Mohammad Amir vs Hasan Ali

Shaik

I have joined this forum, last week.

Some say, Amir is better than Hassan.

They prove it, with his economy and the number of times he beats the beat.

But he goes wicketless, more often than not.

Some say, Hassan is better than Amir.

They prove it, with his wicket taking ability, passion and his running in everytime.

He sometimes, gets carted all over the ground.

There is no doubt, both should be in the team.

But who has an upper hand, over the other?

Can't compare a defensive bowler to an attacking one. Both need to play, they complement each other.

However, at this point it is clear who the leader of the attack is (hint: the one who takes wickets).

Hassan is reducing the gap between him and Amir, as far as the wickets column is concerned.

12 more months, and he would surpass the latter, I reckon.

In before somebody comes and says Amir is the best and justifies it by saying it's due to pressure put up from the other end from Aamir which enables Hassan Ali to pick wickets.

So even if Amir picks wickets or not, he is the winner anyhow in comparison with any bowler.

Dusre bowlers wickets le toh bhi usme Amir ki meherbaani nazar aati hai Kuch fans ko.

Aamir comes in and bowls at the start, he is the one who creates pressure which helps likes of Hassan Ali n spinners to take wickets....

Hassan is booming with confidence n taking wickets...

for me , wickets always r more important that stop scoring. .... hence for form Hassan > Aamir... but skill wise Aamir >> Hassan

Can't compare a defensive bowler to an attacking one. Both need to play, they complement each other.

However, at this point it is clear who the leader of the attack is (hint: the one who takes wickets).

Even though Amir has much better reputation than Hassan, in the cricketing world, the fact cannot be hidden for a long time.

Hasan without a shadow of doubt. More venom in his bowling, more intent and dare i say better brains than Amir. Also he seems like he can take on the best in pressure situations. If amir gets his act together (dont know if thats even possible now) then he has a higher ceiling.

We are talking about LOIs here arent we? Because hasan has just played 1 test.

The Myth that, AMIR CREATES PRESSURE, AND HASSAN TAKES WICKETS, cannot be taken for every match. Yes, it can be sometimes. But certainly, not the story of a lifetime.

Even though Amir has much better reputation than Hassan, in the cricketing world, the fact cannot be hidden for a long time.

Hasan Ali is growing in stature, that is what performing in places like England and in tournaments does. A few more big performances, and he will become a household name. The likes of Fleming are already very impressed, and plenty of lucrative T20 contracts are coming his way. Perhaps a county deal as well.

The Myth that, AMIR CREATES PRESSURE, AND HASSAN TAKES WICKETS, cannot be taken for every match. Yes, it can be sometimes. But certainly, not the story of a lifetime.

The only thing he does these days is angle the ball across the right-handers, which does not fool quality batsman. There is no intensity in his bowling and he doesn't mix things up either. All this talk of Hasan capitalizing on Amir's economical bowling is rubbish.

then how would you xplain him not picking wickets in games when aamir has a good economy rate.....

lets take the indian game... yes india had wickets in hand but bcz pressure was being released from the otehr end, hassan was just being played out normally initially and then bashed in the end...

Hasan Ali is growing in stature, that is what performing in places like England and in tournaments does. A few more big performances, and he will become a household name. The likes of Fleming are already very impressed, and plenty of lucrative T20 contracts are coming his way. Perhaps a county deal as well.

Cant agree more

Amir. He's on a Different level

So far at the Champions trophy

Amir: 18.1-1-82-0, at 4.53
Hassan: 18-1-94-4, at 5.22

1.Number of deliveries bowled: Amir=119, Hassan=118

Almost same number of deliveries

2.Runs conceded: Amir=82, Hassan=94

Hassan conceded 12 runs, more than Amir

3.Wickets taken(This should be the priority in the modern game): Amir=0, Hassan=4(Of Yuvraj, Faf, Duminy, Parnell)

Amir really needs to work oh his lenght if he wants to go for wicket.

Is Amir accurate? Yes he is, hands down.

But his accuracy needs to be shifted a little fuller and he might get us few wickets af the start.

