"Mickey Arthur isn't just abusing me but the whole nation of Pakistan" : Umar Akmal

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Update: PCB to issue showcause notice to Umar Akmal.</p>— PCB Official (@TheRealPCB) <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB/status/897818021686898690">August 16, 2017</a></blockquote>

Does he own more International 50+ scores or Show Cause notice in career?

lol what a cry baby.
He just cant handle being challenged~ Umar just cant help shooting himself in the foot~ what a waste of player who once promised so far ~.

Man up Umar ~ if you think you've been aggrieved take it through the proper procedures or challenge Mickey back.

Why is Grant Flower working with Butt? Don't tell me he's getting recalled.

Not surprised by this from Umar, he's a lost cause. More worried about the imminent return of Salman Butt.

Silly move to say this to the media. He should just work hard on his own and score runs in domestic cricket, if he does the selectors cannot ignore him. By doing this he has made sure he won't be selected for a year or two now.

Mickey and Inzi need to explain why Salman Butt is getting coaching at the NCA? To me this is a bigger disgrace.

Imagine if any other non influential, non ****** player have all this in his career, what PCB would do to him.

On the fitness test fiasco alone, umar should be thoroughly investigated and banned.

For how long in the cases of akmals, PCB will never go beyond issuing show cause notices.
Isn't the time came that pcb ban both akmals plus investigate their actions.

Lol what an idiotic move, like this will get him back into the team:facepalm:

Love how he says abusing him is like abusing all of Pakistan. Wake up Umar you don't represent all of Pakistan:))

If butt worms his way back all the goodwill Pakistan has recently gained will as a result of our brilliant showing at the ICC CT will be at risk.

If Salman Butt is getting Grant Flower services then Umar Akmal deserves it too... Umar Akmal can be everything, atleast he is not a fixer atleast.

The comedy aside what is very revealing thorough his "all of Pakistan" quote, his sense of privilege and the cunning he is deploying- almost as if he is a politician.

Come on, he gets insulted = all of Pakistan gets insulted?

If you think about it this is a comment only someone supremely egoistic and also possessed of a low cunning (in trying to drum up popular support) would make.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Update: PCB to issue showcause notice to Umar Akmal.</p>— PCB Official (@TheRealPCB) <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB/status/897818021686898690">August 16, 2017</a></blockquote>

Excellent stuff

Umar retweeted a tweet containing the following words about Arthur:
We also cursed the decision of appointing him and today we see his perks of destroying players like @Umar96Akmal who is changing himself

Ending his Pakistan cricket career with his own hands. :14:

Umar akmal ended up destroying his own career. Did this guy seriouly thought that by going to media he would not face repercussions.

This guy is proving to be a cancer to the team. No other player has issues with Mickey and this guy magically does.

Had issues with Waqar and now Mickey. He is like KP just a much worse cricketer but worse ego and personality.

Time to cut the chord and let him go from the team.

Not just worse, KP was world class.

He's just gulli class.

Straight out of the Ahmed Shehzad textbook

Model town Gang shining!

I don't know who in the world wouldn't laugh at Umar Akmal for saying that insulting him is insulting Pakistan.

Umar looks like he s falling apart~ someone take his mobile off him before he starts quoting Mickey~ foreign agents conspiracy to keep him out of the team and off samosas

I can't wait till the wadda bhiraa gets in on this action and terms Mickey's actions a crime against Humanity or something...asking PCB to hang him ASAP and restore his innocent brother in the team as well!

genuinely think Umar is suffering from mental health issues. Has always seemed a bit off mentally.

His career is entering the point of no return.

Sad to see guy was one of the most naturally talented players we produced in the last decade but he has self destructed unfortunately.

Amazingly stupid comments. Listen Akmal - Arthur is not abusing Pakistan in any way. He is abusing you only and i suspect it's for a good reason.

The most heartening news in all this is that Mickey and his non Pakistany coaching staff are all in Pakistan working with our players...

On a serious note, Akmal is an idiot who should have been kicked out of the team several years ago.

Mickey confirming there was a confrontation.

