Mohammad Hafeez : "I am blessed to be very good in all three facets of the game"

Pakistan will try alternate openers in the tour game after the second match

LOL ... he has always been a mediocre cricketer and lacks consistency, at least for AWAY tours pick a new opener (not Shehzad)

I can't believe he actually said this. Even virat smith and Root wouldn't say this

A stuck in the basement stevey wonder would make more runs than "Shehad", grow up and get that below average player out of your head.

Oh yeah?

As Masood showed - this pitch does not have any demons in it and one just needs to apply himself.

Unlike your heroes - Hafeez and Azhar who continue to fail time and time again on this tour.

Shehzad would have scored more runs than either of them - he has the capacity to play a long innings and his footwork would not matter either since it is a flat pitch.

Oh yeah?

As Masood showed - this pitch does not have any demons in it and one just needs to apply himself.

Unlike your heroes - Hafeez and Azhar who continue to fail time and time again on this tour.

Shehzad would have scored more runs than either of them - he has the capacity to play a long innings and his footwork would not matter either since it is a flat pitch.

I'm anti-Hafeez and Azhar as well, average to below average players are not required, but I understand why you would assume I'm pro Hafeez and Azhar because every other person on this forum seems to be so that's fine.

But yeah, let's get back to talking about Below Average Shehzad.

I'm anti-Hafeez and Azhar as well, average to below average players are not required, but I understand why you would assume I'm pro Hafeez and Azhar because every other person on this forum seems to be so that's fine.

But yeah, let's get back to talking about Below Average Shehzad.

"Below Average Shehzad" would have succeeded at Old Trafford and atleast played out the new ball. He can grind out a long innings and that is exactly what would have been needed by Shehzad and Masood after England piled on 589l

and how are you so sure of his ability to do all that you just said? talk about blind fans.

How can I be convinced on that (Shehzad's part)? All he has played is in UAE, where MoHa actually has out performed him in recent years. Both are almost similar in technique - no footwork but brilliant timer of the ball, a bunny against moving ball. MoHa actually is better than Ahmed in Asia because he plays spinner better.

I don't think, Ahmed is the solution. Besides, his attitude & work ethics are not satisfactory. Above all, he is a disturbing element in such tough tours - this is from someone admirer of Shehzad since he was a genuine teenager.

I don't get why Hafeez gets so many chances. Not to bash him for his performance today only.
But Hafeez is very useful when he bowls for us. Now that he is banned from bowling, he isn't good enough
bat to be guaranteed a spot in the top order. We have other deserving players...Rizwan is one.

In ODI, is Hafeez going to be better in 3years than now? No. Then why we not using his slot to develop some youngsters.

Ignoring the other major flaws, his footwork on his defence is different from his offensive shots which is why he's always caught in two minds.

Your offensive shots are simply, or rather, should be, an extension of your defence.

LOL. Shahzad would have been the first one out.

He is mentally weaker than even Hafeez. Failed in 2 WCs, can't bat in pressure situations to save his life.

Needs to be booted out of the side forr 3rd test and him and shan masood can spend rest of time fishing around the uk!

Bowlers bowling their hearts out , keeping it dry and he just ruins the good work.

Could have cost us this game. :facepalm:

he did and not only this also other games...Pakistan would have done better if not for horrible fielding in 2nd test too.

Hafeez is absolutely horrible for team.

he did and not only this also other games...Pakistan would have done better if not for horrible fielding in 2nd test too.

Hafeez is absolutely horrible for team.

The sad thing is he will be in the team in all formats for a while yet

Ironic. Rahat got his comeuppance after setting Root up so beautifully. He did the same to Wahab in the World Cup.

Loser because of poor fielding: Pakistan

The problem is that he is not done trolling Pakistan in this match yet. So fragile is his state of mind that he will promptly choke when it's his turn to bat.

I wouldn't be surprised if Hafeez somehow finds his way into the team for the WIs series and then cashes in against a weak opposition on easy pitches. You'll then be stuck with him for the tours down under.

i would rather have nawaz in the team where he can score few more runs and bowl few over than hafeez any day

I wouldn't be surprised if Hafeez somehow finds his way into the team for the WIs series and then cashes in against a weak opposition on easy pitches. You'll then be stuck with him for the tours down under.

