'Look at their clothes they can be identified by their clothes': Modi targets Muslim Protestors

Mian

Dumka (Jharkhand): While students protesting the Citizenship (Amendment) Act in Jamia Milia Islamia and Aligarh Muslim University had to bear the brunt of police violence on Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi decided it was the right time to ignite communal sentiments and suggest only Muslims were protesting the new law.

Speaking at a Bharatiya Janata Party rally in Dumka, Jharkhand ahead of the upcoming polls, Modi said that those who were protesting violenlty against the new Act could be recognised by their clothes. The Congress and its allies, he added, were adding fuel to this fire.

“Yeh Congresswale aur uske saathi… halla macha rahe hain, toofaan khara kar rahe hain. Aur unki baat chalti nahin hai to aag janee phaila rahe hain. Jo aag laga rahe hain, TV pe unke jo drishya aa rahe hain, yeh aag lagaane vaale kaun hain, woh unke kapdon se hi pata chal jaata hai (The Congress and its allies are making a noise, creating a storm. And if that doesn’t work, they are spreading a fire… From the visuals on TV, those setting the fire can be identified by their clothes),” Modi said.

On cue, BJP-friendly media and BJP social media handles quickly amplified the ‘Muslim’ and ‘anti-Hindu’ aspect of the protest, including through the circulation of fake or misleading videos.

While the Muslim community across India is apprehensive about the new law and has been taking part in peaceful protests in many states, the greatest unrest since the citizenship amendment was first approved by the Lok Sabha has been in Assam, where it is not led by “Muslims”.

While Modi has made oblique remarks against Muslims in recent years – most notably during the 2019 Lok Sabha election campaign when he described Wayanad, the seat Rahul Gandhi chose to fight from, as one where ‘the minority is the majority’ – his Dumka statement is arguably his most direct act of finger-pointing against the community. The Guardian’s Randeep Ramesh described it as a “blaring foghorn” rather than a dog whistle:

After the Jamshedpur East constituency, from where chief minister Raghubar Das is contesting, Dumka is the biggest hot seat in upcoming assembly elections. The Congress-Jharkhand Mukti Manch-Rashtriya Janata Dal alliance’s chief ministerial candidate, Hemant Soren, is contesting from here.

Dumka was traditionally a JMM bastion, but had been wrested away by the BJP in the last assembly elections and is currently represented by Louis Marandi. The region is the centre of Adivasi politics in the Santhal Pargana, and people here continue to respect JMM patriarch Shibu Soren. In this election, apart from a bulk tribal vote, the minority Muslim vote is expected to go to the JMM.

The JMM accused the prime minister of inciting communal tensions ahead of the elections.

“The prime minister wants to create communal tensions between the tribal and non-tribal voters on the one hand and the minority Muslim population on the other. It does not suit the position of a prime minister,” said Supriyo Bhattacharya, JMM general secretary. “Why is he not speaking about growing unemployment? Why is he not speaking of the closing industries and business, the growing job loss? Why is he not speaking of the lynchings in the state?”

The JMM leader said the BJP is afraid of the coalition’s strong position in the Santhal Pargana. Since he is not able to counter with anything concrete, Bhattacharya said, Modi is using his old tactic of communal divisions.

Hemant Soren is contesting from two seats. The other is Barheit, from where he is the sitting MLA. Modi will be addressing another election rally on December 17 in Barheit, carefully chosen by the state BJP to gather support against Hemant.

The venue for Modi’s rally was barely two km away from Shibu and Hemant Soren’s residence. While the state BJP managed to bring a huge crowd, largely Adivasis and the poor, most motorcycle-born Modi supporters stopped at Soren’s gate to shout slogans like ‘Bharat Mata ki jai‘ and ‘Narendra Modi jindavad‘. Hemant, incidentally, was out campaigning in Barheit. JMM supporters, too, took out motorcycle rallies in the city, while Modi criticised the coalition in his speech.

Traditionally, Adivasi tribes have been with the JMM. The minority Muslim community has supported either the Congress or the JMM. Now, with the coalition in place, the entire minority Muslim community stands with the JMM. A good chunk of the non-tribal vote too appears to be concentrated with the JMM this time. But as Modi well knows, even though there is no history of communal riots between the tribes and Muslims, communally divisive statements do play their polarising role during elections.

