New Delhi has become ‘rape capital’ of the world due to obscenity in Bollywood: PM Imran Khan

Atleast I'm better than you lot. You supporter Shahbaz Sharif who was laughing and joking infront of the father of Zainab Amin, and yesterday in parliament said the motorway that the rape took place Alhumdulilah we made it.

Again diversion tacitics. Everytime some goes wrong it’s the same excuse “oh look at India” or “oh look at Nawaz”

I’ve said this time and again two wrongs don’t make a right. If you’re comparing Nawaz with Imran and excusing his incompetence based on the incompetence of Nawaz then at least admit they’re both the same and hence the comparison

Shahbaz Sharif laughing and joking while sitting in a press conference with the mourning father of Zainab Amin and then these filthy patwaris have the gall to bark.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">ذہنی گراوٹ کی انتہا دیکھیئے۔ کتنا خوش نظر آ رہا ہے یہ بے حس انسان! یاد رہے کہ یہ وہی انسان ہے کہ جس کی سرپرستی میں حاملہ خواتین کے چہروں پر گولیاں ماری گئی تھیں اس کی ایماء پر۔ <a href="https://t.co/yhrrD3IOuV">pic.twitter.com/yhrrD3IOuV</a></p>— Zartaj Gul Wazir (@zartajgulwazir) <a href="https://twitter.com/zartajgulwazir/status/1305733748827267073?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Again diversion tacitics. Everytime some goes wrong it’s the same excuse “oh look at India” or “oh look at Nawaz”

I’ve said this time and again two wrongs don’t make a right. If you’re comparing Nawaz with Imran and excusing his incompetence based on the incompetence of Nawaz then at least admit they’re both the same and hence the comparison

You generalized all supporters of IK but when I did the same with you supporters of Sharif you call it diversionary tactics. LOL kid this isn't your patwari circle of paindus where this kind of logic will fly. Find your level.

And the illogical statements continue. Let me make it easier for you. Yes, Shabaz was wrong. Now tell me was Imran right? Why do you base your judgement or arguments on Imran by comparing with Nawaz or Shahbaz? Is that his level?

Ok now we have reverted back to my original post. Thanks for admitting that your diversionary tactics didn't work.

I had asked did you watch the full hour long interview or just basing your opinion on a catchy headline????

I have even posted the interview on this thread and pointed out specifically what is said where. Go back and watch it and then have a sense of misery befall you as to how stupid you looked by passing judgement on the basis of a headline and that too by Jang group which is sworn enemy of PTI and IK.

Figures suggest a woman is raped in India every 22 minutes. Does the way female characters are depicted on screen play a role? Tom Brook asks some of the industry's major players.

Article continues below

I

In December 2012, the horrific gang rape of a 23-year-old medical student on a bus in Delhi resulted in her death, made headlines around the world and prompted a national outcry in India. It led one of Bollywood’s biggest stars, Shah Rukh Khan to tweet: “I am so sorry that I am a part of this society and culture. I am so sorry that I am a man.”

Since then numerous acts of sexual violence in India have been widely reported, including another shocking gang rape in West Bengal last month, allegedly meted out as a form of punishment to a 20-year-old woman on the orders of village elders. Figures from India’s National Crime Records Bureau suggest that a rape is now taking place in India every 22 minutes.

In the soul searching that has accompanied these shocking stories, the question has been asked: is Bollywood partly to blame for fomenting sexual violence against Indian women because of its imagery and narratives?

The portrayal of women in Indian cinema is showing some encouraging signs of improvement but top Indian director Mira Nair isn’t happy with mainstream Bollywood depictions which she sees as often demeaning. “A lot of our films go down the same old stereotype,” she says. “When there’s a sexy babe she has to gyrate and gyrate and she has to be an object of great allure and sex appeal and almost I would say vulgarity.”

Of particular concern are so-called ‘item numbers’ which are extremely popular, tightly choreographed and often sexually provocative musical performances which routinely appear in Bollywood films. To many moviegoers item numbers are engaging entertainment. But Mira Nair views them differently. “In the mass cinema one is seeing outrageous item numbers with the latest Bollywood queen in a largely male environment where she swings her way to all kinds of allure,” she says. “I really question this. I don’t think it leads to any kind of respectful interaction between men and women.”

This video is no longer available

For Indian actress Tillotama Shome, the focus shouldn’t just be on how Bollywood depicts women. “It’s also the portrayal of men,” she says. “It’s usually the manly man, either aggressive [or] very conservative. The stereotypes are as damaging for the man as it is for the woman, and it does impact society in continuing those kinds of stereotypes.”