"I did tell him [Akmal] a few home truths and said he was always looking for excuses instead of looking at himself," Arthur said. "I also told him that he had to earn the right to use our support staff because he is not a contracted cricketer. He can't just walk in here and demand what he wants."

Couldn't have worded it better myself ! I'm glad PCB are giving Arthur and Inzamam a free hand to lay down the law. In previous eras this unprofessionalism was tolerated for too long.

I am genuinely so confused by his behaviour. How does he think he is going to win this?

Just as it looked like he was finally starting to get the message about fitness, he decides to do this. The timing literally makes no sense- both Sarfaraz and Mickey said the ball was in his court, and Sarfaraz went even further and said I hope he makes a return (fitness-dependent). Had they said his career was over I would understand this outburst. But they didn't- in fact they said the opposite.

All he needed to do was keep his mouth shut and let his bat/fitness do the talking (as Wasim said). Chances are he would have performed well in the t20 cup and with continued work on his fitness he could have brought himself back into contention for PCT. Instead he decides to take up a career in drama and act out his theatrics in front of the national media. Worse still, his target is the CT winning coach!! Only one word for it: brainless. Good riddance!

I'm glad Mickey is asserting his authority. As i've said before, if the PCB support MA in his efforts (as they seem to be doing) his biggest legacy will be putting in place professional structures that will bear fruit for many years to come. :salute

Just rewind this episode by say 12-14 years and relive Akhtar's shennanigans towards the Inzi era and right after...there are so many striking similarities that it is not even funny!

Even so !! Akhtar has 178 Test wickets at an avg of 25 and SR 31 odd. That alone makes him part of the tier 1 legacy in the history of the game.

What has he achieved to run his mouth against a guy who won us a Global ICC tournament only a month or ago?

Umar Akmal doesn't have a central contract.

2 coaches have now had run ins with UA, need to take disciplinary action. Just can't go on national news and accuse the cricket teams head coach like that and get away with it. Doesn't set a good precedent for upcoming players and current players.

three...mudassar nazar as well

RIP Akmal's career.

Extremely rejoiced to know that won't see any Akmal in a Pakistani team anymore.

He is a joke of a cricketer and he thinks he's the second coming of Tendulkar that he will get some special treatment from the PCB.

RIP Akmal's career.

Extremely rejoiced to know that won't see any Akmal in a Pakistani team anymore.

He is a joke of a cricketer and he thinks he's the second coming of Tendulkar that he will get some special treatment from the PCB.

Too early to say that, mate.

How are people so deluded?? Who can even tweet that? So a Champions trophy winning coach means less than apparently "destroying" the career of a nobody like Akmal??

And Akmal retweeted that, does that mean that he thinks he is destroyed because MA apparently swore at him?Lol I hope he does think that:))

Too early to say that, mate.

Kamran's career is already over. He's too old now. Sarfraz has killed Adnan's career who I actually don't even dislike. Umar has shot himself in the foot big time. He does not enjoy any support from the current captain or coaching staff who are all set to serve long time after the recent CT win.

So it's okay to abuse umer as no one seems to like him?

Knowing Umar, Arthur probably just spoke English and Umar thought it was abuse and was 'hurts' as a result.

'Sharamful' indeed

The on small area where i feel sympathy for Umar is that Butt is indeed getting great treatment by the PCB

The Akmals have been an embarrassment for Pakistani cricket for years. Arthur clearly has a whole lot more legitimacy than UA, he just coached an 8 seeded Pakistan team to its maiden Champions Trophy victory. PCB should back their coach.

Considering Pakistan team isn't playing any international match in the near future, it wouldn't have been a big deal to let Grant flower help UA.

Umar should not have gone to the media and told them this as this won't help him get back into the team. However because power hate umar akmal so much her on PP. that everyone just literally ignored the fact MA abused him and insulted him, for using facilities to help him get back into the team and improve. The hypocrisy that they are willing to work with a fixer in burt who is not contracted yet people ignore this further proves my long point that people just hate umar with a passion. Just look at these comments. I guarantee if this happened to another player everyone would be going bananas right now.

