Karachi heatwave thread

Slog

Senior Test Player
A heatwave has killed at least 90 people in Karachi, officials said Sunday, as residents grapple with frequent power outages and water scarcity during Ramazan.

The city saw temperatures reach as high as 45 degrees Celsius (111 degrees Fahrenheit) on Saturday, just short of an all-time high in the metropolis of 47 C in June 1979.

Dozens were brought to private and public hospitals with complaints of dehydration and low blood pressure.

According to hospital management of the Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre (JPMC), 55 people were reported dead with heat related symptoms. “Around 30 people were brought dead at JPMC,” says joint executive director of the medical facility Dr Seemin Jamali.

She said 20 persons died during treatment, adding that these people died due to heat stroke.

Another major facility, Abbasi Shaheed Hospital confirmed 20 people died due to heat stroke, including those who breathed their last on way to hospital.

Moreover, management of the Civil Hospital said, “Six persons were brought dead at hospital.” He added that all people died due to heat stroke.

Residents in Qayumabad converge at a water supply line to take some relief from the scorching heat. PHOTO PPI

According to sources, nine people died in parts of Lyari while at least two persons died in Keamari area.

Scores of people were referred to tertiary care hospitals from private hospitals. Most of them were brought to JPMC.

Pakistan’s Meteorological Department said temperatures would likely subside in the coming days, but doctors have advised avoiding exposure to the sun and wearing light cotton clothes.

The high temperatures were made worse by frequent power outages, sparking protests in several parts of the city of 20 million.

Electricity cuts in turn crippled Karachi’s water supply system, hampering the pumping of millions of gallons of water to consumers, the water utility said.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has warned electric supply companies that he would not tolerate power outages during Ramazan, an official at the premier’s office said.

Karachi University in a statement said that it had postponed its exams for at least one month due to the extreme weather.

Source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/907576/heatwave-kills-45-in-karachi-as-residents-brave-power-outages/

reminds me of similar news from India last month!

Razman being at the same time just makes it worse as many people who are not in a physical position to fast are forced to fast due to shaming by mullahs. so for laborers etc it is terrible

Loadshedding in Karachi has tripled since Ramzan started

usually it goes down

Tragic. These conditions seem like the ultimate test for the pious.

Where is MQM, PPP and PMLN? People say that we shouldn't politicize tragedies but these parties have no solution to Pakistan's problems. All these parties are directly responsible for this and its about time people wake up.

Lannat ho Nawaz Sharif pe

I don't know abt rest of the country but in PPP times loadshedding used to go significantly down in winter and Ramzan in Sindh.

this year it increased during these times which honestly makes no sense

I don't know abt rest of the country but in PPP times loadshedding used to go significantly down in winter and Ramzan in Sindh.

this year it increased during these times which honestly makes no sense

it's even worse in Punjab and the rest of Karachi, in the DHA it doesn't go that often

It is because of demand

It has never been so hot in most parts of Sindh, especially Karachi. Demand is a record 3200 MW (normally it is around 2500 MW in summers).

I don't think people are dying because of lack of electricity per se but because they are fasting and have to do mazdoori / walk or use public transport during the hot afternoon heat.

so some news im getting (may not be true)

KESC (K electric) sold a lot of its high quality copper wires and used in many cases low grade alternatives and those are malfunctioning now which is the cause for so many power shutdowns (more than usual ie)

More than power it is because people are not drinking water in such heat.

We need the scholars to come out and say something so people are not fearful of drinking water in public if need be

More than power it is because people are not drinking water in such heat.

We need the scholars to come out and say something so people are not fearful of drinking water in public if need be

there was a video being shared on fbook which someone had failed on how an old man (well not that old. looked early 60s) drinking water and eating sth in the corner and how a crowd surrounded him and beat him up

I mentioned earlier. in Pak theres too much pressure to fast and at the very least not eat or drink in a place someone might possibly see you

so lot of ppl end up fasting when they are not in a physical position to do so either due to health or nature of their work.