No means no

Also of concern are recurring narratives suggesting that Indian women don’t really mean what they say when they resist sexual overtures. Last month saw the re-release in 3D of the Indian action-adventure classic Sholay. There is one sequence in which a woman very strongly rebuffs the aggressive advances of a man. Eventually she succumbs and the impression is given that although she was saying ‘no’ what she meant was ‘yes’. This fraught interaction between the sexes is often seen in Indian cinema. It is quite acceptable in many Bollywood films for a male character to stalk a woman.

One of Bollywood’s biggest stars, Aamir Khan, who’s more socially progressive than some of his counterparts, is concerned by movies that might normalise stalking. “There are films that are made which make certain things fashionable or cool,” he says, “which is very unfortunate. It is reflective of our thinking, that there are people in our creative field, who consider that a good enough story to tell. So it’s reflective of the way we are – and it’s sad.”

But not everyone in Bollywood thinks an apology is needed. Megastar Shah Rukh Khan, who according to one estimate has more than 3.5 billion fans, says: “I’m very clear that cinema in India does not lend itself in any which way to degrade women. Anyone who says that is extremely myopic.”

He bolsters his case with his assertion that actresses who may participate in provocative item numbers have no qualms over what they’re doing. “Whenever they’ve done a song or a sequence which is say titillating or somehow derogatory,” he says, “they’ve had a very strong choice in saying ‘Look, yeah: this is in terms of entertainment. I do it. I know what I’m doing. I’m not being pushed into this.’”

Feminist critics have argued that the continual sexual objectification of women on screen can have a harmful impact on women in the real world and can lead to acts of violence. But Shah Rukh Khan sees no connection. “You know that’s like saying ‘You show violence on a film then that comes on the streets,’” he says. “I haven’t seen comedy come on streets because of comedy, then why do you start assuming that the treatment of women, and the commodification of women is now coming on because of Bollywood. I don’t think so at all.”

Days of rage

It has also been argued that Bollywood – along with certain Indian reality television programmes – has created strong aspirational desires in the audience, painting a picture of a world where expensive luxury goods are seen in plentiful supply. It is thought that this, coupled with the growing independence of many Indian women who have moved into the urban workforce may have left some men angry and more likely to engage in acts of sexual violence.

Mira Nair notes that “the anger in a young man’s eyes when he sees a modern woman coming out of a movie and getting into a bus, it’s a kind of envy and anger. Like how can a working woman get so far ahead when I am not.”

There have been some films that have attempted to incorporate the realities of violence targeted at women – but not many. Among them is the 2011 thriller No One Killed Jessica, which is based on the true story of Jessica Lal, a Delhi model and bar hostess who was murdered in 1999.

Indian actress Tillotama Shome thinks that independent cinema could certainly bring stories to the screen dealing with sexual violence – but to her it’s important that any screenplay avoids the obvious. “If there was a film which explored the day of a man before he commits the act of rape,rather than showing rape to me onscreen – which I’ve seen a hundred times,” she says, that film could “create a sense of understanding.”

It is worth making the point that for all the attention on India right now, it still ranks well below the US in terms of recorded cases of rape. Hollywood’s portrayal of women may leave much to be desired but most would agree that female characters in American films are far more realistic and evolved than their Bollywood counterparts. Of course there are a range of factors that play a part in inciting acts of sexual violence against women – whether in India or the US – other than the way they are represented on screen.

Stars concede Bollywood may be partly to blame but argue that the entertainment industry shouldn’t really be the main focus of concern. “We don’t have proper law and order,” says Aamir Khan. “If you’d look at rape as a crime in India, most of the rape cases don’t get reported. So, I think that while the film industry really needs to look inwards, towards ourselves to see how we portray women in our films – and certainly a lot needs to be done there – I think the larger problem, and the larger issue, is that our law and order machinery has just completely failed us.”

https://www.bbc.com/culture/article/20140205-does-bollywood-incite-sex-crimes

Came into this thread thinking it was an old article that was bumped.

Im surprised he made this statement after the rape that happened on motorway. This is really pathetic stuff by this guy and he has lost it.

I thought the same... and no offense I almost expected you to bump it but this is shocking..

