My Salix's Review

Cover Drive

Alright so one of my family member was visiting UK so I thought I should buy a bat as it will save me postage. So I made up my mind and had planned that I will once again buy a English made bat. I was in sort of a dilemma as I was after few bats (Harlequin, S6 and few others) but since I had dealt with uzisports before where I bought my Newbery from so I was very certain about there customer service and products as my previous experience was by far a very good one. Since I wanted a English bat and something other than Newbery then my only choice was Salix and after seeing Salix which uzisport had on there website I was very certain that I will buy them. Personally I wanted something of higher sweet spot as I already have Krakatoa, which is low sweet spot so I wanted a different shape one. So my only choice in Salix’s catalogue was Pod. The one uzisports had were slightly expensive and out of my budget so I then had a look at their Factory Second section and the one which I really liked in that section was bat number 4.

I asked Asad Bhai what is wrong with the bat and he said he can’t see anything wrong with the bat as he had a look at the bat for me couple of times and every time he would look for a issue he would fail. So I knew that Asad Bhai will never lie and I also know that he is an honest person so I took his words and bought that bat along Salix Arma gloves (wanted Pod Black but they weren't available anywhere. Hopefully I will be getting Pod Black soon from Asad Bhai).. I wanted to get this bat knocked in so I told Asad Bhai to ship it to ship it to the knocking guy but because of snow delay and time shortage I didn’t wanted to risk it and I got it directly shipped at our place in UK. When Asad Bhai found out that I was looking to get it knocked he was generous enough to knock in the bat for me for free of cost. At the end it was a bit of gamble but I was not worried as I had my trust in Asad Bhai and believed him.

After receiving the bat:

So I received the bat 3 days ago and I was over the moon as soon I first touched the bat. First thing I noticed was that how well it was finished. My best-finished bats are Newbery Krakatoa and MB Malik Bubber Sher Limited Edition and this Salix’s finishing was like them if not then slightly better. The finishing on Salix bats is really special and very good. After that I began to look for the defect in the bat and why it was labeled as Rogue but I was left fruitless and found nothing wrong with the bat :D.

It weighs 2.10 lbs but since it has Pod shape it feels and picks up lighter in my hands. It feels around 2.7-2.8 lbs mark whereas the balance is exceptional. Personally I prefer semi-oval handles like my MB LE but this has a full oval handle which I don’t mind either:D.

It doesn’t have a toe guard, which I am looking to apply in future. I have been knocking it whenever I get time and so far it is going very well off the mallet.

Since there are no defects or I plan to sell this bat in foreseeable future so I am looking to resticker it (if possible).

Uzi Sports Service

Once again Asad Bhai was a great person to deal with him. The type of treatment I got this time was something really really special and I am 200% sure that if I had explained my situation to anyone else on the forum or any other seller then he would have never ever done this so hats off to Asad Bhai for his superb service. I don’t think I will ever turn on to anyone else except Asad Bhai. I seriously don’t have words to explain his customer service. The free knocking in service was great one as well so overall I am very very pleased.

Now enjoy the pictures ☺ (They certainly don’t do the justice).

DSC05082.jpg

DSC05081.jpg

DSC05080.jpg

DSC05079.jpg

DSC05078.jpg

DSC05076.jpg

DSC05057.jpg

DSC05058.jpg

Please don’t hesitate to ask any question(s) you guys have

Cover that bat looks very nice! damn nice!
The bat is immaculately finnished, but no toe guard...?
What size are the edges? How many piece is the handle? is it double gripped or is that the thick oval handle? How many grains in the heartwood? the sapwood grains look razor straight and precisely spaced.
Don't change the stickers, they are classy. Defiantly the nicest going around.

Mashallah very fine bat dekh kar ankho ko thandak milli :D , mind sharing how much you paid for it ?

just about the nicest bat ive seen on this forum (that an actual poster owns). hopefully it plays equally well.

Cover that bat looks very nice! damn nice!
The bat is immaculately finnished, but no toe guard...?
What size are the edges? How many piece is the handle? is it double gripped or is that the thick oval handle? How many grains in the heartwood? the sapwood grains look razor straight and precisely spaced.
Don't change the stickers, they are classy. Defiantly the nicest going around.

Thanks for the compliment mate :).

Unfortunately no toe guard, I don't think Salix comes with a factory fitted toe guard. But I will be getting one soon.

Edges are not very thick, the biggest/thickest part is around 24 mm. Spine height is around 57 mm.

I'm sorry but I don't know how to find out how many piece handle is. It has three rubber strips...

No, its single grip. Handle is thick oval handle.

Around 3 grains in the heart wood.

Thanks, I will not change them now :)

the grains look fantastic mashallah overall a very beautiful bat

JazakAllah Khair bhai :)

Mashallah very fine bat dekh kar ankho ko thandak milli :D , mind sharing how much you paid for it ?

