"No debate has happened or is needed for change in our opening pair": Mohammad Yousuf

Mohammad Yousuf in his post game presser:

Following a poor batting outing, Pakistan's batting coach Mohammad Yousuf was asked whether the team management is inclining towards experimenting with the positions, particularly at the top. Yousuf, however, dismissed the suggestion.

“Ye 1.5-2 saal se ye hi pair chal raha hai. Ispe koi baat hui nahi hai, aur hone bhi nahi chahiye. World Cup kareeb hai, iss tarah ka chance lena mushkil hai. Pehle match me Rizwan man of the match tha, doosre match me Babar tha. Change karne ka koi question nazar aa nahi raha. (We have this opening pair for the past 1.5-2 years. We never discussed about changing the pair, nor should such a discussion happen. World Cup is nearing, it's difficult to take a chance now. Rizwan was player of the match in the first game, Babar in the second. Changing the pair is not an option)

"Jo management samajh rahi hai ki jiss tarah ka pair chal raha hai, vaise hi rahenge. Kyunki bilkul sar pe World Cup hai (The management feels this pair is working, and we will stick to it. Because World Cup has arrived)," he further said.

The pressure is immense

Misbah laid the foundation and the current management is baring the brunt!

Let me swing the argument this way. Let's have Butler and Warner at top for assumption sake. Then do the posters here ridiculing Rizbar still believe that we will win tournaments. Eventually in a tournament that middle order will get exposed and we have seen how bad they are . Despite our hypothetical openers scoring 200 together we will lose at some point because either Haider will drop a catch at some point, brainfades will happen to Asif and someone like Wasim. jr will bowl total crap.

Kyun thak raha eh?

No one is displacing RizBar. Enjoy the World Cup. Stress na lai

Regardless of whether you think Babar and Rizwan's pairing is the greatest thing since sliced bread - to not even try to experiment with a different opening combination across all these meaningless T20Is over the last few months again shows the stubborness and inflexibility of our management.

Now they give excuse it's too close to the World Cup.

Regardless of whether you think Babar and Rizwan's pairing is the greatest thing since sliced bread - to not even try to experiment with a different opening combination across all these meaningless T20Is over the last few months again shows the stubborness and inflexibility of our management.

Now they give excuse it's too close to the World Cup.

After the World Cup

Everyone will be rested or dropped, but Babar and Rizwan will still be opening. Mark my words

It's short sighted to not even try anything different. They've had 10 matches now since the start of the England series. Apart from a forced change in ONE match (which was done with no strategy), they haven't even tried.

Tbh - seems management are happy, fans are happy. Lets all go and cut a cake for Babar and Rizwan's rankings and Rambo's 80% win rate - which will probably be 70% by the time the world cup finishes, but enough cause for celebration.

Why can't babar take a match off?

Realistically he should be sacked if we get knocked out in the first round

And yes. He is equally guilty as Rizwan for not sitting out these dead rubber series

I would make Sharjeel and Asif open for quick runs in PP with Babar and Rizwan at 3 and 4.

Obvious void in the middle order after Hafeez and Malik left which is to be expected.

I would make Sharjeel and Asif open for quick runs in PP with Babar and Rizwan at 3 and 4.

Obvious void in the middle order after Hafeez and Malik left which is to be expected.

Clearly Misbah didn’t anticipate this did he when he was going over and beyond when trying to somehow make Rizwan work over Sarfaraz

Looking back at it now, Pakistan should have announced a World Cup team for 2 years and not one as the second World Cup was to be held exactly a year later.

There was no harm in Hafeez and Malik both hanging on for another year and then retiring with a 2 year gap for the next World Cup.

Realistically he should be sacked if we get knocked out in the first round

And yes. He is equally guilty as Rizwan for not sitting out these dead rubber series

I think thiers good chance he will be dropped if they don't make it out of the first round.

Who’s gonna drop him?

If Rizwan will be made captain you can expect nothing to change up top. The batting order will be

Babar
Rizwan
Khushdil
Iftikhar

Who is brave enough to drop Babar Azam in Pakistan?

Match fee bhi tou zarori hai na :ba_quiet

So he is insisting to play for his stats and his income? They are centrally contracted, they get paid as long as they are fit and available. They don’t have to be picked in every match

Yeah we get it Yousaf.

Babar and Rizwan are best T20 openers in the world.

Another debacle awaits us just watch put Saqlain and Moyo to break new records we had a staggering defeat from Eng and now a kick in the teeth type loss from NZ

The pressure is immense

Misbah laid the foundation and the current management is baring the brunt!

Well they enjoyed the success in the previous WC so no harm in taking some criticism. BTW Babar was made an opener in Mickey Arthur's tenure

Which was fine until the second accumulator was promoted. Why was Rizwan promoted? So that Misbah can end Sarfaraz’s captaincy and spot in the team.

Huge blunder

He is right, no point changing worlds best opening pair. Fans have very short memory, all the matches we won in recent times was because of at least one of the openers

I think one way they can try is by resting one of Rizwan or Babar. That is how India tried a lot of openers since the beginning of this year.

India vs Pakistan trying of new openers

openersss.gif

pakopeners.jpg

Which was fine until the second accumulator was promoted. Why was Rizwan promoted? So that Misbah can end Sarfaraz’s captaincy and spot in the team.

Huge blunder

Lol bro... Misbah was Sarfraz's biggest supporter. Part of the reason why Sarfraz continued to be in the team.

As far as why Rizwan was promoted, Fakhar had a slump. Then Rizwan made the position his own.

How is it acceptable to be a T20 opener and average 1 six every 30/40 balls????

It's a cartel, no accountability and spot is safe regardless of performances or impact.

And then they cry when the Middle order is incapable of hitting 4 sixes in 6 deliveries!