Mission Australia! how to snatch the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 from the hosts

gazza619

I know there are threads around indicative squads or changes should or shouldnt be made in the Pakistan squad.

I personally don’t really care of Pakistan/Bangladesh results or for that matter any tour results over the next 12 months. We can see the joy that WC performance gives to the nation, as such all of my energy is now focussed on that all important 2022 World Cup in Australia. I am very very keen to train our players and more importantly pick the players that will adjust to Aussie conditions. Lets be honest, if a player can do well in Australia, that player can do well in most conditions of the world.

We need to replicate our bowling and batting attack on the Aussie template. You notice Aussie pacers are all tall. Do we have any tall bowlers except for Shaheen? Wouldnt Hassan Ali be taken to the cleaners in Australia? Should the likes of Usman Qadir, Imad & Nawaz be anywhere near the squad? Time to invest in quick leggie Zahid Mehmood?

Likewise in batting do we really think Malik, Hafeez or even Asif Ali have the game for Australian bouncy tracks?

There are lots of questions and I think the selectors / team think tank need to think logically before picking team combinations in the coming months. I would personally pick the same core players for T20s and ODIs.

What players do you guys think have the game to ensure Pakistan can seal a semi final spot?

People who are expecting Perth test match wickets from the 90s aren't going to get them.

The wickets will be gorgeous for batting. Spin will probably be less of a factor but if you look at Big Bash then bowlers like Rana and even Sohail Tanvir have had success.

I think our squad is fine and will be there or there abouts. It will be about peaking at the right time. Hopefully someone like Haider Ali can hit some form.

Either one of Babar or Rizwan needs to drop down and we must play a more explosive opener

Enough of this ‘laying the foundation’ approach.

Rauf, Shaheen, Dahani will be a very handy bowling attack in Aus I recon. One spinner Shadab is fine. Pakistan need to give 100% game time to Wasim JR and Dahani now until Australia

Fakhar
Rizwan
Babar
Nawaz
Iftikhar
Asif
Shadab
Wasim JR
Rauf
Shaheen
Dahani

1. Rizwan
2. Fakhar
3. Babar
4. Haider
5. Khushdil/ Ifti Chacha
6. Asif
7. Mohammed Wasim/ Any other fast bowler who can bat a bit.
8.Shadab
9. Harris
10. Naseem Shah/ Dahani - Both need to be given ample game time.
11. Shaheen.

Naseem shah recently has been very impressive with the new ball. Could be the ideal guy to get through in the powerplay with Shaheen with Rauf given the vast majority of the workload in the death overs

Pakistan should immediately drop Imad Wasim, Hafeez and Malik.

Imad - I am a big fan of but he will be cannon fodder in Aus and his batting seems to have regressed. He should be replaced by Nawaz in the squad for all upcoming series.

Rauf, Shaheen, Dahani will be a very handy bowling attack in Aus I recon. One spinner Shadab is fine. Pakistan need to give 100% game time to Wasim JR and Dahani now until Australia

Fakhar
Rizwan
Babar
Nawaz
Iftikhar
Asif
Shadab
Wasim JR
Rauf
Shaheen
Dahani

This looks ideal team

High time we focus to develop some top class spinners. For that we need coaching experience of Mushtaq Ahmad or Saqlain.

Fakhar
Rizwan
Babar
Nawaz
Iftikhar
Asif
Shadab
Wasim JR
Rauf
Shaheen
Dahani

Are you talking about Nawaz - the spin allrounder at 4? This middle order looks pretty weak if that the case. Haider Ali at 4 is right choice for pakistan going forward as this lad is talented .

Fakhar
Rizwan
Babar
Haider Ali
Maqsood
Asif Ali

This is strong batting line up . Haider Ali can open if team wanted then Play Fakhar at 4.

Are you talking about Nawaz - the spin allrounder at 4? This middle order looks pretty weak if that the case. Haider Ali at 4 is right choice for pakistan going forward as this lad is talented .

You haven’t seen him play in the national cup

He was looking like one of the best batsmen in the entire tournament. He should be backed to replace Hafeez or Malik. If a player like Rizwan can eventually find his place, so can Nawaz. But he needs to be given full backing.

