Naveed Akram, the surviving suspect in Sunday's mass shooting at Bondi Beach in Sydney, charged with 15 counts of murder [Update@ Post 965]

LTTE was a linguistic/ cultural conflict just like Pak-Bangla of 1971 genius. It wasn’t a religious conflict 🤦‍♂️ they were called “Tamils”. Similarly “Mukti Bahini” is as Bangla as it gets. Nothing to do with any religious iconography or ideology. The people fighting that locally were mostly Muslim Bengalis.

Similarly Baluch insurgency etc is a cultural / territorial conflict.

Isis and other mujahideen type radicalism is a religious conflict not ethnic/ linguistic based. People from subcontinent have joined these groups regardless of nationality. Different matter that they are made to clean toilets or looked at as inferior by those Persian/ Arab origin terrorists.

Know the difference first lmao. Kuch bhi.

Some Indian origin guy shooting up some innocent Jewish people with no stake in the conflict is as “Pakistani” as it gets.
In your desperation, you are trying to take a stab at everything and hoping something sticks. Unfortunately for you, nothing is.

Back on planet reality, it was Hindu immigrants from India (large number brought in by the British) vs Buddhist indigenous population. The hindu LTTE is one of the pioneers of suicide bombings if you must know.

In your desperation, you are trying to take a stab at everything and hoping something sticks. Unfortunately for you, nothing is.

Back on planet reality, it was Hindu immigrants from India (large number brought in by the British) vs Buddhist indigenous population. The hindu LTTE is one of the pioneers of suicide bombings if you must know.
In your eagerness to discredit @Local.Dada, you made a big blunder.

Tamils lived in Srilanka for thousands of years. There is archealogical evidence dating back to 2nd century BCE. LOL@ you saying British took them there.

Also, Sinhala people mainly consist of people from present day Odisha and Andhra pradesh. These people migrated there several centuries ago. Prince Vijaya from Eastern part of India entered Srilanka around 5th century BCE. With him, he took Indian culture and beliefs. These people mixed with the aboriginal Vedda population of Srilanka to form Sinhala people of today.
Later Ashoka sent missionaries to convert Sinhala people to Buddhism. Sinhala people developed their distinct identity with Buddhism becoming dominant religion and by 12th century with Buddhism fading in India.

If we look at it, it is Indians(Sinhala) vs Indians(Tamil). People look the same. Sinhala language is similar to Maldivian, Sanskrit and Pali.

This is all too much for you. You just believe that LTTE are suicide bombers are Hindus. Many in their cadre are Christians. :rolleyes:

They may had Muslims/other religions too.Tamil identity is all together a different case.its an umbrella of many religions fighting for the tamil culture.

Was thinking maybe some of these countries would be better off becoming secular. Not that you can’t promote religious freedom as non-secular. But being secular sends a statement and doesn’t allow enforcement of religious law. And promotes religious freedom and tolerance of other religions even more.

And it goes against most terrorist groups that believe their religion should rule in these countries. It also would hopefully make religion a more personal thing to an individual rather than state.

Don’t know if it would realistically do anything. But have noticed the secular Muslim countries tend to have less issues. Might be a coincidence. But just a thought, I wonder if it’d make a difference or not.

Interestingly ,today I have met a pakistani cab driver who went on a rant against Bondi terrorist. He mentioned that already Sydney business team have unofficially blacklisted Indian, pakistani Muslims.So this guy from peshawar have started saying he is a Turkish product. Its another matter that he does not look exactly like that.

You in Sydney?

Australian PM announces crackdown on hate speech after Bondi shooting

Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese says his government will crack down on hate speech following Sunday's deadly shooting at Bondi Beach that targeted a Jewish festival.

Fifteen people were killed when two gunmen opened fire at an event to mark the first day of Hanukkah.

New laws will target "those who spread hate, division and radicalisation", Albanese told reporters in Canberra.

The home affairs minister will also be given new powers to cancel or refuse visas for those who spread hate and a new taskforce will be set up to ensure the education system "prevents, tackles and properly responds to antisemitism".