An example of how people hate umar akmal, when the masala news came out he was invovled with fixing the threads were blowing up like mad with people happy he's now getting a life ban and stuff. However once it was proven it was fake news the thread dies and barely got 5 posts.

Feel for umar akmal he has been doing well with fitness and getting solid batting sessions in, but for some reason our staff were to bit headed to help. Tbh not sure how flower could help, he was a poor batsman anyway. Umar should look towards a domestic coach and focus on the national t20 cup and score heavy

Verbal abuse from superiors happens all the time.

While it may be looked down upon, it is commonplace in fields which require rigorous fitness, discipline and most of all fitness. If Mickey called him an unfit fat ****, then he has done nothing wrong. As a professional, the least you can do is be fit. You deserve to have it dished out to you if you don;t take it seriously.

I respect Mickey Arthur even more now, if he indeed gave a dressing down to Umar it just shows that he is very passionate about what he is doing. Maybe he wants Akmal to improve. I put my 10 cents on this that if this was Waqar doing this, we would see tickers saying Waqar is destroying Pakistan's future...

However Mickey did what some people should have done a long time ago, whoever is backing Akmal can't reach out and threaten Arthur. Our people have always respected Internationals more than locals. Here you don't have a typical foreign coach like Dave Whatmore or Geoff Lawson who only like to collect paychecks. Here is a guy who is really un South African like, which is why he has been successful over here rather than his home country or Australia...

Our players need dressing downs and attitude adjustements...

Imran Khan was famous for that. However Imran at that time was the coach/chief selector/captain everything of the side... What he did and said to players they still have a nightmares about it.

Wasim Akram said 'swear words' is just mildly putting it, once in Kapil Sharma's show...

Coaches say alot of things to players all the time. Its part and parcel of the job. It is a position of authority and respect, in which one says to the other only for their betterment.

It happens in football alot, during the half time when during the pep talk coaches go beserk to infuse that mentality in the players...

Maybe this was done to motivate Umar to do better

I swear umar doesn't even know English. How would he know what Mickey was even saying 😂😂

Umar should not have gone to the media and told them this as this won't help him get back into the team. However because power hate umar akmal so much her on PP. that everyone just literally ignored the fact MA abused him and insulted him, for using facilities to help him get back into the team and improve. The hypocrisy that they are willing to work with a fixer in burt who is not contracted yet people ignore this further proves my long point that people just hate umar with a passion. Just look at these comments. I guarantee if this happened to another player everyone would be going bananas right now.

An example of how people hate umar akmal, when the masala news came out he was invovled with fixing the threads were blowing up like mad with people happy he's now getting a life ban and stuff. However once it was proven it was fake news the thread dies and barely got 5 posts.

Feel for umar akmal he has been doing well with fitness and getting solid batting sessions in, but for some reason our staff were to bit headed to help. Tbh not sure how flower could help, he was a poor batsman anyway. Umar should look towards a domestic coach and focus on the national t20 cup and score heavy

If Mickey used bad language then that was probably not appropriate, although none of us were there so we don't really know the full context. However, any normal person who is that upset with the conduct of his supervisors would raise their compliant through the appropriate channels. No normal person would go broadcasting their compliant to the world. For example, if you name and shame your employer in some online blog, you cannot expect your employer to be sympathetic. This is where Umar Akmal's mental immaturity is still so evident. After all these years, he still hasn't grown up and acts like a 5 year old.

Add on top of all of this the fact that Umer Akmal has repeatedly failed to get fit. He's been told that he needs to get fit to be selected, but he refuses to do it. He's been given multiple chances, more than what most people would think is fair, but he's still not been bothered enough about his own career to take those opportunities seriously. If Umer isn't bothered, why are you so worried about him?

'Mai bhi ajeeb hoon, itna ajeeb hoon kay bus'
'khud ko barbaad kia, aur malal bhi nahi'

- John Elia

A part of blame goes to the all weather supporters of Chota Akmal, who would defend him & his tantrums when he would throw in excuses every day.
As fans, we should always support/criticise on merit. That way, players dont become too big for their own shoes.

