Pakistan need to demoralize Dale Steyn and potentially end his career

Babar is destroying Steyn right now, looks like OP knows what hes talking about. Brilliant thread with high quality insights and analysis by the great Suleman.

This was unsual for Steyn. Never seen anything like this being done to him in tests. But its just 1 innings at the end of the day. You dont judge ATGs based on 1 innings.

Once the kookaburra got softer, Steyn at this age is not the same as his outswingers become ineffective and can be taken apart by a world class batsmen.

Babar obviously with wide array of shots was successful in taking apart Steyn with the old ball. That should be Pakistan's main focus now. Give him respect in his first spell, don't give him wickets there and once Kookaburra gets soft, he can be taken apart by any batsmen with wide array of shots.

The battle is lost, but I'm sure the war is far from over... :steyn

He'll be back, and angry this time.

Not even going to try and stroke my ego as I’m here to spread knowledge and am here to do maloomat ka izafa for others.

The guy is finished and looks defeated. I’ve played and captained at club level so I know when a player is there to be attacked, what Pak did proves me right.

We are already in his head so don’t be surprised if he does angry yelling in second innings in frustration.

This was unsual for Steyn. Never seen anything like this being done to him in tests. But its just 1 innings at the end of the day. You dont judge ATGs based on 1 innings.

Not even 1 innings, but more like 2 overs.

Once the kookaburra got softer, Steyn at this age is not the same as his outswingers become ineffective and can be taken apart by a world class batsmen.

Babar obviously with wide array of shots was successful in taking apart Steyn with the old ball. That should be Pakistan's main focus now. Give him respect in his first spell, don't give him wickets there and once Kookaburra gets soft, he can be taken apart by any batsmen with wide array of shots.

Brother, it is okay to accept your mistakes and say yes I was wrong. You were in Steyn Squad before the game but now are trying to cope with the beating.

If this is how his fans are coping, then all joking aside I wish the best to Steyn mentally. When you are used to being feared it can be a shock when you are brought down to earth.

Allah jise izzat dey...

Respect to my brother [MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] making this brave call which could well turn out to be true. Babar rose to the task. I think the next innings is going to be crucial, but he may already have made his mind up after today

Lol. Nice Satire. A batting line up of Imam, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Harris Sohail, Babar Azam, Sarfaraz isn't going to end anyone's career

This is a very timid batting line-up.

Steyn rises to the occasion and to the level of opposition. No better team to find form against than Pakistan. Not a single batsman can play a counter punching knock. This will be expecting too much from Fakhar and Sarfaraz does not have the quality to play effective counter attacking innings against the likes of Steyn, Rabada, Ngidi, Philander.

So you think Steyn will take a grand total of 1 wicket in a day against Pakistan's mighty 'batting' line up? :))) :))

Easier said than done.

Not too many lionhearts in this batting line-up.

I just hope Steyn does not follow PP. This thread will fire him up..and it will be curtains..

Babar smashing Steyn around was truly amazing but it waa not just him who played with great intent. Fakhar, Masood, Azhar and Shafiq were all looking to score freely and were harshly dismissed. There is more to come from them.

Brother, it is okay to accept your mistakes and say yes I was wrong. You were in Steyn Squad before the game but now are trying to cope with the beating.

If this is how his fans are coping, then all joking aside I wish the best to Steyn mentally. When you are used to being feared it can be a shock when you are brought down to earth.

Allah jise izzat dey...

What, what, what! :rp

I am still in Steyn squad, I was just stating facts, it was quite apparent in SL only that he isn't the same bowler he used to be, quite obvious things have changed but does this change the fact that he was the best bowler of this generation by a mile, particularly between 2008-2015.

Being in a Steyn squad is good to be in, he will make a comeback again and this time he will be more angrier than ever :stokes.

However, it is also the fact that he ain't the same he used to be and there is no running away from it.:steyn

What, what, what! :rp

I am still in Steyn squad, I was just stating facts, it was quite apparent in SL only that he isn't the same bowler he used to be, quite obvious things have changed but does this change the fact that he was the best bowler of this generation by a mile, particularly between 2008-2015.

Being in a Steyn squad is good to be in, he will make a comeback again and this time he will be more angrier than ever :stokes.