Pakistan should immediately drop Imad Wasim, Hafeez and Malik.

Imad - I am a big fan of but he will be cannon fodder in Aus and his batting seems to have regressed. He should be replaced by Nawaz in the squad for all upcoming series.

Agree on Imad

Doesn’t offer enough to warrant a spot IMO

We have two reasons to be extremely optimistic.
These are Malik and Hafeez.

By 2022 they will have had an extra one years experience and will lead us to glory. Only question is which one should captain the team?

Need to with solid fast bowlers and batsman who can play bounce. Team selection for this world cup will be crucial

We need Babar to move one down & give Ahsan Ali or Abdullah Shafique a run as opener Hassan & Imad along with Hafeez & Malik (if they don’t go gracefully ) out , in Naseem/ Hassnain &Dhani along with Haider & Chacha Ifti

Ahsan/Shafiq( or anyone who is 150 sr & av 25+)
Rizwan
Babar
Haider
Zaman
Asif
Chacha Ifti
Shahdab
Rauf/Wasim jr
Dhani/Hassnain
Shaheen

Zahid /Qadir (leggie)
Sharjeel
Iqbal (the tall quickie)
M Imran jr (the youngster with devilish slower ones)
New face? 150 sr bat

My XI :
Rizwan
Babar
Haider
Fakhar
Shoaib Maqsood
Iftikhar
Shadab Khan
Mohammad Wasim Jnr / Faheem Ashraf
Shaheen Shah
Haris Rauf
Dahani/Naseem Shah

Ad 2 batsmen and your squad is complete.

Go with [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] routine,get some 6 ft tall bowlers :steyn

Either one of Babar or Rizwan needs to drop down and we must play a more explosive opener

I personally dont think we should mess around with the opening combo. I know things change a lot in 12 months, but lets assume Riz, Babar & Fakhar are our top 3, we need to find solid power hitters at 4, 5 & 6.

I know Asif Ali is the flavour of the month, but does he have the game for Australian conditions? I dont know.

I personally dont think we should mess around with the opening combo. I know things change a lot in 12 months, but lets assume Riz, Babar & Fakhar are our top 3, we need to find solid power hitters at 4, 5 & 6.

I know Asif Ali is the flavour of the month, but does he have the game for Australian conditions? I dont know.
Asif Ali most certainly has the game for Australian conditions with the ball coming on to the bat a lot quicker in comparison to UAE and south Asian wickets.

He needs to be ready for the short ball as that traditionally has been his weakness, and needs to go through with the shot instead of seeing it all the way but not giving it full pelt as he did against Cummins.

Babar and Rizwan scoring a happy 40-0 is 6 overs will not work in Australia. We don’t have McGrath, Donald and Wasim as our bowling attack to defend below par scores

This was our chance need a miracle to do anything in Australia.

Semis are locked already England Australia SA and India/NZ

Since Pakistan have a good pace attack, they have a good chance in Australia.

Just have to replace Hasan Ali perhaps.

This was our chance need a miracle to do anything in Australia.

Semis are locked already England Australia SA and India/NZ

Look at the bright side.
all our major ICC tournament successes have been in Australia and England ��

Asif Ali most certainly has the game for Australian conditions with the ball coming on to the bat a lot quicker in comparison to UAE and south Asian wickets.

He needs to be ready for the short ball as that traditionally has been his weakness, and needs to go through with the shot instead of seeing it all the way but not giving it full pelt as he did against Cummins.

Babar and Rizwan scoring a happy 40-0 is 6 overs will not work in Australia. We don’t have McGrath, Donald and Wasim as our bowling attack to defend below par scores

The issue is though that you would go to Sharjeel and the team scorecard would be 10-1 in most games. We would end up trying to fix something that wasnt broken and end up breaking it. I would love to be proved wrong though.

Hope to see more consistency from Asif going forward.

Since the next T20WC is Australia, I feel like a lot of slots will be opened up and with the T20Is Pakistan is playing before the tournament, there will different squads and different players tried.

Already Hafeez and Malik will be useless, Hasan Ali with his pace will be targeted again, the boundary and ground will be bigger, Pakistan can't go into the tournament with Babar & Rizwan as the two openers, 200+ scores will be the norm.

Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen and Rauf are the only certainties in this squad. Despite having good tournaments I am yet to be convinced Asif Ali and Shadab Khan can do it more consistently, Imad will be 34 so I don't know I would go with him, specially since Nawaz is around. Fakhar Zaman can be got at, he's very much of a hack and focuses too much on the legside, also inconsistent and the only real attacking opener Pakistan has.

With a squad of potentially being 15 players only, Pakistan will need to pick a squad with pacey wicket taking pacers as the batters will struggle to chase big scores. Rauf, Shaheen, Dahani are perfect. Maybe taking a look at someone like Amad Butt, Usman Khan Shinwari (due to his BBL days), M.Hasnain, M.Wasim Jnr etc.

And maybe look for batsman who can play smart shots rather than try to leg-side hack it like Khush or Danish Aziz. Kamram Ghulam, Ifti chacha, Abdullah Shafique, Haider Ali, Mohammad Akhlaq even Tayyab Tahir.

Hopefully Mohammad Wasim picks the right team to the conditions.

We already bat really deep, so we should be able to put up defendable scores in Australia. And our bowling will have favourable conditions there, I’m expecting us to be in the semis. Inshallah we can bring the trophy back home. Would be very satisfying beating Aus in their backyard.

Wont be shocked if Wahab Riaz some how makes it into the team before the tournament starts, he would be good in these conditions, but seems like he is passed his elite days.

We couldn’t take advantage of that ur home grounds where pitches are good for spinners, what makes you think that we can win World Cup in bouncy pitches in Australia? We have so many useless players in the team.

Any news of new cricket coach for Pakistan or Ramiz suddenly went to hibernation and forgot about that ?

I know there are threads around indicative squads or changes should or shouldnt be made in the Pakistan squad.

I personally don’t really care of Pakistan/Bangladesh results or for that matter any tour results over the next 12 months. We can see the joy that WC performance gives to the nation, as such all of my energy is now focussed on that all important 2022 World Cup in Australia. I am very very keen to train our players and more importantly pick the players that will adjust to Aussie conditions. Lets be honest, if a player can do well in Australia, that player can do well in most conditions of the world.

We need to replicate our bowling and batting attack on the Aussie template. You notice Aussie pacers are all tall. Do we have any tall bowlers except for Shaheen? Wouldnt Hassan Ali be taken to the cleaners in Australia? Should the likes of Usman Qadir, Imad & Nawaz be anywhere near the squad? Time to invest in quick leggie Zahid Mehmood?

Likewise in batting do we really think Malik, Hafeez or even Asif Ali have the game for Australian bouncy tracks?

There are lots of questions and I think the selectors / team think tank need to think logically before picking team combinations in the coming months. I would personally pick the same core players for T20s and ODIs.

What players do you guys think have the game to ensure Pakistan can seal a semi final spot?

Most Pakistani fast bowlers have been tall like 6 ft+ but by tall you mean only 6'5+ then we've had a few but that isn't important, Waqar Younis and Shane Bond have been more successful than Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Irfan in Australia. Rauf may only be 6 foot but he did phenomenal in the BBL, so he should def be in the squad next year,

Go with [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] routine,get some 6 ft tall bowlers :steyn

I don't know of anybody even watches cricket anymore but most Pakistani fast bowlers have been on average around 6 feet, I think by tall people really mean like 6'6 like Shaheen, Broad, and Starc. Players around 6'2 like Wahab Riaz and James Anderson don't appear tall on TV.

We couldn’t take advantage of that ur home grounds where pitches are good for spinners, what makes you think that we can win World Cup in bouncy pitches in Australia? We have so many useless players in the team.

UAE isn't our home ground and not as good for spin as the subcontinent, the UAE grounds are only good if you win the toss and bowl first.

Wont be shocked if Wahab Riaz some how makes it into the team before the tournament starts, he would be good in these conditions, but seems like he is passed his elite days.

He's going to be 37 by the time the world cup starts, I just don't think he fits our future plan.

England are favorites when it's not favouring teams by toss.. So they will be team to beat in Australia.

