Mohammad Asghar - Slow left arm orthodox spinner from Hub area

Blue_eyes

Tape Ball Star
How would you rate this guy ashger , he spins the ball more than anyone else and third highest wicket taker in presidents oneday gol cup

NBP have 5 left arm spinners in one team :O

Raza Hasan, Qaisser Abbas, Fawad Alam, M.Nawaz & M.Asghar :O

i'm guessing no one has seen this guy bowl, so how could someone rate him?

if im not wrong he was second highest wicket taker after sadaf hussain in presedents one day cup gold, his arm ball looked more deadly than arafat sunny, the way he got babar azam was fantastic , the arm ball

^I don't think we'll have 149 members in the squad anytime soon to be able to accommodate all your suggestions

[MENTION=137886]Blue_eyes[/MENTION]
Impressive stats but I have not seen him much.
If he is that good a bowler as his stats depict then it would be a good competition between him and zafar gohar in the coming season and the one who outshines will be selected for Pakistan in tests in this year or next year instead of zulfiqar Babar since he is down the hill now and rip in his deliveries has almost perished , age isn't on his side either.
Competition is always good, it encourages more commitment , dedication and hardwork among players.

Also this coming season jibran Khan niazi and Mohammad asif right arm spinners should be selected for any department teams and their actions, fitness and performance should be monitored by Pcb as we need ajmals replacement too

Does Pakistan A team have 149 members in the squad?

With the number of injuries happening lately, I would not be surprised if the total number of selected players for Pakistan & Pakistan A this year would be close to that... :P

he us better than zafar gohar, his arm ball is very lethal

he is better than zafar gohar, his arm ball is very lethal

gulam ali is very impressed with him but he says he is still young and need 1 more fc season

A very good talent and i am highly impressed by his bowling.
Zafar gohar and Asghar can be lethal combination in LOi's for pakistan in future inshaALLAH

i have heard he is hand picked by iqbal qasim from hub area.

Liked what I saw. Got lots of turn.
One to keep an eye on for sure.

Zafar, Shahzaib, Asghar & Karamat, some good spinners coming up mA.

karamat has done nothing special in domestic yet , you cant get a guy in to the side on basis of U-19 , yes shahzaib, zafar, zahid mehmood, mohammad asgher are good prospects.

Karamat isn't ready yet I agree, but he should be in 1-2 yrs time.

Needs to work on his follow through and also ball closer to the stumps at time.
[MENTION=70365]Ahson Afzal[/MENTION]
Sir you don't rate usama mir ?

karamat ali, usama mir and usman qadir all are same while zahid mehmood and yasir shah have got talent and shahzaib ahmed khan has somewhat talent too.

Please don't mention Karamat in the same sentence as Usman Qadir, Karamat is a lot, lot better than Usman.

Bowled pretty decently last night...the spin generated was similar to that of a leg spinner getting turn.
Give him another season in domestic to work on fielding, fitness and batting a bit. Bowling wise he will get better & better with time.

please yeh pay Ahson bhai yeha U-19 U-19 mat kiya karo, kaha under-19 aur kaha yeh competative cricket

Pretty young, bowls a nagging line outside off stump, not scared to give the ball a lot of flight. Was getting prodigious amount of turn, but didn't see him bowl an arm ball. Still early days for him, hasn't played any competitive cricket before this, and so is behind the likes of Gohar in the pecking order.

On a side note, I liked Kamran Ghulam more, as he also seemed to have a left arm carrom ball, which turned far more than the traditional arm ball. Left arm version of Narine/Mendis/Ashwin? Only time will tell.

Pretty young, bowls a nagging line outside off stump, not scared to give the ball a lot of flight. Was getting prodigious amount of turn, but didn't see him bowl an arm ball. Still early days for him, hasn't played any competitive cricket before this, and so is behind the likes of Gohar in the pecking order.

On a side note, I liked Kamran Ghulam more, as he also seemed to have a left arm carrom ball, which turned far more than the traditional arm ball. Left arm version of Narine/Mendis/Ashwin? Only time will tell.

