Bhaag Viru Bhaag
Senior Test Player
Beghaani Shadi mein Abdullah Dewana
Read the context!
Are you talking to me or your PM Imran Khan?

Beghaani Shadi mein Abdullah Dewana
Read the context!
Why can't he both warn and work on improving women safety both? he shouldn't mention that ghatiya industry just because some bollywoodias will get offended?
You are right about Bollywood being ghatiya. As I said only 5% of movies that come out of it are good to watch anyway. Not sure whether Bollywood tries to copy the real incidents or real incidents try to copy Bollywood?![]()
you may have a point. maybe it is not delhi culture which is inspired by bollywood, but the obscenity in bollywood is inspired by the rotten delhi culture.
This is something I agree with too that Bollywood is total crap. See Viru bhai...atlast something on which we both agree:
But Delhi only has a population of 2.5 crores. What about the rest of our population? Is Delhi the only city that is inspiring Bollywood?![]()
What similarities? Kindly list them and some of the movies too.The population doesn't matter. Many delhiites are either from pakistan or belong to khatri caste, which is the dominant caste in bollywood. so it is natural that both delhi and bollywood will show similarities.
What similarities? Kindly list them and some of the movies too.![]()
that would be preaching to the choir. btw what do you think of bollywood practice of brownfacing.![]()
I see you running away once again. Kindly list the similarities and the movies.![]()
The job of a PM is to talk.
Kamasutra was exactly the opposite of what you are making it out to be (research on it if you don't believe me) and it was "progressive" for its time
It was there so both man and woman enjoy the act and both of their needs are taken care of (unlike what people did where only the needs of a man is taken care)
It was suppose to be an equalizer so through different positions a man or a woman make their sexual life exiting for their partners
It wasn't "objectifying" women quite to the contrary it was supposed to teach men,women (almost a manual on) how to better take care of their partners need
Carrying the same philosophy an Arab Imam wrote down "The Perfumed Garden" in 15th century because lots of men asked him for advice and how to better take care of their spouse. In the book he described how as a Muslim its our responsibility to take care of our partners needs because Allah commands it and it was a manual where he discussed different position which are Shariah complaint and caters to diverse group of men and women
In the book he appertained how the ancient Indians were thinking in the same way and cared about the women enough that they made a manual dedicated to their needs but his only criticism was that the positions were hard to replicate, some were not shariah complaint, and not made for the average person but for only the most physically active one.
I used to think the job of the PM is to formulate and implement policy that leads to the development of the nation, silly me![]()
We are not a highly religious but we simply can't watch Bollywood movies with family anymore; just way too much vulgarity now. Maybe Indians are fine with it but for us the quality has gone down and their non stop anti Pakistan propaganda never helped. Haven't watched a Bollywood movie for a while now.
Didn’t Imran Khan hang out with Bollywood folk back in the day?
He used a lot of them for fund raising for his cancer hospital too lol.
If Bollywood movies are so bad that influence people to start raping, what about the people that make those films?
Anyways Bollywood is crap but don’t think they have the power to influence anything leave alone turning people into rapists.
Movies in general are a lot more sexually explicit these days
The commercial part of Bollywood (the part that IK socialized with) has been providing soft porn for fifty years with movies like Satyam Shivam Sundaram, Insaaf Ka Tarazu etc.
Never heard of them, and I doubt Imran Khan would have either.
They were 30 years back when Bollywood was pious enough for Imran to ask for funds yet again and hangout with that crowd . So while those are pretty obscure films but you can’t write it off a 100% that Imran has no clue about them.
Now, to address the point you've made. Let's talk about Pakistani content as well. Each and every cable channel has a stage drama channel. Have you ever watched Punjabi stage drama's and the content therein? The filth is worse than any Indian or Bollywood movie you will ever see and this is widely viewed content in Pakistan.
Mujra's are a Pakistani specialty specially if you go to South Punjab. In North Western Pakistan they prefer little boys dancing but in most of rural Punjabi weddings Mujra's are a common occurrence.
Let's talk about the content that is aired on our TV channels. There's a drama called Jalan being aired on TV where the man is having an affair with his sister in law. There was a drama Pyaar Ke Sadqe where the father in law marries his daughter in law. There was a drama called Ishqiya where a man had an affair with his sister in law and kept tormenting her and abusing her even after her marriage threatening to expose her to her husband.
