Owning a motorbike in Pakistan

maverick85

Can someone recommend a bike to keep in Pakistan. I would like to ride it in rural areas and on potholed roads, so comfort would be key. I haven't ridden a motorbike before but compared to getting a car its way cheaper.

Not worth the risk.

If you are gonna get a bike, be mentally prepared that you will break your leg or some other body part.

Every person who rides a bike in pakistan does end up facing an accident.

What about wearing protection and not riding like a 'squid'. does that help?
Anyway I was looking at a Yamaha YBR 125G because it looks comfortable and has decent mech brakes and suspension.

It depends on whether you're in the dairy business. If you are, the consensus, developed over decades, is that the Yamaha 100 is the only way to go. It can easily lug two 100-kilo milk canisters, one on each side.

If you're not in the dairy business, the next thing to consider is if you will do any road racing, wheelies and donuts outside girls' colleges. If so, get a Honda CG-125.

For everyone else, there's the venerable Honda CD-70. Underpowered, underwhelming, and so ubiquitous, if
it ever gets stolen, take someone else's and no one will know the difference.

It depends on whether you're in the dairy business. If you are, the consensus, developed over decades, is that the Yamaha 100 is the only way to go. It can easily lug two 100-kilo milk canisters, one on each side.

If you're not in the dairy business, the next thing to consider is if you will do any road racing, wheelies and donuts outside girls' colleges. If so, get a Honda CG-125.

For everyone else, there's the venerable Honda CD-70. Underpowered, underwhelming, and so ubiquitous, if

Haha, please provide such a similar analysis in relation to cars in Pakistan :) Would love to read your insight on the spacious and luxurious Suzuki Mehran :)

Its a necessity you must have bike for household chores even in urban areas like purchasing bread eggs visiting barber going to tandoors easy load shop fotocopying documents CD70 is best for this category pour in Rs 100 petrol and you can easily do all this household purchasing :P

Haha, please provide such a similar analysis in relation to cars in Pakistan :) Would love to read your insight on the spacious and luxurious Suzuki Mehran :)

I was looking at the Mehran, but at £6k... the second hand market in pakistan is also a joke

Its a necessity you must have bike for household chores even in urban areas like purchasing bread eggs visiting barber going to tandoors easy load shop fotocopying documents CD70 is best for this category pour in Rs 100 petrol and you can easily do all this household purchasing :P

mehran is legitimately the sachin tendulkar of cars. it's a legend.

u don't even need keys to drive it, a spoon would do in most cases.

Ah yes I remember when I was in my teens and was bugging my parents to get me a bike. My dad's exact words were "meine tumhein chat se ulta latka dehna hai"

i'm seriously thinking a Jeep would be best. looking at the Jeep M151 ;) for off road etc. anyone have any experience with these. they're old but are in my budget of £5k. second hand options in the UK are great but pak market is terrible.
Phuket 252.jpg

Speaking of two-wheelers in Pakistan, no discussion would be complete without mentioning the venerable Sohrab cycle. Your fancy $4000 dual-suspension hydraulic disc brake-enabled carbon-fiber body mountain bike has nothing on the workout the Sohrab provided.

They're calling it the "Roadster" now, because they have a large number of models these days, but back in the day, this was their sole moneymaker:
http://www.sohrab-cycles.com/Roadster Single Bar_details.php

And because it was derived from Mao-era Chinese cycles, there is that communist-chic vibe to it. You'll look good riding it while wearing your Che Guevara T-Shirt.

Speaking of two-wheelers in Pakistan, no discussion would be complete without mentioning the venerable Sohrab cycle. Your fancy $4000 dual-suspension hydraulic disc brake-enabled carbon-fiber body mountain bike has nothing on the workout the Sohrab provided.

They're calling it the "Roadster" now, because they have a large number of models these days, but back in the day, this was their sole moneymaker:

And because it was derived from Mao-era Chinese cycles, there is that communist-chic vibe to it. You'll look good riding it while wearing your Che Guevara T-Shirt.

whats with the crappy hard tails. i'd go for a rockrider instead. shame pakistan doesn't have a decathlon :P
https://www.decathlon.co.uk/rockrider-520s-full-suspension-mountain-bike-275-id_8378294.html

i'm seriously thinking a Jeep would be best. looking at the Jeep M151 ;) for off road etc. anyone have any experience with these. they're old but are in my budget of £5k. second hand options in the UK are great but pak market is terrible.
View attachment 75870

Jeeps are great, provided you can hire gunmen. These gunmen should preferably be ex-cons, draped in chadars, with big thick mustaches that are just begging to be twirled. You'll also need a dera, which is an unfinished house with a large courtyard filled with charpoys where these gunmen rest during the off-shift. While ex-cons are cheap labor, having an entourage of them does raise the cost quite a bit.

