Living in Pakistan vs living abroad

Moiza

Tape Ball Captain
I see a lot of PPers from many different places from outside pakistan, I would like to know how is it living outside Pakistan? Pros and cons

I have seen a lot of people now a days desperately looking to get out of this country but I have never had any problem with living in Pakistan. Would you guys living abroad come back if given the chance?

Living in Pakistan is quite the high life if you are spending the money you earn abroad.

No cons living outside Pakistan.

Pros:

Better quality of life e.g. better education and health infrastructure.

Good job and career prospects.

Just and fair societies and governments.

No corruption

Sent from my Lenovo A6000 using Tapatalk

If you have money no better place than Pakistan

I am residing in Malaysia, living here the

Pros

More Growth Opportunities + Better Security (Since I am from Karachi)

Cons

Alien Customs and Traditions, No Authentic Karachi Food Available, Missing Family like Hell, Oriental People All around me :(, I hate my Boss !!!!!! (If that counts as a con)

No cons living outside Pakistan.

Pros:

Better quality of life e.g. better education and health infrastructure.

Good job and career prospects.

Just and fair societies and governments.

No corruption

Do not completely agree with good job and career prospects. Certainly not in Canada atleast.

If you have some properties rented out and a monthly income to pay the bills and run the kitchen, no better place than Pakistan.

Pakistan is a great place to live if you have a good income.

If you have money no better place than Pakistan

Yes, in terms of domestic help available and family and friend support network. But what about the schooling for your children, disease environment, medical facilities, etc.?

Any place is good if you have money. If you are a middle income person then living in pakistan has no benefits.

There are no cons. If there is legal way to move out of Pakistan to western countries then do it. You can always return once you have money to start your own business and use whatever you learned in other countries to make Pakistan a better place. Every Pakistani should live in a foreign country for sometime to experience something new. It makes you more open minded and accepting of other people.

One thing is, don't think that if you live abroad, you're suddenly gonna be rich. Every time we visit Pakistan everyone is like "wah yeh to Canada say aray hai" meaning everyone will think you're very wealthy although that's not always true.

Sent from my BLU LIFE ONE X using Tapatalk

I see a lot of PPers from many different places from outside pakistan, I would like to know how is it living outside Pakistan? Pros and cons

I have seen a lot of people now a days desperately looking to get out of this country but I have never had any problem with living in Pakistan. Would you guys living abroad come back if given the chance?

I would move to Pakistan if my family was on board. Unfortunately, that's not the case.

One thing is, don't think that if you live abroad, you're suddenly gonna be rich. Every time we visit Pakistan everyone is like "wah yeh to Canada say aray hai" meaning everyone will think you're very wealthy although that's not always true.

^^happens to my mamo every time he comes back. Even the relatives who never bothered with him show up :inti

How is Canada for living? That's the only place I'd go if Im ever forced to leave Pakistan. Soo much sakoon, and I have heard canadian are very nice too. I have family living in canada but they live in a pakistani community, they say it seems like living in pakistan, I dont if its a non acceptance thing or all the pakistanis prefer it that way.

Leave.

We are privileged ones, only 2% who post on internet forums.

IQ levels are very low in subcontinent, fake nationalism is on all time high

People are ignorant, just cringe on Facebook posts like 'Hit like if you are true Hindu/Muslim/Sikh'

There is povery all around, which leads to crime

People are desperate to go to countries like Cyprus, Greece, Bahrain etc via illegal means. Here we contemplate to move or not to move to Canada, Australia. Just move.

You get third world treatment by multinational companies in subcontinent, Suzuki and Honda sell 1980s antique motorcycles in Pakistan, car scene is laughable. SL and Bangladesh import second hand Japanese vehicles. Same with any other company for example Apple products.

Basic thing like internet is in shambles.

Do not be selfish and must consider future of your kids. These subcontinent countries are ticking population time bombs.

Safety, not crime related. But safety on roads, how roads are managed, do people follow traffic rules? Do apartments, buildings, workplaces follow internation safety norms? You cannot expect any safety in narrow gullies.

Hygiene

List is endless, there are no cons only pros.

