Pakistan might have won, but they made a mess of the run chase by the 40th over

Major

Test Star
Pakistan might have won,

BUT

By the 40th over, 5 overs were left between Gulbadin Naib and Aftab Alam.
And 5 overs were left between Mujeeb and Rashid.
And yet, Malik and other pakistani batsmen did not take advantage of the Afghani pacers at the right time, as we have seen the pacers of afghanistan arnt that effective

They were leaving too many runs to get off from the spinners

Even Asif Ali made a mess aswell. He got 1 six, and should had gone after Aftab, yet he got too greedy.

Gulbadin bowled terrible. Pakistan could had easily got 70-80 runs off him, but he went for 60 which was not enough if you saw him bowl

Pakistan left too many runs for Rashid khan in the end, and that was just stupid risk.

People talk about how Pakistan could win the world cup, but if they make such club cricket errors, i doubt their world cup chances.

It baffles me that what mickey and the team managment wre doing in the dresssing room. Dont they take note of such things?

I have been watching the Afghanistan games and know that there pacers culd be attacked easily.

Pakistan has won, but these mistakes cannot be overlooked. THey almost made a joke of a run chase by not analyzing the game properly.

True Malik made the win still the best player after all these years.

Pakistan has won only the scoreboard.

It's Afghanistan that has won the game and everyone's hearts with it. What a performance!

Oh bhai bas kar yaar. Chasing over 250 odd on this surface against their spin attack is really good.

How many 250 plus have been chased here?

Chasing 250 in UAE is like chasing 300 plus on other grounds. Lets not be too hard on the team, they were up against a super hot in form Afghanistan

Didn't you support Misbah?

We did this under him so many times for Afridi to save us

It's Afghanistan that has won the game and everyone's hearts with it. What a performance!

Yeah they can keep winning hearts while we win games. But yes Pakistan B team did well

Imam and Babar should have done better. Malik wasn't hitting too many boundaries but was keeping the board ticking. Our batsmen need to learn how to do that and avoid the dot balls. Game would've been much easier had Imam and Babar played slightly better

Sure

When Afghan made 250 plus and FZ got out PP aunties were already smelling a Rashid 5fer and PAK loss.

Chasing 250 in UAE is like chasing 300 plus on other grounds. Lets not be too hard on the team, they were up against a super hot in form Afghanistan

Oh bhai bas kar yaar. Chasing over 250 odd on this surface against their spin attack is really good.

How many 250 plus have been chased here?

again, read what i'm saying

Everyone knew the 5 overs of the spinners would be used and wont be easy to score runs of them.

Scoring runs off Gulbadin and Aftab was easy as they were not bowling well. THere bowling was terrible, and at that time taking singles off of them made no sense when they could had been whacked for 4s or even 6s in some balls.

Pakistan risked it by not attacking their pacers earlier and leaving more runs for the spinners to defend.

Yes we won according to the scorecard, but we made major mistakes that could be a problem if replicated in future.

Yes Malik won us the game, but had this been an expeirence opposition with an experience bowler defedning 10 runs of the last over. Bowling full on the offside would had create problems for Malik.

Point is, Pakistan had a chance earlier and could had taken advantage of it if they had analyzied the game properly.

Problem is we celebrate such wins soo much that we often ignore the mistakes we make. If tomr we end up losing against other teams for the similar mistakes then you guys wake up saying oh so and so did bad, this needs to be changed

The players need to keep control in the middle order and not look for these big shots when not needed. Malik doesn’t feel any pressure.

Nothing surprising.Pakistan has always been a poor chasing team.Had Afghans fielded better, they would have won this game already.

even earlier id say, this was a shamless performance

Haris sohail doesnt fit in either when you have imam and babar. Talat should have been here

Sarfraz has to bat at 4 or 5 otherwise he may as well bat at 11

Yes! Pakiatan must have capitalized the afghan pacers better. I was baffled by the the lack of intent against the pacers and even Mujib when the required rate was not so much.Rashid is not threatening when u are not desperate to score sixes against him. We just did not read the match situation.Pakistan knows how to make matches interested for the opposition and take a toll on ots own fans. Good Old Pakistan!

Hopefully that improved in-game management will come with experience.

Imam is still a problem

I don't think he's perfect, but he certainly cannot be dropped after his performance today. Plus, he played better than Babar azam, imam was like 24 off 20 at one point while Babar azam was 7 off 20...

I don't think imam is the greatest player but you can't say he was the problem after he played a great innings to get us the win.

This is where teams like Australia shine, their team management keeps themselves aware during the whole game. They watch other teams, they know their strengths and weaknesses well.

