Karachi NA246 By-election & the Quota System

Pti can take the election but Ik has to promise 3 things
1. De politicized police.
2. Merit based system
3. Making karachi a province.

But IK has a chip on his soldier as these demands are by Mqm he won't support and acknowledge them. Although they are valid demands of people of Karachi and Mqm uses it as a rallying cry if Pti had promised these things they would have taken lot more seats than they did in the last election but Pti has been ignoring Karachi. And is on its way to become Punjab based party instead of a national party.

2. Merit based system
4.(My addition) End of quota system
But IK has a chip on his soldier as these demands are by Mqm he won't support and acknowledge them. Although they are valid demands of people of Karachi and Mqm uses it as a rallying cry if Pti had promised these things they would have taken lot more seats than they did in the last election but Pti has been ignoring Karachi. And is on its way to become Punjab based party instead of a national party.

If PTI can promise these 4 things to the people of Karachi , they will pretty take over karachi from MQM in a matter of a couple of years.

Speak for yourself. Most Karachiites do not want a separation from Sindh, they are generally indifferent about it.

This was a MQM demand, so that they can finally have a muttahida stooge take the oath of chief minister of a province, otherwise the best they could hope for was the mayor-ship of Karachi and Hyderabad.

-Born, bred Karachiite and urdu speaker.

your addition is the most important and one of the main reasons why mqm rose I nthe first place

Speak for yourself. Most Karachiites do not want a separation from Sindh, they are generally indifferent about it.

This was a MQM demand, so that they can finally have a muttahida stooge take the oath of chief minister of a province, otherwise the best they could hope for was the mayor-ship of Karachi and Hyderabad.

-Born, bred Karachiite and urdu speaker.
If Karachi is separated as a province the quota system automatically goes out as their will be no Sindh quota. Truthfully I didn't care either but after the rule of PPP in the last 6-7 years it made me realize Karachi needs to be run by people of Karachi. And as long as Karachi is part of Sindh that is not possible.
I am also in favor of breaking all provinces that we have today into smaller units.

2. Merit based system

PTI is the dominant force in KPK and toe to toe with N-league. How can you say they're a punjab based party?

2. Merit based system

1. De politicized police. - Imran has been stressing on this issue for years, this is one of the first things he has implemented in KPK and criticises Punjab government on this issue a lot so there is every possibility that this will happen.

2. Merit based system - This has also been one of his main priorities and this should also take care of quota system as well. Not saying he is 100% successful in bringing merit based system everywhere but it is definitely something high on his agenda (From cricketing days).

3. Making karachi a province. - I don't think this should be high on his agenda at all. People of Sindh have genuine concerns and more provinces should be created as part of wider plan to create additional provinces throughout the country.

PTI is the dominant force in KPK and toe to toe with N-league. How can you say they're a punjab based party?
I didn't they were I said they are becoming one. With all the attention they are giving Punjab. And in kpk they are giving JI too much importance and giving up to much will likely loose support because of it. The way things are going it feels JI is the majority party not PTI in Kpk

Yet people of Karachi still keep on voting for them . Why should the people of Karachi vote for PTI , whats their platform for Karachi ? . What are they gonna go different for the people of Karachi? . They need to be talking about issues like the Quota system , merit based appointments,Depoliticized police and local body elections. Karachi politics is different than rest of Pak. Remember, Karachi voted Fatimah Jinah when rest of the country voted Ayyub Khan and bore the brunt of it too .

Has MQM solved these issues or has taken any step to eradicate them

It's safe to say that they had enough opportunities to resolve these issues but doesn't seem they were interested.

I might not know the full story but they got plenty of time under Musharaff to bring any sort of changes they wanted but failed. Since then they have been sitting in alliance with PPP government and off course couldn't resolve these issues. They can only resolve this if they are not part of the problem in the first place, this is where PTI has advantage.

MQM is not an ethnic party, you could say them all but they dont discriminate

hahaha..man I've heard some whoppers on pp in the past but this has to be the best one. Naivety, denial and keeping ones head in teh sand. The surefire signs of an MQM supporter.

It's safe to say that they had enough opportunities to resolve these issues but doesn't seem they were interested.

