Lahore Qalandars need to move on from Brendon McCullum!

McCullum made a mistake by trying to get a run. He played decent. He adapted to the anchor role and made a solid partnership with Agha Salman and it was looking good. But until Agha got out, LQ just fell apart and McCullum trying to get a single with Irshad was a really bad call. But McCullum isn't the only one to blame.

I watched LQ for the first time in this edition and if people blame BAZ for this defeat they should stop watching cricket. Never seen such rubbish batting before. Brendon is playing beautifully with Salman and when the latter got out then a joker after joker came in to bat. Just look for singles and let baz take care of the big hitting. They came in, looked to become heroes playing in the air, one after another. To see international batsmen like Narine and Yasir Play those shots was just painful. Really felt for McCullum today and poor Rana. Crazy batting. The match should never ha gone to a super over in first place.

McCullum looks the only real quality bat they've got. Can't you think of some other cricketer to get rid of?

Lahore basically have only three batsman, and McCullum is two of them. So I do not think they can afford to get rid of him. Nevertheless, the decision not to bowl Narine for the super over probably cost them the match from that point onwards.

Awful innings.
Dropped 2 catches.
Dismissed initially at a very bad time for LQ.
Dismissed in the super over after hitting the ball exactly to where the fielder had been moved to.
Ordinary captaincy decisions.

If he was Pakistani, the knives would be out for him.

Poor captaincy.
He dropped two catches, one was Umar akmals and I get you he would of caught it or threw it in. He batted poorly and gave away his wicket twice. He has been found out and is a liability. Like Gayle he is not able to play on such tracks. Next season he needs to be dropped.

Fakhar Zaman
Lynn
Harris Sohail
Umar Akmal
Hafeez (C)
Ramdin (WK)
Narine
Yasir Shah
Fizz
Another top quality pacer
Another pacer

It’s a lost side right now and they need someone like hafeez to steady the ship. Lahore lacks good pacers and we need some fire power in the pace department. I’d love to see England’s Woakes in the side.

You can't blame a very young number 10 ,playing his first high profile game to do well against an express bowler in such a pressure situation. He neither has the skill or experience for that.
On the other hand McCullum has loads of experience and skill as well, he should have not gone for that single, by taking single he was expecting the newbie to do the needful which was not sensible.

The point is exactly one I am making. Newbie, youngster whatever, these players were selected in the PSL, because they are the newbies that will win you matches, if these players lack the common sense after playing the domestics for so many years, you can't expect them to change even further on.

The team isn't just full of youngsters but experienced campaigners like Yasir Shah and Umar Akmal, that failed to keep a cool when the situation was required.

Sohail Khan, Sohail Akhtar and in the end Salman Irshad.

We need to stop defending all thsese names by calling them 'young'. When you are in the PSL, you are a serious cricketer who has the ability to win you games.

While the world is producing talents like Hardik Pandya and Chris Lynnn that are super cool in run chases, can keep their nerves intact, tailenders win the hitting runs all the time, its what separates a thinking cricketer from a non thinking one.

Salman/Sohail/Khan/Yasir/Akmal all had the chances to be the hero today. But they weren't!

This hasn't just been today but a trend of Pakistani talent failing to deliver on the big stage, batting letting you down. That is a characteristic Pakistani trait or falling apart under pressure.

I'm just surprised you can't see this trait, its been ever present in our International team.

I remember our fans always found justifications for Umar and Sohaib, that oh they are young, they will learn, however they only got worse from there. The point is if its something you never learn in your basics, you never learn to keep cool regardless of the age you are as a player.

So far Mccullam has been a curse. I have a feeling that Fawad Rana will lose patience

LQ management thinks Sohail Akhtar is a better batsman than Aamir yamin when the latter plays for National team. They need stability in middle order and Aamir Yamin can certainly provide that.

Narine is a tuller and can't finish games, opening is the right position for him as he can give LQ flying starts.

LQ's should go with the following batting order:

1- Baz
2- Narine
3- Fakhar
4- Agha
5- Akmal
6- Ramdin
7 -Yamin
8- Sohail Khan
9- Yasir
10- Irshad
11- Fizz

It didn't help that Fakhar was given out first ball for a bowl that pitched outside leg and Mr Mccullum persuaded him not to review.

I fail to understand why waterboy Akmal is undroppable? Will it alienate a certain segment of the Lahore fan base? This fazul batsman doesn't even deserve to be on the bench. He has been getting out to straighter ones from left-armers for a decade now.