The new laws will also include penalties for preachers and leaders who promote violence, a new federal offence of "aggravated hate speech", and the introduction of "hate" as an aggravating factor in sentencing crimes for online threats and harassment.

"Every Jewish Australian has the right to feel safe, valued and respected for the contribution that they make to our great nation," Albanese said.

"The terrorists, inspired by ISIS... sought to turn Australians against each other. Australians have responded to that act of hatred with love and sympathy for those in mourning."

Albanese added that his government would be "fully supporting and adopting" the recommendations put forward in July in a report by antisemitism envoy Jillian Segal, who also spoke at the press conference.

She said the country was "at a very important moment not only for our community, but for fighting antisemitism around the world."

Her report was criticised by some upon its release in July due to its implications for free speech, including plans to monitor universities and arts organisations and withhold funding if they were deemed to have failed to act against antisemitism. There were concerns for instance, that the funding could be used to silence pro-Palestinian protests.

Home Affairs Minister Tony Burke said the government was "shifting the threshold".

"There have been individuals who have managed to exploit a nation that had different principles of freedom of speech and have gone right to the limits of language that is clearly dehumanising, unacceptable, having no place in Australia, but have not quite crossed the threshold to violence," he said.

Meanwhile, Albanese acknowledged accusations from the Jewish community that his government had not done enough to prevent antisemitism since the 7 October attack on Israel by Hamas, and said more could have been done.

"I accept my responsibility for the part in that as prime minister of Australia," he said. "But what I also do is accept my responsibility to lead the nation and unite the nation. Because what people are looking for at this time isn't more division."

BBC

What's the vibe there towards ppl from sub continent in Sydney overall? Things are dicey in Melbourne
I think it will take another year or two for things to go back to normal. People are in complete shock and frustration for Spoiling the business , Christmas mood.once the new year festival is done, it will be clear .As we already know, Aussies are not softies like US,UK to let any of us to go easily.They will come right on ur face and pose questions.

Australian PM announces crackdown on hate speech after Bondi shooting

Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese says his government will crack down on hate speech following Sunday's deadly shooting at Bondi Beach that targeted a Jewish festival.

Fifteen people were killed when two gunmen opened fire at an event to mark the first day of Hanukkah.

New laws will target "those who spread hate, division and radicalisation", Albanese told reporters in Canberra.

The home affairs minister will also be given new powers to cancel or refuse visas for those who spread hate and a new taskforce will be set up to ensure the education system "prevents, tackles and properly responds to antisemitism".

The new laws will also include penalties for preachers and leaders who promote violence, a new federal offence of "aggravated hate speech", and the introduction of "hate" as an aggravating factor in sentencing crimes for online threats and harassment.

"Every Jewish Australian has the right to feel safe, valued and respected for the contribution that they make to our great nation," Albanese said.

"The terrorists, inspired by ISIS... sought to turn Australians against each other. Australians have responded to that act of hatred with love and sympathy for those in mourning."

Albanese added that his government would be "fully supporting and adopting" the recommendations put forward in July in a report by antisemitism envoy Jillian Segal, who also spoke at the press conference.

She said the country was "at a very important moment not only for our community, but for fighting antisemitism around the world."

Her report was criticised by some upon its release in July due to its implications for free speech, including plans to monitor universities and arts organisations and withhold funding if they were deemed to have failed to act against antisemitism. There were concerns for instance, that the funding could be used to silence pro-Palestinian protests.

Home Affairs Minister Tony Burke said the government was "shifting the threshold".

"There have been individuals who have managed to exploit a nation that had different principles of freedom of speech and have gone right to the limits of language that is clearly dehumanising, unacceptable, having no place in Australia, but have not quite crossed the threshold to violence," he said.

Meanwhile, Albanese acknowledged accusations from the Jewish community that his government had not done enough to prevent antisemitism since the 7 October attack on Israel by Hamas, and said more could have been done.

"I accept my responsibility for the part in that as prime minister of Australia," he said. "But what I also do is accept my responsibility to lead the nation and unite the nation. Because what people are looking for at this time isn't more division."

