Next generation battle - Babar Azam vs Shreyas Iyer

Comparing this Lyer guy to Babar in any format is an absolute joke. It only took a couple of failures from Babar for people to forget about how good of a batsman he is.

Just a desperate attempt to discredit Babar by comparing him to 2nd XI players like Lyer.

Comparing this Lyer guy to Babar in any format is an absolute joke. It only took a couple of failures from Babar for people to forget about how good of a batsman he is.

Just a desperate attempt to discredit Babar by comparing him to 2nd XI players like Lyer.

Iyer would be a first XI player in Pakistan, so it is a legit comparison.

Second and third XI Indian batsmen are comparable to the best that we have to offer. There is a huge gulf in talent and skill when it comes to the two countries. It is embarrassing.

Iyer is a choker and a mental midget. He can very suck in the next few games as consistency is not in his dictionary.

Never compare Babar to Shreyas Choker.

Iyer is a choker and a mental midget. He can very suck in the next few games as consistency is not in his dictionary.

Never compare Babar to Shreyas Choker.

He just scored a hundred in a 280 run chase against South Africa but it wasn’t enough for him to remove the choker and mental midget tag from him.

In Pakistan, such a performance would become a career highlight and the players and the fans will milk it for years.

That’s the difference between the standards of the two countries. India is in a completely different league and it is so much harder for a young batsman to make it in India compared to Pakistan.

He just scored a hundred in a 280 run chase against South Africa but it wasn’t enough for him to remove the choker and mental midget tag from him.

In Pakistan, such a performance would become a career highlight and the players and the fans will milk it for years.

That’s the difference between the standards of the two countries. India is in a completely different league and it is so much harder for a young batsman to make it in India compared to Pakistan.
Young batsmen from India fail when it matters the most, which is why the team is still relying on Sharma and Kohli. Their struggles in ICC tournaments is due to the batsmen not doing so well in recent times.

Quite good in bilaterals though no doubt about it.

Seems like the lone "Baber" sher is compared to every Indian batsman; I have seen comparison with Shreyas Iyer, Kohli and KL Rahul. Aur koi rehta tou nahi?

So after the success of Babar Azam vs Kohli and Babar Azam vs KL Rahul threads, PakPassion presents to you Babar vs Iyer comparison. You know you are special when fans from opposition team keep comparing their cricketers with you. :kp

Just like Sachin was compared with dozens of Pakistani batsmen. :inti

Iyer would be a first XI player in Pakistan, so it is a legit comparison.

Second and third XI Indian batsmen are comparable to the best that we have to offer. There is a huge gulf in talent and skill when it comes to the two countries. It is embarrassing.

Iyer is a poor man's Fakhar and is equal to someone like Haris Sohail. Can't play the short ball to save his life.

Lyer is a poor man's Fakhar and is equal to someone like Haris Sohail. Can't play the short ball to save his life.

Both Fakhar and Haris have performed on the big stage in ICC tournaments.

Let's wait until Iyer does something worthwhile.

For now he's a nobody.

Both Fakhar and Haris have performed on the big stage in ICC tournaments.

Let's wait until Iyer does something worthwhile.

For now he's a nobody.

Fakhar yes but when did Haris Sohail performed in ICC tournament? :13:

Babar is inferior to Kohli, Rohit and Pant but better than KL Rahul and S Iyer. :inti

Babar is out of place in T20 but at no.3 in ODI he is elite class

1x hundred from Iyer doesn’t make him better lol

Iyer is a poor man's Fakhar and is equal to someone like Haris Sohail. Can't play the short ball to save his life.

Haris Sohail is a better long format batsman than Fakhar. His fitness has put him down. He also has good ODI numbers.

Fakhar Zaman, on other hand, is same as Ishan Kishan. When it clicks it looks good but on most days struggles to rotate strike.

This thread was started 5 years back :) Probably made sense at that time. Not now. Shreyas Iyer just could not break into the side sadly for years. India was persisting with losers like Rayudu, Vijay Shankar.

Haris Sohail is a better long format batsman than Fakhar. His fitness has put him down. He also has good ODI numbers.

Fakhar Zaman, on other hand, is same as Ishan Kishan. When it clicks it looks good but on most days struggles to rotate strike.

Kishan would not play an innings like Fakhar did against Australia it was brutal hitting.

Only an idiot can compare Babar to Tendulkar. :inti.
If Babar is Tendulkar than Kohli is Bradman.

Sachin striked at the same rate in 90s in odi that Babar does in 2022.

