Ousted Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina sentenced to death for crimes against humanity

Ball Blazer

Administrator
Bangladesh’s deposed prime minister Sheikh Hasina has been sentenced to death in abstentia by a court in Dhaka for crimes against humanity over a deadly crackdown on a student-led uprising last year.

A three-judge bench of the country’s international crimes tribunal convicted Hasina of crimes including incitement, orders to kill, and inaction to prevent atrocities, carried out as she oversaw a crackdown on anti-government protesters last year.

Reading the verdict to the court, Justice Golam Mortuza Mozumder said the “accused prime minister committed crimes against humanity by her order to use drones, helicopters and lethal weapons”.

Hasina had pleaded not guilty to the charges and alleged the tribunal was a “politically motivated charade”.

The months-long tribunal tried and sentenced Hasina in abstentia. Since she fled the country in August last year, Hasina has been living in exile – and under protection – in neighbouring India, and the Indian government has ignored requests for her extradition to face trial.

Family members of killed protesters broke down in tears in the courtroom as judges handed death sentences to Hasina and the former home minister, Asaduzzaman Khan, her co-accused in the trial.

Hasina’s absence from the defendant’s box was stark. In an audio message recorded on before the verdict, Hasina remained defiant. “Let them announce whatever verdict they want. It doesn’t matter to me. Allah gave me this life and only he can end it. I will still serve my people,” she said.

Dhaka was on edge in the run-up to the decision, with security tightened across the capital and police, army and paramilitaries cordoning off the tribunal area. The city’s police issued a “shoot-on-sight” order if someone was found hurling crude bombs or setting fire to vehicles.

Bangladesh’s deposed prime minister Sheikh Hasina has been sentenced to death in abstentia by a court in Dhaka for crimes against humanity over a deadly crackdown on a student-led uprising last year.

A three-judge bench of the country’s international crimes tribunal convicted Hasina of crimes including incitement, orders to kill, and inaction to prevent atrocities, carried out as she oversaw a crackdown on anti-government protesters last year.

Reading the verdict to the court, Justice Golam Mortuza Mozumder said the “accused prime minister committed crimes against humanity by her order to use drones, helicopters and lethal weapons”.

Hasina had pleaded not guilty to the charges and alleged the tribunal was a “politically motivated charade”.

The months-long tribunal tried and sentenced Hasina in abstentia. Since she fled the country in August last year, Hasina has been living in exile – and under protection – in neighbouring India, and the Indian government has ignored requests for her extradition to face trial.

Family members of killed protesters broke down in tears in the courtroom as judges handed death sentences to Hasina and the former home minister, Asaduzzaman Khan, her co-accused in the trial.

Hasina’s absence from the defendant’s box was stark. In an audio message recorded on before the verdict, Hasina remained defiant. “Let them announce whatever verdict they want. It doesn’t matter to me. Allah gave me this life and only he can end it. I will still serve my people,” she said.

Dhaka was on edge in the run-up to the decision, with security tightened across the capital and police, army and paramilitaries cordoning off the tribunal area. The city’s police issued a “shoot-on-sight” order if someone was found hurling crude bombs or setting fire to vehicles.

Awesome!

She 500% deserves it.

She and most of her party members deserve to be executed. They looted Billions and killed thousands. They caused so much corruptions.

Why is India harbouring this terrorist?

Why has Pakistan harboured Dawood Ibrahim? Why not send him to face trial in India for 93 Mumbai Blast and killing millions as part of his D Company?

Why is Pakistan harbouring Hafeez Saeed and not send him to India for orchestrating 26/11?

Why is Pakistan harbouring Maulana Masood Azhar who was freed by hijacking aeroplane, who orchestrated attack on Indian parliament and numerous other terror related events in Kashmir?

Why didnt Pakistan surrender Osama Bin Laden, the al qaeda head and worlds most pronounced terrorist?

Pakistan talking about other countries harbouring terrorist has to be the biggest joke.

Seikh Haseena is a political prisoner and we all know who is running BD currently and how fair that trial would have been. Its clear vandetta and India will never sacrifice Haseena for Bangladeshi clown court trial.

If BD has guts...send military and take her.

#HaiHimmat?

Why has Pakistan harboured Dawood Ibrahim? Why not send him to face trial in India for 93 Mumbai Blast and killing millions as part of his D Company?

