Minorities being hated for sports loss, Mohammad Shami the latest victim

Major

Test Star
When England lost the euros, the players from the minority background faced alot of racist comments which came to everyone's surprise.

But today, when India lost to Pakistan, one guy that has been at the end of receiving hateful racists comments is Mohammad Shami. His social media accounts are now filled with comments where people calling him a Pakistani and criticizing him just because he is a muslim player.

Ironically, Indian team was seen taking the knee for Black lives matter, while their own minority player is under severe racial attack by his country.

Is this a new trend in the 21st century? Minority players who dont perform, they will face racial attack and backlash from people?

Sad to see man. He wasnt even to blame for the loss.

I hope these vile posters are found and prosecuted.

To be honest, Shami brought this upon himself by too cozy with the Hindutva elements in India. This is a wake up call for him that he'll never be fully accepted as an Indian by those hypocrites.

I was literally joking about this with my bro. Indians will now say that he is ISI agent, implying that he was playing for Pakistan, just because he is Muslim.

Shame. He has won them so many matches in past. People do forget quickly.

Told you in the match thread this would happen.

To be fair, this happens to almost every Indian/foreign cricketer who does bad playing for their team or well while playing against their team.

Controversial opinion, but India suffered from getting cheap internet (among the cheapest in the world) and every tom, dick and harry getting free access to social media sites like twitter and instagram to spread their toxic comments against cricketers.

To be fair, this happens to almost every Indian/foreign cricketer who does bad playing for their team or well while playing against their team.

Controversial opinion, but India suffered from getting cheap internet (among the cheapest in the world) and every tom, dick and harry getting free access to social media sites like twitter and instagram to spread their toxic comments against cricketers.

Yeah, that is a bit controversial because it can be conceived as "classist", but one has to agree with it. And it's not just in India. It's simply one of the negative aspects of this technology.

The criticism especially motivated by prejudice against his faith are pathetic.

But beyond that, when they displayed Shami’s T20I career summary graphic I thought they were pretty rubbish ignoring his ability; the numbers hardly set the world fire, averaging 40 with an economy of almost 10! that is truly shocking though, why was he picked?

Its too easy to blame it on uneducated people.

Before the match some of Indias leading businessmen were making tweets about how Pakistan has stolen the coin at the toss to help its economy.

These weren't tom,dick and harry random uneducated people. It was rich industrialists creating an environment of hate and toxicity that then spreads among the masses.

India is rotten when it comes to anti Pakistan and Anti Muslim statements. No point making classist posts when the whole system is rotten top to bottom.

Criticism is fine. His T20I record is quite abysmal and perhaps his selection deserves criticism, but he did not lose this match for India. The match was gone already. Regardless, such abuse is unacceptable under any circumstances for cricketing performances.

Theres been a alot of abuse hurled at Liton das after banglas loss today. many fans abusing him for being hindu and calling him a quota player. admittedly he was really pathetic today and dont understand how he is still in the team, but yet another example of minorities getting trolled for loss.

1. Criticism against Shami should be totally condemned. It is objectively wrong to blame Shami. No questions there.

2. Indian media is full of praise for Pakistan team for yesterday's victory. The blame on the Indian side is being laid on Hardik Pandya (the biggest culprit), Suryakumar Yadav, Kohli and Dhoni (for their strategies and team selection), Rohit and Rahul (for not working on their weakness against Left arm fast bowlers) and the entire bowling unit for not being able to get even a single wicket. No one is singling out Shami.

3. Fringe elements exist in every society and they are most vocal on social media. While they should be highlighted and condemned for their bigotry, please let them not influence you in making sweeping generalisations about India, Pakistan, religions etc. Also, please take political discussions to TP section.

Its too easy to blame it on uneducated people.

Before the match some of Indias leading businessmen were making tweets about how Pakistan has stolen the coin at the toss to help its economy.

These weren't tom,dick and harry random uneducated people. It was rich industrialists creating an environment of hate and toxicity that then spreads among the masses.

India is rotten when it comes to anti Pakistan and Anti Muslim statements. No point making classist posts when the whole system is rotten top to bottom.

In India there's a definite anti muslim sentiment and that's prevalent throughout the Indian society. But there has been a distinct trend recently in India when foreign and Indian cricketers have been getting abused on social media because of bad or even good performance.

Daniel Christian and his family got recently abused heavily after his performance led to a RCB getting knocked out from the IPL and Kyle Jamieson got hate comments just because he bowled NZ to victory in the WTC final. Varun Chakravarty got many comments that wished he were dead after his covid positive case derailed the IPL in the first phase in India. Avesh Khan got hate comments because he dismissed Dhoni cheaply in an IPL match lol.

