Mohammad Rizwan can become our best chaser

The Last Of The Stars

I still remember two of his match winning knocks, while chasing, last year in a domestic T20 cup, where he had the touch of Virat Kohli in him. The way he was finding gaps effortlessly, was a treat to watch. Watching Kohli's knock today reminded me of his two amazing knocks.

If he works hard on his weaknesses and earns himself a call up, he has in him to become our best chaser in limited overs cricket, he has the shades of Virat Kohli's temperament in him.

Not sure but he is a much better LOI prospect as a keeper than Sarfraz. Give him a good run in the ODI and T20 team as the wk in place of Sarfraz. It might sound weird right now but he will be much better than Sarfraz in the long term

Had you watched his two match winning knocks last year? It was Kohli-esque. This guy is more than just a wicket keeper batsman. He is a pure batsman. Potentially way better than Sarfraz in limited overs cricket.

Great fielder . Great athlete . Great fitness. Great passion. Great Attitude.

Technical issues in batting. Not stable enough during shot making. Weak of quick short balls. Very weak against spinners. No release shot against spinners except sweep shot.

Limited short range overall.

I don't think any team will have a Kohli again.

Not even India.

He's a machine. If there ever was a person who has "ice in his veins" Kohli would be that man.

If this suggestion is taken seriously, Rizwan is still not a good fit. His weakness against spin is glaring. Kohli is able to dominate because he doesn't have technicai issues. Commentators get desperate with his "weak zones". There is no weak zone. :))

Joe Root is the only guy who could ever come close.

Not even India.

He's a machine. If there ever was a person who has "ice in his veins" Kohli would be that man.

If this suggestion is taken seriously, Rizwan is still not a good fit. His weakness against spin is glaring. Kohli is able to dominate because he doesn't have technicai issues. Commentators get desperate with his "weak zones". There is no weak zone. :))

I don't want another Kohli either. I see some shades of Kohli in Rizwan. I found two of his match winning knocks, last year, very impressive. It was Kohli-esque.

A bold claim don't think he can be as good as virat but I definitely think Rizwan can be a solid player for us

Rizwan is a good talent but he will never be as good as Kohli. But he can still be very good for us if he can improve his game against spin.

Had you watched his two match winning knocks last year? It was Kohli-esque. This guy is more than just a wicket keeper batsman. He is a pure batsman. Potentially way better than Sarfraz in limited overs cricket.

Pure batsman who cant play spin to save his life, and very poor on fast bowling too! limited technique, sarfraz is still better than rizwan

I still remember two of his match winning knocks, while chasing, last year in a domestic T20 cup, where he had the touch of Virat Kohli in him. The way he was finding gaps effortlessly, was a treat to watch. Watching Kohli's knock today reminded me of his two amazing knocks.

If he works hard on his weaknesses and earns himself a call up, he has in him to become our best chaser in limited overs cricket, he has the shades of Virat Kohli's temperament in him.

The quality of our domestic cricket is crap sorry to say. Cant judge a player based on it.

I'm not sure he's good enough, but we have spaces free lower order in our line up (both ODIs and T20s), so I wouldn't mind trying them. What I like at least his fitness is great as is his fielding so it's sets a good precedent and he'll save runs in the field. There is also not too much competition as well, so might as well.

In ODIs something like:

1. Sarfraz (c)
2. Babar Azam
3. Hafeez
4. Fawad Alam
5. Malik
6. Umar Akmal
7. Rizwan

That wouldn't be bad.

Our only good chaser is Malik but he doesn't have the ability to switch gears.

He can match what Kohli did today for 75% of the innings. Rotate the strike and minimize the dot balls, with the odd boundary.

However, Kohli's acceleration in his last 10-15 deliveries is beyond Malik's ability.

I'm not sure he's good enough, but we have spaces free lower order in our line up (both ODIs and T20s), so I wouldn't mind trying them. What I like at least his fitness is great as is his fielding so it's sets a good precedent and he'll save runs in the field. There is also not too much competition as well, so might as well.

In ODIs something like:

1. Sarfraz (c)
2. Babar Azam
3. Hafeez
4. Fawad Alam
5. Malik
6. Umar Akmal
7. Rizwan

That wouldn't be bad.

Remove akmal, hafeez, and fawad for harris sohail, Sami Aslam and an allrounder (imad waseem eg.)
Order should be like this.

