Karachi NA246 By-election & the Quota System

Slog

Senior Test Player
Election is in a few weeks. April 23rd I believe but not sure.

The constituency encompasses Azizabad which is the garhh of MQM. Similar to Larkana for PPP so it will almost always be a guaranteed seat

one good thing abt this election will be that it is likely going to be fair due to massive media focus and interest.

Imran Khan has also announced that he will personally come and lead the campaign which is good considering he didn't bother to visit Karachi in the 2013 election campaigning. So this development might play a role.

MQM is under the pump and while I don't expect it to lose the seat due to the area it is in but its going to be interesting to see what the result is and how much of a fight PTI puts. Hopefully it can get atleast 50% of MQM's number of votes and ill consider it a success.

I honestly belive if it was in some other areas like nazimabad, gulshan etc, PTI had a legitimate chance but still will be an interesting election to see what dent PTI can make in MQM's home ground. the fact that mqm looks a bit scared of the possibility of not holding onto the seat whereas its always been a given victory is encouraging.

very low turn over .. MQM wins .. if turn over were over 60%, PTI would have won ..

Sorry, yah turnout lol .. need coffee , its early for me ... No, I expect 30% turnout ... MQM has lot of badmaashi in that area ... and I support MQM in Karachi and PTI at other places .. wish we could get rid of Altaf and some of his pets .. Waiting for him to die naturally and then MQM has lot of very educated/liberal/middle class leaders ...

PTI ho as been winning a few by-elections lately . Would be fun o watch . The PTi guys I am talking to are certain of a PTI win . I don't think its gonna be that easy .

they really don't know much

bad luck is that its in Azizabad area

any other area apart from lyari PTI had a decent chance but not here.

Sorry, yah turnout lol .. need coffee , its early for me ... No, I expect 30% turnout ... MQM has lot of badmaashi in that area ... and I support MQM in Karachi and PTI at other places .. wish we could get rid of Altaf and some of his pets .. Waiting for him to die naturally and then MQM has lot of very educated/liberal/middle class leaders ...
agree with you, mustafa kamal should be the future head of mqm. take out altaf and the criminals from mqm.

A slim chance. PTI may even have more supporters there but MQM's supporters are more mobilized.

Irrespective of the result, media buzz created by PTI is huge. MQM is p!ssing their pants already and its getting funnier by the minute.

First they attacked PTI candidate Imran Ismail and his supporters. Then they were feverishly opposing jalsa in Jinnah ground and now they've gone complete bonkers on the TV channels with the most filthiest choice words.

PTI office near power house chowrangi is also attacked and furniture damaged. Too much bad press for MQM in a very politically charged climate.

Irrespective of the result, media buzz created by PTI is huge. MQM is p!ssing their pants already and its getting funnier by the minute.

First they attacked PTI candidate Imran Ismail and his supporters. Then they were feverishly opposing jalsa in Jinnah ground and now they've gone complete bonkers on the TV channels with the most filthiest choice words.

PTI office near power house chowrangi is also attacked and furniture damaged. Too much bad press for MQM in a very politically charged climate.

Maybe in Pakistan .It will take more than that for a Karachi voter to change his vote .

A slim chance. PTI may even have more supporters there but MQM's supporters are more mobilized.

PPP is not fielding their candidate and supporting MQM here. That alone gives you the idea how close this election actually is.

This is not just any constituency in Karachi. It is Azizabad, where MQM headquarter nine-zero is located. You have to wonder if MQM is not even confident about their home seat, how confident their supporters will be?

It's Azizabad the heart of MQM but due to PTI recent results in by elections and around 31,000 votes in this halka in 2013 i will give them a 10% chance here but 0% chance to other parties against MQM here

Karachi voter has already voted for PTI before. 2nd highest % vote went to PTI from Karachi in general election.

PTI got 31,000 votes in this halka in 2013 elections which is a very good result TBH none of the other parties can even come close to what PTI achieved against MQM in this halka. But in this Halka MQM usually win by a margin of 1 lakh+ votes (thanks to their loyal supporters and massive thappe and rigging)

good thing in this election will be it will be fair and mqm wont dare to rigging

so we will know actually where they stand

even if pti manage to put any kind of fight on the ballot here then mqm will p!ss their pants

Its funny when non-karachitess tells us who to vote ! I asked my uncle whether he will vote for MQM anymore after that Factory controversy, he replied son whats the alternative ?
Even after so much bad-press, people are still going to vote mqm. Its funny U-turn khan thinks he has a chance !

