"Lakh di laanat tere Kamraan Akhmal.. You should know the history of sikhs before u open ur filthy mouth": Harbhajan Singh

"Only A 'Nalaayak Can...": Harbhajan Singh Launches Fresh Attack At Ex-Pak Star Kamran Akmal​

Former India spinner Harbhajan Singh gave ex-Pakistan wicket-keeper batter Kamran Akmal another stern reply over the racist joke that the latter had made at Sikhs during the India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 match. Akmal's attempt to demean India pacer Arshdeep Singh saw him become a target on social media, with Harbhajan also deciding to teach him a history lesson. Though Kamran later issued an apology, Harbhajan launched another attack at the Pakistani cricketer over his controversial remarks, calling him 'Nalaayak'.

"Kuch bhi ho sakta hai... Dekhein last over karna Arshdeep Singh ne hai. Waise uska rhythm nahi laga. 12 bajj gaye hai (Anything can happen. The last over will be bowled by Arshdeep Singh; he hasn't looked in a great rhythm. And It is already 12)," Akmal had said while laughing with other panellists on the show during the match.

He then issued an apology over the comments, saying: "I deeply regret my recent comments and sincerely apologise to Harbhajan Singh and the Sikh community. My words were inappropriate and disrespectful. I have the utmost respect for Sikhs all over the world and never intended to hurt anyone. I am truly sorry."

In a video shared by ANI, Harbhajan said that only a 'Nalaayak' like Kamran can make such a statement.

"This is a very absurd and childish statement that only a 'Nalaayak' can make. Kamran Akmal should understand that there is no need to say anything about anyone's religion and make fun of it. I would like to ask Kamran Akmal - Do you know the history of Sikhs, who are Sikhs and all the work that Sikhs have done to save your community, your mothers, sisters," Harbhajan said while speaking to ANI.

"Ask this from your ancestors, at 12 o'clock, the Sikhs used to attack Mughals and rescue your mothers and sisters, so stop talking nonsense. It is good that he understood so quickly and apologised but he should never again try to hurt any Sikh or any religion. We respect all religions, whether it is Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism or Christianity...".

What about those 'nalaayak andhbhakhts' who keep calling Sikhs 'Khalistanis'? What about those who were proud of Lawrence Bishnoi and Goldy Brar for killing Sidhu Moosewala and labeled Sidhu a Khalistani as well? Kamran apologized for his offensive comment, but when will those 'nalaayak andhbhakhts' apologize to Sikhs? :inti

Harbajhan is making a fool of himself, not only has he responded to a crass remark with one possibly more crass, he has not been able to let it go even after Akmal has apologised. He would be well advised to shut up before it escalates.

I was looking forward to the pavilion show this time on A sports. Apparently its not on.

Pakistan tv is really a place of extremes, on one hand you had you had a show like The Pavilion, arguably the best during the WC. And now you have this.
Everyone wants a piece of the pie, I searched for Pavilion too not there.
They have one with Shehzad and Imam , almost zero analysis there more rhetoric

Like everywhere else we have polarity but at least we can safely and proudly state that the A sports show is like the gold standard in cricket shows, especially for South Asians due to the language and banter, and of of course the most in depth technical analysis.

On the topic, I think the point was made, and Kami apologized. I will reiterate though that he probably did not have any Ill will towards Sikhism as religion at all. This was more of an ethnic slide; indefensible but less severe.

And someone needs to tell Turban that Sikhs were actually complicit of a massive massacre of Muslims during the partition as well. Some of the negative sentiments Pakistanis have regarding Sikhs comes from those memories. I don't believe in dwelling in the past, but I thought I should mention that one bit Singh is so conveniently ignoring while singing plaudits for his people.

Watch Shehzads 6 min long monologue on Babar.

As for ricebag jokes, I had to google them to know what they were. It's pretty tame and lame.

I'm sure most indians are unaware of it, its just bland sanghi humour and i'm not surprised .. given that they're obsessed with these mythical forced conversions.
The point is that these RSS propagate false theme that Indian Muslims were converted by Mughals by sword , but right now there are No mughals , who is forcing them to remain in Islam ?

