Man who filmed foreign hunters found tortured to death at farmhouse

saeedhk

KARACHI: A young man was on Wednesday found tortured to death inside a Malir farmhouse, police and relatives of the victim said.

The incident enraged area residents and community members, who blocked the main National Highway and alleged that influential personalities were involved in the murder as the victim had made a video of some foreign hunters in his village in Thatta district recently. Later, the victim had also recorded his own video saying that his life was in danger because certain elements were threatening him. He had asked authorities to put his video on record, his relatives said.
Memon Goth SHO Khalid Abbasi said that at about 2.30pm on Wednesday the tortured body of Nazim Sajawal Jokhio, 30-35, was found “from Jam House at Jam Goth”.

He said he was beaten with clubs and punches during a scuffle/quarrel at Jam House and police took into custody two suspects — Hyder and Meer Ali.

Malir SSP Irfan Bahadur told Dawn that the body was taken to the Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre to fulfil medico-legal formalities. He also confirmed that two people had been detained for interrogation.

He added that they were waiting for relatives to lodge an FIR to formally initiate legal proceedings.

Additional Police Surgeon at the JPMC Dr Summaiya Syed said that there were ‘bruises and abrasions’ on the lower parts of the body. However, doctors reserved the cause of death.

Protest against killing

Disputing the version of the police about the circumstances leading to the murder, the relatives and Jokhio community members of Malir and people of adjoining areas on Wednesday blocked the main National Highway near Gulshan-i-Hadeed.

They claimed that Nazim Jokhio was murdered at the behest of influential personalities because the victim had made a live video of hunting near his home in Jungshahi.

Victim’s brother Afzal Jokhio, who is a former councillor, allaged an MPA and MNA of the ruling party were involved in the murder of his brother.

He told the media that his brother had made a video of hunting by the foreign guests of the lawmakers and broadcast it live on social media.
Later on, his brother continuously received threats from ‘Jam House in Malir’ and they were summoned to the farmhouse. He said he and his brother went to Jam House in Malir where the MNA allegedly started beating his brother and asked him (Afzal) to go away.

He said that he had to leave his brother there. He claimed that they were called for a patch-up.
Afzal said he reached his home late on Tuesday night when two persons belonging to Jam House — Wadera Mohammed Khan Jokhio and Wadera Ishaq Jokhio — informed him that his brother had died.

“My brother was subjected to severe cruelty and murdered,” said the grief-stricken Mr Jokhio.

He urged the Sindh chief minister and other authorities to provide him justice and arrest the ‘influential feudal’ allegedly involved in the murder.

Victim’s last video statement

He did not name anyone in the video statement, but said that those threatening him would be responsible. “I am not afraid but this video statement of mine should be kept on record. I am receiving threats and I would not seek an apology,” he said in the video statement.

Meanwhile, Leader of the Opposition in the Sindh Assembly Haleem Adil Sheikh on Wednesday evening visited the JPMC mortuary, met with the victim’s family and sought details from them.

Later, in a statement he urged the police to ensure arrest of the influential in the case.The relatives also shared a video statement of the victim to the media on this occasion.

According to the video allegedly made by the victim before his murder, Nazim Jokhio said that he made a live video of hunting at 4pm. Some person had snatched the cell phone from him and beat him to keep him silent, but he was later given his phone. He said he made a phone call to Madadgar-15 but the police did not arrive. In the meantime, the hunters left the place. He said he visited the police station concerned and submitted an application about the alleged torture on him. Later on, he received threatening phone calls asking him to “delete the videos, otherwise you may face problem in the morning”.

A PPP MPA killed a man who was simply trying to protect endangered houbara bustards. Imagine killing your constituents on the orders of Emiratis. This is distressing. The MPA has not been arrested.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1656136/jokhio-murder-case-ppp-mpa-remanded-in-police-custody-for-three-days

A local court in Karachi sent on Friday PPP lawmaker from Sindh Jam Awais Khan Jokhio on a three-day remand to police, hours after he surrendered to law enforcers in a case pertaining to a man's murder at his farmhouse in Thatta earlier this week.

Nazim Sajawal Jokhio's tortured body was found at the Jam House, said to be PPP MPA Jam Awais' farmhouse in Malir's Jam Goth, at around 2:30pm on Wednesday, according to Memon Goth Station House Officer (SHO) Khalid Abbasi.

The victim's brother, Afzal Jokhio, had accused MPA Awais and MNA Jam Abdul Karim of being involved in his brother's murder.

Early on Thursday morning, Memon Goth police had registered a case against the MPA and others on charges of killing the 27-year-old victim after he tried to prevent the lawmaker's guests from hunting houbara bustard in Thatta district.

The FIR was registered on the complaint of the victim's brother.

Later in the day, relatives as well as members of the Jokhio community had initially staged a sit-in with the body on main National Highway near Ghaghar Phatak. Afterwards, they buried the victim at a nearby graveyard and resumed the sit-in which continued late into the evening.

