Runner Up
This proves democracy doesn't work. Only way to punish MQM is military rule in Pakistan.
oh really?
what are the latest figures
the ones I saw were like JI 32k and PTI 28k
so many figures out there. don't know which one to believe![]()
tbh there was never any doubt in that area about who will be the victoruFinal Result: MQM 93k PTI 20k JI 10k
MQM got 13k more while PTI got 5k less than what I expected.
Congrats to Bhais for winning it fair and square, commiserations to burgers and bun kababs.
Respect the mandate of the people
Is is like saying that respect the corrupt system. Instead of changing themselves, people try to bring honest people to their level, no one respects honest people in Pakistan.
Essentially the PTI/JI vote was the same as the election but happened to the 40 thousand MQM voters?Final Result: MQM 93k PTI 20k JI 10k
MQM got 13k more while PTI got 5k less than what I expected.
Congrats to Bhais for winning it fair and square, commiserations to burgers and bun kababs.
Essentially the PTI/JI vote was the same as the election but happened to the 40 thousand MQM voters?
When was the last time PTI actually won something
A few days a ago in Mirpur and that too against the PPP and PML-N.When was the last time PTI actually won something
This proves democracy doesn't work. Only way to punish MQM is military rule in Pakistan.
PTI did a lot better than I expected. Specially looking at the turnout. they just lost 9000 votes. And I think those can even be attributed to JI standing this time for elections as well.
I honestly feel sad and despondent on days like this.
Not because I wanted Imran Khan to win ( I personally don't like him) , but as an Urdu speaker and seeing what has happened over the years, I feel sad.
I know the people of Karachi are supposed to be quite literate.
So when they make emotional decisions like these, supporting MQM despite its known involvement in underhand deep destruction politics, I feel it hurts the credibility of Pakistan more.
People have voted for a party that has ruled by oppression, turbulence, violence, and played with emotions of people most of the times.
If I had anything to say today, it would be system of Pakistan has failed.
Not because people decided not to vote for PTI, but because people failed to grow despite being shown that the party that they supported is nothing more than breeding ground for worst kind of violence over the years.
I am done with politics of this nation for some time.
In order to get change, you need to want change.
People of Karachi have proved that they don't want any change, just the random repetition of violence and throwaway romanticism of the past.
We can keep living in denial of 20 years back, where MQM is supposedly one day going to rescue the people of Karachi from being an ethnic minority.
But it will never happen.
But my beautiful Karachi, will never grow either.
Systems takes decades to evolve just saying.
System has been losing face and ground for decades already.
People still are stubborn and I don't see that changing anytime sadly, especially when one of the supposedly literate cities of Pakistan refuses to budge and plays the ethnic minority MQM support card to garner votes even after the party was publicly shamed.
Not because I wanted Imran Khan to win ( I personally don't like him) , but as an Urdu speaker and seeing what has happened over the years, I feel sad.
So when they make emotional decisions like these, supporting MQM despite its known involvement in underhand deep destruction politics, I feel it hurts the credibility of Pakistan more.
People have voted for a party that has ruled by oppression, turbulence, violence, and played with emotions of people most of the times.
Not because people decided not to vote for PTI, but because people failed to grow despite being shown that the party that they supported is nothing more than breeding ground for worst kind of violence over the years.
People of Karachi have proved that they don't want any change, just the random repetition of violence and throwaway romanticism of the past.
We can keep living in denial of 20 years back, where MQM is supposedly one day going to rescue the people of Karachi from being an ethnic minority.
Go and meet the people that actually voted for MQM in this election for this seat. Thing is despite all its ills MQM elected representatives are around for people of the area to listen to and solve their problems. People think that MQM is supported by urdu speaking population alone but that is untrue they have good support from the middle to lower class people from all ethnicities in the area.
