Mohammad Rizwan needs to be held accountable for his match losing knocks and brain fades

Savak

Test Captain
The match losing knocks which come to my mind are the following

1) Asia Cup T-20 Final vs Sri Lanka 2022
2) South Africa 1st T20 2024

That shot he played against Mulder in the first innings on a flat wicket where Pakistan was trying to desperately save the test match was unacceptable. You can argue he threw away his wicket in the second innings as well against Maharaj.

Against Bangladesh in the first test second innings when Pakistan was desperately trying to save the test match, he played aggressively and kept exposing the tail to the Bangladeshi spinners. In the second test in the second innings he chased a wide delivery, got out and exposed the tail to the Bangladeshi seamers.

Let's not forget his knock against India in the 2024 T20 WC and then the irresponsible shot he played against Bhumrah who was India's main weapon.

Is it right and fair for such a senior player to keep habitually getting away with such selfish knocks at the expense of the team. Will this guy ever be held accountable for his selfish irresponsible batting?

He’s held accountable by:

-Being appointed as captain
-Category A contract with PCB
-Platinum Category in the PSL
-Team selection to revolve around him
-Choice of wherever he wants to bat

He is Pakistan’s MVP @shaz619

That shot he played against Mulder in the first innings on a flat wicket where Pakistan was trying to desperately save the test match was unacceptable. You can argue he threw away his wicket in the second innings as well against Maharaj.

Against Bangladesh in the first test second innings when Pakistan was desperately trying to save the test match, he played aggressively and kept exposing the tail to the Bangladeshi spinners. In the second test in the second innings he chased a wide delivery, got out and exposed the tail to the Bangladeshi seamers.

Let's not forget his knock against India in the 2024 T20 WC and then the irresponsible shot he played against Bhumrah who was India's main weapon.

Is it right and fair for such a senior player to keep habitually getting away with such selfish knocks at the expense of the team. Will this guy ever be held accountable for his selfish irresponsible batting?
Not just those 2

1) 2021 Nz and Afg: He left asif ali to chase 25 of 12 twice. No one points towards these 2 metrics because Pakistan won simply cause a batter who never once performed in his life pulled a miracle twice.

2) 2022 asia cup vs Sri lanka as you pointed out, but he never performed properly in the cup.

3) serial failure in 2022 wc.

4) 2024 wc 31 of 44 on a minefield pitch where the only way to win is to pull a pant and attack from the get go at opening or no 3.

5) finishing wc 2024 at a sr of 90

6) sa game 1st t20 rubbish performance.

Now coming to tests

1) getting Pakistan bowled put quickly in the 2nd innings collapse vs bang due to frequently taking singles and giving tail enders like shaheen the strike as compared to Luton das who expertly batted with the tail.

2) not being held accountable for his failures vs eng while even babar was punished.

3) Horrible Performances in sa test series.

I'll give him credit that he hasn't been that bad in odi so far.

How long will people latch onto

1) India game t20 2021
2) Sri Lanka game wc 2023
3) 2 hundreds vs c string aus in 2019
4) aus test performance in 2024?

^^ Genuinely how long will people latch onto this and ignore the heaps of crap he has committed that I have lifted down?

I'm so furious right now, I'm not even able to speak English properly and write a proper sentence. Thats how mad i am at this garbage t20 opener.

Completely agree on these two knocks... especially at Asia Cup final against Sri Lanka because that cost us the title.

Sa 1st t20 2024. Let's start with this

Okay. So basically you're saying Rizwan single handidly lost us that match.

Well let me present one your arguments. Why couldn't Usman Khan play like David Miller?

You used this argument for the Pak vs Ind saying Rizwan should've played like Pant

Okay. So basically you're saying Rizwan single handidly lost us that match.

Well let me present one your arguments. Why couldn't Usman Khan play like David Miller?

You used this argument for the Pak vs Ind saying Rizwan should've played like Pant
Different scenarios.

One is a minefield pitch where we observed that the pitch gets harder and harder to bat on. It's either opening or bust.

This was a standard t20 pitch.

Rizwan took 10.2 overs to score 74 leaving the entire team 58 deliveries to chase down 109 runs. So the whole team has to play at an sr of 187 lol.

Secondly Pant played at a sr of 140. 187 sr is madness compared to 140 sr which is standard.

Secondly this whole thread is about rizwan. Why aren't you holding him accountable?