I saw a little bit of negativity amongst some of my relatives and friends about the chances of Pakistan, and other Asian teams, such as India, in the upcoming T20 World Cup due to it being held in Australia, conditions alien to our players. I whole-heartedly disagree with this thought because this is T20 cricket, for God´s sake! The pitches are primarily going to aid batting, and that´s it about it. You´re not going to get the Test cricket styled Perth track from the 1990s! Yes, the pitches in Asia are naturally slow and, similarly, the pitches in Australia and some of other such countries are naturally going to assist fast bowling, you can´t change that, but there´ll be nothing more to that. The inaugural World T20 was held in South Africa in 2007, the teams to make it to the Final were India and Pakistan. Similarly, the 2009 was held in England but the teams playing the Final were Pakistan and Sri Lanka. No Asian team made it to the Final in 2016. The latest edition saw Australia and New Zealand playing the Final in the UAE - who would´ve expected this?! So, there´s very little need to over-theorise this. We´ll have big scores, and the teams that will have batsmen capable of clearing the rope will reap the reward. Therefore, more than the pitches, that is to say, more than worrying about coping with the bounce, swing, and whatever, the focus for Pakistan should primarily be to address their batting strategy, more than anything else.

Fakhar
Rizwan
Babar
Nawaz
Iftikhar
Asif
Shadab
Wasim JR
Rauf
Shaheen
Dahani

Why no Shoaib Malik and M Hafeez?

I saw a little bit of negativity amongst some of my relatives and friends about the chances of Pakistan, and other Asian teams, such as India, in the upcoming T20 World Cup due to it being held in Australia, conditions alien to our players. I whole-heartedly disagree with this thought because this is T20 cricket, for God´s sake! The pitches are primarily going to aid batting, and that´s it about it. You´re not going to get the Test cricket styled Perth track from the 1990s! Yes, the pitches in Asia are naturally slow and, similarly, the pitches in Australia and some of other such countries are naturally going to assist fast bowling, you can´t change that, but there´ll be nothing more to that. The inaugural World T20 was held in South Africa in 2007, the teams to make it to the Final were India and Pakistan. Similarly, the 2009 was held in England but the teams playing the Final were Pakistan and Sri Lanka. No Asian team made it to the Final in 2016. The latest edition saw Australia and New Zealand playing the Final in the UAE - who would´ve expected this?! So, there´s very little need to over-theorise this. We´ll have big scores, and the teams that will have batsmen capable of clearing the rope will reap the reward. Therefore, more than the pitches, that is to say, more than worrying about coping with the bounce, swing, and whatever, the focus for Pakistan should primarily be to address their batting strategy, more than anything else.

Agree that in T20s anything can happen but it’s a different era teams were new back when it started now most are more experienced and better than when it first started.

Pakistan have fallen behind we struggled in home conditions in high scoring matches against teams with power packed line ups under ideal conditions it’s a big ask to out bat them as it’s our weak point generally.

India’s best batsmen are also over the hill now it’s not easy to see them out playing non Asian teams easily the experience gained by them and the power hitters they now have it’s a different scenario facing them now than when T20 first started.

He's going to be 37 by the time the world cup starts, I just don't think he fits our future plan.
Wahab is a fit guy who can still bowl at 145 kph. The main problem with him is that he has no middle ground. Either he bowls really well or has a really really really bad day.

He could potentially loose us an important game.

First choice 11 for 22 world cup:

Rizwan
Babar
Fakhar
Haider
Nawaz
Iftikhar (Very successful in last tour of Australia)
Asif
Shadab
Rauf
Shaheen
Dahani

Riz and Babar should stay at top. Both of them like pace upfront, and they will get that in Australia.
Fakhar and Haider also like pace and they are the ones who can smash the ball. Both of them should get the license to go in the middle and play their game and it should not matter if they even get out on 0 (1).
Nawaz and Ifti are the kind of batters who can rebuild and can smash the ball too. So they should bat according to the situation.
Asif should do what he has been doing in this 21 world cup (apart from Aus game).

Shaheen, Rauf and Dahani is a very potent pace attack for Aus conditions. I think 3 pacers are enough to keep the team balanced. If the coming PSL unearth's a pace all-rounder who can replace Shadab, then I'll go with him, but for now, this is the best team combination IMO.