1. Sami Aslam
2. Babar Azam
3. Harris Sohail
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Mohd Rizwan
6. Shoaib Malik
7. Imad Wasim

Rizwan at #7 is to low down the order. He's not a slogger/power hitter. He's top order bat who takes singles and doubles and builds innings. But he has potential to be a stud. If he is played in the top order.

How old will Hafeez and Malik next WC? 35+ i.e. time to move on.

1. Sami Aslam.
2. Babar Azam.
3. Mohammad Rizwan
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Sohaib Maqsood
6. Umar Akmal
7. Mohammad Nawaz

Rizwan has serious issues with spin bowling so he needs to work hard on that. And the sooner we stop comparing our players with Kohli the better. If you want to compare then compare with a maximum 10% of Kohli.

Yeah the Kohli comparisons are nonsense. First lets get Rizwan part of the team.
But i agree that the guy has potential. He's carries himself really well on and off the field.
Seems to have the work ethic and the brains to be good.

But will PCB ruin him too?

Rizwan has serious issues with spin bowling so he needs to work hard on that. And the sooner we stop comparing our players with Kohli the better. If you want to compare then compare with a maximum 10% of Kohli.

Yeah the Kohli comparisons are nonsense. First lets get Rizwan part of the team.
But i agree that the guy has potential. He's carries himself really well on and off the field.
Seems to have the work ethic and the brains to be good.

But will PCB ruin him too?
I am not saying he is our next this and that, all I said was that he has some shades in him from what I had noticed last year. No need for exaggerating the comparison thing.

His only problem is he cant hit big shots. He is same as harris sohail , fawad alam nothing else....

We have too many guys who will "develop". No one in world cricket now has shades of Kohli. He is in a class of his own. Not Root, not AB, not Steven Smith. Please stop hyping up our players to such an extent.

Exaggerated post. I am not over hyping him, if only you had watched his two knocks last year with a good cricketing sense then you may have noticed shades of Kohli in him as well.

He is terrible against spin bowling , from overs 15 to 35 he will struggle when spinners are bowling. I don't think he is a long term solution for Pakistan. We need batsmen who can play spin and quick bowling reasonably well. Our best bet is Babar Azam at the moment but he has yet to be tested , he played well in NZ though.

Shades of kohli, lol, the guy is most useless player of spin i have ever seen, and i too really like his fielding but his batting has too many flaws to be a long term option, at be he is muhammad kaif of pakistan and my dear in this day and age and specially a team like pak can't afford only a specialist fielder, so unless he really improve his over all game he is big No, for national team.

He is terrible against spin bowling , from overs 15 to 35 he will struggle when spinners are bowling. I don't think he is a long term solution for Pakistan. We need batsmen who can play spin and quick bowling reasonably well. Our best bet is Babar Azam at the moment but he has yet to be tested , he played well in NZ though.
He can improve. Don't just rule him out.

Remove akmal, hafeez, and fawad for harris sohail, Sami Aslam and an allrounder (imad waseem eg.)

1. Sami Aslam
2. Babar Azam
3. Harris Sohail
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Mohd Rizwan
6. Shoaib Malik
7. Imad Wasim

yeah that's right if you want to play rizwan then he should bat high up the order, mostly 3,4 or5 anything below this order would waste rizwan because he is not a hitter.

Pak will find players the day Pak fans stop comparing players with other international players.
Every player have their own game, no one can match each other.

Not even Kohli team mates can match him or perform like him, he is in best form of his life at moment

Pak will find players the day Pak fans stop comparing players with other international players.

Not even Kohli team mates can match him or perform like him, he is in best form of his life at moment

Dude, calm down. I said he has some shades, if he works hard, then he can become a good chaser for us, I didn't say he will be our next Kohli.

Another over the top thread.. Kohli-esqe innings hahahahaaha

Except Haris Sohail i see no player in the side who knows how to pace his innings. Our best bet is Haris Sohail but he is too injury prone.

Rizwan said he is working on playing spin bowling so give him more time before u cast him away

1. Sami Aslam
2. Babar Azam
3. Harris Sohail
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Mohd Rizwan
6. Shoaib Malik
7. Imad Wasim

Haris is injured so don't think he's coming back anytime soon. Hafeez has been performing in ODIs and tests so don't see why we should drop him. I like Fawad as unlike others he does score consistently. Don't particularly like Imad at seven, his batting isn't good enough IMO though perhaps we have to include him for the fifth bowling option.

yeah that's right if you want to play rizwan then he should bat high up the order, mostly 3,4 or5 anything below this order would waste rizwan because he is not a hitter.