I might not know the full story but they got plenty of time under Musharaff to bring any sort of changes they wanted but failed. Since then they have been sitting in alliance with PPP government and off course couldn't resolve these issues. They can only resolve this if they are not part of the problem in the first place, this is where PTI has advantage.

lets just face reality. The MQM has no interest in doing the above. If they did they would have. They are simply here on the back of the gun and victimhood based political message. Thats it. They have nothing to show the people of karachi since 1986. Mustafa kamal had a chance but even he couldnt succeed. For karachi to become successful the MQM must be defanged followed by the ANP and PPP. Put the guns down so they can be judged on their policies alone. I believe once people lose their fear to challenge these thugs they will be voted out pretty quickly. But alas they will always have the ethnicity card to play!

no these are not even their priorities, let me tell you one thing during musharraf tenure they were in best power, a debate was going in sindh assembly over the quota system following with the referendum in assembly on this issue the cunning mqm members walk-out from assembly which is the best way to support by hiding their faces & remain victim & innocent among their blind followers.

Today when I was receiving the newspaper from hawker I get shocked when I saw the pamphlet lying in it with the name of 'Jaag Muhajir Jaag'. There was so much rubbish & garbage written in that, preaching of hate, discrimination, loathing.

They haven't and that's why any political party that can guarantee the people of Karachi these things will eventually be voted in .The people of Karachi aren't dumb voters. Politics is about choosing teh lesser evil b/w the 2. It all bois down to who can secure their interests best .

I'd vote for MQM because they are the only political party that has promised 'equal rights' for all citizens irrespective of religion. [emoji106]

By equal rights you mean "Bhatta Khori", "Target killing" and "Gunda Gardi" ?

no but they are the only one who even bring it up to discussion

all PTI needs is tot ake up this issue on a national level for a few years and I guarantee it will get several more seats in Karachi in the next election cycle

By equal rights you mean "Bhatta Khori", "Target killing" and "Gunda Gardi" ?

Everyone paying Bhatta for their protection is better than just us paying Jizya for our protection from the Bhatta khors.

By equal rights I mean truly equal, an end to apartheid.

MQM said the only ones that should be treated as Minority in the country are the terrorist. #respect

I didn't they were I said they are becoming one. With all the attention they are giving Punjab. And in kpk they are giving JI too much importance and giving up to much will likely loose support because of it. The way things are going it feels JI is the majority party not PTI in Kpk

They're giving Punjab importance because wining Punjab is winning the national thing.

Yes that's the problem Ik now cares more about becoming pm more than helping Pakistanis.
With devolution of power to the provinces pm post is about foreign policy and other national matters on which I disagree with PTI stances mostly. Where as provincial government and now local government coming up will be about development and other stuff that the common man cares about most.
I care about PTI coming to power in provincial and local governments as that might mean change at the basic level than IK becoming PM.

Yes that's the problem Ik now cares more about becoming pm more than helping Pakistanis.
With devolution of power to the provinces pm post is about foreign policy and other national matters on which I disagree with PTI stances mostly. Where as provincial government and now local government coming up will be about development and other stuff that the common man cares about most.
I care about PTI coming to power in provincial and local governments as that might mean change at the basic level than IK becoming PM.

In Pakistan, becoming the PM is directly related to the national economic policy which then reflects through the provinces as well. Getting the PM/National post will enable any politician to run the country the way they want so obviously he cares about becoming the PM. I think he (and many others including myself) believe that becoming the PM puts you in the best position to change the course of this country.

Everyone paying Bhatta for their protection is better than just us paying Jizya for our protection from the Bhatta khors.

By equal rights I mean truly equal, an end to apartheid.

MQM said the only ones that should be treated as Minority in the country are the terrorist. #respect

MQM has many terrorists of their own involved in TArget killing, and Incidents like Bildia Factory fire...

I come from a Urdu speaking Family but i hate MQM to the core, they are nothing more than low life Gundas

Just saw on Twitter #PTIKarachiJalsaflopped in trending No.1. and at No.3 is #FloppayflopPTI....

Any truth to that....

Just saw on Twitter #PTIKarachiJalsaflopped in trending No.1. and at No.3 is #FloppayflopPTI....

Any truth to that....

Apparently the turnout for the jalsa was high enought but the local adminstration/MQM (take your pick) played a negative role in blocking roads, turning off venue lights etc.

In either case its a moot point when majority of the people showing up were not even from NA-246 :))

It was a jalsa for NA-246 not a general Karachi jalsa so in that sense if the people of the areas concerned (azizabad, kareemabad etc) weren't too bothered by it then t certainly isnt a roaring success.

