Pakistan (212/8) crash out of T20 World Cup 2026 after a narrow 5-run consolation win against Sri Lanka (207/6) in their last Super Eight clash

abhi roza Khulne de

giphy.gif

One of the brutal innings I have seen from Shanaka. He also did the same against us in Asia Cup.

The other brutal innings I have seen was from Romario Shepard who smashed the daylight out of brother Khaleel in an IPL match.

Supported our cousins till 147 ..then started supporting SL. They should have won it.
Farhan a top draw for Pakistan, well done

One of the brutal innings I have seen from Shanaka. He also did the same against us in Asia Cup.

The other brutal innings I have seen was from Romario Shepard who smashed the daylight out of brother Khaleel in an IPL match.
He has done against Aussie won. He almost won a game against India with such an innings. Flawed player. On his day he is an insane finisher.

WC is now all set up for India to lift it again at home infront of BJP

Sab maya hai :modi
If we make it tomorrow and then into the Final, we'll be playing it seems at the Panauti Modi stadium. So Pakistani fans still can hope. West Indies have some kind of edge in WCs vs us. Plus they won an incredible WC final at Kolkata a decade back.

Today I know what it remotely feels to be a PCT fan, that glimmer of hope in the begining, arising to a mid temperature fervour, rising to be a boil and then going flat like a Bangladeshi curry house korma
At some point you have to check out mentally and make the choice that you won't let this team toy with you. As a fan, complete mental checkout moment for me was 2024 T20 World Cup match against India.

Today I knew they would bat out of their skins for a large portion of this match and give fans that glimmer of hope, before it all came crashing down. Which is why I just tried to enjoy the game. I had made peace with the fact that they were out of the tournament after losing the England game.

Ridiculous really from people here who are bashing Pakistan for this game.

What were you expecting? Pakistan to score 250+ and blow Sri Lanka on a flattie?

Pakistan still won the game. I bet you were waiting for them to lose just so you can add your unwarranted criticism as well.
Not really.
When your middle order has imploded time and again and you fin yourself at 170 odd for 0, you expect your team to somehow get to 230-240... losing 10 wickets for 40 is inexplicable...

Defending 147 was less likely on this belter of a wicket but the captain and management kept repeating the same mistakes over and over again...

This is what is annoying

It’s been a long Pakistan always had problems with batting.
The days of Sadiq Muhammad, Mushtaq Muhammad, Zaheer Abbas, Majif Khan etc they always had problems.
Then came the time when Pakistan bowlers were able to temper with the ball and so that won the World Cup or few tournament and now Pakistan as always don’t have batsmen big also they have lost the bowlers as they can’t temper with the ball.
So good bye Pakistan.

SL scored more runs in this match than they did in their other two super 8 games combined :uak

Flat pitch and dew factor.

I think the crucial mistake was the bowling attack against England. This one was a good win. That said, another tournament in T20s when we beat no good side. Last time we beat someone good was back when we beat NZ in the T20 world cup semi in 2022.

Any mystery bowler has to inevitably go through the phase where teams work them out. He needs to be given a longer run. The pause isn't all he has. Should be given some leeway unless he gets consistently pummeled.
I think he will get figured out quickly, he also cant bat or field either, abrar is the mystery spinner that needs to be persisted with and also need to give chance to Faisal Akram

Wow I had to leave when SL was well under 100, looking at the scorecard, they came very close to chasing this down.

At some point you have to check out mentally and make the choice that you won't let this team toy with you. As a fan, complete mental checkout moment for me was 2024 T20 World Cup match against India.

Today I knew they would bat out of their skins for a large portion of this match and give fans that glimmer of hope, before it all came crashing down. Which is why I just tried to enjoy the game. I had made peace with the fact that they were out of the tournament after losing the England game.
To quote a wise man/woman.... It's the hope that kills you....

SL seemed to have trolled everyone. Gave hope to Pakistanis, snatched hope from Sanatanis. But in the end, didnt allowed Pak to go through but didnt win the match either. Just lost by a small margin so that Pak stays happy and SL fans also dont get upsey

:yuvi

We did not deserve to go through pakistan made an error in dropping abrar after India game Henson love for all rounders failed at the end

SL should have won this game. For some strange reason their first target was to get to 147. They should have gone harder from the middle overs. Even the last 2 balls, Shanaka should have been able to score 6 runs of 2 deliveries.