What you're referring to is the casual anti Pakistan/anti muslim sentiment that has always been prevalent, more so among the Indian upper class. But Indian businessmen and those educated in the IITs and IIMs are not who leave hate comments in the Instagram pages of cricketers. They do it in a lot subtler way by supporting the hindutva agenda and not in the in your face abuses left by the toxic incels on social media pages of cricketers.

Theres been a alot of abuse hurled at Liton das after banglas loss today. many fans abusing him for being hindu and calling him a quota player. admittedly he was really pathetic today and dont understand how he is still in the team, but yet another example of minorities getting trolled for loss.

This is also not something new. Liton has got abuse in the past for posting a Durga puja post on his social media account and muslim cricketers like Shakib and others have been abused for wishing the hindus in their country during Durga puja.

The fact of the matter is the subcontinent has a rotten mindset when it comes to minorities and it's not something new, this has always been present. Only change is that people wouldn't hear about these things in the past but with social media, everyone can voice his thoughts however deplorable they maybe in social media. Pakistan would have a similar problem too if a minority player actually finds a place in their team one day and he he has a bad day in cricket.

Even Rohit and Kohli are getting a lot of hate on social media. It doesn't have much to do with religion.

Every players are getting abused in social platform. Be it Muslim or hindu or Christian or any other religion/nationality, this is wrong and shouldn't occur.

These are just trolls and this shouldn’t be given any airtime like euro 2020 England issue shouldn’t have been given.

The problem is that these guys know that this will get them attention with zero repercussion so the more you give this air time the more likelihood is that this will happen in future.

Heck some killers commit murder because they want media attention so this is so much lower stakes

The criticism especially motivated by prejudice against his faith are pathetic.

But beyond that, when they displayed Shami’s T20I career summary graphic I thought they were pretty rubbish ignoring his ability; the numbers hardly set the world fire, averaging 40 with an economy of almost 10! that is truly shocking though, why was he picked?

The general thought process in Indian cricket is that if a player has the fundamentals right and he's good in Test cricket, he must be good in all formats. It's one of the reasons why Rahane kept getting selected in T20s for a long time until people understood he was not really an LOI plsyer.

I see Shami in a similar category, he's been a great bowler in Test cricket for us, he's very good in ODIs too but his potency gradually reduces as the match lengh shortens. His problem is that he's too orthodox for T20 cricket, his lengths are often consistent and therefore predictable, his slower balls are very distinct to easily identify the change in action and they sit up to be swatted. He's not alone, many Test specialist bowlers like Steyn, Anderson, Broad, etc., have not always been as successful in T20 cricket.

Even Rohit and Kohli are getting a lot of hate on social media. It doesn't have much to do with religion.

the difference is the type of hate they receive vs Shami. Yes, they will get hate. But nobody will ever question their nationality or alliance. For Shami, the question is always are u a pakistani agent?

This is also not something new. Liton has got abuse in the past for posting a Durga puja post on his social media account and muslim cricketers like Shakib and others have been abused for wishing the hindus in their country during Durga puja.

The fact of the matter is the subcontinent has a rotten mindset when it comes to minorities and it's not something new, this has always been present. Only change is that people wouldn't hear about these things in the past but with social media, everyone can voice his thoughts however deplorable they maybe in social media. Pakistan would have a similar problem too if a minority player actually finds a place in their team one day and he he has a bad day in cricket.

Yes, even mashrafee was abused for posting a picture of durga. This was right after he led bang to quarterfinals in 2015 wc. Even at the height of his popularity, he wasnt spared the idol worship nonsense. mashrafee actually grew up in a hindu majority village, it was very common for him to celebrate hidnu festivals with his friends. but posting a pic apparently is too much for the zealots.

Kashmiri students in India beaten up after the game.

==

Chandigarh: Several Kashmiri students at an engineering college in Punjab's Sangrur alleged that they were assaulted late last night moments after India lost its opening T20 World Cup match against Pakistan.

Punjab police officials arrived at the college campus soon after and said that situation at Bhai Gurdas Institute of Engineering and Technology was brought under control.

"We were watching the match here. UP waale barged in. We came here to study. We are also Indian. You can see what was done to us. Are we not Indians? So what does Modi say?" one of the Kashmiri students said, while showing around the damage done to a room.

No police case has been filed as yet.

Both sides apologised to each other in front of police and college authorities this morning.

Earlier, students shared videos showing broken chairs, upturned beds in their hostel rooms and also the hits taken on their bodies. The videos have been doing the rounds on social media.