The difference in talent level is too high.

Given that this is an Indian vs Pak batter comparison, let's make an India vs Pak ODI combined XI of active players :-

Rohit
Babar
Kohli
Shreyas/KL
Pant(wkt)
Pandya
Jadeja/Imad
Shadab
Shami
Shaheen
Bumrah

Given that this is an Indian vs Pak batter comparison, let's make an India vs Pak ODI combined XI of active players :-

Rohit
Babar
Kohli
Shreyas/KL
Pant(wkt)
Pandya
Jadeja/Imad
Shadab
Shami
Shaheen
Bumrah

Haris over Shami and Rizwan over Pant… fakhar over Rohit depending on form. Kohli in horrible form too but he gets a place based on historic performance…

You are just saying that because his name is Iyer and he plays for India. Don’t think you have seen him bat. He is poor against pace compared to Babar but he is a much better player of spin and also has that extra gear that Babar lacks. Capable of taking those 20+ overs against spinners and trundlers.

Raina couldn’t play short ball too but he was a gun LOI player for India and a true match winner. Ganguly is another example.

Also Shoaib Malik had a long career for Pakistan despite being a sitting duck overseas but still was a very good loi player and I have no problem giving him that.

You are just saying that because his name is Iyer and he plays for India. Don’t think you have seen him bat. He is poor against pace compared to Babar but he is a much better player of spin and also has that extra gear that Babar lacks. Capable of taking those 20+ overs against spinners and trundlers.

Raina couldn’t play short ball too but he was a gun LOI player for India and a true match winner. Ganguly is another example.

Also Shoaib Malik had a long career for Pakistan despite being a sitting duck overseas but still was a very good loi player and I have no problem giving him that.

Once again with the "extra gear" nonsense. Forget about the two words "extra gear" and talk about performance for once. Iyer hasn't done anything in his career to have his name even mentioned in the same sentence as Babar's.

This isn't a debate so there's no point wasting time arguing over it. If you think this Iyer guy is a better all formats batsman than Babar than by all means go on.

Iyer is to Babar what Babar is basically to Kohli.

Iyer : Babar :: Babar : Kohli

Iyer is to Babar what Babar is basically to Kohli.

Iyer : Babar :: Babar : Kohli

2 years from now we will know who the top dog is. Kohli will be long gone i suppose. India wasted so many years on that useless Kahane who milked his "overseas performances" in the beginning of his career to the fullest extent. Then Pujara. Atleast he had a couple of decent series in the last 3 or 4 years.

Sunil Gavaskar upset at Shreyas Iyer for throwing his wicket against Bangladesh

"He (Shreyas Iyer) lost his patience. He was batting on 19, threw his wicket away. Shubman Gill (was batting on) fifty (52), threw his wicket away," Gavaskar said.

"Kohli never does that. Kohli will seldom ever throw his wicket away. He makes you earn his wicket. And that is exactly what you need. When he got to 70-80, realising that he has an opportunity to get to a hundred and why not? Hundreds don't come everyday,"

"You need to know how to get to a hundred and it's important for Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill. Shubman Gill is at least getting hundreds, Shreyas Iyer is not getting hundreds. He is getting his opportunities to bat at number 4 on pitches as good as these and attacks as toothless as this and he is throwing away the opportunity," Gavaskar emphasised.

Rahul is better than Iyer.
100%. Seems overhyped and he is a worse player of short ball than even Imam.
Gill also struggling with in dippers.
With Pandya injured, this batting unit is over reliant on Kohli and Rohit. I’d worry about KOs if I am in India camp

Babar vs Bharatiya Top 5

In terms of runs and average , Babar has only managed to stay ahead of Shubhman Gill

However Gill wi the a SR of 104 vs 82 might make an arguement for having higher impact nevertheless

The way Babar has evolved as an ODI batter and the skillsets he has, he would not make India's CWC 2023 squad. This is not even because of his performance in tournament. Even if he had made 400+ runs he wouldn't make it.

He is Kohli lite and we have the original.

KLR keeps, Iyer is a spin killer, Hardik bowls, Rohit and Shubhman are both better allround batters than Babar.

SKY is a finisher and would need to be in squad as backup for Hardik.

Before Asia Cup all websites were doing combined Asia XI etc and picking Babar in them.

I can say with full confidence that if Dravid and Rohit were given option of picking Babar in their WC squad even as of June 2023, they would have declined.

Iyer should have gotten consistent chances since at least 2017 and been our No. 4 batsman in the 2019 World Cup. Instead for whatever reason, they gave those chances to Rayudu who they didn't even pick in that year's World Cup.

