On This Day June 18, 2017: Pakistan destroyed India to seal Champions Trophy victory by 180 runs

Sarfaraz was a tough captain (always yelling and stuff) but he was great at getting the job done.

Under Sarfaraz, Pakistan were #1 in T20 and won CT 2017.
Sorry to say this, but that's how Pakistan players have to be monitored. Even YK was the same.

Imran Khan got lucky in that none of his players were disrespectful and all respected their captain. (PS, not saying IK was bad, I'm saying he had an easier time gelling a team but he himself was obviously a gun captain).

It's a shame but Pakistani players aren't aussies. You can't have a chill captain like pat Cummings.

I honestly respected Sarfaraz as a person. I was angry when a certain Pakistani fan insulted him on video when he was enjoying time with his son. But then the racial abuse that he spouted to a black SA player on live TV made me lose all respect for him. I don't care how much his fans try to defend him for what he said, the truth was recorded on camera that day.​
Not defending him, he ain't perfect. But that doesn't matter. He was getting results plain and simple. You don't have to like him as a person.

It doesn't matter how nice someone like rizwan is, ik for a fact he'll be a crapola captain.

Insulting the opposition while wrong doesn't matter in the long run. David Warner got banned for a year for doing something worse.

At the end of the day, it's about results. Sarfi's results are having the best psl record. Having an under 19 win, having the best t20 record and having a CT 2017 under his belt.

However he had a very poor 2018 in odi's and test. In 2019, the wc outing was decent, Pakistan beat who they usually beat, pulled upsets against england, SA and NZ, and lost to aus and India which happens every tournament for the past 20+ years. Only downside was WI which costed them, Wi was a poor showing

Sarf was unjustly treated. 2019 WC Australia game we should have won few silly mistakes.

Anyway been saying since his appointment Babar isn't a captain.

Weather played a big part in Pakistan’s victory…. Rainy and overcast conditions favoured Pakistan bowlers… even in SF , England was a strong team, everybody thought they will win, but in SF also weather helped pak bowlers

Not defending him, he ain't perfect. But that doesn't matter. He was getting results plain and simple. You don't have to like him as a person.

It doesn't matter how nice someone like rizwan is, ik for a fact he'll be a crapola captain.

Insulting the opposition while wrong doesn't matter in the long run. David Warner got banned for a year for doing something worse.

At the end of the day, it's about results. Sarfi's results are having the best psl record. Having an under 19 win, having the best t20 record and having a CT 2017 under his belt.

However he had a very poor 2018 in odi's and test. In 2019, the wc outing was decent, Pakistan beat who they usually beat, pulled upsets against england, SA and NZ, and lost to aus and India which happens every tournament for the past 20+ years. Only downside was WI which costed them, Wi was a poor showing
I wasn't even speaking about his credibility as a cricketer. I was just saying how I once personally liked him which changed after his racial abuse on a black South African player.

This was no fluke. Pakistan exposed our team completely on that day and humiliated us. They were also responsible for bringing a few changes our team.
IMO Pakistan should hold on to this victory as special for eternity. Nobody has given them a chance but they played that day like champions. Fakhar played the most significant innings in the ODI format not only for himself but the whole nation he represents. He played fearlessly and put pressure on India the moment he stepped on the pitch. He exposed the mediocrity of our off-spinners in general who always played conservatively and were around only to stem the runrate. He took on Bumrah and showed the world how mindset matters against the best of bowlers. Amir continue to expose India's weakness to left arm seamers who were clueless how to play him.
Before the finals, the hype train started on India media of how strong a team we were and how weak Pakistan was(especially after us thrashing them in the early stages of the tournament). I felt humiliated after this loss and I am sure the rest of the nation. It was the best wake cup call we got and deserved.
The changes that Indian team has been making since then albeit gradual.

1) Importance of a good leg spinner who are great wicket taking options in the middle overs for the short formats.
2) Be prepared better to face left hand seamers( we have gotten better at it but are still far from being perfect)
3) Picturing that the strongest version of Pakistan(the most bipolar team on the planet) will come out every-time they face us.

Barring the 2022 t20 world cup against Pakistan we have won probably every game with them. The t20 worldcup in Dubai was not as humiliating because the nature of the pitch and the toss was highly influential in deciding the result.