Some ssay not work at such hours or such jobs in ramzan and Ppl will say Allah deta hai but for someone who earns rs.200 per day by doing manual labor under the scorching sun and has a family of 5 or 6 to support, its hard for him to be spiritual and rely on some miracle to help his situation

While the toll reaches 429, the honorable State Minister for Water and Power says that death is from Allah and not caused by the lack of electricity. What a brilliant Minister.:14:

The reason why it goes down during Ramzan is because the government provides temporary relief to the households by subjecting the industrial sector to more power cuts than usual. However this time around the demand for household electricity was more than what they expected. An absolute incompetence at display. They should have had some contingency plan in order.

reminds me of similar news from India last month!

Razman being at the same time just makes it worse as many people who are not in a physical position to fast are forced to fast due to shaming by mullahs. so for laborers etc it is terrible

That is disgusting if these people died because they were forced to fast , first I've heard of it though. Could you please share a link for this ? It happened in India too , hope they won't forced to fast too .

Very sad news , incompetent & corrupt local & national government who can't supply basic energy for people.

Pakistan calls for urgent measures as heatwave toll tops 450

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-33236067

Pakistan's prime minister called for emergency measures as the death toll from a heatwave in southern Sindh province topped 450.
The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) said it had received orders from Nawaz Sharif to undertake immediate response measures.
The army has also been deployed to set up heat stroke centres and assist the NDMA, it added.

That is disgusting if these people died because they were forced to fast , first I've heard of it though. Could you please share a link for this ? It happened in India too , hope they won't forced to fast too .

Very sad news , incompetent & corrupt local & national government who can't supply basic energy for people.

Well the fact is no body in Pakistan dare drink water in Public during Ramzam regardless of how hot they are feeling.

Some media channels reporting number are 1000+ now and still increasing. ALLAH hum sab gunahgaron per apna reham kere

While the toll reaches 429, the honorable State Minister for Water and Power says that death is from Allah and not caused by the lack of electricity. What a brilliant Minister.:14:

What an absolute disgrace. He should be handed over to the Taliban wearing a gay rights t-shirt.

The reason why it goes down during Ramzan is because the government provides temporary relief to the households by subjecting the industrial sector to more power cuts than usual. However this time around the demand for household electricity was more than what they expected. An absolute incompetence at display. They should have had some contingency plan in order.

Didn't the govt claim that the power crisis would end by 2017 an we have a 'surplus' of energy loool, that's less than 2 years away

It is because of demand

It has never been so hot in most parts of Sindh, especially Karachi. Demand is a record 3200 MW (normally it is around 2500 MW in summers).

I don't think people are dying because of lack of electricity per se but because they are fasting and have to do mazdoori / walk or use public transport during the hot afternoon heat.

It's more to do with heatstroke

800 ppl died in India before ramadan

Didn't the govt claim that the power crisis would end by 2017 an we have a 'surplus' of energy loool, that's less than 2 years away

Government doesn't even know the ABC of energy. Pakistani awaam somehow voted these pendoos into the government. PM considers himself the king and could't care less how much people suffer. I hope Imran khan and Tahir ul Qadri prepare for another long march this year.

Well the fact is no body in Pakistan dare drink water in Public during Ramzam regardless of how hot they are feeling.

Plenty do in their homes .

It was claimed mullahs have been threatening people which is linked to these deaths , disgrace if true . I just want to see some evidence for this.

Even if you have have a surplus of energy, the transmission lines don't have the capacity to supply it. Need a complete overhaul of transmission lines too.

Bhai itni garmi hai aur dhoop mein kaam bhi karna hai tou roza na rakho.. Allah is very forgiving..

Exactly. But according to our Mullahs, agr rozay mein mar bhi jayo, tou Allah uska ajar dega. This is where we stand as a society.

Clear violation of Article 38 by the government! Clear indication that the government has failed big time! No hope from this failed democracy! And on the other hand the concerned authorities only talk about Article 6 while forgetting Article 38! Which is disgusting!