BBC
What hate speech? Looks lime some people fail to realise that such incidents are an achievement for Islamists around the world who celebrate them. They would rather mourn and stop eating if any such planned mission of theirs fail.​

Tamils lived in Srilanka for thousands of years. There is archealogical evidence dating back to 2nd century BCE. LOL@ you saying British took them there.

Also, Sinhala people mainly consist of people from present day Odisha and Andhra pradesh. These people migrated there several centuries ago. Prince Vijaya from Eastern part of India entered Srilanka around 5th century BCE. With him, he took Indian culture and beliefs. These people mixed with the aboriginal Vedda population of Srilanka to form Sinhala people of today.
Later Ashoka sent missionaries to convert Sinhala people to Buddhism. Sinhala people developed their distinct identity with Buddhism becoming dominant religion and by 12th century with Buddhism fading in India.

If we look at it, it is Indians(Sinhala) vs Indians(Tamil). People look the same. Sinhala language is similar to Maldivian, Sanskrit and Pali.

You are aware that Chennai (Madras) was a slave port right? Hence you see large numbers in Malaysia, South Africa, Caribbean and even mainland South America. I said..... "large number brought in by the British". Sometimes it pays to read properly before going off on one. Why do you think the British took them there or to other parts of the world?

So you try to conflate tiny minority in the population (who by the way exist in the Sinhalese population too) and ignore wood for the trees. This is such an Indian thing to do. It was essentially Hindu vs Buddhist.... Guess which country was instrumental in helping Sri Lanka finally defeating the LTTE, even flying sorties to bomb the LTTE strongholds.

You are aware that Chennai (Madras) was a slave port right? Hence you see large numbers in Malaysia, South Africa, Caribbean and even mainland South America. I said..... "large number brought in by the British". Sometimes it pays to read properly before going off on one. Why do you think the British took them there or to other parts of the world?

So you try to conflate tiny minority in the population (who by the way exist in the Sinhalese population too) and ignore wood for the trees. This is such an Indian thing to do. It was essentially Hindu vs Buddhist.... Guess which country was instrumental in helping Sri Lanka finally defeating the LTTE, even flying sorties to bomb the LTTE strongholds.

Mate you have 0 comprehension skills . You have been explained already 4-5 times what the LTTE movement was. Not sure what gibberish you are blabbering but let me try one more time.

LTTE had Tamil speaking people of Srilanka from all religions :Hindus, Muslims, Xtians. In fact most of the LTTE folks were Christians from what I remember but that’s besides the point. it was an ethnic moment: what exactly are you failing to understand?

Comical how this Hindudva Terorrist ended up being an Indian, instead of Pakistani. Absolutely hilarious seeing reactions of Sanghis, humiliation has become a daily routine for these clowns.

Yet another Kasab (aka Ram prakash) type terrorist is this Bondi beach terrorist is. Saffron cult has been absolutely humiliated again now that entire world is saying they are Indians

So brother Naveen Akram is now a Hindutva terrorist and belong to RSS? LMAO :kp

He is yet another crazy Islamist terrorist. You are burning like charcoal that another of your bhai bandhu got caught and trying to pass the blame on other community. Simply not going to work, atleast under my watch.

:trump2 :kp

What hate speech? Looks lime some people fail to realise that such incidents are an achievement for Islamists around the world who celebrate them. They would rather mourn and stop eating if any such planned mission of theirs fail.​

This is blatantly untrue. Why would Muslims celebrate a political victory for israel?

It is the hindutvas who are celebrating, I don't know why, but it is pretty evident in this thread.

Reading is not something sanghis seem to do. They love to get their knowledge from BJP WhatsApp University. :inti

This is blatantly untrue. Why would Muslims celebrate a political victory for israel?

It is the hindutvas who are celebrating, I don't know why, but it is pretty evident in this thread.

Being dishonest is the sanghi way. They are pathological liars.

Mate you have 0 comprehension skills . You have been explained already 4-5 times what the LTTE movement was. Not sure what gibberish you are blabbering but let me try one more time.

LTTE had Tamil speaking people of Srilanka from all religions :Hindus, Muslims, Xtians. In fact most of the LTTE folks were Christians from what I remember but that’s besides the point. it was an ethnic moment: what exactly are you failing to understand?