From the sense i gather is that it was largely underwhelming if you look at it generally

But if you take context and history in how no one apart from MQM has even attempted sth of this scale in this area for decades then its sort of a positive development if not a victory

Imran Khan shouldn't have jumped into the NA246 bye polls making tall claims and giving the elections the hype they have got. More likely than not, PTI will walk out with cake on their face.

that is a given

I don't mind the cake on the face scenario. I am sure if MQM would have decided to participate in a by-election from Mianwali or Pindi, they would have ended up with more than just cake on their face. Every political party makes tall claims, its the nature of the game. If they don't than it demotivates their supporters and gives the impression that they are just participating for sake of it. I give PTI credit for turning this sure shot electoral seat for MQM into more than just a routine exercise. PTI needs to do more for sure. IK needs to visit Karachi much more frequently. There is in-fighting between PTI officials in Karachi and that needs to be resolved. In short, PTI needs to show that it cares as much for the people of Karachi as it does for people of Punjab or KP and a jalsa once in a while will not change that. Karachiities in general are fed up one party rule. If (and its a big if) they are offered a better alternative, I have no doubt they can become a loyal voting bloc for PTI.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/cg6srSKwDfQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x2nbc08" allowfullscreen></iframe>

:))):))):))):)))

PTI has no chance here. Their paid social media team makes you think that they are some kind of force here. Most of these paid (virk) jokers have never even visited Karachi par baat aisey kartein hain jasie chappa chappa jantay hain karachi ka. :))

PTI's flop jalsi at Ayesha Mazil was enough to know about their position here. Feel sad for PTI walas their supporters from KPK, Punjab and tribal areas can't vote in NA-246 :))) :))) :)))

3.jpg

5.jpg

This says alot about PTI's politics. They have been crying for last two years in Punjab and see what they are doing in Karachi.

PTI - The political wing of TTP.

PTI has no chance here. Their paid social media team makes you think that they are some kind of force here. Most of these paid (virk) jokers have never even visited Karachi par baat aisey kartein hain jasie chappa chappa jantay hain karachi ka. :))

PTI's flop jalsi at Ayesha Mazil was enough to know about their position here. Feel sad for PTI walas their supporters from KPK, Punjab and tribal areas can't vote in NA-246 :))) :))) :)))
The fact that whole MQM is dancing around just to save their home seat is a big change itself. PTI camps being attacked, Imran Ismail was attacked for 3rd time today. Imagine MQM contesting against PTI in Mianwali, would MQM stand a chance? PTI is giving tough time to MQM in their home seat. Sattar guy is holding press conferences every hour lol and they supposedly won by 100000 votes in 2013 :)

But if the MQM votes falls below the 100,000 mark we know that they cheated before. Oh the irony of a bunch of MURDERERS,thugs, crooks and extortionists complaining about vote rigging. We know the PTI wont win here but we have put down a marker that no area is a no go area and its for the people to decide.

ABSOLUTELY!!! Did someone watch Pakistani tv host Mani's message for this election (He is also Karachiite).

MQM Choona lagara rahai hai muhajiron k naam pe 30 saal se lol, hilarious :)

I await with bated breath how the MQM will explain its drop in the voting share. After-all its not as if they havent campaigned or beaten people up in the election. Did you see the desperation on the faces of their leadership? Personally i would like to see all elections conducted with such vigor and we may finally get a parliament representative of the people.

The fact that whole MQM is dancing around just to save their home seat is a big change itself. PTI camps being attacked, Imran Ismail was attacked for 3rd time today. Imagine MQM contesting against PTI in Mianwali, would MQM stand a chance? PTI is giving tough time to MQM in their home seat. Sattar guy is holding press conferences every hour lol and they supposedly won by 100000 votes in 2013 :)

The voting process is too slow all thanks to the extra security by rangers. There was a delay in start on some polling station and many supporters are still standing in ques. Farooq stattar did the right thing letting the whole city/country know.

But if the MQM votes falls below the 100,000 mark we know that they cheated before. Oh the irony of a bunch of MURDERERS,thugs, crooks and extortionists complaining about vote rigging. We know the PTI wont win here but we have put down a marker that no area is a no go area and its for the people to decide.

Who will benefit the most if the process remains slow for the next hour? Definitely not MQM because its their vote who is standing in large numbers outside the polling station not JI or PTI's. People are standing outside in ques and complaining about the slow voting process. If the time runs out then its their vote bank which gets effected. We have seen polling time exceeding till midnight in NA-250 in the past to facilitate a certain political party in the 2013 elections.