Pakistan on the other hand with that win and the win against minnows after that made them assume they are invincible.
For the last 2 years Pakistan has played absolutely terrible boring cricket.

I am from Chennai in India and follow the game. We always like the way Pakistan played their cricket in the past, lots of skill, grit and determination. But we don't like the way they play anymore. Boring and selfish.
They are playing like the India team in the 90's. Conservative cricket and believing that number of runs scored is more important than impact.
Pakistan was innovative in the past - good or bad. Reverse swing, ball tampering and even biting, match fixing, genital herpes, physical and verbal skirmishes. Now they are just boring, nothing interesting comes from on and off the field.

This was no fluke. Pakistan exposed our team completely on that day and humiliated us. They were also responsible for bringing a few changes our team.
IMO Pakistan should hold on to this victory as special for eternity. Nobody has given them a chance but they played that day like champions. Fakhar played the most significant innings in the ODI format not only for himself but the whole nation he represents. He played fearlessly and put pressure on India the moment he stepped on the pitch. He exposed the mediocrity of our off-spinners in general who always played conservatively and were around only to stem the runrate. He took on Bumrah and showed the world how mindset matters against the best of bowlers. Amir continue to expose India's weakness to left arm seamers who were clueless how to play him.
Before the finals, the hype train started on India media of how strong a team we were and how weak Pakistan was(especially after us thrashing them in the early stages of the tournament). I felt humiliated after this loss and I am sure the rest of the nation. It was the best wake cup call we got and deserved.
The changes that Indian team has been making since then albeit gradual.

1) Importance of a good leg spinner who are great wicket taking options in the middle overs for the short formats.
2) Be prepared better to face left hand seamers( we have gotten better at it but are still far from being perfect)
3) Picturing that the strongest version of Pakistan(the most bipolar team on the planet) will come out every-time they face us.

Barring the 2022 t20 world cup against Pakistan we have won probably every game with them. The t20 worldcup in Dubai was not as humiliating because the nature of the pitch and the toss was highly influential in deciding the result.

Pakistan on the other hand with that win and the win against minnows after that made them assume they are invincible.
For the last 2 years Pakistan has played absolutely terrible boring cricket.

I am from Chennai in India and follow the game. We always like the way Pakistan played their cricket in the past, lots of skill, grit and determination. But we don't like the way they play anymore. Boring and selfish.
They are playing like the India team in the 90's. Conservative cricket and believing that number of runs scored is more important than impact.
Pakistan was innovative in the past - good or bad. Reverse swing, ball tampering and even biting, match fixing, genital herpes, physical and verbal skirmishes. Now they are just boring, nothing interesting comes from on and off the field.
Part credit has to be given to Srilanka in this. Srilanka in the first round chased down 300 plus total against India. India had all the warnings in that match. Come the final. After failing to defend 300 they opted to field first and conceded 300 against. 300 in a final is very different from 300 in first round. India's tactically wrong call buried them. A defensive strategy from the get go.

There was no racial abuse​
Sarfraz Ahmed: Pakistan captain banned over racist comment by ICC

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed has been banned for four matches after admitting making a racist remark to South Africa all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo.

The International Cricket Council said Sarfraz breached its anti-racism code in a one-day international in Durban.

Sarfraz, 31, later apologised and claimed his words were "not directed towards anyone in particular".

The wicketkeeper will miss two one-day internationals and two Twenty20 matches, all against South Africa.

"Sarfraz has promptly admitted the offence, was regretful of his actions and has issued a public apology, so these factors were taken into account when determining an appropriate sanction," said the International Cricket Council's (ICC) chief executive David Richardson.

The world governing body opened an investigation after Sarfraz was caught on a stump microphone using the Urdu word "kaale", meaning "black".

Sarfraz will also have to go on an ICC education programme.

He was charged under a part of the section of the code relating to "conduct (whether through the use of language, gestures or otherwise) which is likely to offend, insult, humiliate, intimidate, threaten, disparage or vilify any reasonable person... on the basis of their race, religion, culture, colour, descent, national or ethnic origin".