The sikhs has been called Khalistani Terrorists also , is Mr Harbhajan deaf to those or is he another coward ?
Should muslims trend all eyes on yemen, before they can ask the world for rafah? Otherwise they should be called cowards?

I saw a clip of the pavilion with Shoaib Malik, Wasim, Waqar dancing to a catchy tune with Misbah still doing tuk tuk when it comes to showing excitement. Just a short clip but very entertaining. These past cricketers had a different vibe.

I was looking forward to the pavilion show this time on A sports. Apparently its not on.

Pakistan tv is really a place of extremes, on one hand you had you had a show like The Pavilion, arguably the best during the WC. And now you have this.
Pavillion has now been rebranded. It’s now called Flick or something like that with a new host (pity though because I really like that guy who hosted it previously)

Which former Indian cricket has referred to Shikhs as Khalistani terrorists?

So , Harbhajan sikh sentiments are overflowing only when a cricketer says something , not when a politician ? His outburst is conditional ?

It is a reasonable condition.

Someone's religion doesn't have a bearing on their ability to bowl.

Pakistanis have spent many years trolling Indians in being veggie weaklings, but now when their Hindu bowlers are faster than ours the focus has moved to Sikhs.

Kamran isn't the first or last person to tell the 12 o clock joke. So he did it in good humour because it is a common joke. Sikh's just need to get over it instead of giving us false history narrative.

I don't, hence why I asked the sikhs on here about their personal experiences.
Plenty of Sikhs who take offense to Sardar jokes. Its all about what your relation to the friend is. Jokes are fine among friends but it needs to filter when it goes in public domain.

Kamran isn't the first or last person to tell the 12 o clock joke. So he did it in good humour because it is a common joke. Sikh's just need to get over it instead of giving us false history narrative.
hmm.. So is the N-word in America and the Islamophobic jokes over the internet. Are you fine to hear that "get over it, instead of giving people historical narrative?"

I am flattered that you think I am the encylopedia around here, but I give on demand answers to the premium subscribers only.

You are a curious mix of the bitter Veer Savarkar and worldly-wise Adi Shankara, so I deferred to you on this. Hope you aren't offended and spend some of your valued time to answer his question.

hmm.. So is the N-word in America and the Islamophobic jokes over the internet. Are you fine to hear that "get over it, instead of giving people historical narrative?"
....but the Sikh's go on and on about how brilliant they are. How they saved the entire India/subcontinent if not the whole world from being butchered by "invaders" when in reality all this is complete hogwash of the highest proportions. It is always wrong to insult any community but it is the Sikh reaction to it that is the problem here. Muslim people even the Hindu's don't tell the world how wonderful they are instead accept the many problems in their communities. Sikh's always try to find a Muslim angle to everything. Look at what the Sikh's are doing in Canada now, why does Harbhajan not talk off that!

Bhai I agree with you on Bhajji's snowflakey behavior but thats no way to justify the implied bigotry from "Kam-akal" akmal.

I would love to agree with you on how overhyped the Sikhs and moreover the Rajputs are in Indian historical myths as warrior races. Literally every invader walked over them in Punjab and thar desert on their quest to Delhi. They saved jack!!

Poor comments. Don't think there was any malicious intent . Or at least Kami must not have thought so. Such things are entrenched in your upbringing/society and this is just a reflection of it.

I think the same. The man has apologised for what he said. Time for us to bury the issue and move on. And Harbhajan should do it as well. It's not like he didn't make any mistakes during his career.

Agreed. He has apologised to be fair.

Some of the comments here show why BJP and Modi did the right thing with CAA.

In a stable country Kamran would receive the Nupur Sharma treatment and never be seen again. In Pakistan we have people working out why Harbajhan is offended and questioning his intentions.

Singhs response was far worse imo . Akmal said something some Sikhs find offensive, off the cuff on live tv .

Sikhs are far too sensitive over this term and for Singh to take to twitter & bring in female Muslims as if without Sikhs they would be wiped from existence is childish , weak and not history .