I think he will get figured out quickly, he also cant bat or field either, abrar is the mystery spinner that needs to be persisted with and also need to give chance to Faisal Akram

Tbh teams are now preparing for his long pause with the ball. Unless the pitch offers prodigous spin and grip, he will not be effective on flat pitches.

I’m sure sena fans thought SL would lose on purpose to help the asian side. But theres no favours in cricket despite south asian teams dominate it.

Flat pitch and dew factor.

I think the crucial mistake was the bowling attack against England. This one was a good win. That said, another tournament in T20s when we beat no good side. Last time we beat someone good was back when we beat NZ in the T20 world cup semi in 2022.
What’s pak weakest facet of the game in your opinion? Bowling, batting, tactics? Or we are just mediocre in everything and where we are suits us well?

Shaheen goes Missing in imp moments

Even against Eng , He got two upfront not because of great balls. Phil Salt hacked at harmless ball and so did Butler.
When it Mattered , He gave away 15 plus to brooks at back end and Eng won by Scruff of the neck

Today when we needed him to take wickets he went for 15 in second over giving start to Lanka

Pathetic excuse for so called premium. Straight out ashok Dinda academy

Now that he is a daudta hua spinner who bowls at 120-135k u will call him Ashok dinda. ?

To be even eligible for his academy u need that high jump level runup and other skills.
Hes getting there. Someday Dinda may take him in his academy 🥺🤣

Word for Srilankans. They have some quality players. I have not seen many of them a lot before. On good batting surfaces they play well. They just have to improve their cricketing smartness. You have to know who has how many overs left how many balls left, when to pull when to push. In terms of pure batsmanship SL > Pakistan.

I’m sure sena fans thought SL would lose on purpose to help the asian side. But theres no favours in cricket despite south asian teams dominate it.

Sri Lanka was bailed out with cheap petrol fuel free medicines food u name it , India gave it during their hour of crisis thanks to Mahinda rajapaksa.

SL would never cross India even if it means losing out on semi final economy.

The kind of aid India gave at that time is much more than what they would earn from a semi final .

SLC is closer to BCCI than anyone thinks. Still it respects PCB which shows how independent it is in world cricket.

Those saying they were trying to lose deliberately are worst fools

SL seemed to have trolled everyone. Gave hope to Pakistanis, snatched hope from Sanatanis. But in the end, didnt allowed Pak to go through but didnt win the match either. Just lost by a small margin so that Pak stays happy and SL fans also dont get upsey

:yuvi
Lol they are just like you pal...

Word for Srilankans. They have some quality players. I have not seen many of them a lot before. On good batting surfaces they play well. They just have to improve their cricketing smartness. You have to know who has how many overs left how many balls left, when to pull when to push. In terms of pure batsmanship SL > Pakistan.
The whole match you peddled conspiracy theories.. that was disappointing..

I think Pakistan's campaign was average. I give it B- or C+.

They lost to: India and England
They won against: Sri Lanka, 3 associates

Losing to India and England were always possibilities because they were good sides.

Anyway, performance wasn't smooth. It was scratchy. Only Farhan was consistent.

He didn't slow down but he hit few many hit-me balls straight to fielders hand..

Everyone knows he slowed down not just before his 100 but 50 too. Fakhar on the other hand was releasing his pent up frustration on being benched.

SZada is a bit selfish while Fakhar is a pure team man

I think Pakistan's campaign was average. I give it B- or C+.

They lost to: India and England
They won against: Sri Lanka, 3 associates

Losing to India and England were always possibilities because they are good sides.

They gifted their win to England so they could get selected in the Hundred . Full jhol

Sri Lanka was bailed out with cheap petrol fuel free medicines food u name it , India gave it during their hour of crisis thanks to Mahinda rajapaksa.

The kind of aid India gave at that time is much more than what they would earn from a semi final .

SLC is closer to BCCI than anyone thinks. Still it respects PCB which shows how independent it is in world cricket.

Sl was given 500million loan by Hasina government during their economic crises. Still to pay back the loan. Sl still didnt act neutral to the icc nations vote it couldve acted better and tried to do something. Yes you’re right SL board is the biggest puppet/chamcha to bcci.

What’s pak weakest facet of the game in your opinion? Bowling, batting, tactics? Or we are just mediocre in everything and where we are suits us well?

We are an overall solid 7 out of 10 as a whole.