Living in England is way better than living in Pakistan. If you want to live in Pakistan, you have to be extremely rich and even then you would have to deal with corruption, poor driving, pollution and threat of terrorism. I'm very thankful that I live in England. For me there is no better place.

^^happens to my mamo every time he comes back. Even the relatives who never bothered with him show up :inti

How is Canada for living? That's the only place I'd go if Im ever forced to leave Pakistan. Soo much sakoon, and I have heard canadian are very nice too. I have family living in canada but they live in a pakistani community, they say it seems like living in pakistan, I dont if its a non acceptance thing or all the pakistanis prefer it that way.
Life is very good here. The government is very helping. It's good for any level of wealth.

I wouldn't call our family rich. We are middle class and we are living a nice life. No racism for the most part. Have faced an odd comment or 2 in all my school years but as a whole the community is very accepting.

The government is very supportive. They won't let you die of poor Ness is you lose your job or something. There is a lot of ways the government help you. Thankfully the old prime minister Stephen Harper is out and Justin Trudeau is in. He's already made positive steps in less than a year and he is a man of class!

Education is obviously good. Some very good universities in and around Toronto (where I live)

Leave.

We are privileged ones, only 2% who post on internet forums.

IQ levels are very low in subcontinent, fake nationalism is on all time high

People are ignorant, just cringe on Facebook posts like 'Hit like if you are true Hindu/Muslim/Sikh'

There is povery all around, which leads to crime

People are desperate to go to countries like Cyprus, Greece, Bahrain etc via illegal means. Here we contemplate to move or not to move to Canada, Australia. Just move.

You get third world treatment by multinational companies in subcontinent, Suzuki and Honda sell 1980s antique motorcycles in Pakistan, car scene is laughable. SL and Bangladesh import second hand Japanese vehicles. Same with any other company for example Apple products.

Basic thing like internet is in shambles.

Do not be selfish and must consider future of your kids. These subcontinent countries are ticking population time bombs.

Safety, not crime related. But safety on roads, how roads are managed, do people follow traffic rules? Do apartments, buildings, workplaces follow internation safety norms? You cannot expect any safety in narrow gullies.

Hygiene

List is endless, there are no cons only pros.

Harsh but true words,not to forget law of and for the rich in SC!

life must be tough with that blu phone ;) just kidding bro.

:)):))

It was my choice. Not a big fan of spending money:inti

Honestly though, before I had an Ipod touch and anything is an upgrade over that. This phone is pretty sick! 2GB ram 5.2 inch running android, unlocked for $200!

First phone, will get something better in a year or 2!

:)):))

It was my choice. Not a big fan of spending money:inti

Honestly though, before I had an Ipod touch and anything is an upgrade over that. This phone is pretty sick! 2GB ram 5.2 inch running android, unlocked for $200!

First phone, will get something better in a year or 2!

Should have have gotten one plus x, anyways you are just 14. My first ever phone was 6600 Nokia when I was in grade 8.

Would you rather be middle-class in USA or upper-class in Pakistan?

middle income in USA to be quite honest. Excellent infrastructure, good education for the kids, good weather, quality food, regular power, security, good cheap cars, phones, laptops. These are things which middle income Americans take for granted.

For me, the U.S is an unsafe place where at anytime, a policeman can appear and gun you down for no apparent reason and get away with it.

The U.S police force is the worst force in the world.At least, Pakistani police does not gun you down for no reason.

Pakistan needs to sort out its law and order situation, where the same law applies for all citizens regardless of status, ethnicity, politics, etc... Curbing corruption, terrorism, and crime will solve 70% of the problems.

Next, there needs opportunities, whether its jobs or education.

Solve these problems and I don't think too many people will want to leave.

Who wants to leave their family, their country of birth, a country which shares a beautiful culture and language for no reason?

I think in the next 10-15 years we're going to see the tide change as the world becomes more asia-centric and the western economic woes continue.