Yes I know that the conditions are not very suited to swing bowling, but than he should atleast give it an over or two from a fuller lenght and if it doesnt work fair enough revert back to the defensive line.

Even Wasim Akram used to tell that when pitch is not helping try to restrict the runs but atleast Amir should try to check whether it is helping or not for few balls.

Big fan of Amir but it is Hassan Ali who looks more threatening right now.Hassan is the best bowler right now in our ODI or T20 side and soon will become one of the best in the world too.

Pakistan is blessed to have both. Hasan Ali is ahead for now. He bowls that attacking line and length and is about to pick up wickets.

ODI bowling is more of an art than talent - Amir may be more talented, but Hassan is more skilled

if I had to pick up for my ODI team, no question I'm taking Hassan

then how would you xplain him not picking wickets in games when aamir has a good economy rate.....

lets take the indian game... yes india had wickets in hand but bcz pressure was being released from the otehr end, hassan was just being played out normally initially and then bashed in the end...

As I said, they complement each other. Hasan is a genuine wicket-taker who has two 5-fers in ODIs already while Amir is yet to take a single 5-fer. However, if you think that Hasan can only take wickets because of the pressure created by Amir on the other end, you are doing great disservice to Hasan's skills and ability as a bowler. Him cleaning up the South African middle-order in the space of a few overs had nothing to do with Amir, and everything to do with his aggressive, tenacious bowling and ability to find breakthroughs.

Nonetheless, in general, it is a good pair to have because Amir is almost always economical while Hasan can take wickets frequently. The only problem is that when Hasan does not take wickets, we struggle to break through because Amir cannot take regular wickets to save his life, so Hasan is clearly the spearhead of the bowling attack at the moment, and more important than Amir.

As I said, they complement each other. Hasan is a genuine wicket-taker who has two 5-fers in ODIs already while Amir is yet to take a single 5-fer. However, if you think that Hasan can only take wickets because of the pressure created by Amir on the other end, you are doing great disservice to Hasan's skills and ability as a bowler. Him cleaning up the South African middle-order in the space of a few overs had nothing to do with Amir, and everything to do with his aggressive, tenacious bowling and ability to find breakthroughs.

Nonetheless, in general, it is a good pair to have because Amir is almost always economical while Hasan can take wickets frequently. The only problem is that when Hasan does not take wickets, we struggle to break through because Amir cannot take regular wickets to save his life, so Hasan is clearly the spearhead of the bowling attack at the moment, and more important than Amir.

Only a matter of time Hassan makes it big at test level. With this attitude, Pace picking up, red ball and reverse he will be deadly dangerous.

The blind support for Amir is shocking. For the first time I have read that despite Amir being wicket less, he shouldn't be dropped just because of his economy. What type of defensive thinking is this? Can't believe many are making lame grounds for him. Sorry state of affairs.

Hassan Ali is naturally better than Zulfiqar Babar

Hasan has been more penetrative of late, that is a fact, however Amir has a higher ceiling. He needs to get it together sooner rather than later.

If he manages to do it and Hasan continues the way he is going and Junaid continues his resurgence then Pakistan will bring back the era of 220 par score.

hasan should be given new ball while rumman should be deployed at hasan's position

but then i dont think it will happen since losing with winning combination will give selectors an excuse that the same team defeated south africa should have defeated srilanka, its not our fault

Amir only moved new ball both ways in 2010 england tour. Never seen him doing it again. I don't think there is more lethal bowler then left arm fast who can swing both ways. Problem with Amir and Junaid is they have only done it once. In case of Junaid just 1 match against India and he destroyed them, Kohli and Yuv didn't had any clue what was happening.

Honestly I would have Amir and Junaid just in the team because of how they bowled at the death in the last match. Yorker pe yorker. Even a fully set Killer Miller had no answer.