Pakistan hiring these large team managements and that Pakistani analyst is just a waste of money if they arnt aware of what is happening in the game.

So its Pakistan vs Pakistan in the UAE?

We have strong bowling and weak batting. It's mostly us defending 220, if we're getting 250, not like a team's likely to win anyway.

This is why that stat is tilted. We don't usually concede 250 much here either

Nothing surprising.Pakistan has always been a poor chasing team.Had Afghans fielded better, they would have won this game already.

LOL pak played very poorly, dropped like 5 catches. Shouldnt have been chasing more then 230 odd. In the UAE its tough vs quality spin.

This is where teams like Australia shine, their team management keeps themselves aware during the whole game. They watch other teams, they know their strengths and weaknesses well.

Pakistan hiring these large team managements and that Pakistani analyst is just a waste of money if they arnt aware of what is happening in the game.

AUS would have crumbled here chasing over 250 vs Rashid and co.

Hearts? Sure. But how did they win the game? Whoever wins on the scorecard, wins the game.

AUS would have crumbled here chasing over 250 vs Rashid and co.

:facepalm: bro atleast do bother to read the OP and comprehend what is being discussed.

Im not talking about attacking the spinners. Infact, Pakistan dealt with the spinners very well.

What im talking about is when you know 5 overs of the death bowling are going to be bolwed by the spinners and 5 voers to be bowled by the pacers who are bowling terribly.
Why not take advantage of the pacers. 5 overs were enough.

Pakistan were lucky that at the end the game played in their favour

I think this definitely a minor wake-up call. When you come this close to losing to a lower-ranked side -- eventhough Afghanistan is very good -- you have to go back and re-evaluate a few things. Today, the bowling simply wasn't upto the mark. Should have been better and should have restricted Afghanistan to a lower score. Batting-wise, Sarfraz, Fakhar and Asif need to step-up, they simply left too much on the shoulders of Babar, Imam and Malik. Sarfraz in particular really needs to get his act together. Can't continue letting the team down especially when he's yelling at the players to give their 100%.

On the plus side, Babar and Imam's partnership deserves to be lauded. Chasing 250 in Abu Dhabi against one of the best spin-bowling attacks in the world is not easy. And Shoaib Malik's form is a major plus point going into the India game. Hopefully our top 4 can step up come Sunday.

This win will take us on in this tournament to better things inshaAllah.
People need to pipe down about imam. We were not chasing that without that innings.
This was good test for Babar and imam. Babar has played a lot but still probably hasn't faced that situation many times.
Afghanistan spinners are very very good

Pakistan messed up when they sent in Haris ahead of either of Malik or Asif after Imam got out. Asif came in when Pakistan needed 42 off last 5 overs, having just lost Sarfraz. Tremendous pressure and what does he do? Takes on the best bowler of the tournament and tonks him into the stands. A quick 20-30 runs from Asif when there was less pressure, would have eased Pakistan's worries at the time.

again, read what i'm saying

Everyone knew the 5 overs of the spinners would be used and wont be easy to score runs of them.

Scoring runs off Gulbadin and Aftab was easy as they were not bowling well. THere bowling was terrible, and at that time taking singles off of them made no sense when they could had been whacked for 4s or even 6s in some balls.

Pakistan risked it by not attacking their pacers earlier and leaving more runs for the spinners to defend.

Yes we won according to the scorecard, but we made major mistakes that could be a problem if replicated in future.

Yes Malik won us the game, but had this been an expeirence opposition with an experience bowler defedning 10 runs of the last over. Bowling full on the offside would had create problems for Malik.

Point is, Pakistan had a chance earlier and could had taken advantage of it if they had analyzied the game properly.

Problem is we celebrate such wins soo much that we often ignore the mistakes we make. If tomr we end up losing against other teams for the similar mistakes then you guys wake up saying oh so and so did bad, this needs to be changed

Yes you are correct in that assessment, but let's be honest, was this the only mistake made by our team today? We went in with 4 bowlers only, then dropped 5 straightforward catches, bowled poorly for majority of the innings apart from Shaheen, Hasan's last spell and the first spell of Nawaz.
Our fielding was atrocious, we gave away atleast 20 runs in the field by either misjudging the speed or location or simply diving over or around it.

It's rare to win a match after you have made so many mistakes, but it happened today even though it was against Afghanistan.

I hope our guys are harshly treated by the management regarding their performance today. Taking nothing away from Malik, Imam, Babar and Shaheen's performance.

Absolutely agree with you.
Just like India won the game but Hong Kong won the hearts.