I made this thread to get a general overview of what people on PP think. I myself havent gone abroad once but what I have seen of my uncle and aunt who live in canada and us is that even though they have every facility one would want from their life they still lack the things such as being close to family, celebrating occasions such as eid etc. Moreover the foreign way of life, from my perspective, is very robotic, you go to work, you come back, repeat till death. At least over here you can enjoy the little things in life. Being among your people is enough reason to not leave pakistan. I dont know about others but I would prefer these things over life abroad, maybe I will think differently once I actually go abroad but for now Im very firm on this view. You are going to live 60 good years of life, rather spend them enjoying than safe? :P

It's also priorities

Some people enjoy security, good facilities, technologically advanced society and freedom which west offers

If you have Rich relatives - Pakistan

Better weather, bigger houses and cheaper maids
You can also jump queues and there's also curry houses everywhere
You are treated in army hospitals and army schools train your kids

Ive lived on both sides and its just some food youre missing out on, but thankfully my mother is an excellent chef.

Living abroad has far too many perks. As long as the place has minimal racism, good job market, then its fine.

It's also priorities
I
Some people enjoy security, good facilities, technologically advanced society and freedom which west offers

Yes exactly. Mostly the older people (parents) prefer relations over the facilities that west offers but the kids , especially the ones who grow up there would never come back to Pakistan.

The biggest objection I have against leaving Pakistan is that this country offered you everything and when you became educated enough you left the country. We like to blame leaders of Pakistan for this sorry state whereas the most educated people are sitting outside the country. It's a downward spiral if good people keep leaving. This is what the young me thinks :p

Living in Pakistan is living in constant paranoia and fear. Paranoia that everyone you deal with on a daily basis is out to defraud you somehow.

Bureaucracy is full of corruption and nepotism. Just look at LDA as one of the prime examples of one of the worst corrupt institutions ordinary people have to deal with.

I would only recommend living there if you're rich. Pakistan is not suitable for the middle class or lower middle class. Bubble societies like defense or Bahria are like different countries altogether.

I myself havent gone abroad once but what I have seen of my uncle and aunt who live in canada and us is that even though they have every facility one would want from their life they still lack the things such as being close to family, celebrating occasions such as eid etc. Moreover the foreign way of life, from my perspective, is very robotic, you go to work, you come back, repeat till death. At least over here you can enjoy the little things in life. Being among your people is enough reason to not leave pakistan. I dont know about others but I would prefer these things over life abroad.

I am very spiritual not religious and I abhor desi culture of 'Chugali', trust only Allah and your parents, not even your siblings after you get married. Attachment leads to suffering, do not get dependant on your relatives or people whom you consider 'your people'. I have lived in a desi joint family, I know what I am talking about.

Different people have different nature, some people are more reserved and want personal space, so they prefer West.

Desi's in West are more active physically, they prolong their life. There is less milawat (adulteration) in food items.

You post and views scream laziness, you don't want to get out of your comfort zone. Go man, explore the beautiful world.

I grew up in Karachi; lived about 12-14 years there; I am nostalgic about the city but the lack of security was much too rampant by the time I left. Ofcourse I am speaking from anecdotal experience and many other Karachiites may have different experiences.

I am fairly comfortable in the US now; and I see some comments above commenting on the lack of security in the US; with policemen shooting innocent people and inter-racial violence, that may be true but it has never really invaded the confines of my life or my family's. Ofcourse that doesnt mean it does not happen, but it's not a fear that I have had to live with.
In Karachi, I got used to giving up my cell phone at gunpoint as a part of life in the city; trying to drive faster if I see a motorbike in the rearview mirror late night coming back from a wedding; those fears were real and pervasive.

Living in the US has it's problems but if having to pick one or the other, the choice is pretty clear (for me).

One can argue the opposite is true. Life in Pakistan is suffocating and miserable in many ways. Most Pakistani feel that way struggling for basis necessities of life and future of kids.