The conflation is clear to see. Use the absolute tiny minority to pretend that it was anything other than Hindu vs Buddhists.

Mate you have 0 comprehension skills .
LTTE had Tamil speaking people of Srilanka from all religions

As per Oxford university press

The LTTE’s official ideology was strictly secularist, expressing a clear separation between religion, the state, and politics. The LTTE accepted individual religious practices in its ranks, but did not facilitate institutionalized religious practice.

I think it will take another year or two for things to go back to normal. People are in complete shock and frustration for Spoiling the business , Christmas mood.once the new year festival is done, it will be clear .As we already know, Aussies are not softies like US,UK to let any of us to go easily.They will come right on ur face and pose questions.
I hope you put them in their place and shut it down pronto with full vigour.. You are NOT responsible or answerable for what happened in Sydney.

As per Oxford university press

The LTTE’s official ideology was strictly secularist, expressing a clear separation between religion, the state, and politics. The LTTE accepted individual religious practices in its ranks, but did not facilitate institutionalized religious practice.

Did you know that there were christians in the ottoman army that helped end the Holy Roman Empire with the conquest of Constantinople? It was a war between Christians and Muslims essentially or an ethno nationalist fight based on the tiniest of minorities?

Ok by that logic, Bangladesh freedom struggle was a religious crusade where the real Muslims of Bangladesh revolted against fake Muslims of Pakistan . Good enough for you?

There was a question at the end of that post, which you overlooked.

Muslims on a crusade? And that too against each other. Seriously? :LOL:

Maybe look at what the words are before just throwing them around.

East Pakistan vs West Pakistan. Both muslims. How does that compare to Hindus vs Buddhists? If East Pakistan were majority a different religion then that would have been an apt comparison.

Unconfirmed reports are circulating but I'm waiting for official confirmation. Yes, your guess is correct and the terrorist's country of origin is the same where Osama bin Laden was found.

a Pakistani naveed Akram is in police custody. Religion of peace strikes again

One of the shooters was allegedly a Pakistani. You have outdone yourselves here! Take a bow

Pakistanis praying right now all these reports turn out to be false and they can make their entry in this thread to call out hate speech and Islamophobia from Modi bhakts. I am kinda on their side right now and hope the reports are false. I don’t want things to go bad for them honestly even though they deserve it.

The pakistani shooter was contracted by Mossad to kill aussies and divert the media coverage from Gaza.

Can’t be entirely dismissed. Paks have been known to collude with yahudis for the right price

So its not all muslims, it pak muslims who specialize in massacre of civilians?

Lol.

Indians have failed humanity. Dumb shameless people.

Dude, you are exposed. Accept and move on. It is clear, history is not your strong subject.

Tamils existed in Srilanka for over 2000 years. There is archelogical evidence of their presence in Northern Srilanka. You have no clue about Tamil history. Stick to trolling and don't embarass yourself.

India sacrificed many of its soldiers in fighting LTTE and even lost their PM Rajiv Gandhi for the alleged Indian support for Srilankan forces. Your attempt to paint the issue as Hindu vs Buddhist has been an epic fail. :dw :mv

There was a question at the end of that post, which you overlooked.

Muslims on a crusade? And that too against each other. Seriously? :LOL:

Maybe look at what the words are before just throwing them around.

East Pakistan vs West Pakistan. Both muslims. How does that compare to Hindus vs Buddhists? If East Pakistan were majority a different religion then that would have been an apt comparison.

🤣 the only reason to even entertain this is guy is the comedic value of the posts.

Ok let’s see- you thought you gave me a great counter by saying Bangladesh war was Muslims vs Muslims.

So what was the driving force then?

Let me answer that for you: It was ethnic/linguistic movement. All the major Bangladeshi nationalists and prominent leaders like Sheikh Mujeeb and other Mukti Bahini members were Muslims.