Sheryas is leagues above the timid babar. Sherpas has just won India the semi final and the World Cup

Shreyas Iyer smashes a 66 ball century in the World Cup semi final

Hits 8 sixes

In all honesty, Shreya Iyer knock has shadowed even Kohli’s effort.

What surreal impact

Kitne battle Babar sahib harrey ga?
Blame his toxic friends, juvenile fangirls & wannabe brides like Ramiz for this. Every current Indian batsman, all six of them(Pandya, not SKY) are better odi batters than him & it's not even a competition at the moment. Hell he doesn't even belong to the same stratosphere where Fakhar lives. This was bound to happen, a lot of us had predicted this. Only delusional fangirls were in denial. Well now after utter humiliation & embarrassment all of them have gone to hibernation.

Babar may have the better overall stats but Iyer is very impactful. Today's 100 was the most brutal WC KO 100 I have seen since Ponting and Gilchrist's 100s in the 2003 and 2007 WC finals.

Blame his toxic friends, juvenile fangirls & wannabe brides like Ramiz for this. Every current Indian batsman, all six of them(Pandya, not SKY) are better odi batters than him & it's not even a competition at the moment. Hell he doesn't even belong to the same stratosphere where Fakhar lives. This was bound to happen, a lot of us had predicted this. Only delusional fangirls were in denial. Well now after utter humiliation & embarrassment all of them have gone to hibernation.
Babar is only better than ishan and sky in the lineup.

Timid player.

It's best we don't open such threads ever again the future. Don't compare a Pakistani batsman with indian player until they have won something

Fakhar Zaman is a champ, you guys should promote him over the other selfish players.

Babar is only better than ishan and sky in the lineup.

Timid player.
How is he better than a guy who warms up the bench despite possessing a double hundred. Not to mention that 80 odd he scored in asia cup under such tremendous pressure. Even though you talk a lot of trash against Indians I know you aren't a blind fanboy. Which is why I ask you do you see Babar ever scoring a double hundred, even against Uganda? Or even something around 170>180?

If Ishan gets regular chances he too will flourish. Modern loi batting isn't that complicated. You just need pure intent, some level of powergame & polished skills to succeed. Babar has none of these, so obviously he can only hope to statpad against minnows & third string attacks while hopelessly going missing against top dogs.

How is he better than a guy who warms up the bench despite possessing a double hundred. Not to mention that 80 odd he scored in asia cup under such tremendous pressure. Even though you talk a lot of trash against Indians I know you aren't a blind fanboy. Which is why I ask you do you see Babar ever scoring a double hundred, even against Uganda? Or even something around 170>180?

If Ishan gets regular chances he too will flourish. Modern loi batting isn't that complicated. You just need pure intent, some level of powergame & polished skills to succeed. Babar has none of these, so obviously he can only hope to statpad against minnows & third string attacks while hopelessly going missing against top dogs.
Good point. Probably not ishan too then

Fakhar Zaman is a champ, you guys should promote him over the other selfish players.
He doesn't quite fit the mould. Doesn't have a toxic fanbase, a dedicated pr or potential brides like Ramiz to promote him properly. Most significantly he is not part of the clique.

As I have been saying for years, Babar is on par with fringe Indian batsmen but his deluded fans compare him to ATGs like Kohli and Rohit.

It is so difficult for young Indian batsmen to break through the Indian team and establish themselves when they are competing with stalwarts like Kohli and Rohit and until recently, Dhawan who was better than any ODI opener in Pakistan history and is still miles better than any ODI opener in Pakistan currently.

If the likes of Iyer, KL, Shaw, Kishan and even Samson etc. were in Pakistan, these guys would be superstars and in contention for all format captaincy. In fact, someone like KL with the same profile (batting ability, personality, image etc.) would be the face of Pakistan cricket today.

In India, him and the other players are just viewed as good players. Nothing more. The difference in standards are astronomical.

Someone like Jaiswal cannot break into the Indian ODI team in 2023 but he is already miles better than Fakhar, Imam, Abdullah and Masood.

If Babar was Indian, he would be just another player and would have played less than 50% of the matches he has played for Pakistan so far and would never receive the limelight that he gets now.

The 10th or even 20th best batsman in India would be comparable to Pakistan’s top 5 batsmen if not top 3.

People who compare records without context fail to understand the fact that breaking into the Indian team and keeping your place in the XI is a whole different ball game altogether.