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A picture is worth more than a 1000 words. See for yourself the true face of Khadim e Ala. <br>Imagine the agony of a father who’s daughter has been raped and murdered and he is surrounded by monsters that are laughing.<br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ToneDeafShahbazSharif?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ToneDeafShahbazSharif</a> <a href="https://t.co/8kiF5V1byu">pic.twitter.com/8kiF5V1byu</a></p>— Zainab Muhammad Shahid (@ZainabMS_Malik) <a href="https://twitter.com/ZainabMS_Malik/status/1305796604998320128?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Then these people have the gall to run mouth. Apna girebaan bhi jhaank lo

A rape every 22 minute! I know india is way over-populated but that is staggering.

Something seriously wrong with South Asian men.

Those significant cases also wouldn't have been there if we had Sharia law :)

Oh yes, mighty Shariah, where non-believers (who are permitted to live in the state, namely Jews, Christians and Zoroastrians) have to pay a tax so that they are 'humbled', where a thief (even someone who has to steal food to prevent their family starving to death) has their hand mutilated, where apostates are put to death, where blasphemy is punishable by death, where slavery is permitted, where there's a mandated dress code, is such a beautiful system.

Besides, you just conceded that you were wrong and are just shifting the goal posts.

The equivalence is how you defended one(unless you have changed you opinion) but are equating bollywood to be an issue.

I dont understand your point. Religion asks us to respect women and protect them under all circumstances. I pointed out to content in bollywood which insulted and demeaned women and i found it a bit out of line.

That would be openly admitting that your people watch porn.

A statistical study needs to be done, i am sure the number of people who watch porn comfortably outweigh the people who do rapes. But we can't blame everything on porn, hollywood or bollywood. You have people in the West where they have dug out corpses and have had sex with them, you have male nurses who have raped a 93 year old senile defenseless senior. Is porn and the entertainment industry to blame for every illness in society?

Movies with violent content can encourage violent behavior but also discourage it.

If there is a movie on a rapist who suffers dire consequences and repents over his act, it is likely to educate people about the ramifications of this act.

You cannot control behavior with regulating the content of movies and dramas. Rape will happen whether it is depicted in movies or not, because it’s root-cause is not movie content.

I guarantee you that if you start punishing the perpetrators impartially with no exception, it will have a positive impact on the crime statistics. I however would like the option of capital punishment, castration to be exercised with caution because certain women have led men on, had consensual sex with them and then falsely accused them of rape. History is filled with such examples and the last thing you want to do is to hang or mutilate an innocent man only to later find out he was innocent. In fact in this situation there should be a provision in the law that any girl or woman who falsely implicates an innocent man should suffer the same punishment. I bet my bottom dollar the feminists will object to this under the pretext that even guilty men get away with it and an innocent girl, woman will suffer. No win situation

Just to further act, most people who visit escorts will still treat them with love, respect and will not dare to do anything harmful or against their will to them because of their fear of the law. Many guys have mistresses on the side but do they rape them? No. The sexual material of the porn industry, movies and tv shows cannot be blindly blamed for rapes and harassment, IMO it is purely down to the fact that the perpetrators have full confidence that they can commit the crime and get away with it. Remove their confidence of getting away with it with no serious life changing consequences of their actions and you will see a positive difference in the crime statistics.

In my opinion, one of the major reasons behind the escalated number of rapes in India is due to gendercide.

Following is a third party investigation and not something that Pakistan is launching as a propaganda against India.

This is worst of the worst form of Terrorism in my opinion but no one talks about it.

Some 50,000 female fetuses are aborted every month in India. Baby girls are often killed at birth, either thrown into rivers, or left to die in garbage dumps. Its estimated that one million girls in India "disappear" every year.

https://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headli...s-elizabeth-vargas-explores-indias-gendercide

India is one of the very few countries in the world where killing of millions of baby girls have caused an imbalance in gender ratio. Males out number the females, and that's one of the side effects you see.

"World history tells when you increase fahashi(vulgarity) in the society, two things happen: sex crimes increase and the family system breaks down," the prime minister maintained, underscoring that it is not only the responsibility of law enforcement agencies to battle out the prevalent sexual crimes in the country in fact it is the responsibility of the entire society to fight against such heinous offences.

I think too many people are missing this part of the message. Imran very cleverly holding the whole country accountable, and linking it with their supposed commitment to Islam. Basically he is saying you can't call yourself a Muslim and turn a blind eye to crimes like this.

Very smart, he is appealing to the public in language he knows they understand. Indians might feel hurt by his sentiments, but they should understand this message is aimed at Pakistanis asking them to do some introspection. Well done Imran, never one to duck an issue even as a politician.

He shouldn't have said what he said as it was unneeded and crass. However he is not the first to link Bollywood with rape culture. Even Indian sources have pointed towards it. These are just two of the many articles about it.

