On This Day April 18th, 1986 : Javed Miandad hits last ball six at Sharjah vs India

We took that umpire to court and then the great man let him go, showing mercy once he got to know he was having heart problem.

Did Amir the chea win his court case? No he got banned for 5 years.
Did Tendulkar get a ban? It only proved to be a false allegation.

Anything else? I am here for a while, keep throwing

You call him great we call him selfish & cheat.

Well obviously World cup matches are more important, but beating India in any form feels great.

So why not do that (^) frequently rather than waiting or years.

It definitely does, and its a record to feel good about.
But i ask you something, say Liverpool has a 60-40 record over Man U in EPL.
But Man U beats Liverpool to EPL title and in FA cup as well as UEFA !

Which club's fan has got to be more satisfied?

We took that umpire to court and then the great man let him go, showing mercy once he got to know he was having heart problem.

Did Amir the chea win his court case? No he got banned for 5 years.
Did Tendulkar get a ban? It only proved to be a false allegation.

Anything else? I am here for a while, keep throwing

Well he didn't get punished, but that doesn't mean he was innocent.

But why bring Tendulkar into this?...lets stop.

Cough Cough.... :wasim

But he is great according to all your ex cricketers. Why? Because they can't afford to be called stupid saying anything bad against a proven legend publicly. The world knows them and the have a reputation. Here on PP we knowbodies can call anyone whatever we want

It definitely does, and its a record to feel good about.
But i ask you something, say Liverpool has a 60-40 record over Man U in EPL.
But Man U beats Liverpool to EPL title and in FA cup as well as UEFA !

Which club's fan has got to be more satisfied?

Well, its a good point, but again I would keep the frequent wins coming.

But if MAN U (India) wins the title they haven't just beaten Liverpool ( Pakistan) but all teams. :) (Just at the example)

He escaped with his dignity intact just because the allegation was false. They took the issue to court, you wont do that if you are the culprit

Well, its a good point, but again I would keep the frequent wins coming.

But if MAN U (India) wins the title they haven't just beaten Liverpool ( Pakistan) but all teams. :) (Just at the example)

Its one of the reasons why i wont mind my second string team losing to Windies, simply because these bilateral series dnt have much significance. They are just there to fill the calender.

Its the multi national tournaments that matter/ The territorial supremacy battles like Asia cups and then the ultimate World cup

Its one of the reasons why i wont mind my second string team losing to Windies, simply because these bilateral series dnt have much significance. They are just there to fill the calender.

Its the multi national tournaments that matter/ The territorial supremacy battles like Asia cups and then the ultimate World cup

Then why is India playing at least 10 series in a year against SL at home?

:fawad

Oh come on...

Tendulkar was caught ball tampering, therfore a cheat...

But that doesn't mean he is worse than Fawad Alam.

:fawad

Wasnt Imran Khan alleged of ball tampering in england and later the charges were dropped in the court??? Tendulkar didnt even have to go to court for all this drama
Friggin hypocryte!!!

Then why is India playing at least 10 series in a year against SL at home?
Didn't i say it before??

To fill the calender!
To give the broadcasters the X number of matches they want to justify their million $$$ contracts with the board.
I don't have much interest in ODI series for a long while now. I like to watch the test series seriously and the big multination tournaments

Didn't i say it before??

To fill the calender!
To give the broadcasters the X number of matches they want to justify their million $$$ contracts with the board.
I don't much interest in ODI series for a long while now. I like to watch the test series seriously and the big multination tournaments

Love your signature buddy

Sorry guys, this shot totally pwned Miandad's six

misbah+and+joginder.JPG

:misbah

Wasnt Imran Khan alleged of ball tampering in england and later the charges were dropped in the court??? Tendulkar didnt even have to go to court for all this drama
Friggin hypocryte!!!

And if only there was drug testing in those days, Imran would have got banned like Asif and Amir early in his career.

Lets talk about that now

Friggin hypocryte!!!

He admitted that he did do "Ball Tampering",with a bottles cap/lid.:afridi

But lets stay on topic.

I still remember that 6 vividly ...surely more than Kanitkar's 4 or Chauhan's 6.

The latter was just another meaningless series, which we anyway went on to lose.

Technically, Kanitkar's 4 should be the equal of Javed's 6 in terms of impact. Both were finals & went down to the wire. But somehow, it just does not feel the same. Maybe because we had our noses in front for most of that match while Javed won it from a very difficult position. Also, maybe because we were playing so many more ODIs by the time Kanitkar won that for us. Maybe also because we were much younger when Javed hit that 6 - and things do take a more 'death or glory' feel for kids.