To answer this question, you only need to ask yourself who would you rather have in the team if you could only have one of them? A guy who picks up wickets consistently or someone who manages to 'beat the bat' and look good than he actually is? This notion that Amir has a good economy is rendered meaningless because he is supposed to be your PREMIER STRIKE BOWLER. If he can't pick up wickets playing that role, then the fact of the matter is he's not good enough. If he was a 4th seamer, only then could this argument be justified. He opens the bowling for crying out loud. There is ZERO threat in his bowling.

So far at the Champions trophy

Amir: 18.1-1-82-0, at 4.53
Hassan: 18-1-94-4, at 5.22

1.Number of deliveries bowled: Amir=119, Hassan=118

Almost same number of deliveries

2.Runs conceded: Amir=82, Hassan=94

Hassan conceded 12 runs, more than Amir

3.Wickets taken(This should be the priority in the modern game): Amir=0, Hassan=4(Of Yuvraj, Faf, Duminy, Parnell)
Remember Amir was not their to bowl those last overs against india otherwise his economy would be different. Hassan is bowling the middle and last overs. While Amir bowls most of his overs between the first ten. Amir's job is to get early wickets not to retain batsman. Amirs good economy doesn't matter the set batsman will attack the other bowlers if Amir doesn't remove them upfront.

Amir again wicketless so far while Hasan gets the dangerous Mendis.

Now this wicket will put some breaks on the scoring rate and put pressure on the upcoming batsmen and this is how you win matches, not by bowling economical wicketless spells.

But offcourse Hassan got the wicket due to pressure created by Amir by his presence on the same green field.

Hassan is reducing the gap between him and Amir, as far as the wickets column is concerned.

12 more months, and he would surpass the latter, I reckon.

Hasan has been sharper than Amir since his debut, oftentimes markedly so.

Hassan for now, but the way Amir bowled against SL he isn't too far either.

Better bowler? Hasan Ali. Better at beating the bat and being unlucky? Amir by far.

Both Amir and Ali have played 20 ODIs since the 2015 WC.

Ali has taken 10 more wickets (37 v 27), has a better bowling avg (24 v 33) and a better SR (26 v 38). Amir has a slightly better economy rate.

Brilliant effort from Hassan Ali picking two wickets of Bairstow and Morgan at crucial junctures and best thing about it is that he will get the credit for his wickets today and not somebody putting so called pressure from the other end.

Hasan Ali, on current form. Both are super bowlers, MashAllah.

After a short rebuilding phase, Pakistan once again have arguably, the best ODI bowling attack in the world. Amir, Junaid, Hassan, Imad, Hafeez and Shadab/Riaz/Rumman.

Hasan in the last 12 months has been much more of a wicket taking threat than Amir.

Amir is a more consistent 7/10 while Hasan can get a pasting now and again he can also deliver more 10/10 performances and rip through a team.

Lagta hai Amir ne is thread ko zyaada seriously leliya. In the end, hamari team ko haarna pada.

Amir was pure class and not many if any could replicate what he did yesterday.

He will only get better too.

Hassan Ali and Amir on a wicket with movement will both be deadly.

Brilliant bowling bowling by Amir yesterday, Not many can run through Indian top order and take the wicket of Virat Kohli twice on 2 consecutive balls.

So Aamir destroyed Indian batting pine up yesterday when Hasan looked mediocre. Sometimes Aamir looks mediocre and Hassan strikes. We need both in the team, they complement each other.

When did Hasan look mediocre? Till he got a chance to bowl, already 4 wickets were gone.

I don't like comparison like these. It's forces you take sides and I don't like doing that. Especially when both are vital for our team.

Hopefully both keep on improving their game.

When exactly did either of them look mediocre?

They are both equally good and complement each other beautifully

I agree with this statement. But just ask Rohit, Kohli and Dhawan

They will give you the answer

They are both fantastic. Amir is capable of producing more breathtaking stuff while Hassan Ali seems a lot steadier than Amir. Also, I think Amir's lower back is going to give way in a couple of years and don't expect him to last long with his action (hope to be proven wrong). Whereas, Hasan's action is a lot more fluid and he will last longer.

It's actually Hasan who produced the breathtaking deliveries this tournament. Amir bowled the best spell though.

