Next generation of Pakistan's batting

TalentSpotterPk

Best Under-24 batting talent in Pakistan

This is just my personal opinion . Based on my Eye. People can object and argue.

According to me the following are the best Under 24 batting talents in pakistan.

1. Babar Azam

Tasting relative success at domestic and international cricket. Eventually getting all domestic games now.

2. Zeeshan Malik

Pakistan Under 19 opener. Sizzling player. Hasn't played Fc cricket get. Every eyecachy player.

3. Saud Shakil

Getting Fc cricket this year . Thank you Faisal Iqbal for playing him at number 7 . Do what ever you can't stop him . 1,2 years down line he would surprise you and would get out of your sight.

4. Saad Ali

Hungry batsman. Loves scoring. Loves his time at wicket . Hardworking leftie. Has once made Pakistan A reserve players list.

5. Hassan Raza

Classy stylo player. This sick domestic culture and system , the best product of kashmir cricket is 20 now and hasn't made Fc debut. This year he is in any squad possibly isb squad but they not giving him a game despite their lack lustre batting display.

6. Rehan Afridi

Very sad that the most deserving keeper did not get selected for Pakistan A team. Technically correct aggressive batsman. Very fit and best product of FATA cricket. Had signed for a department who could not qualify hence playing for his region and playing well. Saif is good but Rehan deserved ahead of him.

7. Khush Dil Shah

second best FATA cricket product. At the age f 18 played rahat , zulfiqar and irfan in their peak and scored a good 61 against them. Playing FC cricket.

8. Ahsan Ali

Just like hassan raza not getting a single Fc game this season. Has one Fc hundred but a double hundred. One of the few youngest double century scorers of our domestic history along with Babar Azam. Played for UBL last season. His FC career has resembleness with Babar's Fc career in many ways. A beautiful timer of the ball. At last some one who has all the shots against pace bowling. From Drives to cut pull hook. Worst part is despite being capable despite having a double Ton as his first ton despite playing a great 76 runs innings in last T20 domestic tournament against sialkot he isn't getting a game .

7. Imran Butt

Best average Fc opener having more than 1000 Fc runs. Averages more than 45. Can play for Pakistan test team in a year or two. Having a good FC season uptil now.

8. Nauman Anwar

Missed narrowly on joining ahsan ali and Babar Azam by scoring his first FC hundred a double Ton. Sadly got dismissed on 199. Clutch player. Timing and placement his essence of batting and has wide short range. Can be a good T20 and ODI opener surely and if he continues to pile up runs in Fc than may be test cricket too. But definitely an impact player of shorter versions. Most confident batsman among all youngsters. Hybrid of Hafeez and Imran Nazir in batting style.

9. Imam ul Haq

Impressive bottom hand player. Vastly improved batsman after his under 19 times . Had a good Pentangular and domestic T20 where he impressed. Needs time . Having a mixed Fc season as opener but importantly getting all the games might be due to Krl's Ali Naqvi's ex-teamate influence.

Pcb should make sure these 9 players are in department and regions squad and they should make sure they are in the playing eleven.

It's a huge concern and pathetic stuff from pcb selectors that Ahsan and Hassan Raza aren't playing and haven't played a single game this season . Gross injustice.

# PCB Wake up.

When we run through this list and try these blokes one by one, posters like you will come up with a new list for newer youngsters and we will repeat the process.

All these guys are generally bags of hot air with no substance, and fail to impress as soon as they are brought to the top level.

When we run through this list and try these blokes one by one, posters like you will come up with a new list for newer youngsters and we will repeat the process.

All these guys are generally bags of hot air with no substance, and fail to impress as soon as they are brought to the top level.

Lol somewhat true. Many are unknowns too without much reputation, so cant say about them for sure.

Talents who can make it big are Babar, Sami Aslam, Saud Shakeel and maybe Imam.

The other current u19 guys are too new, have to watch them on TV.

Every player is not cut for international cricket.