Here's the problem with a 7 team, you can only have 2 out of these 3 in any game

1. Pre game planning
2. Execute well
3. No crucial mistakes

(1,2) When they have good pre game planning & even execute it ok, they always end up making crucial mistakes. (semi-final against Australia)

(2,3) When their pre game planning is bad, they may execute well & make no mistakes but the pre game bad planning will cost them (such as dropping Abrar against England)

(1,3) When plan is good and no mistakes are made, the execution won't be right.

In bilateral matches, a lot of teams are also playing at this level so we manage. When ICC tournaments come by, most teams go from 7 to a solid 9 while we remain at the same level and hence get beaten.

There's also unnecessary pressure on the players. Make a mistake in the game and the player becomes enemy number 1. There's also low motivation in players, I mean they are professional cricketers but they look unfit and out of shape.

All in all, people angry at the team are just taking out their frustrations on a soft target. We are not top 4 and we have proved that in at least last 4 or 5 ICC tournaments & I'm not even including the ICC test championship in this.

Out in first round in T20 world cup.
Out in first round in ODI world cup.
Out in first round in Champions Trophy.
Out in super 8 in T20 world cup.

There's also no ready made player who can be selected to fix the team. It's a long road ahead that requires a lot of patience and work. PSL is the thing to invest in currently, hoping that it won't have scandals after scandals because of the new owners and financial inequality. If that goes to the dump, then I will also be worried about our cricket dying.

Shanaka came so close to winning it for Lanka

He single-handedly won a game against Australia at home a few years ago

Today’s game also proves that both Babar and Agha have no place in our T20 eleven

I think Fakhar or Farhan should be made T20 captain

Our pacers have lost the art of death bowling. Shaheen and Rauf go for plenty when it is not their day

Umar Gul was our best death bowler in this format

Sahibzada Farhan’s ton and Fakhar Zaman’s 84 propelled Pakistan to a narrow five-run win against Sri Lanka in their final Super Eight stage game of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy on Saturday night

Pakistan bowed out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 after finishing third in Group 2 with three points, level with New Zealand but behind on net run rate.

After being put into bat first, Farhan and Fakhar gave Pakistan a brisk start as they raced to 50 inside 4.4 overs. Farhan and Fakhar’s alliance continued to flourish as the two combined to lift Pakistan to 102 at halfway stage.

Fakhar brought up his 14th T20I fifty off 27 deliveries in the 12th over as the scoreboard read 125 for no loss.

Fakhar and Farhan blistered another 51 off the next 27 deliveries including 18 runs off the 12th over before the former departed after a 42-ball 84, inclusive of nine fours and four sixes with 176 on the board after 15.5 overs.

The 176-run opening partnership between Fakhar and Farhan was the record highest for any wicket in the history of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Farhan, who reached his half-century off 28 balls in the ninth over, brought up his second T20I century off 59 deliveries, in the penultimate over and became only the first batter in history to score two centuries in a single edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Farhan perished on the final delivery of the last over for 100 after bludgeoning nine fours and five sixes. He also became the leading run-getter in a single edition of ICC T20 World Cup with 383 runs, surpassing Virat Kohli’s tally of 319 runs in 2014.

Losing their last seven wickets to for 31 runs, Pakistan managed to score 212-8 in 20 overs.

For the hosts, Dilshan Madushanka (4-0-33-3) and skipper Dasun Shanaka (4-0-42-2) shared five wickets.

In quest for a semi-final berth, Pakistan were required to restrict Sri Lanka to 147 or under while defending the 213-run target.

Naseem Shah provided his side with the first breakthrough as he dismissed Pathum Nissanka for three in the second over.

Abrar Ahmed, coming back in the side, picked up a wicket off his very first ball, cleaning up Kamil Mishara (26, 15b, 4x4s, 1x6) in the fifth over to reduce Sri Lanka to 33-2.

Charith Asalanka (25, 18b, 1x4, 2x6s) and Pavan Rathnayake then put together 42 runs for the third wicket before Abrar struck again to dismiss the former in the ninth over.

Abrar picked up his third wicket on the final delivery of the 11th over to remove Kamindu Mendis (3) as the scoreboard read 94-4.

Mohammad Nawaz (2-0-21-1) got rid of Janith Liyanage six deliveries later, to leave Srilanka 101-5.

Rathnayake (58, 37b, 4x4s, 3x6s) added another 61 runs with skipper Shanaka for the sixth wicket, taking Sri Lanka past the 147-run mark and ending Pakistan’s hopes of qualifying for the semi-final.

Needing 28 off the final over, Shanaka blasted 22 off the first four balls off Shaheen Shah Afridi, but two dot deliveries followed to seal Pakistan’s five-run victory.