Its funny when non-karachitess tells us who to vote ! I asked my uncle whether he will vote for MQM anymore after that Factory controversy, he replied son whats the alternative ?
Even after so much bad-press, people are still going to vote mqm. Its funny U-turn khan thinks he has a chance !

everyone is different

my dad voted pti in 2013 eventhoug he had been a committed mqm supporter since its formation

The irony is that in the future when Tafa the warlord kicks the bucket, the parties will probably be natural allies.

but Azizabad area is muskhil for any party to break through

I cant blame the ppl there either

they were basically under attack by the army in 90s and mqm was the only one who stood up for them and tried to protect then and give a voice at a national level.

apparently 20000 ppl died and theres a monument to those martyrs in Azizabad too

impossible for ppl to forget that in a 15-20 yr time period.

will take time

but good thing with PTI is it has no previous in this conflict os comes with a clean slate sort of

And you live in NY.

I rather have u turn khan then that murderer Altaf or the two most corrupt SOB Nawaz and zardari

After all the murder and extortion, and people still want to vote for them?

If you are not urdu-speaking person its hard for you to understand, its about how this party started sacrifice and struggle.

Sorry. Many urdu-speaking people understand and are disgusted at the opinion you hold.

If you are not urdu-speaking person its hard for you to understand, its about how this party started sacrifice and struggle.

The party started, sacrificed, and then morphed into a mafia. I say this as a Urdu-speaker and a former supporter of MQM.

People of Azizabad live in the real world not the world made up by our media, created in air conditioned drawing rooms influencing thumb sucking wannabe twitter/FB political activists or middle class morality crusaders who feel their job is done after making YouTube videos of IK's jalsa clips over some pseudo-revolutionary pop anthem churned by "Sufi" rockers and born again Wahhabi singers. We don't need any more burger kids getting sunburned or going home crying to their mommies after realizing that not everyone in our country lives in the PTI echo chamber. Don't make a fool of yourselves. Stick to what you are good at. Go arrange another concert cum dance party cum jalsa. Take a bunch of pictures of it all, aerial and panoramic shots, estimation of crows numbers and blow it all up on social media and relieve those moments sharing it with your other burger buddies. Leave the actual organization of how to get the voters to turn out and vote to the real people. After all, who cares about winning Azizabad anyways. Not as sexy as DHA, right.

got that right

always in Cilfton and Defence's shadows

The wannabe twitter/FB political activists party got 2nd highest votes in General elections 2013 and recently winning 75% by-election seats

A BIGGG LOOOOL at your thinking and post....

MQM has not progressed in 25+ years of political history while PTI has become national party of Pakistan in less than 20 years of political history

MQM will always remain karachite party or middle and upper middle class party in karachi...

And there lies the whole problem, most in Pakistan think they are up against rest of the country. Altaf is still last hope to many just because he is also of same ethnic origin. So you want to forget about all the criminal activities of MQM, their murders, bhatta khori, violence, extortion, burning people alive, torture and thug culture because they stood for your rights some decades ago??

Now i could understand the above when other options were PPP who introduced the quota system to steal jobs from educated Urdu speakers or even PMLN who focus on Lahore more than anything but what is their excuse against PTI whose top leadership has quite a few Urdu Speaking people and the leader is known for ethnic discrimination? He takes U turn lol?? REALLY??????? Considering he is up against a mafia, he had fair amount of U turns just like any other leaders (Remember Altaf resigns and takes back resignation on monthly basis??)

Karachi has HUGE potential with huge educated population, let's give them a chance to show their potential to world and bring peace there.

For some people chanting anti Taliban slogan is most important, rest is all meaningless. Who cares if MQM murders people (like Talibans), who cares if they collect bhatta and burn people alive (like Talibans), who cares if MQM uses ethnicity to spread their terror (just like Talibans who use religious beliefs). I don't see any difference between Talibans and MQM, both these groups murder innocent people and must be eliminated, we should have zero tolerance for terrorists. Under stand people had genuine reasons to support MQM but time has changed and we have to change our thinking as well. Remember some people also supported Talibans at one stage because of their beliefs before they turned violent and killed their own people? MQM is doing same, they are also killing many of their own people.

H
For some people chanting anti Taliban slogan is most important, rest is all meaningless. Who cares if MQM murders people (like Talibans), who cares if they collect bhatta and burn people alive (like Talibans), who cares if MQM uses ethnicity to spread their terror (just like Talibans who use religious beliefs). I don't see any difference between Talibans and MQM, both these groups murder innocent people and must be eliminated, we should have zero tolerance for terrorists. Under stand people had genuine reasons to support MQM but time has changed and we have to change our thinking as well. Remember some people also supported Talibans at one stage because of their beliefs before they turned violent and killed their own people? MQM is doing same, they are also killing many of their own people.