Muslims in Dumka appeared lukewarm about Modi’s rally in their city. Several had gone to the venue just to take a look at the gathering.

“It is disappointing. We thought the prime minister would address the situations of the people,” said Afroz Alam, a voter who went to the rally to listen to Modi.

Dumka and other constituencies in the Santhal Pargana will vote in the last phase of the Jharkhand elections, on December 20. In the last two years, chief minister Raghubar Das has been holding numerous programmes in the region, giving the call for a ‘JMM-mukt Jharkhand’. But given Modi’s polarising and incendiary comment, it appears the BJP is not confident of having built a path into this JMM stronghold.

https://thewire.in/communalism/narendra-modi-citizenship-amendment-act-protests-clothes

Too thick in the head for even playing good cop (Modi) - bad cop (Amit Shah).

The whole BJP khandaan screams low IQ at every turn and corner.

Its not about his IQ, it certainly isn't. Someone sitting in that high a position, is passing blatantly communal comments over a particular religion, though not for the time though, won't be the last time either, if people keep on giving him the benefit of doubt.

He is referring to this photo I guess. Because we can’t see the religion from the dress of other protesters.

1B40D8A7-7CBB-4142-887B-93A36C05A71E.jpg

It’s not surprising, it’s expected from the current PM of India.

The Prime Minister of the self-acclaimed secular democracy is openly targetting protestors who belong to a minority by using their religion as a tool against them.

Unfortunately, some people will have to defend this as well. I am actually surprised Modi hasn't blamed Pakistan for this yet.

The Prime Minister of the self-acclaimed secular democracy is openly targetting protestors who belong to a minority by using their religion as a tool against them.

Unfortunately, some people will have to defend this as well. I am actually surprised Modi hasn't blamed Pakistan for this yet.

Half knowledge is not good. Obviously, the other side of the coin will never be posted here. The fact is, muslim protestors in my state of Bengal is doing damage to public property in the name of protests. Stones are pelted, windows are being broken and other reports of violence. There is a difference between protest and vandalism.

CAB bill is passed with majority in both houses and president had signed on it. No amount of crying & whinning will help. It didnt helo during Article 370...neither will it help now. Yes, people can protest but if they start hooliganism, police will deal accordingly. This is no Kashmir...its main stream India.

I also know who and which political party is fuelling fire in this entire saga. Only thing is, it would still not get them votes. I thought 23rd May may have taught few people some lessons but they simply refuse to learn.

I see India and all I see is a living example of all I read about Nazi Germany. It is a sad state for the world I hope Indian people realize this path with Pakistan as the neighbour they will end up in a very bad situation far quicker than Nazi Germany did.

These kinds of policies will result in massive unrest in the country and this divide will not be good for India.

I see India and all I see is a living example of all I read about Nazi Germany. It is a sad state for the world I hope Indian people realize this path with Pakistan as the neighbour they will end up in a very bad situation far quicker than Nazi Germany did.

These kinds of policies will result in massive unrest in the country and this divide will not be good for India.

Looks like IK wasn't wrong when he regularly started this Nazi-RSS comparison a year ago.

We'll do whatever that is in the best interests of our nation. Doesn't matter if our neighbour is Pakistan or Kazakhstan.

True. First Kashmir, then North east and now in Delhi. Slowly they will come to everyone’s house.

Poor remark by Modi.

Its known to everyone that these protests are by a section of muslims, egged on by political parties. He should not have made this comment.

The CAA is here to stay. Unless the Supreme court strikes it down or another govt repeals the act.

The opposition has made sure that non muslims polarise towards bjp.

Half knowledge is not good. Obviously, the other side of the coin will never be posted here. The fact is, muslim protestors in my state of Bengal is doing damage to public property in the name of protests. Stones are pelted, windows are being broken and other reports of violence. There is a difference between protest and vandalism.

CAB bill is passed with majority in both houses and president had signed on it. No amount of crying & whinning will help. It didnt helo during Article 370...neither will it help now. Yes, people can protest but if they start hooliganism, police will deal accordingly. This is no Kashmir...its main stream India.

I also know who and which political party is fuelling fire in this entire saga. Only thing is, it would still not get them votes. I thought 23rd May may have taught few people some lessons but they simply refuse to learn.

