JNU saga | How does India deal with student politics?

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Sensitive issue.

Youth is hot blooded, you don't wanna interfere too much there. Whats your view on everything that occurred in last week? Are BJP's hindus trying too hard to enter youth politics and suppress freethinking or is there a credible threat to our society from leftist elements?

Protesting against the government is fine in a democracy. Even protesting against the judgement was okay. But I don't think raising slogans like "India shall be divided" and so and so can come under the banner of freedom of speech. (Don't know whether this is true, but Arnab was shouting for an hour with this video playing in the corner) That borders on sedition, if true.

Stole my words there streety, once you start shouting slogans like the "war will go on till India is destroyed", "India go back" etc, then it is no longer freedom of expression, it is sedition, they need to be expelled and put behind bars. People keep crying about freedom of expression, these guys forget that the Indian constitution while giving the right to freedom of expression also prescribes some fundamental duties which are expected from every Indian citizen, freedom of expression is not an absolute right under the constitution. I have always hated the left with passion but I won't even call these morons as leftist, it will be an insult the leftist movement

If these students are anti national why these teachers association and all students (except ABVP) are boycotting classes till those arrested are released?? Surely there is something they know more than us and which are portrayed in the media.

I didn't see the video fully. But there was a 1 hour news programme on this incident with a video clip showing a group of students shouting slogans saying that India shall be broken into pieces, war will not end till that happens (or something along those lines), etc.

Naturally the other students and teachers will protest against the arrest of their fellow student. But to me, that appears more like seditionary talk, an act which can get you disappeared without a trace in countries like China and Russia. Like I said, I'm all for democratic protests, but not these kind of inflammatory speeches.

There has to be a difference in protesting and threatening. The JNU nincompoops crossed that line.

That said, police should investigate the incident thoroughly and the law should take it course. Mob justice and goonda behaviour by the politicians and lawyers alike is disgraceful and terrible.

I didn't see the video fully. But there was a 1 hour news programme on this incident with a video clip showing a group of students shouting slogans saying that India shall be broken into pieces, war will not end till that happens (or something along those lines), etc.

Naturally the other students and teachers will protest against the arrest of their fellow student. But to me, that appears more like seditionary talk, an act which can get you disappeared without a trace in countries like China and Russia. Like I said, I'm all for democratic protests, but not these kind of inflammatory speeches.

I am also against these speeches but there is no evidence that these slogans were spouted by JNUSU president. Also we are in India..the democracy we boast of not in China or Russia. Don't we have the right to dissent??

That said, police should investigate the incident thoroughly and the law should take it course. Mob justice and goonda behaviour by the politicians and lawyers alike is disgraceful and terrible.

No need to be diplomatic here streety, you saw the behaviour that student leader in various news programs, didn't you? He didn't even deny those slogans, did he? He was very unapologetic about the whole situation

Shouting har ghar se Afzal nikalega :facepalm:

We should reply-Har Afzal ko Phaansi Bhi lagegi

I am also against these speeches but there is no evidence that these slogans were spouted by JNUSU president. Also we are in India..the democracy we boast of not in China or Russia. Don't we have the right to dissent??

First educate yourself about what rights you have and what you don't?

Afzal Guru is a terrorist who attacked our Parliament. Every Indian except the Kashmiris accept that. Main issue that his supporters raising is that whether he was given fair trial or not. I don't know and i don't care tbh.

We definitely have one. But imagine a group of protesters in the USA, protesting against the execution of a man pronounced guilty by the highest court in America for his involvement in the 9/11 attacks on the Pentagon, while shouting slogans like "America shall be disintegrated, etc.".

Don't you think he'll be arrested by the US police?

JNU saga | How does India deal with Student politics?

Afzal Guru is a terrorist who attacked our Parliament. Every Indian except the Kashmiris accept that. Main issue that his supporters raising is that whether he was given fair trial or not. I don't know.

They have every right to question that and even protest, but the way they went about conducting the whole business is why this mess was created, read the posters they distributed, the slogans they shouted.

If they had conducted their protest in a dignified manner then most Indians won't have a problem with it. They are just plain stupid

Afzal Guru is a terrorist who attacked our Parliament. Every Indian except the Kashmiris accept that. Main issue that his supporters raising is that whether he was given fair trial or not. I don't know and i don't care tbh.