However, it is also the fact that he ain't the same he used to be and there is no running away from it.:steyn

As a career-long fan of Steyn I was a little disappointed with the beating he took this afternoon. Reminded me of what KP did to him in 2012. I thought he bowled pretty well up and till that point and he almost had Babar caught behind at the beginning of the spell. If you put everything into context:

1. He is still bowling at a good rate of knots matching his much younger fellow quicks. Having watched him bowl since 2007 he has lost basically nothing in that department. Show me a quicker 35 year fast bowler and I will be impressed. If anything, he may be even more effective bowling slightly slower in my opinion.
2. He could have bowled defensively (method and field) but he chose to attack. Can work against you.
3. Very little first-class cricket is not doing him any favours. We have seen in the past how he takes time to get into his work.

Fast bowlers do not lose there skills and typically decline due to physical reasons resulting in lost pace and reduced stamina. None of this is apparent in this case. Everyone wrote Steyn off when India toured SA in 2013/2014 when he could not buy a wicket. Or when SA toured Australia in 2012.

Let's see how the rest of series develops :)

Was pleasantly surprised to see babar play his wide array of shots. Was nice to watch. Nothing from everyone else, expecting a 50 from Azhar maybe but nothing from the rest.

Steyn still has life in him the old dog don’t write him off!

Playing with intent is the way to play on these kind of pitches. I was in awe of some of the shots Babar played.

He's a bit rusty and out of form but Babar played him well a five wicket haul in the second innings and the next 2 tests is coming.

Steyn vs Wasim/Donald was always going to the old timers, people were comparing mid-career Steyn to these guy's entire careers. Watch that average touch 24 by the time he retires

I see Pakistan's job with Dale Steyn as being to restrict his first spell to 6-1-15-0.

Because he will have to then bowl 2 more 5 over spells with that ball when it's old, and he's not quick enough or tall enough to do anything with it.

I'd be hoping that his day goes something like:

Hour 1: 6-1-15-0
Hour 2: rested
Hour 3: 5-0-20-0 making 11-1-35-0.
Hour 4: 5-1-20-0 making 16-2-55-0.
Hour 5: rested
Hour 6: second new ball 5-2-10-1 making 21-4-65-1.

That's how to finish Dale Steyn's career. Wear him down.
So I said 21-4-65-1.

And he actually took 13-1-66-1.

Do I win a prize?

Steyn's pains continue it seems but you cannot keep a good bowler down for long...

He was never going to be their lead bowler at his current age. Pakistan need to be more worried about other bowlers if they don't want to get humiliated.

Yes but he is not the same bowler as he once was.. He should retire when he's at top and he will be in contention for GOAT but if he stretches his career he will be a ATG but not in contention of GOAT.

Similar example Dhoni in ODI. Would have been in contention as GOAT chaser/captain/batsman in ODI but ruined his legacy and even many Indians don't like him anymore.

Looked the worst pacer in the match. Should take rest and allow Vern to take his spot if SA still plans to go with 3 pacers.

Needless to say Babar has gotten in his head a bit. Babar was playing with his emotions in the ODI series so far, could see it in Steyn's expressions as he walked back to crease.

Definitely need to target him again and make him rethink WCUP plans. Would be a mistake if they play him again over van der Waal.

Lol....are we now sledging the Proteas on behalf of our players?

For his age, Steyn is still very potent and all credit to his fitness and ability to bowl sustained pace at 35. Steyn has been around for much longer than a few of our players have had their international careers.

With the series nearing its end, I dont see it happening. Too bad that by the time we go back, he would have probably announced his retirement

Steyn has looked threatening. Interestingly his speeds has been right up there. I think Pakistani batsmen have handled him really well.

He has bowled well but without much impact. As for the duel with hafeeZ, South Africa need to get through our top 3 or to bat well enough for hafeez to be required.

He was never a great limited over bowler. Got tonked in IPL for fun even by noobs even in his prime. He was clocking 145 to 150k alright. But problem his lengths are perfectly hittable on true wickets. In one dayers inswingers are more effective than outswingers. Atleast off cutters. He doesn't have this killer yorker that tails in like Malinga has. Also natural bounce is not there with his bowling as he is more skiddy. Even Pollock with slower pace was able to get more bounce. You can easily line up against him.

Needless to say Babar has gotten in his head a bit. Babar was playing with his emotions in the ODI series so far, could see it in Steyn's expressions as he walked back to crease.

