[VIDEO] "Phir seeti bajay gi, phir stage sajay ga aur phir ishtihari superstars bahar ayen gy": Mohammad Hafeez

Cricket Warrior

Mohammad Hafeez on a local new channel:

"Phir seeti bajay gi, phir stage sajay ga aur phir ishtihari superstars bahar ayen gay... wah kya baat hai!"

"you won't understand a thing because our foundation is the PSL. Until we move away from that mindset—that we aren't here for the PSL, we are here for Pakistan Cricket so nothing will change. The day the Pakistan Cricket Board's (PCB) direction is set toward Pakistan Cricket, everything will be fine."

"Right now, the biggest problem is that everything revolves around the PSL. Yes, it’s a great success for Pakistan; it’s a very profitable venture and we support it. But the deterioration of Pakistan Cricket is also happening because of this board."

"We have to look after the actual game of cricket. Until that happens, you cannot win bilateral series or ICC Champions Trophies. You can't win because your mindset isn't right when facing big teams"

"You have to invest correctly in cricket. As Shoaib [Akhtar] mentioned regarding system implementation, our neighboring country [India] wasn't better than us initially. We used to be far superior. But why have we fallen so low while they have proven themselves to be the best in the world, performing in every condition? You have to give credit to their administration and their focus on player growth. Here, until we start thinking about cricket for the sake of Pakistan, things won't improve.

"Honestly, I just want to avoid getting fined, so I don't want to say anything about this bilateral series that might cause someone offense. My prayers are with Pakistan Cricket because right now, we are all sitting here in pain. We don’t want to be doing shows where we have to discuss Pakistan failing to reach semifinals or finals."

"It’s painful to see a lack of significant performances. All we can do is pray that wherever the Pakistan team goes, the players grow but unfortunately the system is not prepared for that."

===

The fact is that these lyrics were from the PSL Season 8 song that Mohammad Hafeez referred to:

“The whistles will blow once more, the stage will be grandly set, and once again the ‘commercial superstars’ will step into the spotlight.”

Can't blame the PCB for prioritizing the PSL. It provides them a back up for the ICC annual revenues.

After watching a lot of Pakistani cricket analysis shows this World cup. My analysis is this:

You may have noticed, an open admission by a lot of Pakistani ex-players that India is a much better team, which totally deserved to win. Which may appear gracious, barring few sour pusses like Mohd Amir.

This also belies the supremacist delusion a lot of madrasa educated commoners have, it suddenly comes to fore the next time India plays Pakistan. The “Aghaa-ji” jingoism returns. Maybe it’s performative. But it’s there.

But the common refrain from TV always is - Pakistani cricket is not run well, there is a direct dig at management & selection. It seems every ex-player wants a job with PCB. Given there is no vacancy at IPL. Every analysis is like a Job application. Then they get those jobs. Pakistan team loses again. Those guys are back on TV hot seats, saying “system kharab hai” Ask Ramiz Raza.

Junta both sides get to enjoy 2x matches. One to watch (where your team is playing) and the other to Hate-watch (where your neighbor is playing)

The bottomline is - The Talent pool is mediocre. You can try out numerous permutations & combinations, it will still give you mediocre results. It’s a function of investment in cricket. Which is a function of your economy. Sad.

Says the clown who made Farhan bat at 5 and 7, whilst opening the innings with Haseebullah in T20

Throwing in hate in the direction of PSL is not a good attitude. Hafeez in the same breath will go on to say that IPL has improved Indian cricket immensely. That's just inability to analyze the situation.

There is a proper need to manage the funds that are being generated via PSL. Players also get into contention for the national team after one season which is an administrative issue & not PSLs fault.

This is the revenue of PCB

ICC Payout: 35 Million USD
PSL Fra-fee: 35 Million USD
Other headers like partnership, advertisement, OTT platforms, merchandise: Unknown

In my view there should be a formula set in stone in terms of internal PCB revenue model e.g.

30% revenue = player salaries (international - domestic)
10% revenue = Ground staff & infrastructure development
20% revenue = School college university club cricket
20% revenue = New ground development
10% revenue = Invest in developing a production company + OTT platforms etc.
10% revenue = Build PCB emergency funds/reserves

There should be 0 salary and benefits for the PCB head. They should just have someone who is rich and passionate for this job so they don't continue to leach the system. Have a board meeting in Dubai? OCB buys one economy return ticket while they can find their own accommodation there through their own resources.

Get someone in like Mian Mansha or Malik Riaz who run PCB like a business & get some titles instead of whatever clowns they have. They do need proper directors who can run the day to day affairs of cricket but the won't need to travel.

PSL is a convenient scapegoat and it is likely jealousy from ex players who feel like they didn't have the same opportunity back in their day.

Why wouldn't the premier domestic T20 tournament in Pakistan be a basis for international selection?

The bashing of PSL from fans and ex players must stop. If you are so keen on other domestic cricket, I would request you to use your powerful connections, and YouTube channels etc to cover the QEA trophy and bring attention to it.

Has any ex player produced a video on a QEA match where they analyse it? Any of the fans who moan about PSL ever attended a FC match?

It is easy to bash it and offer up no effort to develop an alternative solution.