Lastly Usman khan and David Miller 🤣🤣🤣. One is a recent debutant who has very little experience the others like Pant, Rizwan, Miller are veterans who have been playing for 5 to 10 years. Stupid logic

Ok so you want to discuss a bilateral T20, I thought these were used to experiment and the results are irrelevant? You do understand that T20 is a format where if one or two players perform the side usually wins. Linde and Miller had those exceptional games.

Different scenarios.

One is a minefield pitch where we observed that the pitch gets harder and harder to bat on. It's either opening or bust.

This was a standard t20 pitch.

Different scenarios but same format and game though. So the approach should be the same as according to you there's only one way to play T20s. You guys always harp about going hard in the PP. This was a game where we had a better PP. SA scored 43/3. We were 55/1 so we were ahead from the very beginning.

Rizwan took 10.2 overs to score 74 leaving the entire team 58 deliveries to chase down 109 runs. So the whole team has to play at an sr of 187 lol.

Yet we were still in a winning position needing 36 off 18 with 6 wickets in hand. Then Linde happened and took 3 wickets in an over and we lost all momentum. Pakistan is prone to collapses and that's what happened here. This is an age old issue and something that goes under the radar. Rather than discussing this, our fans want to play the blame game and look for scapegoats. Misbah was one earlier and now it's Rizwan.

Also how are you not blaming the bowling? We clearly lost due to that. We let SA go from 43/3 to 189. Rauf had a horrible game and the youngster Sufiyan Muqeem was taken to the cleaners in the last over, again by Linde.

He’s held accountable by:

-Being appointed as captain
-Category A contract with PCB
-Platinum Category in the PSL
-Team selection to revolve around him
-Choice of wherever he wants to bat

He is Pakistan’s MVP @shaz619

The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world was convincing the masses he is an elite player capable of more than one shot through the off side.

No that's Imad. We saw his off side game against Axar Patel

Every teams had these types brainfade moments in cricket. It's just part of the sports.

Rizwan has them more often then not and escapes any criticism, ever since Bumrah got him in the WT20, his go to tactic is to swing brainlessly when under pressure, he looks more horrible then a tailender. His fans still worship him like he’s the second coming of Adam Gilchrist

No that's Imad. We saw his off side game against Axar Patel

Ok, Rizwan’s cover drive rival’s Brian Lara’s, khush? Is that the best you got, Imad; I don’t care about him

Rizwan has them more often then not and escapes any criticism, ever since Bumrah got him in the WT20, his go to tactic is to swing brainlessly when under pressure, he looks more horrible then a tailender. His fans still worship him like he’s the second coming of Adam Gilchrist

Why should he be under pressure if he's anchoring? If Imad hadn't played 4 dots in a row when he came into bat, Rizwan could've played his natural game.

Ok, Rizwan’s cover drive rival’s Brian Lara’s, khush? Is that the best you got, Imad; I don’t carea bout him

Lara was left handed bro. Rizwan doesn't need to emulate him when he has the king of cover drives, Babar Sher as his bestie

Why should he be under pressure if he's anchoring? If Imad hadn't played 4 dots in a row when he came into bat, Rizwan could've played his natural game.

There are numerous examples in this thread of Rizwan bending over for the bowlers during key moments in matches, what is that got to do with anchoring or Imad

Ok so you want to discuss a bilateral T20, I thought these were used to experiment and the results are irrelevant? You do understand that T20 is a format where if one or two players perform the side usually wins. Linde and Miller had those exceptional games.

Different scenarios but same format and game though. So the approach should be the same as according to you there's only one way to play T20s. You guys always harp about going hard in the PP. This was a game where we had a better PP. SA scored 43/3. We were 55/1 so we were ahead from the very beginning.

Yet we were still in a winning position needing 36 off 18 with 6 wickets in hand. Then Linde happened and took 3 wickets in an over and we lost all momentum. Pakistan is prone to collapses and that's what happened here. This is an age old issue and something that goes under the radar. Rather than discussing this, our fans want to play the blame game and look for scapegoats. Misbah was one earlier and now it's Rizwan.

Also how are you not blaming the bowling? We clearly lost due to that. We let SA go from 43/3 to 189. Rauf had a horrible game and the youngster Sufiyan Muqeem was taken to the cleaners in the last over, again by Linde.
It took you 40 mins to reply to me? Why not instantly? You realise I have a working job right? And I'm not at everyone's beck and call?

Anyway, all these comments are once again diversions and I'm not bothering.