In response, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said in a statement that it had "a zero-tolerance approach to racist comments and behaviour", but expressed its "utmost disappointment" with the decision to ban Sarfraz.

The PCB said it believed the matter had been settled amicably following the player's apology and said it would seek to reform the anti-racism code at future ICC forums.

Sarfraz's suspension started with Sunday's fourth ODI in Johannesburg and the player will return to Pakistan, with all-rounder Shoaib Malik stepping in as captain for the rest of the South Africa tour - even though Sarfraz would have been available for the final T20 match on 6 February.

Back-up keeper Mohammad Rizwan, who has taken the gloves in Johannesburg, will remain with the squad for the T20 leg of the tour.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/47019134

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed has been banned for four matches after admitting making a racist remark to South Africa all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo.

The International Cricket Council said Sarfraz breached its anti-racism code in a one-day international in Durban.

Sarfraz, 31, later apologised and claimed his words were "not directed towards anyone in particular".

The wicketkeeper will miss two one-day internationals and two Twenty20 matches, all against South Africa.

"Sarfraz has promptly admitted the offence, was regretful of his actions and has issued a public apology, so these factors were taken into account when determining an appropriate sanction," said the International Cricket Council's (ICC) chief executive David Richardson.

The world governing body opened an investigation after Sarfraz was caught on a stump microphone using the Urdu word "kaale", meaning "black".

Sarfraz will also have to go on an ICC education programme.

He was charged under a part of the section of the code relating to "conduct (whether through the use of language, gestures or otherwise) which is likely to offend, insult, humiliate, intimidate, threaten, disparage or vilify any reasonable person... on the basis of their race, religion, culture, colour, descent, national or ethnic origin".

In response, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said in a statement that it had "a zero-tolerance approach to racist comments and behaviour", but expressed its "utmost disappointment" with the decision to ban Sarfraz.

The PCB said it believed the matter had been settled amicably following the player's apology and said it would seek to reform the anti-racism code at future ICC forums.

Sarfraz's suspension started with Sunday's fourth ODI in Johannesburg and the player will return to Pakistan, with all-rounder Shoaib Malik stepping in as captain for the rest of the South Africa tour - even though Sarfraz would have been available for the final T20 match on 6 February.

Back-up keeper Mohammad Rizwan, who has taken the gloves in Johannesburg, will remain with the squad for the T20 leg of the tour.

Is black a racist term? Why do police and governments use it if so?

Why was he banned if it was not racial abuse?

Please don't take the world to be full of fools. He said, "Abbey kaaley .....". And that's akin to saying, 'Hey darkie ..... "

Why was he banned if it was not racial abuse?

Please don't take the world to be full of fools. He said, "Abbey kaaley .....". And that's akin to saying, 'Hey darkie ..... "

Political correctness.

Kaala = Black

Ask anyone in Punjab India or Pakistan

Sarfraz will also have to go on an ICC education program.

I am going to go out on a limb and say he was not intentionally racist, this was casual racism which is ingrained in most Indians and Pakistanis and I would infact extend this to south asians. We have always looked down upon ourselves and others based on skin color. The darker the shade you are, the more village you are has been ingrained in us. Sarfaraz has had no exposure and never been corrected until then, but everybody knows that he was a wonderful person, humble and funny. Also he brought the Pakistan team together and work as a unit. Everybody knows that being a successful captain or coach in Pakistan is the toughest job in the world. But he managed to do it.

South Africa had apartheid until 1994 and international pressure made them change. All of a sudden South Africa became a spokesperson for anti-racism with this incident and Faf a beacon for color discrimination. The british media blew this incident out of proportion too in their tabloids. What a joke? They claimed to have ended slave labor in 1834, but they then everybody know they replaced and equally abused Indians, Pakistanis and africans making them take hard jobs for extremely low wages.

Guess short form of Pakistani is also not a racist abuse then.
Political correctness.

Kaala = Black

Ask anyone in Punjab India or Pakistan
For a Redneck in Texas
Black man = Negro = ******

For UKIP white man
Pakistani can be shortened too. Whats the big deal?

Protection against racism is always political correctness.