Why is Pakistan harbouring Hafeez Saeed and not send him to India for orchestrating 26/11?

Why is Pakistan harbouring Maulana Masood Azhar who was freed by hijacking aeroplane, who orchestrated attack on Indian parliament and numerous other terror related events in Kashmir?

Why didnt Pakistan surrender Osama Bin Laden, the al qaeda head and worlds most pronounced terrorist?

Pakistan talking about other countries harbouring terrorist has to be the biggest joke.

Seikh Haseena is a political prisoner and we all know who is running BD currently and how fair that trial would have been. Its clear vandetta and India will never sacrifice Haseena for Bangladeshi clown court trial.

If BD has guts...send military and take her.

#HaiHimmat?

I am not sure of the truth of your accusations.

But it is unfair to say haihimmat to Bangladeshis when they have got rid of Hasina and she has no power in India.

But these guys you say are harboured in Pakistan allegedly make things go boom every few days in India. Where is your himmat?

You cannot talk in such school boy language about these issues, especially when they have resulted in deaths and tortures. Please be sensible.

India should do the right thing and return Hasina to Bangladesh.

She must pay for her crimes.
Indian stance gets embarrassed daily in the region.

Many of the words conflicts trace back to India. They have blood on their hands from Ukraine, to Dhakka.

And for what gain?

Bangladesh is really a banana republic...

Hiw could Judge pronounced punishment without hearing Hasina's side? As per natural justice, sheikh Masina should have got fair and proper opportunity to put forth her defence. This death penalty is nothing but mockery of judicial system in Bangladesh.

If Sheikh Hasina will be scot free if she appeals to ICJ

I’m sure all democratic procedures were followed for her capital punishment, good to give her back.

Many of the words conflicts trace back to India. They have blood on their hands from Ukraine, to Dhakka.

And for what gain?
Thoda Zaida hogaya.. In that logic and US and China should be nuked..

Hiw could Judge pronounced punishment without hearing Hasina's side? As per natural justice, sheikh Masina should have got fair and proper opportunity to put forth her defence. This death penalty is nothing but mockery of judicial system in Bangladesh.

Will Modi fund her appeal to ICJ?

Thoda Zaida hogaya.. In that logic and US and China should be nuked..
China hasn't interfered too much in external affairs. They have obviously captured swathes of Indian territory but that's about it.

US has interfered globally but they became the world's biggest superpower.

What has India gained from disrupting neighbours and causing chaos worldwide?

Do you think shez poor? she have support in Bangladesh. It seems that Bangladesh care taker government is in hand in glove with their tribunal court. This is a biased judgment
What do you think she was doing when she was in power and backed by India? Or what do you think she will do if she gets to be the PM of Bangladesh?

China hasn't interfered too much in external affairs. They have obviously captured swathes of Indian territory but that's about it.

US has interfered globally but they became the world's biggest superpower.

What has India gained from disrupting neighbours and causing chaos worldwide?
What? China is interfered in Nepal, BD , African countries also no one buys more stuff from Russia than China..

Either you are underestimating China or this is you being playful..

What do you think she was doing when she was in power and backed by India? Or what do you think she will do if she gets to be the PM of Bangladesh?

LOL. Sanghis wish Hasina would return to power and give India perks like before.

In reality, Hasina and her party are unlikely to return again. People of Bangladesh/young Bangladeshis are unlikely to allow that.

Hasina was literally 20 minutes away from getting beaten and killed by the mob. Mob was outside her residence when she fled.

I am not sure of the truth of your accusations.

But it is unfair to say haihimmat to Bangladeshis when they have got rid of Hasina and she has no power in India.

But these guys you say are harboured in Pakistan allegedly make things go boom every few days in India. Where is your himmat?

You cannot talk in such school boy language about these issues, especially when they have resulted in deaths and tortures. Please be sensible.

What do you mean by allegedly?

Are you saying likes of Hafeez Saeed, Dawood and Maulana Azhar Masood not living in Pakistan?

Was Osama not found in Pakistan?

So when you accuse India of sheltering terrorist, that is a massive case of irony and pot calling the kettle black, isnt it?

Haseena is a political prisoner. India is under no obligation to hand her back unless Indian court rules her as terrorist as well.