There is very little trust among communities, women has no right, poor have no life, child labor is shockingly high(probably 1/3 third, it's a new form of slavery, poor sell their kids to middle class, rest are abused and rot on local labor market), people are desensitized by those child labor brutality. People take pride is cheap labor of Pakistan and don't like the DYI culture of west. I rather want to live in society which respect human more than the one who doesn't. I personally don't like this feudal culture of exploiting poor labor. People don't realize because of that country never develops, if half of your child force is doing labor rather than studying, next generation will be poor too, country is like team work, everybody has to develop not just selected few. Otherwise its lowest common denominator becomes the life style [emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

There is lot of brain drain from Pakistan, not just liberal(for whom it is pretty mush must to leave Pakistan) but even guys in the middle are also leaving too, mainly be used there is no free thinking culture which is engine of growth in west. Without liberals you cannot build a dynamic society or culture, liberals are draining out very fast from Muslim culture that is one of their biggest cultural problem. West thrive on liberals, you will be shocked to see most scholars, scientist, artist, thinkers are mostly liberal and free thinkers. If west kick them out, nothing will be left here too.

What you are referring to as bad part of west, you have to do work, is sort of necessary evil. As Spidy says power comes with responsibility. West quality of life is not free either, it comes with lot of hard work. That's does not mean people don't enjoy life, here people have better experiences, luxuries and life style too. They experience and explore more in one life than we do in general. Although it's subjective but quality of life here is better that's why more people want to live here than there [emoji41][emoji41][emoji41]

Other than emotional attachment and nostalgic value, leaving your home is never a big deal. When you travel away, there are hindrances like new language, new culture to adjust to, and a new outlook on life but overall human beings are designed to adapt, evolve, and learn new things.

That said, there are plenty of troubles in the new world order countries that no one has highlighted. The increasing undercurrent of hate (yes, hate - not dislike) is growing at all times. The Nazi communities even though hidden from the mainstream view are more active than ever. Right wing ideologists are gathering more support and at a faster rate than ever.

It's always great to expand your horizons when you move out of your initial little world and head towards newer pastures. The grass may not be as green as it appears from the distance, but it's still way more greener than say it is in Pakistan and Bangladesh. Can't say about India - Modi ji makes me see India as the next big thing and an economic super power with no issues and I'm too naive to look beyond his speeches and visions of great India.

You probably belong from a rich family who doesn't have to worry about tuition fee and daily expenses in a forgein country.

Not that rich. And isnt that what Slog said that if you are rich then there is no better place than Pakistan?

If you're studying in UK, the expenditure is around 30 lacs a year and more. This is not affordable at all for many Pakistanis.

Yea it's a personal choice

I feel if you have 10 marla house in Islamabad and earning over 2 lacs then it's a luxury life imo. It all depends on your situation.

Islamabad is a well maintained city and others are a nightmare.

For me, personally, it is no longer tolerable to live in an Islamic state where religion is the be all end all. I actually made the conscious choice to come back to Pakistan after completing my education so I could put it to use helping my country develop but, over the last five years, I have become thoroughly disillusioned with the Islamic Republic, it's culture, the all pervasiveness of religion, the intolerance towards those who don't conform to our 14th century social norms and the stifling of our freedom so I would happily take the hit in standard of living that is an inevitability when someone from a privileged position in Pakistan moves abroad. While the difference in standard of living will be significant, the freedom from religion that a civilized country offers would mean that the quality of life, all things considered, would be higher despite the loss of certain creature comforts and luxuries.

If you're studying in UK, the expenditure is around 30 lacs a year and more. This is not affordable at all for many Pakistanis.

Yea it's a personal choice

I feel if you have 10 marla house in Islamabad and earning over 2 lacs then it's a luxury life imo. It all depends on your situation.

Islamabad is a well maintained city and others are a nightmare.

Islamabad is extremely boring, next to nothing in the way of entertainment. And that's the main difference between the west and Pakistan. In cities like Paris, Vienna, New York, Chicago, Montreal,... there is always something going on whatever your interests are. In Pakistan, it's just the usual malls, local no-talent artists, blockbuster movies at cinemas and eating out at imitiation cuisine by Pakistanis.

People who say Pakistan is better for living have that suburban mindset of have your lawn, big house, get someone doing your house chores and just sit at home doing nothing or do the usual social activities like a dawat, shaadi marna and go to the park with family ever sunday. What you would expect from 40+ uncles, not young people.