Singhs response was far worse imo . Akmal said something some Sikhs find offensive, off the cuff on live tv .

Sikhs are far too sensitive over this term and for Singh to take to twitter & bring in female Muslims as if without Sikhs they would be wiped from existence is childish , weak and not history .
Such an idiotic statement by an idiot

As a Muslim I would like to thank the Sikhs for the following:
1 - making Muslims pay discriminatory taxes in there empire.
2 - sentencing Muslims to death on suspicion of cow slaughter.
3 - making the Badshahi mosque a horse stable
4 - plundering Muslim historical sites (tomb of Nur Jahan & Asif Khan) for marble to use in there Golden Temple.
5 - banning Azaan
6 - massacring 10,000 Muslim civilians after the Battle of Samana.

Sikh armies used to save abducted women at midnight in the dark against the Mughals.

This became known as their tactic back then where they get extra strength as a smaller army. It is now used as a derogatory phrase to say Sikhs go "mad" or wild at midnight. Very inappropriate and especially from a cricketer.

This is why Harbhajan is saying they used to save their women from invaders too since Pakistani ancestors also come from the same land.
Mughals were also from this land. 17 of 20 of the Mughal Kings had local blood. So why would Muslim Mughals abduct Muslim women?

Many Pakistani ancestors were not Muslims, many were Hindus that converted later. I believe that’s what he was mentioning.

Sikhs saved lots of Hindus back then.

Many Pakistani ancestors were not Muslims, many were Hindus that converted later. I believe that’s what he was mentioning.

Sikhs saved lots of Hindus back then.
Islam has been in Punjab for 800 years before Sikhism even existed. It was over 1,000 years of Islam in Punjab before Sikhs got political control.

Use some logic, if there were Punjabi Hindus in 1700's who were saved by Sikhs, why the heck would they convert to Islam when Muslims lost all there power? It would make sense to convert from 7th century to 17th century when Muslims were in charge.

They seem delusional. They had an empire for a very short time in Punjab. Like 50 years where they were truly independent, and they had almost no cultural contributions. Same way no one really cares about the 800 years of Muslim empire before Mughals because they did not contribute much.

Mughals are praised because they made massive contribution to our culture, from cuisine, architecture, language, clothing, poetry. No other empire in subcontinent comes close to there impact. This is why Bahadur Shah Zafar was chosen as King for 1857 war, and not some Sikh, or Maratha emperor.

Islam has been in Punjab for 800 years before Sikhism even existed. It was over 1,000 years of Islam in Punjab before Sikhs got political control.

Use some logic, if there were Punjabi Hindus in 1700's who were saved by Sikhs, why the heck would they convert to Islam when Muslims lost all there power? It would make sense to convert from 7th century to 17th century when Muslims were in charge.

You are likely right.

I was simply trying to make sense of his tweet more than asserting historical knowledge. Regardless, the main point remains and that's it is indeed a derogatory phrase towards Sikhs based on their history.

Mughals were invaders. Pakistanis and some Indian muslims can consider them to be of this land but for Hindus or Sikhs or Buddhists or Jains they were and remain invaders.

They seem delusional. They had an empire for a very short time in Punjab. Like 50 years where they were truly independent, and they had almost no cultural contributions. Same way no one really cares about the 800 years of Muslim empire before Mughals because they did not contribute much.

Mughals are praised because they made massive contribution to our culture, from cuisine, architecture, language, clothing, poetry. No other empire in subcontinent comes close to there impact. This is why Bahadur Shah Zafar was chosen as King for 1857 war, and not some Sikh, or Maratha emperor.

What 800 years of Muslim empire in the subcontinent? Muslims were limited to Sindh and didn't have much Territory east of the Indus before the Ghurids captured Delhi in 1192.

Babur captured Delhi in 1526. So not even. 400 year muslim rule in most of India before Mughals.

Who praised Mughals? Mughals were looters who looted the local population to enrich themselves and spent on their luxury. Tried to destroy the indigenous religion and culture.

In 1857, the Sikhs, most of the Rajputana, many Maratha rulers, most of southern India refused to take part because the original rebels had chosen a 80 year old muslim ruler who had little power and wasn't popular.