Obviously, the WC wins (esp '96, '07 &'11) more than made up for that - atleast for me.

I don't have interest in proving it or even talking about it :P
Imran is an absolute legend, i have the big heart to admit it and live with it:afridi

Don't make baseless allegations then, Teenda's ball tampering was on the record proven or not proven is a different story. Imran was never accused of on the record of using banned drugs.

http://www.mid-day.com/sports/2010/...-Khan-Shahid-Afridi-ball-tampering-issue1.htm

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan said Shahid Afridi has been punished enough for ball -tampering.

Afridi, who was leading the side in the fifth and last One-day International in absence of injured Mohammad Yousuf, was caught on camera biting the ball.

He was banned for two Twenty20 internationals after being found guilty.

"I was involved in a court case -- this was all about ball tampering. And basically my plea in the court case was that ball tampering was part of cricket," he said.

LMAO :imran
But for me, still a legend...

Ps Didnt knew it was about drugs, but still, calling Sachin a cheat on the basis of ball tampering when your own house is made of glass...

kya yeh khula tazaad nahi?? :)))

http://www.mid-day.com/sports/2010/...-Khan-Shahid-Afridi-ball-tampering-issue1.htm

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan said Shahid Afridi has been punished enough for ball -tampering.

Afridi, who was leading the side in the fifth and last One-day International in absence of injured Mohammad Yousuf, was caught on camera biting the ball.

He was banned for two Twenty20 internationals after being found guilty.

"I was involved in a court case -- this was all about ball tampering. And basically my plea in the court case was that ball tampering was part of cricket," he said.

LMAO :imran
But for me, still a legend...

I was talking about using drugs not ball tampering.

Oh come on, it's obvious you'd call him that. Afterall, you have to pick on the most loved Indian player to make yourself feel better since those 2 traits are the trademark of one :wasim , someone who sold out his country to line his wallet with cash, a 'selfish' and a 'cheat'.

Agree with you Wasim was also a cheat. Never liked him as a person.

Your Answer is there:

But I said before about Tendulkar, that doesn't mean the player was not the best.

let's stick to the topic please.

what a shot, what an innings, what a player. :jm

its effect reverberated for 15 years as India got trounced again and again and again.

The reason we stopped playing in sharjah is because of people like azharuddin who wolud bring their cell phones to the playing field without security doing anything about i. Though now with increased security, a LOT of increased security it would be great to beat pakistan there now in triangle with australia or soth africa.

That was a great stuff from Miandad.

Can't say it was a great shot but definitely a high impact result.

But as some posters says its better than WC wins ?? Noway. I would take WC 96 win over 2003, 2011, Asia cup and Javed's six win.

96 win was a see-saw both in bowling and batting. Till Prasad took Sohail it was a gone match for India.

The match was not dependent on one shot or one wicket. It just turned by its head from a hopeless situation.

Definitely not. T20 wc final was the biggest we have ever played.
Credit to great Miandad for hitting it, but it was a sorry full toss by Chetan. He cracked under pressure

And we have always been pounding you in world cups, 7-0.
Keeps the bragging rights in balance, and any fan in the world would prefer a 7-0 supremacy over his arch rival than a 60-40 insignificant winning record

winning some worldcup matches against pakistan in the world cup makes u the greatest cricketing nation ever ........... CONGRATS!!!!............... u do realise that ur teams record against most major nations is laughable and almost suicide inducing for a self respecting cricket fan.... ur record places u only slightly above bangladesh and other minnows while we have always been competitive and dominant ............ u mention the world cup matches and conveniently forget the greatest format test cricket where we have been spanking ur behind .... so i suggest u brush up on ur facts ..... wow u guys are delusional... and btw ur victories in the 92 and 99 cup were in the most inconsequential matches ever we still reached the final in 99 and won in 92 .......but nyways whatever makes u sleep better at night .... i can understand why u ignore these statistics and the fact that pakistan has hammered u evrywhere in india , abroad , at home , would b quite difficult to fathom and must make ur lives miserable as a proud cricket mad country of billions ;)

hahahaha :))

Regarding that 60-40 or whatever. If I were a Pakistan Cricket fan, I would be worried about the difference getting down slowly in last 10 years. Do you know even if there is almost no matches between Ind- Pak in last 2-3 years, the diff is around 25% decresed in the last decade?

So feel proud of what your previous generations have achieved but at the same time be worried what this generation is loosing.
Talk about past glory.