JazakAllah Khair bhai :)

Not at all, I paid £170 for this bat.

just about the nicest bat ive seen on this forum (that an actual poster owns). hopefully it plays equally well.

JazakAllah Khair Bhai :)

That stain or mark or whatever it is near the toe on the back of the bat is probably the only reason this bat's a Rogue, it looks wonderful.

JazakAllah Khair, Salman Bhai. The spine looks great but I wonder if this bat has a high spine then imagine how high would be Distinction's spine?

Well Asad Bhai wasn't sure why this bat was in Rogue bin. He did mention once that it could be a mistake by Salix.

But if its really because of those knots then hats off to Salix for there strict strict grading policies, certainly impressive.

Its a high grade 2 bat, IMO it should be rated grade 2, I dont like this grade 1 + etc its either grade 1 or not.

I would say it was grades 2 because of the heartwood grains or there is a blemish hidden under the stickers.

Well the sticker says 'Grade One' so I highly doubt if Salix would put that on Grade 2. Well the fact, is that in Salix's grading system there is no such thing as Grade 2. Everything is grade 1.

Performance range clefts are also grade 1 but they are graded tad lower because of imperfect look.

Well the sticker says 'Grade One' so I highly doubt if Salix would put that on Grade 2. Well the fact, is that in Salix's grading system there is no such thing as Grade 2. Everything is grade 1.

Performance range clefts are also grade 1 but they are graded tad lower because of imperfect look.

When clefts are graded they cannot check the ping, they can only go by look.

Cover what reason do you give for grading this bat as grade 1?

I'm with Salix becauisw you can see a small 'Grade One' sticker applied which all rogue didn't have

I'd like to find a grade 2 bat with grains that straight and close together.

Its a high grade 2 bat, IMO it should be rated grade 2, I dont like this grade 1 + etc its either grade 1 or not.

I would say it was grades 2 because of the heartwood grains or there is a blemish hidden under the stickers.

I don't think there could be any blemish near the splice area.

I could be wrong as wel..

CD bhai, the only possible reason that I could think of is that this bat might have something hidden behind the stickers or maybe handle issues. Just a thought!

Agreed with SempreSami.

Handle looks perfect and there are no issues with handles.

I believe small knots are everywhere so if there were to be a knot underneath the stickers then it would have been a big one, right ? If so then some part of that knots would have been exposed towards ending of the stickers.

grade 1 vs 2 is all useless if that bat isnt used. go use it and then give us a review.

The grains and willow quality looks very similar to my SF Saphire bat but my bat does not have any redwood.

Salman Bhai, I didn't go to nets on Saturday as it snowed quite badly :faceplam:

InshAllah, this Saturday is confirm :)

Salam everyone I am new to this forum but I would just like to mention i am very passionate about cricket equipment and Insahallah I will be posting on this topic very regularly and also Mashallah CD bhai looks a gun of a bat I hope you score lots of runs with it as I am sure you will do Inshallah

Walakiumsalam,

First of all, welcome to PakPassion! I hope you enjoy your stay here. Alhamdulilah, I must say its great to have you here (more importantly a cricket equipment lover :D) and I look forward to your posts in future and hope you post a lot :).

JazakAllah Khair, for the kind wishes, I really appreciate it :).

No problem, hope you don't mind me asking, where is the sweetspot and also what type of pitches do you play on? Does this bat suit those pitches?

Arre bhai ask whatever you wish to, I mind if you don't ask :)

Sweetspot on this bat is high to mid (assuming this from pictures and mallet test as I have used it yet).

The pitches I play on are matting and the bounce on them is low and slightly high so bounce is kinda high to low (lol).

If you have anymore question(s) please don't hesitate to ask

Had a 10 minutes net session with my Salix and this bat not only looks good but plays exceptionally well as well!

I had thought the toe was weak but few drives went off the toe and they did go far and the sound was a good one.

The middle is very large and very good one. Off the middle bat goes like rocket! I like to play on front foot and for that low sweetspot bat is ideal but this bat played very well!

Overall I'm very statisfied and happy with its performance today.

Salam, that's really nice to hear, I hope you continue scoring runs.

I was just thinking, you only got 10 minutes to bat in the nets? Or did you use the Salix for 10 minutes. I myself must admit I am quite greedy about nets, but I just love batting, what can you do I guess.

Actually I batted for ten minutes. Usually it is five minutes but since there were seven of us (including me) each person batted for ten minutes.

Hope it make sense

Actually it was clubs net session but many didn't show up because of weather although its indoor it was snowing and some didn't come because of that :facepalm:

I do enjoy a nets session, although I prefer mid-season nets when there's just a handful of us at an outdoor net with the afternoon sun on us and possession of a Sidearm Pro means everyone faces some good fast deliveries.

