"Mohammad Amir is one of the toughest bowlers I have played in my career" : Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli speaking on a TV program today

"In recent times, amongst the bowlers I have played, Mohammad Amir is one of the toughest bowlers I have played in my career"

"He is the type of a bowler against whom you have to be on your 'A' game or he will strike"

"He's an outstanding and a very good bowler"

Amir has been average overall but he has brought his best against India quite a few times now. His battle vs Kohli has been fascinating so far. Certainly the highlight of the Pakistan vs India matches over the last couple of years.

Hehe
When the “King” says he struggles against a certain bowler then you know that bowler must be pretty good.

Where are all the Amir haters at?

:salute

High praise from Kohli. Amir needs to bowl with the same intensity he did in the CT final more often.

Greatest Batsmen of this generation appreciating what could have been the greatest bowler of this generation.

Off stump channel is his vulnerability early on. M Amir exploited it. He always loved to play across. But angle was too much that it clipped the outside edge.

Amir's comeback has been a disappointment. He did have small outbursts of good performances like the CT final but overall his comeback was just average. The main job of the bowler is to get wickets, which he has failed to do consistently.

There is some man-love going on between Kohli and Amir hence I am not all too surprised by this comment.

Amir's comeback has been a disappointment. He did have small outbursts of good performances like the CT final but overall his comeback was just average. The main job of the bowler is to get wickets, which he has failed to do consistently.

There is some man-love going on between Kohli and Amir hence I am not all too surprised by this comment.

Unless he starts bringing the ball back in his wicket taking ability will not improve. He is one of those bowlers you can play out if you want. Most of the players are able to play him out.

Amir has been average overall but he has brought his best against India quite a few times now. His battle vs Kohli has been fascinating so far. Certainly the highlight of the Pakistan vs India matches over the last couple of years.

One way traffic thus far. Amir has outshone Kohli in victory and defeat.

Unless he starts bringing the ball back in his wicket taking ability will not improve. He is one of those bowlers you can play out if you want. Most of the players are able to play him out.

Ask Rohit whether or not Amir can bring the ball back in.

The challenge for Indians is to hate on Amir but not go against what "King" Kohli said :srini

The best batsmen of this generation is just doing a favour towards one of his contemporary.

One way traffic thus far. Amir has outshone Kohli in victory and defeat.

Maybe in your world, but Amir has only dismissed him once and Kohli has played match-winning innings in the other games he played against Amir besides the CT final.

So far, Amir has only been able to stop Kohli once from winning India the game, so if its one way then it is in Kohli's favor. However, CT final was a bigger game than the others so Amir holds an overall edge.

No surprises here. Kohli struggles against swing and seam and Amir is one of the best swing bowler in right conditions.

Maybe in your world, but Amir has only dismissed him once and Kohli has played match-winning innings in the other games he played against Amir besides the CT final.

So far, Amir has only been able to stop Kohli once from winning India the game, so if its one way then it is in Kohli's favor. However, CT final was a bigger game than the others so Amir holds an overall edge.

Amir has taken Kohli's wicket, once in 4 innings. How is that one way traffic?

He counts the dropped catch in CT final as a wkt ... and ofcourse the other matches never happened in his parallel world. Or the pitches were too flat so they dont count or that they were T20s .... Mungerilal ke haseen sapne :))

lol, so he is counting one innings as two wickets from the CT finals.

Since Amir has returned, following is Kohli's scores
49 (Md Sami)
55*
81*
5 (Md Amir)

So averages 95 against Pakistan and he is still Amir's bunny. I wouldn't mind such a bunny in my team.

Bilal logic!

That puts Amir in Hansie Cronje's league now. Both of them have troubled the best batsmen of their generation :bm

High praise from Virat Kohli for a guy who doesn't even have a 5'fer in ODIs.

That's like saying Misbah ul Haq is one of the best batsmen in LOI but he doesn't even have a century.

I think confirmation bias has taken over Virat. Stats say otherwise

Good answer... if there one batsman who is Amir's absolute bunny it is over-hyped Sharma

He's a bitter bunny too. Remember how he was trying to downplay Amir in a press conference and then got owned by him in the next match. :))

Read my post again. Do you read that little bit after the first period? Whether the Asia Cup or the CT final, Amir's spell is what people were talking about, not Kohli's success or failure. Amir has been the bigger star in both those matches.