Premise is simple, 74 of 62, Rest of the team needs to chase 109 of 58 going at a sr of 187. Explain this genius? 55-1 ahead sure. Is saim ayub always suppose to score 36 of 16 to cover for rizzu? Har bar karei ga kya?

The login behind your statement, if Rizwan should be accountable then why not all those involved in debacles. @Rana
“If Rizwan should be held accountable”

What’s “if” about this? Why is this some kind of unsolved mystery?

“If Brad Pitt is not a woman”

“If fish survive in water”

“If David Beckham represented England”

“If Rizwan should be held accountable”

What’s “if” about this? Why is this some kind of unsolved mystery?

“If Brad Pitt is not a woman”

“If fish survive in water”

“If David Beckham represented England”
Because rule should be same for everyone, Rizwan is in the team on merit unlike Imads and Amir's who blackmailed their way in

Rizwan is in the team on merit , Rizwan has struggled and fought to earn his spot which even admitted by his competitor Sarfraz , unlike the clan who try to maneuver things.

Proven by their antics, Imad one day announces retirement then Imad takes back retirement again Imad announces retirement.

Amir was on agenda against some players with continuous rants on TV , yet he had the audacity to play with them as if nothing happens came off like a supreme hypocrite
Where is the blackmail element?

It took you 40 mins to reply to me? Why not instantly? You realise I have a working job right? And I'm not at everyone's beck and call?

Premise is simple, 74 of 62, Rest of the team needs to chase 109 of 58 going at a sr of 187. Explain this genius? 55-1 ahead sure. Is saim ayub always suppose to score 36 of 16 to cover for rizzu? Har bar karei ga kya?

What in the world? :ROFLMAO:

You guys need to talk about Rizwan and his performances rather than irrelevant stuff here.

No more warning now... will remove any irrelevant stuff

its irrelevant now, what's the punishment for Rizwan for these brain fades
It’s relevant because you are claiming Amir and Imad got into the team due them blackmailing their way in. Can you explain this carefully?

Can someone please explain why Rizwan and Babar continue to get a pass for poor performances?

1. Is it because of faith in their ability to bounce back due to past successes?

2. Is it because Pakistan lacks other talent?

3. Is it because the team is being built around them?

4. Or are they being prioritized for marketing purposes?

Their current performance is bad I don't buy on to that so what is it.

I dont get the hate for Rizwan. If he was captain we would have won the first test. His primary job is wicket keeper, but we want top2 level batsman output from him. Its unreasonable.

If we have somebody who can average 40+ in tests ODI and T20s, and is as good a wicket keeper, please name the names.

Yes his method means he can give his wicket away sometimes- that is not that big a deal. Some of the very best have had that batting style

I dont get the hate for Rizwan. If he was captain we would have won the first test. His primary job is wicket keeper, but we want top2 level batsman output from him. Its unreasonable.

If he's playing as a wicketkeeper, he should bat after Agha in Tests, not open in T20s and bat at number 7, and also come in at 7 down in ODIs. This way, we can utilize that position for a proper batsman. I'd be fine with that arrangement, and I think most Rizwan critics would be satisfied as well.

If we have somebody who can average 40+ in tests ODI and T20s, and is as good a wicket keeper, please name the names
Since Shan took over, several players have been averaging 40+ Shan, Saud, and Agha are all performing at that level. I'm confident that if we give another domestic wicketkeeper a proper chance, we can uncover even more talent.

If he's playing as a wicketkeeper, he should bat after Agha in Tests, not open in T20s and bat at number 7, and also come in at 7 down in ODIs. This way, we can utilize that position for a proper batsman. I'd be fine with that arrangement, and I think most Rizwan critics would be satisfied as well.

I think its about using the players we have in positions that suit. Rizwan is better than Salman in ODIs batting in the middle, and Agha is better at hitting at the death, so it makes sense.

Rizwan is a better test bat than Agha (it is close) and Agha is better at batting with the tail anyhow, so again it works
Since Shan took over, several players have been averaging 40+ Shan, Saud, and Agha are all performing at that level. I'm confident that if we give another domestic wicketkeeper a proper chance, we can uncover even more talent.
Rizwan has played a lot more than these guys- I am not seeing anybody in domestic who will also be as good a glovesman.

I'll repeat the critics are harsh. The moment someone is knocking properly on the door, they will get a chance.

I think its about using the players we have in positions that suit. Rizwan is better than Salman in ODIs batting in the middle, and Agha is better at hitting at the death, so it makes sense.