I am going to go out on a limb and say he was not intentionally racist, this was casual racism which is ingrained in most Indians and Pakistanis and I would infact extend this to south asians.
Absolutely. Safraz probably himself didn't know it was actually racist what he said. But that incident put a bad taste in my mouth. I actually have a lot of appreciation for players who achieve something against my team. Performing against India doesn't make me dislike those players one bit. What he achieved as captain in that tournament was brilliant. I had a lot of appreciation for him after that CT, 2017 win.​

Why was he banned, and that too for racial abuse by the ICC?

BLM was big then too. Political pressure basically. Not based on facts.

And Black and Pa** are completely not the same. One is an official racial designation.

BLM was big then too. Political pressure basically. Not based on facts.

And Black and Pa** are completely not the same. One is an official racial designation.
Lol, isn't Negro also means a Black person and Sarfaraz wasn't inviting the bowler for family dinner, he was sledging and very much intended as insult akin N-word or Negro. and In light of Rauf controversy, its lovely to see you defending sledging that involves a racial remark plus the opponent's mother.
Please dont dig a deeper hole here.

Lol, isn't Negro also means a Black person and Sarfaraz wasn't inviting the bowler for family dinner, he was sledging and very much intended as insult akin N-word or Negro. and In light of Rauf controversy, its lovely to see you defending sledging that involves a racial remark plus the opponent's mother.

Did Sarfaraz sledge Andile or was he joking around with the teammates? I feel like it was the latter.

Why would Sarfaraz sledge in Urdu considering Andile was unlikely to understand it?

Did Sarfaraz sledge Andile or was he joking around with the teammates? I feel like it was the latter.

Why would Sarfaraz sledge in Urdu considering Andile was unlikely to understand it?
Please read what he said

In the 37th over the chase, Sarfraz was caught on the stump mic saying: "Abey kaale, teri ammi aaj kahaan baitheen hain? Kya parwa ke aaye hai aaj?" (Hey black guy, where's your mother sitting today? What [prayer] have you got her to say for you today?)

Now which "Kaala player" in Pakistan team was he referring to.

Again, its lovely to see the valiant defense of bigotry by some posters!! 👏 👏

It was a bigoted statement he apologized and got punished too and the world moved on. Stop defended something the person himself is not defended at all.

Ok keep staying in your precious world. In the real world kaala means black.

Please read what he said

In the 37th over the chase, Sarfraz was caught on the stump mic saying: "Abey kaale, teri ammi aaj kahaan baitheen hain? Kya parwa ke aaye hai aaj?" (Hey black guy, where's your mother sitting today? What [prayer] have you got her to say for you today?)

Now which "Kaala player" in Pakistan team was he referring to. Which Pakistani player's mother was he alluding to?
Again, its lovely to see the valiant defense of bigotry by some posters!! 👏 👏

It was a bigoted statement he apologized and got punished too and the world moved on. Stop defended something the person himself is not defended at all.

I am not from Pakistan.

Looks like you didn't understand my question. If Sarfaraz wanted Andile to understand it, why didn't he sledge in English? Why in Urdu? Andile doesn't understand Urdu I believe.

It seems to me Sarfaraz was joking around with teammates about Andile.

Anyway, what's done is done. Sarfaraz apologized. Let's move on.

I am not from Pakistan.

Looks like you didn't understand my question. If Sarfaraz wanted Andile to understand it, why didn't he sledge in English? Why in Urdu? Andile doesn't understand Urdu I believe.

It seems to me Sarfaraz was joking around with teammates about Andile.

Don't get me wrong. I don't support this. I believe Sarfaraz was wrong and he rightfully apologized.
Bhai, its not like Sarafaraz is the smartest head around. How much English does he know to sledge well in English. Being bad at a crime does not acquit you from the charges. It just makes one a moron. Honestly, apart from the typial sub-continental racism and some remark involving his mother I dont even understand what was the sledge being attempted here.

And the read the statement, its directed at the SA player and the stump mic caught it.

Bhai, its not like Sarafaraz is the smartest head around. How much English does he know to sledge well in English. Being bad at a crime does not acquit you from the charges. It just makes one a moron. Honestly, apart from the typial sub-continental racism and some remark involving his mother I dont even understand what was the sledge being attempted here.