He'll haunt us forever. Just can't get rid of him :|

The problem is that he is not done trolling Pakistan in this match yet. So fragile is his state of mind that he will promptly choke when it's his turn to bat.

He trolled Amir today, trolled him in 1 of the tests too. :hafeez

blood boils when I see this guy fielding in the slip cordon again and again across all formats... Its pathetic, Misbah n Azhar ali both keep him in the slips where he cant grab a regulation sky high catch, Hope he doesnt get selected for the only T20I in England...

He's a dishonest man. He has got out on the same type of bowl for a bajillion times now. Has he even bothered to improve himself? Him , Akmal , Shehzad and Afridi only play for money paisa banao cricket aur mulk jaye bhaar mein.

pathetic fielder especially his slip fielding, his batting is mediocre and hes banned from bowling. Jack of all trades and master on none!

end of the line for him. one of the easiest predictions to make

Only problem now is he is playing for his place-
He is quite a free scoring player and I expect him to be our top scorer in this series with Babar.

But now he is going to be forced to play a selfish innings- which is not the need of the hour.

Really needs to get his bowling back to help us. A milllion times better all round criceter than imad. Then we can get our power hitter in at number 8.

Bashing him because he failed in one innings? :facepalm: People forget tests and ODIs are different formats. Give him the full series before calling him a failure.

Only problem now is he is playing for his place-
He is quite a free scoring player and I expect him to be our top scorer in this series with Babar.

But now he is going to be forced to play a selfish innings- which is not the need of the hour.

Really needs to get his bowling back to help us. A milllion times better all round criceter than imad. Then we can get our power hitter in at number 8.

He will not be the topscorer.
He will be out after third odi.
He should not be compared to imad, because (a) imad is a rubbish allrounder and should be replaced and (b) he is playing as a pure batsman who is not good enough.
Azhar ali will be your top scored at a strike rate of 70.

Bashing him because he failed in one innings? :facepalm: People forget tests and ODIs are different formats. Give him the full series before calling him a failure.

pakistan doesnt have the luxury to lose another series by this give time nonsense. I need no crystal ball to know that hafeez will fail outside of asia whatever the format.

Has been Pakistan's best ODI batsman since 2010. Does that count for nothing? Also he didn't fail the last time he played in NZ. I agree that he should not be in the plans for the Next World Cup along with Malik but I doubt he can be axed so quickly .

He will not be the topscorer.
He will be out after third odi.
He should not be compared to imad, because (a) imad is a rubbish allrounder and should be replaced and (b) he is playing as a pure batsman who is not good enough.
Azhar ali will be your top scored at a strike rate of 70.

Azhar Ali will be "our" top scorer is what u mean to say.
One thing is clear to me that we need hafeez bowling as he used to for us to be able to field the perfect combination. Also hafeez has beebeen our best odi batter for the last 3 years by a country mile. People just want to ignore this.
He deserves at least 3 games if not the whole series before he is discarded.

Did u see the last odis we played before this one?
They were in nz, wickets were probably quicker and bouncer than what we have here. There is little to no sideways movement after 6 to 8 overs!!
Stop spouting hatred

Did u see the last odis we played before this one?
They were in nz, wickets were probably quicker and bouncer than what we have here. There is little to no sideways movement after 6 to 8 overs!!
Stop spouting hatred
Those wickets were not quicker. And as usual he played innings without context. He threw it away before getting to 50 in one innings and threw it away without getting to a century in the other score. I go back to the same point he is a weak character who wilts under pressure. But yes you will get one useless 50 from him on this tour. Beyond this tour his career is toast.

Has been Pakistan's best ODI batsman since 2010. Does that count for nothing? Also he didn't fail the last time he played in NZ. I agree that he should not be in the plans for the Next World Cup along with Malik but I doubt he can be axed so quickly .

To the casual observer these are very valid reasons to play Hafeez. For me they count for next to nothing because I have seen Hafeez for most of his career. I have for instance been clear on the forum that he deserved his shot in the test team, but I was also clear from day one that he will fail on the test tour. Just as I am clear that he deserves to play more odi's on this tour, but I am also career he will fail in those as well.
It's not his fault that he does not have the mental strength to pay big when the chips are down.