I'm just waiting for them to open the attack in tests in decent swinging conditions. Hopefully sooner than later inshaAllah.

Bumping this thread based on a previous discussion with [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION] and [MENTION=143344]babajee[/MENTION]. I am slightly surprised that even after facts are presented their heart still feels Amir would deliver.

As far as I am concerned, to the neutral, Hasan is comfortably ahead right now. Amir doesn't even have a five wicket haul in ODI's and Hasan has made the format his own.

To me Hasan seems to be a bowler who seems to consistently perform and deliver in every game where as Amir seems to be the occasional box office giving brilliant performances like CT final and then going missing for a while.

So why is this romanticism with Amir?

Bumping this thread based on a previous discussion with [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION] and [MENTION=143344]babajee[/MENTION]. I am slightly surprised that even after facts are presented their heart still feels Amir would deliver.

As far as I am concerned, to the neutral, Hasan is comfortably ahead right now. Amir doesn't even have a five wicket haul in ODI's and Hasan has made the format his own.

To me Hasan seems to be a bowler who seems to consistently perform and deliver in every game where as Amir seems to be the occasional box office giving brilliant performances like CT final and then going missing for a while.

So why is this romanticism with Amir?

Because he makes the ball talk at 145ks with supreme control when he wants to but is currently bowling like a coward.

Bro.

Hasan is miles ahead of Amir at the moment. They aren’t in the same league.

However Amir has shown that on his day, no one can match him which is why I still have belief he can come good even though he is extremely average at the moment.

Why is this even a comparison? Hasan is leagues above the mediocre bowler.

Because he makes the ball talk at 145ks with supreme control when he wants to but is currently bowling like a coward.

When was the last time he bowled 145k+?

No picking on you at all, just curious because I always see him bowling in 130s and some time in lower 140s with his effort balls.

And the filmy dialogue of " Amir performs when he wants, but for some reason does not seem to want that " is cringeworthy. His record against top nations even after including CT final is worse than his overall record.

When was the last time he bowled 145k+?

No picking on you at all, just curious because I always see him bowling in 130s and some time in lower 140s with his effort balls.

I did not say +. NZ first ODI, T20 series. Australian test and ODI series, he bowled multiple spells at 145ks. Don't remember his exact pace from CT final but he was 140-145 there as well.

It's Hasan but I kind of feel Hasan's a little overrated. He's a top bowler, but you'd expect a top bowler to be good with the new ball and at death, kind of disappointing he isn't bowling with the new ball. Whether he's just bad at it, or simply isn't utilised I dunno. I'm also a little wary when Hasan comes to ball as if he gets it wrong he'll get punished. Has less room for error.

Amir very talented, and really should be a better bowler than Hasan but isn't. Seems to be well rounded too, can bowl well new ball or death.

But yeah would be awesome to see Hasan bowl with the new ball and cripple the opposition early rather than waiting for mid overs.

Hasan Ali is the best ODI bowler in the world ATM. I'd love to see how well he performs in Tests. Cricket desperately needs young gun bowlers like him. Amir since his comeback has been very disappointing overall.

Amir on green tops and in form is the best sight to watch since Wasim.. Apart from that he has been hit and miss and ultimately mediocre since the comeback.

Best sight since wasim? What about Anderson, Bhuveneshwar, Steyn, starc, hazelwood, dinda, praveen kumar, tom dick harry etc in such conditions? I think everyone looks great when in form and on green tops.

Yea, biggest weakness of Amir after comeback :amir2 , He needs favorable conditions to perform !

I find left arm swing bowlers better to watch than right armers.. Pre ban Amir against England and Australia was one of the best performances to watch since Wasim..

The bowlers you mentioned are great to watch as well when in full swing in favourable conditions but I guess different viewers enjoy different kind of bowling..

Both are excellent! But at the moment hasan is best in the best in the world but amir's performance in t20i series against new Zealand was very very good.He bowled with intensity and pace.He looked sharp hopefully he gets better with time.Fortunately both are in the same time.And both are gujjaron ke munde! So for me both are equally good!