Bangladesh should try their guts and take her forcefully if they may. Something out of Pakistan's playbook perhaps by hikacking an aeroplane and blackmailing Indian govt. That is the only way...else Haseena will live and die naturally in New Delhi, India.

What do you mean by allegedly?

Are you saying likes of Hafeez Saeed, Dawood and Maulana Azhar Masood not living in Pakistan?

Was Osama not found in Pakistan?

So when you accuse India of sheltering terrorist, that is a massive case of irony and pot calling the kettle black, isnt it?

Haseena is a political prisoner. India is under no obligation to hand her back unless Indian court rules her as terrorist as well.

Bangladesh should try their guts and take her forcefully if they may. Something out of Pakistan's playbook perhaps by hikacking an aeroplane and blackmailing Indian govt. That is the only way...else Haseena will live and die naturally in New Delhi, India.

These far right rallys you've been attending have left you confused af.

You are harping about terrorists from a certain background being harboured but then go on to say India should harbour a terrorist from the same background. :ROFLMAO:

People in Bangladesh who opposes Sheikh Haseena are the biggest hypocrites. Haseena's father is the reason they have a country in the first place...else they will still be acting sub servient to genetically superior Pakjabis. Now they want her to be hanged just because she took her country in the path of modernization, progress and development. The present regime of Bangladesh stands everything against based on which Bangladesh was formed. They might as well integrate back with Pakistan and continue the gulaami.

My head bows in shame looking at present day BD. As far as Pakistan and Pak posters are concerned, its always Hum to dube hai sanaam wala case with them. So nothing can be expected from them anyway.

And what about those hypocrites who celebrate the legacy of Godse, the Mohandas Gandhi assassinater
People in Bangladesh who opposes Sheikh Haseena are the biggest hypocrites. Haseena's father is the reason they have a country in the first place...else they will still be acting sub servient to genetically superior Pakjabis. Now they want her to be hanged just because she took her country in the path of modernization, progress and development. The present regime of Bangladesh stands everything against based on which Bangladesh was formed. They might as well integrate back with Pakistan and continue the gulaami.

My head bows in shame looking at present day BD. As far as Pakistan and Pak posters are concerned, its always Hum to dube hai sanaam wala case with them. So nothing can be expected from them anyway.

IMO she was holding of crushing student protest... so ur contentions doesn't arise. India is having cordial relations with neighbors who is progressing and non communal

And what about those hypocrites who celebrate the legacy of Godse, the Mohandas Gandhi assassinater

How is that related to the topic and what we are discussing? Last time I checked, Godse is still considered as terrorist in India and Mahatma Gandhi is father of the nation and most respected person. You silly comparison doesnt make any sense. Yes some people may support Godse but that is their individual preference. You comparison would have only made sense if Indians have rejected Gandhi.

Now pakistan courts need to do the same for the banigala traitor

One who openly called for 1971

Openly called for rebellion on street and for armed forces to do mutiny .

Supports afghan enemy

Party is a cover for ttp

And stole watches and involved in corruption al qadir trust.

If someone like za bhutto a capable politician was hanged , banigala is a nobody compared to bhutto

These far right rallys you've been attending have left you confused af.

You are harping about terrorists from a certain background being harboured but then go on to say India should harbour a terrorist from the same background. :ROFLMAO:

Good afternoon bro. You should continue to guide me how to get European wife. Leave these topics pls and focus on bigger things.

:rp :kp

How is that related to the topic and what we are discussing? Last time I checked, Godse is still considered as terrorist in India and Mahatma Gandhi is father of the nation and most respected person. You silly comparison doesnt make any sense. Yes some people may support Godse but that is their individual preference. You comparison would have only made sense if Indians have rejected Gandhi.
Hahah ...stop playing gullible, and we all know how Congress is hell bent to replace MKG with Vallabai patel

Check some opinions here too

I'd say Hasina is a pretty garden variety Asian dictator - Rajapaksa, Shinawatra. Duterte, Munir etc. There's no doubting she ruthlessly suppressed opposition and clung on to power but from everything I've read, she's not the Hitler/Stalin of feverish Bangladeshi youth imagination.

