Muslim school kids called names and told to ‘go to Pakistan’, mothers blame TV hate

ahmedwaqas92

"Nazia Erum, author of the book Mothering a Muslim, says parents are scared of the psychological impact of such bullying and physical harm the kids may face. "

New Delhi: ‘Osama’, ‘Baghdadi’, ‘Mullah’, ‘Go to Pakistan’… These are some of the terms that kids are blurting out, often unknowingly, at their Muslim peers in primary schools, leaving parents in extreme distress over the impact of such bullying.

Such hate has come and gone cyclically in the past, but in the wake of the escalating India-Pakistan tensions, there has recently been a rise in Muslim kids being subjected to religious slurs, which has left mothers shaken.

Most of them squarely put the blame on jingoistic television channels, saying that their “hate mongering” is leading to discrimination and harassment.

The ‘enemy within’

Nazia Erum, author of the book Mothering a Muslim, spoke about the trend in a Facebook post.

“Getting information from various cities that there has been a sharp spike in children being singled out, bullied and being told to ‘go to Pakistan’. From my maid, cousins, friends to Twitter acquaintances — everyone reporting this in,” she had written, stirring up a conversation on social media.

Speaking to ThePrint, Erum said in the last few years, religious discrimination in schools had gone up drastically, prompting her to write the book in the first place.

“But it is these ‘nationalistic’ TV channels which have promoted hate, the worst-affected of which are the children,” Erum said.

“When these channels talk about ‘enemies within’, use street language and deplorably low-IQ content, kids are listening to that. They are angry and hurt. There is a limit to the number of jokes and jibes they can take.

“Unfortunately, for many, they are addictive. Such content lead to a slow scale hatred within communities. Mothers are scared of not just the psychological impact such bullying can leave on them in the long run, but also of any physical harm that the kids may be subjected to.”

A mother who did not wish to be identified said it was a ‘very recent’ trend.

“I can’t remember facing any religious slurs or bullying because of my religion when I was in school 15 years ago. I was in a co-ed school in Jharkhand. Religion is the last thing that came to our minds,” the woman said.

“But I can’t say the same for my sons,” she said, adding they are often reminded of their religion in casual conversations.

“Even a simple question such as ‘Are you a Muslim?’ has an impact when asked to a five-year-old who is not conscious of his or her religious identity.”

Another woman took to social media, saying her daughter asked to change her name, because she didn’t want her name to reflect her religion, hinting at the possible harassment she could face because of her identity.

Need for a conversation

Erum said it was worrying that children wanted to hide their identities to evade bullying in schools. She emphasised the need for a conversation with the kids to ensure they are not affected, as early as possible, to avoid festering of such feelings as they grow older.

“It is unfortunate if kids are cornered for their religion. Not just Muslim parents, non-Muslim parents too should talk to their kids and tell them that it is not about their classmate,” she said.

Erum said she tells her five-year-old daughter to either ignore or laugh it off if anyone suggests she belongs to any other country but India.

“I tell her that if anyone calls her a Nepali or a Sri Lankan or a Pakistani, she should laugh it off to diffuse the attention on only Pakistan or her religious identity,” she said.

https://theprint.in/governance/musl...-go-to-pakistan-mothers-blame-tv-hate/200701/

I don't necessarily get on why would Indians do this to their own people? Do general Indian populace not see the Muslim minority which is in millions a legitimate part of the country?

Vow that's just sad. As I said, when extremist people like Modi are in power they don't bring a happy ending for their people. Hitler is a great example for us. He killed so many innocent people to stay in power. Modi is applying the same formula in India, not that openly but "divide and rule" so far has earned him govt. and he is looking for another successful turn.

The ‘New India’ bounces back!

#PediatricStrike

Secular democracy.....India is creating hate and division in it the minorities

The ‘New India’ bounces back!

#PediatricStrike

Nothing new. In school we used to call muslim classmates pakistanis and question whom they supported during india pakistan matches. Even today i check their whatsapp status on independence day to see if they have updated it with the indian tri color.

They must have been so proud of having such an honour bestowed upon them.

Putting my neutral hat on, I wonder if this is really such a big deal? I read an article about Cordoba in Spain where one of the most spectacular mosques built by the caliph Abd ur Rahman was converted into a church after the Spanish Inquisition. Now you could say that was no big deal, only bricks and mortar, but let us not forget, the Muslims were wiped out from Spain, either killed or converted to Christianity.

In light of that, it could be argued that being called names and invited to go to Pakistan is pretty mild. Could it be argued that this in fact showcases Hindu tolerance and multicultural spirit?

Legend :)))

I'd like to know what exactly happens when you've found out that they haven't ??

That's just sad, and terrifying for the Muslims.

Jinnah Sahab ki aaj inko boht yaad ayi hogi.

shouldnt say that.

Migration wasnt an easy decision for anyone. A poor family was more likely to be killed due to the massacres that were taking place.

No one in hindsight knew in which country would they be better off

Thanks for giving them so much respect by calling them pakistanis.

Pakistan does not have the space to accommodate them neither do we need them. They are Indians to the core even if their own people disown them.

shouldnt say that.