Article: 38 Promotion of social and economic well-being of the people

38. Promotion of social and economic well-being of the people.—The State shall—

(a) secure the well-being of the people, irrespective of sex, caste, creed or race, by raising their standard of living, by preventing the concentration of wealth and means of production and distribution in the hands of a few to the detriment of general interest and by ensuring equitable adjustment of rights between employers and employees, and landlords and tenants;

(b) provide for all citizens, within the available resources of the country, facilities for work and adequate livelihood with reasonable rest and leisure;

(c) provide for all persons employed in the service of Pakistan or otherwise, social security by compulsory social insurance or other means;

(d) provide basic necessities of life, such as food, clothing, housing, education and medical relief, for all such citizens, irrespective of sex, caste, creed or race, as are permanently or temporarily unable to earn their livelihood on account of infirmity, sickness or unemployment;

(e) reduce disparity in the income and earnings of individuals, including persons in the various classes of the service of Pakistan; 1[ ]

(f) eliminate riba as early as possible 1[ ; and ]

1[(g) ensure that the shares of the Provinces in all Federal services, including autonomous bodies and corporations established by, or under the control of, the Federal Government, shall be secured and any omission in the allocation of the shares of the Provinces in the past shall be rectified.]

A friend of mine in KHI just told me the actual death toll is close to 1200 and temperature is soaring at 48.

1000+ deaths in few days due to heat? How high is temperature there?

May switching to night work and resting during day may help here. Night temperature should be much better.

1000+ deaths in few days due to heat? How high is temperature there?

May switching to night work and resting during day may help here. Night temperature should be much better.

40+ Celcius is average

Problem is that power outage, water problems and Ramzan is at the same time

A friend of mine in KHI just told me the actual death toll is close to 1200 and temperature is soaring at 48.

Just noticed this. That's around 120 F. It's a ridiculous temperature to be out and working.

40+ Celcius is average

I read somewhere that some middle eastern countries work in night and sleep during the day when fasting. Is that possible in Pakistan? Water and power outage can be tackled only with some long term planning but changing schedule may save many lives.

I know they did it a few years ago in Ramzan when it was hot (not as hot though). No such step so far.

I realize the stupidity in my question. If power is an issue then you can't really work during the night time.

I know they did it a few years ago in Ramzan when it was hot (not as hot though). No such step so far.

I think partial work can be switched to night if not the entire work. Some segments of society will be more at risk with these heat waves than others. So if work covering them can be switched to night time then it will save many lives.

I never took a closer look at power generation capacity in that region. It looks like a major problem.

I realize the stupidity in my question. If power is an issue then you can't really work during the night time.

Not sure why they don't do that. I do know the industrial sector is exempt from power cuts. Considering the extenuating circumstances, they could temporarily prioritize the households over the industrial sector.

I don't know much about the subject but can you not do the fasting in these kind of intense heat specially when you have to work outside? Does religion allows that? I think many deaths may be simply due to dehydration in this intense heat. I am physically very fit person but I can't imagine working outside in 115 F without water. I may be fine without food but without water I don't think I will remain healthy after day or so.

Many folks simply have to go and do manual labor each day to put food on table. It's a sad situation but they don't have option to not work each day. Changing to night time schedule, not doing strict fasting and at least take water if you still have to work during the days and smarter power scheduling etc may help a lot here.

Sad part is that most of these deaths are avoidable. I read that lots of investment in power sector is going on in Pakistan so may be situation will get better when it comes to power after few years.

Never seen such a hot weather in my life before. Can't take shower even in night time because of hot water. I put some ice today in bucket so I could bath :P. By the way electricity condition is not that bad what media is reporting. In my area there is only 2 hours load shedding. Those areas which are affected are due to overloading because of increased demand.

I don't know much about the subject but can you not do the fasting in these kind of intense heat specially when you have to work outside? Does religion allows that? I think many deaths may be simply due to dehydration in this intense heat. I am physically very fit person but I can't imagine working outside in 115 F without water. I may be fine without food but without water I don't think I will remain healthy after day or so.

Ye, you don't have to fast if the circumstances don't allow.

My weather app is showing that its raining in Karachi. Is that true.

No, it's not a stupid question.