Now 2nd point of some dumb chooran about ottoman empire etc having minorities in their army lol, that is funnily the most stereotypical Pakistani argument ever . It’s funny because Bangladesh freedom movement was also supported by the minorities of Bangladesh be it Hindus, Christians, Buddhists of Bangladesh. Closer to home and recent so more documentation available. Care to take a look it up and confirm.

Now apply that to Sri Lanka Tamil issue, where most of LTTE folks were Tamil speaking and most weren’t even Hindu, they were Christians. That’s one of the reasons a lot of Srilankan Tamil xtians even today have been given refugee status in European/Xtian countries. Their leader Prabhakaran son’s name was “Charles Anthony Prabhakaran” 🤣 FFS. Do you even do some basic research before spouting Gibberish.

In fact not every Sinhalese are Buddhists either. Remember the famous sermon Shehzad gave Sinhala ex-Muslim turned Buddhist Dilshan? You don’t even have to read newspaper or history, just frickin use your brain and look around you which also seems too much to ask lmao. You are on a cricket forum- In fact look at their cricket team players- Farvez Maharoof- Srilankan Tamil Muslim, Muralitharan- Srilankan Tamil Hindu, Angelo Matthews- Srilankan Tamil Xtian, Russel Arnold- Srilanka Tamil Xtian.

My god how dense are you lol.

Dude, you are exposed. Accept and move on. It is clear, history is not your strong subject.

Tamils existed in Srilanka for over 2000 years. There is archelogical evidence of their presence in Northern Srilanka. You have no clue about Tamil history. Stick to trolling and don't embarass yourself.

India sacrificed many of its soldiers in fighting LTTE and even lost their PM Rajiv Gandhi for the alleged Indian support for Srilankan forces. Your attempt to paint the issue as Hindu vs Buddhist has been an epic fail. :dw :mv
Getting tired of this. Go and research and just answer one of your many half truths...

Who initially supported and armed LTTE? Would you care to tell us which country that was?

You might want to have a look at what the christian population is across the whole of Sri Lanka..... hint - it's in the single figures.

🤣 the only reason to even entertain this is guy is the comedic value of the posts.

Ok let’s see- you thought you gave me a great counter by saying Bangladesh war was Muslims vs Muslims.

So what was the driving force then?

Let me answer that for you: It was ethnic/linguistic movement. All the major Bangladeshi nationalists and prominent leaders like Sheikh Mujeeb and other Mukti Bahini members were Muslims.

Now 2nd point of some dumb chooran about ottoman empire etc having minorities in their army lol, that is funnily the most stereotypical Pakistani argument ever . It’s funny because Bangladesh freedom movement was also supported by the minorities of Bangladesh be it Hindus, Christians, Buddhists of Bangladesh. Closer to home and recent so more documentation available. Care to take a look it up and confirm.

Now apply that to Sri Lanka Tamil issue, where most of LTTE folks were Tamil speaking and most weren’t even Hindu, they were Christians. That’s one of the reasons a lot of Srilankan Tamil xtians even today have been given refugee status in European/Xtian countries. Their leader Prabhakaran son’s name was “Charles Anthony Prabhakaran” 🤣 FFS. Do you even do some basic research before spouting Gibberish.

In fact not every Sinhalese are Buddhists either. Remember the famous sermon Shehzad gave Sinhala ex-Muslim turned Buddhist Dilshan? You don’t even have to read newspaper or history, just frickin use your brain and look around you which also seems too much to ask lmao. You are on a cricket forum- In fact look at their cricket team players- Farvez Maharoof- Srilankan Tamil Muslim, Muralitharan- Srilankan Tamil Hindu, Angelo Matthews- Srilankan Tamil Xtian, Russel Arnold- Srilanka Tamil Xtian.

My god how dense are you lol.
You are beginning to sound like @Devadwal and his many reincarnations after operation sindoor.

It's like you have no concept of apple to apple comparisons. Again, you conflate by writing waffle which has no place in the debate. Are Tamils in Sri Lanka overwhelmingly hindu? The answer is yes. Are the Sinhalese overwhelmingly Buddhists, again the answer is yes. You are conflating tiny numbers to suggest that it is not a religious conflict. Like I said to the other fool, go and check the percentage of christians in Sri Lanka.