The fact of the matter is that such protests happen often in both Pakistan and India.
The same thing happened in Lahore in 2014, when policemen opened fire on stone pelters during some protests. At least 14 people were killed and most of the Pakistanis criticised and called out the Pakistani government of that time.

The same thing is now happening in India. The difference is, that some people are actually defending Modi's statements here instead of criticising him.
Stone pelting or vandalism is not good in any case, but it doesn't give Modi or anyone else the permission to target a specific group of people by using their religion. He could have said anything against any political party, but to target protestors in the name of religion is a new low, even for Modi's standards.

He should remember that he is not the CM of Gujarat anymore, but the Head of the State of a so-called secular nation and the biggest democracy in the world.

Modi might be the greatest ever ISI spy.... Thank you Modi Ji long may you reign.

As for Muslims of India, I can only pray for your protection. However, this is happening partly because of your own silence against injustice.

Here we go!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Told you, the protest across India is fueled by ISI, executed by Congress bcoz <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CAB?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CAB</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NRC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NRC</a> will kill Ghazwa-e-Hind of ISI and Pakistan <a href="https://t.co/4XXSn2Jtl3">https://t.co/4XXSn2Jtl3</a></p>— #GauravPradhan 🇮🇳 (@DrGPradhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrGPradhan/status/1206377887495933952?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 16, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Here we go!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Told you, the protest across India is fueled by ISI, executed by Congress bcoz <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CAB?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CAB</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NRC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NRC</a> will kill Ghazwa-e-Hind of ISI and Pakistan <a href="https://t.co/4XXSn2Jtl3">https://t.co/4XXSn2Jtl3</a></p>— #GauravPradhan 🇮🇳 (@DrGPradhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrGPradhan/status/1206377887495933952?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 16, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Whay did Ghafoor tweet?

PM Modi's tweets:

"The need of the hour is for all of us to work together for the development of India and the empowerment of every Indian, especially the poor, downtrodden and marginalised. We cannot allow vested interest groups to divide us and create disturbance."

"This is the time to maintain peace, unity and brotherhood. It is my appeal to everyone to stay away from any sort of rumour mongering and falsehoods."

Modi might be the greatest ever ISI spy.... Thank you Modi Ji long may you reign.

As for Muslims of India, I can only pray for your protection. However, this is happening partly because of your own silence against injustice.

RSS/BJP/Hindutv are acting in similar manner as they did during February attack, didn't know what hit them after they thought they were untouchable. lol

Will ruin Pakistan in days.

Will isolate Pakistan.

No violence, it'll be a peace full process to make Hindostan only Hindus.

lol

Whats wrong with them? Why they are deliberately turning their country into a living hell.

It will only be hell for one community to be fair. Even if it sets India back for a while, Modi's party thrives on communal discord, so they will still be the beneficiaries. Congress isn't above playing the religon card either, but they know they can't match BJP in that regard as that party was specifically designed for Hindu raj.

Yup! minorities will suffer while majority will play a victim card.

RSS/BJP/Hindutv are acting in similar manner as they did during February attack, didn't know what hit them after they thought they were untouchable. lol

Will ruin Pakistan in days.

Will isolate Pakistan.

No violence, it'll be a peace full process to make Hindostan only Hindus.

lol

They tried their best and got a bloody nose and worldwide humiliation in return, now they have turned their guns to the helpless and weak Indian Muslims to vent their anger. Typical signs of small man syndrome, like the guy who gets fun made off at work and takes it all meekly only to go home and vent at the wife.

PM Modi's tweets:

"The need of the hour is for all of us to work together for the development of India and the empowerment of every Indian, especially the poor, downtrodden and marginalised. We cannot allow vested interest groups to divide us and create disturbance."

"This is the time to maintain peace, unity and brotherhood. It is my appeal to everyone to stay away from any sort of rumour mongering and falsehoods."

He tweets about unity and togetherness just after targetting people in the name of religion.

He should make up his mind, Imran Khan was trolled for his tweets on the Kashmir issue, and here, Modi is saying one thing during his rallies, and tweets the opposite thing a few hours later.

Here we go!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Told you, the protest across India is fueled by ISI, executed by Congress bcoz <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CAB?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CAB</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NRC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NRC</a> will kill Ghazwa-e-Hind of ISI and Pakistan <a href="https://t.co/4XXSn2Jtl3">https://t.co/4XXSn2Jtl3</a></p>— #GauravPradhan &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819; (@DrGPradhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrGPradhan/status/1206377887495933952?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 16, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I thought Pakistan was getting isolated on a global scale after the Pulwama / Abhinandan episode.