Drama's like Chup Raho, Sangat, Bay Khudi and Gul-e-Rana all romanticize rape. In these drama's the rapist is portrayed to be a hero. In Sangat's OST the lyrics of the song are "Mera Jism mera gunnah hai" portraying that it is the body of the woman that resulted in her being raped. In Sangat the OST goes "Nadaniyaan jo hasme huwee maaf kar de khuda". Apparently a planned rape by a competent, fully conscious male is a "nadaani". What message is sent by such characterizations? What precedents are being set in the minds of those watching: that rape is okay if you're in love? That it's just a sign of uncontrollable passion that 'good people' can do this?
In Chup Raho, the drama makers glamorized the rapist’s character and showed him in such a light that he had everything under control. Even after he was busted and his secret was out, no one dared say anything to him. Chup Raho was controversial and it showed that a rapist is not only powerful but can not be stopped no matter what.
Kitni Girhain Baqi Hain is an anthology series where one episode tried to normalize a romantic relationship between women. Look at the content being potrayed in drama's like Jaanam, Shert, Rishte Kuch Adhoore Se, Band Khirkiyon Ke Peeche, Mere Khuda, Bunty I Love You. If you think Munni Badnaam Hoi is bad then you're in for a surprise.
I find it funny how hypocritical our society is that they can go on and condemn people for listening to a song like Munni Badnaam Hoi yet sit with their families every evening and watch such filth on TV. They can criticize Indian movies and say that vulgarity in these movies encourage rape yet in our own TV shows the rapist is the protagonist. The talk about mujra in India yet ignore that widespread Mujra in Pakistan that is aired directly on to your TV. They talk about songs in India yet ignore that Naseebo is one of the highest selling and most popular singer of Pakistan.
You want to talk about Indian content? Talk about how Mohabbat Tujhe Alvida which is being aired now is a copy of the Indian movie Judaai and the people are lapping it up. ARY's Noor-Ul-Ain was a copy of the Indian movie Saathiya. Dil Banjara was a copy of Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayeinge. Cheekh was a copy of Damini. Izteraab was a copy of we are family. Koi Nahi Apna was a copy of Akele Hum Akele Tum. These dramas were big hits. So it's not okay to watch Indian movies. Anyone watching the movies I mentioned above would be considered vulgar yet it's okay to watch Pakistani content which rips off of these Indian movies?
They were 30 years back when Bollywood was pious enough for Imran to ask for funds yet again and hangout with that crowd . So while those are pretty obscure films but you can’t write it off a 100% that Imran has no clue about them.
Actually SSS was not an obscure film, rather a product of Bollywood "elite" with Raj Kapoor as director and starring IK's friend Zeenat Aman.
We are not a highly religious but we simply can't watch Bollywood movies with family anymore; just way too much vulgarity now. Maybe Indians are fine with it but for us the quality has gone down and their non stop anti Pakistan propaganda never helped. Haven't watched a Bollywood movie for a while now.
Sad desperate attempt to compare Bollywood to Pak TV. Perhaps some shows are not in good light but Bollywood produces much much more material with more far worse sexual glorifcation. It's like comparing Watermelons with seeds.
Find me a movie in bollywood where the rapist is glorified or portrayed as a hero who made a mistake. Find me one movie where rape is referred to as 'nadaani' or is projected as being the mistake of the womans own body.
They might glorify sex, our content glorifies incest and rape. You're right it is like comparing watermelon and seeds. The content on Pakistani TV's is much much worse.
https://medium.com/@bhaskarchawla90/kabir-singh-review-a-film-so-vile-youll-taste-bile-be4a5117ec96Kabir Singh, a man who attempts to rape a woman at knife-point before deciding against it.
They would then see him sexually harass his student, threaten to flash a subordinate at work, and constantly harangue his domestic helper — a woman far less privileged than him — before getting her banned from his apartment complex.
Right. So you can watch Hollywood movies which are obviously family friendly?
What a pathetic comment.
Kabir Singh? The highest grossing Bollywood movie of 2019. In that movie the “hero“ threatens to rape a woman on knife point amongst other things.
https://medium.com/@bhaskarchawla90/kabir-singh-review-a-film-so-vile-youll-taste-bile-be4a5117ec96
If you follow Indian social media even a little bit, you would see that Kabir Singh was glorified big time and it became the top movie of that year.