Nabeel Gabol was not active in the community if he had stayed in power for the whole term MQM would have lost a lot of support as people were getting dissatisfied with him. But he left early and that hurt the democratic process a bit. People will start voting for better people once they start believing in the democratic process and have the belief that their votes matter. I agree with PTI about improving the voting system as when its all said and done who is elected should not matter as much as that the person elected was not someone that stole the peoples mandate.
I haven't certain Mohajir friends from Karachi and they don't trust Imran or PTI at all and i'm talking abt young individuals.MQM has a build a network with many families in Karachi can you say the same about PTI?
Just to have music concerts and empty slogans doesn't mean making the connection with people.
AAP inspite of terrible performance in National elections 6 months before performed very well in the local elections because they went to most mohallas(localities) and connected with the locals.
The reason People of Karachi didn't vote for PTI is because they didn't see PTI as an alternative to MQM . People know that MQM is bad but they also know that it is the only local party with its roots in karachi , its lesser of two evils. Its not like karachi never voted for national level parties before but they were let down. Another problem is IK's and PTI's bongiyyan ( zinda lashein, we are coming to liberate Karachi , Don't need Karachi to be P.M and so on ) .If you wanna win Karachi then show them some respect , show them that you are really gonna work for them . Have something bold to say about teh grievances of the locals .Start with the the quota system .
Damn. At least they came 2nd.mqm 95000
pti 25000
ji 10000
A man while addressing people starts laughing and then 2 minutes later starts crying and then singing, abuses women calling women in protests heera mandi ki aurtain and zinda lashein say jee bhai jee bhai bilkul theek kaha. He threatens people asking them to be prepared for bori and zinda lashain say jee bhai jee bhai bilkul theek, he abuses extremely offensive and threatening language which result in killing of Zahra Shahid and many others. Then his "I resign" episodes everyday, resigns in the morning followed by nahi bhai plz bhai and then ok i take it back and repeats this more often than drama serial espisodes. If you are not zinda lashain then how on earth do you take such man seriously?? I can go on and on about Altaf's bongiyan but waste of time to be honest. As for comments on Karachi, he clearly said that Nawaz doesn't even bother coming to Karachi because he knows he doesn't need Karachi to become PM, i can do the same as well but i want to change Karachi.
Yet he still wins. Even after all that. We conducted the fairest most impartial by-election in the history of Karachi and his party still managed to come out way on top. What does it tell you.
Everyone in Karachi knows what MQM is....they probably know more than the armchair analysts on this forum who probably have never even been to Karachi or if so maybe to the posh areas and the beach. It's a grass root party born out of genuine grievances and not a populist dharna/jalsa/concert fad that has recently become its own parody.
All you need to know about PTI's clueless and arrogant strategy to think that people of Karachi will just flock to their door because of their media fame and fashionably cool reputation is picking a guy from DHA to run for elections in Azizabad area. These two areas could not be further apart in every way, yet, PTI thought all they need to do is put someone on the ballot who can talk the talk on TV shows and people of Azizabad will just forget everything.
I should post the article from Dawn about how on the day of byelection, Imran Ismail was having pizza at the PizzaHut with his entourage and driving around in his Land Cruiser spending time giving non stop interview to media channels while Sattar and others were amongst the voters, going from poling booth to pooling booth, making sure their supporters are coming out to vote for them. It's called organization, commitment and hard work. Bongiyan marne se vote nahi mil jate. MQM is a mafia, but it's a mafia which doesn't take people's intelligence for granted. They do their fair share of work to win the votes.
So yes, Altaf can sing, dance, cry, moan, etc. as really no one cares what he is saying, its what his party is doing on the ground that counts. In that sense, people of Karachi are actually smart and opposite to zinda laashain as they don't get swayed by empty words and half hearted promises. I guess the bhatta khori, theft, murders etc. are not enough to alienate the voters just yet. Maybe they think that all of it is not really MQM's fault or even if some of it is, that's how politics operate in that area.
Whatever it is, MQM has managed to come out of yet another operation looking better, more efficient and united. Operations tend to suit MQM it seems.