People can definitely protest for that. If I'm correct, there were even some protests recently against the hanging of Yakub Memon. The issue isn't about protesting. Issue is about seditionary slogans.

People can protest against the government. But involving yourself in seditionary talks will land them nowhere except in hot water.

We definitely have one. But imagine a group of protesters in the USA, protesting against the execution of a man pronounced guilty by the highest court in America for his involvement in the 9/11 attacks on the Pentagon, while shouting slogans like "America shall be disintegrated, etc.".

Don't you think he'll be arrested by the US police?

Ok we were not present in JNU while this happened. We don't know who shouted the slogan and why. Lets hear from those who were actually present.

http://www.indiaresists.com/what-acually-happend-in-jnu/

This is exactly what my brother who is studying in JNU have to say about these events. And fyi he don't belong to any political party and just go there for study.

I don't care about the leftie's or the Afzal Guru's ,but it's blood boiling to see, what 's happening in Delhi, with young journalists and students including females being beaten up by BJP fcukwits.
For the first time,I wish Indian capital was anywhere but Delhi,beda gark kar diya in idiots ne Delhi ka.
It's crazy how these so called patriots have zero respect for any Indian institution including the Supreme Court.

I was thinking the same as [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] that ABVP has done something till i saw the Jadavpur one and i do believe something is wrong with left wing student unions.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Jadavpur-University-echoes-with-pro-Afzal-and-Ishrat-slogans/articleshow/51014287.cms

The JU protest was led by Faculty of Engineering & Technology Students Union and Faculty of Arts Students — the two unions at the forefront of several movements, including the Hokkolorob agitation for justice for an alleged molestation survivor.

Justifying the sloganeering, former AllISA JU unit president, Arumita Mitra, said, "The death penalty to Afzal Guru involved a lot of conspiracy. The Kashmir issue has been kept suspended purposely so that the government can take advantage of it. Kashmiris want freedom...

I don't care about the leftie's or the Afzal Guru's ,but it's blood boiling to see, what 's happening in Delhi, with young journalists and students including females being beaten up by BJP fcukwits.
For the first time,I wish Indian capital was anywhere but Delhi,beda gark kar diya in idiots ne Delhi ka.
It's crazy how these so called patriots have zero respect for any Indian institution including the Supreme Court.

Blood is boiling for everyone Kabiraan but its always better to be sensible this is not the way to go about ,ABVP are known for violence but if left wing are going to indulge in sedition then it will only move the neutrals more towards right wing.

Only sloganeering does not amount to sedition. People have the freedom to shout slogans no matter how displeasing they may sound to others.

“Words and speech can be criminalised and punished only in situations where it is being used to incite mobs or crowds to violent action. Mere words and phrases by themselves, no matter how distasteful, do not amount to a criminal offence unless this condition is met.”

Only sloganeering does not amount to sedition. People have the freedom to shout slogans no matter how displeasing they may sound to others.

“Words and speech can be criminalised and punished only in situations where it is being used to incite mobs or crowds to violent action. Mere words and phrases by themselves, no matter how distasteful, do not amount to a criminal offence unless this condition is met.”

You are saying that its better to wait till it becomes violent to stop the sloganeering?Have you seen any video which looks like "peaceful" protest as such?

[MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] bro kindly don't troll but would love if you expose my hypocrisy here.

Ok we were not present in JNU while this happened. We don't know who shouted the slogan and why. Lets hear from those who were actually present.

http://www.indiaresists.com/what-acually-happend-in-jnu/

This is exactly what my brother who is studying in JNU have to say about these events. And fyi he don't belong to any political party and just go there for study.

Like I said, I didn't watch the full video (not that I'll understand the exact meaning anyway). I read about this incident in an article with the translation of those slogans.

If indeed they were the slogans raised (the anti India slogans) by the group, then they should be arrested imo. Yes, you can say the Kashmiri students raised those slogans and argue that they were from outside. But when you hear such slogans, what do you expect the police to do. First step is a thorough investigation of the incident of the group who organised the meeting. The police took the student leader into a 3 day custody for the same. Because the issue isn't a simple matter. If you let these kind of public speeches go unheeded, then that will create hundreds of Anjem Choudaries giving public speeches against the state like what is happening in the UK.

You are saying that its better to wait till it becomes violent to stop the sloganeering?Have you seen any video which looks like "peaceful" protest as such?