Lo kar lo baat.. some UA fans have similar IQ.. bashing G Flower now 🤦🏽*♂️

The on small area where i feel sympathy for Umar is that Butt is indeed getting great treatment by the PCB

That's the only point where Arthur is wrong and you gotta feel some sympathy for UA.

Can't have these double standards and let Butt play/train with official staff.

Though after thsi, Umar's career is GONE.. :srini

That's the only point where Arthur is wrong and you gotta feel some sympathy for UA.

Can't have these double standards and let Butt play/train with official staff.

Though after thsi, Umar's career is GONE.. :srini

I think Micky would have been overruled on butt. It's well known Haroon Rashid loves butt and wants him in all formats

If it wasn't for PSL Butt would have been in the team

if Amir receives support then why not Butt. We cannot be hypocrites, there needs to be one rule for everyone to ensure consistency. Umars behavior has denied him access to the NCA, for whatever Salman Butt is i am sure he is now conducting himself in a professional manner. he has done his time so we should not deny him the opportunity to turn himself around.

I think Micky would have been overruled on butt. It's well known Haroon Rashid loves butt and wants him in all formats

If it wasn't for PSL Butt would have been in the team

MA has sadly changed his tone on Salman Butt. He's gone from saying "we have enough on our plates without having to worry about SB" to saying "SB is a very good player who is working hard."

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The PCB has issued a show-cause notice to Umar Akmal on breaching code of conduct . The middle-order batsman has seven days to file a reply.</p>— PCB Official (@TheRealPCB) <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB/status/898099229180268544">August 17, 2017</a></blockquote>

"Sharamfull" 😂 he couldnt even learn to comunicate in international language in all these years. What a sharamfull situation hes got himself in. Best thing for him was to score tons of runs in domestic and get back in team with his head held high.
you're not contracted mate just like me so if i cant fo use NCA facilities then you shouldnt be allowed too. Im as much pakistani as u r.

Glad all these threads will be there as a proof when some posters down the line 10 years after say how UA was hard done by the selectors!! NO He wasn't!

Arthur though has always been weird coach but he did manage to bring in changes and coached the team towards first CT,so he does have right to make certain decisions

Umar Akmal has let down Pakistan so many times over the last few years off the field. How can he get so fat and thus failing so many fitness tests ?

Please I urge all fans don't fall for this Umar Akmal created drama. I say this as I was one of his biggest fans back in 2009/2010 as had the talanet to become one of the top batsman in the world.

Unfortunately he has been a utter disappointment on and off the field with his antics.

Umar Akmal suffers from a massive victim mentality complex. He can still play domestic cricket but his Pak career is over.

Everyone knows the real reason he got fat in any case.

He still suffers from mental problems as that has side effects, especially if he hasn't given it up.

How come Umar get away with so many offenses? Time to ban this hack.

if Amir receives support then why not Butt. We cannot be hypocrites, there needs to be one rule for everyone to ensure consistency. Umars behavior has denied him access to the NCA, for whatever Salman Butt is i am sure he is now conducting himself in a professional manner. he has done his time so we should not deny him the opportunity to turn himself around.

Butt was the ringleader, Amir was young and has learned from his mistake and publicly admits that he is grateful to receive the second chance he has. Not only that, in this time he has kept his nose clean, worked on his fitness, and is steadily improving as a cricketing player.

Salman butt simply got released and returned to domestics. Besides, where do you put him? Azhar Ali needs to have a lockdown on one of the opening spots especially with his record outside Asia. Sami Aslam needs to be given a long run as the second opener. Even without those two, you have a talented player in Fakhar Zaman who obviously has a strong work ethic from his military days (he is likely the long term replacement for Azhar). We're not even factoring in Sharjeel Khan, who may yet return whenever the court case is decided (keep in mind he is innocent until proven otherwise). All four of these players are ahead of Mr. Butt.

Even so !! Akhtar has 178 Test wickets at an avg of 25 and SR 31 odd. That alone makes him part of the tier 1 legacy in the history of the game.