During the day, air-conditioning systems are working flat out (when there is electricity), whilst air-conditioning will not be required to the same degree at night-time.

More often than not, over a 24-hour period, the problem is less to with shortages but more to do with the fact that everyone wants to use electricity at the same time (ie during the day, in offices, industry, air-conditioners, and during the evenings when people come home, start cooking, watching tv ....etc.
Whereas, at night-time, the usage drops dramatically because everyone is asleep!).

If your suggestion was taken up, not everyone will switch to night-time work, but enough will switch, thereby reducing the load on the system during the high-usage hours.

During the day, air-conditioning systems are working flat out (when there is electricity), whilst air-conditioning will not be required to the same degree at night-time.

More often than not, over a 24-hour period, the problem is less to with shortages but more to do with the fact that everyone wants to use electricity at the same time (ie during the day, in offices, industry, air-conditioners, and during the evenings when people come home, start cooking, watching tv ....etc.
Whereas, at night-time, the usage drops dramatically because everyone is asleep!).

If your suggestion was taken up, not everyone will switch to night-time work, but enough will switch, thereby reducing the load on the system during the high-usage hours.

This is Pakistan we are talking about... in night-time we must keep all our lights on or else a jinn booht will come and posses that part of house. I don't think I've seen people use electricity with utter disregard in the US as I have in Pakistan.

hestly that's not true. atleast not in my college an now work place.

some lights are NEVER swtched off

Tragic. These conditions seem like the ultimate test for the pious.

this is the main problem.

common sense and public shaming means people who are not in physical condition to fast end up doing so

your weather app is having a heat stroke

Doubt it, its 10 degrees here and has been raining constantly. Its probably confused since it has been so cold this summer so far.

Even if it kills you?

For the pious, yes. This world is temporary and a just a constant test for the next one.

Going to Hajj is also dangerous given the ocassional stampede but I have actually heard die hard religious people wanting to die in such a scenario as they would have a clean slate post pilgrimage and thus would gain a confirmed passage to heaven.

In the end everyone can choose the way they live (or die) according to their beliefs.

Lighting uses a fraction of the electricity used by home and office air-conditioners, cooking, etc - and that's excluding industry!

this is the main problem.

common sense and public shaming means people who are not in physical condition to fast end up doing so

Yes, all we can do is educate them on the actual Islamic laws, aside from innovations (bida') which is very prevalent among Non Arab muslims, religious fervor (most do it to be holier than the rest) and their required religious obligations.

In the end though it's their choice.

Any info on whether the people who are dying are only the poor and down trodden ones or is it the middle class and poor people alike?

Its very unfortunate that people are dying due to heat which should not be the case in 21st century.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'oon ..what can we, common man, do realistically speaking to help such people?

Waha ke ministers k ghar ki bijli kaat do..agar insaniyat baqi tu shayed zara kuch ehsas ho

Yes, all we can do is educate them on the actual Islamic laws, aside from innovations (bida') which is very prevalent among Non Arab muslims, religious fervor (most do it to be holier than the rest) and their required religious obligations.

In the end though it's their choice.
Jazaakallah khayr for your posts

Sad thing is that businesses in Karachi have increased their prices for AC's and water. This also happened during the earthquake were Faisalabad extended prices of coffins.

No value of humanity in Pakistan anymore.

Ye, you don't have to fast if the circumstances don't allow.

Then folks should pay attention and not take risk.

Yah, if demand gets distributed during night and day then it will help to provide electricity in day time.

Sad thing is that businesses in Karachi have increased their prices for AC's and water. This also happened during the earthquake were Faisalabad extended prices of coffins.

No value of humanity in Pakistan anymore.

Supply and demand will drive prices everywhere. Not unique to Pakistan.

Any info on whether the people who are dying are only the poor and down trodden ones or is it the middle class and poor people alike?

Its very unfortunate that people are dying due to heat which should not be the case in 21st century.

I am pretty sure that the numbers will not be proportional here. In these kind of scenarios, poorest segment suffers the most.

40+ Celcius is average

I would still like to know who these Mullahs are who were forcing people to fast which as a result caused these deaths. I've read and seen news reports but no mention of these apart from your post?