Another set of pictures showed a group of men, with stumps in hand, going on a rampage after India lost the match to Pakistan.

This was the first time in history that Pakistan beat India in a World Cup encounter.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/kas...ab-after-indias-world-cup-loss-to-pak-2586802

In India there's a definite anti muslim sentiment and that's prevalent throughout the Indian society. But there has been a distinct trend recently in India when foreign and Indian cricketers have been getting abused on social media because of bad or even good performance.

Daniel Christian and his family got recently abused heavily after his performance led to a RCB getting knocked out from the IPL and Kyle Jamieson got hate comments just because he bowled NZ to victory in the WTC final. Varun Chakravarty got many comments that wished he were dead after his covid positive case derailed the IPL in the first phase in India. Avesh Khan got hate comments because he dismissed Dhoni cheaply in an IPL match lol.

What you're referring to is the casual anti Pakistan/anti muslim sentiment that has always been prevalent, more so among the Indian upper class. But Indian businessmen and those educated in the IITs and IIMs are not who leave hate comments in the Instagram pages of cricketers. They do it in a lot subtler way by supporting the hindutva agenda and not in the in your face abuses left by the toxic incels on social media pages of cricketers.

I dont really use many social media sites.

I use primarily linkedin.

This site is full of doxxd Indians making anti Pakistan statements.

Do you want me to link them to you and show you?

They are critiquing India for taking the knee but not taking a stand against Islamic invaders, saying the usual anti-Pakistan ( terrorism/porkistan etc comments).

Now when you have those people at the top bashing Pakistan, Islam and Muslims unnecessarily then its likely thay this will filter down to the more uneducated people.

The comments about other cricketers are different. Shami is representing the national team, trying to give it his all, and just because of his religion he is singled out as a traitor.

This is the problem exactly there are few elements in a land of 100 million people who were abusing Shami due to his religion, but there are way too many playing it down because others also got the hate. There is a difference Kohli etc got hate because they lost the game no one said them you loose the game because you are Hindu, but Shami is targeted because he is a Muslim blaming him to perform bad because he is Muslim and he supported Pakistan. The sane thing now is to simply condemn these words and not to say what Kohli etc got.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Firecrackers are banned during Diwali but yesterday in parts of India there were firecrackers to celebrate Pakistan ‘s victory. Achha they must have been celebrating victory of cricket. Toh , what’s the harm in fireworks on Diwali. Hypocrisy kyun ,Saara gyaan tab hi yaad aata hai</p>— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) <a href="https://twitter.com/virendersehwag/status/1452520206194987008?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 25, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sehwag is a fool.

Having lived in new delhi, the divali fire works that indiands do is tooo much. You start smelling barood in the air and the air quality becomes reallly really toxic.

During a cricket match win the fire works done arnt at the same amount.

I dont really use many social media sites.

I use primarily linkedin.

This site is full of doxxd Indians making anti Pakistan statements.

Do you want me to link them to you and show you?

They are critiquing India for taking the knee but not taking a stand against Islamic invaders, saying the usual anti-Pakistan ( terrorism/porkistan etc comments).

Now when you have those people at the top bashing Pakistan, Islam and Muslims unnecessarily then its likely thay this will filter down to the more uneducated people.

The comments about other cricketers are different. Shami is representing the national team, trying to give it his all, and just because of his religion he is singled out as a traitor.

Well that's the nature of the subcontinent though. There has always been hatred of minorities in our countries and that just translates into these online abuse when social media proves a platform for every bigot out there.

Just look at the comments of Liton Das' last tweet and there are loads of abuse there as well. Only thing is that they're in Bengali and so they're not as visible. Pakistan doesn't have this phenomenon because the Pakistani cricket team very rarely features minority players in their team unlike India and Bangladesh. You'd start seeing these comments when minority players start to play for Pakistan and if anyone has a bad day, particularly against an arch rival like India. It would take a few decades for the subcontinent to come out of the religious chauvinism and bigotry that afflicts it.

Sehwag is a fool.

Having lived in new delhi, the divali fire works that indiands do is tooo much. You start smelling barood in the air and the air quality becomes reallly really toxic.

That is not the point of his tweet. Point is living in India and celebrating by burning firecrackers of an Indian defeat and that too against arch rivals Pakistan. Its borderline treason.

You unfortunately know nothing about India. I have lived there and can confirm majority of Indian muslims support Pakistan over India. I know my fellow Indian PPers wont agree with me but I am speaking from my own experience. I was born and grew in Bihar (now Jharkhand) and during every Indo-Pak match it was like Diwali for them whenever Pak used to win. Infact as a kid I genuinely used to think they are actually from Pakistan. Not only on Pakistan win but they used to rejoice when other teams beat India. I still remember during 2003 world cup final when India lost they were burning firecrackers and sloganeering about Parwez Mussharaf all night.