Either way, I think it's time India wash our hands of this and start slowly working with the new Bangladeshi military dictatorship. I can understand hanging on to her for a while hoping she can engineer her way back and be very grateful to us but it's seeming extremely unlikely now. We need to pack her off to Switzerland/Saudi/Bahamas and get on with life. We're never going to be the best of friends with this new Islamist/Military regime in Bangladesh but both sides need to be realistic and move on. Geography has unfortunately thrown us together.

And for what gain?

What blood in Ukraine?

Ukraine and Russia are at war due to nato not india

Hasina wont be going back to Bangladesh.

That idiot yunus can keep publishing maps of Bangladesh with assam as it’s part but actually he is a nothing burger an he will realise no that he has no cards

Bangladesh deserves no cooperation from India none at all

India is under no obligation to accept narratives rooted in political vendetta against a long-standing partner of India and a friend of Hindus. Protecting the well-being and dignity of Sheikh Hasina who has consistently upheld cooperative ties with India is both a strategic and moral responsibility.

India must ensure her safety and refuse any demands for extradition for as long as Bangladesh remains in the control of Deepstate backed radical Islamists.

'No one above the law': Muhammad Yunus welcomes death sentence for Sheikh Hasina

Bangladesh's interim leader Muhammad Yunus on Monday hailed the death penalty verdict by a tribunal court for ousted prime minister Sheikh Hasina, saying that “no one is above the law” and that the verdict “recognises suffering” of the students killed in protests last year that led to the Awami League leader’s ouster and escape to India.

Hasina was found guilty by Bangladesh’s International Crimes Tribunal on three counts of charges: incitement, order to kill and inaction to prevent the atrocities. "We have decided to inflict her with only one sentence, that is, sentence of death,” Judge Golam Mortuza Mozumder said.

In a long statement posted on X, Bangladesh’s chief adviser said that the verdict offers “vital, if insufficient, justice to the thousands harmed in the uprising of July and August 2024, and to the families who still carry their loss.”

He said, “The conviction and sentencing affirm a fundamental principle: no one, regardless of power, is above the law.”

“We stand at a moment of rebuilding democratic foundations wrecked by years of oppression. The crimes at issue—the ordering of lethal force against young people and children whose only weapons were their voices—violated both our laws and the basic bond between government and citizens. These acts outraged Bangladeshis’ core values: dignity, resilience, and commitment to justice,” the statement read.

It also said, “This verdict recognises their suffering and confirms that our justice system will hold perpetrators accountable.”

Yunus added, “Bangladesh is now rejoining global currents of accountability. The students and citizens who stood for change understood this, and many paid with their lives—giving their today for our tomorrow.”

Bangladesh's foreign ministry in a statement sought the return of Hasina from India based on an extradition agreement between the two countries.

It also said, "Providing refuge to these individuals, who have been convicted of crimes against humanity, by any other country would be a highly unfriendly act and a disregard for justice.”

Meanwhile, India also reacted to Hasina’s death sentence and said that the close neighbour remains “committed to the best interests of the people of Bangladesh, including in peace, democracy, inclusion and stability in that country.”

The Ministry of External Affairs also said, “We will always engage constructively with all stakeholders to that end.”

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/worl...ntence-for-sheikh-hasina-101763391468442.html

Than Hasina should had appeared in court.

If you dont show up to the court, thats your own issue. Judges dont sit and wait for you to appear on your own time to give verdict.

The court rooms operate like this in the whole world

Hope our B'desh brothers are safe.

Worst comes to worst, do what the guy in front of the gate is doing and apologize. This is real life. Not a forum.

f5659ffd-1f8b-44f2-b477-60bad50576ae.jpg.webp

She was trying to learn from Lanka and India, instead if she only had seen how Pakistani Establishment deals with accountability.. it would had saved her.

27th Amendment for Bangladesh too?

When are you guys coming to take her?
She is now exiled from her own country and home. Bangladesh got rid of her and if she dares to set foot back, she would be hanged like a dog.

Indian tax payers will keep footing her bill and the luxury life she and her family has in India.

India is under no obligation to accept narratives rooted in political vendetta against a long-standing partner of India and a friend of Hindus. Protecting the well-being and dignity of Sheikh Hasina who has consistently upheld cooperative ties with India is both a strategic and moral responsibility.