Yes, I have seen all the videos, especially of the guy who was arrested for 'sedition. Nobody was carrying any sort of weapon.

There is no trace of violence or incitement to violence in this speech. Does Kanhaiya Kumar deserve to get arrested for it ? He wasn't even present in the campus when the anti national sloganeering happened the previous day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21qExVVuhhk

People can protest against the government. But involving yourself in seditionary talks will land them nowhere except in hot water.

Bro! We are not under a communist government. The sedition law was framed by the British to target the revolutionaries. They have themselves abolished it.

These people should be arrested but mob justice is not the way, it's not the way in any crime whatsover.
Facts should be looked into and if found guilty of sedition then he should be duly punished but mob justice should stop.

Yes, I have seen all the videos, especially of the guy who was arrested for 'sedition. Nobody was carrying any sort of weapon.

There is no trace of violence or incitement to violence in this speech. Does Kanhaiya Kumar deserve to get arrested for it ? He wasn't even present in the campus when the anti national sloganeering happened the previous day.

You are right about Kanhaiya,shouldn't had got arrested my point was on about the left wing student unions.

Bro! We are not under a communist government. The sedition law was framed by the British to target the revolutionaries. They have themselves abolished it.

IIRC we made it again around 1960s to avoid states from asking for independence ,Tamil Nadu was the first to fall in line then after Annaidurai toned his independence speeches.

Like I said, I didn't watch the full video (not that I'll understand the exact meaning anyway). I read about this incident in an article with the translation of those slogans.

If indeed they were the slogans raised (the anti India slogans) by the group, then they should be arrested imo. Yes, you can say the Kashmiri students raised those slogans and argue that they were from outside. But when you hear such slogans, what do you expect the police to do. First step is a thorough investigation of the incident of the group who organised the meeting. The police took the student leader into a 3 day custody for the same. Because the issue isn't a simple matter. If you let these kind of public speeches go unheeded, then that will create hundreds of Anjem Choudaries giving public speeches against the state like what is happening in the UK.

It's an University where a peaceful protest were going on and provoked by Abvp. Don't you think these kashmiri students and sympathisers will react like that?? Instead of solving the matter within the university itself putting sedition charge, Police arrest, hostel raids, hafeez saeed involvement and these gundas what not. Is that we want from the Police?

IIRC we made it again around 1960s to avoid states from asking for independence ,Tamil Nadu was the first to fall in line then after Annaidurai toned his independence speeches.

Nope this law is a legacy of British colonialism and was made in 1870

It's an University where a peaceful protest were going on and provoked by Abvp. Don't you think these kashmiri students and sympathisers will react like that?? Instead of solving the matter within the university itself putting sedition charge, Police arrest, hostel raids, hafeez saeed involvement and these gundas what not. Is that we want from the Police?

That's a sad logic they got provoked how because of opposition to their opinions?

We are far from a communist theocracy. Leaders in such countries won't mind even murdering thousands to suppress anything challenging the state like what happened in the Tianmen massacre. There is hardly any freedom of speech in such countries.

India is far from it. There have been lots of protests against Modi, beef ban, Congress, and any other govt in the past. Writers have publicly criticised the govt and its laws. That is fine in a healthy and a vibrant democracy. But I don't think raising anti national speeches is good for a healthy democracy imo. There should be a line separating freedom of speech and such anti national speeches. These small ideas turn into ideologies which translate into movements which can end up causing turmoil in a country.

I'm hardly right wing. I've regularly criticized the beef ban law on these boards here. Most right wing groups are downright ridiculous. But I'm definitely not a fan of these ultra left wing groups either.

That's a sad logic they got provoked how because of opposition to their opinions?

Got confused with

The Sixteenth Amendment (most popularly known as the Anti-Secessionist Amendment) banned any party with sectarian principles from participating in elections. When this amendment was presented in the Parliament of India, Annadurai was one of its members. He vehemently debated against the amendment, but eventually could not stop it from being passed. Faced with the new constitutional changes, Annadurai and his DMK left the call for an independent Tamil homeland on the back burner.[21] From then on Annadurai and his DMK aimed at achieving better co-operation between the southern states and claimed more autonomy for Tamil Nadu.

You sound like an apologist, no kind of provocation can justify shouting anti India slogans

Am not an apologist. Those who shouted anti India slogans should be definitely punished according to the rules of the Institution. Not by allowing the Police to roam in the campus and do whatever they please.