And the read the statement, its directed at the SA player and the stump mic caught it.
Being politically correct is a mindset, applying filters in conversation comes with actually social education especially at a young age which is actually gained right from how your parents and family mold you, diversity in your media content and your exposure interacting with different people from different socio-political-regional-belief systems.
Due you think Sarfaraz or say a Shahid Afrdi actually have had training on these matters as kids or been course corrected early? No. Sarfaraz though is a nice guy, and deep down we all know he is not a hater(unlike Afridi). Sarfaraz's behavior stems from lack of exposure and hence he apologized.

Pakistan and India are similar in that regards, most folks are ignorant about what is happening elsewhere and are cuccooned in their own thought and belief systems in a lot of ways. I can say India is quite ahead in outlook and because of religious diversity and freedom of thought(although right now that is apparently changing in certain regions of the country).

Ramadan. Exams. Aftars and match. Miss that time man. Its been 8 years. Still remember it as if it were yesterday.

I was in college too. I remember I was following games from my classrooms.

CT 2017 was a great event. Any ICC event hosted in UK is generally a great one. Atmosphere is electric.

So true. Lords. The games. The crowd.
Also loved the way hafeez batted down the order. How rumman raees stepped up in semis. How azhar punched above his weight.

Sorry to amir fans they give alot of credit to amir but Hasan and junaid were heroes too.

Final to azhar and fakhar won for us.

Lords is the true home of Cricket. Nothing gets better than having the premier event there.

So true. Lords. The games. The crowd.
Also loved the way hafeez batted down the order. How rumman raees stepped up in semis. How azhar punched above his weight.

Sorry to amir fans they give alot of credit to amir but Hasan and junaid were heroes too.

Final to azhar and fakhar won for us.

Yeah. Azhar Ali played well in the final.

Azhar and Fakhar gave Pakistan a flying start and that set the tone.

It was a clinical performance from Pakistan. Pakistan used to dominate India like that in the 90's.

One of the biggest days in the annuls of Pakistan cricket and they will be talking about for the next 25-30 years similar to 92 world cup.

A day India will never be able to erase from their memories. They were beaten badly at the hands of a nobody team at that time, ranked 9 team.

Ya big upset but one that India got over quickly. From Pkaistans point of view extremely big and a rare win which people on this forum will talk about for ages.

Fakhar Zaman deserves all the credit in the world for that match. Getting a life is one thing, capitalising on it is another.​

Ya big upset but one that India got over quickly. From Pkaistans point of view extremely big and a rare win which people on this forum will talk about for ages.

Pakistan have a superior head to head record against India in both Test and ODI. :inti

Even last ODI series between these two sides were won by Pakistan (Pakistan won 2-1 in 2013).

How is it a rare win?

Pakistan are yet to compete in an ODI against India since this game.

Let alone win. :inti
Their is one valid claim though. I agree with most of your posts but, India aint beating Pakistan in a final anytime soon.

Ik you are going to counter by stating thats cause Pakistan is a minnow that cant reach finals however India aint beating any team by 180+ runs in a final. That's for sure.

That record belongs to you guys 4 life.

Their is one valid claim though. I agree with most of your posts but, India aint beating Pakistan in a final anytime soon.

Ik you are going to counter by stating thats cause Pakistan is a minnow that cant reach finals however India aint beating any team by 180+ runs in a final. That's for sure.

Lol a record for life...how generous is Pakistan

Nah who cares... records are meant to be broken. Most of you guys said the same thing about "India will never beat Pakistan by 180 runs... that's for sure" but India proceeded to maul Pakistan by a whopping 228 runs in Colombo 2023.

Yes you are right that Pakistan will escape such predicament in a final by virtue of being a mediocre side but that's more of a slap on Pakistan's face than India's lol.

Nah who cares... records are meant to be broken. Most of you guys said the same thing about "India will never beat Pakistan by 180 runs... that's for sure" but India proceeded to maul Pakistan by a whopping 228 runs in Colombo 2023.

Yes you are right that Pakistan will escape such predicament in a final by virtue of being a mediocre side but that's more of a slap on Pakistan's face than India's lol.
I meant finals. That final will obviously be remembered more fondly then the asia cup.