Islamabad is extremely boring, next to nothing in the way of entertainment. And that's the main difference between the west and Pakistan. In cities like Paris, Vienna, New York, Chicago, Montreal,... there is always something going on whatever your interests are. In Pakistan, it's just the usual malls, local no-talent artists, blockbuster movies at cinemas and eating out at imitiation cuisine by Pakistanis.

People who say Pakistan is better for living have that suburban mindset of have your lawn, big house, get someone doing your house chores and just sit at home doing nothing or do the usual social activities like a dawat, shaadi marna and go to the park with family ever sunday. What you would expect from 40+ uncles, not young people.

I rather live in my 1 kannal house in Islamabad than in tiny houses of London. Size matters :inzi....I have lived in London for three years for my B.eng, nothing spectacular about it .

Which country now a days takes pakistanis most easily? I remember 5-8 years back canada used to very easily

Immigration to Canada becoming easier! New PM in the office, he's been really good so far and he's eased the immigration.

If you have Rich relatives - Pakistan

Better weather, bigger houses and cheaper maids
You can also jump queues and there's also curry houses everywhere
You are treated in army hospitals and army schools train your kids

How houses in Pakistan are better then in USA? [emoji848][emoji848]

Houses in USA are bigger, better, more clean and centrally air conditions. If you get good money, you can get mansions that does not exist in Pakistan, there is no end to kind of luxury one can have here, just take a look at millions of dollar houses, there is no match to that. That kind of luxury is not possible in place like Pakistan.

Quality of health care is way better here. They treat you very well, quality of care is one of the best in the world. There is so much specialization, in every aspect of health care, rich people from Pakistan come to USA and buy that healthcare with loads of money, just because of health care old folks don't what to go back, the ones who curse USA and west every day of the weak... I am talking from my own experience with certain relatives [emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

BTW: If you have rich relative in USA and Pakistan, which one is better? [emoji79][emoji79][emoji79] its hands down USA

There was a taxi driver in NY, who won 30-40M dollar lottery. He never really enjoyed living in USA. Was adamant to go back to Pakistan, he went with all his money. He was killed within three months in Pakistan. Here 40M is not a big money, in Pakistan from Nawaz, Raheel to Taliban everybody will be after you with that kind of money, but he did not listen and lost both life and money [emoji18][emoji18][emoji18]

One fair way to compare Pakistan Vs west migration is like migration from village to city. I always give this example who have not experienced west but no the difference between village and cities.

In villages you have less tech, less facilities, less resources of modern life(education, variety of food, less things to explore and entertain etc)... But there is sort of clam and comfort of living in more natural world and living close to everything and everybody you know. Life is predicable, changes very little, many people like the pace and calmness of life aka what we call 'sakoon'...

I am from Rawalakot in AJK, we never lived there (we lived in Rawalpindi) but always spend summer throughout our childhood. I loved that place more than any other place in Pakistan. There was so much romanticism in that area in summer. Villages in that part are very different from Punjab or various planes of sub continent. Houses are not attached, rather only one house than your entire land and than somebody's house and so on. That gives you so much sense of freedom living there, close to nature that I really adore, you don't get that sense of clam and freedom in cities. Plus natural mountains and living in clouds during moon soon is another experience very hard to find, we were enjoying all that among everybody you know and who welcome you for most part, was a wonderful memory.

Anyway that's one way to compare west and Pakistan, my father made that decision to not raise his children in village and move to Rawalpindi. Many of his cusion did not made the same move, they had probably better natural life but now there kids are suffering and finding it hard to move to city let alone to west. I made this choice of moving to USA, same way my father did. Professional education was the reason that move was possible back than. Not just but my parents including my Mom and family never regret my move. For me my own and specially kids future Ws and still is most important. Kind of personality I have it's going to be very hard for me to live in Pakistan, although I still will love to have vacation in my village area, maybe I will go someday once I am retire or kids are older to have vacation in Rawalakot area, that is one place I am most nostalgic about in Pakistan. Cities are not that attractive to me, there is nothing special there TBF.