Actually it was clubs net session but many didn't show up because of weather although its indoor it was snowing and some didn't come because of that :facepalm:

Mashallah, nice to know you show great commitment towards you cricket.

P.S. I sent you a friend request on PS3.:)

I do enjoy a nets session, although I prefer mid-season nets when there's just a handful of us at an outdoor net with the afternoon sun on us and possession of a Sidearm Pro means everyone faces some good fast deliveries.

I prefer indoors over outdoor because you don't have to field in indoor nets.

Sidearm looks like a great tool but I dont believe it will be used at my club or anyone will think of using it. Maybe I will introduce it, we used to have a coach but don't have any now.

Mashallah, nice to know you show great commitment towards you cricket.

P.S. I sent you a friend request on PS3.:)

LOL at my commitment. In last 7 months this was the second time I played.

Oh haven't played PS3 for sometime now.

^Yeah Sure.

At the moment i have :-

BDM Dynamic Power T20, With Gray Nicolls Predator Stickers

BDM Untaimed, With Retro M and H stickers

AS One, with Gray Nicolls Legend Stickers (Adapted)

All were absolute bargins MashAllah

Wow great collection mashallah.

How does the BDM T20 play, I have heard they are really heavy, how much does your one weigh?

Thanks Bhai

Mine is 2.13lbs but MashAllah it feels like a 2.5-2.6lbs like my old Harrow SS bat.

It has 13 grains but because of the soft wood and my lazyness (didnt knock in too much) it started to crack up a lot. So i took off the scuff sheet and put on a lot of Fibre Glass everywhere which has masked a lot of the bats beauty.

JazakAllah Khair, IKT.

Yaar where do you get your stickers from?

The Gray Nicolls Predator Stickers for my BDM Dynamic T20 were put on for free by the guy but he got them from Greg Chappel's website.

The M and H Retro Stickers for my BDM untaimed were brought from Ebay from a guy who had rung up the M and H factory asking for new stickers.

The Gray Nicolls Adapted Stickers were Rapier Stickers brought from Ebay as well, but what i did was get my mum (much more carefull than me) to cut the checkered squares off so that they look like the Gray Nicolls Legend Stickers.

The guy who i buy my bats from has a lot of stickers as well.

The Gray Nicolls Predator Stickers for my BDM Dynamic T20 were put on for free by the guy but he got them from Greg Chappel's website.

The M and H Retro Stickers for my BDM untaimed were brought from Ebay from a guy who had rung up the M and H factory asking for new stickers.

The Gray Nicolls Adapted Stickers were Rapier Stickers brought from Ebay as well, but what i did was get my mum (much more carefull than me) to cut the checkered squares off so that they look like the Gray Nicolls Legend Stickers.

The guy who i buy my bats from has a lot of stickers as well.

Ah okay, are all of the stickers genuine ?

Those Retro and Predator stickers are very nice indeed!

Yup all the stickers are genuine MashAllah.

The guy from whom i generally buy my bats got the Predator Stickers from Greg Chappel's wensite.

The M and H stickers were from the MandH factory

The other Gray Nicolls Stickers were about 10 years old.

Yup all the stickers are genuine MashAllah.

The guy from whom i generally buy my bats got the Predator Stickers from Greg Chappel's wensite.

The M and H stickers were from the MandH factory

The other Gray Nicolls Stickers were about 10 years old.

Quite good I must say.

Predator has been my favourite but I never got hold of one. I like it because Mohammad Yousuf used it and he used it in his peak.

Might buy for collection item

Quite good I must say.

Predator has been my favourite but I never got hold of one. I like it because Mohammad Yousuf used it and he used it in his peak.

Might buy for collection item

Exactly why i got the stickers. My favourite Gray Nicolls Stickers of all time.

Damn, good looking bat. What can I say. I'm a fan of bats. When I was a boy and I got a new bat ( they were normally second hand ) I would keep it in the bed with me on the first night. I love cricket bats.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Damn, good looking bat. What can I say. I'm a fan of bats. When I was a boy and I got a new bat ( they were normally second hand ) I would keep it in the bed with me on the first night. I love cricket bats.

Haha LOL :))

I can assure you that it is not only kids who do that, I still do that LOL :facepalm:

I still talk to my bats :))

Did you see, GN says the dynadrive is coming back in 2012/13

Yep they are coming back; I am really interested to try out the new scoop.

I will like to try Scoop as well but don't think I will pay for it to be honest.

All my life i have used bats arround 2.7 - 2.8 but i tried friends Salix Troque grade 1 bat 2.11-2.12 in nets and i was amazed by pick and how ball was flying. So i played with his bat in match. I HAVE NEVER PLAYED BETTER. And never hit so many 6s with just pure timing almost no power. I must say i am very impressed. So now i have ordered 1 for me with 2.10 hopefully i will manage to play my cut shots which i could not with my friends bat since 2.12 was heavy for me :)