I feel like this is the argument for every batsman. But we need some to bat at 6 and 7.

I think perhaps we should go back to the strategy where the new guys who aren't as established bat at 6 and 7. You earn your way up the order (unless there are vacant spaces up the order which can be filled before). That way our best batsmen bat up the order. The guys we should be introducing anyway should be able to score at a decent rate so able to bat at 6. I don't believe we necessarily need a hitter at 6 anyway, just someone who can score at a decent rate, we can settle for that atm. As long as we don't have guys up the order slowing the chase down, we don't need a hitter down the order, that's a luxury atm. We should aim to score at a quick rate throughout the innings, not bat slow and then hit at the end, teams don't tend to do that anymore. And it's extremely hard and pressurised to start hitting when you've been playing slow before.

Another over the top thread.. Kohli-esqe innings hahahahaaha

Except Haris Sohail i see no player in the side who knows how to pace his innings. Our best bet is Haris Sohail but he is too injury prone.

First of all tell me, did you even watch his two match winning knocks last year?

Rizwan can become this, Haaris can become that, Azam can become this. Band karo yar ye sb. Is it so hard for your brains to understand that first and foremost the damn SYSTEM needs to be fixed ? NO PLAYER, especially batsmen, in Pakistan can become ANYTHING unless country loving honest people are brought into government and PCB levels and proper crickting structure is promoted and implemented in Pakistan. Concentrate there.

Khud tum logon ne choron ko sar pe charhaya hua ha legend ka khitaab de de ke phir beth jate ho analysis karne

'Shahzad can be our Kohli'
'Umar can be our Kohli'
'Rizwan has shades of Kohli'

Heard it all before.

Rizwan can become this, Haaris can become that, Azam can become this. Band karo yar ye sb. Is it so hard for your brains to understand that first and foremost the damn SYSTEM needs to be fixed ? NO PLAYER, especially batsmen, in Pakistan can become ANYTHING unless country loving honest people are brought into government and PCB levels and proper crickting structure is promoted and implemented in Pakistan. Concentrate there.

Khud tum logon ne choron ko sar pe charhaya hua ha legend ka khitaab de de ke phir beth jate ho analysis karne

Stop this exaggeration. I see potential in him, if he works hard on his weaknesses, he can become our best chaser. He had played Kohli-esque match winning knocks last year, while chasing.

Oh, when?

Countless amount of times. They are too many from these three. Akmal especially against Australia and Malik against India and SA. Hafeez has been our best player in limited overs format and he has played many match winning knocks against different oppositions.

Show me two matches where they had chased down a total in a Kohli-esque way? By the way, dude, Malik and Hafeez are veterans now. I am talking about the future.

oh bhai janay do gussa, kaya totay ke tarha kohli esque kohli esque ke rat laga rakhi hai, bhai ye rizwan kbhi inzi k brabar ka chaser b nai bn skta forget about kohli, you would be the only person on planet if you still think he can even half as good a chaser as kohli, so stop this nonsense plz.

What to expect from a hopeless person like you :))

He is no better than umar akmal and has serious issues against spin and he can't hit big too.One dimensional player but he can improve he looks a nice and hardworking individual

First let him surpass Manish Pandey they may be you can compare him with Kohli.

What rubbish. Kindly read the OP first. I have based my observations on his two knocks last year. I am talking about the future. It's not that typical PP comparison.

Always been a fan of him, but teams have very quickly picked up on his weakness against legspin, specially England who bowled Rashid as soon as Rizwan came to the crease and the ploy worked every single time.

Hard to believe a kid went through our system and reached the national team with next to no proficiency against spin bowling.

Rizwan along with babar azam can be the finishes becoz they both are athletic and can run well...needs to fit sarfraz and haris sohail so where plus umar akmal....it will be a formidable lineup

Always been a fan of him, but teams have very quickly picked up on his weakness against legspin, specially England who bowled Rashid as soon as Rizwan came to the crease and the ploy worked every single time.

Hard to believe a kid went through our system and reached the national team with next to no proficiency against spin bowling.

Have patience my 'multinational' friend, he will click with time.

I dont like the direct comparisons with Sarfraz, two of them can and SHOULD co-exist in the team as both are better batsman than Shahzad and Malik, specially in ODIs.

I'm not Malik's biggest fan but he's been more than decent recently in both T20s and ODIs and deserves his place on performance. It's unfair to drop him and sets a bad precedent. Shehzad by all means can go.