In US, most people don't "own" a house, car or even their furniture. You lose your job or your business, that all goes with it. In Pakistan atleast if you manage to save some $$ you can buy a decent house and rent it out, but I guess even that is getting harder now with the rising cost of housing in major cities like Karachi, ISL, Lahore.

I'm really worried about the future of our generation :(. It just seems like our parents had more options and a less trouble in the world growing up.

I think its a very very subjective topic and everyone will have their own opinions based on their experiences, observations and mindset. So there can't be a conclusion or unanimous decision on this subject.

Life in Pakistan is great only if you have loads of money. That applies pretty much everywhere but life for a common man (middle/working class) is far more comfortable in the developed western countries compared to sub-continent/Pakistan. The reason being, in countries like Pakistan, the rich can afford all the luxuries, can build most beautiful and luxurious homes and mansions, keep an army of servants for doing everything for their lifestyle maintenance, enjoy the vacations & holidays in the west, get latest health facilities from abroad whenever its needed and they can still enjoy the luxurious lifestyle , food, culture and social fabric of their own country by living in it. There is literally no problem for the rich in our country. But then there is this vast majority of working class who don't have the luxury which the rich can afford and for them, there is definately much better life and opporunities aborad (esp in countries like US) to go there and get settled and enjoy the comforts of life.

I have lived in states for 5 years and found it a very good country for all classes to live. But at times I sort of missed the social life and quality time that I used to spent with my family, relatives and friends back in Pakistan. Plus I had this massive advantage to come back and join the family business in Pakistan which I did and i'm pretty satisfied with my decision as its been almost 10-11 years since i made this move. But i think it depends on the individual at the end of the day, what things he/she values and how they look at it. If facilities, governance, systems, infrastructure are the main criteria esp from a middle class perspective, then there is no comparison with the west. But if you value other things like our social fabric and cultural values etc, and can have a decent lifestyle back home then I guess Pakistan would be a prefered choice for many!!

As for security/safety point of view, I don't believe in this thing as there really is no 'safe' place in this world and if you are destined to die at a certain place and time, nothing can stop that no matter how good or safe the country is in general. The issue of racism and hatred should also be looked at when people talk about safety and security issues in Pakistan.

Houses in USA are bigger, better, more clean and centrally air conditions. If you get good money, you can get mansions that does not exist in Pakistan, there is no end to kind of luxury one can have here, just take a look at millions of dollar houses, there is no match to that. That kind of luxury is not possible in place like Pakistan.

Quality of health care is way better here. They treat you very well, quality of care is one of the best in the world. There is so much specialization, in every aspect of health care, rich people from Pakistan come to USA and buy that healthcare with loads of money, just because of health care old folks don't what to go back, the ones who curse USA and west every day of the weak... I am talking from my own experience with certain relatives [emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

BTW: If you have rich relative in USA and Pakistan, which one is better? [emoji79][emoji79][emoji79] its hands down USA

There was a taxi driver in NY, who won 30-40M dollar lottery. He never really enjoyed living in USA. Was adamant to go back to Pakistan, he went with all his money. He was killed within three months in Pakistan. Here 40M is not a big money, in Pakistan from Nawaz, Raheel to Taliban everybody will be after you with that kind of money, but he did not listen and lost both life and money [emoji18][emoji18][emoji18]

I suppose after getting strip searched at the airport for 12 hours and having to work 3 times as hard as non Pakistani colleagues while being called a raghead on the bus it's all worth it in the end

I think its a very very subjective topic and everyone will have their own opinions based on their experiences, observations and mindset. So there can't be a conclusion or unanimous decision on this subject.

Life in Pakistan is great only if you have loads of money. That applies pretty much everywhere but life for a common man (middle/working class) is far more comfortable in the developed western countries compared to sub-continent/Pakistan. The reason being, in countries like Pakistan, the rich can afford all the luxuries, can build most beautiful and luxurious homes and mansions, keep an army of servants for doing everything for their lifestyle maintenance, enjoy the vacations & holidays in the west, get latest health facilities from abroad whenever its needed and they can still enjoy the luxurious lifestyle , food, culture and social fabric of their own country by living in it. There is literally no problem for the rich in our country. But then there is this vast majority of working class who don't have the luxury which the rich can afford and for them, there is definately much better life and opporunities aborad (esp in countries like US) to go there and get settled and enjoy the comforts of life.