What has he achieved to run his mouth against a guy who won us a Global ICC tournament only a month or ago?

First off 178 test wickets gets you to Tier 3 category at best, you have to have 350+ test wickets (IMO) to get to be amongst the leading bowlers in the history, at least!

As for your last remark, I have no clue why you are even asking me that, I never supported and will never ever support any Akmal brother, ever, for their non-stop idiotic shennanigans

Butt was the ringleader, Amir was young and has learned from his mistake and publicly admits that he is grateful to receive the second chance he has. Not only that, in this time he has kept his nose clean, worked on his fitness, and is steadily improving as a cricketing player.

Salman butt simply got released and returned to domestics. Besides, where do you put him? Azhar Ali needs to have a lockdown on one of the opening spots especially with his record outside Asia. Sami Aslam needs to be given a long run as the second opener. Even without those two, you have a talented player in Fakhar Zaman who obviously has a strong work ethic from his military days (he is likely the long term replacement for Azhar). We're not even factoring in Sharjeel Khan, who may yet return whenever the court case is decided (keep in mind he is innocent until proven otherwise). All four of these players are ahead of Mr. Butt.

I am not advocating his return to the national team, i am just merely stating that he should have access to the NCA and we should not discriminate against him, whatever has happened in the past since his return he has gone back to FC cricket and tried to apply himself, unlike UA who will jump on social media and try to play the victim at every opportunity.

As an aside, although it is only his face that is visible in that video of him making the accusations, he looks fatter than ever before.

genuinely think Umar is suffering from mental health issues. Has always seemed a bit off mentally.

His career is entering the point of no return.

Sad to see guy was one of the most naturally talented players we produced in the last decade but he has self destructed unfortunately.

I thought so too. A lot of people here calling him stupid, but I really think his mental issues are more serious than plain stupidity.

Pakistan cricketer Umar Akmal has made a shocking revelation and claimed that national coach, Mickey Arthur, used 'poor language' and then abused him at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore. The right-handed batsman said that former captain Inzamam-ul Haq and former leg spinner Mushtaq Ahmed were both witness to the incident. Meanwhile, according to a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) spokesperson, a show-cause notice is set to be issued to Akmal for breaching the terms of contract and clauses for players by speaking to the media on the issue.

The incident between Akmal and Arthur is said to have taken place when the former reached the academy for training. The batsman had returned from England following a rehabilitation programme for a knee problem.

In July, Akmal was omitted from PCB's list of players that received national contracts.

"I stand by what I told the media earlier today. Mickey Arthur used first poor language and then abused me. Inzamam bhai and Mushtaq bhai (Ahmed) are both witness to this incident at the NCA," Akmal told PTI on Wednesday.

Akmal said that while he had informed batting coach Grant Flower for his need to practice at the academy, he was turned away because he was not a centrally contracted played any more.

"When I reached there first Grant and then our physio, Grant Luden refused to accommodate me saying they were only working with the centrally contracted players. I then went to Mickey and he told he was instructed only to work with the contracted players," said the right-hander.

"He then told me go and speak to Inzamam and Mushtaq. I went to them and spoke to them. They explained things to me about my status and reminded me I had failed the fitness test several times. They advised me to listen to what was being said to me. I said okay and then they told me go and talk to Mickey again," Akmal recalled.

"First he told me what I was doing at the academy. He then told me I should go and play club cricket. And then he used poor and abusive language. I can tolerate anything but I don't think anyone has the right to use such language," he added.

Meanwhile, a PCB spokesman told PTI that a show-cause notice would be issued to Akmal for not taking the board's permission before speaking to the media.

"He is not a centrally contracted player but he is still bound by clauses governing players even one year after his contract expires. He can't speak to the media without first seeking permission from the board," he said.

On the other hand, Akmal has said that he went to the media only because of the 'bad language' used by Arthur and hoped that the PCB would look into the matter.

"I want to know that after I was dropped for the West Indies tour did I complain or blame anyone? I admitted I needed to work harder on my fitness and game.