LTTE would not represent every single Tamil in Sri Lanka, its like saying Taliban represents every single Pashtun Afghan.

Prabakaran was a hindu mate. Being a christian is not a reason for being given refugee status in uk, most are Hindu Sri Lankans. In fact all the Sri Lankan tamils I know are Hindu. The christian Sri Lankans I know are Sinhalese!!

Aren't majority of the SL tamils muslims?

Getting tired of this. Go and research and just answer one of your many half truths...

Who initially supported and armed LTTE? Would you care to tell us which country that was?

You might want to have a look at what the christian population is across the whole of Sri Lanka..... hint - it's in the single figures.

Do not expect to see logic from the sanghis.

You can give them all the facts but they are unlikely to accept those facts. They are the BJP robots. Not capable of independent thinking. :inti

Nope.
Majority are Hindus with some minority Christians and an even smaller minority Muslims. They all united under Prabhakaran for a separate homeland to the north of the Island.
Prabhakaran’s son was “Charles Anthony Prabhakaran”. Also LTTE always got arms form western intelligence agencies not subcontinent groups.

India was helping Srilankan army in this fight and the only people sympathizing with the Tamils were DMK and AIADMK which are know to be rabid anti-Hindu parties.

It’s all documented and available. One doesn’t even have to deduce or make assumptions or analyze. I wouldn’t think this is a platform for arguing or discussing a complicated international conflict.

basically the guy was calling LTTE conflict as a Hindu vs Buddhist religious conflict 🤣🤣🤣, he said that in the first post and kept harping on the same point after all the explanations he was given. I think joke is on us if we get triggered by such stupidity or such Bradfordiya logic and continue this further.

7 arrested from Liverpool ,Sydney on yesterday. All of them were carrying firearms. Atleast one of them looks like a desi.Looks like the infection has completely set in .Tough days ahead for Sydney siders.

So brother Naveen Akram is now a Hindutva terrorist and belong to RSS? LMAO :kp

He is yet another crazy Islamist terrorist. You are burning like charcoal that another of your bhai bandhu got caught and trying to pass the blame on other community. Simply not going to work, atleast under my watch.

:trump2 :kp

Your sanghi watches are stuck on Muslim Moghuls ruling your ancestors for generations :)

So before Sanghis were going bonkers over him being from Pakistan, must have been a hard pill to swallow that he turned out Indian:) . And fan base of Hindudva Terorirst leader of 3000 civilian murderer and fan base of Terorirst israeli genocidl supporters have no say over this. Hindudva sanghi Terorirsts who cheer on snipping children shouldn't have a say on the topic of terrorism

Look at the first few pages of Sanghis here being over the moon for him being Pakistani, but turned out they were Indians lol

7 arrested from Liverpool ,Sydney on yesterday. All of them were carrying firearms. Atleast one of them looks like a desi.Looks like the infection has completely set in .Tough days ahead for Sydney siders.
More Terrorists there then. Islamic Radicalism has spread its tentacles all around the world.

Yes shameless people's who are supporting terrorist. 🤡🤡🤡 :klopp :kp
No one here needs to condemn any act of terror. It’s not a moral obligation. Pakistanis have nothing to do with it, neither do Muslims all over the world.

Do you condemn every act of terror that happens in Sudan or Palestine? Never seen you show concern for humanity when they are Muslims who are the victims. Ww can all see through veil of hatred so drop the act and accept that you Indians are vile creatures who find joy in the suffering of people you hate.

This is not a personality problem, it’s a culture problem. It’s a disease that consumes you. You never see the light in others and always seek out negativity. It’s a reflection on your own insecurities.

Muslims are responsible for their own communities. The isis ideology has political roots and unfortunately has been weaponized by evil people. No one wants their faith to be associated with terrorism. Only psychopaths do.

No one here needs to condemn any act of terror. It’s not a moral obligation. Pakistanis have nothing to do with it, neither do Muslims all over the world.

Do you condemn every act of terror that happens in Sudan or Palestine? Never seen you show concern for humanity when they are Muslims who are the victims. Ww can all see through veil of hatred so drop the act and accept that you Indians are vile creatures who find joy in the suffering of people you hate.