India must ensure her safety and refuse any demands for extradition for as long as Bangladesh remains in the control of Deepstate backed radical Islamists.
Sure, the likes of you keep paying her bills

She is now exiled from her own country and home. Bangladesh got rid of her and if she dares to set foot back, she would be hanged like a dog.

Indian tax payers will keep footing her bill and the luxury life she and her family has in India.

Yup.

Either she dies in India or gets hanged in Bangladesh.

She tried to get asylums in USA, UK etc. but she was rejected. LOL. So, she is stuck in India.

India should do the right thing and return her to Bangladesh. She needs to pay for her crime.

Yup.

Either she dies in India or gets hanged in Bangladesh.

She tried to get asylums in USA, UK etc. but she was rejected. LOL. So, she is stuck in India.

Right thing for India to do is to return her to Bangladesh. She needs to pay for her crime.
I feel bad for her. Ran away from Bangladesh only to get stuck in India.

I have lived in india, and believe me, its a dump. Hasina will be hoping she just dies or returns back, or she will beg uk, usa for asylum. Living in India is a death sentence itself

Telling to see Indians support for this lady and their attempts to subvert justice in neighbouring country.

After many years of lecturers from these same Indians their facade has been exposed time and time again.

Seems like she is staying in @pillionrider home. Bangladesh government needs to take an appointment from him.

When are you guys coming to take her?

Telling to see Indians support for this lady and their attempts to subvert justice in neighbouring country.

After many years of lecturers from these same Indians their facade has been exposed time and time again.

Yup. It is funny because most Bangladeshis do not care about sanghi opinions regarding BD politics.

They want Hasina back because Hasina was like Modi's pet dog (b*tch). Hasina was benefiting India and herself at the expense of Bangladesh.

A shameless and evil monster. Bangladesh must eradicate her party for good.

I think India should do a deal with Pakistan send Hasina to Pakistan and get Masood Azhar and Dawood.. hopefully Pakistani Establishment will be up for it.

They can then send her to BD and everyone’s happy.

Not an issue for us.

I feel bad for her. Ran away from Bangladesh only to get stuck in India.

I have lived in india, and believe me, its a dump. Hasina will be hoping she just dies or returns back, or she will beg uk, usa for asylum. Living in India is a death sentence itself

I don't think she can get asylum in any other country other than India.

With these crimes against humanity charges, chances are almost zero.

Not sure why India are footing her bills. They should return Hasina to BD.

I think India should do a deal with Pakistan send Hasina to Pakistan and get Masood Azhar and Dawood.. hopefully Pakistani Establishment will be up for it.

Damn, Hasina is equivalent to Masood Azhar and Dawood both.

Btw didnt u guys gave up Masood Azhar because of the Taliban and Al Qaeda conning you? And now u are again back at licking the behinds of the same Taliban?

Damn, Hasina is equivalent to Masood Azhar and Dawood both.

Btw didnt u guys gave up Masood Azhar because of the Taliban and Al Qaeda conning you? And now u are again back at licking the behinds of the same Taliban?
You are confusing it bro- We gave up Masood Azhar due to Pakistani Establishment coming behind us.. and hey we had to save those Indian folks.. not everyone can be in US airlines landing in Karachi..

Daud is in UAE. He is supplying drugs to your Bollywood actors from there for their parties. Not really Pakistan's issue, you can ask UAE and stop taking his drugs too.

Masood Azhar is likely in Srinagar.

You are confusing it bro- We gave up Masood Azhar due to Pakistani Establishment coming behind us.. and hey we had to save those Indian folks.. not everyone can be in US airlines landing in Karachi..
No, it was Alqaeda that hijacked ur planes and u got conned by the Taliban later on lol.

We didnt want to get involved so told u to not land here.

Out of all the people to con u guys, it was the Taliban that made u release Masood Azhar.

Daud is in UAE. He is supplying drugs to your Bollywood actors from there for their parties. Not really Pakistan's issue, you can ask UAE and stop taking his drugs too.

Masood Azhar is likely in Srinagar.
Masood is in Srinagar? lol So he went from Srinagar to Srinagar via Kandahar and Rawalpindi?

This is why I never take their rhona dhona serious. Their selective justice and sense of morality is hilarious. They know this too, that is why many of them have to make burner accounts on here because it’s embarrassing to do such antics if you have a sound conscience.