The bitter truth. Although I wish it wasn't.What people don't realize is that MQM is the only party in Karachi that actually listened to the problems of the locals and does something for them. People outside of this scope only look at Altaf bhai and his shenanigans, but in the grand scheme of things, it means nothing.
Locals in Punjab are happy with PML-N, because they work for them. Why should Karachites and Punjabis put self-interest over national interest?
Kaptaan's superficial promises, empty slogans, selling himself to the locals by claiming he's half Pathan and half Muhajir is not going to work in Karachi.
People living in Karachi, the locals, have a completely different perception of MQM compared to the people who simply don't have any first-hand experience.
What people don't realize is that MQM is the only party in Karachi that actually listened to the problems of the locals and does something for them. People outside of this scope only look at Altaf bhai and his shenanigans, but in the grand scheme of things, it means nothing.
Locals in Punjab are happy with PML-N, because they work for them. Why should Karachites and Punjabis put self-interest over national interest?
Kaptaan's superficial promises, empty slogans, selling himself to the locals by claiming he's half Pathan and half Muhajir is not going to work in Karachi.
People living in Karachi, the locals, have a completely different perception of MQM compared to the people who simply don't have any first-hand experience.
Of course MQM is far from perfect, but Karachites still chose to vote for them. Why?
Same goes for PML-N and Punjab. If you think they are better alternatives you would opt for them. We thought we had a better alternative in KPK because ANP had lost all support and we saw PTI as the strongest alternative.
There's a reason why PTI won majority in KPK only, because only we were dissatisfied at a micro-level and saw a better alternative.
It's the power of aam admi that counts, not elitist burgers who are not aware of the problems at grass-root levels and nor will their lives change no matter who wins the election.
Of course, who would vote for party whose potential future candidate hits a bongi that "I do not need vote of Karachi , for becoming Prime Minister in Pakistan"..
That one just takes all the accolades.
After that he's lucky, he got 20000 votes.
MQM has also done false promises and given nothing.
Although PTI just stole the show with statements like "Karachi means nothing to him" and "I can be PM without Karachi".
But if we are talking about promises, then nothing has been realized on either front for last 60 years.
Lots of Karachi people are unhappy with MQM too. But they fear the murder and Ghunda Ghardi methods of MQM.
It's always better to be a live chicken then a dead duck.![]()
Isnt NS the PM without any help from the MQM. Its a statement of fact!
It's quite clear that people on this forum are once again missing the point. This by-election has strengthened PTI more than anything else.
NA246 is Nine-Zero. Home of MQM, Their fortress. Expecting PTI to win from here was like expecting them to win against PPP in Garhi Khuda Bakhsh or against PML-N in Gawal Mandi. PTI proved that it is capable of fielding candidates all over the country whereas PPP is limited to Northern Sindh and PML-N is limited to Punjab. I would love to see someone brave enough to stand a candidate against PTI in Peshawar and see how that goes.
PTI's candidate and took 25,000 votes compared to JI's 9000 votes and MQM's 95,000 votes. PTI saw an increase whereas MQM saw a decline in its vote percentage since the 2013 election.
This is how the process works, but I don't expect supporters of certain parties to understand since they only know one way of coming to power. Selling themselves to the highest bidder....ARMY.
[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]
Yes, by selling his name. It's not hard to gain followers when you are a household name already.
If someone like Afridi becomes a politician as well and forms his own party, he too will have million of votes. That doesn't make anyone a good politician and he clearly isn't one. Has no control over what he says and is highly impulsive.
I'm into Altaf bhai, I despise him as much as any sane individual would, but that has nothing to do with Kaptaan's latest chuss. Couldn't stop laughing when he said that.
You dont half write some rubbish- if that was the case then he would have had the votes since the mid 90`s when he started the party. Maybe he wasnt well known in the mid 90`s, afterall he had only won the WC only 4 years earlier and that was kept a secret from the population and they didnt know who he was. You must be one of the dullest doctors out there.
[MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION] [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] : What's wrong with quota system? That land has been a part of Sindh for thousands of years yet they are heavily under-represented in educative institutions and government. Do you also oppose affirmative action in US colleges?
)
Lahore rejects Kaptaan again. PML-N wins 15/20 seats in Lahore Cantonment. If they cannot win Cantonment Board elections, I'm afraid they can't win any.
PML-N's victories in Cantonment Board elections across the country proves that blaming rigging for the 2013 defeat is not on any more.
Yes they could not win NA-246, but what's the excuse for losing in Cantonments?
#BurgerClassRejectsPTI trending on Twitter right now.
This has to be the most ridiculous post ever
Urdu speaking people dont have a history of systematically enslaving Sindhis and then destroying their bloodline and treating them like property.
Also quota system destroys the concept of merit.
Finally. Lot of people in the US oppose affirmative action too
I was asking the question because I am not familiar with ground situation. Ie maybe the quota system is unfair since Sindhis occupy most government position or are over-represented in education institution because of it. Or that the Sindhis who do benefit from quota system are waderas so the common rural Sindhi doesn't benefit from it. But it seems that you (and MQM) oppose the principle of it rather than the execution.
Problem is simply this.
The aim of the quota system was not any feel good reason.
It was simply for vote bank politics
If the people who brought the quota system 40 or so years were really that sincere then at the same time they would have tried to bring improvements in rural Sindh itself
But the biggest reason I am against it is simply the abuse of it. Tbh calling it an abuse is not right because that is really the reason it was brought on. The Sindhis who use the quota system are prolly more privileged and from well off families than the rest of the city. And they live in Karachi too. But when they apply for these jobs/institutions instead of giving their home address in Karachi they register under their family address in interior Sindh. So they get guaranteed spots. So they had the same or usually better advantages than the Urdu speaking people in preparation but get a free pass basicallly. A poor rural Sindhi rarely ever gets to use the quota system. Its usually children of waderas.
Anyways regardless of all that your comparison with affirmative action in the US is lazy because there is no history of slavery and systematic persecution here as it was in the US
That is true for the US also. A lot of privileged black people benefit from it (especially rich elite from Africa). So, if you agree with the principle that there should be more Sindhis in Karachi schools and workforce, what would you replace the quota system with?
Yes, quota system has been on for a long time but, like you said, it mostly benefitted elites who don't care about the poor (hence these problems have not been fixed it). But it probably still benefitted the poor rural than no quota at all. If it is scrapped then there should be a better alternative.
^ Tbh PTI got seats in KPK mostly on the party ticket rather than personality. Khattak inning because of his name was definitely not the general norm. A lot of people went to the assembles for the first time merely because they were runnong on PTI ticket in KPK
The people who won seats in Punjab won mostly because of their name and biradri.
That has been the case generally in KPK which is why PTI won majority, but not in Pervez Khattak's case specifically. He is well-respected figure in his district and someone who does a lot of work for his people.
People were extremely frustrated with the only leftist Pashtun Party in ANP, and the only alternative was PTI and Kaptaan did very well to exploit the Pashtun nationalism, which is our weak point.
I was talking generally as you gave the example of Khattak to say that the voting pattern for him was the norm.
So you are absolutely fine in restricting the progress of the country by rejecting and alienating qualified people for people with little skill or background just because they speak a certain language?
Also quota system will be acceptable the day when it is scrapped
Or if it is introduced in Punjab and KPK and Balochistan aswell
)
Lahore rejects Kaptaan again. PML-N wins 15/20 seats in Lahore Cantonment. If they cannot win Cantonment Board elections, I'm afraid they can't win any.
PML-N's victories in Cantonment Board elections across the country proves that blaming rigging for the 2013 defeat is not on any more.
Yes they could not win NA-246, but what's the excuse for losing in Cantonments?
#BurgerClassRejectsPTI trending on Twitter right now.