your last part.

Still what 's going on with u lately i feel you are going off left right and center with your posts.

Lol what have tamils got against hindi? Are hindi speaking people being driven out of Tamil Nadu or buses to north getting torched in Chennai or do north indian shops get ransacked and their guys beaten up here for speaking hindi?

That's one BS theory being believed by most north indians I come across online (not referring to you). It's just that people don't like hindi being imposed on them as the official language of the state. Doesn't mean they do it because they "hate" hindi. You impose manipuri language and it will get the same opposition. Not only tamilians, I've seen opposition from kannadigas and malayalis on that topic too.

Bangladesh rebelled against Pakistan for imposing urdu on them, does that mean that they have something against urdu or they are "anti urdu people"?

Lol what have tamils got against hindi? Are hindi speaking people being driven out of Tamil Nadu or buses to north getting torched in Chennai or do north indian shops get ransacked and their guys beaten up here for speaking hindi?

That's one BS theory being believed by most north indians I come across online (not referring to you). It's just that people don't like hindi being imposed on them as the official language of the state. Doesn't mean they do it because they "hate" hindi. You impose manipuri language and it will get the same opposition. Not only tamilians, I've seen opposition from kannadigas and malayalis on that topic too.

Bangladesh rebelled against Pakistan for imposing urdu on them, does that mean that they have something against urdu or they are "anti urdu people"?

i did not say tamils hate or have anything against hindi.Tamils speak hindi. But in Chennai it is not used frequently and it is difficult to survive without tamil is what i meant. It is not the case in other places in south especially bangalore and hyderabad. Also one north indian guy has written somewhere that he is grateful for tamilians insistence not having hindi as official language beacuse it saved many many languages even in north like maithili awadhi and something like it.

Apologies for the long rant, but I often see this misconception present online especially among a lot of north indians.

Agreed that it's a bit difficult to get along in Chennai if you know just hindi. It was a bit isolated throughout its history and even the sultanate influence was present only for around 80-100 years or so. It was all Cholas, Pallavas and Pandyas otherwise. Hence there was relatively lesser interaction with the north throughout its history. The common man didn't have the need to learn hindi and so you didn't have many people knowing hindi. But nowadays younger lot are learning hindi/sanskrit in school (me being one of those), so the amount is increasing.

So if I go to Delhi or any Northie place, talk in Tamil, Malayalam or Telugu and try to make a lot of friends....I would gel well?

People will accept me with open hands and become my friends?

It not about making friends.

Its about accepting different cultures. And I am a northie who has spent 22 years of my existence in that part of the country, so I can say I am basing it out on my experiences and not just hearsay.

Tamilians have hard time accepting or even indulging in different culture. You could pull out 10 examples proving otherwise but truth is 'most' don't. They are well and jolly being the way they are and find us weird in a lot of ways.

Now when I moved to Delhi. What I noticed was something completely different. You are a UP bhaiya or a gujjar or swami for that matter, if you knew how to communicate in common language anything else didn't matter.

The society down south is still very close. However not all of it, I find Bangalore to be one of the best cities, even better than North but you could credit that to the IT culture and the crowd it has brought in from all over the country.

What do you mean by "restrictive" in culture? Girls wear here churidhar mostly instead of sleeveless tops or flashy tee shirts. Then again, it's common in Kerala as well. Don't think it's "restrictive" in any way, they don't wear it because of cultural restrictions. They wear it because they are comfortable in it. I don't think you can brand a girl "loose in moral character" just because she wears modern dresses or "restrictive in culture" just because she happens to wear authentic dresses. They wear whatever they wear just because they are comfortable in it. Nightlife is definitely present here but is nowhere near when compared to the other metros. If you're someone who loves the nightlife, Chennai is not the best place for you.