This is just one example from a recent Bollywood hit, I don’t follow Indian movies closely so I am sure there are other examples I am missing .
You need to understand this.
Bollywood features people who look like us i.e. Asians from the subcontinent. What they say and do is in OUR language and the effect of that on kids etc is much more stronger than watching a white/black American/European.
This is the issue.
How come we don't speak up about Pakistani content the same way? People on here are okay with watching Pakistani content which portrays rapists as heros or Pakistani content which is a blatant rip off of Indian movies but that's all okay as long its not from bollywood.
Double standards much?
Threatening and doing so are actually two different things. I understand even threatening is wrong however, in Pakistani dramas I mentioned the rape happens and the rapist is the hero.
SSS is loosely based on one of Shakespeare's play All's Well that Ends Well, while it might be OTT its a pretty good movie where it shouldn't be called soft porn but yes it had sexual content and IK was friends with the same actress but again IK's hypocrisy about being pious is pretty obvious to everyone.
Find me a movie in bollywood where the rapist is glorified or portrayed as a hero who made a mistake. Find me one movie where rape is referred to as 'nadaani' or is projected as being the mistake of the womans own body.
They might glorify sex, our content glorifies incest and rape. You're right it is like comparing watermelon and seeds. The content on Pakistani TV's is much much worse.
He actually does physically abuse the female lead in the movie as well but in the end she ends up with him anyways. Even if it didn’t show rape, the movie still normalized sexual harassment and physical abuse. I don’t know if it’s changed now but the “hero” sexually harassing and even assaulting the female lead was pretty much the norm in old Bollywood movies.
I haven’t watched any of the Pakistani dramas you have listed but if they glorified rape then that’s horrible. It’s not really a competition, if there is any content that encourages anti-social behaviour then it should be banned no matter what country it originates from.
Try this . There is more than one, maybe hundreds over the years.
https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...urab-aur-pashchim-1970/slideshow/17940119.cms
lol@Pakistani content is worse. Look you post a lot of anti-Pak posts and anti-Islam posts, an agenda is clear but you're entitlted to it. However you have no credibility for me esp when you get things so wrong.
I really think you need to increase your comprehension skills. The movies you listed in the article all show the rapist as a villian. In Pakistani drama's the rapist is treated as a hero. I hope you're able to understand this subtle but important difference. In most of these movies rape isn't even happening. You'e just proved my point when I say Pakistani content is worse in its treatment of rape so thank you
You keep repeating this point about Pakistani dramas treating rapists as heroes, but I find that difficult to believe. Not having watched any Pakistani or Indian tv, I can't vouch for either, but having seen your history of posting I would tend to agree with KK's conclusion that you might be spinning this as per your usual anti-Islamic slant. Can you give an example of one such drama where this has happened?
Go read my post. I named the dramas. The problem is people on here commenting without reading what I wrote or without having watched the shows. Moreover, just because you canÂ’t fathom something does not mean itÂ’s not true. Broaden your horizon
I think you are applying western terminology to Pakistan which is disingenuous. In many third world countries there is no concept of rape between married couples for example, you talk about something you can't fathom, well that is something that most people in the subcontinent can't fathom.
Quite frankly, it is difficult to take you seriously on these topics given your posting history, but if you can provide some other source which raises the same points about rape being glorified in Pakistani dramas then by all means you can put a link. I would definitely think there must be some fuss made by many critical Pakistan journalists who would back up your claims.
I think you are applying western terminology to Pakistan which is disingenuous. In many third world countries there is no concept of rape between married couples for example, you talk about something you can't fathom, well that is something that most people in the subcontinent can't fathom.
Quite frankly, it is difficult to take you seriously on these topics given your posting history, but if you can provide some other source which raises the same points about rape being glorified in Pakistani dramas then by all means you can put a link. I would definitely think there must be some fuss made by many critical Pakistan journalists who would back up your claims.
So, according to you, showing marital rape on Pakistani TV shows is fine as there is no concept of marital rape in Pakistan?
No that's not according to me, it's according to reality of life in Pakistan and most other third world countries. I used that as an example of difference in perception in different societies, and predictably you tried to turn that into my perspective, again showing your intellectual dishonesty.
http://images.dawn.com/news/1176816
https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/ary-digital-where-rapists-get-romanticized-saba-khalid
https://tribune.com.pk/article/6571...ut-saying-the-word-talaaq-is-the-real-problem
https://www.crux.pk/2019/06/22/rape-and-repentance-on-the-pakistani-small-screen/
Let me know if you need me to google anything else for you
It seems as though you know nothing about the reality of life in Pakistan. Marital rape in Pakistan is considered to be a crime and is punishable with death by hanging or up to 25 years in prison.