Its recorded history and accepted by Hindus that when the Sikhs militarized they saved many many Hindus from the hands of the Mughals.

Long before the Sikhs formed an empire, they used guerrilla tactics against Mughals.

As a Muslim I would like to thank the Sikhs for the following:
1 - making Muslims pay discriminatory taxes in there empire.
2 - sentencing Muslims to death on suspicion of cow slaughter.
3 - making the Badshahi mosque a horse stable
4 - plundering Muslim historical sites (tomb of Nur Jahan & Asif Khan) for marble to use in there Golden Temple.
5 - banning Azaan
6 - massacring 10,000 Muslim civilians after the Battle of Samana.

1. Muslims had invaded this land and had been collecting taxes for centuries, including Jaziya and Pilgrimage tax.

2. Sikh empire had banned cow slaughter. Muslims had a problem obeying the law and then cry victim. Its done even now.

3. Muslims had attacked Harmandir Sahib quiet a few times.

4. The less said about Muslim attacks on religious sites of Hindus, Buddhists, Jains and Sikhs, the better. Don't embarass yourself.

5. Muslim rulers regularly persecuted other religions.How many Sikh gurus were killed by Mughals?. Sikhs gave it back.

6. How many non muslims have the Muslims Massacred in the subcontinent? If others start listing out the incidents of muslim massacring innocent civilians, you won't have a place to hide. There is a reason why none of the non Muslims have anything good to say about the muslim invaders. And it isn't limited to India, the Spanish and the Greeks have similar stories to tell, so have the Jews.

1. Muslims had invaded this land and had been collecting taxes for centuries, including Jaziya and Pilgrimage tax.

2. Sikh empire had banned cow slaughter. Muslims had a problem obeying the law and then cry victim. Its done even now.

3. Muslims had attacked Harmandir Sahib quiet a few times.

4. The less said about Muslim attacks on religious sites of Hindus, Buddhists, Jains and Sikhs, the better. Don't embarass yourself.

5. Muslim rulers regularly persecuted other religions.How many Sikh gurus were killed by Mughals?. Sikhs gave it back.

6. How many non muslims have the Muslims Massacred in the subcontinent? If others start listing out the incidents of muslim massacring innocent civilians, you won't have a place to hide. There is a reason why none of the non Muslims have anything good to say about the muslim invaders. And it isn't limited to India, the Spanish and the Greeks have similar stories to tell, so have the Jews.
This thread is about a Indian Sikh cricket player saying Muslims should be thankful to Sikhs. I dont know what Muslims should be thank full to the Sikhs for? The death penalty for cow slaughter in particular seems harsh.

Also i dont remember a Muslim saying Hindus/Sikhs should be grateful to Muslims.

Its recorded history and accepted by Hindus that when the Sikhs militarized they saved many many Hindus from the hands of the Mughals.

Long before the Sikhs formed an empire, they used guerrilla tactics against Mughals.
Yes, that is true. But my comment was that no Muslim was saved from that. Those Hindus who were saved did not convert to Islam. Muslim power was in decline at that point in Punjab

This thread is about a Indian Sikh cricket player saying Muslims should be thankful to Sikhs. I dont know what Muslims should be thank full to the Sikhs for? The death penalty for cow slaughter in particular seems harsh.

Also i dont remember a Muslim saying Hindus/Sikhs should be grateful to Muslims.

What is the penalty for insulting Islam?

What 800 years of Muslim empire in the subcontinent? Muslims were limited to Sindh and didn't have much Territory east of the Indus before the Ghurids captured Delhi in 1192.

Babur captured Delhi in 1526. So not even. 400 year muslim rule in most of India before Mughals.

Who praised Mughals? Mughals were looters who looted the local population to enrich themselves and spent on their luxury. Tried to destroy the indigenous religion and culture.

In 1857, the Sikhs, most of the Rajputana, many Maratha rulers, most of southern India refused to take part because the original rebels had chosen a 80 year old muslim ruler who had little power and wasn't popular.
The 800 years comment was only about Punjab. parts of Punjab (not all) have been ruled by Muslims for 800 years before Sikhism was created.