I have just mentioned promising players who can make the cut. Not saying that all these should make pakistan team now or in near future . Only I would say Nauman Anwar should make the T20 squad soonest.

Players may go jamshed ahmeds way or nasir jamsheds Yasir hameeds way. Players may go Hammad Azams way in future. Players may become stars. Very few of them become stars.

Failures of some players does not mean we should not discuss upcoming prospects or close our cricket altogether or keep playing the same players till eternity.

Can you see the number of players who came between salim malik , miandad and Inzamam between 1976 to 1991 ? How many survived ?

How many years after imran's debut wasim's debut took place ?

Nobody is saying to throw these boys in national team. If they perform at optimum level and show class above all others only than they should be given a chance. A chance which they deserve, not a cap given easily.

Every player is not cut for international cricket.

I have just mentioned promising players who can make the cut. Not saying that all these should make pakistan team now or in near future . Only I would say Nauman Anwar should make the T20 squad soonest.

Players may go jamshed ahmeds way or nasir jamsheds Yasir hameeds way. Players may go Hammad Azams way in future. Players may become stars. Very few of them become stars.

Failures of some players does not mean we should not discuss upcoming prospects or close our cricket altogether or keep playing the same players till eternity.

Can you see the number of players who came between salim malik , miandad and Inzamam between 1976 to 1991 ? How many survived ?

How many years after imran's debut wasim's debut took place ?

Nobody is saying to throw these boys in national team. If they perform at optimum level and show class above all others only than they should be given a chance. A chance which they deserve, not a cap given easily.

I dont rate imam or sami.
Havent seen the kashmir guy.
But ahsan ali has really impressed me. He actually looked like a good batsman to watch, a bit like rohit sharma aesthetically.
Aside from that I am all for nauman to play the world t20

Nauman Anwar in the list is the only one that stands out.

Hope he does well whenever given a chance.

I dont rate imam or sami.
Havent seen the kashmir guy.
But ahsan ali has really impressed me. He actually looked like a good batsman to watch, a bit like rohit sharma aesthetically.
Aside from that I am all for nauman to play the world t20

I agree with you on major part.

I loved his batting class. After ages and ages saw a good batsman from Karachi while khi had history of producing great batsman but after saeed Anwar I did not find any good batsman from Karachi apart from Asad Shafique in test cricket that too not of saeed's level and style.

I was so excited so see Ahsan Ali's performance in upcoming qea trophy hoping he will open for UBL . But UBL signed sharjeel khan and shaan Masood and don't know they dropped Ahsan or he switched department.

Unconfirmed reports are that he joined SBP and who did not qualify or he joined NBP who aren't giving him game.

I was looking forward for him to perform with 3,4 tons this season and make the England tour with pakistan team as an opener.

If he is in NBP squad because he isn't in khi squad I think so than After kamran and nasir leave for BPL may be he may get few matches mid season where is would be tough to adjust.

And yes Nauman has all the shots and has time to play the shots. He should play World T20 and also should open for odis aswell. Either he is injured or some discipline issues or random testing . Something isn't write.

I agree with you on major part.

I loved his batting class. After ages and ages saw a good batsman from Karachi while khi had history of producing great batsman but after saeed Anwar I did not find any good batsman from Karachi apart from Asad Shafique in test cricket that too not of saeed's level and style.

I was so excited so see Ahsan Ali's performance in upcoming qea trophy hoping he will open for UBL . But UBL signed sharjeel khan and shaan Masood and don't know they dropped Ahsan or he switched department.

Unconfirmed reports are that he joined SBP and who did not qualify or he joined NBP who aren't giving him game.

I was looking forward for him to perform with 3,4 tons this season and make the England tour with pakistan team as an opener.

If he is in NBP squad because he isn't in khi squad I think so than After kamran and nasir leave for BPL may be he may get few matches mid season where is would be tough to adjust.