Kaayal, one one hand you say that the students should have their right to voice out their opinion regarding the Afzal Guru issue. That's fine, I completely agree. But when the ABVP student groups started raising their slogans, does it warrant the DSU group of students to raise anti India slogans? Now these are the cream of the students studying in a top university in India. Don't you think that they should have been clever enough not to raise such slogans as a sign of protest. They could have continued with their protests condemning the hanging of Guru.

If they don't have the maturity to deal with an opposition students group's slogans/opinion, then how do you expect others to tolerate their anti India slogans (if they indeed raised such ones).

Kaayal, one one hand you say that the students should have their right to voice out their opinion regarding the Afzal Guru issue. That's fine, I completely agree. But when the ABVP student groups started raising their slogans, does it warrant the DSU group of students to raise anti India slogans? Now these are the cream of the students studying in a top university in India. Don't you think that they should have been clever enough not to raise such slogans as a sign of protest. They could have continued with their protests condemning the hanging of Guru.

If they don't have the maturity to deal with an opposition students group's slogans/opinion, then how do you expect others to tolerate their anti India slogans (if they indeed raised such ones).

True. We can't tolerate such slogans no matter how mature we are. But do you think the Police is handling the situation really well by arresting Kanhaiya and 6 others??

[MENTION=43028]K[/MENTION [MENTION=43028]K[/MENTION]ayal remember one thing all Indians are not liberal minded like keralites. A mosque in kerala conducted funeral prayers for Ajmal we didn't took that seriously. Don't expect that sort of behaviour from north indians.

Am not an apologist. Those who shouted anti India slogans should be definitely punished according to the rules of the Institution. Not by allowing the Police to roam in the campus and do whatever they please.
You have rather high expectations from the Delhi police-they are there only to serve their political masters,not the people of Delhi.

[MENTION=43028]K[/MENTION]ayal remember one thing all Indians are not liberal minded like keralites. A mosque in kerala conducted funeral prayers for Ajmal we didn't took that seriously. Don't expect that sort of behaviour from north indians.

What sort of nonsense is that, liberal doesn't equate to being an idiot, I consider myself liberal

True. We can't tolerate such slogans no matter how mature we are. But do you think the Police is handling the situation really well by arresting Kanhaiya and 6 others??

I think the thuggish behaviour by the lawyers and the politicians were disgraceful and should be avoided at all costs.

But regarding taking them into a 3 day custody by the police, I think they were foolish to make themselves liable to be persecuted under sedition by the law. I don't think they will be charged with sedition as such, but I think they have been taken into custody for investigation of that incident at the JNU campus. They'll most probably be let out in one or two days, or at the maximum of within a week.

I think the thuggish behaviour by the lawyers and the politicians were disgraceful and should be avoided at all costs.

But regarding taking them into a 3 day custody by the police, I think they were foolish to make themselves liable to be persecuted under sedition by the law. I don't think they will be charged with sedition as such, but I think they have been taken into custody for investigation of that incident at the JNU campus. They'll most probably be let out in one or two days, or at the maximum of within a week.

Read Abhilash93's post(25). Kanhaiya was not even present in the campus when this slogans were raised.

Politics has no place in Educational Institutions. All these ABVP, SFI, Communist Student Organizations do is to gather good for nothing idiots and pay them to do their dirty work.

During my college days, all these political parties student wings did was to shut down college for silly reasons. Good students stayed a mile away from them. The kind of students that joined these student organizations are the worst of students. Not one was a good student. Many had police cases on them.

Ban these student wings. They are there to study. Not involve in Goondagiri.

Ignore and move on. JNU is known for its controversies. Leave those guys alone. They will eventually become Arundhati Roys and Barkha Dutts.

That is exactly why we shouldn't ignore them. This is not the first time something like this has happened there. When the Dantewada incident happened in which more than 70 CRPF jawans were killed , JNU students celebrated organising a party which had the backing of JNU communists professors.

The famous "socialist youth" leader who did similar stuff in 70's.
-Lalu Prasaad Yadav

Apparently, this is one of the slogans raised in that event - "Kashmir wants freedom, as does Kerala and Bengal" (read this in an internet comment, so not sure about its authenticity)..

If it was true, then goodbye and take care [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION]:sadbye

As usual it is the humanities students who indulge in politics the most. me thinks they suffer from small man syndrome. medicos and engineers are too busy with their studies and self improvement for such campus theatrics.

true.