Though I have not noticed this behaviour much among South Indian muslims but North India is a different story. Let me put it this way, 99% of North Indian muslims support Pakistan over India but no one like to accept this reality bcoz we want to give a secular impression.

I dont live in India anymore and was under the presumption that these things have stopped since 2014 but looks like it is still going on as Sehwag is alluding to on his tweet.

Sad state of affairs.

This is not true at all! Why is Sehwag not banned from twitter?

That is not the point of his tweet. Point is living in India and celebrating by burning firecrackers of an Indian defeat and that too against arch rivals Pakistan. Its borderline treason.

You unfortunately know nothing about India. I have lived there and can confirm majority of Indian muslims support Pakistan over India. I know my fellow Indian PPers wont agree with me but I am speaking from my own experience. I was born and grew in Bihar (now Jharkhand) and during every Indo-Pak match it was like Diwali for them whenever Pak used to win. Infact as a kid I genuinely used to think they are actually from Pakistan. Not only on Pakistan win but they used to rejoice when other teams beat India. I still remember during 2003 world cup final when India lost they were burning firecrackers and sloganeering about Parwez Mussharaf all night.

Though I have not noticed this behaviour much among South Indian muslims but North India is a different story. Let me put it this way, 99% of North Indian muslims support Pakistan over India but no one like to accept this reality bcoz we want to give a secular impression.

I dont live in India anymore and was under the presumption that these things have stopped since 2014 but looks like it is still going on as Sehwag is alluding to on his tweet.

Sad state of affairs.

Sounds like fake news from Sehwag yet you are happy to believe it despite not having been in India for a long time.

Figures like 99% of North Indians do X or Y have no factual basis but are deliberately inflammatory. You are outside the country but for many Indian Muslims comments like yours and Sehwags are incredibly threatening.

Sad state of affairs.

Have you seen how abroad settled Indians celebrate Indian victories over their own country. All traitors then?

Sad state of affairs.

There's absolutely mo evidence to back this statement other than your anecdotal experience. I'm aware that there are some Indian muslims who support the Pakistani cricket team, but they're a minority.

Besides, I'm pretty sure there must be quite a few Pakistani hindus and Bangladeshi hindus who support the Indian cricket team. They just might not be bold enough to burn fire crackers openly. In fact, I personally know quite a few Sri Lankan Tamils who openly support the Indian cricket team over the Sri Lankan team.

For me it's very simple, it's not something amounting to treason as long as they don't engage in anti social activities. I know quite a few Indian hindus who support the Australian cricket team and the South African cricket team, are they treasonous too or their religion provides them immunity?

Secondly, you look at all the examples I quoted above, be it the Indian muslims, Pakistani and Bangladeshi hindus or Sri Lankan Tamils. All of them have been demonised and oppressed in their respective countries due to majoritarian bigotry. The question should not be why they support the arch rival. Rather it should be why they feel disenfranchised enough for them to not relate as Indians or Pakistanis or Sri Lankans. And the answer lies in how they're being treated in their respective countries. If anything, I would award anyone who belongs to a minority community and supports his team in the subcontinent for their loyalty despite the terrible manner they're treated in their respective countries.

Absolutely horrible- Its become the norm to attack minority players. It's as if tthey will always perform and they don't have bad matches.

There's absolutely mo evidence to back this statement other than your anecdotal experience. I'm aware that there are some Indian muslims who support the Pakistani cricket team, but they're a minority.

Besides, I'm pretty sure there must be quite a few Pakistani hindus and Bangladeshi hindus who support the Indian cricket team. They just might not be bold enough to burn fire crackers openly. In fact, I personally know quite a few Sri Lankan Tamils who openly support the Indian cricket team over the Sri Lankan team.

For me it's very simple, it's not something amounting to treason as long as they don't engage in anti social activities. I know quite a few Indian hindus who support the Australian cricket team and the South African cricket team, are they treasonous too or their religion provides them immunity?

Secondly, you look at all the examples I quoted above, be it the Indian muslims, Pakistani and Bangladeshi hindus or Sri Lankan Tamils. All of them have been demonised and oppressed in their respective countries due to majoritarian bigotry. The question should not be why they support the arch rival. Rather it should be why they feel disenfranchised enough for them to not relate as Indians or Pakistanis or Sri Lankans. And the answer lies in how they're being treated in their respective countries. If anything, I would award anyone who belongs to a minority community and supports his team in the subcontinent for their loyalty despite the terrible manner they're treated in their respective countries.