I think the gelling part is true all over India. You find it difficult to gel with people when you have a communication problem. What happens is when someone comes from the north, they don't know tamil and find it difficult to interact. Hence they mostly stick with the guys knowing hindi. Not many other guys know hindi and so they find it difficult to interact with the other group. It's simply a case of communication gap. If you know even a bit of the local language, you can quite easily gel with the people. [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] probably knows that better than anyone else here. Forget north indians, there is a nepali girl who is a famous anchor in a popular comedy channel in TN. She came to India to study in a women's college in Chennai and she became a VJ by chance and has now even started acting in films. Difference is that she is more fluent in tamil than a local.

http://m.thehindu.com/news/cities/c...of-humour-in-perfect-tamil/article6503832.ece

A lot of what you wrote is based on an assumption that by restrictive I meant tamilians are backward. No I didn't.

And about not gelling, again language is not the problem here. If you don't understand each other, heck obviously you wont even converse let alone gel or connect but its something more, in general I've found majority of tamilians to be happy the way they are and not participate openly in activities of different culture and they are generally weirded out.

You'd see a local northie participating in Pongal, visit Golu's of southie friends during Navratri but lol I am yet to see tamilians take to dandiya or holi :))

You come down south, you learn our language, we don't tolerate barbaric practices, we eat pork, drink alcohol and show our face..........wait never mind, let me correct myself.

In South, we eat rice and dosa, not rotti, we watch Rajnikanth movies not Sharukaur or what ever that 50 year old guy pretending to be a 25 year old's name is. We don't do Dandya, we do Dandanakka, we don't like handsome heroes we like either fat, mentally unstable or malnourished looking dark unappealing men chasing light skinned beautiful actresses to fulfill the fantasy of romancing with a North Indian girl which would never come true in real life. We don't vote for authentic politicians with history, we vote for people who have history of acting in movies and make them a politicians. We also oppress women in the name of "culture " and "tradition". Maybe Northies are weird so the Southies are repelled by them ? Enough racist comments for me today.

Okay I detect Sarcasm here but why so much hate for southies, aren't you one yourself?

And yeah gross generalisation and exaggeration in your post.

It not about making friends.

Its about accepting different cultures. And I am a northie who has spent 22 years of my existence in that part of the country, so I can say I am basing it out on my experiences and not just hearsay.

Tamilians have hard time accepting or even indulging in different culture. You could pull out 10 examples proving otherwise but truth is 'most' don't. They are well and jolly being the way they are and find us weird in a lot of ways.

Now when I moved to Delhi. What I noticed was something completely different. You are a UP bhaiya or a gujjar or swami for that matter, if you knew how to communicate in common language anything else didn't matter.

The society down south is still very close. However not all of it, I find Bangalore to be one of the best cities, even better than North but you could credit that to the IT culture and the crowd it has brought in from all over the country.

Kinda apples to oranges isn't it?

You are comparing places where people from all cultures have been living for decades with a place where its just getting started. Go to some interior city/town in a Northern village and it will be interesting to see how accepting they are of other cultures.

As for accepting cultures, what exactly do Tamilians do really that makes you feel that way?

I could go on a rant about what's wrong with Tamilians in general but don't see how this is an issue.

A lot of what you wrote is based on an assumption that by restrictive I meant tamilians are backward. No I didn't.

And about not gelling, again language is not the problem here. If you don't understand each other, heck obviously you wont even converse let alone gel or connect but its something more, in general I've found majority of tamilians to be happy the way they are and not participate openly in activities of different culture and they are generally weirded out.

You'd see a local northie participating in Pongal, visit Golu's of southie friends during Navratri but lol I am yet to see tamilians take to dandiya or holi :))

If you don't mind, can you tell in which part of TN you spent your childhood buddy..