Is India’s rape culture related to the filthy misogynist songs of Bollywood?

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-to-the-filthy-misogynist-songs-of-bollywood/

Does Bollywood incite sexual violence in India?

This is worst of the worst form of Terrorism in my opinion but no one talks about it.

Some 50,000 female fetuses are aborted every month in India. Baby girls are often killed at birth, either thrown into rivers, or left to die in garbage dumps. Its estimated that one million girls in India "disappear" every year.

https://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headli...s-elizabeth-vargas-explores-indias-gendercide

India is one of the very few countries in the world where killing of millions of baby girls have caused an imbalance in gender ratio. Males out number the females, and that's one of the side effects you see.

Sadly true. Especially in rural North India.

He shouldn't have said what he said as it was unneeded and crass. However he is not the first to link Bollywood with rape culture. Even Indian sources have pointed towards it. These are just two of the many articles about it.

Is India’s rape culture related to the filthy misogynist songs of Bollywood?

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-to-the-filthy-misogynist-songs-of-bollywood/

Same author as you are sharing blogs now.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ump-should-buy-pakistan-instead-of-greenland/

What has he got to do with what's going on in India and how India handles it's issues? Very needless stuff from Imran which will not be ignored without a befitting reply.

I think you are taking it the wrong way freelance bro. Imran cannot lecture India on how it handles it's issues, what Pakistan calls vulgarity, Indians might think is wholesome. He is aiming this at the home audience, basically saying you are calling yourselves Muslims, but there is no difference between you and those across the border if we are getting sexual crimes committed against women while watching sexy Bollywood films.

He is trying to appeal to what should be at the core of being Pakistani.

Like I said I just posted two articles from the countless written about this issue. Maybe this writer isn’t credible but there are scholarly journal articles examining Bollywood’s link with rape culture if you want a more credible source.
https://journals.sfu.ca/msq/index.php/msq/article/view/165

Anyways like I said before IK shouldn’t have said this but the misogyny in Bollywood is not a secret. And there have been countless people who have linked Bollywood with rape culture.

I won't blame Bollywood at all. I would rather blame the trash coming into Delhi from UP, Bihar and Haryana. Only those who live in Delhi can understand that. The day Delhi shuts it borders on cities like Ghaziabaad and Noida the crime rate will start decreasing. UP especially is a hub of criminals. :inti

Pretty poor comment from Imran. Rape is a sensitive topic and cant be attributed to any specific industry. These kind of loose talks and gross generalizations is expected from fringe politicians but coming from a democratically elected PM? Shocking.

I won't blame Bollywood at all. I would rather blame the trash coming into Delhi from UP, Bihar and Haryana. Only those who live in Delhi can understand that. The day Delhi shuts it borders on cities like Ghaziabaad and Noida the crime rate will start decreasing. UP especially is a hub of criminals. :inti

Is UP among the most lawless territories in the entire world? Everyday i hear horrific stories coming out of the place.

Keep religion out of this.

We can discuss the role of movies in how Women are looked upon etc Or not.

More than half of Delhi's population (or even much more than that) are UPs/Haryanvis/Biharis. That is around atleast 10 million people. You should refrain from generalising that big a population based on the actions of a few.

Heck....if you're unaware of your background and refer to yourselves as "Delhi Wala" with Hindi as your tongue, there's a big fat chance that you too are from a UP/Bihar/Haryana background. So..... :inti

More than half of Delhi's population (or even much more than that) are UPs/Haryanvis/Biharis. That is around atleast 10 million people. You should refrain from generalising that big a population based on the actions of a few.

Heck....if you're unaware of your background and refer to yourselves as "Delhi Wala" with Hindi as your tongue, there's a big fat chance that you too are from a UP/Bihar/Haryana background. So..... :inti

Where was I generalizing? I was talking about the trash(criminals) coming into Delhi from UP, Bihar and Haryana. Learn to read properly before embarrassing yourself again. :inti

I'm a "Delhi wala".... my family had been living in Delhi for over 100 years before 47 (as far as we can trace). How far back do we have to go to verify if we are from UP/Bihar/Haryana?

Is Delhi really the world's "rape capital"? Where did IK get his data from?

Imran Khan is indeed a great man, willing to say how it is.

What he said is nothing new, not sure why people are bashing him speaking the truth.

Many Indians have said the same.

Here is a BBC article from 2014 discussing the same thing. An Actor Amir Khan did a docu with Al Jazeera where they discussed rape scences in Indian movies and how they are glorified.