Shanaka remained unbeaten on 76 off 31, featuring two fours and eight sixes.

For Pakistan, Abrar returned figures of 4-0-23-3.

Scores in brief:

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by five runs at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

Pakistan 212-8, 20 overs (Sahibzada Farhan 100, Fakhar Zaman 84; Dilshan Madushanka 3-33, Dasun Shanaka 2-42)

Sri Lanka 207-6, 20 overs (Dasun Shanaka 76 not out, Pavan Rathnayake 58, Kamil Mishara 26, Charith Asalanka 25; Abrar Ahmed 3-23)

Player of the match – Sahibzada Farhan (Pakistan)

Shanaka came so close to winning it for Lanka

He single-handedly won a game against Australia at home a few years ago

Today’s game also proves that both Babar and Agha have no place in our T20 eleven

I think Fakhar or Farhan should be made T20 captain

Our pacers have lost the art of death bowling. Shaheen and Rauf go for plenty when it is not their day

Umar Gul was our best death bowler in this format
So sad....shanaka deserves motm....

Sl was given 500million loan by Hasina government during their economic crises. Still to pay back the loan. Sl still didnt act neutral to the icc nations vote it couldve acted better and tried to do something. Yes you’re right SL board is the biggest puppet/chamcha to bcci.

If they were chamchas to bcci ...they would never 1)send their teams to the same country their team almost died , and many members got hurt / injured despite of the drivers bravery

2) ask their team to complete the series despite security situation of the same country

You need to thank and praise SLC instead of callingthem chamchas of bcci. They are the only and true friends to u unlike many fake ones like bdesh which is regime dependent

Here's the problem with a 7 team, you can only have 2 out of these 3 in any game

1. Pre game planning
2. Execute well
3. No crucial mistakes

(1,2) When they have good pre game planning & even execute it ok, they always end up making crucial mistakes. (semi-final against Australia)

(2,3) When their pre game planning is bad, they may execute well & make no mistakes but the pre game bad planning will cost them (such as dropping Abrar against England)

In bilateral matches, a lot of teams are also playing at this level so we manage. When ICC tournaments come by, most teams go from 7 to a solid 9 while we remain at the same level and hence get beaten.

There's also unnecessary pressure on the players. Make a mistake in the game and the player becomes enemy number 1. There's also low motivation in players, I mean they are professional cricketers but they look unfit and out of shape.

All in all, people angry at the team are just taking out their frustrations on a soft target. We are not top 4 and we have proved that in at least last 4 or 5 ICC tournaments & I'm not even including the ICC test championship in this.

There's also no ready made player who can be selected to fix the team. It's a long road ahead that requires a lot of patience and work. PSL is the thing to invest in currently, hoping that it won't have scandals after scandals because of the new owners and financial inequality. If that goes to the dump, then I will also be worried about our cricket dying.

Till the time u have the likes of Mr Naqli etc at the helm of ur cricket board , banta dhaar hi hona hai.

Itni dramebaazi c grade teleserials mei nahi milti jitni naqli karta hai in name of ....

Field mei beizzati , administration mei beizzati

1. Pre game planning
2. Execute well
3. No crucial mistakes

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

There are few really good all format players in the world, maybe separating red and white ball formats as much as possible can add some clarity to players’ roles. I mean our fast bowling decline is directly linked to t20 prevalence.

Many of our players do well in LPL, BPL, CPL, PSL, desert league, xyz league, but as soon as they meet top opposition, they fold.

Saim, for instance, made his name in these Mickey Mouse leagues but he’s a no show when it comes to any real competition. So many others too.

In my opinion, the interference in selections is an all time high even for Pak standards. Everyone has their own parchi, and it’s not possible to carry all these passengers at the same time. We played mostly without any team balance.

Babar insisting to play when he had no business being in the xi didn’t help either. Agha though should take the bulk of the blame. He rarely bowls and today after being adamant that number 3 is his spot, he hid. He ain’t even a decent specialist captain.

No Usman should be persisted with. He can be deadly if he learns to bowl on flat pitches. Dew in the 2nd innings didn't help either.

Yeah Shammi Silva is in Jay Shah's pocket.

No Usman should be persisted with. He can be deadly if he learns to bowl on flat pitches. Dew in the 2nd innings didn't help either.
You can't expect these kind of condtions everywhere. HE has zero batting skills. Not a great fielder either. Eventually teams will camp on backfoot and target him. Abrar is better bowler. Abrar does struggle against lefties and India had a lot of them. May be they can drop him against India play him against others.