I have lived in states for 5 years and found it a very good country for all classes to live. But at times I sort of missed the social life and quality time that I used to spent with my family, relatives and friends back in Pakistan. Plus I had this massive advantage to come back and join the family business in Pakistan which I did and i'm pretty satisfied with my decision as its been almost 10-11 years since i made this move. But i think it depends on the individual at the end of the day, what things he/she values and how they look at it. If facilities, governance, systems, infrastructure are the main criteria esp from a middle class perspective, then there is no comparison with the west. But if you value other things like our social fabric and cultural values etc, and can have a decent lifestyle back home then I guess Pakistan would be a prefered choice for many!!
A very bold decision to move back to Pakistan after living in the U.S. This is unimaginable for 99.9% of the people living in the west or in the far east.

UK is the place where I wanna live as long as possible, otherwise, Pakistan is my country and I have no problem living here...

Would you guys living abroad come back if given the chance? - See more at: http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...akistan-vs-living-abroad#sthash.MpSXeiMK.dpuf

Well, nowadays people would like to go wherever they think they are financially stable.

Life is very good here. The government is very helping. It's good for any level of wealth.

I wouldn't call our family rich. We are middle class and we are living a nice life. No racism for the most part. Have faced an odd comment or 2 in all my school years but as a whole the community is very accepting.

The government is very supportive. They won't let you die of poor Ness is you lose your job or something. There is a lot of ways the government help you. Thankfully the old prime minister Stephen Harper is out and Justin Trudeau is in. He's already made positive steps in less than a year and he is a man of class!

Education is obviously good. Some very good universities in and around Toronto (where I live)

Life in Canada is great for people
1. Who don't want to work and pretend they can't find a job: (Government will take care of you will give you house to stay and money)
2. People who just want to make babies because government pay money for each child.
3. People who work for cash meaning under the table and don't show your income to the government.

For average person with self esteem, life is Canada is OK
1. If you earn above 60K/yr salary then 27% of your income will be taken away from you as income tax. And will be given to people mentioned above.
2. If you own a house about 30-40% of your net income will be go towards mortgage. (meaning lets say your gross income is 6000/month after taxes your net income will be 4500) out of 4500 your mortgage and property tax will be around $2500 or more.
3. If you decide to upgrade yourself and decided to go back to school. Make your you have cash cus government will not give you funds because you are earning above poverty line.
4. If you are a practicing Muslim (conservative or semi conservative) then you will be afraid of sending your kids to public schools because of the mahol. This means spending 200 - 300/month/child education for sending them so called islamic schools where kids most of the time will only learn how to read/memorize Quran.
5. If you decide to send your kids to public school it has its own cons such as Canadian school will teach some things to your child that you may not agree such awareness of homesexuality, and sex at age of 6. In highschool technically kids are allowed to go and as for condom to practice safe sex and school authorities by law are not allowed to disclose this information to parents nor they are allowed to disclose your child sexuality if they are homosexual or hetrosexual. Your kid specially girls will have a hard time adjusting to the environment in school and will question you why they can't wear shorts, skirts and tight cloths when other kids in their school can. Why they can't play certain sports. All in All kids will have a huge identity crisis. (this may not apply to many families but some will experience this identity crisis issue). As far I have seen many families dealing with this issue but too ashamed to discuss it openly.
6. Drugs and Alcohol is another big issue in Canadian schools, and now thanks to "Mr Treaudu" for legalizing marijuana. This problem will increase in schools.
7. Canadian weather sucks majority of the cities in Canada have long winter about 8 to 9 months. Making it harder for kids to go out play. This means they have to take some extra curricular activity classes such as join the gym, martial arts, yoga or zumba classes adding another $50-$100/month of karcha or stay at home on their iPADs.
8. If both parents work in Canada it's worst because Government will charge more taxes as you will be in a higher household income bracket (taxes can go upto 35% or more). Also child care will cost you another $1500/month. So you are better off with single house hold income.