Great post- sadly their victims don't have a chance to live in the real world or just live.

agree with your every point except the first one where you stated that peoples of azizabad live in the real world, actually they live in the world of terror where innocent MQM activist collect bhatta even from chinghi wala, thelay wala on daily basis, where the word altaf is more important them from their religion practices, where "Muhajir" murder another "Muhajir" and always remain as mazloom muhajir, where peoples fail to save their lives if they just think in a different direction form Mr. Altaf Bhai, where peoples cant go to their works kids cant go to schools & patients/sicks cant go to hospital once in every week bcz Altaf bhai want the jam & strike, where your house or business will burn if you belong to another ethnic group (this is the worst sin that a person belongs to different ethnic group). Azizabad peoples love to live under the threat of a singer who is also sometimes pretend himself as a joker during his solo show from london, life of 250 peoples is just a pinch of salt for that singer........

sad but true words :(

Nup not in this election but it is important for PTI to present itself as an alternative to the MQM
MQM is still popular among the middle or lower middle-class folks in places like Liquatabad,North Karachi...
What's important is when Altaf Bhai goes down be it in the money laundering case or the Farooq murder case PTI has the ground presence to take advantage

I grew up in that district, FB/Area-Dastagir, and I can assure you MQM is not losing that seat. It's like PML/N losing the Raiwind seat. Not gonna happen.

I think people are missing the point about the significance of the election- if MQM win in a transparent manner then that's fine but if they intimidate voters or stuff ballot boxes they should be locked up.But i still find it difficult to comprehend why anybody would want to vote for these thugs.

And why is the Azizabad world any more real than the burger world?

good post. Let's all in a real world world where you find hundreds of illegal weapons in a house. Let's live in a world where the leader of a party doesn't live in the country, heck didn't even visit the country in past 25 years. Let's live in the world where you burn 250 peoples in a factory. let's live in a world where you can thread all the media persons and opponents of the parties.Really good post!

so by all accounts and sources (and good ones), PTI is heading for a spanking of a lifetime n NA 246 as of now

lets see whether IK's expected personal campaigning in the area can make a difference.

also another issue is that JI is also competing non-mqm vote bank will be split

i wonder why everyone is so concerned about the outcome of NA-246 by election.
Even many pti leaders in talk shows have mentioned this point that This one seat doesnt have any importance for PTI in terms of parliament status.
In politics optics are very important and PTI is using this by election to show to people that MQM can be challenged in their core constituency, Before no other party dared to do the election campaign in azizabad how PTI is doing right now and it is giving message across the board that PTI is standing up to MQM.
MQM is feeling pressure and getting panic resulting in blunders on daily basis which is exposing them more and more.
Its just an A tour for PTI and based on this experience PTI will gain more strength as a party in karachi in future.

i wonder why everyone is so concerned about the outcome of NA-246 by election.
Even many pti leaders in talk shows have mentioned this point that This one seat doesnt have any importance for PTI in terms of parliament status.
In politics optics are very important and PTI is using this by election to show to people that MQM can be challenged in their core constituency, Before no other party dared to do the election campaign in azizabad how PTI is doing right now and it is giving message across the board that PTI is standing up to MQM.
MQM is feeling pressure and getting panic resulting in blunders on daily basis which is exposing them more and more.
Its just an A tour for PTI and based on this experience PTI will gain more strength as a party in karachi in future.

well said

With all the badmashi and gundagardi, MQM will keep the seat

Karachi is a sad story and the karachi mqm supporter are even thicker in the head..

I grew up in that district, FB/Area-Dastagir, and I can assure you MQM is not losing that seat. It's like PML/N losing the Raiwind seat. Not gonna happen.

than why so panic im mqm's camp???
why mqm's gullu butts setting fire the pti camps & party flag?
why throwing stones on opponent?
why beating opponent activists?

thinking in a different direction with altaf bhai is the biggest crime in karachi

So Kaptaan has ended parliament boycott?

U-turn master strikes again.

ahh yes lets get into the real world of azizabad and the lovely MQM. You eman the real world where they kill murder and threaten whoever they want? where they ethnically cleanse areas after threatening innocent people because they are a different ethnicity? Give me a break, theyre a bunch of fascists and should be dealt with without mercy! Karachi tum logoan kay baap ki jaydaat nahin hay. WHo can forget their lovely slogans back in the day e.g. "Sindhi Muhajir bhai bhai yay dhoti naswaar kahan say ahy" They turned karachi into a cesspit of racism,violence and ghunda gardi. One day very soon they will face a reckoning!!

MQM is not an ethnic party, you could say them all but they dont discriminate

MQM will have a tough time but I don't think they will lose this seat. Earlier Mqm workers used to get ID cards of all their relatives and then vote for them they are not going to be able to do that all the people will have to come out and vote. If they can vote in privacy and no one being able to look at who a person is voting for MQM can lose. But today too many people are scared of what happens if MQM loses and they find out you voted against them so I don't see them losing.
Instead of 130000 to 30000 that we had last election if will probably be 60000 for MQM and 30-40000 for PTI. I would be surprised with an upset from PTI as they have not done any campaigning etc in Karachi with little or no attention paid to Karachi from PTI they have been busy with their dharnas etc and Punjab and people from Karachi are feeling let down.