Regarding that 60-40 or whatever. If I were a Pakistan Cricket fan, I would be worried about the difference getting down slowly in last 10 years. Do you know even if there is almost no matches between Ind- Pak in last 2-3 years, the diff is around 25% decresed in the last decade?

So feel proud of what your previous generations have achieved but at the same time be worried what this generation is loosing.
Talk about past glory.

NAAA im more excited about what we r gonna do to india in the future :D

18th April 1986, the scenes from that day are still etched in my memories. I was a 6 year old kid then, did not understand much about cricket except for playing with a plastic ball and a small sized light wooden bat.

But somehow that day I watched almost the entire match with my uncles without realising how big it was. Still remember the swear words my uncles used against the captain Kapil and especially Chetan Sharma. The first time I heard the word "paise khaye honge".

I am sure scenes in Pakistan would have been completely different.

Still remember that day ... I was 10 yrs old, in Mumbai visiting a cousin. We both got up at 7am all excited about the match and played India-Pak cricket for half an hour. The day went perfectly fine until that six!

Cried for probably 3-4 hours and was shell shocked for the next week or so. It hurt a lot for around 10 years but has somewhat been alleviated by

a) Rajesh Chouhan hit that six of Saqlain to win that match in 1997 and
b) T20 world cup win and
c) 2011 Semi final win

Hats off Javed ... you have scarred me for life !

Still remember that day ... I was 10 yrs old, in Mumbai visiting a cousin. We both got up at 7am all excited about the match and played India-Pak cricket for half an hour. The day went perfectly fine until that six!

Cried for probably 3-4 hours and was shell shocked for the next week or so. It hurt a lot for around 10 years but has somewhat been alleviated by

a) Rajesh Chouhan hit that six of Saqlain to win that match in 1997 and
b) T20 world cup win and
c) 2011 Semi final win

Hats off Javed ... you have scarred me for life !
I had seen that live too and I was 10 years old. It was bad but don't think I realized that so much at that time.

Too young to feel much, just went out with my cricket match in the evening with friends.

Talk about past glory.

The gap is reduced because we are going through transition after 2003. India will also go through such a transition period when players like Teenda (hope so), Dravid, Laxman, Sehwag, Zaheer, etc. hang their boots. We will then get our chance IF India dare to play us to widen the gap again. But still at the moment also it is quiet big.

yahhhh like you mentioned its a big "IF"

By then the likes of Afridi, Misbah, Younis, Ajmal, Razzaq etc will all be gone too :P

Pathetic thread..some of you need to grow up..ever since India won the wc this forum has become infested with lunacy!! if you can't stick to the topic please just open a different thread!!

18th April 1986, the scenes from that day are still etched in my memories. I was a 6 year old kid then, did not understand much about cricket except for playing with a plastic ball and a small sized light wooden bat.

But somehow that day I watched almost the entire match with my uncles without realising how big it was. Still remember the swear words my uncles used against the captain Kapil and especially Chetan Sharma. The first time I heard the word "paise khaye honge".

I am sure scenes in Pakistan would have been completely different.

And my dear fellow Indian brother
Why did you have to post this to prove our bigger heart :P :facepalm:
Have you seen Pakistanis remember and celebrate anniversaries of Kumble's 10fer?

Pakistanis don't get demoralized! lol If we did Pak would not exist today! Yea we lost...big deal...time to move on! Pakistani resilience is like no other. Oh and 69-47. 22 more games till India is on our level...

And my dear fellow Indian brother
Why did you have to post this to prove our bigger heart :P :facepalm:
Have you seen Pakistanis remember and celebrate anniversaries of Kumble's 10fer?

:)) Relax Freelance, don't be so sensitive towards every comment or thread that mentions India or Sachin. You are one of the biggest cry babies in this entire site, if you don't like a discussion instead of harping on that topic and making numerous useless comments ignore the thread. Easy solution to your overly sensitive attitude.

That SIX by Miandad kicked off Pakistan's dominance over India in cricket for the coming 20 years. That six hit the Indians quiet badly mentally.

I also enjoyed India vs Pakistan matches in 96 quarter final and specially 2011 semi final :sachin

:)) Relax Freelance, don't be so sensitive towards every comment or thread that mentions India or Sachin. You are one of the biggest cry babies in this entire site, if you don't like a discussion instead of harping on that topic and making numerous useless comments ignore the thread. Easy solution to your overly sensitive attitude.

Oh is that what you think? :inti
Really??

8812305b-a667-4ed3-b8a3-3fcb5b7c725e.jpg

Talk cricket, its not hard

@freelance

The truth hurts mate, I hope my post made you realize that throwing baby tantrums is not the way to go, I hope to see some positive improvement from you in the coming days.