This also applies for Mitsubishi Pajeros.

whats with the crappy hard tails. i'd go for a rockrider instead. shame pakistan doesn't have a decathlon :P
https://www.decathlon.co.uk/rockrider-520s-full-suspension-mountain-bike-275-id_8378294.html

This "crappy hard tail," as you called it, took millions upon millions of laborers to and from factories, mills, farms etc. Besides, where is the communist-chic vibe in the rockrider? In this era of CPEC and Pak-Cheen Dosti, the Sohrab has a retro charm no other bike has. Buy it.

Every mali in Pakistan had one of those. I think it was part of their job description :))

Yes, with a burlap sack containing their shears and other tools hanging from the handlebars. But it went beyond gardeners, this was the bike for laborers, farmers, students, a true people's ride. It was to bikes what K2 was to cigarettes, a populist, proletarian symbol.

It was so hard to ride as a kid... primarily because it was too tall for my 10-12 year old self.

I don't understand the need for a bike IF you can afford a small, used car. Not only is a motorbike a dangerous mode of transportation in itself but with reckless drivers roaming the roads of Pakistan like monkeys on trees, you're bound to get into an accident. I would seriously recommend you to reconsider getting a motorbike.

Ah yes I remember when I was in my teens and was bugging my parents to get me a bike. My dad's exact words were "meine tumhein chat se ulta latka dehna hai"

Well said by your dad.

Bike is a big no no. Even though its very very very very very cheap, but accidents are terrible. Every bike owner has a terrible accident

It was so hard to ride as a kid... primarily because it was too tall for my 10-12 year old self.

The trick was not to straddle it, but instead to put one leg through the "triangle," i.e. under the bar. Terrific obliques and IT band workout.

Erm we are not in 2003 any more uncle.

You mean doodhwallas have started using something other than a Yamaha 100? No one performs wheelies outside girls' colleges anymore? And the ubiquitous bike of the masses is now a BMW sports bike?

Some things never change, and rightly so too.

You mean doodhwallas have started using something other than a Yamaha 100? No one performs wheelies outside girls' colleges anymore? And the ubiquitous bike of the masses is now a BMW sports bike?

Some things never change, and rightly so too.

No no and no

doodhwalas still use the yamaha. Wheeling is done, but we also have machi aswell. You lay flat on ur belly on the bike.

And while the original cd 70 costs alittle bit more. Companies like metro, star and i dont know what else sell bikes for a minimum of 30k

No no and no

doodhwalas still use the yamaha. Wheeling is done, but we also have machi aswell. You lay flat on ur belly on the bike.

And while the original cd 70 costs alittle bit more. Companies like metro, star and i dont know what else sell bikes for a minimum of 30k

So you see [MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION], I wasn't too far from the truth. An extra stunt move to impress the girls, and cheaper alternatives to the CD 70 are the only changes.

Get a Vespa. Best thousands of rupees ever spent.

You get the chaudry saabs with big moustaches riding that beast, so it will enhance your image.

You can be a normie and get it in light blue like everyone else, or take a calculated risk and get it in baby pink or pantone yellow.

Get a Vespa. Best thousands of rupees ever spent.

You get the chaudry saabs with big moustaches riding that beast, so it will enhance your image.

You can be a normie and get it in light blue like everyone else, or take a calculated risk and get it in baby pink or pantone yellow.

Ah yes, the Vespa, or scooter as it is known. That one is another ride that is a transportation mainstay amongst the hoi polloi, yet in the West it has long been a staple among the trendsetters, first with the Mods in the 60's, and then with the hipsters today. Like the Sohrab cycle, you can be cool and ironic yet completely bourgeoise whilst riding it.

A non-Vespa scooter is as rare as a non-baby blue Vespa. I've seen very, very few of either.

A word of warning though. It gets very poor gas mileage (or petrol kilometerage in Pakistan), if I remember correctly.