Moreover, your point is honestly very pathetic. That just because it's not considered as rape it's okay to show it on TV and let the rapist be a hero. What sort of logic is that? Would you say the same about domestic abuse?
No your googling efforts were sufficient to provide a decent cross reference. Interestingly the writer from your first article had this to say
As a caveat its important to note that Pakistani dramas do not exist in isolation: as with all media in today’s highly connected society there is a strong cross pollination effect at work, where popular trends from all over the world affect and inspire the stories we see on our screens.
While it’s easy to accuse a badly made Urdu drama of feeding into rape culture, perhaps we can also point out the way western serials like Game of Thrones and books like Fifty Shades of Grey also feed into the same narrative yet are swallowed wholesale as “entertainment”.
The normalisation of sexual violence is a serious problem that needs to be addressed.
This writer is at least recognising that sexual violence is not okay regardless of where it is coming from, and no matter how popular it becomes as a form of entertainment. It at least shows some perspective which is important.
This is exactly the point I made though. My original post starting off with questioning as to why our PM is concerning himself with bollywood content even though it is banned in the country and not focusing on the local content being produced here.
I'm not comparing Bollywood, western content and Pakistani content to see which is worse but my point was on our TV's every evening we're airing some really horrible shows and so we should not be pointing fingers at others without first cleaning up our own house.
I agree, we should only talk about our own issues and until we clean them up we shouldn't talk about others. So I am living in the UK, maybe I should talk about the UK only. What about you, where are you living right now?
Lahore, Pakistan.
So you are giving your view as a local based Pakistani same as Imran Khan, why is there an issue? As a British citizen I urge you to realise that any pernicious influence which leads to rape or otherwise demeaning sexualisation of women should be condemned. Whether than be Bollywood, Hollwood or Lollywood. This isn't a competition.
Nor did I say it was a competition. I said rather than point fingers at others and try to divert the blame we should look at ourselves first and fix our own house.
Asking your people to stop watching bollywood is part of looking at yourself and fixing your house. Don't know what is your problem with someone pointing out that bollywood is obscene and not good for society.
Bollywood content is already banned in the country.
Nor did I say it was a competition. I said rather than point fingers at others and try to divert the blame we should look at ourselves first and fix our own house.
As mentioned earlier, it's not about which content is worse its about the fact that if you're blaming content you should realize we have some disgusting content airing on our TV as well. Also, the whole thing about blaming rape on vulgar content is a silly comment to begin with but nonetheless if you're going to go ahead and call another country out for its content why not fix yourself first.
I really think you need to increase your comprehension skills. The movies you listed in the article all show the rapist as a villian. In Pakistani drama's the rapist is treated as a hero. I hope you're able to understand this subtle but important difference. In most of these movies rape isn't even happening. You'e just proved my point when I say Pakistani content is worse in its treatment of rape so thank you
"After enduring a long session of the sort of the harassment that passes off for 'good clean fun' in Bollywood films, Madhu (Madhuri Dixit) accuses Raja (Aamir Khan) of raping her. He's sent away in disgrace but returns to abduct and assault her.
"Do now know what rape is? If I want, I can destroy your life in just two minutes. You have raped my dignity and standing in society, while I was just joking with you," he glowers at her. He then leaves without sexually assaulting her.
"Remember, every man is not like me," he says, loftily. A scene later, they are in love."
One example from my link. He was the hero and it's not the only movie.
Please stop, you have no credibility as you are desperate to prove any nation or any people who are Muslim have to worse in any aspect of life. It's not true and embarrasing to debate against.
That was from the hit movie 'Dil' in early 90's. There were countless other movies like that where Hero abducts an actress and then they fall in love with each other lol. Govinda's 'Shola aur Shabnam' was another one.![]()
The name of the movie is ironic, not much Dil if you have to abduct a girl.
Just read there are dozens of Bollywood male actors who have been accused of such assaults.
Is it rare or common for actresses to be used before they are given big roles?
You have asked this question at the right time. Currently one actress has accused director Anurag Kashyap for the same and our media is trying to give as much coverage as they can to this.