Bull's eye. I've never seen this attitude from any of science students. Even the student politics is mostly restricted to the betterment of college (no political affiliations) and organizing tech fests. Students of JNU, HCU etc seem to have lots of leisure time.

That is exactly why we shouldn't ignore them. This is not the first time something like this has happened there. When the Dantewada incident happened in which more than 70 CRPF jawans were killed , JNU students celebrated organising a party which had the backing of JNU communists professors.

These scoundrels have been doing such activities since our independence. There's a reason why communist parties in India failed. The media, police and govt is unnecessarily providing them footage and look at them enjoying the limelight..

To summarize things

1. Students activists were protesting against the execution of Afza Guru.
2. Outsiders shouted slogans against India and called for destruction of India
3. Media makes all the student activists looks like morons and traitors
4. Students activists get attacked
5. As usual, without knowing the truth, overly patriotic morons starts blaming everyone who gathered to protest

Am I correct ?

Politics has no place in Educational Institutions. All these ABVP, SFI, Communist Student Organizations do is to gather good for nothing idiots and pay them to do their dirty work.

During my college days, all these political parties student wings did was to shut down college for silly reasons. Good students stayed a mile away from them. The kind of students that joined these student organizations are the worst of students. Not one was a good student. Many had police cases on them.

Ban these student wings. They are there to study. Not involve in Goondagiri.

Based on your experience ?

Realistically these are the people who change the politics of India down the road, rather than encouraging them you want to ban them ? for what? So you can moan about how politics in India is garbage? Pretty ignorant comment from you, don't you think ?

To summarize things

5. As usual, without knowing the truth, overly patriotic morons starts blaming everyone who gathered to protest

Am I correct ?

No, you are incorrect, students were shouting those slogans

Realistically these are the people who change the politics of India down the road, rather than encouraging them you want to ban them ? for what? So you can moan about how politics in India is garbage? Pretty ignorant comment from you, don't you think ?

Naw man the guy arrested apparently didn't shout the slogans also this is JNU nothing will change at the max they will bring out some leader like 'Lalu Prassad Yadav'.Also in other universities the students are shouting slogans as well copying the JNU.
Also students did shout slogans in JNU but they were "apparently" Kashmiri students and Kashmiri outsiders.

To give you a brief about the issues that has occurred in this university wikipedia here:

In April 2000,[26][27] JNU organized a cultural programme, where Pakistani poets Ahmed Faraz and Fahmida Riaz were invited. Two army officers present in the function, protested against anti-Indian content in the event. They were assaulted for protesting and managed to escape after one of the officers fired in the air. [28]

In 2010 Democratic Students Union (DSU) and All India Students Association (AISA) held a public meeting soon after the April 2010 Maoist attack in Dantewada [29] which led to protests from rival student unions ABVP and NSUI. [30] It was alleged that the organizers were maoist sympathizers, while they countered the accusation by stating that they were protesting against government's Operation Green Hunt. NSUI national general secretary stated "Members of Democratic Students Union (DSU) and All India Students Association (AISA) organized a meeting to celebrate the killing of 76 CRPF personnel in Chhattisgarh. They were even shouting slogans like 'India murdabad, Maovad zindabad'. How can this be allowed inside a Central university?" [31]

As CC already said its become fashionable to be a communist in these colleges.
But taking no blame of ABVP(Right wing) youth party as well they have been miscreants too also they don't mind assaulting citizens.

NEW DELHI: As the controversy over the arrest of Jawaharlal Nehru University Student Union leader Kanhaiya Kumar plays out, a few office bearers of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) have resigned. The ABVP, which is affiliated to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), was instrumental in the action against Kanhaiya and other JNU students, accusing them of organising ‘anti-national’ activities where ‘anti-national’ slogans were raised at an event to mark the hanging of Afzal Guru.

In a speech made before his arrest, Kumar unequivocally condemned the slogans -- a fact that has been pointed out by those who have criticised the government’s response to the incident.

The statement by the ABVP office bearers who resigned is reproduced in full below. This statement was posted on Facebook by Pradeep Narwal.