Does Bollywood incite sexual violence in India?

Indians need to accept the reality of their movie industry along with the reality of crimes against women whose numbers cannot be matched by any other nation on Earth.

Fake liberals and IK haters are just embarrasing themselves again. Pakistanis overall love Imran, somethi ng they need to accept.

Is Delhi really the world's "rape capital"? Where did IK get his data from?

You can judge for yourself what he said

That's because I'm not stupid like you to judge a full hour long interview on the basis of one catchy headline. He spoke at length about the recent rape and what needs to be done to prevent them.

Hear listen for yourself, if you have required capacity to understand that is. The topic for rape comes up at 34:00, at 41:00 the fleeting mention of India comes.

Imran Khan is indeed a great man, willing to say how it is.

What he said is nothing new, not sure why people are bashing him speaking the truth.

Many Indians have said the same.

Here is a BBC article from 2014 discussing the same thing. An Actor Amir Khan did a docu with Al Jazeera where they discussed rape scences in Indian movies and how they are glorified.

Indians need to accept the reality of their movie industry along with the reality of crimes against women whose numbers cannot be matched by any other nation on Earth.

Fake liberals and IK haters are just embarrasing themselves again. Pakistanis overall love Imran, somethi ng they need to accept.

It also does not help with numerous item songs portraying women enjoying being sexual objects and having sexual activities with many men.

I'm a "Delhi wala".... my family had been living in Delhi for over 100 years before 47 (as far as we can trace). How far back do we have to go to verify if we are from UP/Bihar/Haryana?

Its impossible to tell. However there is no comparison between the Delhi wala of Old Delhi, which was an overwhelming Muslim majority area, and the Delhiwala of the India today. Those people are Punjabis, and Hindus from the villages of UP.

They have nothing to do with Old Delhi culture. In many cases people from Old Delhi were living there since the time of Shah Jahan.

The Delhi wala from Old Delhi, would have a similar culture to other Muslim majority old cities that were seats of various Muslim empires. That culture exists in Karachi among Urdu Speaking people.

You can judge for yourself what he said

Thanks for sharing. Clear case of selective reporting by the media.

However, I would still like to know where IK gets his data from, as he did say that Delhi is the world's "rape capital".

I was born in Delhi. I am pretty sure I don't have to go anywhere to verify that.

There used to be a time when Delhi's population was dominated by Punjabis and Haryanavis then people from UP and Bihar started settling in here because of lack of work in their own states and corrupt politicians. Many Punjabis started leaving Delhi and settled in Chandigarh, another top class city. I think it is like Islamabad. :inti

It also does not help with numerous item songs portraying women enjoying being sexual objects and having sexual activities with many men.

Stop. You are making things worse with these kind of posts. So item songs and erotic scenes are reasons for increasing rape in Delhi? Isnt that gross generalization and insensitive towards women? You are sounding as ridiculous as your PM.

Even worse.

I used to watch Bollywood as a child with the family. I stopped watching a long time ago but I know a lot of families have also stopped watching it due to what you have mentioned.

I know india has an issue with rape, but do we have it as a fact its the "rape capital". Anything to back this up.

Even worse.

Seems you still haven't watched the interview have you?

He also spoke about how when he was studying in the UK around that time divorces were severely uncommon but at around the same time UK was going through a cultural revolution and 'fahashi' was increasing in their culture and now the family structure has broken down with divorces being very common. Then he gave example of Bollywood as to how their movies were decades ago and what is acceptable now leading to greater incidence of rape. Then he talked about how our tv shows were being Bollywoodized and he tried to counter that by introducing Ertugrul.

Bet all of this is new info for you since you didn't even bother watching the video. Easier to just run mouth on the basis of a masala headline rather than spending 10 mins to watch the relevant part of the interview.

A leader thinks about the future of his nation. A politician thinks about the next election. That's what you patwaris are accustomed to, he is definitely a departure from your favourite leaders Nawaz and Shahbaz. Who btw will never come back to power, must hurt.

IK again in 2023, karlo jo karna hai.

:salute

Where was I generalizing? I was talking about the trash(criminals) coming into Delhi from UP, Bihar and Haryana. Learn to read properly before embarrassing yourself again. :inti

Lol. Refering to a whole group as "trash" and asking to shut borders on them due to the actions of a few individuals is not generalising ? So please educate me what does "generalisation" mean ? Please do... so that I can stop "embarrassing" my anonymous self on an internet forum. :inti

Last week a horrific rape case happened in Pakistan.