No surprises here. Kohli struggles against swing and seam and Amir is one of the best swing bowler in right conditions.

Exactly. Amir is what Pennywise the Dancing Clown would transform into if he ever came across Kohli.

No. That was hardly an example. It was marginal deviation. Why couldn't he do that against any other righties?

Errr... Do you watch cricket or nah? He owned Rahane with a delivery that came back in as well and was swinging it both ways in New Zealand.

lol, so he is counting one innings as two wickets from the CT finals.

Since Amir has returned, following is Kohli's scores
49 (Md Sami)
55*
81*
5 (Md Amir)

So averages 95 against Pakistan and he is still Amir's bunny. I wouldn't mind such a bunny in my team.

Bilal logic!

Pretty pathetic how you assumed what I meant and then came up with an irrelevant counter to a claim I never made. I count the CT as one big embarrassment for Kohli, not two different ones. Next time, ask me what I mean and not go by what some old troll says.

Amir is sensational when he gets it right but he's not doing it regularly for PAK esp in test matches. He needs to improve his fitness and strike big in the long format.

Indian fans in trouble now. Can't praise Amir but can't go against Kohli. Well, i don't thing it means any thing. Kohli has the habit of saying nice stuff about players, some times players from Pakistan.

Put these words in Rohit's mouth too. :razzaq
Off course he bowled brilliantly against India above par.

The challenge for Indians is to hate on Amir but not go against what "King" Kohli said :srini

King kohli mazaak bhi nahi kar sakte kya ? ? ?
asli talent toh kohli hai
Aamir jaise bowler toh india ke har gali mein milte hai
sarcasm overloaded

Who is Kohli to declare Amir good or bad?

First Kohli must take apart Amir atleast once

He has played and scored enough runs to make a judgement

But not against Amir and not when it matters. Kohli hasn't earned enough respect yet to judge a contemporary.

IDK what world you are living in. Kohli is the best batsman across the globe these days. If there is one guy who can comment on a bowler its him.

He hasn't won anything yet. Soft runs don't count.

How about if we say he has been pretty decent in odis as his average shows but completely useless in tests which again his average shows?

The challenge for some of the Pakistani fans is to hate Kohli, make him sound like a nobody and yet somehow make the most of this statement from Kohli. :)

Using the same logic, what have you achieved in the game to pass judgement on Kohli?

Read my post again. Do you read that little bit after the first period? Whether the Asia Cup or the CT final, Amir's spell is what people were talking about, not Kohli's success or failure. Amir has been the bigger star in both those matches.

You never fail to disappoint.

Since his return, Amir has played Kohli four times: Asia Cup 2016, WT20 2016 and two games in the CT.

Asia Cup 2016: Kohli steered India home with a match-winning innings on a green pitch where he was the only batsman who stood tall. Amir bowled really well but even Pandya managed to take a 3-fer on that dream pitch for seamers. However, no batsman apart from Kohli was able to play a substantial innings. Amir could not dismiss him and Kohli hit him for successive fours.

The star of the match was Kohli.

WT20 2016: Another match-winning innings by Kohli who took India home on a tricky pitch. He was the star of the match again.

CT 2017 group game: Kohli's 82* took the game away from Pakistan. Once again he was the star of the match along with Yuvraj.

CT final: Kohli failed and Amir did brilliantly, this was the only instance where Amir proved to be the star and not Kohli.

Secondly, it doesn't really matter who the 'star' was; what matters is whose performance won his team the match. No one cares whose performance is more talked about, because the only thing that matters is the result. There is no glory in being on the losing side.

Only in Pakistan do people give importance to memorable match-losing efforts. Reminds me of how Wahab became a superstar for 2 years for bowling a few bouncers to Watson, even though Australia won the match comfortably in the end and Watson scored a match-winning half-century.

Pakistanis fans are trying too hard to project Amir as the bowling equivalent of Kohli. Unfortunately he is nowhere near that level and is not 1/4th the cricketer Kohli is, even if Kohli has troubles against him. Anderson tormented Tendulkar throughout his career but Anderson is not half the cricketer Tendulkar is.