Shadab (lb), Nawaz (sla) and Ifti (ob) will be the spin options, so the variety will remain in the 11 with different type of bowlers.

Now the things that this team should work on before the 22 world cup are:

1- Babar and Riz should play more aggressive cricket in power play regardless of the conditions. They should know that they have a long batting line up, so they should have the freedom of mind to play aggressively. If they are limited in power hitting, then they should work to overcome this limitation and should develop more release shots.

2- All the batters should master the cut, pull and hook shot. On Australian grounds, these shots will work the most as the grounds are big for straighter hitting, and the hack shots towards mid-wicket will mostly go to the hands of fielders.

3- Imad/Hasan used to open the bowling with Shaheen. In this 11, Rauf/Dahani have mostly been successful in middle and death overs. So the management will need to work on who can open the bowling with Shaheen. In SC conditions, Nawaz can open, but in Aus conditions, one of Rauf or Dahani will need to open.

4- Hasan used to come at 9 and had that six-hitting game. I have observed in NT20 and PSL, that Rauf can also use the long handle and hit sixes. He should be properly prepared for that as he has that potential.

5- Babar should improve his decision-making under pressure. I heard that he is going to captain one of the teams in the coming PSL, which will be good for his captaincy skills improvement.

Agree that in T20s anything can happen but it’s a different era teams were new back when it started now most are more experienced and better than when it first started.

Pakistan have fallen behind we struggled in home conditions in high scoring matches against teams with power packed line ups under ideal conditions it’s a big ask to out bat them as it’s our weak point generally.

India’s best batsmen are also over the hill now it’s not easy to see them out playing non Asian teams easily the experience gained by them and the power hitters they now have it’s a different scenario facing them now than when T20 first started.

I also gave the example of Australia and New Zealand doing so well, much beyond expectations, in the unfamiliar conditions of the UAE, and that tournament concluded just last Sunday. One thing though, which wasn't specifically mentioned in my previous post but indirectly indicated at least in the case of Pakistan, if Pakistan, or even India, end up not putting on any impressive show in Australia next autumn, the primary reason behind that would these teams` lack of good players/batsmen suited to the format and not due to the conditions being alien to them. Even now in the UAE, both the teams failed to make it to the Final despite the fact that the conditions were supposed to favour these teams.

I agree he isn't in the future plans but I just have a funny feeling he will make the sqaud. Just a feeling I have, I can be wrong and I hope I am

My xi
Wasim needs to be able to contribute with both ball and bat.
Dahani should open up with shaheen.
Shadab should be the only spinner alongside iftikhar.

Fakhar
Rizwan
Babar
Haider ali
Only one of Hafeez or malik should be in the squad
Iftikhar
Wasim Jnr
Shadab
Dahani
Rauf/Hassan Ali
Shaheen

I actually lied when i said we defo need tall bowlers.

The highest wicket taker for last year BBL was apparently J Richardson who is a pacer who is only 5’ 10.

Haris Rauf also had success in BBL. So I guess you don’t really need tall bowlers and the key is the change in lengths.

I actually lied when i said we defo need tall bowlers.

The highest wicket taker for last year BBL was apparently J Richardson who is a pacer who is only 5’ 10.

Haris Rauf also had success in BBL. So I guess you don’t really need tall bowlers and the key is the change in lengths.

First things first,
Let's remove this misunderstanding out of the equation.

"Tall bowlers and pacey wickets" because we are going to play in Australia.

This is the biggest piece of bovine excrement that we not only believe in it, but also scared of it.

The two imbeciles, Misbah and Waqar were bogged down by these thoughts and they took Muhammad Irfan to Australia. lol, and we all saw what happened?

Here is the true fact and ground reality.

There is only and only ONE ground in the ENTIRE Australia that has a bouncy wicket. And this is Perth.

Besides that, there is absolutely NOTHING special in Australian wickets. They are just as normal wickets with minor variation from any other regulation wickets anywhere in the world.

We need to work on developing middle order batsmen now. We cannot rely on Hafeez and Malik at that age in those conditions next year. The likes of Haider, Asif, Nawaz, Shadab, Imad etc need to kick on.