Imran Khan is more worried about India,Delhi and Bollywood. Either he has his priorities wrong or he only knows one way to deflect. India.

Why IK?

Read up, BBC wrote an article on the same issue many years ago. So have many other news outlets.

Its no secret Bollywood uses women as sex objects inc rape scenes.

Keep in mind, India is not Holland, women showing thier bodies are not respected but seen as meat, objects in India.

I used to watch Bollywood as a child with the family. I stopped watching a long time ago but I know a lot of families have also stopped watching it due to what you have mentioned.

I bet [MENTION=107753]uberkoen[/MENTION] and [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] find it completely acceptable to watch glorified mujra type item songs like Munni badnaam

Imran Khan is more worried about India,Delhi and Bollywood. Either he has his priorities wrong or he only knows one way to deflect. India.

The mention of India was a 10 second divergence during an hour long interview and even on the rape incident he spoke for over 8 minutes.

Apni auqaat samaj bhakt.

Delhi of 1947 was completely different from it's current version in every possible way. Punjabis (Jatts and Khatris) and Muslims used to dominate the demographics in old Delhi. Now they're all a minority with influx of immigrants mostly from Hindi belt.

Don't you watch Hollywood or european cinema with family ?

Bollywood is trash i have to agree. But they to have indie films or parallel cinema i think its called. Some good films there. On another topic. I am really impressed with Iranian cinema. Sophisticated, intellectually challenging films.

Why IK?

Read up, BBC wrote an article on the same issue many years ago. So have many other news outlets.

Its no secret Bollywood uses women as sex objects inc rape scenes.

Keep in mind, India is not Holland, women showing thier bodies are not respected but seen as meat, objects in India.

BBC may be bible for you Brits but its worth in India is equivalent to a toilet roll. Perhaps they can explain the motivation behind Rotherham Child grooming gang. Were they got tempted with bollywood erotica as well? BBC it seems...lol.

My point is these gross generalizations in sensitive topics like rape was unnecessary. Its okay if it comes from fringe politicians but coming from a PM dosent sounds good. And I am afraid its not the first time.

BBC may be bible for you Brits but its worth in India is equivalent to a toilet roll. Perhaps they can explain the motivation behind Rotherham Child grooming gang. Were they got tempted with bollywood erotica as well? BBC it seems...lol.

My point is these gross generalizations in sensitive topics like rape was unnecessary. Its okay if it comes from fringe politicians but coming from a PM dosent sounds good. And I am afraid its not the first time.

What are you going to do about it ?

Not just the BBC but multipled worldwide news outlets, its no secret pal.

There are evil criminals worldwide from every ethnicity but AGAIN NO NATION HAS THE AMOUNT OF ABUSE TOWARDS WOMEN AS INDIA DOES.

Indians themselves are crying out against Bollywood sexualing girls. India is not an open society like Europe, Indian men feel deprived but this is their own evilness.

I'd hate to be woman in India right now.

I am sure india is a hell hole. But do you have any data that says its the number 1 in rape in the world.

I think you are taking it the wrong way freelance bro. Imran cannot lecture India on how it handles it's issues, what Pakistan calls vulgarity, Indians might think is wholesome. He is aiming this at the home audience, basically saying you are calling yourselves Muslims, but there is no difference between you and those across the border if we are getting sexual crimes committed against women while watching sexy Bollywood films.

He is trying to appeal to what should be at the core of being Pakistani.

Thanks bro. What you are saying, I'm very sure that is exactly what Imran must have meant but as is evident these sort of grey comments lead to more negative vibes than good.

If he's smart he should learnt to avoid getting into these controversies.

I think a month ago he got in trouble for an OBL comment too. Very unnecessary stuff for a leader who has a big task at hand.

I and many other have much higher expectations from Khan sahb.

Figures suggest a woman is raped in India every 22 minutes. Does the way female characters are depicted on screen play a role? Tom Brook asks some of the industry's major players.

Perfect example of how to mislead by giving statistics without context. Trust BBC to paint a false picture.

Yes, the one rape every 22 mins is correct, but so is the 1.3 billion population.

There are 1,440 x 365 minutes in an year. So the total number per year = 1,440 x 365 / 22 = 23,891

Per million of population it works out to 23,891/1,300 = 18.4

So does India have a "rape problem". Yes, of course it does, but a lot less than other countries.