I agree with the OP. When I saw him bat a year ago, I saw shades of Kohli in him too. I thought I was the only one and was too embarrassed to share that observation for fear of being made fun of but I'm glad to know I wasn't alone.

Not even Tendulkar was a great chaser. Not because of lack of shots or lack or strike rotation or lack of quick running between the wickets. He was good in all of those. It requires great mindset to execute it. Not many great can be remembered for doing that. Most recent examples are Dhoni, Bevan , Yuvraj (in prime). Even India has nobody to do that. So many things have to fall in place to be a complete run chasing machine like Kohli. First thing Kohli has wide range of shots. If you look at the 17th and 19th over. He hit the ball to three different areas in the same pattern. Faulkner 1st four through square leg 2nd fours directly opposite direction through off side 3rd six over extra cover for six. Coulternile 1st four through off side with a deliberately delayed slice shot( he just had a glance at the area just before that shot) 2nd four through fine leg 3rd four through extra cover up and over. Same pattern. Through all that hitting he was able to middle the ball through the gaps for 2s. So it required athletic running. He got that covered as well. Okay many players can play shots through these areas. But can they do it under pressure? May be this is his comfort zone. You cannot convert a batsman into a chaser. Kohli once said he would always try to finish the game one over before. Even Kohli may not be confident in last over. Dhoni is the only who is extremely comfortable in last over. That is his comfort zone. So basically unless pressure chasing is comfort zone batsman he cannot become a good chaser automatically. Having played cricket, i can say chasing under pressure is not definitely not going to be a comfort zone for many players. It is tough very very tough in the end overs to pull off quick runs without losing your wicket.

I agree with the OP. When I saw him bat a year ago, I saw shades of Kohli in him too. I thought I was the only one and was too embarrassed to share that observation for fear of being made fun of but I'm glad to know I wasn't alone.

Nice to see.

Not even Tendulkar was a great chaser. Not because of lack of shots or lack or strike rotation or lack of quick running between the wickets. He was good in all of those. It requires great mindset to execute it. Not many great can be remembered for doing that. Most recent examples are Dhoni, Bevan , Yuvraj (in prime). Even India has nobody to do that. So many things have to fall in place to be a complete run chasing machine like Kohli. First thing Kohli has wide range of shots. If you look at the 17th and 19th over. He hit the ball to three different areas in the same pattern. Faulkner 1st four through square leg 2nd fours directly opposite direction through off side 3rd six over extra cover for six. Coulternile 1st four through off side with a deliberately delayed slice shot( he just had a glance at the area just before that shot) 2nd four through fine leg 3rd four through extra cover up and over. Same pattern. Through all that hitting he was able to middle the ball through the gaps for 2s. So it required athletic running. He got that covered as well. Okay many players can play shots through these areas. But can they do it under pressure? May be this is his comfort zone. You cannot convert a batsman into a chaser. Kohli once said he would always try to finish the game one over before. Even Kohli may not be confident in last over. Dhoni is the only who is extremely comfortable in last over. That is his comfort zone. So basically unless pressure chasing is comfort zone batsman he cannot become a good chaser automatically. Having played cricket, i can say chasing under pressure is not definitely not going to be a comfort zone for many players. It is tough very very tough in the end overs to pull off quick runs without losing your wicket.

Good post. For anyone to reach the level of Kohli, especially while chasing, will require some hard work.

As a player u have to watch the best in the business and shuld ask urself. What is the difference between them and me. Dude everyone who thinks that we as fans shuldn't compare our players to other players are totally wrong. We have to compare and catch up with other players. Otherwise we ll remain always the same.

Upcoming youngsters must learn how to survive in modern cricket and what kind of cricket is required for that and if we wanna compete with other nations. We have to select people with that kind of potential and Judge them by comparing them with other players. Only then we can see if they are on the same kind of level and if they aren't.

Then why are they in the pakistan side and why are we competing with the top nations?

As a player u have to watch the best in the business and shuld ask urself. What is the difference between them and me. Dude everyone who thinks that we as fans shuldn't compare our players to other players are totally wrong. We have to compare and catch up with other players. Otherwise we ll remain always the same.

Upcoming youngsters must learn how to survive in modern cricket and what kind of cricket is required for that and if we wanna compete with other nations. We have to select people with that kind of potential and Judge them by comparing them with other players. Only then we can see if they are on the same kind of level and if they aren't.

Then why are they in the pakistan side and why are we competing with the top nations?