We have one Babar and we can’t stop talking about him while India produce 4-5 Babars every 4-5 years.

Where are posters that have been continuously talking about perform in KO from last 1 month?

And honestly I don’t even like Iyer :/ good for him did well.

As I have been saying for years, Babar is on par with fringe Indian batsmen but his deluded fans compare him to ATGs like Kohli and Rohit.
Ok, I want to know how many Indian batsmen(in odi's) you will keep ahead of Babar. Mine would be the following(the ones I saw) :
Azhar
Sachin
Ganguly
Dravid
Sehwag
Yuvraj
Gambhir
Dhoni
Kohli
Rohit
Dhawan
Raina
Rahul
Iyer
Pandya

Ajay Jadeja & Vinod Kumbli were certainly more talented than him, but obviously both got corrupted & wasted their potential.

I am positive Rahane would have been on par with him if was provided similar privileges. Monish Pandey is another one I believe is Babar level player. Honestly it's Kaif who reminds me the most whenever I look at Babar. Little bit of Raidu also.
It is so difficult for young Indian batsmen to break through the Indian team and establish themselves when they are competing with stalwarts like Kohli and Rohit and until recently, Dhawan who was better than any ODI opener in Pakistan history and is still miles better than any ODI opener in Pakistan currently.
So according to you Dhawan was better than Anwar? Even though many Indians consider him inferior to Fakhar, let alone Anwar.
If the likes of Iyer, KL, Shaw, Kishan and even Samson etc. were in Pakistan, these guys would be superstars and in contention for all format captaincy. In fact, someone like KL with the same profile (batting ability, personality, image etc.) would be the face of Pakistan cricket today.

In India, him and the other players are just viewed as good players. Nothing more. The difference in standards are astronomical.

Someone like Jaiswal cannot break into the Indian ODI team in 2023 but he is already miles better than Fakhar, Imam, Abdullah and Masood.

If Babar was Indian, he would be just another player and would have played less than 50% of the matches he has played for Pakistan so far and would never receive the limelight that he gets now.

The 10th or even 20th best batsman in India would be comparable to Pakistan’s top 5 batsmen if not top 3.

People who compare records without context fail to understand the fact that breaking into the Indian team and keeping your place in the XI is a whole different ball game altogether.

We have one Babar and we can’t stop talking about him while India produce 4-5 Babars every 4-5 years.

Ok, I want to know how many Indian batsmen(in odi's) you will keep ahead of Babar. Mine would be the following(the ones I saw) :
Azhar
Sachin
Ganguly
Dravid
Sehwag
Yuvraj
Gambhir
Dhoni
Kohli
Rohit
Dhawan
Raina
Rahul
Iyer
Pandya

Ajay Jadeja & Vinod Kumbli were certainly more talented than him, but obviously both got corrupted & wasted their potential.

I am positive Rahane would have been on par with him if was provided similar privileges. Monish Pandey is another one I believe is Babar level player. Honestly it's Kaif who reminds me the most whenever I look at Babar. Little bit of Raidu also.

So according to you Dhawan was better than Anwar? Even though many Indians consider him inferior to Fakhar, let alone Anwar.
Dhawan is better than Anwar due to his performances in icc tournaments and against aus/sa. Anwar mostly bashed Indian trundlers

Babar is so much better than Iyer.

But Iyer can strike the ball harder and has the power game.

Dhawan is better than Anwar due to his performances in icc tournaments and against aus/sa. Anwar mostly bashed Indian trundlers
Anwar was a beast in icc tournaments too, the man has scored 5 hundreds in the 25 matches that he got to play & none of them were typical statpadding or minnow bashing knocks. All of them came in either knock out matches or must win games. Him being a mere Indian trundler army basher is nothing but a propaganda. Yes he was poor against Aus/SA much like how Dhawan was average against Nz/Eng.

Azhar
Sachin
Ganguly
Dravid
Sehwag
Yuvraj
Gambhir
Dhoni
Kohli
Rohit
Dhawan
Raina
Rahul
Iyer
Pandya

I agree with your list. I don’t think you have missed on anyone. It is too early to put Gill there but he is also 100% better than Babar.

As far as Dhawan is concerned, he is very under-appreciated because he wasn’t as good as Rohit and Kohli and now he has lost his place to a prodigy like Gill, but he has been a tremendous ODI opener.

As good as Saeed Anwar was, he won’t get into any Indian ODI XI of the last 10-15 years.

Indian fans tend to forget how good Dhawan in his own right because others around him were better than him.