Per million for South Africa is 1,324, for Sweden it is 635, for Australia it is 289, for USA it is 274 and for NZ it is 258.

https://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/stats/Crime/Violent-crime/Rapes-per-million-people

That is right, a woman has a 90, 35 and 15 times higher probability of getting raped in the SA, Sweden and US compared to India.

Magically, you will not find BBC publishing articles about rape in the above countries.

"female characters in American films are far more realistic and evolved than their Bollywood counterparts"

What??? Natasha Romanoff from the Avengers or Carrie from SATC are far more realistic??? :))

Perfect example of how to mislead by giving statistics without context. Trust BBC to paint a false picture.

Yes, the one rape every 22 mins is correct, but so is the 1.3 billion population.

There are 1,440 x 365 minutes in an year. So the total number per year = 1,440 x 365 / 22 = 23,891

So does India have a "rape problem". Yes, of course it does, but a lot less than other countries.

Per million for South Africa is 1,324, for Sweden it is 635, for Australia it is 289, for USA it is 274 and for NZ it is 258.

https://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/stats/Crime/Violent-crime/Rapes-per-million-people

That is right, a woman has a 90, 35 and 15 times higher probability of getting raped in the SA, Sweden and US compared to India.

Magically, you will not find BBC publishing articles about rape in the above countries.

"female characters in American films are far more realistic and evolved than their Bollywood counterparts"

What??? Natasha Romanoff from the Avengers or Carrie from SATC are far more realistic??? :))
It irks me to see people (BBC in this case) twist data to prove a point or build a narrative. I’ve reached a point where I cannot trust any data analysis on its face value.

Can anyone provide data that delhi is now the rape capital?

No one can, because it isn't true. From my earlier post:

https://www.nationmaster.com/country...million-people

IK is both pathetic and a clown. Pathetic because he hasn't been able to develop any modern industries in Pakistan which should by far be his greatest priority and the path forward for Pakistan to escape from poverty, and a clown because his obsession with India provides comic relief.

Lol. Refering to a whole group as "trash" and asking to shut borders on them due to the actions of a few individuals is not generalising ? So please educate me what does "generalisation" mean ? Please do... so that I can stop "embarrassing" my anonymous self on an internet forum. :inti

Lol it is not my problem if you think that all UP and Bihar waalas are criminals and trash. I made my point crystal clear. Just wipe that saffron tinted glasses which Yogi gifted you on your first birthday. :inti

No I hardly watch movies and when I do it's alone only to pass time.

At least those produce some great quality, Bollywood is trash, very poor quality.

Only 5% of Bollywood movies are good these days and most of them are low budget movies. Other 95% are made for tamasha loving people and success of these movies is decided by the amount of profit it generates. Story and acting doesn't matter. :inti

Its you who is misleading people.

India has a big population, it uses this to its benefit in so many areas therefore it has to accept responsiblity for it's huge population and not make excuses.

There are an est 1 million female children in prositution. Likely much higher - No nation comes close to this alone.

10's of millions of women are forced to marry under age, this is again child abuse.

10s of millions suffer domestic abuse.

Many studies conclude India is the most dangerous place for women on Earth.

Again, INDIANS themselves have been speaking out against this, there are many good people too.

Have you been asleep?

In India reporting rape is a big taboo, it

No one can, because it isn't true. From my earlier post:

IK is both pathetic and a clown. Pathetic because he hasn't been able to develop any modern industries in Pakistan which should by far be his greatest priority and the path forward for Pakistan to escape from poverty, and a clown because his obsession with India provides comic relief.

Have your 'modern industries' helped you prevent a negative 23 growth rate. The only one who is pathetic and a clown is Modi and people like you who worship him.

Pakistan is making great strides towards being a welfare state Can't say the same for India.

It's an okay article on the whole .. it mostly uses observations from Indians and doesn't claim that India is worse off than other countries.

But I was reading that nationmaster link you posted. Pakistan is not even listed. Either they don't bother to record rape statistics or they're the most well behaved country on the planet !

Same can be said about Indian politicians as well. Before elections and even in normal days there isn't a moment where they do not mention the word 'Pakistan' in their statements. Your Modi Ji was talking about Pakistan during elections in Delhi and Kejriwal was talking about the work he did in the last 5 years for people of Delhi. Not surprisingly BJP lost because everybody knew BJP's motives behind mentioning Pakistan. :inti

India has a big population, it uses this to its benefit in so many areas therefore it has to accept responsiblity for it's huge population and not make excuses.

This is the sort of blather which makes me stop reading the rest of the post :))

In my opinion, one of the major reasons behind the escalated number of rapes in India is due to gendercide.