And yes Nauman has all the shots and has time to play the shots. He should play World T20 and also should open for odis aswell. Either he is injured or some discipline issues or random testing . Something isn't write.

I m sure if no one gives ahsan a go, then rashid latif will take him under his wing at PQA

So what do you suggest we do? Pack our bags and move out?

Sent from my Iphone using Tapatalk

Imran Butt in tests and Nauman Anwar in T20s should become nailed on asap. Others will have to spend some more time in first class. Babar is already there of course.

You've watched Imran?
No, not watched him but his figures suggest he's ready. Has performed against good attacks. Still very young. And averaging better than any other opener in first class cricket. Plus, our test opening pair is still not settled.

What about Fakhar Zaman? Is he 24 or under?

Are you a PK selector because they dont watch many players either!

Number tou Khalid Latif aur Shahzaib Hasan ke bhi humesha achay hotay hain, and we know how big hacks those blokes are

He's 25 I think. But he's left handed so I give him preference - I have a massive bias for good stroke playing lefthanded openers.
True. Watched him, although in T20s only. Shows good intent. Has high strike rate in first class and list A too. I think he should ne tried in ODIs first. Imran Butt is also a leftie I think.

Number tou Khalid Latif aur Shahzaib Hasan ke bhi humesha achay hotay hain, and we know how big hacks those blokes are
No, Khalid Latif and Shahzeb Hasan have average first class numbers. Plus, Imran Butt doesn't even play T20 so it can be safely said that he won't be a hack.

Domestic matches are not telecasted in Pakistan. Except for T20s or final of QA trophy. Those are not enough to judge a player. If you have to judge a player by watching him, you have to see him in 10,15 games. If somebody sees a player in one game and judges him on the basis of that, that judgement will be highly erraneous. Only way for us to judge a player is to follow domestic cricket regularly, even if it is only on cricinfo. It does give a good idea of the player, which will not be true in all cases, but will be true more often than not. Numbers give a true reflection more often than not.

Zeeshan Malik

In inter region Under 19 odi tournament he played 9 matches and scored 631 runs at an average of 70 and Strike rate of 107 with 4 centuries and 1 score of 49 and no fifties.

In this competition the second most number of centuries scored by a batsman were 2 centuries.

In form Zeeshan will be key for Pakistan in under 19 worldcup.

Zeeshan Malik

In inter region Under 19 odi tournament he played 9 matches and scored 631 runs at an average of 70 and Strike rate of 107 with 4 centuries and 1 score of 49 and no fifties.

In this competition the second most number of centuries scored by a batsman were 2 centuries.

In form Zeeshan will be key for Pakistan in under 19 worldcup.

His performance wasn't impressive in U-19 tour to SRL.

Yes he had a very poor tour in both formats. But he is the best batsman at u-19 level in pakistan followed by Abdullah Shafique.

I hope both of them score big in Pentangular cup. Zeeshan will be our captain in worldcup most probably unless a new name emerged after Pentangular cup.

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] how comes Shahid Afridi didn't make your list? #ForeverYoung #16YearsOld #YoungstaBeauty

These lads need some time. No use expecting anything until 2-3 years.

Hopefully they would have played more FC & more PSL to step up & make themselves considered for specalution. Until then I am keeping my fingers crossed on this lot

I watched Zeeshan Malik scoring 70 and he was impressive. I didn't know he had played under 19s. A very good batsman.

Ahsan Ali

Just like hassan raza not getting a single Fc game this season. Has one Fc hundred but a double hundred. One of the few youngest double century scorers of our domestic history along with Babar Azam. Played for UBL last season. His FC career has resembleness with Babar's Fc career in many ways. A beautiful timer of the ball. At last some one who has all the shots against pace bowling. From Drives to cut pull hook. Worst part is despite being capable despite having a double Ton as his first ton despite playing a great 76 runs innings in last T20 domestic tournament against sialkot he isn't getting a game .

# PCB Wake up.

Talent Bhai, Where is he now a days ?
He was a class apart.