In the End. On paper you will be reach but in reality you take home will be the same as the people mentioned above.
---
I have lived in North America for over 25 years now I left Pakistan when I was 16 I practically grew up North America. Now I am in my 40s and I am thinking to go back to Pakistan. I don't know if it will be right or wrong decision but at least I have to try for the sake of my family.

I will really appreciate if someone from Pakistan can reply to my post. I would really like to get a feed back, specially from people in Karachi, Multan, Lahore or Islamabad/Rawalpindi

Oh one thing I would like to add. Majority of the people in Canada are not rich they have couple of thousands left in their savings account rest of their money is tided up in Mortgage or Business. Where as I notice average middle class in Pakistan is rich they own a paid of house which is worth 2 core that is equal to 150K canadian at least. I have know many middle class families in Pakistan they own a house that is worth 10core in F.B Area in Karachi. It means they are millionaires in Canada.

Can you share the news story on this Pakistani taxi driver? I searched all over and couldn't find any links and surely it both events (winning and murder) would have been big news...

Did you just make it up as part of a point?

One can argue the opposite is true. Life in Pakistan is suffocating and miserable in many ways. Most Pakistani feel that way struggling for basis necessities of life and future of kids.

Life in UK is no easy life either many people are working hand to mouth (middle class workers) just to pay off debt.

The quality of life in the UK is a myth mostly.

Like with any place, if you have the money then it's great, if not then it's a struggle.

Life in UK is no easy life either many people are working hand to mouth (middle class workers) just to pay off debt.

The quality of life in the UK is a myth mostly.

Like with any place, if you have the money then it's great, if not then it's a struggle.

Sure, so many people just get stuck in the system. They work to live until they retire and then you're too old to do anything.

In the UK you have opportunity no matter who you are, some more than others but you can change your families future. In Pakistan if you're born poor chances are you will remain poor and your future generations will be poor as your ancestors were.

I would like to live in both nations in the future, summer in England and winter in Pakistan.

Interesting how the question and discussion is framed as "Pakistan versus outside Pakistan". Surely it makes a massive difference where outside (and indeed, where inside) Pakistan you are living?

Can you share the news story on this Pakistani taxi driver? I searched all over and couldn't find any links and surely it both events (winning and murder) would have been big news...

Did you just make it up as part of a point?

I've heard of a similar story but the cab driver was murdered by his wife in New York.

Moved to USA last year for a really lucrative job at probably the best petroleum engineering company.

Pros:

-- Good income, great career prospects worldwide.

-- Very high standard of living

Cons:

-- Homesickness. Moreso for my wife...

-- You never really blend in the society, always a pariah.

In short: if I had the same job (even at half this salary), I would have never left my beloved Pakistan.

Moved to USA last year for a really lucrative job at probably the best petroleum engineering company.

Pros:

Cons:

In short: if I had the same job (even at half this salary), I would have never left my beloved Pakistan.

You'll get over it no time. Everybody takes time to acclimate to a different country.

Pros:

Cons:

You'll get over it no time
. Everybody takes time to acclimate to a different country.
I'm sure the "very high income" and the "Very high standard of living" will go a long way towards easing the pain of homesickness.

On a side note: Think of the earlier generations who moved to, say, the UK in the '50's and '60's to work in factories, leaving their families (Including wives and children) behind and not seeing them, or speaking to them, for many years 'cause of no phones (especially in small towns and villages), and letters taking up to a month to arrive. Contrast that with modern communications, including skype/whatsapp etc videocalling, in the remotest of locations. My heart truly bleeds.

Money doesn't make it safer for you there and money there can't buy you clean air and nice roads.

What kind of Pakistan you thinking about? If you have money you’d live in a safe place with nice roads like DHA, Bahria Town etc

Ideally, I would love to live in Pakistan as it's my home country. Realistically though, it's impossible as the safety situation and education are 2 of the biggest factors that will come in the way of moving back.

I might be drunk but after India, Pakistan will always be my choice to live the people I get along with.