Mohammad Hafeez on a local new channel:
"Phir seeti bajay gi, phir stage sajay ga aur phir ishtihari superstars bahar ayen gay... wah kya baat hai!"
"you won't understand a thing because our foundation is the PSL. Until we move away from that mindset—that we aren't here for the PSL, we are here for Pakistan Cricket so nothing will change. The day the Pakistan Cricket Board's (PCB) direction is set toward Pakistan Cricket, everything will be fine."
"Right now, the biggest problem is that everything revolves around the PSL. Yes, it’s a great success for Pakistan; it’s a very profitable venture and we support it. But the deterioration of Pakistan Cricket is also happening because of this board."
"We have to look after the actual game of cricket. Until that happens, you cannot win bilateral series or ICC Champions Trophies. You can't win because your mindset isn't right when facing big teams"
"You have to invest correctly in cricket. As Shoaib [Akhtar] mentioned regarding system implementation, our neighboring country [India] wasn't better than us initially. We used to be far superior. But why have we fallen so low while they have proven themselves to be the best in the world, performing in every condition? You have to give credit to their administration and their focus on player growth. Here, until we start thinking about cricket for the sake of Pakistan, things won't improve.
"Honestly, I just want to avoid getting fined, so I don't want to say anything about this bilateral series that might cause someone offense. My prayers are with Pakistan Cricket because right now, we are all sitting here in pain. We don’t want to be doing shows where we have to discuss Pakistan failing to reach semifinals or finals."
"It’s painful to see a lack of significant performances. All we can do is pray that wherever the Pakistan team goes, the players grow but unfortunately the system is not prepared for that."
===
The fact is that these lyrics were from the PSL Season 8 song that Mohammad Hafeez referred to:
“The whistles will blow once more, the stage will be grandly set, and once again the ‘commercial superstars’ will step into the spotlight.”
"Phir seeti bajay gi, phir stage sajay ga aur phir ishtihari superstars bahar ayen gay... wah kya baat hai!"
"you won't understand a thing because our foundation is the PSL. Until we move away from that mindset—that we aren't here for the PSL, we are here for Pakistan Cricket so nothing will change. The day the Pakistan Cricket Board's (PCB) direction is set toward Pakistan Cricket, everything will be fine."
"Right now, the biggest problem is that everything revolves around the PSL. Yes, it’s a great success for Pakistan; it’s a very profitable venture and we support it. But the deterioration of Pakistan Cricket is also happening because of this board."
"We have to look after the actual game of cricket. Until that happens, you cannot win bilateral series or ICC Champions Trophies. You can't win because your mindset isn't right when facing big teams"
"You have to invest correctly in cricket. As Shoaib [Akhtar] mentioned regarding system implementation, our neighboring country [India] wasn't better than us initially. We used to be far superior. But why have we fallen so low while they have proven themselves to be the best in the world, performing in every condition? You have to give credit to their administration and their focus on player growth. Here, until we start thinking about cricket for the sake of Pakistan, things won't improve.
"Honestly, I just want to avoid getting fined, so I don't want to say anything about this bilateral series that might cause someone offense. My prayers are with Pakistan Cricket because right now, we are all sitting here in pain. We don’t want to be doing shows where we have to discuss Pakistan failing to reach semifinals or finals."
"It’s painful to see a lack of significant performances. All we can do is pray that wherever the Pakistan team goes, the players grow but unfortunately the system is not prepared for that."
===
The fact is that these lyrics were from the PSL Season 8 song that Mohammad Hafeez referred to:
“The whistles will blow once more, the stage will be grandly set, and once again the ‘commercial superstars’ will step into the spotlight.”