Ofcourse there wont be articles on it. Its sth you see and experience. There is huge societal pressure to fast and if someone doesnt they are looked down upon and even termed as non muslims. Lot of time if someone is found drinking or eating on the street or sth, a mob with a short fuse and in a state of Roza might even physcially harass the person.

These are actual experiences and anyone who has lived in Pakistan can corroborate the authenticity of it to some extent. You dont really expect articles on it do you? By force I dont mean literally stopping them from eating. Its the atmosphere and expectation built where people who should not be fasting due to health reasons end up fasting due to fear of shaming etc. Also quite a few news reports mention that people suffered a stroke due to dehydration etc

a blog i found from cpl years ago: http://blogs.tribune.com.pk/story/18218/when-eating-in-ramazan-means-asking-for-a-beating/

Good joke. I am not saying that other sects don't name and shame but usually the bida'h and shirk calling brigade is in the business of naming and shaming.

The ones who parrot Shirk o biddah shirk o biddha about absolutely everything are the worst culprits.

I personally do not care about any religious sects or their internal fighting and politics. I was just pointing out how many of the pious are misinformed by these so called religious authorities and the only way to resolve this issue is to try and educate these people.

Ofcourse there wont be articles on it. Its sth you see and experience. There is huge societal pressure to fast and if someone doesnt they are looked down upon and even termed as non muslims. Lot of time if someone is found drinking or eating on the street or sth, a mob with a short fuse and in a state of Roza might even physcially harass the person.

These are actual experiences and anyone who has lived in Pakistan can corroborate the authenticity of it to some extent. You dont really expect articles on it do you? By force I dont mean literally stopping them from eating. Its the atmosphere and expectation built where people who should not be fasting due to health reasons end up fasting due to fear of shaming etc. Also quite a few news reports mention that people suffered a stroke due to dehydration etc

a blog i found from cpl years ago: http://blogs.tribune.com.pk/story/18218/when-eating-in-ramazan-means-asking-for-a-beating/

I know about this . Please stop stating the obvious.

There is no evidence any of these deaths have any connection to any mullahs forcing people or threatening people to fast .

It's sad there are people like you who use any tragic incident in Pakistan to link it with religious extremism.

Plenty of people in Karachi & other places in Pakistan do not fast , eat & drink at home . You are suggesting these hundreds of people died because they were scared of drinking water in case some extremist was spying on them . What's wrong with you pal ?

The Gov and NGOs could hand out cooling vests to people suffering from heat stroke

571d5876aa9222b84d4427234f0a364a_crop_north.jpg

Plenty of people in Karachi & other places in Pakistan do not fast , eat & drink at home . You are suggesting these hundreds of people died because they were scared of drinking water in case some extremist was spying on them . What's wrong with you pal ?

its a fact. i know more abt my city

the people who are dying are mostly laborers and day workers. They do not get to eat drink or work at home

i never said they directly forced or threatened anyone. Its a fear and public shaming which makes ppl fast who are not in a position to do so in such heat

What do you have to say abt the videos which spring up where someone eating sth is beaten up by a mob?

dont display your ignorance in public abt places you have not spent extended time in. Stick to your birmingham or bradford

its a fact. i know more abt my city

the people who are dying are mostly laborers and day workers. They do not get to eat drink or work at home

i never said they directly forced or threatened anyone. Its a fear and public shaming which makes ppl fast who are not in a position to do so in such heat

What do you have to say abt the videos which spring up where someone eating sth is beaten up by a mob?

dont display your ignorance in public abt places you have not spent extended time in. Stick to your birmingham or bradford

I am from Karachi too I work at a hospital in Karachi and as the canteen remains open plenty of people eat there most of them are labourers and attendants of pts I think and nobody even bats an eye lid let alone say anything to them

Even one of my sibling's colleague does not keep fast and openly tells to everybody and nobody bats and eye lid there either

So no it's not like that everybody in Karachi will start beating the pulp out of people if they don't fast one or two people doing it does not make it like everybody will do it