Also Muslims, and some liberal/moderate Hindus, praise Mughals for there cultural contributions. That does not mean they were saints. Like all Kings at there time they did some bad things.

And they did not do a good job at destroying indigenous culture. There base was UP, which was only 15% Muslim in 1941. However i agree they wanted to enrich themselves and spent money on there luxury. However if most people became a King, or a lord, they would have done the same thing. So you cant blame them for that.

Yes, that is true. But my comment was that no Muslim was saved from that. Those Hindus who were saved did not convert to Islam. Muslim power was in decline at that point in Punjab

Actually Muslims were saved during invasion of the likes of Nadir Shah and Ahmad Shah abdali. These people massacred anyone and everyone.

What is the penalty for insulting Islam?
If some Hindu/Sikh insulted Islam in front of a Muslim King, then sure he would have also got death. And if a Muslim insulted Hinduism/Sikhism in front of a Hindu/Sikh King they also would have gotten death. Thats not the "gotcha" you think it is.

However I dont think any Muslim King has killed someone for animal slaughter.

We are a racist nation, just accept it. We have been saying bad things about bengaliis, pathans, sikhs, black people etc.

If some Hindu/Sikh insulted Islam in front of a Muslim King, then sure he would have also got death. And if a Muslim insulted Hinduism/Sikhism in front of a Hindu/Sikh King they also would have gotten death. Thats not the "gotcha" you think it is.

However I dont think any Muslim King has killed someone for animal slaughter.

Killing a cow isn't animal slaughter to a Hindu or Sikh. Learn to respect the religion of others and the law of the land.

So Muslims should stop eating cows because it offends . Cows are eaten around the world going back years , this is normal behaviour of humans. If you believe an animal is holy , that’s your personal choice but accept it’s not to others .

As long as you don’t direct hate , abuse or attack another faith directly, it really is the religious persons issue it he finds a steak offensive.

Many Hindus eat beef and other meats around Hindus who don’t . But it seems it’s always when people of other faiths do it , it triggers.

Same goes for Harbijan , India doesn’t see his faith as separate to Hinduism
, Sikhs don’t worship idols but he & other Sikhs are mute about this .

So Muslims should stop eating cows because it offends . Cows are eaten around the world going back years , this is normal behaviour of humans. If you believe an animal is holy , that’s your personal choice but accept it’s not to others .

As long as you don’t direct hate , abuse or attack another faith directly, it really is the religious persons issue it he finds a steak offensive.

Many Hindus eat beef and other meats around Hindus who don’t . But it seems it’s always when people of other faiths do it , it triggers.

In most parts of India, cows roam freely and eat trash discarded by residents. And yeah this is real India. :inti

cow-647_050817043542_0.png

Muslims or anyone cannot slaughter cows in many states of India. Its the law and they have to obey. If they don't, they have to face the consequences.

This is a country where Cow is holy for most of the population and its protection was enshrined in the constitution.

Those Muslims who believed eating cow was necessary had a choice in 1947.

What happens in which part of the world is of no concern here, if in India, obey our laws.

Muslims or anyone cannot slaughter cows in many states of India. Its the law and they have to obey. If they don't, they have to face the consequences.

This is a country where Cow is holy for most of the population and its protection was enshrined in the constitution.

Those Muslims who believed eating cow was necessary had a choice in 1947.

What happens in which part of the world is of no concern here, if in India, obey our laws.

You mentioned offence not law . Laws have to be adhered too, but why isn’t this a national law ?

Every Muslim believes it’s allowed to eat , it’s not necessary for any Muslim , understand the difference.

As far as I know Sikhism is totally different religion to hinduism. Sikh is monotheistic while Hinduism is polytheistic.
A few of Sikhs in Pakistan I know have told me they believe in many of the prophets of abrahamic faiths as well.

As far as I know Sikhism is totally different religion to hinduism. Sikh is monotheistic while Hinduism is polytheistic.
A few of Sikhs in Pakistan I know have told me they believe in many of the prophets of abrahamic faiths as well.