Secondly the context is different. India beating pk by whatever margin isnt a big deal. India is currently the world's best odi and t20 side so its not an issue if they maul Pakistan by a big margin.

In 2017 india was still top 3 while Pakistan was clearly the weakest in ct. They at one point weren't even gonna qualify, so to lose to a minnow by 180 that too in a final is humiliating.

That record is going to stay.

I meant finals. That final will obviously be remembered more fondly then the asia cup.

Secondly the context is different. India beating pk by whatever margin isnt a big deal. India is currently the world's best odi and t20 side so its not an issue if they maul Pakistan by a big margin.

In 2017 india was still top 3 while Pakistan was clearly the weakest in ct. They at one point weren't even gonna qualify, so to lose to a minnow by 180 that too in a final is humiliating.

That record is going to stay.

Yes and I'm just highlighting on the "Record is going to stay" part.

It's not some other worldly possibility that some or the other team is going to beat that margin in a final in the coming years. No-one thought Australia's 437 will be beaten but they were proven wrong within 4 hours.

It just requires one team to have am off day like India did. There's nothing humiliating about having an off day. Being constantly mediocre and being a perennial punching bag...now that's humiliating.

Yes and I'm just highlighting on the "Record is going to stay" part.

It's not some other worldly possibility that some or the other team is going to beat that margin in a final in the coming years.

It just requires one team to have am off day like India did. There's nothing humiliating about having an off day. Being constantly mediocre and being a punching bag...now that's humiliating.
You're comparing a nation that has a weak economy to a nation thats ranked 5th with a large fanbase. Its obviously not fair.

And its not an off day. Its a humiliating defeat against a nation that you people wanna nuke 24/7 lol and eradicate of the face of the earth.

The biggest issue with indian fans is deflection.

You will speak the truth about others 100%, but when others speak the truth against you, you will either

A) Deny it
B) Counter it with an insult
C) Downplay it
D) Exaggerate it
E) Formulate a new semantic.

You obviously dont do B or A, as you're very respectful tbh. But you do fit in the other category lol

You're comparing a nation that has a weak economy to a nation thats ranked 5th with a large fanbase. Its obviously not fair.

And its not an off day. Its a humiliating defeat against a nation that you people wanna nuke 24/7 lol and eradicate of the face of the earth.

The biggest issue with indian fans is deflection.

You will speak the truth about others 100%, but when others speak the truth against you, you will either

A) Deny it
B) Counter it with an insult
C) Downplay it
D) Exaggerate it
E) Formulate a new semantic.

You obviously dont do B or A, as you're very respectful tbh. But you do fit in the other category lol

Lmao you need to relax. What has economy and nukes have to do with anything? :ROFLMAO:

I just countered your "Record will stay" point with logic and reasoning. No idea why you're losing the plot and talking about nuclear weapons just because you can't accept it.

How much more proof do you want to realise that if was an off day and a fluke? Even Waz accepted it lol. :wa

Pakistan with almost the same set of players got thrashed to bits in the three games played in the 2018 Asia Cup and the 2019 WC.

And the fact that you guys haven't even managed to compete in the 7 games played post that?

One of the worst defeats I have seen, Fakhar is one player who I always find dangerous whenever India meets Pakistan.

Amir had similar vibes, none of the current pacers have that sort of Aura amongst Indian fans.

One of the worst defeats I have seen, Fakhar is one player who I always find dangerous whenever India meets Pakistan.

Amir had similar vibes, none of the current pacers have that sort of Aura amongst Indian fans.

Yes Fakhar and Amir are probably the last breed of Pakistani players with a bit of an aura of threat to Indian fans and team.

Shaheen bowled a couple of good spells but he just doesn't exude that energy at all.

Lmao you need to relax. What has economy and nukes have to do with anything? :ROFLMAO:

I just countered your "Record will stay" point with logic and reasoning. No idea why you're losing the plot and talking about nuclear weapons just because you can't accept it.
Nvm, you're as aggressive as the rest 🤣

Yes Fakhar and Amir are probably the last breed of Pakistani players with a bit of an aura of threat to Indian fans and team.

Shaheen bowled a couple of good spells but he just doesn't exude that energy at all.
Shaheen is cannon fodder, Kohli and Gill always take him out of the attack.