Following is a third party investigation and not something that Pakistan is launching as a propaganda against India.

That is depressing.

It's an okay article on the whole .. it mostly uses observations from Indians and doesn't claim that India is worse off than other countries.

To write an article about rape in India without mentioning how low the incidence is compared to SA, US, Sweden etc. is itself misleading. Anyone who wants to write an accurate article would start by noting that rape is extremely rare in India compared to most other countries, and then try to understand the reasons why? To give the stat "a rape every 22 minutes" without context is absolutely an attempt to mislead.

But I was reading that nationmaster link you posted. Pakistan is not even listed. Either they don't bother to record rape statistics or they're the most well behaved country on the planet !

Other Islamic countries like Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, Malaysia etc. also do not appear on this list.

Wonder if likes of Fawad Khan, Mahira Khan, Ali Zafar etc who worked in Bollywood will speak up against their PM. I am actually glad Imran made this statement. A lesson for few of our brown nosing film directors like Karan Johar who goes out of their way to cast foreign and does nepotism against local talent.

Also it will be interesting to see if likes of Amir Khan and Nasiruddin Shah, who are very vocal on social issues will speak up now.

Have your 'modern industries' helped you prevent a negative 23 growth rate. The only one who is pathetic and a clown is Modi and people like you who worship him.

Pakistan is making great strides towards being a welfare state Can't say the same for India.

Lol people these days especially youngsters are abusing Modi and calling him a feku. Our economy is going down and unemployment is going up.

Achey din aane wale hai. :inti

Wonder if likes of Fawad Khan, Mahira Khan, Ali Zafar etc who worked in Bollywood will speak up against their PM. I am actually glad Imran made this statement. A lesson for few of our brown nosing film directors like Karan Johar who goes out of their way to cast foreign and does nepotism against local talent.

Also it will be interesting to see if likes of Amir Khan and Nasiruddin Shah, who are very vocal on social issues will speak up now.

What a dumb post but hardly surprising.

Lots of indian(hindu) actors have also worked in Pakistani dramas. Before you ask muslim actors to speak up against Pakistan you should first ask Hindu actors why did they work in Pakistani dramas? As far as I remember Aamir Khan haven't worked in any Pakistani movies or drama? So why do you want him to speak up? Is that because he is from minority?

For your reference here is a list of Indian non muslim actors who have worked in Pakistani dramas/movies :

Shweta Tiwari
Deepti Gupta
Pooja Kanwal
Kiron Kher (wife of Anupam Kher who is a Modi bhakht himself)
Akashdeep Sehgal
Kim Sharma ( Ex GF of Yuvraj Singh)
Preethi Jhangiani
Vinod Khanna
Amrita Arora
Hrishita Bhatt
Johnny Lever
Neha Dhupia
Govind Namdeo
Gulshan Grover (Bad Man)
Arya Babbar ( Son of Raj Babbar)

Ask them to speak up please. :inti

That is not correct. Its very hard to determine the stats on rape. Each country registers case in many different ways. Victims report cases in varying degrees. So to say that sweden is a bigger rape problem would not be correct. Forget stats. I have been to india and to sweden. I would be more worried in india. Also more worried in pakistan for that matter.

I disagree with the PM. Why not blame Hollywood and the American porn industry then which goes a step further when it comes to sexualizing and objectifying girls and women?

That would be openly admitting that your people watch porn.

Let alone porn, he mentioned that Pakistan has a lot of consumption of child pornography. 36 minute onwards in the interview.

He also mentioned that there is severe under-reporting of rape cases in Pakistan.

There are an est 1 million female children in prositution. Likely much higher - No nation comes close to this alone.

10's of millions of women are forced to marry under age, this is again child abuse.

10s of millions suffer domestic abuse.

Many studies conclude India is the most dangerous place for women on Earth.

Again, INDIANS themselves have been speaking out against this, there are many good people too.

Have you been asleep?

In India reporting rape is a big taboo, it

Here is a gender equality index table few years back i think. India and pakistan are both pretty low.
http://hdr.undp.org/en/composite/GII

That is not correct. Its very hard to determine the stats on rape. Each country registers case in many different ways. Victims report cases in varying degrees. So to say that sweden is a bigger rape problem would not be correct. Forget stats. I have been to india and to sweden. I would be more worried in india. Also more worried in pakistan for that matter.

Your being "more worried" is anecdotal, and that is useless. I put my faith in data rather than personal experiences. If you have actual data showing that rape is lesser in Sweden compared to India please provide the cite.