I think you're mixing up two things here. Firstly I myself have celebrated holi with my friends in Chennai as long back as ten years ago. Sometimes you see people dancing dandiya in some get togethers. But it isn't popular and that I agree with. But you're missing the point here. You went to your friend's navaratri or pongal celebration because you were living in south. Would you have celebrated pongal or navaratri in Delhi just because you happened to have a tamil friend? It doesn't work so. Normally when I go to a new place, it is me who have to integrate with that culture, not the other way round. If I go to live in Kolkata, I have to learn the bengali way of living and learn to celebrate durga puja. When Indians go to the US, they celebrate things like Christmas and Halloween. How many times have you seen whites bursting crackers during diwali? Maybe holi because it's a fun celebration and even foreigners would take up to it. But generally it is the people who are new to that place integrate and not the other way round.

What is wrong with you? Why do you bring North Vs South angle in every thread?

But since you mentioned it, staying in South India for more than a week will be nightmarish for most North Indians. Many of my friends declined admissions to prestigious South Indian colleges simply because it was "South India".

There you go, this is what I was talking about :inti and why did they even apply there first of all ? :moyo

If you don't mind, can you tell in which part of TN you spent your childhood buddy..

I think you're mixing up two things here. Firstly I myself have celebrated holi with my friends in Chennai as long back as ten years ago. Sometimes you see people dancing dandiya in some get togethers. But it isn't popular and that I agree with. But you're missing the point here. You went to your friend's navaratri or pongal celebration because you were living in south. Would you have celebrated pongal or navaratri in Delhi just because you happened to have a tamil friend? It doesn't work so. Normally when I go to a new place, it is me who have to integrate with that culture, not the other way round. If I go to live in Kolkata, I have to learn the bengali way of living and learn to celebrate durga puja. When Indians go to the US, they celebrate things like Christmas and Halloween. How many times have you seen whites bursting crackers during diwali? Maybe holi because it's a fun celebration and even foreigners would take up to it. But generally it is the people who are new to that place integrate and not the other way round.

Break down into smaller paras brother.

Wall of text is hard to read.

Okay I detect Sarcasm here but why so much hate for southies, aren't you one yourself?

And yeah gross generalisation and exaggeration in your post.

That was not sarcasm at all.........

I am actually from UN recognized Island of Sri lanka. I'm not really South Indian but I spent second most time of my life there.

Its a well documented fact that tamilians and madrasis hate north Indians from the core(reasons ranging from being ashamed of their average looks to their awful food). One should read the critically acclaimed novel 2 states from Chetan Bhagat to know the horrors faced by north Indians in south and how discriminated we northies are in the land of idli and dosa.Should be seceded asap.

So classy :srt What state are you from ?

Liberals in the West = "Lets celebrate Diwali, Ramadan, and Christmas together"
Liberals in the East = "Diwali causes pollution, they kill poor animals in Ramadan, and Jesus was actually Arab and not white"

Liberals in the East are more Liberal than the ones in the West.

You think everything outside the capital city is a village ? :facepalm:. There are lot of smaller cities and towns.

Tamils are generally more patriotic towards their culture and history. No one hates Hindi, people hate the feeling of others exerting pressure for the Tamils to learn Hindi. Tamils are often judged, so they counter judge and then the "northies" don't understand why they are being judged.

I have always wondered why people need to put others down in order to raise their own self esteem or when they get cornered in an argument they gotta totally bring something negative about the other person. I see it happen all the time among desis, even in this forum it is visible, so I wanted to see how it feels and it feels pretty good. It is pretty fun offending others, it keeps me entertained, put others down, elevate my self esteem and it is fun making fun of others. I also don't easily get offended and therefore I don't feel any pain when other posters hand me the verbal assault. So it is a WIN-WIN for me. Don't expect me to stop. This is fun.

There you go, this is what I was talking about :inti and why did they even apply there first of all ? :moyo

Wrong. What you talk about is comparisons where one side is clearly superior to the other.

My post only stressed the fact that incompatibility is down to cultural differences and not because of one place/culture being superior to the other.

Wrong. What you talk about is comparisons where one side is clearly superior to the other.

My post only stressed the fact that incompatibility is down to cultural differences and not because of one place/culture being superior to the other.