The irony is so called revolutionary, visionary self-righteous people crying of rigging for last 2 years in Punjab and character assassinates every one in the country and then shamelessly gets caught rigging in Karachi Bi-elections. :)))

So much of 35 puncture and change. PTI are proving to be the political wing of TTP only this time their friends were not there to support them openly in Karachi after they got their back kicked by Pakistan Army :))

Ahttp://www.zemtv.com/2015/04/23/kashif-abbasi-making-fun-of-salman-balochmqm-on-karachi-mein-tabdeli-agaye/

ARY retracts claim that PTI guy was arrested.

View attachment 56318

View attachment 56319

This says alot about PTI's politics. They have been crying for last two years in Punjab and see what they are doing in Karachi.

PTI - The political wing of TTP.

Sharam kar beghairat, sharam se doob mar :sanga

10985457_461536827346529_3390792866372090902_n.jpg

This one is even more better. Look at the delusional Khan's statement in ticker.

Source: PTI's fav channel ARY

CDRFdRtUgAAblw2.jpg

Bhai main ne bhe yahi screen shot share kia hai, albeit with its sequel. It was an MQM guy pretending to be a PTI polling agent.

As far as ARY is concerned, they've already retracted from that allegation (link in post 122).

Watch AB-Tak's pic i posted above. So its Abtak, GEO, Dawn and ARY.

The link you posted is about some guy taking his mobile phone into the polling station. Where did ARY retract from their statement about PTI rigging? :)

Both Majid and Rehan arrested by Rangers from Delhi School, work for MQM, arrested for casting fake votes

Quoting some random guy on twitter?? Not authentic source this is.

TV channels reported PTI even the beloved ARY. I can quote thousands of people from twitter with no source spreading some fake rumor.

PS: Read the comments under this tweet. This PTI supporter got exposed for spreading fake news. hahahahha

Quoting some random guy on twitter?? Not authentic source this is.

TV channels reported PTI even the beloved ARY. I can quote thousands of people from twitter with no source spreading some fake rumor.

PS: Read the comments under this tweet. This PTI supporter got exposed for spreading fake news. hahahahha

Dil pe na le jiggar, no one tops MQM in dramaybaazi. Congrats in advance for the huge win anyway.

Is this video about ARY retracting from their earlier report of rangers catching PTI's officer? if not then its useless to watch this link.

Lets face your party a bunch of murderers thugs and crooks and you are desperate to tar others with the same brush. Its hardly rocket science to understand the report.

MQM as expectedly leading in early results so far.

Let's see what the difference of votes is!!

Is this video about ARY retracting from their earlier report of rangers catching PTI's officer? if not then its useless to watch this link.

Kashif Abbasi clearly said "presiding officer PTI ka btaya ja raha tha likin aisa nai hai"

Lets face your party a bunch of murderers thugs and crooks and you are desperate to tar others with the same brush. Its hardly rocket science to understand the report.

Im desperate to tar others? It's PTI wallas who tar everyone of everything and then gets caught doing the same?

1. Fake degree (Murad Saeed the great Imran Khan's successor)
2. Target Killers (9 caught in Karachi, Zahra shahid daughter accusing PTI of her murder)
3. Rigging (Caught today)
4. Corruption (Already few scandals)
5. TTP Support
6. U-Turn
7. Character assassination

What change do you guys actually bring?

Kashif Abbasi clearly said "presiding officer PTI ka btaya ja raha tha likin aisa nai hai"

hastay hastay itni bari baat boldi? This should have been a breaking news on all channels then especially ARY. This was not a silly allegation from anyone. Why ARY not running it as breaking news?

I see your desperation, but the MQM -daddy Tafa the warlord, sitting in London and ordering the murder of people says all about your party and its supporters.

and lets not talk about PTI's 100% halal relationship with TTP. :)

Only if voting was on social media and life on internet was real. Imran would have been an undisputed champion of 'The Republic of social media Pakistan' :)

Good Bye.

For those saying that if MQM doesn't get 100k vote, it would be a dent to their vote bank. Don't have any clue what they are saying. They need to be reminded that

1) Its BY-Election not general election.
2) 99% of the time you get LOW Voter turnout.
2.1) Low voter turnout is because By Elections are held on weekdays.

If you need to do comparison do it proportionally.