‪”#‎SAVEJNU‬ ‪#‎SAVEDEMOCRACY‬

Dear friends,

We, Pradeep, Joint Secretary, ABVP JNU UNIT, Rahul Yadav, President SSS ABVP UNIT and Ankit Hans, Secretary SSS ABVP UNIT resigning from ABVP and disassociating ourselves from any further activity of ABVP as per our difference of opinion due to the following reasons:

1. Current JNU incident.

2. Long standing difference of opinion with party on MANUSMIRITI and Rohith Vermula incident.

Anti-national slogans on Feb. 9 in university campus were very unfortunate and heart breaking. Whosoever responsible for that act must be punished as per the law but the way NDA government tackling the whole issue, the oppression on Professors, repeated lawyer attacks on Media and Kanhaiya kumar in court premises is unjustifiable and we think there is a difference between interrogation and crushing ideology and branding entire left as Anti-national.

People are circulating ‪#‎SHUTDOWNJNU‬ but I think they must circulate‪#‎SHUTDOWNZEENEWS‬ which has demeaned this world class institution, this biased ZEE news media generalize and related the act done by few people to the whole student community of JNU. JNU is considered as one of the progressive and democratic institution where we can see intermingling of people from lower to upper income strata of the society, notion of equality.

We can’t be mouthpiece of such a govt. which has unleashed oppression on student community, legislature like O P Sharma, govt. which has legitimized the action of right wing fascist forces either in Patiala house court or in front of JNU north gate. Every day we see people assemble at front gate with Indian Flag to beat JNU student, well this is hooliganism not nationalism, you can’t do anything in the name of nation, there is a difference between nationalism and hooliganism.

Anti-India slogans can’t be tolerated in campus or any part of country, JNUSU& some left organization are saying that nothing has happened in the campus but here we want to stress that veiled persons in the event organized by former DSU persons shouted slogans BHARAT TERE TUKADDE HONGE of which there is concrete evidence in videos, so we demand any person responsible for the slogans should be punished as per the law, and in this whole process we also condemn media trial which has culminated in Anti-JNU sentiments throughout the country. Today we all must stand together to save JNU which has given us identity, we need to come across party lines to save reputation of this institution, to save future of JNUites as more than 80% of students don’t belong to any political party so let’s unite to save this JNU culture.

http://www.thecitizen.in/index.php/NewsDetail/index/8/6888/JNU-ABVP-Members-Resign-This-Is-What-They-Have-To-Say

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Guess a lot of us were wrong.

^

These ABVP Lulloos trying their best to hog the limelight. Easy publicity, people change campus parties every year depending on who's throwing more money to fund club parties and booze in hostels. Trying to act like they did something for the country as if ABVP has overnight turned into a shoddy party. Geez, these are the type of monkeys i'd beat up first.

^

These ABVP Lulloos trying their best to hog the limelight. Easy publicity, people change campus parties every year depending on who's throwing more money to fund club parties and booze in hostels. Trying to act like they did something for the country as if ABVP has overnight turned into a shoddy party. Geez, these are the type of monkeys i'd beat up first.

You are right i think they like the 'left wing' girls to go all "Well done boys on them" (I'm so judgmental and shallow today)

Dont think there is proof enough that kanahiya kumar shouted any such slogans. People are just getting emotional and asking for his head.

And what kinda lawyers are these who attacked the boy even when the supreme court had issued warning in opppsition to any such attacks. 200 meters away from the supreme court, these lawyers take law into their own hand. Why do u think the criminals should take the supreme court seriously then?

Like kejriwal said, one can kill anybody in India and then tell the police ,"arey ye to Pakistan zindabad ka naara laga raha tha" and expect to get away with it.

On facebook i saw Indian comments wanting actions to be taken against people like Noam chomsky because they spoke in favour of JNU students. I was like what the hell!

This all happened because permission wasn't granted to the students to conduct the event and discuss the controversial issue. If the event would have been conducted under supervision of the university authorities , this crisis wouldnt have come to fore. Heck they could have even asked police to be present at the venue so that discipline is maintained, after all its the duty of a university to provide students with an environment where they can discuss opinions which might not be popular or pleasing to the general population. This was all handled poorly.

To summarize things

Am I correct ?

Very well summed up and this is exactly what has happened. There is no evidence that the student president who was arrested had shouted any such slogans. This seems to be another case of punishing someone to satisfy the collective conscience of the majority.

Not one great leader emerged from these Student organizations in the past 60 years. All of them are crooks and that too crooks who are thugs.

