Pakistan announce 12 man squad for Champions Trophy match against India

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">12 man Pakistan squad for tomorrow - Azhar Ahmed Babar Hafeez Malik Sarfaraz Imad Amir Shadab Wahab Fahim and Hasan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CT17?src=hash">#CT17</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndvPak?src=hash">#IndvPak</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/870967744614760448">June 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Based on comments by Mickey Arthur & Sarfaraz at the presser it seems like it's a choice between Fahim Ashraf & Shadab Khan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvPAK?src=hash">#INDvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ct17?src=hash">#Ct17</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/870974690164191232">June 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

Fahim Ashraf.. I just saw on Geo Super

So Azhar is seen as a better option than Harris Sohail and Fakhar Zaman...

I am guessing haris' fitness is suspect. And they don't want another blow up with a player being sent back due to fitness

Wahab again selected on his one off performance - his WC SF performance. He is likely to be absolutely terrible on these flat English pitches.

Indians are not afraid of fast bowlers who are one trick ponies. Only bounce in the pitch can save Wahab.

Why did they announce the 12 early? Tells me that they are anxious and trying to calm their own nerves.

This should have been the team against India: Fakhar, Azhar, Babar Haris Malik Sarfaraz Hafeez Shadab Amir Hassan Junaid.

Instead they picked useless Wahab and selfish Shehzad. I like imad but wea already have spinners in the form of Shadab, hafeez and malik as well as three pacers, so we don't need an extra bowler.

Predicting an indian Win tomorrow with the pathetic 12 man squad they selected!

They should have picked fakhar instead of shehzad and Harris for Azhar but I m really happy for wahab over trundler junaid

It will be fun if India prepares for Azhar, Hafeez and Wahab and Pakistan actually plays Fakhar, Haris and Junaid in place of them tomorrow.

If you look at it carefully, Wahab is a more defensive pick. Yes Junaid too can go for runs but:

1. Junaid better suited to attack with the new ball to take 2-3 wickets while Wahab will not do that. His best performances come in the middle overs but that will be difficult if IND gets off to a good start.

2. Junaid is also certainly the much better option in the death overs. Wahab goes for too many at the death lacking any control which is damaging whether Pakistan bowls first or second, and especially if we are defending the target as the target at best would be a par score.

3. Hassan does his best in the middle overs but now he will take the new ball.

So it seems like they sat down and asked themselves what's the worst possible combination we could come with out of the available squad. And I must say they did a pretty good job at it.

Ahmad Shahzad, pfff. When will the torture end? 8 goddamn years and we keep selecting him. I don't know man, this really depressing.

This announcement just drained all my optimism. Pathetic from Mickey. I hope he is dumped after this tournament

Batting looks too thin! Azhar, Shezzy, Babar, Sarfi, Malik, Hafeez!

Why no Junaid? Especially when you know he's done well against India! :facepalm:

Wahab averages 64 in ODIs since the beginning of 2016. In 2017, he's averaged 83 in the 3 games he played.
Junaid, hasn't been spectacular either, but far better than Wahab. Averages 42 since 2016.

Screw you Mickey Arthur

Wahab riaz what a joke

Wahab will go for 10rpo. Junaid got 3 wickets in warm up and was looking good.

Three nahi four. But for team management zero is more than four. Look Junaid isn't a world beater either but he is miles better than phasst Wahab

Im sure [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] will find a way to defend Mickey's this decision too.

Lol not sure what all of you want? Fakhar Zaman to be silo'd in for a pressure India Pak game? Haris Sohail who hasn't held a bat for 2 months? The only possible issue is non-playing of Junaid .. the same Junaid who has been cannon fodder everywhere since his return from knee injury.

Just relax.

This announcement just drained all my optimism. Pathetic from Mickey. I hope he is dumped after this tournament

Why just Mickey? I thought the captain has a say too? Picking his buddies much?