Amir has been good in ODIs but poor in Tests, and it doesn't matter if he proves to Kohli's bogey bowler unless he starts bowling at a world class level consistently, which he has not been able to.

asia cup etc is nothing? No 1 rank in tests is nothing? So what did waqar younis ever won anything using your own logic?

Both these things have been achieved by petty average teams in recent past so no, those are nothing special.

The challenge for some of the Pakistani fans is to hate Kohli, make him sound like a nobody and yet somehow make the most of this statement from Kohli. :)

That trick is only reserved for sensitive fans of Sachin. They fall for it every time.

note: I said Sachin's fans, not Sachin.

On Amir, has become a decent ODI from, a one of the top 3 bolwers when he first arrived on international level and his inability to take wickets in Test and at times in ODI is very concerning.

Using the same logic, what have you achieved in the game to pass judgement on Kohli?

I don't pass public judgements on my business/work rivals in public. Specially not one who has owned me on biggest platform we have faced each other.

Kohli is a bit soft. He tries to come off as nice but is too diplomatic in attitude. Even when he lost CT he was smiling. :murali

Not that competitive.

He's not a lion, but more of a sheep.

Kohli is a bit soft. He tries to come off as nice but is too diplomatic in attitude. Even when he lost CT he was smiling. :murali

Not that competitive.

Sheep or not, a crazy good batsman!

Kohli is mediocre against better quality attacks. Most of his hundreds have come vs average bowling lineup.

AB and Amla are clearly better in that regard.

You never fail to disappoint.

Since his return, Amir has played Kohli four times: Asia Cup 2016, WT20 2016 and two games in the CT.

Asia Cup 2016: Kohli steered India home with a match-winning innings on a green pitch where he was the only batsman who stood tall. Amir bowled really well but even Pandya managed to take a 3-fer on that dream pitch for seamers. However, no batsman apart from Kohli was able to play a substantial innings. Amir could not dismiss him and Kohli hit him for successive fours.

The star of the match was Kohli.

WT20 2016: Another match-winning innings by Kohli who took India home on a tricky pitch. He was the star of the match again.

CT 2017 group game: Kohli's 82* took the game away from Pakistan. Once again he was the star of the match along with Yuvraj.

CT final: Kohli failed and Amir did brilliantly, this was the only instance where Amir proved to be the star and not Kohli.

Secondly, it doesn't really matter who the 'star' was; what matters is whose performance won his team the match. No one cares whose performance is more talked about, because the only thing that matters is the result. There is no glory in being on the losing side.

Only in Pakistan do people give importance to memorable match-losing efforts. Reminds me of how Wahab became a superstar for 2 years for bowling a few bouncers to Watson, even though Australia won the match comfortably in the end and Watson scored a match-winning half-century.

Pakistanis fans are trying too hard to project Amir as the bowling equivalent of Kohli. Unfortunately he is nowhere near that level and is not 1/4th the cricketer Kohli is, even if Kohli has troubles against him. Anderson tormented Tendulkar throughout his career but Anderson is not half the cricketer Tendulkar is.

Amir has been good in ODIs but poor in Tests, and it doesn't matter if he proves to Kohli's bogey bowler unless he starts bowling at a world class level consistently, which he has not been able to.

When you have 340 runs to defend in the final, bowlers have a distinct advantage.

The “Hate” on Amir by the Indians is only by a Cricketing sense .... I think. I am sure they wouldn’t mind having him as their neighbor .... who would not !!!! There are few Indians Cricket players I “Hate” .... but not really !!!!

Certain bowlers do well against a particular batsman. Whilst Amir is a very good bowler he has a knack of taking Kohli's wicket when it most matters.

Virat is a predominantly on side player. Also playing cut shots doesn't come naturally to him. So he does like facing bowlers who could take the ball away from him. Against right armer it is easy for him to bring his strong wrist into action and play his natural flick shot, with ball coming into him

Kohli is mediocre against better quality attacks. Most of his hundreds have come vs average bowling lineup.

AB and Amla are clearly better in that regard.

Which of his 66 centuries are against average attacks that Amla and ABDV have also not faced? Also Kohli never had the opportunity to face the Indian attack which until a couple of years back was often touted as terrible as well.