I am not the kind of person that moans abut garbage Indian politics. I blame it on people. These crooks come from the same society.

The main accused Kanhiaya Kumar is 32 years old. We are to believe that he is a student. LOL

So bjp and its morons ki mallika Smriti Irani decide that the best way to fix this to install flags in all uni's.:facepalm::facepalm:
The thought process of these sanghi's is so weird,so unfathomable,so alien.

So bjp and its morons ki mallika Smriti Irani decide that the best way to fix this to install flags in all uni's.:facepalm::facepalm:

Poll on times now shows 85% of voters believe this step will instill feelings of patriotism in students and unite them. So smriti isnt alone it seems. I wonder why they believe that Indian students are so unpatriotic that they need to take these steps to spark patriotism in them. Doesn't send across a good message.

BJP flags or the Indian flag? Absolutely disgusting if the former.

The population is in extreme favor of blind-nationalism right now to the extent of it being jingoistic but the left wingers aren't doing any favor as well being on the face all the time and then they complain about ABVP being provocative.

Not sure why people aren't able to see its all about politics - socialism vs right wing at lower level for the supporter and Congress,AAP,Communists,RJD,JDU vs BJP,RSS,VHP at the higher level.

Not one great leader emerged from these Student organizations in the past 60 years. All of them are crooks and that too crooks who are thugs.

I am not the kind of person that moans abut garbage Indian politics. I blame it on people. These crooks come from the same society.

The main accused Kanhiaya Kumar is 32 years old. We are to believe that he is a student. LOL

Because no one had let them, it is not like in movies where bunch of student organize a party and compete in elections. It doesn't work like that. People don't organize student unions, waste their time to be crooks. Your experience might be different. But realistically these are the people who are going to voice for justice later on while most go on about their day, complaining about wifi at home and etc.

Naw man the guy arrested apparently didn't shout the slogans also this is JNU nothing will change at the max they will bring out some leader like 'Lalu Prassad Yadav'.Also in other universities the students are shouting slogans as well copying the JNU.
Also students did shout slogans in JNU but they were "apparently" Kashmiri students and Kashmiri outsiders.

To give you a brief about the issues that has occurred in this university wikipedia here:

As CC already said its become fashionable to be a communist in these colleges.
But taking no blame of ABVP(Right wing) youth party as well they have been miscreants too also they don't mind assaulting citizens.

He wanted all the student groups banned, not all the students groups are like the JNU. Wonder who organized for the protest after Nirupama Rao was raped in Delhi. From my experience, student unions are the potential future leaders of the nation. I hope it isn't like in the movies where it becomes a popularity contest between two dimwitts.

Let them install flags at least now. They did not respect our flag and freedom fighters during freedom struggle. This way even Kachaadhari gang (RSS) can prove that they are patriotic organisation.

If you see kachadhari gang history during freedom struggle, they were stooges and pimps of Britishers and now these same people telling and preaching everyone of patriotism.

If flag will start hoisting at our universities, all the problems related to farmers, education, heath, environment, population and corruption will go away.

BJP has nothing to show in since they are in power and they are trying their best to divert attention of public.

If anyone thinks Kanhiya is culprit then why Delhi police is not opposing his bail. DP has no evidence against him and he will scoot free soon.

Also to RSS and BJP people, on one side you are abusing Kanahiya for raising slogans in favour of Pakistan and on other side you keep supporting BJP's coalition with PDP in Kashmir. Why this hypocrisy? PDP has same agenda as Kanahiya...Cheers

[MENTION=137677]Thivagar[/MENTION], all these student unions are useless.

Its mostly students who study Arts, History and other subjects (which in reality will not find any jobs) that are into these student associations. Only those students seem to have tons of time on their hands. I am not saying all those students are useless. But students from those branches tend to join organizations more.

Students who are into Engineering, Medicine, Business are rarely into student organizations. They know they have better things to do than stand in the sun, shout slogans and probably beat up other fellow students.

To reiterate myself, the kind of students who join these student organizations are good for nothing zeroes in life. Sure, a few will go on to become politicians if some old politician fox takes the student under his wing.

Let them install flags at least now. They did not respect our flag and freedom fighters during freedom struggle. This way even Kachaadhari gang (RSS) can prove that they are patriotic organisation.

If you see kachadhari gang history during freedom struggle, they were stooges and pimps of Britishers and now these same people telling and preaching everyone of patriotism.