It didn't help that Fakhar was given out first ball for a bowl that pitched outside leg and Mr Mccullum persuaded him not to review.

They have Aqib Javed as their bowling coach fgs. He is ruining every bowler out there. Even the foreign ones.

I was hoping for a KK vs LQ final this year... would have been a perfect advertisement for PSL. Pakistan's biggest rivalry in a packed Karachi stadium, but turns out this LQ team is even more lalloo than previously thought.

True. They have gone from bad to worse. Rana sahab needs take some tough calls. His moustache is the only thing making him look like a tough man so far. He has an Akmal and Aqib Javed in one team. Its like a ek taraf kunwa dusri taraf khaayi situation.

3 spinners should be played the pitch is offering something Raza is a class bowler he needs gametime.

Some proposed changes by me for Lahore Qalandars going forward in 2018

Okay so all of this is my opinion and what i think could LQ do to help them win games in PSL. They have been perennial losers in PSL from the very first PSL edition. All of this is based of my opinion which is very much subjective. So please don't start bashing me :P

First I would start with short term changes which are for PSL 3 for the remaining matches. They should rejig their lineup the following way which will give them the best chance to do good. Because it has been clearly seen that there are wrong people for wrong roles at the moment in terms of players. The coaching staff and management is totally another story which would be addressed in long term changes. They badly need an accumulator in the middle order, something no one has been able to do. Yesterday Bazz tried so hard to do that which was against his natural flow and it clearly showed.

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Sunil Narine
3. Anton Devcich
4. Agha Salman
5. Umar Akmal (wk)
6. Brendon McCullum (c)
7. Amir Yamin
8. Bilal Asif
9. Sohail Khan
10. Yasir Shah
11. Mitchell McClenaghan

This looks a pretty solid lineup with 2 accumulators/dashers in Devcich and Agha Salman in the middle order. and Fakhar being back in his normal position. Bazz and Narine to be given an all out attack role which they are very good at. Bazz at no. 6 will also be pretty good as he can do a finisher role as well. Their is batting own till no. 8. Sohail, Yasir, Narine, McClenaghan are 4 proper bowlers guaranteed to give 4 over each. The reamaining 4 overs could shared by Bilal, Amir Yamin, Devcich and Fakhar if needed. There are 3 seamers, 4 spinners which seems to be the best combination on UAE pitches. Plus if they can get Cameron White for Chris Lynn, it could do a pretty good job as an accumulator as well.

Now over to long term.
They definitely need to replace Baz as captain with some local by next edition or 5th edition.
They certainly need to get rid of their coaching staff. Hire better and more professional coaches.
Instead of Aqib Javed, Phil Simmons, Daniel Vettori or Simon Katich or Graham Ford can be good options who are well known for their coaching acumen who will add a lot than Aqib Javed. Kyle Mills can stay as the bowling coach as their bowling has been fine and he has the ability to be a good coach. For fielding coach, just get any good fielding coach from England, South Africa, Australia or NZ. For batting coach, someone like Michael Hussey, Murray Goodwin, or even Mahela Jayawardene is he could be roped in as a Head Coach.
Just get rid of the pseudo Pakistani coaches with no coaching credentials.

And Fawad Rana needs to stay at home and watch matches rather than hyping up his team and being a cheerleader every single game. He could come and watch for a few games, yes sure, but a guy who is there for every single match might be a bit overkill.

The point is exactly one I am making. Newbie, youngster whatever, these players were selected in the PSL, because they are the newbies that will win you matches, if these players lack the common sense after playing the domestics for so many years, you can't expect them to change even further on.

The team isn't just full of youngsters but experienced campaigners like Yasir Shah and Umar Akmal, that failed to keep a cool when the situation was required.

Sohail Khan, Sohail Akhtar and in the end Salman Irshad.

We need to stop defending all thsese names by calling them 'young'. When you are in the PSL, you are a serious cricketer who has the ability to win you games.

While the world is producing talents like Hardik Pandya and Chris Lynnn that are super cool in run chases, can keep their nerves intact, tailenders win the hitting runs all the time, its what separates a thinking cricketer from a non thinking one.

Salman/Sohail/Khan/Yasir/Akmal all had the chances to be the hero today. But they weren't!

This hasn't just been today but a trend of Pakistani talent failing to deliver on the big stage, batting letting you down. That is a characteristic Pakistani trait or falling apart under pressure.

I'm just surprised you can't see this trait, its been ever present in our International team.