Also add to the list that

Checking of 2-3 times checking of NIC by rangers/police resulting in slow voting process and voting process was started late at various polling stations.

For those saying that if MQM doesn't get 100k vote, it would be a dent to their vote bank. Don't have any clue what they are saying. They need to be reminded that

Thats fair enough but if its just a lower figure, then we know that they had cheated on previous occasions. And right on cue they start to attack the PTI workers. Just plain thugs, both the party and its supporters.

Anyone who has any clue knew that MQM would win this seat with a significant margin. And for good reason. They have done a lot of work in the particular constituency and are always there for help. They have support here regardless of ethnicity

Props to PTI for even opening up a debate on the seat though

Thats fair enough but if its just a lower figure, then we know that they had cheated on previous occasions. And right on cue they start to attack the PTI workers. Just plain thugs, both the party and its supporters.

Previous elections there wasn't any PTI to vote for. (apart from 2013 where there was obvious rigging)

But as I said this is MQM's home seat and they should win it rigging or no rigging

Funnily enough. If Nabil Gabol hadn't resigned and waited until next elections then PTI would have had a much greater chance as the ppl of the area were dissatisfied with him.

NA 246 is one of the few constituencies where the ppl are used to the MNA showing up every few weeks and personally taking a lead in taking care of the problems of the area. Complaints are attended to within days etc and there is face time with the MNA. However Gabol wasn't doing this and never visited the constituency so the ppl were being dissatisfied and PTI could have cashed in on it.

by elections have low turnout.

Bas? kahani khatam ? . Will IK still visit karachi and talk about karachi and its awam (zinda lashein ) after this election is over ? .

Aik rikshay wala sher hoo jayee :

Meri jeet ko deekh ker,
Koi jal gaya , kissi ne Dua dey .

They won by 106k votes in 2013, let's see what the margin would be tonight.

Turn out does get lower in by elections, but that's for both parties, not MQM only. If PTI gets 25k tonight, that would mean they've pretty much been able to keep their 31k voters intact.

MQM, on the other hand would most probably get 70-80k, which in comparison to 140k in the 2013 elections is a significant decrease.

They won by 106k votes in 2013, let's see what the margin would be tonight.

Turn out does get lower in by elections, but that's for both parties, not MQM only. If PTI gets 25k tonight, that would mean they've pretty much been able to keep their 31k voters intact.

MQM, on the other hand would most probably get 70-80k, which in comparison to 140k in the 2013 elections is a significant decrease.
PTI getting a larger share of the vote than 2013 not only makes sense but I would be seriously worried for PTI if that didn't happen.

In 2013, there was zero campaigning from PTI here. Forget Imran Khan visiting the constituency, he didn't bother to even visit Karachi period. And the PTI candidate here held a grand total of ONE corner meeting (which is not same as jalsa. Its more like party bearers meeting at a place.)

This time not only has PTI's candidate had a presence but Imran Khan has come twice to the constituency.

PTI getting a larger share of the vote than 2013 not only makes sense but I would be seriously worried for PTI if that didn't happen.

In 2013, there was zero campaigning from PTI here. Forget Imran Khan visiting the constituency, he didn't bother to even visit Karachi period. And the PTI candidate here held a grand total of ONE corner meeting (which is not same as jalsa. Its more like party bearers meeting at a place.)

This time not only has PTI's candidate had a presence but Imran Khan has come twice to the constituency.

People voted PTI in GE with the hope that it would be able to replace MQM in Karachi, maybe that's why even without IK PTI got that many votes. Now that people knew MQM is not going anywhere and making PTI win 1 seat won't change their lives, they either stayed home or voted for MQM.

PTI losing is not a surprise and nothing of much consequence or embarrassment tbh

But what would be embarrassing is if it finished 3rd.

PTI losing is not a surprise and nothing of much consequence or embarrassment tbh

But what would be embarrassing is if it finished 3rd.

That would've been a big blow, I'm glad we're leading JI by a good margin.

oh really?

what are the latest figures

the ones I saw were like JI 32k and PTI 28k

so many figures out there. don't know which one to believe :))

PTI could do better had they not provoked Urdu speakers by calling them Zinda Laash. On the other hand MQM did very well in convincing people that "Look, they want to finish off MQM, we are the only savior of Urdu speakers. I heard MQM did door to door campaign that is the reason we saw some 90 to 100 years old voters who went out to vote.