OPerative word is "inspired" by. It is difficult to literally copy how someone builds an innings. You can get a gist of it. But you have to decide what works for you. You have to have the innate desire of taking the onus on yourself not leaving to others. You will develop a game that suits that requirement over a period. If you look at Dhoni/Yuvraj/Kohli who are good finishers have different types of games. But they all get the job done more often than not. Kohli runs hard , builds innings from the get go and explode in the last 7 or 8 overs. Yuvraj doesn't gradually build. In between he will get some big overs. Dhoni will take it further deep and try to finish in the last 1 or 2 overs. To do this consistently you have to play percentage cricket. All three are great percentage cricketers. Dhoni is a master of percentage cricket given the fact he doesn't have wide range of shots or masterful technique. Yuvraj also used to be a good percentage cricketer. Kohli has made it fool proof mainly by relying on ground shots and placing the ball. If i have one guy Pakistan players can emulate is it is INzamam. That guy always had the run chase in control. May not have finished like Kohli is doing now. But he was part of some great chases. One that i remember owas 349 run chase against India. Though they fell short by 5, it was a great example of run chase. He wasn't even that good a runner between the wickets like Kohli or Dhoni. But he had his own game to orchestrate a chase. Bevan largely depends on aggressive running. Azharuddin used to be a great in that. I remember he and Jadeja added 225 runs partnership at almost run a ball. In his run a ball 110 plus he had hit just 7 fours. Also there was this srilankan dude Roshan Mahanama . They were chasing 299 in 40 overs in the 80s. It was a huge total those days. Mahanama made 98 in 91 balls.. He had hit ju
st 8 fours. Running was out of the world.

Our only good chaser is Malik but he doesn't have the ability to switch gears.

He can match what Kohli did today for 75% of the innings. Rotate the strike and minimize the dot balls, with the odd boundary.

However, Kohli's acceleration in his last 10-15 deliveries is beyond Malik's ability.

Spot On.

Having him keep means loosing a quality fielder in the outfield.....and pak don't have talented batsmen for whom you guys need to drop sarfraz.....give sarfraz top3 spot in the batting order...and then play rizwan at 6....and main at 7....gohar at 8....

Not even India.

You are over hyoing Kohli.

Lol...tendulkar was a great chaser.

Syed59 hit the nail on the head.

Talent alone does not make you elite. Its the hard-work, the coaching, the grooming, the countless extra hours on your own that make you great, the hunger to be great. Michael Jordan, Jerry Rice, Broadway Joe Montana, Stephen Curry aren't born w elite talent and athleticism. Especially the case for the latter 3.

Australians produce great player after great player because they have a culture of working hard, they have a system that churns out players. Personalities are not important, they system keeps churning.

Mohammad Rizwan's fifty gives Panthers win in tournament opener

A fine 36 ball 51 run knock by Pakistan's upcoming wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan gave the hosts Peshawar Panthers a hard fought five wicket win over Abbottabad Falcons in the opening match of the Peshawar Zalmi sponsored Kaun Bane Ga KPK Ka Champion T20 tournament being played at Peshawar's Arbab Niaz Stadium.

Batting first the Falcons posted a competitive first innings score of 160 for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Upcoming all-rounder Kamran Ghulam top scored with 48 off 33 balls while opener Fakhar Zaman scored 26. Test fast bowler Imran Khan senior snapped three while Imran Khan junior and Taj Wali claimed two wickets each.

In reply the hosts chased down the score in 19.3 overs, losing five wickets in the process. Besides Rizwan's Man-of-the-match winning knock, Pakistan international Iftikhar Ahmed scored 42 runs. Amjad Waqas and Sultan Mehmood took two wickets each.

In the second match of the tournament, Falcons will take on Fata Cheetas. The top two teams will play the final of the tournament on Sunday April 17, through out the week the three teams will play each other twice in the Double Round Robin format.

The winning team will take home a handsome purse of Rs 1 million.
Meanwhile team owner Javed Afridi has announced a cash prize of Rs 50,000 for the spectators who catch ball hit for sixes by the batsmen. All catchers will have their names included in the winner's draw, with one lucky winner taking home the cash prize.

The tournament was today inaugurated by children from an orphanage run in Peshawar.

Another clutch knock.

Great fielder . Great athlete . Great fitness. Great passion. Great Attitude.

Technical issues in batting. Not stable enough during shot making. Weak of quick short balls. Very weak against spinners. No release shot against spinners except sweep shot.

Limited short range overall.

Almost 3 years have gone by and there is zero improvement.

Two years already wasted by not developing Umair Masood.