It’s the heart that matters ❤️

LOL pak played very poorly, dropped like 5 catches. Shouldnt have been chasing more then 230 odd. In the UAE its tough vs quality spin.
That is not a novelty. You are known to drop catches.The recent better fielding performance is a flash in the pan.Even your U 19 team fielded poorly in the recent U 19 WC which shows the fault lies in domestic structure.

And Afghanistan are a good fielding side? :)))

Why are you benchmarking yourself against Afghanistan? This is supposed to be the best Pakistan fielding unit ever and you couldn't find a better team to compare?

Huh? He mentions Afghanistan's dropped catches, someone said Pakistan did too, and he said we have a history of dropping catches. Afghanistan also have history of not being a great fielding team so a rather valid point to make

Afghanistan is still at a stage where they can repeat their past fielding mistakes.

That is not the case for Pakistan. Their standards have to be much higher since they are trying to compete with bigger teams.

Afghanistan is still at a stage where they can repeat their past fielding mistakes.

That is not the case for Pakistan. Their standards have to be much higher since they are trying to compete with bigger teams.

And I never denied that. I just think saying that if Afghanistan had fielded better, they'd have won is naive to say, because it's the same for us. Even for our fielding unit, it was a horrific day, don't think we've had such a bad day since the one in 2011

Check how many you dropped in CT group game against us which was just one year back.And in the same year, had plenty of drops in Australian series too.

None of which were 5 in one day, and if you see these catches, these were actual sitters.

A lot still to improve on , we are missing another spinner forsure.

Sarfraz can't bat to save his life right now.

We should have probably sent Asif Ali up the order to lower the RR.

Also, we can say all we want about attacking the fast bowlers earlier on but that fact is that its super hard to hit when you are running around in that heat all day. We should focus on doing better in the first 20 overs and getting a great start. Fakhar is being missed dearly and we are going to need him to fire when we play India in the finals ( hopefully)

The difference was 4 dropped catches. No team should cross 230 against Pak if they are chasing...

We chased 250+ against a very good bowling side. Yes we could've been more clinical but this was a very satisfying win.

It was plain sailing until Imam and Babar got out in close succession.

Yes it got a little messy, but winning 'ugly' is an important skill and the team would have learnt a lot from it.

I said it on match thread that it was a poorly planned chase.

People may congratulate the sanctity of the chase but if Malik was not in our team or caught by wicketkeeper cleanly against Rashid, we werent chasing this.

You never let the RR get to above 6 in Dubai or Abu Dhabi while chasing 250 plus.

If India gets that score, and Pakistan tries same strategy, we will lose 5 out of 5.

They replicated the same mistake Pakistan did in the 1st innings. If Pakistan fielded better, they wouldn't have let Afghanistan reach the score that they did. Pakistan Team thrives on momentum and rhythm, but the dropped catches just disallowed the bowlers from getting on a roll.

Regardless, it was a great game. Good to see a fellow Muslim country doing well.

Yes! Pakiatan must have capitalized the afghan pacers better. I was baffled by the the lack of intent against the pacers and even Mujib when the required rate was not so much.Rashid is not threatening when u are not desperate to score sixes against him. We just did not read the match situation.Pakistan knows how to make matches interested for the opposition and take a toll on its own fans. Good Old Pakistan!

:facepalm: bro atleast do bother to read the OP and comprehend what is being discussed.

Im not talking about attacking the spinners. Infact, Pakistan dealt with the spinners very well.

What im talking about is when you know 5 overs of the death bowling are going to be bolwed by the spinners and 5 voers to be bowled by the pacers who are bowling terribly.
Why not take advantage of the pacers. 5 overs were enough.

Pakistan were lucky that at the end the game played in their favour

Bro I did read the OP but it its not that easy. There is a point to blame Babar and Imad because i feel in the UAE the RRR should never go above 6. With 1 wicket down they could have forced the issue a bit more. Last 10 overs RRR was high too high and we were losing wickets.

We were sloppy overall gave away 20 / 30 runs too many and imam and babar should have pushed on once we crossed 100.

Considering Pakistan's batting lineup is still very inexperienced, it was a very good performance by the batsmen to chase 250+.

LOL... OP needs some game awareness himself.

Malik came into bat in the 36th over with 100 runs still needed to win... what else could he have done at that time when they had already lost 2 set batsmen in quick succession.

59 out of the remaining runs were scored off 7 overs of pacers. Thats almost 60% of the runs needed scored off pacers in difficult conditions under tremendous pressure.

So calm down and stop finding reasons for whining and criticism.