New Zealand (362/6) defeat South Africa (312/9) comfortably by 50 runs to advance to final of ICC Champions Trophy 2025

NZ

We need a good contest, dont let them beat you easily as they did in the Test final.

NZ have always been a thorn in the thigh for us in tournaments.

I was glad we saw the back of them in the group stages but not feeling so great meeting them again lol

But i guess that’s what it takes to be a champion. Should be a good final

I was glad we saw the back of them in the group stages but not feeling so great meeting them again lol

They will come in with loaded strategies against Indian batsmen. They will have plans against everyone.

So Ind v Nz final. Considering NZ have already faced India in Dubai, there cant be any excuses. How is the josh @Devadwal? Are we taking revenge of 2000 Champions Trophy final or not?

What is it that Rachin Ravindra cannot do?

What an asset to this kiwi team.
Bhai to Bharat wapis aaaaja

Tbh India are favourites in Dubai

This match is an example of how not to orchestrate a big chase. It is one thing if an opposition has rubbish bowler in the middle overs. But if the opposition has good solid middle over bowlers you shouldn make the most in the first 10.

NZ and India have been the best teams of the tournament, it could be very interesting final.

If you look at SA line up there is only two left handers. One at the top. One at the bottom. So if they lose Rickleton you don't have any leftie to handle Santner.

Hats off to NZ by the way. Every one talks about Australia and rightly so but they’re so much smaller than Australia and they have been so good at sports.
While Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies all declined in cricket New Zealand has stayed strong and have actually had so much success in last decade. World Cup finals which they deserved to win more than England i still believe, Test championship won, now going to the finals on Chanpions Trophy.

Their commentators do not cry that much about scheduling or so called unfair advantages. They just stick to their game, give their best efforts win or lose. Absolute studs of cricket

Rachin's lot of relatives still live in India. His grandma and other relatives. So he is the closest to an Indian playing in Pakistan.

Hats off to NZ by the way. Every one talks about Australia and rightly so but they’re so much smaller than Australia and they have been so good at sports.
While Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies all declined in cricket New Zealand has stayed strong and have actually had so much success in last decade. World Cup finals which they deserved to win more than England i still believe, Test championship won, now going to the finals on Chanpions Trophy.

Their commentators do not cry that much about scheduling or so called unfair advantages. They just stick to their game, give their best efforts win or lose. Absolute studs of cricket
NZ was one of the favorites from the get go. They won tri series.

Most of the dismissals of SA were soft dismissals. They could have easily milked for a lot more before teeing off. But because of slow start they had to pull the trigger way too early during the middle overs.

Cricket is of small margin. Things could have been interesting if Pak didn't collapse after 150-2 against IND, or if Tanzid had Ravindra run out.

New Zealand captain Santner is having to carefully manage his bowling options, with seamer Henry unlikely to be risked after injuring his shoulder while taking a catch in the deep to dismiss Klaasen.

Henry remains on the field, but a return to bowling doesn’t seem imminent—and understandably so, with the Kiwis focused on their upcoming final.

Meanwhile, part-time spinner Phillips is dispatched for a massive six over midwicket by Miller, prompting a brief pause as the ball is retrieved.

Looking back, that ICC WT20 final 2024 choke will haunt them as much as 1999 SF. They had the trophy in their hands almost and to lose from that situation is just pathetic. It was the closest they ever got to a trophy in ages. That was their moment and they lost it.

They do cry alot

Like ALoT
Fake nice guys need to get destroyed

They are whinging dolts. See their fb page etc you will see

That doesn't matter. They accelerate through the innings which is even more dangerous and methodical.
But they have players with weaknesses. That is where this strategy could backfire. With due respect to NZ batsmen there is no Henrique klassen (non choking one) level hitter against spin in that line up. Darryl Mitchell had absolutely no clue which way Varun C was turning. Same with Glen Philips. Kane is an uber conservative guy. Latham relies a lot on sweep. Rachin is the biggest threat.

New Zealand must defeat evil india in the final.
They will defeat them even with all the things in favour of evil, they shall beat them.
Let's go New Zealand.

But they have players with weaknesses. That is where this strategy could backfire. With due respect to NZ batsmen there is no Henrique klassen (non choking one) level hitter against spin in that line up. Darryl Mitchell had absolutely no clue which way Varun C was turning. Same with Glen Philips. Kane is an uber conservative guy. Latham relies a lot on sweep. Rachin is the biggest threat.
They don't need those kinds players when they can do it as a collective.

You can't make 362 without being aggressive.

1000064010.jpg

Itihaas Gawah Hai, Jab Jab In Padosiyon Ne India Ke Against Jis Bhi Team Ko Support Kiya Hai, Uski Lanka Lagna Nishchit Hai :kp

I don't understand what you are trying to say. NZ have consistently scored above par under Santner this year with the Dubai match being the exception.
Yes. they will be playing at Dubai only. Australia understood this and went hard in the first 10 overs unlike NZ who were uber conservative. NZ is not remotely as aggressive as Australia. A reason why they never won a world cup. Their aggression may be just enough for india. But that still won't make them as aggressive as Aussies.

Sorry but those were 2 different pitches even if it was Dubai.