If I were back in Pakistan, and had enough money to spend on my stable of rides, I would no doubt get the Sohrab and the Vespa. To round things off, I would get a Qingqi, and a GT Road Bedford Truck, complete with glitter, tassels, humorous doggerel, and a giant portrait of Musarrat Shaheen on the back. It would be the epitome of camp.

Is it true that Rahim Yaar Khan has the highest number of motorbikes in any one city?

The number of bikes on the roads probably doubles every ramzan these days. They are giving them out like candies on game shows. All you need to do is leave your self respects at home and beg for one from :ghalib bhai, Fahad bhai or any one of the assortment of bhais of your choice. In the worst case scenario you will end up with a qmobile.

If I were back in Pakistan, and had enough money to spend on my stable of rides, I would no doubt get the Sohrab and the Vespa. To round things off, I would get a Qingqi, and a GT Road Bedford Truck, complete with glitter, tassels, humorous doggerel, and a giant portrait of Musarrat Shaheen on the back. It would be the epitome of camp.

I had the possession of all four of them till last year. Except that the Bedford truck didn't have those droll doggerel, tassels, harlequin patterns and Musarrat Shaheen portrait on the back :D

Is it true that Rahim Yaar Khan has the highest number of motorbikes in any one city?

Almost certainly not true. It's a pretty small city and an extremely poor one, even by Pakistani standards, so a lot of people can't afford to buy bikes and the sheer number of bikes in places like Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar or even Pindi is likely to be more than the entire population of RYK.

Perfectly summed. Go for CD70 as the generic bike of Pakistan. However, accidents on bikes are very common. I'd say got for a 70s vintage car instead.

Yes, ever other cities got so thin tracks that going there with a car is nothing short of a torture. I'd never suggest anyone to go Rawalpindi's inner bazars on a car unless real real necessary.

Not worth the risk.

If you are gonna get a bike, be mentally prepared that you will break your leg or some other body part.

Every person who rides a bike in pakistan does end up facing an accident.

Do you ever walk out of your house?

I always ride a motorbike in Pakistan and I dont even live there. Plenty of people living in Pakistan choose to own a bike, its cheap and gets you around quickly.

Do you ever walk out of your house?

I always ride a motorbike in Pakistan and I dont even live there. Plenty of people living in Pakistan choose to own a bike, its cheap and gets you around quickly.

where did i ever said it was not cheap?

I drive a car alot, and i have seen how the bikers around here drive and the accidents they meet.

The "get you around quickly" part is what makes it a dangerous ride.

Bikers dont follow any rules, and the accidents they meet is horrific.

Yes, ever other cities got so thin tracks that going there with a car is nothing short of a torture. I'd never suggest anyone to go Rawalpindi's inner bazars on a car unless real real necessary.

THe only problem in RawalPindi's inner bazar area is the parking. Otherwise if you compare to other cities, then the traffic in Pindi isn't as bad.

I remember i once went to Lahore, and i had 3-4 accidents just in one day. Thats how crazy the traffic was over there

Perfectly summed. Go for CD70 as the generic bike of Pakistan. However, accidents on bikes are very common. I'd say got for a 70s vintage car instead.

A vintage car is also a big khawari.

Though, compared to a bike its a very safe option, but you should know how to deal with car problems.

A vintage car could face soo many problems, especially the carburetor ones.

I remember i had my nannas 76 corolla. The car used to sometimes end up stop working in mid traffic. I use to be visiting the mechanic every week for every small problem the car was facing.

Though,i must say that i learned quite a few things because of that car, but keeping it was a khawari

where did i ever said it was not cheap?

I drive a car alot, and i have seen how the bikers around here drive and the accidents they meet.

The "get you around quickly" part is what makes it a dangerous ride.

Bikers dont follow any rules, and the accidents they meet is horrific.

If you dont feel comfortable on a bike fine, but to tell someone not to bother without knowing their riding skills or reasons for use. Not every person who rides a bike has faced a broken leg or another part of the body.

Almost every person has faced an accident with a bike in Pakistan. Its very rare for someone not to meet an accident with a bike, or maybe that person rides his bike quite less.

Doesnt matter how good your riding skills are. You end up adopting the way of how others ride a bike to get away from this traffic.

I had the possession of all four of them till last year. Except that the Bedford truck didn't have those droll doggerel, tassels, harlequin patterns and Musarrat Shaheen portrait on the back :D

This is worth a thread in its own right. How did you end up owning the Qingqi and the Bedford? I imagine it was as part of an investment, where you buy them and then hire drivers and put the vehicles to work?