Lol not sure what all of you want? Fakhar Zaman to be silo'd in for a pressure India Pak game? Haris Sohail who hasn't held a bat for 2 months? The only possible issue is non-playing of Junaid .. the same Junaid who has been cannon fodder everywhere since his return from knee injury.

Just relax.

Junaid is a huge upgrade the waste of space Wahab Riaz

Screw you Mickey Arthur

Wahab riaz what a joke

Still a better option than Junaid - can't blame Mickey.

Junaid will ensure a victory FOR THE OPPOSITION team. Wahab can at least go for less runs and do well in ICC tournaments.

India will have to do very poorly to lose to this lot. Perhaps the only country (apart from Srilanka) where the selectors, coach and captain kill the chances even before the game starts.

Still a better option than Junaid - can't blame Mickey.

Junaid will ensure a victory FOR THE OPPOSITION team. Wahab can at least go for less runs and do well in ICC tournaments.
In recent months junaid has done better

There is no cricketing argument for Wahab

But yes there is a superstitious argument that Wahab does well in ICC tournied

Playing Wahab is a moronic decision. Playing the two snails at the top is a even more idiotic decision.

Nothing like being pessimistic for an India v Pakistan game.

Just relax.

Also... Why have Fakhar if he's not ready to handle pressure. Bizarre logic. Either you pick him to play or don't

In recent months junaid has done better

There is no cricketing argument for Wahab

But yes there is a superstitious argument that Wahab does well in ICC tournied

In recent months Junaid has single-handedly lost matches for his own team, giving matches to the opposition on a plate.

He's the worst bowler in Pakistan and potentially in the world atm.

Junaid is a huge upgrade the waste of space Wahab Riaz

I'd 100% hitch my wagon to Wahab over Junaid, especially in a pressure game. Junaid's recent record is RUBBISH. Wahab's isn't much better but with Amir left arm swing already there (and far superior) you can't justify Junaid being there.

Also... Why have Fakhar if he's not ready to handle pressure. Bizarre logic. Either you pick him to play or don't

You want to debut a lad in a CT game against India? Yeah I'm happy you or the majority of the clowns in this thread are not picking the side.

Hope Wahab does not play.

Azhar
Shizzy
Babar
Hafeez
Malik
Sarfraz
Imad
Shadab
Fahim
Amir
Hasan

You want to debut a lad in a CT game against India? Yeah I'm happy you or the majority of the clowns in this thread are not picking the side.
Good luck with the phainty

Mickey Arthur may outdo himself and concede more than 444 this time

I'd 100% hitch my wagon to Wahab over Junaid, especially in a pressure game. Junaid's recent record is RUBBISH. Wahab's isn't much better but with Amir left arm swing already there (and far superior) you can't justify Junaid being there.
Shooting from the hip. Junaid's record wipes the floor with Wahab in recent series. Junaid since his comeback averages in the 40s but Wahab has an average of over a 100 in the same period

Wahabs isn't better... It's way worse

Good thing Junaid khan got dropped for match against India otherwise he's a straight darter with no pace and bounce. Rohit and Co. Would have feasted on him! 444 was on cards but now it will be 320!

444 came with Wahab champion

I don't understand this mentality. How else will youngsters progress? By playing vs minnows? If I was a cricketer, I would want to compete with the best.

It is 2017 & we are still stuck with the likes of Hafeez & Malik- these blokes are bottlers.

Ironically Wahab conceded 110 in that 444 match whereas Junaid wasn't in the side.

:salute

India have to play very poorly to lose this match against this team.

Wahabs isn't better... It's way worse

Not talking about international cricket alone .. Junaid has been going at 12-14 an over in domestic cricket bowling gun-barrel straight. If there's no swing (and he hasn't swung the ball since before his knee injury) he's not a threat at all. As I said before Wahab is much more bankable (especially in England) if there's not much in the surface.

Wahab or not

This batting line up is just not good enough for modern ODI cricket.

batting wicket may reflect on playing wahab at least he has pace and cloudy conditon may help better.
allthouhg i wanted junaid over wahab. but honestly both is not goot form.
may be they pick shadab and fahim both and baber as a opener instead azher or shazy

Can you please list Sarfaraz's buddies or you just want to shoot from the hip?