Mo Amir is an exceptional talent but the biggest talent lost to corruption was Mo Asif. Who I would rate as being slightly better. These two were bowlers who could have equaled Wasim but who were lost to corruption.

It would have been awesome to see Asif and Amir together for longer. Heartbreaking to see a talent like Asif rotting on the sidelines. I guess being not very well qualified he is back in his village now.

Kohli is a great player and he is not arrogant, he respects every good bowler and that' one of many reasons he is so successful.

Irrelevant but I didn't know where to post.

I just imagined if at one point we had these bowlers at their peak.

M. Asif
M. Amir
U. Gul
D. Kaneria
S. Ajmal

Irrelevant but I didn't know where to post.

I just imagined if at one point we had these bowlers at their peak.

M. Asif
M. Amir
U. Gul
D. Kaneria
S. Ajmal

We did in England 2010 but then realised Gul and kaneria were in a slump.

Speciall bowler. He made his international debut some 10 years ago, and after missing 5 good years he is still around and one of the best in World. That is just incredible.

I reckon English pitches are doing Amir a bit of favour. WT20 2009, CT 2017 and WC 2019 have all be good tournaments for him and all been in England. Those infamous bilateral series' in 2010 were also in England. He's definitely a top bowler but I feel like the conditions in England bring the best out of him.

Not that competitive.

It's all good PR. He's a brand ambassador for many products and is playing a demographic game.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] u keep blabbering about that t20 Asia cup match there was that weird Sri Lankan umpire in that who doesn’t even deserve to umpire in club matches kohli was plumb lbw the ball was crashing into the middle of leg stump not given out and he’s already dismissed him almost every match they have played against each other so Amir has a big edge

It wasn't plumb. A plumb LBW is not umpire's call. Most umpires wouldn't give that out.

Apart from the CT final, Kohli has dominated Amir and has also outperformed him at an individual level. There is absolutely no shame in that, because Kohli is one of the top 5 greatest batsmen of all time, and Amir is a completely nobody in front o him. He has a long, long way to go before he has 50% the legacy Kohli has.

However, Amir does have good peer reputation because he is a very tough bowler to handle when he gets it right. That is why most teams in the world respect his abilities, but legacies are not build on abilities but performance, and Amir has not done anything special on that front. However, all of that could change if he continues to bowl at his current (World Cup) level for 4-5 years.

Kohli played amir easily in the last match and gifted his wicket, amir got him only once in his career, so whats the fuss all about, how is kohli amir's bunny?
He needs to take kohlis wkt atleast 6-7 times to make a claim.

Kohli played amir easily in the last match and gifted his wicket, amir got him only once in his career, so whats the fuss all about, how is kohli amir's bunny?
He needs to take kohlis wkt atleast 6-7 times to make a claim.

Amir took Kohli's wicket on two back to back balls actually he was just unlucky because the first catch was dropped but he got him on the very next ball.

P.S. Amir taking Kohli's wicket 6-7 times might take 6-7 decades because BCCI doesn't want to play any matches against Pakistan.

Apart from CT 17 final I don't remember Kohli getting out to amir in any other imp match. Last match he gave himself out without hitting .. lol

It all balances out in the end...
Kohli walking incorrectly and Amir basically getting him out twice in one match in CT final (dropped previous ball).

Amir took Kohli's wicket on two back to back balls actually he was just unlucky because the first catch was dropped but he got him on the very next ball.

P.S. Amir taking Kohli's wicket 6-7 times might take 6-7 decades because BCCI doesn't want to play any matches against Pakistan.

You didnt answer his question, how is he amirs bunny when he only got out to him once...he is also got out to certain bowlers many times in row and still they arent hyped at all :-)

It all balances out in the end...
Kohli walking incorrectly and Amir basically getting him out twice in one match in CT final (dropped previous ball).

So it balances out in a way when batsman is at loss and fielder isnt? Funny logic.in all the matches teams drop lots of catches that also includes ppers recent fav innings of babar ,was dropped early in his innings as well...but not one indian poster mentioned his innings as nonexistent because of dropped catch...

I think the point I was making has whizzed passed you.

I'm not belittling any player/performance, just saying if you got lucky one innings, you'll have got lucky elsewhere.