Plus, we don't know about Asghar's batting credentials, which are a must in today's cricket

he bowled babar azam in one day gold cup with an arm ball , he has terific arm ball, he got many wickets with arm ball, about 75% of his wickets have come from arm ball, he is 18 young and dynamic.

please yeh pay Ahson bhai yeha U-19 U-19 mat kiya karo, kaha under-19 aur kaha yeh competative cricket

U-19 is an important step in developing a cricketer also.

But even then I said Karamat needs a year or so in domestic before he plays for PAK.

he is just 18 and he is best left arm spiner in pakistan

get him in the team as he is only 18 , he looks talented in early age like mohammad aamer

No. Way too early for him. He's not developed yet, nor does he have the experience. He should spend at least another 1-1.5 yrs in domestic before being judged again.

thats my line you are taking , i say to every youngester that he need 1 or 2 more seasons but this guy has no weak point and he should be with international team working with mushtaq ahmed

Should Mohammad Asghar be selected for the Zimbabwe series?

I may be jumping the gun but I am really impressed by him.

Kamran Ghulam and Zafar Gohar are ahead in the pecking order though but they dont get this amount of turn.

He's too young there's no way -- even though our LO spinners are not impressive. But maybe should get a shot on the A team?

I may be jumping the gun but I am really impressed by him.

Kamran Ghulam and Zafar Gohar are ahead in the pecking order though but they dont get this amount of turn.

Not sure why Ghulam is ahead of him, he's more of a batting allrounder.

Yah that's right.

With fading zulfikar babar pakistan will have to choose bw asghar and zafar gohar.

We have good spin talent coming up mA.

Asghar, Zafar, Shahzaib Ahmed, Karamat Ali & Usama Mir.

And add to that batting allrounders like Mohammad Nawaz & Kamran Ghulam.

No.

He's way too young and needs more developing. He's a good prospect though.

Mohammad Asghar, Usama Mir, Mustafa Iqbal, Junaid Ilyas, Shahzaib, Zafar & Karamat

then Yasir & Raza Hasan

Best spinning talent in the whole WORLD.

Mohammad Asghar, Usama Mir, Mustafa Iqbal, Junaid Ilyas, Shahzaib, Zafar & Karamat

then Yasir & Raza Hasan

Best spinning talent in the whole WORLD.

Hype hype hype hype and hypeee ^^ BD

Actually Yasir, Asghar, Zafar, Shahzaib, Usama & Karamat are quality. Mustafa Iqbal is the Lahore Lions left arm spinner, I think, he's alright, not sure what BD sees in Junaid Ilyas, he's mediocre. Raza Hasan won't be selected due to his "extra-curricular activities" as the Super 8 commies put it. :D

And also Usman Qadir

And I have been told by some that Junaid is a very good bowler.

I don't know man, we over hyped Sami Aslam to the max and are now replacing him with Shehzad.

Babar Azam we haven't seen yet.

Mukhtar Ahmed and Saad Nasim, both are average and far from quality. Yasir Shah has played all his test matches on Asian dustbowls and we are over hyping him too.

Asghar is still too new to the scene. He needs at least 1 or 2 more seasons in the domestics before he gets any national call-up imo. That would also determine how good he is and whether or not it warrants a call-up or not. At the moment, he shows great potential, but rushing him in the international scene could hurt his confidence if things don't go well. I would play it safe and just have the lad take up some FC seasons so he can gain some personal experience, then transition him into green colors. I'm pretty sure he will play for Pakistan though in the near future, looks really good so far.

Lol Asghar has played 7 List A and 2 FC matches and you guys are wanting him in the National side?

Unbelievable.

And also Usman Qadir

And I have been told by some that Junaid is a very good bowler.

Don't rate Qadir much either, he's just got his father's reputation. His stats are quite poor, to say the least.
Junaid is a classical offie, and its hard to be a really good bowler when you don't have a doosra unless you're Graeme Swann.
He was taken to the cleaners in the Pentangular Cup.