Rizwan is a better test bat than Agha (it is close) and Agha is better at batting with the tail anyhow, so again it works

Rizwan has played a lot more than these guys- I am not seeing anybody in domestic who will also be as good a glovesman.

I'll repeat the critics are harsh. The moment someone is knocking properly on the door, they will get a chance.
Bhai aesa kuch bhi nahi hai.

Test is fine. No issues their, Infact he should make that his primary format.

Issue lies in t20 and odi. He is not a good t20 opener and not a good odi no 4. The whole side is being adjusted to accommodate him.

The worst of them all is the 31 runs off 44 balls against India in the WT20 game in the US last year.

I reply when I want, you're not the only one with a job.

If we are in reach of the target by the last 3 overs, I think that's a job well done by any opener.

Much like the WC game against India, we were in a winning position here too. So a very effective innings.

@Rana - as expected, nothing but praise for an atrocious knock. This is exactly what an agenda looks like.

You know it was a bad innings but you can't ridicule it because your support for Rizwan is more important than the Pakistan team. It's also obvious that you're afraid that your support for him would be called into question.

You know what's ironic? In the other thread, you said:

You only come out with one agenda, bash Misbah and now bash Rizwan

If I had an agenda, I wouldn't be giving them any credit.

1736467585019.png

You prove my point yet again. The two words that come to mind are dishonesty and insincerity.

If we are in reach of the target by the last 3 overs, I think that's a job well done by any opener.
But in Rizwan’s case, the require rate only get’s higher and higher from the start the longer he stays at the crease? That’s job well done on which planet?

And somehow he has the nerve to accuse others of holding an agenda. Like caved and major, another Pot kettle black merchant.

Needed 36 off 3 overs with 6 wickets in hand, while chasing 183. Ask anyone before the game if that's doable and they would say yes. That's where Rizwan got us to. That's a job well done by one player.

And somehow he has the nerve to accuse others of holding an agenda. Like caved and major, another Pot kettle black merchant.
If the required rate is 8 with Rizwan facing ball one,

Be 100% sure it will be 12 by the 12th over. This has happened time and time again with Rizwan shamelessly at the crease throughout.

These guys are trying to make something out of Rizwan’s contribution against India that day. The guy was dropped for a sitter in single figures by Dube. It worked out better for India as Rizwan stayed for longer and ate up more dots. He may have scored 31 runs from 10 scoring shots, there may have been 30+ dot balls by him. It would have been better for his sake if Rizwan just got out early. Guys like Iftikhar and Imad are better off having more time at the crease and they can still recover. Rizwan can’t recover anything besides more Ls

Be 100% sure it will be 12 by the 12th over. This has happened time and time again with Rizwan shamelessly at the crease throughout.

These guys are trying to make something out of Rizwan’s contribution against India that day. The guy was dropped for a sitter in single figures by Dube. It worked out better for India as Rizwan stayed for longer and ate up more dots. He may have scored 31 runs from 10 scoring shots, there may have been 30+ dot balls by him. It would have been better for his sake if Rizwan just got out early. Guys like Iftikhar and Imad are better off having more time at the crease and they can still recover. Rizwan can’t recover anything besides more Ls

Imad had ample time in the India game, almost 8 overs left. He did not recover anything and put us in a worse position with his 65 strike rate.

And again you're back tracking. First you were calling his runs a bonus now you're saying he can make up for it if he stays at the crease as if he's an actual batter? Which is it?

Imad had ample time in the India game, almost 8 overs left. He did not recover anything and put us in a worse position with his 65 strike rate.

And again you're back tracking. First you were calling his runs a bonus now you're saying he can make up for it if he stays at the crease as if he's an actual batter? Which is it?
I’m not backtracking

Had Imad opened, Pakistan were wining that game. Now what?

Genuine T20 players become more and more dangerous the longer they stay at the crease.

In the case of Fraud Rizwan T20 Laanat, the threat to Pakistan cricket becomes more and more serious the longer he stays at the crease.

This is a bitter truth. Accept it.

Needed 36 off 3 overs with 6 wickets in hand, while chasing 183. Ask anyone before the game if that's doable and they would say yes. That's where Rizwan got us to. That's a job well done by one player.

What kind of analysis is this?!

Leaving Pakistan with 36 runs to get off 3 overs in a VERY LOW SCORING CONTEST IS HORRIFIC

Those who batted in the first 10 overs, particularly in the powerplay, were the most blameworthy for this defeat. You cannot expect the team to score 30% of the required target in the last 3 overs, that's just ridiculous.