Leaders from different political parties and activists had also joined the demonstration, including PML-N leader Qadir Kalmati, PTI leader Dr Masroor Siyal, PML-F lawmaker Nusrat Abbasi, Sindh United Party leader Zain Shah and former MNA Hakeem Baloch.

"Our protest will continue till the cruel waderas (landlords) are arrested," said Afzal, the victim's brother.

Late on Thursday night, the MPA arrived at the Memon Goth Police Station and surrendered himself to the police, according to Malir SSP Irfan Bahadur.

Meanwhile, Deputy Inspector General of East Zone, Saqib Ismail Memon, has constituted an eight-member team headed by SSP Bahadur to probe the case.

The team head has been asked to share the progress report with the DIG East office on daily basis until the completion of the investigation.

Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah on Friday met the family of the deceased at his residence in Malir and expressed condolence.

The chief minister assured that the family will get justice in the case. He said he had asked the police to facilitate the deceased's family in getting the FIR registered as per their wish.

Separately, Leader of the Opposition in the Sindh Assembly, Haleem Adil Sheikh, said Nazim was killed by landlords, while another MPA set up his own court in Qambar-Shahdadkot to assert his influence on the poor.

He said the authorities were unwilling to conduct a post-mortem on Nazim's body, adding, "We learnt about it, and we approached the police station to get the case registered and autopsy was also conducted afterwards."

Sheikh claimed that PPP leaders in Sindh considered themselves above the law, saying such a mindset needed to be done away with. "Nazim Jokhio and others were punished for making a video," he alleged.

No doubt that the Emiratis were behind this.

I wonder whether IK will arrest the perpetrators or will he yet again exhibit that spine of a jelly and crumble once again in the face of his Arab masters.

And what about Bhutto kal bhi zinda tha, aaj bhi zinda hai?

Arab masters? The murderers were from the province of Sindh and I highly doubt they be able to bring them to justice given who rules that province. Also you should learn about the difference between the executive and judicial branches of govt and the various levels of government. Khan as the PM can't make a judicial decision and any case has to go through various levels of courts before gets to federal courts, so it's funny how you made it about Imran Khan - shows you how uneducated and dumb his haters are.

Jurisdiction is under Sindh Police and Gov of Sindh. IK has no authority unless you want him to dissolve Sindh Government and install Governor rule there?

Arab masters? The murderers were from the province of Sindh and I highly doubt they be able to bring them to justice given who rules that province. Also you should learn about the difference between the executive and judicial branches of govt and the various levels of government. Khan as the PM can't make a judicial decision and any case has to go through various levels of courts before gets to federal courts, so it's funny how you made it about Imran Khan - shows you how uneducated and dumb his haters are.

If you can't see the connection between Arabs, hunting of bustards, IK and the murder then I would kindly request you ask for a refund from your college.

If I was in your shoes, I'd be the last guy to talk about who is uneducated and who is dumb.

IK gave special exemption to those Arab Royals. There's no doubt he has blood on his hands.

How? Elaborate.

It is one thing to rightly criticize but some of y’all take it to different universe.

After criticising Nawaz and Zardari while in opposition for allowing Arab royal families to come to Pakistan and hunt endangered houbara bustard, Imran Khan did the same and granted permission to Emiratis and Qataris to come and do the same! Imran Khan biggest enemy is his own past statements.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1656339/jokhio-murder-case-autopsy-report-finds-severe-torture-marks-all-over-body

A postmortem examination of Nazim Jokhio, a man murdered at a farmhouse in Karachi's Malir area earlier this week, found "severe torture marks" all over the body, additional police surgeon at Jinnah Post-Graduate Medical Centre (JPMC) Dr Summaiya Syed said on Saturday.

Jokhio, a father of four, was allegedly tortured to death at the farmhouse of detained PPP lawmaker, Jam Awais, in Malir for trying to prevent the legislator’s foreign guests from hunting the vulnerable houbara bustard near the deceased’s village in Thatta's Dabeji area and filming it on November 2.

The autopsy carried out by Dr Mohammed Areeb at the JPMC mortuary revealed that there were "bruises all over the body, including the head", Dr Syed said.

The deceased's head also showed internal bleeding caused due to the severity of the alleged torture, she added.

“The body bore torture marks inflicted by hard and blunt objects,” said the senior doctor, adding that there were also signs that a severe beating was delivered on the private parts.

According to the contents of the autopsy report, reviewed by Dawn.com, there were “multiple bruises seen all over the face”.

There were also "multiple abrasions, reddish in colour, seen all over the face", the reported noted, adding that both the eyes were found "swollen with deep bruises".

Furthermore, the post-mortem examination showed deep bruises over the lower lip and multiple bruises over "one aspect of the chest".

Additionally, the report states that both hands were found "swollen with deep bruising".

According to the medico-legal officers, the victim’s back showed "diffused and linear bruising as well as abrasions of various sizes".

Investigation team recovers three sticks from crime scene

Meanwhile, a body constituted by East Zone's Deputy Inspector General of Police Saqib Ismail Memon for a "fair and transparent investigation" of the murder has started its probe.