No, it was Alqaeda that hijacked ur planes and u got conned by the Taliban later on lol.

We didnt want to get involved so told u to not land here.

Out of all the people to con u guys, it was the Taliban that made u release Masood Azhar.
Lol.. Masood Azhar got released to Taliban who were controlled by ISI and Masood’s brother was sponsored by ISI..so he is in Kandahar now? or in Pakistan?

Masood is in Srinagar? lol So he went from Srinagar to Srinagar via Kandahar and Rawalpindi?
I believe it is the case.

He was not originally fleeing from Srinagar he was escaping from Indian custody.

He was responsible for many evil things in India, I hope he is found and arrested by your forces.

I think Bangladesh should follow what El Salvador did with their bad people.

Detain all Awami League and BNP politicians and their associates. Detain all gangs and separatists (there are some separatists in south-east Bangladesh). Take them to black sites using military. Go from there.

Anyone who has been proven to cause corruptions, murder etc. should be swiftly executed. Innocents can be released I guess.

In terms of politics, BD should abandon old 20th century corrupt ways and get rid of all corrupt dynasties. Need to start fresh with young and honest people in charge. I say young so that they are in sync with modern times.

Sure, the likes of you keep paying her bills

With pleasure.
She’s an extremely brave hearted woman and I won’t rule out a complete change in political dynamics in Bangladesh and a safe return for her. All those Islamist rats in the kangaroo courts who ordered her execution might get executed before Sheikh Haseena herself.

Without India’s blessing, no country can genuinely prosper in the subcontinent. We hold the highest card.

If Pakistani Establishment is Pakistan.. ofcourse.. you beat us on this case, Kashmir from 1989-1995, 2008.

Congratulations on all those I guess..
thank you for admitting Pakistan got the better out of u guys

HUm nahi deytay Masood Azhar.

With pleasure.
She’s an extremely brave hearted woman and I won’t rule out a complete change in political dynamics in Bangladesh and a safe return for her. All those Islamist rats in the kangaroo courts who ordered her execution might get executed before Sheikh Haseena herself.

Without India’s blessing, no country can genuinely prosper in the subcontinent. We hold the highest card.
excuted for what crime?

I think Bangladesh should follow what El Salvador did with their bad people.

Detain all Awami League and BNP politicians and their associates. Detain all gangs and separatists (there are some separatists in south-east Bangladesh). Take them to black sites using military. Go from there.

Anyone who has been proven to cause corruptions, murder etc. should be swiftly executed. Innocents can be released I guess.

In terms of politics, BD should abandon old 20th century corrupt ways and get rid of all corrupt dynasties. Need to start fresh with young and honest people in charge. I say young so that they are in sync with modern times.

Forgot to add drug dealers and criminals. They should be detained also.

They can call it "War on Corruption, Drugs, and Crimes" or WCDC. :inti

A lot of these drugs come from India. Not surprising.

1763404781042.png

IMO she was holding of crushing student protest... so ur contentions doesn't arise. India is having cordial relations with neighbors who is progressing and non communal.

India isn't non-communal.

Rest of your opinion is just that, an opinion.

Independent investigators such as Human Rights Watch have found Hasina to have committed human rights violations, so she isn’t innocent.

However, trial in absentia is not credible justice where she has not been given the right to defend herself and it should be in neutral territory due to bias. Therefore, I think a fairer process should be for Bangladesh to refer the case to the ICC and let the ICC investigate and hold her to account. She can defend herself to the ICC and if found guilty then no one can morally object to her being sentenced to death.

She is not a UN designated criminal but Banana republic of Bangladesh.

In Pakistan UN designated terrorist like Osma, Hafiz Saeed, dawood etc get 5 Star hospitality.

:klopp :kp
It’s rare that I will agree with Devadwal or even @Rajdeep, because they are idiots, but they are correct here. The UN recognises some Pakistanis as terrorists but I don’t think any Hindu nationalist is officially registered as a terrorist by the UN.

If all corrupt leaders were treated the same way, nobody would dare to think of corruption in the state. A lot of Pakistan government personnel need the same treatment as Hasina.
Pakistan already has a history..both bhuttos zia..arrest or Imran benazir nawaz ..mujibur ..very proud and rich democratic history