The way Prasad got Sohail's wicket after Sohail signed Prasad that next ball will go to boundary......that give you real goosebumps......what a match.....it is unmatchable to any last ball or first ball six.....

All credit to Pakistan and Miandad, but it was more due to the fulltoss that Sharma served to Miandad..

Miandad is a great player... But the guy cannot score quickly to save his life.. To let him score a 6 when 4 was needed is disgraceful on the part of Chetan Sharma...

From then onwards, the Indian Cricket went down the hill until 2000-2001. Players like Kambli, Jadeja, Amre used to be regular features in Indian team. Those idiots should not be in any national squad.. But those were the times when Indian team never really ahd any talended players until Tendu+Sourav+Dravid took over and brought some respectability...

Bottomline is, every team goes through cycles... India were pretty much a doormat team in the early 90's until 2000.. The influx of young talented players like Sehwag, Harbi, UV, Kaif(sadly now useless), has kick started the emergence of India as a dominant cricket team...

With the likes of Kohli, Raina, Pujara, Gambhir... Indian batting line up will be dominant for a while... Concern is their bowling with Zak almost near retirement..

Only Pakistanis keep harping on and on about this stupid match because they got nothing to gloat about. As if Hrishikesh Kanitkar didnt hit a four in that final over in that record 300 + run chase in Bangladesh, Rajesh Chauhan didnt hit a six in the final over in Karachi or Harbhajan didnt hit a six against Amir recently to win in Sri Lanka. Its getting boring already and shows how desperate some people are that they need to remember age old matches to feel better. :)))

the irony of this post is that the thread was started by an indian poster! :))) :)))

Advice ; to avoid being so fabulously pawned in the future make sure who the OP is!

Btw Pakistan leads India in test cricket aswell which is the real for mof cricket as many indians like to point out since they became no.1

@freelance

The truth hurts mate, I hope my post made you realize that throwing baby tantrums is not the way to go, I hope to see some positive improvement from you in the coming days.

You divert the discussion from cricket to this and then have the fruits to say that :facepalm:
If you cant talk cricket, let your other countrymen do and be the spectator. There are too many great people on here who can make me look like a joke without themselves looking like one

the irony of this post is that the thread was started by an indian poster! :))) :)))

Advice ; to avoid being so fabulously pawned in the future make sure who the OP is!

A big thanks to the OP again :110:
You now know our hearts are far bigger

You divert the discussion from cricket to this and then have the fruits to say that :facepalm:
If you cant talk cricket, let your other countrymen do and be the spectator. There are too many great people on here who can make me look like a joke without themselves looking like one

:)) Practice what you preach kid. I am just stating a fact as proven by your obsession with the OP and your pain as to why he made this thread. :yk

Btw Pakistan leads India in test cricket aswell which is the real for mof cricket as many indians like to point out since they became no.1

I was referring to all the Pakistanis who were gloating about that win in this thread itself. Not just this thread, its probably the only win that seem to be of any consequence to Pakistan fans while Indians have too many to count. :P

Oh really! Kid you don't know anything about Pakistani Cricket. Please go and check Pakistan's record against your beloved country on your own backyard and then come and continue your trolling.

I've been on this forum for a while now and I must say mr freelance is one of the worst Indian posters here..you win a world cup and suddenly you're a sher?? if it was up to me I'd line the lot of you up and click mass ban..arrogant, no respect, ignorant..remember the name of this forum, we are not a run of the mill forum..some of you whipper snappers need to get lost and come back when you've learnt how to conduct a reasonable conversation!!

And as for the op and others..that miandad six changed the face of Pakistan cricket..I lived through everything after it..believe me without that win we would never have become the great cricket nation we are today!! So please don't compare bhajji or kanayikar or other obscure incidents with that particular event!! now can a mod plz clean house here??

I've been on this forum for a while now and I must say mr freelance is one of the worst Indian posters here..you win a world cup and suddenly you're a sher?? if it was up to me I'd line the lot of you up and click mass ban..arrogant, no respect, ignorant..remember the name of this forum, we are not a run of the mill forum..some of you whipper snappers need to get lost and come back when you've learnt how to conduct a reasonable conversation!!

And as for the op and others..that miandad six changed the face of Pakistan cricket..I lived through everything after it..believe me without that win we would never have become the great cricket nation we are today!! So please don't compare bhajji or kanayikar or other obscure incidents with that particular event!! now can a mod plz clean house here??

I think he's under 15, be gentle to him. :sachin.
he might just start crying.