I don't know but in the past it was said that captain has a big say in team selection. Fans have changed their tune it seems.

Wahab averages 64 in ODIs since the beginning of 2016. In 2017, he's averaged 83 in the 3 games he played.
Junaid, hasn't been spectacular either, but far better than Wahab. Averages 42 since 2016.

I mentioned you in medics thread. If u hv sometime than give your opinion. Sorry for not tagging properly.

I don't understand this mentality. How else will youngsters progress? By playing vs minnows? If I was a cricketer, I would want to compete with the best.

It is 2017 & we are still stuck with the likes of Hafeez & Malik- these blokes are bottlers.
Hafeez, Shehzad etc have made 8-12 year careers due to this logic

Bro you normally talk a lot of sense but it would be insane to drop someone into the deep end in THIS game?? Babar, Fakhar, Imad and Shadab in the same side? Batting would become wafer thin! It would defy logic if they dropped Malik or Hafeez (#1 and #2 in our ODI batting recently btw) for Fakhar

I don't know but in the past it was said that captain has a big say in team selection. Fans have changed their tune it seems.

Since Misbah younis retirements, Arthur is the syringes coach we have had since Woolmer in terms of the power he wields.

I can bet that whatever the 12 would have been announced there would have been a similar PP reaction :)

It's good that they announced the 12.

Good Change Mickey.

Not selecting Junaid makes up for any other blunders.

Bro you normally talk a lot of sense but it would be insane to drop someone into the deep end in THIS game?? Babar, Fakhar, Imad and Shadab in the same side? Batting would become wafer thin! It would defy logic if they dropped Malik or Hafeez (#1 and #2 in our ODI batting recently btw) for Fakhar
What are you even talking about? Fakhar is an opener. Malik and Hafeez will play in middle order

Our openers are Azhar and Shehzad - the 75 SR club Co-Presidents

Told you!! Both Micky, Inzi and Sarfraz are all talks, but no action. This team is not even capable to score 200 runs. If India bats first and score 350 we will loose by at least 150 if not 200. If we bat first, we will loose by 8-9 wickets. Hopefuly after CT both Inzi and Micky will be kicked out for good.
Team management made sure there is no chance for us. No hope for this team!!!!

Good selection beside babay azhar ali who shouldn't be in England along with Junaid khan who got no pace and swing. Would go for 150 in 10 overs.

In English Conditions, Sohail Khan would have been the best choice but unfortunately he isn't even in the squad.

Bhai we can't afford to have two accumulators opening the innings. But I hope you are right.

But I doubt India will be quaking in their boots.

Lets get one thing straight...Junaid is also average. Amir needs to generate swing & pace otherwise we are doomed vs that batting lineup.

Bhai we can't afford to have two accumulators opening the innings. But I hope you are right.

But I doubt India will be quaking in their boots.

Bhai even if we resurrected Yousuf of 2006 and put him in this side India wouldn't be quaking in their boots :91: We are massive underdogs here

Lets get one thing straight...Junaid is also average. Amir needs to generate swing & pace otherwise we are doomed vs that batting lineup.

If Amir is 5, Hasan is 4.9, Junaid is 2 and Wahab is -73.

Good selection beside babay azhar ali who shouldn't be in England along with Junaid khan who got no pace and swing. Would go for 150 in 10 overs.

Phast bowler wahab raiz have conceded 110 against england last year atleast juniad have brain

No chance without Sohail, Zaman. We are gonna get slaughtered. If they were playing it would be competitive but I expect us to score about 250 if we bat first which is nothing and chasing we might only need like 330 but with AA and AS opening RRR will be 10+ in no time lol

hmmmm acha :sanga

Somewhere I read Wahab is injured - looks like that was usual troll attempt ...............

On a flat wicket Wahab might end up doing better than Junaid.