You're making it sound as if Pakistan were chasing 240.

What kind of analysis is this?!

Leaving Pakistan with 36 runs to get off 3 overs in a VERY LOW SCORING CONTEST IS HORRIFIC

Those who batted in the first 10 overs, particularly in the powerplay, were the most blameworthy for this defeat. You cannot expect the team to score 30% of the required target in the last 3 overs, that's just ridiculous.

You're making it sound as if Pakistan were chasing 240.

Since when is 183 a low scoring contest. How often does Pak even get there. Low scoring was 120 vs India

In recent months, what I've noticed is that an increasing number of posters have posted about their doubts on Rizwan's T20 batting credentials.

Rizwan's role in T20Is should have been reduced by now. I'd keep him as a specialist keeper, who you have to hide at number 8. He's no top order, middle order nor a hitter. Just a tail ender in T20Is.

So his runs are not a bonus? Then admit he failed as a batter, don't make 'what if' excuses
Your not getting the point. Imad struggled like he did against India early on in the exact same manner against PZ on a much more easier track. He came in pretty early at 5 and in the powerplay, before Azam, Haider and Faheem. He was scratchy just like he was against India, at one point he was 30 off 30. Once he took control, he shifted gears and bossed the game. Stayed right til the end and saw IU home. That’s because, players like him have that maturity plus capability to take control once they are in. He should have done it against India too. I think he would have done it had he opened and was given the anchor role. There are players who I would rather allow time knowing they get better the longer they stay at the crease. Rizwan is the complete opposite.

Your not getting the point. Imad struggled like he did against India early on in the exact same manner against PZ on a much more difficult track. He came in pretty early at 5 and in the powerplay, before Azam, Haider and Faheem. He was scratchy just like he was against India, at one point he was 30 off 30. Once he took control, he shifted gears and bossed the game. Stayed right til the end and saw IU home. That’s because, players like him have that maturity plus capability to take control once they are in. He should have done it against India too. I think he would have done it had he opened and was given the anchor role. There are players who I would rather allow time knowing they get better the longer they stay at the crease. Rizwan is the complete opposite.

Big gap between PSL and international cricket. How can you even expect someone of his calibre to repeat such a performance in a WC game. His quality is limited to league cricket

Well he was picked for Pakistan on PSL performance so what am I supposed to compare it with??

You said he was picked for his bowling. Anyways, you're not gonna back off from your views and neither am I. So this ain't going anywhere

Yes after Rizwan bottled it as usual

Like he did against NZ and Afghanistan. Like he did when not scoring enough as an opener on that road against Australia only for Fakhar to propel the score

Same Rizwan who also let us down in the final of that tournament as well, along with Babar. The fan club never learn.

You guys really made a mess in this thread. Any more abusive language and personal remarks will get you guys restricted or banned....

I reply when I want, you're not the only one with a job.

Thays not a job well done by an opener scoring 74 of 62. That's the result of others making a tremendous effort to pull it close.

He asked the entire team to bat at 187 sr. But regardless it doesn't matter. Rizwan and Misbah could stab someone on the street and you'd say I think the knife killed them not rizzu.

Thays not a job well done by an opener scoring 74 of 62. That's the result of others making a tremendous effort to pull it close.

He asked the entire team to bat at 187 sr. But regardless it doesn't matter. Rizwan and Misbah could stab someone on the street and you'd say I think the knife killed them not rizzu.

I have already had this discussion with your fellow gang member. Post 53

No it said 36 of 18 but falsely gives rizwam credit for it.

Why is he getting credit and not the rest of the team who had to strike at nearly 170 to reach their?

74 of 62, this is the math, that leaves the rest of team requiring a sr of 187 to chase it down

^^ Explain.
I have already had this discussion with your fellow gang member. Post 53

If we have somebody who can average 40+ in tests ODI and T20s, and is as good a wicket keeper, please name the names.

Yes his method means he can give his wicket away sometimes- that is not that big a deal. Some of the very best have had that batting style

No it said 36 of 18 but falsely gives rizwam credit for it.

Why is he getting credit and not the rest of the team who had to strike at nearly 170 to reach their?

74 of 62, this is the math, that leaves the rest of team requiring a sr of 187 to chase it down

^^ Explain.

36 off 18 with 6 wickets in hand. That's the math. If you don't believe that's a winnable position then you're just arguing for the sake of it.

No one is claiming it isn't a winnable position the argument is for rizwan's math, why are you associating him with said winning position.