If flag will start hoisting at our universities, all the problems related to farmers, education, heath, environment, population and corruption will go away.

BJP has nothing to show in since they are in power and they are trying their best to divert attention of public.

If anyone thinks Kanhiya is culprit then why Delhi police is not opposing his bail. DP has no evidence against him and he will scoot free soon.

Also to RSS and BJP people, on one side you are abusing Kanahiya for raising slogans in favour of Pakistan and on other side you keep supporting BJP's coalition with PDP in Kashmir. Why this hypocrisy? PDP has same agenda as Kanahiya...Cheers
When we lived in Delhi,one of our neighbour's was a rich businesswomen,uber religious, always laden with jewellery,always boasting about how rich she and her children who were settled abroad were,yet when she moved to another place,our cablewallah was looking for her as she had not paid her bills for a few months.
That is the bjp -dishonest,hypocritical holier than thou show offs.Yahan hathi ke daant khaane ke aur or dikhane ke aur hote hain.

[MENTION=137677]Thivagar[/MENTION], all these student unions are useless.

Its mostly students who study Arts, History and other subjects (which in reality will not find any jobs) that are into these student associations. Only those students seem to have tons of time on their hands. I am not saying all those students are useless. But students from those branches tend to join organizations more.

Students who are into Engineering, Medicine, Business are rarely into student organizations. They know they have better things to do than stand in the sun, shout slogans and probably beat up other fellow students.

To reiterate myself, the kind of students who join these student organizations are good for nothing zeroes in life. Sure, a few will go on to become politicians if some old politician fox takes the student under his wing.

That is a very backward way of thinking. These students learn about society more than anyone else and they are fed with facts about people, politics, nations and governments. Engineering students don't learn about these things, they think they know but they actually don't. People who have knowledge of how history repeats itself understand that change can happen and they know exactly how to make that change. This is why they are putting effort to create awareness and try to bring in "changes". Unfortunately, not everyone is history, social and humanities students. Many people are like you or somewhat like you and therefore they struggle to bring in change. I don't know how old you are, but people need to think why someone would waste their time and energy organizing events, awareness. You've never been in their shoes, you don't sound like an open minded person either, so it is okay if you find it hard to understand those people.

When it comes to professor's, the most beloved professors are those of the "useless" backgrounds, UNIs here force students into taking few of these courses to create awareness of mankind. Most of them end up learning new things that will help them be a better human being down the road.

It is still your closed minded, ancient backward thinking. By the time your kids attend universities, things might be different and India might have caught up with rest of the world. One of my professor that I really enjoy close is actually an Indian, he did his undergraduate in India. If he can make an impact in a Canadian university and change the way how students view the world, I'm sure there are many useful professors who could change the way how you see the world. Maybe they can't because the amount of ignorance is too high.

The waters have been so muddied you can't tell what is what. So people go with the popular opinion formed by the media, particularly that guy who keeps shouting throughout his show.

That is a very backward way of thinking. These students learn about society more than anyone else and they are fed with facts about people, politics, nations and governments. Engineering students don't learn about these things, they think they know but they actually don't. People who have knowledge of how history repeats itself understand that change can happen and they know exactly how to make that change. This is why they are putting effort to create awareness and try to bring in "changes". Unfortunately, not everyone is history, social and humanities students. Many people are like you or somewhat like you and therefore they struggle to bring in change. I don't know how old you are, but people need to think why someone would waste their time and energy organizing events, awareness. You've never been in their shoes, you don't sound like an open minded person either, so it is okay if you find it hard to understand those people.

When it comes to professor's, the most beloved professors are those of the "useless" backgrounds, UNIs here force students into taking few of these courses to create awareness of mankind. Most of them end up learning new things that will help them be a better human being down the road.

It is still your closed minded, ancient backward thinking. By the time your kids attend universities, things might be different and India might have caught up with rest of the world. One of my professor that I really enjoy close is actually an Indian, he did his undergraduate in India. If he can make an impact in a Canadian university and change the way how students view the world, I'm sure there are many useful professors who could change the way how you see the world. Maybe they can't because the amount of ignorance is too high.

Arts include subjects like social and political science, history etc which do more to improve social understanding than the bloody maths and calculus I learned in engineering. Arts students are much more likely to be the factor of change in society than doctors or engineers.