If 99% are supporting PK,why is it that I always meet the 1% that support Ind. I have yet to meet any Ind Muslim support PK over Ind, it is def true that 99% Kashmiri Muslims support PK

This is probably why players like Mohammed Kaif and Irfan Pathan bend over backwards to prove their loyalty to india, when the going gets tough they are the first to get the slack i am afraid.

If 99% are supporting PK,why is it that I always meet the 1% that support Ind. I have yet to meet any Ind Muslim support PK over Ind, it is def true that 99% Kashmiri Muslims support PK

Those 1% is pretending. I know people would not agree with me and hence I dont want to engage on this topic further. But this is the reality and I am speaking from my own experience. There is not much difference between Kashmir muslims and North Indians. One has to visit campuses like JNU to experience that.

In South India (and I have lived in Hyderabad/Bangalore) its very rare bcoz people are much more regional minded there rather than nationalists. So affination for Pakistan among South Indian muslims is negligable.

I'm from south india and north india and south india have always felt like different countries to me. There's not nearly as much Islamophobia anywhere near to what's prevalent in north and so there might be some polarisation even among Indian muslims in the north.

But I'm pretty sure 99% is a totally bull **** theory. At least 90% of Indian muslims would be supporting India, not saying I've not come across Indian muslims who support Pakistan but they're very far and few in between.

And yeah Kashmiri muslims I'm pretty sure 99% support Pakistan in cricket, funnily enough I randomly came across that one Kashmiri muslim guy who was an Indian team supporter on social media today. I had to double check if it was a fake IT cell account so much is the rarity:)))

Those 1% is pretending. I know people would not agree with me and hence I dont want to engage on this topic further. But this is the reality and I am speaking from my own experience. There is not much difference between Kashmir muslims and North Indians. One has to visit campuses like JNU to experience that.

In South India (and I have lived in Hyderabad/Bangalore) its very rare bcoz people are much more regional minded there rather than nationalists. So affination for Pakistan among South Indian muslims is negligable.

Brother, is there any evidence for you to back up your 99% statistic? Otherwise it just comes across as dogwhistling against minorities I'm afraid.

I'll play the devil's advocate here. So what if some Indian muslims support Pakistan in cricket? Only uber nationalists with fragile ego get insecure of people supporting a different team in cricket. This is because we equate sports with nationalism in the subcontinent. As long as they're not committing crime, I see no reason why that should be problematic. If anything, question should be asked on what makes them not to support India or feel Indian enough.

If it's coming from Sehwag's verified Twitter account then all I can say is that he is simply living up to his reputation.

How can any Delihite vouch for crackers to be burst in Delhi, let alone on Diwali day? Just in the name of Diwali being a Hindu festival?

Hindus who don't burst crackers and want cleaner and noise-free Diwali are lesser Hindus?

Comments?

@BhaagViruBhaag :msd

Why would they pretend to me? I am Muslim and PK fan, the Kashmiris tell me openly. Its not as if I will get on the phone to RAW and tell you have guys supporting the PK cricket team.

Brother, is there any evidence for you to back up your 99% statistic? Otherwise it just comes across as dogwhistling against minorities I'm afraid.

I'll play the devil's advocate here. So what if some Indian muslims support Pakistan in cricket? Only uber nationalists with fragile ego get insecure of people supporting a different team in cricket. This is because we equate sports with nationalism in the subcontinent. As long as they're not committing crime, I see no reason why that should be problematic. If anything, question should be asked on what makes them not to support India or feel Indian enough.

When did I say its problematic? Okay perhaps I should not have said its treason and I apologise for that.

Infact there were few Congress MLAs (all hindus) were also happy with Pak victory yesterday and equating Indian defeat as defeat of Bhakts from verified twitter accounts. Just go and check twitter handle of Radhika Khera etc. The same gang who were also unhappy when Neeraj Chopra won gold medal.

Supporting any team in sports is fine but dont pretend. Atleast Kashmiris dont pretend to be proud Indians and secretly supports Pakistan. I know you look things from a simplistic point of view with liberal lenses but in reality most Indians are aware priority of which party and which people lies where. Its not a hidden secret anymore.

Sehwag is a fool.

This isnt about fireworks or pollution. It's a dog whistle against Indian muslims, basically deflecting blame of the defeat yesterday by blaming minorities.

When did I say its problematic? Okay perhaps I should not have said its treason and I apologise for that.

Infact there were few Congress MLAs (all hindus) were also happy with Pak victory yesterday and equating Indian defeat as defeat of Bhakts from verified twitter accounts. Just go and check twitter handle of Radhika Khera etc. The same gang who were also unhappy when Neeraj Chopra won gold medal.