However, it looks like the Pakistani Army and the ISI are being able to control and stage protests in India.

Moreover, we are even being able to influence India's 2nd biggest political party.

I would love to be isolated like Pakistan if all of this is true.

They tried their best and got a bloody nose and worldwide humiliation in return, now they have turned their guns to the helpless and weak Indian Muslims to vent their anger. Typical signs of small man syndrome, like the guy who gets fun made off at work and takes it all meekly only to go home and vent at the wife.

Aww. You sound exactly like that kid who's got a toy for the first time in his life , goes out and brags about it with his friends who've got much bigger toys and is happy in his own world. I honestly appreciate it. So heartwarming.

We'll do whatever that is in the best interests of our nation. Doesn't matter if our neighbor is Pakistan or Kazakhstan.

This is a common mistake when a nation is suffering from ultra-nationalism killing the Jews and starting the war with weak neighbors was also in the best interest of Nazi Germany. I know you guys will not understand and it is easier for us to see from the outside view.

Anyways we are no in 1940's India's neighbors are not as weak as Germany's neighbors and intelligence-based proxy wars are common now. Also, surely BJP & its leaders surely got some advantage from all this civil unrest they are not as stupid as the world thinks they are.

Are you suggesting that tweet is a logical response to Ghafoor's tweet? That Ghafoor's tweet necessarily implies help from ISI and/or Pakistan?

Ghafoor is officially the Pak Army spokesman. Who is this Pradhan Guy?

It just points out the obsession with ISI and conspiracy theories about ISI.

As for Ghafoor, I believe it's fair game since BJP has frequently talked about breaking Pakistan in 4 parts and whatnot.

It just points out the obsession with ISI and conspiracy theories about ISI.

As for Ghafoor, I believe it's fair game since BJP has frequently talked about breaking Pakistan in 4 parts and whatnot.
Please show me the statement by the official indian army spokesman or govt spokesman who has said that India will break pakistan into 4.

I am asking for official govt statement. Like Ghafoor gave as spokesman of Pak Army.

If politicians who hold no govt post is the benchmark then i can post quiet a few by pakistanis.

Why does it have to be from a spokesperson? The leader of the party is not a random nobody.

I am asking for official govt statement. Like Ghafoor gave as spokesman of Pak Army.

If politicians who hold no govt post is the benchmark then i can post quiet a few by pakistanis.

Well thn General Ghafoor is posting this from his personal Twitter account not official DG ISPR account that he us as spokesman of PA

That's actually a good point. If we make the qualifying criteria narrow enough like is being requested, then one can say Ghafoor is just giving his personal opinion and now an official government statement.

Yes and in his personal account he don't even use the General rank in title or bio he just mentions Asif Ghafoor in it.

"This is my personal Account. Official Twitter Account
@OfficialDGISPR "

Let's just say it won't be long before such policies backfire. They will regret this. Indian Muslims have been sleeping for a long time taking crap from the Hindus but how long will that continue

What a despicable creature this guy is? Not more than his blind followers though.

"If they (Congress and its allies) have the guts, they should openly announce that they are ready to grant Indian citizenship to every Pakistani citizen. Then the country will make them pay."

India is a fascist state and any Indian with an ounce of humanity will admit the same

Lol the Funniest thing is reading some people say that this is a dog whistle by modi.
How is this a dog whistle. It is as blatant a call as it gets

At worst Modi ji can be accused of dressism. Although not a major flaw, but still a rare loss of judgement for a statesman like him.

The spokesman conveys the official stance of the govt.

Ok, then do you care to respond to the following two comments?

That's actually a good point. If we make the qualifying criteria narrow enough like is being requested, then one can say Ghafoor is just giving his personal opinion and not an official government statement.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">May be because news agencies/channels didn't want us to identify them by their cloths. <a href="https://t.co/fpKaQzpgPY">pic.twitter.com/fpKaQzpgPY</a></p>— Mohammed Zubair (@zoo_bear) <a href="https://twitter.com/zoo_bear/status/1315217717092212737?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What’s happening in Bengal now? Lol what’s up with India these days