Thumb rule is to always respect the local culture. This is often found wanting in people from certain states, who would learn phrases like kannada gottila, telugu teliyadu and feel entitled to being spoken in their preferred language. Such an attitude is bound to create ill will. No one wants you to learn the language which is spoken locally, just show some respect to the local culture.

Sir, who do you think has a bigger personality cult: Didi or Amma?

South India and in particular, Tamil Nadu are fascinating places to me always in pretty much every aspect. Hopefully one day I'll get to visit it

I'm from Chennai; if you ever end up there give me a ping and I can show you around.

I live in Bangalore though - the more fun place and the pub capital of Asia. And then there is Hyderabad - these three are the main cities in South India.

You want to incur the wrath of CC!

Didi is imp to bengal and Amma to Tamil Nadu.

I apologize if you think my behaviour has been insensitive. I don't support these divisions based on narrow ethnic/linguistic identities. Didi has proven to a false dawn for Bengal. The communists were far better. Now Didi has paved the way for BJP to enter Bengal, and I am afraid Bengal is going to be the next flashpoint for communal divisions. Bengal is the next laboratory for hindutva politics, thanks to Didi.

Good post. But just to lend it some much required balance, let's not forget about South Indians who are actually as racist. According to many posters here, "sense", "manners" and "intellect" are qualities exclusive to South Indians, and Northies are just weird, loud and hateful.

Actually, if I think of last many threads, the guy turning normal threads into North Vs South flame war has been a southern anna. [MENTION=137677]Thivagar[/MENTION]

Thank you my. Northen Sharukaur. I'm not even from South India. I claim South India cause I like it better. I despise SL and [MENTION=137535]anuk[/MENTION] can vouch for me on that one.

I'm from Chennai; if you ever end up there give me a ping and I can show you around.

I live in Bangalore though - the more fun place and the pub capital of Asia. And then there is Hyderabad - these three are the main cities in South India.

Night clubs close at 11:30 in Bangalore too ?

Caste issues and racism are very prevalent even among Sri Lankan Tamils.

Madras is such a good name. They should have keep this name.

Similarly in Pakistan there was a city Lyalpur, such a good name and then they change it :facepalm:
Faislabad sounds good too.Dunno what you are complaining about.

the sweetness you get from Lyalpur is missing from Faisalabad

We have this school here Lyall public school.I met the owners once,very down to earth people.Still miss their birth place.Though you can sense the bitterness in their voice once the partition is mentioned.

Madurai and CBE.

I think you're mixing up two things here. Firstly I myself have celebrated holi with my friends in Chennai as long back as ten years ago. Sometimes you see people dancing dandiya in some get togethers. But it isn't popular and that I agree with.

Like I said you can not just give 1 but 10 examples or more of such instances. However they aren't normal occurrences .

But you're missing the point here. You went to your friend's navaratri or pongal celebration because you were living in south. Would you have celebrated pongal or navaratri in Delhi just because you happened to have a tamil friend? It doesn't work so. Normally when I go to a new place, it is me who have to integrate with that culture, not the other way round. If I go to live in Kolkata, I have to learn the bengali way of living and learn to celebrate durga puja. When Indians go to the US, they celebrate things like Christmas and Halloween. How many times have you seen whites bursting crackers during diwali? Maybe holi because it's a fun celebration and even foreigners would take up to it. But generally it is the people who are new to that place integrate and not the other way round.

Hard to argue with this logic but then again many places have kind of formed a mixed culture but I guess there aren't enough northies in South to bring about the change or normalcy to it.

Kinda apples to oranges isn't it?

You are comparing places where people from all cultures have been living for decades with a place where its just getting started. Go to some interior city/town in a Northern village and it will be interesting to see how accepting they are of other cultures.

Well of course, only a tamilian living in interiors of North can tell us if that is how they feel there too. I can only give my perspective but that wont matter as I am not a tamilian.

As for accepting cultures, what exactly do Tamilians do really that makes you feel that way?

I could go on a rant about what's wrong with Tamilians in general but don't see how this is an issue.