This is not a personality problem, it’s a culture problem. It’s a disease that consumes you. You never see the light in others and always seek out negativity. It’s a reflection on your own insecurities.

Muslims are responsible for their own communities. The isis ideology has political roots and unfortunately has been weaponized by evil people. No one wants their faith to be associated with terrorism. Only psychopaths do.
Yes , they can labbbled traitor a person who saved the life but glorified the terrorists. I'm not surprised at all.

Police have confirmed they weren't carrying any weapons/firearms. Sounds like they received a tip off and they acted accordingly but don't have any evidence of intent yet:

Yeah they are not carrying firearms .
I have shared the 7 news video which was deleted by mods. it said they were carrying it.so its a false news.

As shared by ur article, all of them are known to Victoria Police in the extremist list and they shares the same sentiment of bondi terrorists.police confirmed they are travelling from Victoria ( Melbourne) to Bondi but dont know their intent.

Sanghis want others to condemn but they themselves never condemn.

I never saw them condemn when extremist sanghis attack/kill innocent Muslims in India.

They are truly big losers. :inti

Yes , they can labbbled traitor a person who saved the life but glorified the terrorists. I'm not surprised at all.

This is exactly the problem. Despite this man risking his life to save civilians, he is branded a "traitor".

When extremists openly shame moral courage and glorify terrorists, silence and deflection from within the community enable it.

If Muslims are responsible for their own communities, as you say, then calling out those who vilify heroes and excuse terror is part of that responsibility. It’s the bare minimum.

Australia announces gun buyback scheme in wake of Bondi attack

The Australian government has announced a gun buyback scheme in the wake of the Bondi Beach attack - its deadliest mass shooting in decades.

The scheme is the largest since the Port Arthur massacre in 1996, which left 35 people dead and prompted Australia to introduce world-leading gun control measures.

Fifteen people were killed and dozens injured on Sunday when two gunmen, believed to have been motivated by "Islamic State ideology", opened fire on a Jewish festival at the country's most iconic beach.

On Friday, police also said there was no ongoing reason to detain a group of men who were arrested in Sydney over their "extremist Islamic ideology".

Police allege Sunday's attack, which they have declared a terrorist incident, was committed by a father-son duo. Naveed Akram, 24, has been charged with 59 offences, including 15 counts of murder and one of committing a terrorist act. His father Sajid was killed during the attack.

The day after the shooting, national cabinet - which includes representatives from the federal government and leaders from all states and territories - agreed to tighten gun controls.

Speaking to media on Friday, Prime Minister Anthony Albanese said there are now more than 4 million firearms in Australia - more than at the time of the Port Arthur massacre.

"We know that one of these terrorists held a firearm licence and had six guns, in spite of living in the middle of Sydney's suburbs... There's no reason why someone in that situation needed that many guns.

"If you're going to reduce the number of guns, then a buyback scheme has to be a piece of that puzzle," Australian Federal Police Commissioner Krissy Barrett added.

The new scheme will purchase surplus, newly banned and illegal firearms, and will be funded on a 50-50 basis with the states and territories. Hundreds of thousands of firearms will be collected and destroyed, the government estimates.

National cabinet has also agreed to impose limits on the number of firearms held by any one individual, restrict open-ended firearms licensing and the types of guns that are legal and make Australian citizenship a condition of holding a firearm licence.

Work on a national firearms register will be accelerated and firearm regulators will have better access to criminal intelligence.

On Friday, New South Wales Police said they were preparing to release seven men with extremist ideology, but that they would continue to be monitored.

Tactical officers swarmed on the group, who had travelled from Victoria and were known to police there, in dramatic scenes in the suburb of Liverpool on Thursday. Officers found a knife, but no guns or other weapons.

NSW Police Commissioner Mal Lanyon told a press conference there is "no confirmed link" between the alleged terrorists and the detained group, but that Bondi Beach was one of several locations the latter was intending to visit.

"Whilst this specific threat posed by the males is unknown, I can say that the potential [for] a violent offence being committed was such that we were not prepared to tolerate the risk," Commissioner Lanyon said.