Supporting any team in sports is fine but dont pretend. Atleast Kashmiris dont pretend to be proud Indians and secretly supports Pakistan. I know you look things from a simplistic point of view with liberal lenses but in reality most Indians are aware priority of which party and which people lies where. Its not a hidden secret anymore.

Well actually I know that liberalism is probably the most ideology in both India and Pakistan. But I think both countries would be far better if they were actually liberal in nature.

Right wing politics and conservatism bases its support on majoritarianism, which inevitably leads to 'othering' of the minorities leading to polarisation which results in a self perpetuating cycle of hatred and polarisation. This has only two end results - if the minority is strong enough in numbers, it would lead to a situation short of outright civil war like the one you have in Lebanon due to polarisation between the Shiites and Maronites. If the minority is not significant enough in numbers or power, it would lead to majoritarian utopia in theory but in practice, more chaos would ensue as right wing politics derives its support based on hating someone and even if the population is 98% majority, fissures would develop within the majority as it happens in Pakistan where most of the trouble they face is because some people in their country think others are not muslim enough or the state is not islamic enough. India is right now in the middle, but continued right wing politics would result in either of these two results, both of which would only end in chaos.

There is a tendency in the subcontinent to view liberals as simplistic idiots who are totally devoid of reality and naive to believe in fairy tales of utopia. Actually I'm someone who looks at every thing from en economic pov and a lot of people fail to realise how far right politics can cause social disenfranchisement, leading to social unrest and invariably affecting not just the productivity of the country, but the national integrity as well. That is how Pakistan got partitioned once again in '71 when a more liberal government would actually have had Bangladesh still existing as East Pakistan. There's a reason why the most liberal countries happen to be in the west and coincidentally they're the most egalitarian and progressive societies. It's not a question of money alone, Many Arab countries and European countries are rich economies - but there's a reason why most people (including muslims) would choose the latter if both set of countries offer citizenship and that's because they're liberal societies and less likely to discriminate you based on what you believe.

When England lost the euros, the players from the minority background faced alot of racist comments which came to everyone's surprise.

But today, when India lost to Pakistan, one guy that has been at the end of receiving hateful racists comments is Mohammad Shami. His social media accounts are now filled with comments where people calling him a Pakistani and criticizing him just because he is a muslim player.

Ironically, Indian team was seen taking the knee for Black lives matter, while their own minority player is under severe racial attack by his country.

Is this a new trend in the 21st century? Minority players who dont perform, they will face racial attack and backlash from people?

This is most definitely not a new trend in the 21st century. Minorities have always been made the scapegoat.

The surprising to some (but not to me) is that it is STILL happening - especially in light of all the awareness that is trying to be raised recently.

The reality is some people will never change - their unconscious bias will always be there. It's only when you start punishing people for this with adequate punishment that you will deter this from happening.

Unfortunately, the authorities in some countries have zero appetite to correct this - I mean can you see Modi reprimanding indians for scapegoating Muslims?

The western world are just hypocrites - we've seen a massive change in the UK in a lot of things. E.g. nearly ALL TV adverts now contain ethnic minorities. But for me, this is all cosmetic. Very little is done to stamp out racism. Worst of all many sports journalists and high profile media in the wester world do not take any responsibility. It's all too familiar the labelling of Archer as "lazy", Moeen the scapegoat when england have a collapse (even though he bats at No7 or 8), Graeme Souness always having an issue Pogba.

Sky Sports are doing a lot of work with their documentaries about the experience of black cricketers (Cowans, DeFreitas, Chris Lewis, Devon Malcolm), but again, what will it amount to?

Stick to Cricket please.

YOu say fringe elemtns but your own politicians and former bureaucrats stoke these flames. And post inflammatory comments on how Pak is keeping the coin for their economy.

Its easy to blame poor people because they don't have means to defend themselves but it is more than just fringe.

It's unfortunate that some idiots who are part of bureaucracy, government and political parties are making these statements.

In a personal capacity, I would apologise to Shami for all the hate he received from fellow Indians and I strongly condemn those hateful comments and I know everyone in my circle (all the people I know) does. I can confidently say majority of Indians don't agree with any cheap, hateful statements or sentiments towards minorities (Indian muslims) or for Pakistan.

I would request you to consider that these unruly elements are fringe, but its upto you to form your opinion, ofcourse.

YOu say fringe elemtns but your own politicians and former bureaucrats stoke these flames. And post inflammatory comments on how Pak is keeping the coin for their economy.