Definitely need to target him again and make him rethink WCUP plans. Would be a mistake if they play him again over van der Waal.

Babar buzurg to peet-ke Sher ban gaaya kya?

Steyn average in last series wasn't of much difference to Anderson career average.

But much worse than his career average. Compare his Test stats to Rabada Philander or even Olivier and you see the beneficial effect SA pitches have on pacers. Graeme Smith was probably best SA opener in the modern era and he averaged 34 at home.

I am hoping Steyn reads this, gets all fired up and shows up with a beastly performance today (10-1-27-4)

Lol, this is exactly the kind of confidence which will be counter productive

But much worse than his career average. Compare his Test stats to Rabada Philander or even Olivier and you see the beneficial effect SA pitches have on pacers. Graeme Smith was probably best SA opener in the modern era and he averaged 34 at home.

This is an era of HTBullying. Everyone has got disparity between home and away performance. Steyn still averages 24 away from home. Jimmy averages 32 away while Trent Boult who is at his peak averages 31 away as well.

He was never a great limited over bowler. Got tonked in IPL for fun even by noobs even in his prime. He was clocking 145 to 150k alright. But problem his lengths are perfectly hittable on true wickets. In one dayers inswingers are more effective than outswingers. Atleast off cutters. He doesn't have this killer yorker that tails in like Malinga has. Also natural bounce is not there with his bowling as he is more skiddy. Even Pollock with slower pace was able to get more bounce. You can easily line up against him.

This is untrue, not in his prime. Amongst the fast bowlers who have played a reasonable amount of IPL cricket, he's got the best economy rate. He's only behind Pollock and McGrath, who have played less than 20 matches compared to Steyn who has played 90 matches.

He was never a great ODI bowler nor he played a lot of them throughout his career. But IPL is only domestic T20 competition which he didnt really care about so its unfair to mention his IPL stats or performance even he didnt care or played much of international T20s.

Babar buzurg to peet-ke Sher ban gaaya kya?

Babar played him very well and he was the only one of Pakistan batsmen who played him the way he did. Steyn despite his age bowled very well throughout this Pakistan tour and could have had better stats in tests if all catches were taken.

Its a huge game for both sides and will provide a glimpse of how these two side may play in the WC.

Babar played him very well and he was the only one of Pakistan batsmen who played him the way he did. Steyn despite his age bowled very well throughout this Pakistan tour and could have had better stats in tests if all catches were taken.

My post was just a play on words. You are right on all counts :)

LOL.
I remember pakistanis saying that junaid khan ended sehwag's career and now its babar who ends steyns career.

Well technically Sehwag played his last ODI against Pak and Junaid took his wicket. Not sure whats wrong in saying his career was ended in that match and same can be said about Yuvi in CT17 final. Yes they would Have retired anyways but not suddenly if they both would have scored centuries in the last matches they played.

So there isnt anything factually incorrect.

Sehwag was 35(officialy) when junaid dominated him,now if junaid would have ended his career when he was 30 or 31 or even 32 i would have gladly accepted it ,but dominating a player towards the fag end of his career is nothing to boast off.
Similarly Yuvi was 36 and we all know he was nearing retirement ,so shadab taking his wicket means zilch.

The perfect example of ending someone's career is:
Jonathon trott vs johnson
Saqlain Mushtaq vs Sehwag
nari contractor vs charlie griffith.

Sehwag was 35(officialy) when junaid dominated him,now if junaid would have ended his career when he was 30 or 31 or even 32 i would have gladly accepted it ,but dominating a player towards the fag end of his career is nothing to boast off.
Similarly Yuvi was 36 and we all know he was nearing retirement ,so shadab taking his wicket means zilch.

The perfect example of ending someone's career is:
Jonathon trott vs johnson
Saqlain Mushtaq vs Sehwag
nari contractor vs charlie griffith.

Talking to you as a brother rn (Bhai Bhai), learn to let go.

Sehwag apparently ended Saqlain’s career but Junaid didn’t end Sehwag’s? Khuda ko mano yaar.

Saqlain was 28 when his career ended.I am not a blind fan ,i am giving you logic.

[MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] brother making the right call.

:moyo

lets not forget Fakhar Zaman ending Ashwin's odi career shall we.