Have any opinions changed since the start of this thread?

Kuch nahi badla

Sab waise ka Waisa hai

Kuch nahi badla

Sab waise ka Waisa hai

Yep, the openers are still slower than a pair of turtles and the middle order is non existent. Good to see the coaches and management being proactive in fixing these issues. :mw

Damn right I was Devadwal

T20I cricket is difficult to predict but it's going to take a brilliant performance by one of their competitors to take the trophy away from the hosts.

They seem to have all bases covered in their own conditions.

Irrepective of the 'one dimensional' tag that some might be giving, I think the pace attack of Shaheen, Naseem and Rauf will be the most lethal pace bowling attack at the WC, ahead of Australia (Starc, Cummins, Hazlewood) and South Africa (Rabada, Nortje, Ngidi).

If Pakistan are to do well in this WC, it will be because of their brilliant bowling attack. (Spinners included)

Irrepective of the 'one dimensional' tag that some might be giving, I think the pace attack of Shaheen, Naseem and Rauf will be the most lethal pace bowling attack at the WC, ahead of Australia (Starc, Cummins, Hazlewood) and South Africa (Rabada, Nortje, Ngidi).

If Pakistan are to do well in this WC, it will be because of their brilliant bowling attack. (Spinners included)

I hope they do go with a balanced 3 pacers 2 spinners and not go with 4 pacers 1 spinner which will ruin the balance of the team.

Pakistan is decent in bowling and fielding with the odd bad days.

If any 2 of Babar, Rizwan & Fakhar fire, Pakistan can win this.

Pakistan is decent in bowling and fielding with the odd bad days.

If any 2 of Babar, Rizwan & Fakhar fire, Pakistan can win this.

Pretty much this.

7 of the 11 is set in stone for me

Naseem
Shaheen
Rauf
Shadab
Nawaz
Babar
Rizwan

That leaves 4 batting slots from 3-6.

I'd actually play Asif Ali as the floater. Shadab and Nawaz batting is good enough to play him. He is the biggest six hitter we have and the boundaries are big in Aus.

That leaves 3 to 5 to be filled.

There are serious questions about fakhar now. He seems of his game and less fitter as well. We have to trust the guys in the think tank to make the right decision on his because he is a match winner.

Other names that come under consideration are Shan and sharjeel because they can pull and cut properly, and pick up length very quickly which is important is Aus.

Then there's Haider Ali who can't just be dropped from the squad.

I also think Rizwan and Baber will play quicker in Aus wickets. Baber has the strokes for truer wickets and Rizwan will be able to play his pick up swat pull behind square on the bouncier wickets.

All in all with a bit of luck, we can get close.

In the qualifiers if things go according to plan , we get Afghanistan Ireland and Bangladesh in our group along with India and NZ and that is a much easier group than what is on the other side.

If we get a good start- I think we should have hope

Unleash the pacers.. all 5 of them Shaheen, Rauf,Hassnain,Naseem & Dahani . Don’t need a spinner 💪🏽

1987 WC - Australia won (also beat Pakistan in the semi's)
1992 WC - Pakistan went to Australia and brought it back to Asia

2021 WC - Australia won (also beat Pakistan in the semi's)
2022 WC - Pakistan is going to Australia to bring the cup back. Will history repeat?
I think it will.

I'd say SL have a beter chance. Our team is full of mental midgets. I'm expecting at least 2 humiliations.

Babar is a chicken under pressure and is also not blessed with the luck champion skippers need.

Listen the Roy Orbison "In Dreams", Looks Saqlain's satisfied smile and go back to sleep.

If we were playing our first WC game tomorrow I would be landing the following XI:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Mohammad Rizwan
3. Babar Azam
4. Shan Masood
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Shadab Khan
7. Mohammad Nawaz
8. Shaheen Afridi
9. Haris Rauf
10. Naseem Shah
11. Mohammad Husnain

Obviously I might change my mind after the 7 T20s against England.

It is a volatile tournament, anything can happen. There is no process that works in 20-20 cricket, just play fearless cricket and the one who plays it best goes on to win.

Test cricket and ODI World Cup is the ultimate pinnacle :inti

The romanticism over Pakistan’s overrated fast bowling makes me laugh.