This is a pointless quote. No where did i called Umar or Sohaib youngsters :)) You can't compare batting output of a young number 10 against a very experienced opening batsman.
Majority of other guys threw away their wkts , this does not mean that McCullum did not make that mistake. Yes, he made a mistake despite all his experience but it does not make him the chief culprit there. The fact is that Lahore team lacks combination and poise to do well and being a leader, McCullum's lack of imagination and performance here only compounds the problem.

I fail to understand why waterboy Akmal is undroppable? Will it alienate a certain segment of the Lahore fan base? This fazul batsman doesn't even deserve to be on the bench. He has been getting out to straighter ones from left-armers for a decade now.

He is not the only problem. He had an outstanding first PSL but definitely needs to be demoted to a lower income category.

I believe he certainly has a some psychological or mental issue. A toddler has a better sense of survival than him. He fails doing same mistake over and over again.

This is a pointless quote. No where did i called Umar or Sohaib youngsters :)) You can't compare batting output of a young number 10 against a very experienced opening batsman.
Majority of other guys threw away their wkts , this does not mean that McCullum did not make that mistake. Yes, he made a mistake despite all his experience but it does not make him the chief culprit there. The fact is that Lahore team lacks combination and poise to do well and being a leader, McCullum's lack of imagination and performance here only compounds the problem.

Its not nothing to do with the captain, when the players are incompetent.

Pakistan's team is a prime example. All of a sudden the same captain starts looking good in a side that has International level chasers, and batsmen that can steady the ship with a lower order hard hitting batsman. Its not rocket science, we have seen it with Quetta and Islamabad United before, and Multan Sultans recently

The best "advertisement" for PSL would be PZ vs KK.

Since PZ are the reigning champions and one of the few teams that look like a decent T20 team at the moment.

KK for obvious reasons.

The best "advertisement" for PSL would be PZ vs KK.

Since PZ are the reigning champions and one of the few teams that look like a decent T20 team at the moment.

KK for obvious reasons.

KK could only do well if their foreign players agree to travel to Pakistan. We all know that the PZ players are ready to travel to Pakistan thus they have have a huge advantage over others.

KK's foreign players have already committed to going to Pakistan.

Will you be playing in the Karachi Kings team if they make it to the later stages of the PSL in Pakistan?

Tymal Mills:
With the final in Karachi, if we were able to get to that stage then it will be an amazing experience for me to play in that city. Hopefully, we will see that happen. We at Karachi Kings have all agreed that as things stand now, we will be travelling to Pakistan to not only play in the final in Karachi but also to take part in the eliminator in Lahore if we qualify for that stage of the tournament.

The squad selection was insane. They literally picked 4 specialist bats in a squad of 20 or so. That’s their problem - lack of batting options - rather than McCullum.

They should play Yamin for his batting if nothing else.

He is well past by sell date. He is there mainly for reputation i suppose. Otherwise it will look like a domestic match.

Sad to see our biggest rivals get embarrassed like this day in and day out... matlab koi izzat hi nahi bachi hai.

KK's foreign players have already committed to going to Pakistan.

That certainly gives KK's chances a huge boost. PZ vs KK is a possibility now.

Multan also has a decent chance as Sanga is the only foreign player (excluding Tahir as Lahore is his place of birth) they depend on and he will probably go to Pakistan.

Quetta is the only side fro whom it's looking really bad.

Mccullum is feeling the pressure of the rest of the line up, he knows that lahore have had some very good starts but the middle to late over batsmen have seriously let them down.

He is trying to do too much.

Going for catches that are not his catches is an example of this.

McCullum is pure overrated

Was good at his peak for a couple of years mixed in with flashes of brilliance in between much mediocrity.

I assume that he will give up the captaincy now? He said that some tough decisions will be taken. That got to be the first one.

Next season LQ need a total overhaul, from captain, coach and players.

McCullum has a facade of a selfless guy but behind it all is something different altogether...

Especially when he and Hesson ganged up and tried to get rid of Ross Taylor.

I watched LQ for the first time in this edition and if people blame BAZ for this defeat they should stop watching cricket. Never seen such rubbish batting before. Brendon is playing beautifully with Salman and when the latter got out then a joker after joker came in to bat. Just look for singles and let baz take care of the big hitting. They came in, looked to become heroes playing in the air, one after another. To see international batsmen like Narine and Yasir Play those shots was just painful. Really felt for McCullum today and poor Rana. Crazy batting. The match should never ha gone to a super over in first place.

Mccullum's was the bad innings. Constant wastage of deliveries lead to the required rate increasing. Narine did a good job getting rate down. Baz must be blamed for wasting so many balls and making it close.