I don't know man, we over hyped Sami Aslam to the max and are now replacing him with Shehzad.

Babar Azam we haven't seen yet.

Mukhtar Ahmed and Saad Nasim, both are average and far from quality. Yasir Shah has played all his test matches on Asian dustbowls and we are over hyping him too.

I don't think Sami will be dropped, even PCB is not that bad.
Babar Azam is really good, I've been following him since he's 16, so I know. I rate him very, very high.

Mukhtar is a bit of a hack, and Nasim is a mediocre player who's being played at the wrong position anyway - he is NOT a hitter. But despite that, we have other better middle-order options. He's a like-able guy, but sadly that's not a criterion for selection.

Yasir has done well in Tests so far, and he is continuously improving as he works with Mushtaq. he's already developed a googly, and the ball he bowled to Kayes was a sign of his quality. He's still a work in progress, but I expect him to continue improving and become a very good Test bowler for us.

Don't rate Qadir much either, he's just got his father's reputation. His stats are quite poor, to say the least.
Junaid is a classical offie, and its hard to be a really good bowler when you don't have a doosra unless you're Graeme Swann.
He was taken to the cleaners in the Pentangular Cup.

I don't think Sami will be dropped, even PCB is not that bad.
Babar Azam is really good, I've been following him since he's 16, so I know. I rate him very, very high.

Mukhtar is a bit of a hack, and Nasim is a mediocre player who's being played at the wrong position anyway - he is NOT a hitter. But despite that, we have other better middle-order options. He's a like-able guy, but sadly that's not a criterion for selection.

Yasir has done well in Tests so far, and he is continuously improving as he works with Mushtaq. he's already developed a googly, and the ball he bowled to Kayes was a sign of his quality. He's still a work in progress, but I expect him to continue improving and become a very good Test bowler for us.

Saad Nasim is a like able guy? Hmmm there was a bit of drama on Twitter regarding him yesterday, but that's a whole different story :D

Lol Asghar has played 7 List A and 2 FC matches and you guys are wanting him in the National side?

Unbelievable.

He should get into the team in a year or so, I guess. ZIM tour is way too early.
I hope Zafar Gohar is given a chance for the ZIM games, but seems unlikely since he's with the A team.

He's just 18 and gets loads of spin, so he's a really really good prospect. Take a look for yourself (I know the shot was pathetic lol, but look at that ball spin)

009146053192223042246058065188138162244193233078.gif

Unbelievable.

David Warner hadn't played a single first class game when he was selected for Australia in the 2010 World T20 IIRC.

Sometimes it is better to introduce raw talent to the international stage instead of waiting for them to turn 30 and gain that so called experience. Pakistan in the past used to introduce young players and it definitely worked.

He should get into the team in a year or so, I guess. ZIM tour is way too early.
I hope Zafar Gohar is given a chance for the ZIM games, but seems unlikely since he's with the A team.

He's just 18 and gets loads of spin, so he's a really really good prospect. Take a look for yourself (I know the shot was pathetic lol, but look at that ball spin)

009146053192223042246058065188138162244193233078.gif

Yeah I was watching the game live he looks a good bowler and good future prospect for Pakistan InshaAllah

David Warner hadn't played a single first class game when he was selected for Australia in the 2010 World T20 IIRC.

Sometimes it is better to introduce raw talent to the international stage instead of waiting for them to turn 30 and gain that so called experience. Pakistan in the past used to introduce young players and it definitely worked.

Exactly.

The more u play in Pakistan domestic cricket, the worse you get. Makes you develop bad habits.

Really like the look of him, big turn and decent flight. I would like to see him train with the senior Squad and if he continues to look good, give him a go.

Absolutely no harm in giving this kid a go, especially seem as though Zafar can't be selected due to being on tour with the A team. Would be great to see us throwing a youngster in to the deep(ish) end after a long while of relying on seasoned domestic campaigners.