Oh really! Kid you don't know anything about Pakistani Cricket. Please go and check Pakistan's record against your beloved country on your own backyard and then come and continue your trolling.

I know for a fact that in World Cup history, Pakistan has never won against India and Sachin has scored more centuries than all Pakistani batsmen put together. The less said about your current team the better :))

That's just your opinion. Are others not entitled to it too ? A conversation goes both ways. When you have something to say, you have to be prepared to listen too.

I know for a fact that in World Cup history, Pakistan has never won against India and Sachin has scored more centuries than all Pakistani batsmen put together. The less said about your current team the better :))

So you mean that only the WC games are official and the rest of the games are just some IPL kind of Tamasha matches. If this is your thinking then sorry to say but you are unfit for a sane conversation.

The significance of Miandad's six is that INDIANS themselves say it hurt them so bad rather than pakistanis saying it hurt them

Harsha Bhogle in 2011 :" Our generation never got over Miandad's six"

Times of India in 2011:" India took almost a decade to get over Miandad's six"

Google it and you'll find the source.

So you mean that only the WC games are official and the rest of the games are just some IPL kind of Tamasha matches. If this is your thinking then sorry to say but you are unfit for a sane conversation.

Cant you just talk without resorting to personal attacks ? Shows how immature you are. India's record versus Pakistan in neutral venues is even. Off late, India has been having the upper hand in most matches against Pak as India has the better team. You are just lucky we dont play often, especially in tests.

To me, easily the three greatest moments of India Pakistan cricket are the three biggest tournament wins that India has won. Nothing even comes close to the scope of these tournaments. Each of them involved all the test playing nations in the world. Enough said.

1985 World Championship of Cricket Final.

2007 T20 World Cup Final.

2011 World Cup Semi Final.

Pakistan has not beaten India in anything that comes close to resembling these levels. Sorry.

Cant you just talk without resorting to personal attacks ? Shows how immature you are. India's record versus Pakistan in neutral venues is even. Off late, India has been having the upper hand in most matches against Pak as India has the better team. You are just lucky we dont play often, especially in tests.

Test Matches in past 10 years Pakistan 3 - India 4

ODI Matches in past 10 years Pakistan 17- India 18

This is what you call a upper hand. Let me show you what is upper hand:

Test matches overall Pakistan 12 - India 9

ODI matches overall Pakistan 69- India 47.

Now you know what is upper hand.

To me, easily the three greatest moments of India Pakistan cricket are the three biggest tournament wins that India has won. Nothing even comes close to the scope of these tournaments. Each of them involved all the test playing nations in the world. Enough said.

1985 World Championship of Cricket Final.

2007 T20 World Cup Final.

2011 World Cup Semi Final.

Pakistan has not beaten India in anything that comes close to resembling these levels. Sorry.

Going by how much they think a single 6 has hurt Indian fans so much, probably will hurt Pakistan fans for a century :))

Need to move on from the past. How long will we sit on our past laurels? And 25 years have already been passed!

Test Matches in past 10 years Pakistan 3 - India 4

ODI Matches in past 10 years Pakistan 17- India 18

This is what you call a upper hand. Let me show you what is upper hand:

Test matches overall Pakistan 12 - India 9

ODI matches overall Pakistan 69- India 47.

Now you know what is upper hand.

India has won more matches than Pakistan recently going by your records. Thanks for confirming what I've written.
The ODI head to head record is skewed because of all the match fixing in Sharjah and I dont rate those matches highly anyway.

remember the name of this forum,

It all lies there, doesn't it?
You want me to only stay stuff that you are comfortable with. When i say that a world cup match is bigger than a Sharjah cup final, i become the worst Indian poster ever ?
I am very grateful to PP for providing such a fantastic forum for cricket discussion but for people like you i can not post my comment everytime by first thinking about ^^The name of the forum^^
I don't have to, because i don't have anything against you. I only enjoy my stay here and speak my mind.

There are like dozen of very capable mods patroling over here, may be you should let them decide what's right and wrong. Arguements are the nature of every forum, looking at your posts count you should know that by now. So again, stick to cricket please. If you don't wanna talk cricket, yahoo ?

Chill , peace :)

India has won more matches than Pakistan recently going by your records. Thanks for confirming what I've written.
The ODI head to head record is skewed because of all the match fixing in Sharjah and I dont rate those matches highly anyway.

Double Post.

Of course you don't rate those highly, because India always lost.:yk

The less we talk about the match fixing in India, the better.

BTW, Thanks for commiting that Indian players were cheats.;-):asif:amir:butt