Its not obvious to exactly tell what it is that makes us feel that way but there is a difference in how they treat or look at you. Its not racist in anyway don't get me wrong but there's this gap, and its not like the entire south is like that, I haven't been to all the places but in my experiences I haven't felt like that in Bangalore albeit haven't stayed long enough there to compare it to TN cities.

Caste issues and racism are very prevalent even among Sri Lankan Tamils.

It is only a issue when a Brahmin is involved other than that, people use it as an excuse to cause a scene. They use it when a Sinhala- Tamil love is involved, Tamils like keeping their blood pure and not have any other mix that will ruin their purity.

Madurai and CBE.

Like I said you can not just give 1 but 10 examples or more of such instances. However they aren't normal occurrences .

Hard to argue with this logic but then again many places have kind of formed a mixed culture but I guess there aren't enough northies in South to bring about the change or normalcy to it.

You think it is abnormal for people to not speak another language that isn't even part of their same language group ? Here again, you falsely believe that there is something wrong with people not catering it to you. If you are migrating to another place, you should learn to speak their language, you can speak your language all you want, you can practice your culture all you wan't but no one needs to change their way of living so you can accommodate you. And no on needs to approach you and please you, when there is an outside people are generally reserved till you get to know them and you are the one that needs to open up more.

To be honest, Tamil is totally different from North Indian languages. Hindi, Punjabi, Gujarati or Gujarati. in all those languages 1 is "Ek", No is "na". They are all part of the same language, easy to learn, Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu and Kannada are different languages, not easy to learn.

Hardly, how many times have you seen Pongal or Onam being celebrated in the north?

Things simply don't happen like that.

It is only a issue when a Brahmin is involved other than that, people use it as an excuse to cause a scene. They use it when a Sinhala- Tamil love is involved, Tamils like keeping their blood pure and not have any other mix that will ruin their purity.

pure blood? mixing will ruin it's purity? this sounds straight out of the mein kampf. why am i not surprised to hear this from u.

FYI the tamil racism is not just directed at muslims and sinhalese. there is plenty of discrimination and racism between jaffna tamils, batticloa tamils, plantation tamils etc.

Humans want the best breed of fruits and crops and pets, doesn't mean we should extend it to humans too. We should treat all humans as equals.

It's funny in a way. Humans having achondroplasia (short limbed dwarfism) would be derided for their deformity by the society but the same condition in dogs makes them a rare breed and "special and unqiue" among other common dogs.:narine

pure blood? mixing will ruin it's purity? this sounds straight out of the mein kampf. why am i not surprised to hear this from u.

FYI the tamil racism is not just directed at muslims and sinhalese. there is plenty of discrimination and racism between jaffna tamils, batticloa tamils, plantation tamils etc.

Are you calling me a racist ?

Barely, they probably do exist. My aunt is a Batticola Tamil, even she tells me not marry a Batticola girl or have Batticola friends. Obviously it seems like they may have some sinhala blood.

Are you calling me a racist ?

Barely, they probably do exist. My aunt is a Batticola Tamil, even she tells me not marry a Batticola girl or have Batticola friends. Obviously it seems like they may have some sinhala blood.

yes of course i am calling u racist lol. what else can u be called when u say stuff like purity of blood is important and batticloa tamils have sinhala blood in them?

the sad thing is that this is very common among the tamil community in sl. this was one of the reasons the so called liberation movement of the tamils failed so spectacularly.

yes of course i am calling u racist lol. what else can u be called when u say stuff like purity of blood is important and batticloa tamils have sinhala blood in them?

the sad thing is that this is very common among the tamil community in sl. this was one of the reasons the so called liberation movement of the tamils failed so spectacularly.

Why do you fall for everything and every time ?

Wrong or correct?

No,I'm a Punjabi and I get along very well with South Indians because I grew up here(Chennai) and have north Indian family and friends.Its just that in a way i feel protective of South Indians and their culture which is very old.