Sorry but many Urdu speaking people are against the scum Altaf and his mafia party. Including myself..

Probably has to do with Zardari's invitation to come back . On topic: Have a feeling that either PTI or MQM is going p boycott the elections last minute.

I think it will depend on the crowd which gather in rally & jalsa of Imran Khan in this area, if MQM think that the crowd which gathered is beyond their thinking or in a reasonable numbers they boycott the election by blaming ESTABLISHMENT

According to MQM the candidate of PTI is not even in top 2 and PTI is going o get a maximum of 10k votes here. I am wondering if this is the ground situation than why MQM is doing this hulerbaazi and a new drama every day?

Easy win for MQM, I have relatives in that area and according to them PTI is not in top 2, MQM is No. 1, Jamaat is 2nd and 3rd is PTI

My prediction: Win margin of MQM will be in excess of 40-50 k votes atleast...

MQM and their supporters should take it easy, PTI would have lost this even if IK himself was competing

Easy win for MQM, I have relatives in that area and according to them PTI is not in top 2, MQM is No. 1, Jamaat is 2nd and 3rd is PTI

with all the massive rigging in 2013 election PTI candidate still got 31,875 votes in 2013 election and was second and Jamaat candidate got 10,321 votes and was 3rd. PTI changed candidate for this seat this time last time it was Amir Sharjeel and now it's Imran Ismail

http://ecp.gov.pk/ERConsolidated2013/SearchFull2013.aspx?constituency=NA&constituencyid=NA-246

MQM saw a major decrease in their vote bank for this seat in 2013 elections. In 2008 election their candidate got 186,933 votes and the runner up only got 6741 votes. In 2013 MQM got around 50,000 less votes if you compare with 2008 there is a major difference between 137,874 and 186,933

http://ecp.gov.pk/electionresult2008/Search2008.aspx?constituency=NA&constituencyid=NA-246

I know PTI got no chance on this seat but i am more interested in the percentage of votes they will get here against MQM. It's a by election so we are not going to see same number of votes like 2013 but let see the percentage. PTI got 17% votes on this seat in 2013 elections

chart.ashx

MQM will win but it will be closer than you think. This has rattled MQM hence why they are acting like buffoons right now.

They don't quite know how to react as this is the first time someone has challenged them like this.

MQM will win but it will be closer than you think. This has rattled MQM hence why they are acting like buffoons right now.

They don't quite know how to react as this is the first time someone has challenged them like this.

and IIRC none of the candidates from another parties opened their offices in this halka in past like PTI is doing now and nobody ever thought about doing a jalsa in Jinnah ground that is what making MQM reacting like this.

From the sounds of it, the MQM will win but lets not hear anymore about them being a secular force for good. They are thuggish to the core, who have no interest in democracy and just like the PPP and PML are corrupt to the core. We keep being told that MQM are educated, well isnt it time that they actually used some of that education.

Going through this thread, I can say #ImranBhakts and #ModiBhakts are same guys.

According to MQM the candidate of PTI is not even in top 2 and PTI is going o get a maximum of 10k votes here. I am wondering if this is the ground situation than why MQM is doing this hulerbaazi and a new drama every day?

they are angr that some party is even darng to challenge them in such a way

they are used to JI rolling over for them in this constituency

MQM beleives in Ghunda Gardi, It has become their nature. PTI cant challenge MQM in this constituency, It wont even be closed fight

Its funny how th rethoric has changed from " hurr , durrrr.. we are gonna kick MQM-Ghaddars behind and liberate the people of Karachi in NA-246 " to " Oh no , we know we aren't gonna win , It's an accomplishment in itself that we are competing from NA 246 " . The U-turn strikes again !

its an election. you clearly don't know how they work it seems

Looks like I don't. Can you please explain why the PTI guys were all cocky about it first and now they are changing their tune to "moral victory" doctrine without even a single vote being cast yet?

Don't all parties always claim they are going to win the election they fight, if they give any other vibes even the core vote won't turn out and as far as I know the PTI candidate hasn't given up. Whether they win or lose, the MQM has once again been exposed to the world as thugs and terrorists.

Yet people of Karachi still keep on voting for them . Why should the people of Karachi vote for PTI , whats their platform for Karachi ? . What are they gonna go different for the people of Karachi? . They need to be talking about issues like the Quota system , merit based appointments,Depoliticized police and local body elections. Karachi politics is different than rest of Pak. Remember, Karachi voted Fatimah Jinah when rest of the country voted Ayyub Khan and bore the brunt of it too .

Maybe others are talking about the issues but without the murder and mayhem the MQM has brought. This has touched a raw nerve in the " democratic" MQM and they have decided to democratically attack their opponents