"When I was sent back from the Champions Trophy which was a humiliating experience for me I didn't say anything or speak in the media. I only admitted I needed to improve my fitness and I had to do better.

"I went to England for rehabilitation and remained positive. But today I went to the media because the head coach used bad language and he has no right to do this with any player and I want the PCB to look into this."

Akmal has played has played in 16 Tests, 116 ODIs and 82 T20Is for Pakistan.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/pak...elation-coach-mickey-arthur-abused-me-1738623

Kamran's career is already over. He's too old now. Sarfraz has killed Adnan's career who I actually don't even dislike. Umar has shot himself in the foot big time. He does not enjoy any support from the current captain or coaching staff who are all set to serve long time after the recent CT win.

Knowing the PCB, I won't be surprised if Akmal is selected for the 2019 WC.

Are we sure the quote is accurate and Junior didn't say "It isn't just Mickey Arthur abusing me but the whole of Pakistan"

Surprisingly Inzy and Mushy were there and have chosen to stay quiet on the whole thing.

I am not advocating his return to the national team, i am just merely stating that he should have access to the NCA and we should not discriminate against him, whatever has happened in the past since his return he has gone back to FC cricket and tried to apply himself, unlike UA who will jump on social media and try to play the victim at every opportunity.

Per Mickey Arthur, UA has as much access to NCA as any other player. He does not have access to the PCB support staff which will only work with centrally contracted players.
Only clarification needed is whether Salman Butt has been training with the said staff. If so then he has grounds for grievances.
As for being hurt due to abusive language, is he a little mama's boy who can't handle a few words???

Considering Pakistan team isn't playing any international match in the near future, it wouldn't have been a big deal to let Grant flower help UA.

If U Akmal gets special treatment then everyone else in academy would want to be treated similarly. Plus off season is often used to iron out the flaws for current crop of cricketers. Im pretty sure G Flower must be working with some of the contracted players on their weaknesses, its not that during off season coaches are just relaxing and doing nothing.
Plus i dont think Arthur said anything wrong, if Akmal wants the help of G Flower then he needs to earn it.
Akmal being the Akmal took it personally and tried to played dirty politics in media. PCB really need to put end to it.

Surprisingly Inzy and Mushy were there and have chosen to stay quiet on the whole thing.

Or maybe they know this is all B.S. and are awaiting permission or need to speak about it!

Mature individuals. They dont need to say anything and im pretty sure PCB might have warned them against giving out any statment in public.

What makes this even more hilarious is that pcb has a hrm department, and yet this guy thought going to media was more important then hrm

"I was with the team for 5 days after being removed from the team and was told to sit on the side and not train with the team" : Umar Akmal on Champions Trophy fitness issue

Umar akmal ended up destroying his own career. Did this guy seriouly thought that by going to media he would not face repercussions.

Following on the footsteps of his seniors. They did this to get back in to the team. Trying his luck and finding different ways to get back in to the team

If U Akmal gets special treatment then everyone else in academy would want to be treated similarly. Plus off season is often used to iron out the flaws for current crop of cricketers. Im pretty sure G Flower must be working with some of the contracted players on their weaknesses, its not that during off season coaches are just relaxing and doing nothing.
Plus i dont think Arthur said anything wrong, if Akmal wants the help of G Flower then he needs to earn it.
Akmal being the Akmal took it personally
and tried to played dirty politics in media. PCB really need to put end to it.

These akmals are from part of people who has a thinking that they want to be treated special in a society, in a company, in a team and mostly everywhere and take everything personal if directed against them it's kind of a mental attitude issue. This kinda people will also have high potential to develop grudges and hold on to it firmly for decades. Definitely they are not team players hence should be far off from the team until the mental attitude is resolved.

Coaches say alot of things to players all the time. Its part and parcel of the job. It is a position of authority and respect, in which one says to the other only for their betterment.

It happens in football alot, during the half time when during the pep talk coaches go beserk to infuse that mentality in the players...

Maybe this was done to motivate Umar to do better
Nope.
You just cannot abuse anyone.
It's a crime.