I watched Zeeshan Malik scoring 70 and he was impressive. I didn't know he had played under 19s. A very good batsman.

Talent Bhai, Where is he now a days ?
He was a class apart.

He has just stroked a very Classy 85 in a record partnership with Asad Shafiq in National T20 Cup. Than He had a neck injury and did not perform in next two matches and injury got more bad so he was rested for semifinal & final.

Next Fc season imp for him. Must Score consistently and must improve his fitness.

That's great to know.

How much Old Nauman1.0 you see in him ?

Nauman relies a lot more on power and has more natural ability. Zeeshan's a touch player. His batting's made for fast paced wickets and resembles Kohli in some of his strokeplay. Commitment on the front foot and a lot of wrist involved.

This is just my personal opinion . Based on my Eye. People can object and argue.

According to me the following are the best Under 24 batting talents in pakistan.

1. Babar Azam

Tasting relative success at domestic and international cricket. Eventually getting all domestic games now.

2. Zeeshan Malik

Pakistan Under 19 opener. Sizzling player. Hasn't played Fc cricket get. Every eyecachy player.

3. Saud Shakil

Getting Fc cricket this year . Thank you Faisal Iqbal for playing him at number 7 . Do what ever you can't stop him . 1,2 years down line he would surprise you and would get out of your sight.

4. Saad Ali

Hungry batsman. Loves scoring. Loves his time at wicket . Hardworking leftie. Has once made Pakistan A reserve players list.

5. Hassan Raza

Classy stylo player. This sick domestic culture and system , the best product of kashmir cricket is 20 now and hasn't made Fc debut. This year he is in any squad possibly isb squad but they not giving him a game despite their lack lustre batting display.

6. Rehan Afridi

Very sad that the most deserving keeper did not get selected for Pakistan A team. Technically correct aggressive batsman. Very fit and best product of FATA cricket. Had signed for a department who could not qualify hence playing for his region and playing well. Saif is good but Rehan deserved ahead of him.

7. Khush Dil Shah

second best FATA cricket product. At the age f 18 played rahat , zulfiqar and irfan in their peak and scored a good 61 against them. Playing FC cricket.

8. Ahsan Ali

7. Imran Butt

Best average Fc opener having more than 1000 Fc runs. Averages more than 45. Can play for Pakistan test team in a year or two. Having a good FC season uptil now.

8. Nauman Anwar

Missed narrowly on joining ahsan ali and Babar Azam by scoring his first FC hundred a double Ton. Sadly got dismissed on 199. Clutch player. Timing and placement his essence of batting and has wide short range. Can be a good T20 and ODI opener surely and if he continues to pile up runs in Fc than may be test cricket too. But definitely an impact player of shorter versions. Most confident batsman among all youngsters. Hybrid of Hafeez and Imran Nazir in batting style.

9. Imam ul Haq

Impressive bottom hand player. Vastly improved batsman after his under 19 times . Had a good Pentangular and domestic T20 where he impressed. Needs time . Having a mixed Fc season as opener but importantly getting all the games might be due to Krl's Ali Naqvi's ex-teamate influence.

Pcb should make sure these 9 players are in department and regions squad and they should make sure they are in the playing eleven.

It's a huge concern and pathetic stuff from pcb selectors that Ahsan and Hassan Raza aren't playing and haven't played a single game this season . Gross injustice.

# PCB Wake up.

Why no Aslam? Is he too old?

1. Babar Azam

2. Zeeshan Malik

3. Saud Shakil

4. Saad Ali

5. Hassan Raza

6. Rehan Afridi

7. Khush Dil Shah

8. Ahsan Ali

7. Imran Butt

8. Nauman Anwar

9. Imam ul Haq

# PCB Wake up.

Sami Aslam?

Saad Ali has a average of 64 with 7 centuries till now in both first class and list A that too he's only 22 mighty impressive.
I do hope these guys learn the art of power hitting because we lack it big time.