Its easy to blame poor people because they don't have means to defend themselves but it is more than just fringe.

Firecrackers were in kashmir, Kashmir has never been and will never be a part of India

I understand bhakts and sehwag are in habit of blaming everything on minorities but where did you get this 99% data from??
The fact is no matter what Muslims would do, they are never going to be accepted, so in bid for validation few go extra miles to prove their nationalism, but futile.
And yeah there are few percentage of muslims who cheer for pakistan.blame it on news channels and media.
When media portrays the game as Islam vs Hinduism and muslim vs hindu.
When simple praise for any pakistani player gets you response" Go back to pakistan". When Fakhar zaman scored 190+ against SA, like many other ,a muslim guy too praised innings on social media and he gets sweet reply from nationalist majority and have seen this happening a lot.
I saw many comments particularly on youtube ,trollers abusing Muhammad(pbuh) and Islam and saying will show who is father on match day and mocking phrases like In sha Allah.
The fact is that media and society fill their minds with this crap . I remember being asked,"who am i supporting",on eve of CWC 2011 semifinal by classmates in class 5 from fellow kids aged 11/12.

It's unfortunate that some idiots who are part of bureaucracy, government and political parties are making these statements.

In a personal capacity, I would apologise to Shami for all the hate he received from fellow Indians and I strongly condemn those hateful comments and I know everyone in my circle (all the people I know) does. I can confidently say majority of Indians don't agree with any cheap, hateful statements or sentiments towards minorities (Indian muslims) or for Pakistan.

I would request you to consider that these unruly elements are fringe, but its upto you to form your opinion, ofcourse.

I have no doubt that most right minded Inds are disgusted by the hate, and will condemn this but you must also admit that the political climate created by Modi has played a large part in this sort of abuse.

What would explain the abuse Liton has received on twitter from his countrymen?

The subcontinent has always been like this. It's just the social media is giving voice to every random Tom,dick and harry on the street while you would just hear from the players and the press in pre social media days.

Ofcourse, absolutely. Goes without saying.

Well that's the nature of the subcontinent though. There has always been hatred of minorities in our countries and that just translates into these online abuse when social media proves a platform for every bigot out there.

Just look at the comments of Liton Das' last tweet and there are loads of abuse there as well. Only thing is that they're in Bengali and so they're not as visible. Pakistan doesn't have this phenomenon because the Pakistani cricket team very rarely features minority players in their team unlike India and Bangladesh. You'd start seeing these comments when minority players start to play for Pakistan and if anyone has a bad day, particularly against an arch rival like India. It would take a few decades for the subcontinent to come out of the religious chauvinism and bigotry that afflicts it.

Not true. Pakistan had two very prominent players Yousaf Youhana and Kaneria and a lot was expected from them because they were marquee players but they let us down on a number of occasions and faced a lot of criticism but never ever once that I remember they were targeted due to their religion.

sewag is a racist and a hypocrite

Sehwag is not a racist or bigot, he is just an idiot who easily get influenced by such people around him.
You see behavior like this a lot from people who dnt have the mental capacity to form their own educated opinions and end up parroting whatever is being said around them.

Not true. Pakistan had two very prominent players Yousaf Youhana and Kaneria and a lot was expected from them because they were marquee players but they let us down on a number of occasions and faced a lot of criticism but never ever once that I remember they were targeted due to their religion.

Its very well noted that yousaf was discriminated against by muslims players, inzi was the main culprit.

They wouldnt even eat with him.

Hindus, sikhs, christians are targeted in pakistan. You are just very ignorant and unaware of that fact.

Fact is south asians from the sub continent are very racist and closed minded people.

We have a significant populace among the Sri Lankan muslims who support Pakistan as well. It has a lot to do with the 80-90s era. Many a people named their kids after Pakistani cricketers. True about the Tamil community as well.

Its very well noted that yousaf was discriminated against by muslims players, inzi was the main culprit.

Hindus, sikhs, christians are targeted in pakistan. You are just very ignorant and unaware of that fact.

Fact is south asians from the sub continent are very racist and closed minded people.

... and we should believe you over me because I am very ignorant and unaware and you used the words "very well noted"?
:) WOW!

True.

This bigotry is his biggest 'gift' to India.

I always knew sehwag wasnt very sharp Didnt realise he was anti muslim and racist too

Sehwag is not a racist or bigot, he is just an idiot who easily get influenced by such people around him.
You see behavior like this a lot from people who dnt have the mental capacity to form their own educated opinions and end up parroting whatever is being said around them.

Throughout my time listening to what Sehwag has had to say, I don't doubt at all that he is one of the most braindead ex-cricketers perhaps of all time.