From umar gul hitting 12 straight yorkers to duminy and albie morkel in high pressure semi final to shaheen hit by shanaka for 4 sixes in dead rubber.....Pakistan come a long way..... 😂

Pakistan has won the T20 world cup because Sahibzada Farhan has broken Endian Virat Kohli 's most runs record..

Proof is all over social media.. 🤡

Now commander Shahid Afridi is going to take out an top victory rally as a celebration of this great Pakistani victory..:ssa

Pakistan has won the T20 world cup because Sahibzada Farhan has broken Endian Virat Kohli 's most runs record..

Proof is all over social media.. 🤡

Now commander Shahid Afridi is going to take out an top victory rally as a celebration of this great Pakistani victory..:ssa
Can we expect another movie?

Abrar and farhan only good players from this team........... mirza and naseem also decent....rest should be released..... fakhar is aged now....
Farhan has done well, Pakistan should get the guy that did well against India in rising stars - the leftie i forgot his name.

Fakhar should play until next year's ODI World Cup.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

There are few really good all format players in the world, maybe separating red and white ball formats as much as possible can add some clarity to players’ roles. I mean our fast bowling decline is directly linked to t20 prevalence.

Many of our players do well in LPL, BPL, CPL, PSL, desert league, xyz league, but as soon as they meet top opposition, they fold.

Saim, for instance, made his name in these Mickey Mouse leagues but he’s a no show when it comes to any real competition. So many others too.

In my opinion, the interference in selections is an all time high even for Pak standards. Everyone has their own parchi, and it’s not possible to carry all these passengers at the same time. We played mostly without any team balance.

Babar insisting to play when he had no business being in the xi didn’t help either. Agha though should take the bulk of the blame. He rarely bowls and today after being adamant that number 3 is his spot, he hid. He ain’t even a decent specialist captain.

You are right in saying that there's a lot of nepotism and politics at work behind the scenes which we aren't aware of & personally I don't comment on it because not really aware of what really is happening. Think Babar era is over & it's unfortunate. I actually liked the way Babar was playing between 2018 to 2022 but it honestly seems that post regime change, Rambo packed Babar's form in a suitcase and took it with him.

The future is also the same btw. The massively hyped up boys are also mediocre at best. Din hi buray chal rahay hain Pakistan k

You can't expect these kind of condtions everywhere. HE has zero batting skills. Not a great fielder either. Eventually teams will camp on backfoot and target him. Abrar is better bowler. Abrar does struggle against lefties and India had a lot of them. May be they can drop him against India play him against others.
Usman can be a threat with that action against SENA teams if he learns to bowl on flat decks.

But batsmen with brute power will whack him off the backfoot more they get used to . His gimmicky pause is causing them to mistime. Assuming he is not pausing will you be worried about him? If you find a way take that pause out of your mind you should be able to play him

Too much pause, too much slingy action, too much hyperextension, ICC need to put a check into all these things. Why can't everyone just bowl normally? Pretty soon, softball style of bowling will also be allowed.

From umar gul hitting 12 straight yorkers to duminy and albie morkel in high pressure semi final to shaheen hit by shanaka for 4 sixes in dead rubber.....Pakistan come a long way..... 😂

Tbh T20 Cricket has evolved since then where world class T20 batters now have developed ABD 360 stroke play.

Gul with his tactics of trying 12 consecutive yorkers today would have been smashed around.

Too much pause, too much slingy action, too much hyperextension, ICC need to put a check into all these things. Why can't everyone just bowl normally? Pretty soon, softball style of bowling will also be allowed.
So, batsmen can do switch hits and reverse and scoops and jump around all over the crease and outside, and what nots but bowlers should never be allowed to innovate and adapt?

Why don't you just replace bowlers with bowling machines then, if you just want it to be a batsmen dominated game so much?

Everyone knows he slowed down not just before his 100 but 50 too. Fakhar on the other hand was releasing his pent up frustration on being benched.

SZada is a bit selfish while Fakhar is a pure team man
Even so, all the duffers that came afterwards messed up when the perfect platform was laid.

Tbh T20 Cricket has evolved since then where world class T20 batters now have developed ABD 360 stroke play.

Gul with his tactics of trying 12 consecutive yorkers today would have been smashed around.
But still shaheen can't do that even in that era......... 12 yorkers on row is not piece of cake for everyone in that era apart from malinga......malinga, bumrah and gul three best t20i pacers of all time for me........