Too much hype around Saud Shakeel, plays an awful innings of 6(19) when the required rate was massive.

I'm all for being stylish and having the shots, but you have to put the actual numbers on the board. Not impressed so far.

Abdur Rauf is praising Gujranwala Batsman Tabrayz alot.

Any Videos ?

None.

I had watched him batting in earlier matches when he was dismissed cheaply but looked very good. Today i watched 2nd semi final only to see his batting. To me, Tabrayz was the best of all batsmen (Including Rafay and Zeeshan) who played this tournament

Incidentally I watched Quinton De Kock batting later on. There are some similarities.

None.

I had watched him batting in earlier matches when he was dismissed cheaply but looked very good. Today i watched 2nd semi final only to see his batting. To me, Tabrayz was the best of all batsmen (Including Rafay and Zeeshan) who played this tournament

Incidentally I watched Quinton De Kock batting later on. There are some similarities.

How old is he? Is he an opener? And did his team qualify for the final, if yes then looking forward to seeing him.

Berhee Dair Ker Di Meharbaan Aatay Aatay.

Sarmad Bhatti is another player who has been consistently In and Out of his domestic teams and needlessly seen as an allrounder which he isn't.

2nd Fc hundred after a long long time but a Big One.

260 runs double Ton in a day night televised match.

Did anyone watch his batting live on Ptv Sports ?

When was the last time a Pak domestic batsman played 520 balls in an innings ? Must be Aamer Sajjad or Rifatullah Mohmand.

[MENTION=128087]last_knight[/MENTION] [MENTION=138958]Khan12[/MENTION]

Boxing Day Test 13 months later. Batting friendly wicket. True bounce and pace. Great chance to announce himself in Test Cricket with a Debut Test Ton.

Come On Babar.

[MENTION=128087]last_knight[/MENTION] [MENTION=138958]Khan12[/MENTION]

Boxing Day Test 13 months later. Batting friendly wicket. True bounce and pace. Great chance to announce himself in Test Cricket with a Debut Test Ton.

Come On Babar.

When people write something like that, you know he isn't getting many.

Presumably Mohammad Nawaz comes back into the team from the Sydney Test onwards.

So the Test team should have Sami Aslam, Babar Azam and Mohammad Nawaz in it indefinitely, hopefully with Imam-ul-Haq to follow.

That's a great skeleton for a team going forwards.

Very good list by Talentspotterpk.

If I could add one more it would be Umar Waheed.

Zeeshan Malik should had been working under Micky Arthur by now.

Zeeshan and Babar are head to head.

how???
was he in the KK team in PSL... zeeshan is also not part of the 31 players list announced for the WI tour...

He wasn't with KK Team in PSL.

I was referring to Arthur the National Coach. Zeeshan Malik will understand his cricket in a better way if he works under Arthur NOW. I'm not advocating for his selection in National Team. Just that he should get some time with National Coach.

Babar has gone on to become Pakistan's premier batsman in the shorter formats, and looks like he has finally cracked test cricket.

Imam has made his debut in ODIs and tests, whilst Saad Ali is deservedly in the test squad after dominating last year's QeA on nightmare pitches.

Saud Shakeel did very well in all forms of domestic cricket year. Probably the closest to national selection (deservedly so).

Zeeshan Malik somehow missed out on PSL selection despite dominating the pre-PSL tournaments organised by LQ and IU. Played his first season of DC last season and is finding his feet at that level.

Ahsan Ali is now 24. He struggled last season but looked very impressive in the recent Ramadan Cup. Hopefully that is a signs of things to come and marks a turnaround for him.