They allowed Sri Lanka to go from 50-5 to 170-6 in the pressure of the final and got clobbered by their lower-order.

Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and India have better pace attacks with superior mentality. Pakistani bowlers just care about the speed gun, the quicker they bowler the quicker it goes over the ropes.

They allowed Sri Lanka to go from 50-5 to 170-6 in the pressure of the final and got clobbered by their lower-order.

Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and India have better pace attacks with superior mentality. Pakistani bowlers just care about the speed gun, the quicker they bowler the quicker it goes over the ropes.

Fast bowlers are doubly effective when they bowl in pairs because then the pressure is built from both sides. Shaheen coming back and partnering with Naseem will make a big difference.

Also in the Asia cup apart from Shaheen missing the pressure was let off by the spinners, particularly Iftikhar, who ideally should never have bowled.

Also at the end Rajapaksa's two catches were dropped. If the first one itself was taken, we could have seen a different winner.

So these small little things make a big difference. Yes, if Pakistan continue to mess it up by dropping catches, fielding poorly and tactically Babar doesn't utilize his bowlers properly then it's a different story altogether.

The intelligent Indian pacers couldn’t defend 170 and 180 against the mediocre Pakistani and Sri Lankan batsmen

I don't remember any pakistani bowler who bowled effectively in Australia except wasim, asif and akhtar on some occasions. It doesn't matters how fast the current bowlers are. You need tall bowlers in Australia and except shaheen i have no hope with any other, may be haris rauf could be effective with his hit the deck approach.

Fast bowlers are doubly effective when they bowl in pairs because then the pressure is built from both sides. Shaheen coming back and partnering with Naseem will make a big difference.

Also in the Asia cup apart from Shaheen missing the pressure was let off by the spinners, particularly Iftikhar, who ideally should never have bowled.

Also at the end Rajapaksa's two catches were dropped. If the first one itself was taken, we could have seen a different winner.

So these small little things make a big difference. Yes, if Pakistan continue to mess it up by dropping catches, fielding poorly and tactically Babar doesn't utilize his bowlers properly then it's a different story altogether.

Good point, Pakistan lost the momentum in middle order when spinners were bowling, and I think Babar made a mistake by keeping too much confidence on Iftikhar, he needed to be a bit more ruthless and continue attacking but those two SL batters continued attacking.

With the team selected, pakistan should think about how to avoid embarassing loses and being knocked out in the group stage dwindling at the bottom of the table..

Only hope to save them is their pacers, if they dont get into rhythm early which is likely possible with the conditions in Aus because there is only a small margin for error on where to pitch of hard lengths otherwise will get hammered around the park, so i expect miserable defeats..

Perfect chance for India to take revenge for 152-0

First things first,
Let's remove this misunderstanding out of the equation.

"Tall bowlers and pacey wickets" because we are going to play in Australia.

This is the biggest piece of bovine excrement that we not only believe in it, but also scared of it.

The two imbeciles, Misbah and Waqar were bogged down by these thoughts and they took Muhammad Irfan to Australia. lol, and we all saw what happened?

Here is the true fact and ground reality.

There is only and only ONE ground in the ENTIRE Australia that has a bouncy wicket. And this is Perth.

Besides that, there is absolutely NOTHING special in Australian wickets. They are just as normal wickets with minor variation from any other regulation wickets anywhere in the world.

Thanks, why do you think then Pak batting has struggled so much in Aus?

We have a tough group: India, South Africa and Bangladesh. If we make it to the knockouts it will be an achievement.

We have the resources to go all the way. The batting order needs to be tinkered with to get the most out of it. I think Fakhar Zaman should come down at 6. He's a boom or bust type of player and coming in to bat with 3 or 4 overs left would suit his style to go after the ball. Also most teams will have pacers bowling at death so he won't be exposed to too much spin.

My preferred XI at this point in time would be:

Rizwan
Babar
Shan
Shadab
Nawaz
Fakhar
Asif Ali
Wasim/Qadir/Hasnain
Rauf
Naseem
Shaheen

If we get a slow start, we can promote someone for pinch hitting. Asif, Nawaz and Shadab should be sent in according to the situation.