The investigators visited the crime scene today and recovered a trio of sticks allegedly used to torture the victim, said Malir Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Irfan Bahadur, also the head of the probing team.

The team also visited the deceased's village to record the statement of his family. SSP Bahadur said raids were also conducted to arrest the two remaining suspects.

After criticising Nawaz and Zardari while in opposition for allowing Arab royal families to come to Pakistan and hunt endangered houbara bustard, Imran Khan did the same and granted permission to Emiratis and Qataris to come and do the same! Imran Khan biggest enemy is his own past statements.

Find me one politician whose past isn’t.

Are you one of those who took IK as messiah before he became the PM of Pak?

Our PM said he will stop these illegal hunting trips for Arab's. They are continuing unabated right in front of his eyes. Now like he did when Chinese were "reprogramming" their Muslim's he will again play ignorant to this murder as well. IK is no better then Nawaz or Zardari.

yeah look like another u-turn of Imran Khan. I am tired of his u-turns and would like him to face absolutely shameful defeat in next elections so that he learn this lesson: you cannot break so many of your promises and think public will not punish you.

Public expects politicians to lie. Yet for some reasons people expect IK to be Jesus and not a politician.

Some people cant help themselves, and must blame IK for any issue that exists in Pakistan. Not only was this man killed in Sindh, he was killed at the farmhouse of a PPP MPA. The victim's brother blamed these PPP MPA's of the murder. Yet besharam people want to pin it on IK.

A local court in Karachi sent on Friday PPP lawmaker from Sindh Jam Awais Khan Jokhio on a three-day remand to police, hours after he surrendered to law enforcers in a case pertaining to a man's murder at his farmhouse in Thatta earlier this week.

Nazim Sajawal Jokhio's tortured body was found at the Jam House, said to be PPP MPA Jam Awais' farmhouse in Malir's Jam Goth, at around 2:30pm on Wednesday, according to Memon Goth Station House Officer (SHO) Khalid Abbasi.

The victim's brother, Afzal Jokhio, had accused MPA Awais and MNA Jam Abdul Karim of being involved in his brother's murder.

Public expects politicians to lie. Yet for some reasons people expect IK to be Jesus and not a politician.
who told you that? Public always expect politicians to be better; thats the whole point of democracy. if a politician is caught lying then he usually end up losing or almost losing.
What you are saying is that your favourite politician can lie as much as he/she want but you will not held him/her responsible. :facepalm:

who told you that? Public always expect politicians to be better; thats the whole point of democracy. if a politician is caught lying then he usually end up losing or almost losing.

I'm saying all politicians do that. They make promises that they cant keep.

For decades PPP said they will make Lyari into Paris. PML N promised bullet trains and that they will drag Zardari on the streets? Does anyone take that seriously?

What you are saying is that your favourite politician can lie as much as he/she want but you will not held him/her responsible. :facepalm:

Ultimately you need to judge political parties on their results. So PTI should be judged by their performance from 2018 to 2023, and not based on what IK promised.

People when assessing their performance, should also keep in mind the conditions in which they took over, and that their was a global pandemic in their term.

So if you ignore the promises that IK made then his performance has been pretty decent based on covid and inheriting a bankrupt nation. If you judge him on his promises then he is a huge failure.

Find me one politician whose past isn’t.

Are you one of those who took IK as messiah before he became the PM of Pak?

He portrayed himself as being one. He portrayed himself as being a face of change and an anti-status quo politician. He put himself on a pedestal and claimed he would do wonders and change the fate of the country.

I am fed-up of this conman. I used to cheer for him on social media and I thought he would dismantle the status quo and change the fate of this nation. As Hassan Nisar said, 'May aehmak tha, mainay Imran ko support kiya,'.

He portrayed himself as being one. He portrayed himself as being a face of change and an anti-status quo politician. He put himself on a pedestal and claimed he would do wonders and change the fate of the country.

He has, NS and Zardari clan are unlikely to become PM of Pakistan ever.

Rest is a slow process, have patience.

Every politician put themselves on a pedestal, so tell me which politician has not, I can name one.

And you claimed to be a PK and but supported the Inds in Afghanistan.

The federal government has been giving approval to Arab dignitaries to hunt endangered birds in Pakistan. In fact, for the current hunting season, Imran-led government had sent directive to the Sindh Government to allow Arabs to hunt endangered birds.

I remember Imran used to vilify Nawaz for allowing Arabs to hunt endangered species in Pakistan!

Nazim Jokhio Murder- Billo where are you?

As with the Murder of the journalist( Ayaz Memon) that exposed the PPP rent a crowd this journalist was killed for exposing the PPP mafia in Sindh. The family of Jokhio are under pressure to settle but the Federal govt are looking powerless to deal with this mafia because of the 18th amendment. The Minister for Human rights- Mazari has said that they will not allow a settlement that doesn't bring the killers to justice but we await,as we are with the Murder of the Ayaz Memon

So where are you the corrupt but competent crowd? Is this what you by corrupt but competent? Kill people competently and cover it up with corruption.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]
[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]