Hafeez, Sharjeel, will be dropped soon... rizwan and sami waiting for their chances like eagles..

Hafeez is mentally shattered but will score a selfish century if he plays all 5 matches...

What a nice stroke by Hafeez. He knows very well that he is sitting on the bench so he fakes an injury to leave the door open.

Injured again? Same old trick to prolong his dreadful career. WC mein bhi "injured" hokay bhaag gaya tha responsibility say. He should never be selected again.

He will fake injury till WC 2019 and then beg to Inzi then he can be the saviour and give him 3 more chances and we will not qualify from the group just like WC2015 when Younis Khan failed so badly. This is forever the story of Pakistan cricket post 2000.

I do not rate Hafeez as a brilliant cricketer or an excellent cricketer but

Since 2010 No Pakistani Cricketer has scored more Odi Hundreds than Hafeez and Hafeez has bagged most number of MOM for Pakistan contributing with both Bat and Ball. His economical bowling cannot be ignored.

When such a player gets dropped from Odi team due to fitness concerns than what is expected of him ?

A. To get fit again

B. To prove his form and fitness in domestic cricket.

Hafeez averaged 40 plus in Odi Cricket in last 2 years. I am pretty sure that his SR would have been atleast 85.

Hafeez was an excellent student who passed FSC Pre Engineering and was about to join an Engineering University. Such a person does not need to play with his age as is the case with many others. So he is a genuine 36 years 77 days old (in my view)

In our team we have Irfan unofficially 34 years 6 months old and Shoaib Malik who is unofficially 34 years 11 months old and has been playing for Pakistan for 18 years.

Shoaib is in team on merit although his record against top 4 bowling sides of any era has always been average or below average just like Hafeez except the fact that Hafeez had an edge due to superior bowling after malik's action was changed needlessly some 16 years ago.

While Irfan is a gamble which may pay off here but can he last champions trophy or WC2019 ? Whole tournament if we go far ? Very very unlikely.

We have Umar Akmal & Asad Shafiq in our Odi team who have played I think 1 and 2 Odi's since their comeback.

Rizwan averages 15 in last 10 Odi's between Oct 2015 to Oct 2016 at a SR of 76 and highest score of 34*.

With Imad being in the playing eleven what is the need of Nawaz to be in the playing eleven aswell ? Only have one of them. What is the need of having two left arm spinners to bowl 20 overs ? Were the wickets in England dust ball crumbling spin wickets ? Or the ones in Australia with be such wickets ?

Wahab, Amir, Rahat, Imad, Nawaz 5 left arm bowlers in a squad of 15-16.

Again coming back to age if age is not a concern than if Irfan and Malik's age are not a concern than why Hafeez's age is a concern ?

These are Hafeez's returns in domestic one day cup. Which are good enough to prove form and fitness.

While our Odi ranking is dipping fast we needed Hafeez the allrounder. Dawn article says both CS and Team management were in agreement that Hafeez should be picked and will be picked but it's baffling that at last minute Selection committee dropped him.

If you are looking forward (grooming youngsters) to Champions Trophy and WC2019 than dump all players who are 33 plus and have played more than 10 years of Int Cricket. If age is not a concern than treat all players above 33 equally.

Clearly Inzamam, Arthur & Azhar have locked horns especially Coach & CS considering the Captain having lost 90 % of matches against Top 5 Odi sides is in not a strong position.

• Screenshot_20170103-114926.jpg
    Screenshot_20170103-114926.jpg
    33.5 KB · Views: 237
  • Screenshot_20170103-115012.jpg
    Screenshot_20170103-115012.jpg
    33.7 KB · Views: 238
Just hate this guy as a cricketer.

He is a terrible person as well. He knows he is trash and yet still occupies spot in the 11.

Should have given up his spot voluntarily so some young gun with actual talent could play.

He is a terrible person as well. He knows he is trash and yet still occupies spot in the 11.

Should have given up his spot voluntarily so some young gun with actual talent could play.

It's rubbish to say we don't have talent or players. It's just that these nobodies like Hafeez, Farhat, Shehzad .etc never leave us.

Hafeez yaar have some self-respect. 18 years of internationals and you still play like a jittery debutant.