Migration wasnt an easy decision for anyone. A poor family was more likely to be killed due to the massacres that were taking place.

No one in hindsight knew in which country would they be better off

And that was the entire narrative or the leap of faith that was required 70 years ago - Hardship or possible death for a potential better future where such discrimanotry instances would not be subjected to anyone. Did they not witness the Congress rule in the last 1930s?

My own family had cases (my forefathers migrated from Calcutta to West Pakistan, scaling the entire India) where they lost siblings and relatives in the riots that broke our yet those who reached the shores of Karachi Alhamdulliah have been far better off in that regard.

And no my forefathers weren't rich landlords in India, yet here we are...........

We are told daily that Muslims are doing fine in India.

It's a few kids calling each other names. Kids of almost every demographic get bullied. Of course it's bad, but it has nothing to do with the treatment of Muslims in India.

I've been called far worse things when I was in middle school in the US. Does that mean Indians are oppressed in America?

Pakistan does not have the space to accommodate them neither do we need them. They are Indians to the core even if their own people disown them.

Neither do they want to move to Pakistan.

:))) After bhaijaan, you are coming second.

It's a few kids calling each other names. Kids of almost every demographic get bullied. Of course it's bad, but it has nothing to do with the treatment of Muslims in India.

I've been called far worse things when I was in middle school in the US. Does that mean Indians are oppressed in America?

You were an Indian in America not an American in America. Besides America is the worst example itself to relate to

As a citizen, I was an Indo-American in America. But anyway, that's beside the point. Bullying happens everywhere and while it should be discouraged, we shouldn't read too much into what a few kids are saying.

Indians are quite happy to be second class citizens abroad, even if they were born there, this is one thing which seems to be true everywhere. The grateful immigrant mentality endures down the generations, and they tend to criticise Pakistani heritage westerners who don't have it. I was a bit surprised initially but now I put it down to their upbringing.

As a citizen, I was an Indo-American in America. But anyway, that's beside the point. Bullying happens everywhere and while it should be discouraged, we shouldn't read too much into what a few kids are saying.

So you are claiming that Indian Muslims are Indo-Pakistani? That’s where the problem lös

Indians are quite happy to be second class citizens abroad, even if they were born there, this is one thing which seems to be true everywhere. The grateful immigrant mentality endures down the generations, and they tend to criticise Pakistani heritage westerners who don't have it. I was a bit surprised initially but now I put it down to their upbringing.

What in the world are you talking about? I'm an American citizen and a 1% earner. How am I a second class citizen?

In top Bay Area companies and Chicago/NYC finance firms, Indians are one of the most common demographics (probably just behind the East Asians from Peking/Tsinghua/Stanford/CMU/UCB). Tons of 1% earners. How are they second class citizens?

This image of Indians being subservient and Pakistanis being self-righteous only exists in your head.

In any case, I'm not sure what this has to do with my post above.

So you are claiming that Indian Muslims are Indo-Pakistani? That’s where the problem lös

No, I'm just saying that kids bully everyone. Indians in India, non-Indians in India, Americans in America, non-Americans in America, etc. Even in developed countries we have cases of kids being bullied so much (either in school or online) that they resort to self harm or even suicide.

So while comments like "are you Muslim" and "go to Pakistan" are bad, it's certainly not representative of the treatment of Muslims in India.

Indians being 2nd class citizen only applies to Arab countries; where uneducated migrants have gone specifically for labor jobs. And Arabs have history of treating every non-arab except whites as second class citizens which includes Pakistanis as well.

Feels like lot of Pakistanis feel inferiority complex about Indians on this forum since Indians have financially suppressed them in every abroad country that values human rights.

We Pakistan as a Country are so famous in India. Hamasha india mein kisi ko bhi nikalna hota hai tu woh usko pakistan jaane ko kehta hai. Sorry indian muslims you made a choice to stay, so now stay there and enjoy yourself. Same applies to all the pathetic indian media journalist on TV, go back to pakistan if you dont like India, screw you Indian media, we dont need your garbage to come to Pakistan and ruined our country. And Modi Indians muslims supporting BJP you are not welcome In Pakistan. Stay Away from us.

I honestly feel the biggest villain in India is Indian Media. They have ruined India Image as a country, who welcome all the nation to make a living in the country. Indian media hate towards Pakistan is so hostile and negative that, it is impacting in india for indian muslims as well. I feel for them, Indian Media deserve a surgical strike from Pak Army.

What in the world are you talking about? I'm an American citizen and a 1% earner. How am I a second class citizen?

In top Bay Area companies and Chicago/NYC finance firms, Indians are one of the most common demographics (probably just behind the East Asians from Peking/Tsinghua/Stanford/CMU/UCB). Tons of 1% earners. How are they second class citizens?

This image of Indians being subservient and Pakistanis being self-righteous only exists in your head.

I didn't mention anything to do with Indians being subservient, think that is something you might have extrapolated for whatever reason. In the UK whether you are top 1% or bottom 50% doesn't make any difference you are still entitled to think yourself a British citizen who doesn't deserve to be abused on account of race or ethnicity.