I thought Aus was too aggressive in the last match especially Head and Maxwell. I guess that's how they like to roll and win all those trophies as you said.

Player of the Match, Rachin Ravindra:

"It is always a great feeling to contribute for the team, especially in a pretty emphatic win, too. In a semi-final on a stage like this. I couldn't be happier."

"I think is is important we soak in the in the moment. There have been some beautiful performances - Williamson's hundred, Santner with the ball - and then switch on for the final in Dubai."

NZ is a thoroughly professional side who do not repeat the same mistakes twice. They will take inspiration from their 3-0 victory against India in India and use that as motivation in the final. If there is any side that can potentially upset India, its them but India is 80% favourites. How NZ deals with India's spinners in the middle to death overs and how NZ spinners themselves bowl will decide the match.

What's good about that inning? He didn't even tried to win the match. Didn't accelerated when required
Good hitting.. at least good for his ipl team :ashwin

Match already lost in 30 over mark.. if there's a batsman stay with him then there should have been a tiny chance .

Santner 72 % on a good length. 61 % deliveries projected to hit the stumps. Ridiculous accuracy and that delivery to RVD turned 4.4 degrees.

Think he was the difference in the end.

Sorry but those were 2 different pitches even if it was Dubai.

Overall NZ is never remotely as aggressive as Australia.

In 2023 world cup power play run rate

India 6.97/63.91
Australia 6.50/37.63
New zealand 5.67/51.54
South Africa 4.65/33.21

As you can see NZ doesn't go bang bang like other teams. They score around 50 in first 10.

In CT power play run rate

Australia 5.98
England 5.44
India 5.21
New zealand 4.98
South Africa 4.83
Afghanistan 4.36
Pakistan 4.21
Bangladesh 4.00

Overall NZ is never remotely as aggressive as Australia.

In 2023 world cup power play run rate

India 6.97/63.91
Australia 6.50/37.63
New zealand 5.67/51.54
South Africa 4.65/33.21

As you can see NZ doesn't go bang bang like other teams. They score around 50 in first 10.

In CT power play run rate

Australia 5.98
England 5.44
India 5.21
New zealand 4.98
South Africa 4.83
Afghanistan 4.36
Pakistan 4.21
Bangladesh 4.00

Why are you looking at only PP run rate. Overall rate matters much more

New Zealand secure place in ICC Champions Trophy 2025 final

South Africa's winning run at the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 ended as New Zealand bounced back from their group stage defeat at the hands of India.

New Zealand captain Mitchell Santner led by example, taking three crucial wickets against South Africa to help his side to the final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

They will face India in Dubai on Sunday (starting at 9am GMT).

It looked like South Africa might stage a challenge to New Zealand's huge total of 362/6, with Rassie van der Dussen and Temba Bavuma forming a big-hitting hundred partnership for the second wicket.

Then Santner got involved, removing both of them plus Heinrich Klaasen (caught by Matt Henry) to leave the Proteas with an uphill struggle.

Despite David Miller's best efforts, coming in at No 6 and top-scoring with 100, South Africa finished on 312/9.

Henry had taken the first wicket of the innings, luring opener Ryan Rickelton to play to Michael Bracewell for 17.

And Rachin Ravindra took the fifth with a sharp caught-and-bowled of Aiden Markram for 31 off 29 balls.

Bracewell removed Wiaan Mulder and Glenn Phillips began to mop up the tail, trapping Marco Jansen lbw and then tempting Keshav Maharaj to edge behind to Tom Latham.

He played a part in Kagiso Rabada's dismissal too, catching him off a Henry ball in the 46th over, leaving South Africa with more than 100 required for the last wicket.

Earlier, Ravindra had made a key contribution with the bat - making a century, as did Kane Williamson - as New Zealand set a big total of 362/6.

Only twice in one-day international history has a total that big been successfully chased down in the second innings - and both times it was South Africa who did it.

Ravindra fell for a well-played 108 off 101 balls - caught by Klaasen off the bowling of Kagiso Rabada - with Williamson making 102 off 94 before being caught by Lungi Ngidi off Mulder.

Will Young had been the first wicket to fall, caught by Markram off Ngidi, leaving New Zealand on 48/1.

But Ravindra and Williamson created an excellent partnership, brought to an end only in the 34th over.

Latham managed only four before he was bowled by Rabada, and then Daryl Mitchell fell agonisingly short on 49 off 37 balls, with four fours and one six.

Bracewell was out on the penultimate ball of the innings having made 16 off 12 deliveries.

And Phillips missed out on taking the strike for the last ball of the innings, meaning he also missed out on a half-century, finishing with 49 off 27 balls - including six fours and a maximum.

Captain Santner had the last word, with two scampered from that last delivery.

The Proteas finished atop Group B, with two wins from three outings while their game against Australia was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

New Zealand on the other hand were the second ranked side in Group A, with convincing wins over Pakistan and Bangladesh.

South Africa skipper Temba Bavuma:

"I think New Zealand's score was above par but we backed ourselves. We just didn't have enough partnerships and I think it needed either myself or Rassie Van der Dussen to emulate their top order."

"They really put us under pressure with the way they were able to pierce the off-side and even in the middle they kept scoring boundaries. We weren't able to take wickets, which is what we pride ourselves on."