I wonder if he makes sewage systems jealous with the amount of crap that comes out of his mouth.

Genuinely someone who should be kept away from social media, because time and time again, his useless comments make me wonder if he even has any cricketing knowledge to share, or if he's becoming a senile old man.

Kashmiris beaten, Shami abused after India loses to Pakistan

Kashmiri students assaulted and bowler Mohammed Shami faced online abuse after Pakistan’s win at T20 World Cup in Dubai.

Just before the start of the India-Pakistan T20 World Cup cricket match in Dubai on Sunday, the Indian team took a knee in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement.

India lost the match, handing Pakistan its first win against the arch rival at any World Cup.

As soon as the match at the Dubai International Stadium ended, some Kashmiri students celebrating Pakistan’s victory were attacked in India.

Even Mohammed Shami, a Muslim member of India’s playing-XI, was abused on social media following the loss, despite captain Virat Kohli acknowledging his side had been “outplayed” by Pakistan.

‘I feel unsafe’

Muzamil, a Kashmiri studying in a college in Mohali district in western India’s Punjab state, told Al Jazeera that minutes after the cricket match ended, “a group of nearly 20 goons gathered outside our hostel”.

“We had never seen those faces and had no idea who they were. They had sticks and they beat up three of my friends. I was afraid and didn’t leave the room,” said the 22-year-old who did not want to disclose his full name for fear of reprisals.

After the assault, Muzamil said his friends were forced to move into the house of another friend, as they feared for their safety.

“This was a game and supporting any team is an individual’s choice. What happened to us is really, really wrong,” he told Al Jazeera.

“It happens with us in [New] Delhi and everywhere else. As a Kashmiri student, I feel unsafe in India.”

“But it was suicidal to do so in Punjab,” said Nasir Khuehami, the national spokesperson of Jammu and Kashmir Students’ Association, referring to Kashmiris celebrating Pakistan’s win.

“They are a minority in mainland India and the celebrations were stupid. Knowing that your life is in danger, it wasn’t a wise step.”

Kashmir is claimed by India and Pakistan, which rule over parts of it. The Indian side of the Himalayan territory has been witnessing an armed rebellion for decades, with many residents supporting a merger of the region with Muslim-majority Pakistan.

Khuehami said at least 14 Kashmiri students were attacked across India following the match, with seven of them sustaining serious injuries.

He said he spent the rest of Sunday night responding to calls of distress from Kashmiri students, despite the police saying they had not heard of any such attacks on Kashmiris.

India’s Shami watches as Pakistan’s cricket captain Babar Azam completes a run [Aijaz Rahi/AP Photo]
After India’s loss, Indian cricketer Shami’s Instagram got hundreds of abusive messages, some of which labelled the fast bowler a “traitor” and a “sell-out”. Some posters even called him a “Pakistani”, suggesting he should be thrown out of the Indian team.

Shami made had his ODI and T20 debut against Pakistan in 2013 and 2014 respectively when India were victorious in both matches.

Critics also highlighted why the Indian cricket team had not spoken up about Shami being singled out.

“[The] silence is not wilful ignorance, it is worse than that. Who were they taking a knee for? The American players have risked their careers to take that position,” Kavita Krishnan, rights activist and member of the Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist), told Al Jazeera.

“Why can’t you tell your own government that Muslim lives matter and Kashmiri lives matter?”

Omar Abdullah, former chief minister of Indian-administered Kashmir, said Shami was “one of 11 players who lost last night, he wasn’t the only player on the field”.

“Team India, your BLM knee-taking counts for nothing if you can’t stand up for your teammate who is being horribly abused and trolled on social media,” he posted on Twitter.

Krishnan said the BLM movement was against the police brutality against the Blacks. “Then why can’t Indian players speak on the police brutality against Muslims?” she asked.

“Posturing for others may be a fashionable thing to do, but it is moral bankruptcy.”

Source: Al Jazeera

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/10/25/kashmiri-students-mohammed-shami-india-pakistan-t20-match-online-abuse?sf153353712=1

Source for the Inzi allegation?

Well did you take into account the fact that social media was barely a phenomenon in the era they played and the most famous social media website in those days was probably Orkut. Don't believe me? Check some of the recent comments from Pakistanis under Kaneria's tweets praising Pakistan's performance yesterday.

Bigotry against minorities, as far as I've observed, is a universal phenomenon in Pakistan, North India and Bangladesh. South India and Sri Lanka are culturally a bit different from these aforementioned regions, and ethnic factors play a lot more role in those regions, but still nothing to the scale of what you see in the northern part of subcontinent.