It is expected that immigrants would put up with some abuse and be okay with it, they are the ones coming to a foreign land and if they get called a few names they are happy to accept it as the price for a better life. Those born in the country they live have slightly different standards, if their kids are called names they don't accept it because they see themselves as Americans/Britons regardless of 1% incomes or 25%.

I mentioned it a few times over the years (not just recently) that if you want to conquer india, just buy their media. The people will follow. Unfortunately, indian media is not a responsible one. If fox looks like professional in front a media, that shows the quality of indian media.

We Pakistan as a Country are so famous in India. Hamasha india mein kisi ko bhi nikalna hota hai tu woh usko pakistan jaane ko kehta hai. Sorry indian muslims you made a choice to stay, so now stay there and enjoy yourself. Same applies to all the pathetic indian media journalist on TV, go back to pakistan if you dont like India, screw you Indian media, we dont need your garbage to come to Pakistan and ruined our country. And Modi Indians muslims supporting BJP you are not welcome In Pakistan. Stay Away from us.

Teekh hai bhai, correct jawab dia hai. Indian muslims supporting BJP, and Indian media are the worst type of ****. Lanat hai in par. Lahore da ki haal ha?

Lol you can't just call it bullying and ignore it. From where are these kids learning such things? They will become adults too in the future and they will teach the same to their children.

No, I'm just saying that kids bully everyone. Indians in India, non-Indians in India, Americans in America, non-Americans in America, etc. Even in developed countries we have cases of kids being bullied so much (either in school or online) that they resort to self harm or even suicide.

So while comments like "are you Muslim" and "go to Pakistan" are bad, it's certainly not representative of the treatment of Muslims in India.

You are an Indo American but got hurt when someone called you a second class citizen. Imagine what muslims in India has to go through when they are treated as enemies and third class citizens? And people call this bullying lol.

Teekh hai bhai, correct jawab dia hai. Indian muslims supporting BJP, and Indian media are the worst type of ****. Lanat hai in par. Lahore da ki haal ha?

Lahore is good as always. Zinda dil log hain. We live our life as we should. Thank You Mohammed Ali Jinnah. Sad to see no PSL matches in Lahore. Our parents have always taught us and our religion that we must respect every religion and we do.

Good to hear bro, Inshallah I will be visit Lahore very soon, It's my favorite city. We all are forever thankful to our founding father. Dont worry bro, next year you will see PSL in Lahore and Islamabad also, Inshallah. Good parents you have, mine has also taught me same, and we will teach the next generation the same. God bless

Many do! I don't think you speak for almost 200 million people. Living in a majority Hindu country they have to please the minority community. Either way you are welcome to them, culturally Pakistanis are different to them. We think different to them as well.

You are an Indo American but got hurt when someone called you a second class citizen. Imagine what muslims in India has to go through when they are treated as enemies and third class citizens? And people call this bullying lol.

Untitled-1.jpg

Nationalism in some parts of the world is just going crazy.

Sometimes stupidity is being seen as nationalism and bravado.

"Nazia Erum, author of the book Mothering a Muslim, says parents are scared of the psychological impact of such bullying and physical harm the kids may face. "

Usually things like this show a flaw in social fabric. Kids (being more innocent) also end up being the most honest and unfiltered in expressing opinions (drilled into them through adults/media/society). I would disagree that this should be considered trivial anywhere in the world.

If my kids' classmates here in US end up calling them using the N-word or terrorists or Osama or any other usual racial slur, then I would still be concerned and want to have a word with school management even though they are kids. You cannot help but wonder - "how did these kids think this way, know these slurs, and get bold enough to use them?". You have to wonder about their home environments, their parents' opinions etc and how that may adversely impact your own kids, and if this is a good place for your kids to be.

It maybe "just kids", but I would still be very concerned.

Good to hear bro, Inshallah I will be visit Lahore very soon, It's my favorite city. We all are forever thankful to our founding father. Dont worry bro, next year you will see PSL in Lahore and Islamabad also, Inshallah. Good parents you have, mine has also taught me same, and we will teach the next generation the same. God bless

Thank You Brother. Anytime Lahore is an amazing city to visit and you will have a great time. We want Peace ✌️ in our country, we have seen enough bloodshed, Thanks to Musharaf for bringing the war on us in 2002 because of America pressure. We are recovering and I hope Imran Khan Party can do another Term in Pakistan to really bring us out the dark tunnel we are stuck in, in the last 15 yrs.

Peace is the way forward for us, I hope our neighbors can want the same thing also. Musharraf really had no choice in that, but I understand that it was us who suffered along with those in 9/11 and Afghanistan. I definitely think 2 terms are needed for IK to really be able to steer the country in new direction. Its asking alot considering nobody really gets to finish even a full 5 year term, but let's hope and pray for his safety, success and wisdom✌️

Since the Indians love BBC as a source they all should watch the documentary BBC did on how every Muslim student in colleges and universities is either called terroritst or Pakistani and asked to go to Pakistan.

India has never been an inclusive country and is Far from being one right now.