It is an open secret that directors request sexual favours from some actresses and even actors before they can give them any role in their movies. Bullywood is a gutter.
"After enduring a long session of the sort of the harassment that passes off for 'good clean fun' in Bollywood films, Madhu (Madhuri Dixit) accuses Raja (Aamir Khan) of raping her. He's sent away in disgrace but returns to abduct and assault her.
"Do now know what rape is? If I want, I can destroy your life in just two minutes. You have raped my dignity and standing in society, while I was just joking with you," he glowers at her. He then leaves without sexually assaulting her.
"Remember, every man is not like me," he says, loftily. A scene later, they are in love."
One example from my link. He was the hero and it's not the only movie.
Please stop, you have no credibility as you are desperate to prove any nation or any people who are Muslim have to worse in any aspect of life. It's not true and embarrasing to debate against.
Indian movie Jaani Dushman not only shows women being raped but the rapist lead character Sanjev Kumar as a respectable senior high up member of society.There is no rape taking place in the move. Again, poor comprehension skills.
Plus, you have missed the entire point of the discussion Of course there is vulgar content produced all over the world. My point was why is our PM commenting on content which is banned in our country rather than commenting on the vulgar content being produced and aired here. It's not a comparison of who makes worse content but understanding the fact that we ourselves have some very questionable content being aired on TV every day and he should be focused on Pakistan not India.
Actually he kills brides and probably does not rape them, I saw this movie in my younger days so cannot remember exact story, but the point stands there have been many so called respectable characters shown doing evil things to women in Bollywopd movies as well. As long as they are shown as actually bad people as well then it is fine, as there are many people in our society that live double lives like our ex pm NS lol.Indian movie Jaani Dushman not only shows women being raped but the rapist lead character Sanjev Kumar as a respectable senior high up member of society.
I repeat the characters in Pakistani dramas are not portrayed as good people, even if they are lead characters like in Udari. Characters can be lead but not necessarily portrayed as good people as was the case in Bollywopd movie Darr. Problem with Bollywopd is not the storyli e but explicit nature of skin showing corrupting young generations and often filthy dialogues and suggestive rude songs. I already mentioned shiela ki jawani there liyeh hai, another one zara zara touch me zara zara kiss me. Women are shown to be teasing and tempting men.Talking to about bad dialogues I remember a movie called Ghar ek Mandir where Qadir Khan has a habit of not call out direct names of things he talks about, so he tells Shakti kapoor in one scene referring to a women iski us main woh dalo, when he should have said iskey moen main dawa dalo. That was just one of many nad dialogues.
This deluded and vile individual needs to look at Pakistan first! Just today, a 70 year old grandma passes away after gang rape.
There is no rape taking place in the move. Again, poor comprehension skills.
Plus, you have missed the entire point of the discussion Of course there is vulgar content produced all over the world. My point was why is our PM commenting on content which is banned in our country rather than commenting on the vulgar content being produced and aired here. It's not a comparison of who makes worse content but understanding the fact that we ourselves have some very questionable content being aired on TV every day and he should be focused on Pakistan not India.
This deluded and vile individual needs to look at Pakistan first! Just today, a 70 year old grandma passes away after gang rape.
For the umpteenth time: In this interview, he said that rape is a massive problem in Pakistan and even mentioned that there is a staggering level of under-reporting.
Anyway, we don’t need any more statements, we need action.
In Chup Raho, the rapist is shown as a powerful member of the society who cannot be stopped. What ever happened to the rapist in the drama even after he was found out? Nothing. He wasn't held accountable for his mistakes. No one even dared to say anything to him.
In Bekhudi the rapist is portrayed as a good guy. The girl is blamed for the rape and it ends with the rapist.
Numair is devastated and thinks that now his daughter is going to die and eventually he turns mad and is admitted in mental hospital
I haven’t watched any of these shows but I searched one up on Wikipedia, This is from Chup Raho’s plot:
According to this, the guy ends up going insane and and is committed to a mental hospital. I mean that’s not harsh enough for what he did but you made it seem like nothing happens to him. Also villains being shown as powerful members of society is pretty normal in movies and shows isn’t it?
I haven’t googled the others show so not sure how accurate your description about them is but they sound horrible if true.
Exactly my point if characters are shown to get away with abuses does not mean that the dramas are glorifying their acts, their is always moral suffering shown if not judicial for their acts.