Hopefully, this season is a breakout year for:

Zeeshan Malik
Saud Shakeel
Ahsan Ali

In terms of new names, watch out for:

Nasir Nawaz
Umair Yousuf
Mohammad Arif
Umair Masood
Saif Badar
Abdullah Shafiq
Hasan Mohsin
Saim Ayub

1. Babar Azam

2. Zeeshan Malik

3. Saud Shakil

4. Saad Ali

5. Hassan Raza

6. Rehan Afridi

7. Khush Dil Shah

8. Ahsan Ali

7. Imran Butt

8. Nauman Anwar

9. Imam ul Haq

# PCB Wake up.

3 years ago I made this thread.

1. Saud is knocking at the door of Pakistan Cricket and is most promising youngster.

2. Imam has made successful debut for Pakistan.

3. Nauman Anwar dipped because of terrible coaching where his technique was destroyed but he is finding his old touch again.

4. Zeeshan Malik will soon be seen in PSL and is developing well.

5. Saad Ali has been named in Pakistan A and Pakistan Test squad and had a dream last F.C. season.

6. KhushDil Shah has played PSL and is having an excellent domestic season atm.

7. Imran Butt, Hassan Raza & Ahsan Ali aren’t grabbing opportunities especially Hassan Raza and Ahsan.

I would add Nasir Nawaz to this list. Another quality talent & lastly Saif Badar.

Other than Babar and Imam there are hardly any young batsmen being given game time at international level. That Zimbabwe ODI series feels like such a waste of time. Hardly any new players were tried and the team that played were exposed against decent opposition in the Asia Cup.

Don't see why Saud and some other talanted youngsters couldn't have played in that series.

Good list talentspotter. Not a fan of Khushdil Shah though. Would add Danish Aziz.

Saud tops the list.

For me Saud tips the list aswell. Danish is good aswell. KhushDil has improved his game but Yes not as exciting as Saud, Zeeshan, Nasir & Saif but performances count and he is delivering big time for FATA.

Sad to see Rehan Afridi not performing atm. He was a fine F.C. Batsman from FATA until 2016, by far the best FATA has produced.

3 years ago I made this thread.

1. Saud is knocking at the door of Pakistan Cricket and is most promising youngster.

2. Imam has made successful debut for Pakistan.

3. Nauman Anwar dipped because of terrible coaching where his technique was destroyed but he is finding his old touch again.

4. Zeeshan Malik will soon be seen in PSL and is developing well.

5. Saad Ali has been named in Pakistan A and Pakistan Test squad and had a dream last F.C. season.

6. KhushDil Shah has played PSL and is having an excellent domestic season atm.

7. Imran Butt, Hassan Raza & Ahsan Ali aren’t grabbing opportunities especially Hassan Raza and Ahsan.

I would add Nasir Nawaz to this list. Another quality talent & lastly Saif Badar.

Good work.

Problem is with so many international batsmen, they are not always gonna get chances in PSL. So just like Imam, if a player is performing and is good enough to full fill the need of the national team he should be selected in the team when required.

Good work.

JazaakMullah Taala Ahsanaljazaa.

Between Titan24 & [MENTION=140697]siri[/MENTION]s Khurram Manzoor is again scoring a lot of runs and pushing selectors :-)

Personally I do not rate him but Boy he is scoring heavily since last 2 years.

For me Saud tips the list aswell. Danish is good aswell. KhushDil has improved his game but Yes not as exciting as Saud, Zeeshan, Nasir & Saif but performances count and he is delivering big time for FATA.

Sad to see Rehan Afridi not performing atm. He was a fine F.C. Batsman from FATA until 2016, by far the best FATA has produced.

Ideally Saud should be in the test squad over Asad Shafiq(not a fan of Asad) and Saad, Usman and Saud should compete for 2 places.

Secondly Saud is someone who can be groomed as future captain. I saw him captaining once in u-19 match and was impressed. Also heard good things about his captaincy. I see a future captain in him. May be in 5 years time he will be leading Pakistan as I honestly don't see any other good captaincy options apart from Sarfraz and Zohaib Khan (who wont get into the team). That being said would like to see more of Saud leading hia team in televised matches to make a better judgement. Haven't seen Zeeshan Malik who is also praised as a captain in u-19.