BBC

If Muslims are responsible for their own communities, as you say, then calling out those who vilify heroes and excuse terror is part of that responsibility. It’s the bare minimum.
Do you want every single Muslim to come to you personally and apologize to you? What amount of Muslims do you want to see do that to satisfy you?

Muslims are not a monolith. They are individuals who live normal lives and want to provide for their families. Majority don’t want anything to do with incidents not pertaining to them directly.
Where I live, Muslims participate in charities, welfare and maintain goodwill with other communities. I don’t agree with pro Palestine political nonsense but let’s not vilify an entire religion because of some terror group created by the west purposely to sabotage the reputation of Muslims.
Western countries need to and should ban activists and hate preachers both Muslims and non Muslims. These people exist because they are allowed to exist.

Take your Hindutva cult and get lost from this forum!

The gall of a cult member pretending to be a native yet lecturing others on terrorism. Hilarious.

He is not Hindutva but a native Aussie. Just because you are unable to beat him in debates, throwing toys out of pram in desperation.

If you want to debate with a Hindutva, I am always here.

#HaiHimmat?

Take your Hindutva cult and get lost from this forum!

The gall of a cult member pretending to be a native yet lecturing others on terrorism. Hilarious.

A lifetime worth of chanting God Save the King/Queen only to be mistaken for an Arab. (the camel thing) :junaid

Of course, you probably consider that a compliment.

This is exactly the problem. Despite this man risking his life to save civilians, he is branded a "traitor".

When extremists openly shame moral courage and glorify terrorists, silence and deflection from within the community enable it.

Can you share the site where Arabs have branded him a traitor? I am sure as a native Aussie you wouldn't be stupid enough to spread fake news.

Amreeka, UK, and Australia all joined forces and bombed Iraq in an illegal war.

Islam the problem? No its these warmongering tossers of the 5-eyes.

Look at them cry now! They weren't crying when they were complicit in killing over 1 Million innocent Iraqis.

Lucky for you that you don’t pay taxes, otherwise you would have had blood of those innocent people too.👍

So you're saying the beach-goers in Sydney deserved what they got?

The overwhelming majority have already done exactly that. If you’re still demanding that Muslims somehow condone or justify genocide, then the problem isn’t a lack of condemnation, it’s a failure of your own moral introspection.

He is not Hindutva but a native Aussie. Just because you are unable to beat him in debates, throwing toys out of pram in desperation.

If you want to debate with a Hindutva, I am always here.

#HaiHimmat?

Technics throwing a tantrum? c'mon now. not possible.

Weren't you singing praises of the 5-eyes? in the India canada issue? now they are war mongers? I'm shocked, tell you I'm shocked.

I don't understand why most of you are wasting time with the cult filth, including those living in Australia.

Their narrative has completely broken down. They started this thread by posting vile racist comments towards Islam, then when finding out the saviour was Muslim but the attacker Indian, the cult have been in nothing but damage control mode.

Screw their demands for condemnation. The Islamic world has condemned the attack but now some wannabe Aussie says no cos he read a comment somewhere in the internet either.

Seriously, now the masks have slipped, every cult member here should be made an example of, as these guys are the real terrorists infiltrating every corner of the world!

How many more times do the cult have to be exposed to realise they are the problem along with their Swatsika Zionist brethren?

2025 is the year the world woke up! Islam isn't going anywhere, but the days of the Hindutva Cult and Zionism are over.

Regular Muslims always condemn radicals.

Do not fall for propaganda from Indians. Indians are #1 when it comes to fake news. :inti

Regular Muslims always condemn radicals.

Do not fall for propaganda from Indians. Indians are #1 when it comes to fake news and call center scamming. :inti

He's half Indian.

What's the other half? Wishing he wasn't? :dw

I'm half Kiwi and half Aussie. Cricket-wise, I support Australia in all matches unless they play New Zealand.

I understand in your parts it's a slur to call an Indian a Pakistani and vice versa, I don't want in on any of that thank you very much.

As long as you condemn the terror incidents by your fellow crew, that is more than sufficient.