It’s not even close yet they are classified as part of Hinduism . Harbajhan maybe isn’t aware.

Sikhs , Muslims & Hindus have picked up practices of each other and integrated into their cultures . It shows they can get along, even though Muslims should be careful of this . Now there is divide brewing between Hindus & the others due rss fanatics.

Eventually the Sikhs will want their own nation .

You mentioned offence not law . Laws have to be adhered too, but why isn’t this a national law ?

Every Muslim believes it’s allowed to eat , it’s not necessary for any Muslim , understand the difference.

This isn't a Muslim country. The country that runs on the beliefs of Muslims isn't India.

Why should there be a national law when states have their laws.

This isn't an argument. There is a law. Follow it.

and India is the biggest exporter of beef . Amy bovine animal should all be sacrid ?

Far too many religious people take offence easily . If people are eating pork near me , it means nothing to me .

India is a big exporter of buffalo meat.

At the very beginning of Sikhism, when it was militarized, it was said that one son from each Hindu family should join it to protect Dharma from Muslims.

A number of Sikh gurus and were murdered by Muslims.

All Sikh Gurus were Hindu Khatris.

This isn't a Muslim country. The country that runs on the beliefs of Muslims isn't India.

Why should there be a national law when states have their laws.

This isn't an argument. There is a law. Follow it.

Acc to modi & rss , who you openly support & defend as a hobby believe its a Hindu state & the animal is like god , a national ban should be introduced?

Mahatma Gandhi asked for cow protection. Article 48 of Indian constitution came way before Modi.

India is a Hindu majority state and Cow is holy to Hindus Sikhs Jains Buddhists etc. Muslims should start obeying laws.

Bhai I agree with you on Bhajji's snowflakey behavior but thats no way to justify the implied bigotry from "Kam-akal" akmal.

I would love to agree with you on how overhyped the Sikhs and moreover the Rajputs are in Indian historical myths as warrior races. Literally every invader walked over them in Punjab and thar desert on their quest to Delhi. They saved jack!!
Thing is Kami is by and large a very illiterate man with no historical understanding of anything. Comments of such fools should be ignored. As for the Sikh's the thing is only they talk themselves up. Hardly any impartial historian especially a western one has ever praised their history or even their Guru's. When these Singh's start telling us Pak's how brilliant they are then show them the facts. Even today most of their holiest sites are in Muslim majority Pakistan. Most Punjabis rejected Sikhism altogether.

Mahatma Gandhi asked for cow protection. Article 48 of Indian constitution came way before Modi.

India is a Hindu majority state and Cow is holy to Hindus Sikhs Jains Buddhists etc. Muslims should start obeying laws.
It is directive principle not a fundamental right. Right to practice religion is fundamental right.

Directive principles form basis of government policies.

And killing cows is religious requirement of Muslims?

Because worship and protection of cows is a religious requirement of Hindus and cow is holy for Sikhs as well.

The courts have upheld the laws banning cow slaughtering.

A sports didnt get hosting rights or license.

But Misbah is doing a show on Ten sports by the name of The Flick. The panel includes Bazid Khan, Misbah and Shoaib Malik.

Poor comment from you.

When someone makes a racist joke about a community, you must speak up without worrying about the intention.

Why? Because it sets the standard, raises awareness, and prevents normalization of that racist/ethnic slur.

Kami may very well be innocent and may not have any hate behind that remark, but letting it go because he has a cute face is not the way to fight against racism.

PS: Harbhajan should have used better language to express his outrage.

Poor comment from you.

When someone makes a racist joke about a community, you must speak up without worrying about the intention.

Why? Because it sets the standard, raises awareness, and prevents normalization of that racist/ethnic slur.

Kami may very well be innocent and may not have any hate behind that remark, but letting it go because he has a cute face is not the way to fight against racism.

PS: Harbhajan should have used better language to express his outrage.

Did I mention anywhere that he should not be called out ?

But Mahatma Gandhi doesn't get the credit for that. :kp :inti

What about when Sikh's go around calling the Muslim's "Mooslay"? That is an equal insult to what Kami said if not more.